(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbs
any chance your hb can go over? think it's impt for the family to stay together. esp when the kids are still so young.

Looks like Mongs and SSF have really good luck in job searching. I heard that I will entitle the ML even if I am retrenched. But it is the going jobless that I am worried. Cos if they really retrench in early next yr, I wont be able to find a job at that time as I will be heavily pregnant by then.

Saw the CNA's news on recession, makes me feel more unstable. Cos during appraisal last month, boss already tell me to prepare for the worse as next yr company might not be able to have increment or bonus as company is not earning money.

Not been joining the conversation here for a long time. I did drop by to just read up whenever I am free.

It seems that almost every kid here has started school. Guess I am still the only one keeping my boy at home with me!

Read something on getting a bed in some of the posts here. We went to courts today and bought my son a bed. Will be arriving end of this month. Hope he can adjust to this change. Anyone knows how to "waterproof" the bed? Btw, my son is still not toilet train.... he only wants to pee in the bathroom and not the toilet bowl!

Hi Mommies
How time no "see", hope everyone is well. Have been so busy at work.

Tabb
Didi really looks it Tabby...he's such a big boy now!

Queen
PT increase their prices?

Tracy
Heehee, Mel is very vain as well, most of the time only want pink and purple....sometimes really driving me nuts when she insisted on only wearing clothes she likes...faintz

tabbs,
thanks for the advice! will bring her to polyclinic to get the referral. some people who meet her ask if she got lazy eye so i guess i'll jus bring her for check.

Flo,
precisely, can order nice clothes for her from ON and she refuses to wear! Keep wearing the same clothes.

Tabbiesus,
So nice to hear from you! Long time no post! Tough situation you are in now... I'm not sure how important this US stint is to your career, but you really have to search you mind and heart whether it is worth leaving your kids and HB behind for. The best would be if at least your
And even if you can bring them along, who will care for them? I wouldn't worry too much about your HB though... if he wants to stray, he will whether or not you are in US.

Flo,
It's great to see your post too!

Yes, PT increase their prices to $550 per month! I was looking at the Kindy and CC polls, PT seems really pricey. Though their lessons include Kindermusik and Positive Focus, I'm not sure if it's worth paying so much.

Somemore no subsidy. Sigh...

Sharon,
Nice to see you posting again too! At least your boy is willing to pee in the bathroom. My Isaac simply refused to go without diapers. And even if we do get him out of it, he will pee anywhere in the house except the bathroom / potty!

Tracie / CL,
Can collect ON items already. Please check your emails.

Hi Tabbs & Flo - Long time no see...radio silence for so long

Had a busy week too. My official course started on Thu & will run for the next 10 weeks! 2 days plus fell during my exams week. Could feel the stress level last week. Came home last nite & slept straight from 11pm to 8am this morning.

Spent a wonderful day with C at Kids Explorer. Imagine I was climbing with him all over the place! Hak...good from my army training

SSF - I rem u joined as member. Membership fees per year or lifetime? I only paid, went to enjoy & didn't ask any questions :p

Flo
JH is one vain guy too! he will insist on wearing certain clothes and his fav colors are all the gal colors....

May
i also wondering whether it is right time for me to take no pay. but really dun feel good for maid to care for both kids alone.

JH is off diapers now! started him on training pants on tue and he is now diaper free in the day. one thing that surprised me is that he actualyl doesn't pee at all during his naps...

he is down with cough again. sensitive airway cough. poor thing. every night cough till vomit. hope he gets well soon.

sysac
ha ha that is my frequent "workout" place. Ha ha running from left to right then climbing up and down.

Ha ha when my helper still around, ha ha she dare not climb up at all.

Me too never ask leh about lifetime or annual.

Flo, SY
talking about vain. I oso have same problem for Charmaine. But I never expect Aden to be like that too. That day my mum change for him after bathing, he rejected. Says "no colour", my mum told him it is yellow. But he insisted no. So actually it is no cartoon character. So I have my fair share today too.

He threw a big tantrum that I changed him into a top with words but no cute designs. I dun care just walked and he has been napping since 3.30 pm till now. Just woke up for milk not long ago and continued his sleep on sofa now.

SY
congrats for diaperless. That is a fast process for you

Mummies, dun scold me hor. It is dessert time. Ha ha woke up at 4 plus this morning and felt like baking. Here you go for my mini baked orange cheese cake. Ha ha not egg tart hor

1782641.jpg

Queen
It's seems really hard to get kids to toilet train. My son doesn't want to go diaperless at all... Really admire those mommies who have kids that toilet trained themselves!

Chicken Little
Wow, you're fantastic. Woke up so early to make cheese cakes plus you're working right? Saw yr some of your posts and pics of food at Pink's thread...drool!. I will be attending her cupcakes workshop next week.

Queen
I will do the transfer to you and request for postage.Let me know how much to transfer to you for postage.

Sharon
Ha ha the more you see that thread hor , the more you want to bake. Realli fun and now my sils always meet up over the weekend for the fun of baking. Yesterday, the cheese cakes were for their tea break while we baked cupcakes for my nephew's birthday again. ha ha.

Have fun at her class. You will drool during snack time too. She realli prepare a lot of things for her students.

Rachel,
That day I swing by sunlik, i saw that kiwi paste. I think previously was due to mooncake festival they did not stock up many types of paste.

Queen,
Thanks, will check my email.

SY,
Meg's also down with cough and fever. Fever on Friday and Saturday no fever but returned again today. Brought her to GP and he prescribed Zyrtec and Rhinathiol. Only managed to feed her fever med and she refused the rest and just fell asleep. Sigh...difficult to feed her meds.

CL,
would you like to babysit Duncan since you wake up so early?? Duncan wakes up at 6plus every morning jus to chit-chat so both of you can accompany each other while i go zzzzz.. hahaha, just kidding!!

Re: Dosage of Paracetamol
Wondering how much are your kids taking now? The PD prescibed for Meg 5ml for 250mg dosage. The GP I saw today, said it's only 2.5ml for 250mg based on Meg's weight of 14kg. He said 5ml overdose liao (??!!)

tracie ... mine #1 takes 5ml since he's around that weight, till now (19 kg). K who's barely 12 kg takes 2.5 ml. call and ask the PD where the cutoff is ....

take care!

.ky.

Chicken Little, you're so right...now I feel like baking doughnuts, bread, cakes and cupcakes all the time...lol! Looking forward to her class next week.....drool, drool!

CL
wat's pink's thread? i wan to check it out too =p nowadays been baking and this afternoon just did the traditional italian pizza for my family for lunch. dylan ate till the whole face and hands stain with the tomato paste hehe =p

have the kiwi paste la?? can help me get a can and i collect from you can? thanks in advance!

tracie
i did not notice meg could have lazy eye.. i myself have. its only when people observe my eyes closely then they will notice the difference. what did the people comment on meg's eye?

mummies with todd who is toilet trained,
can i ask and check whether is there cases of todd who is already toilet trained and able to hold pee through the night, tends to wet the bed when the weather is cold??
dylan had a few accidents recently when the temperature drops in the middle of the night..

Tracie,
My gal is taking 5ml for 250mg dosage which was presribed by GP leh. But her fever goes down quite fast. Usually just need 2 feeds will do. She is weighing about 15-16kg now.

CL,
U are super mummy. With so little sleep, can handle two kids and housework plus ur hobbies. I am already half dead with J. Dunno how to cope when #2 comes by.

Tracy
My boy takes 5ml for 250mg prescribed by my regular GP(cum PD). He weighs 17.5kg

Chicken Little
You really sud-sud!!! I visited the baking thread and my jaws dropped!!!!

Tracie,
My PD and GP both prescribe only 3ml for paracetamol. In fact it's 3ml for most common medicing. Isaac is about 13kg.

CL,
Wow, 4am! Your kids are really lucky!

Belinda / SY / Tracie,
Hope your kids get well soon! Now is really the flu season... My Isaac just recovered from a bout of mild bronchitis.

Re. Waterproofing bed
I bought waterproof sheet from Ikea which I used to line the cot mattress beneath the cot sheet when Isaac was a baby. Now I use it on and off to line my bed whenever Isaac is coming down with diarheoa or is vomitting.
I suspect maybe Spotlight may sell such sheets as well.

Re. dyeing clothes
I have a pair of white maternity pants which I have worn only once for my #1. Now I'm thinking of dyeing it black so that I can wear it now. Anyone of you has experience dyeing clothes?

I not sud sud lah. Just that i sleep enuff will wake up kind. Maybe when I grow older, I might be on newspaper weird woman who does not need to sleep ha ha

Queen
When I young, my father always dye his Montagut shirt dunno for what.

CL

hahah, r u aging prematurely? I find all the old folks don't sleep much leh. Hahah. My grandma and MIL doesn't seem to sleep much. They sleep very late at 1-2am and wake up by 5am.

dyeing clothes
Queen, I've dyed some stockings with colored dyes for some little girls' ballet performances before. Turned out well. You need to just follow instructions as stated on the instructions. Very easy to follow. I can't exactly remember was it add the dye to warm water with some salt or something... then after that leave to drip dry and wash with cold water....check instructions, should not go wrong.

CL
wah, salute to you manz....

mamachan
i can wake up at 5am, but i need to sleep early. haha.... the fruits that the mummies showed in that baking thread is really good hor? motivating me to learn 'cos i love pastries and bread. haha..

Mashy
I am like that since young. I wake up earlier than my mum. ha ha. I think I like the quiet time in the nite and early morning.

For me i can sleep anywhere any time so if weekend there is time to nap with the kids I will too. In the car most of the time I am napping too. I used to study throughout the nite , go for exam and come back to sleep

sunny
hahaha, it's really very motivating! But..hehe, I like to eat more than really cook. the only time I actually was so Onz to bake was poly days and just baking choc chip cookies!!!! The only baking regret I have is that I never really learned how to bake my late granny's kueh lapis!!! Bengawan Solo's cannot come close to hers!!

sysac - membership is for lifetime. so its worth buying. the thing is like one of the mummy here said...(cannot remember who). I have not receive the membership card yet and it has been more than 6 mths liao
but well...recently i also sign up for my younger son. hee..

sy - must be careful...just check if his breathing is difficult. the reason why they cough is because they have lack of oxygen. that happens to C too when he is down with bronchites. are you giving JH any medicine? Sabutomol to clear airway? i have since bought a nebuliser from Omron to standby at home.

CL - at first sight...looks like egg tarts. nevertheless, it looks really yummy. hey when are you starting your own biz? haha..CNY or xmas, maybe you can bake some for showcase.

tracy - C is also taking 5ml of parcetomol. he is now weighing 12kg.

Thanks mummies, hmmm seems like the average is 5ml. Meg is now 14kg. Oh well, i guess 5ml is safe.

Rachel,
Dunno leh, sometimes when meg is in a daze, one of her eye seem to be drawn inwards. You see this pic, her right eye seems to be inner. I'm not sure if its due to her right eye has no double eyelid and is smaller in size. They say flat nose also can make the eye look squint and she has my 'legendary' flat nose.

1785702.jpg

OUTING and GATHERING
Date : 25th(SAT) or 26th(SUN) October
Lets do a ECP gathering .... ANYone keen since The following monday is a holiday?

rena

haha, i kept thinking that deepavali is on tues, coz according to my boy's sch time table. Thank u for your post, else i also won't know.

What's ECP????

Mashy
I think rena meant East Coast Park

Rena
Thanks for organizing but wont be around to join the outing. Enjoy

SSF
Ha ha no standard one lah. But only when my sir says not bad then the cake can be showcase ha ha. He dun have a sweet tooth but loves cheese cake. ha ha.

Tracie
Meg looks so cute

rena

oic. hahah. Sorry, can't make it since ECP should be morn bah. C's got PD's appt that day so that we can give him a flu jab. And Sun is as usual church day.

mashy
yes, you need to soak after wash. if you don't want the soup to be too salty, cut it into stripes, and soak again for abt 30 min.

CL
thanks for helping, tats the only item i have in mind to get now. maybe if i make a trip down myself, i might grab tons of things back home =P

OMG, the thread you posted is soooo filled with motivation. not to mention the nice looking and yummy food!

tracie
based on what you mentioned, does not mean could be lazy eye. personally, am not sure whether our todd at this age can express themselve when being check by the doc on lazy eye. mine was due to late detection and its the left eye. you observe for any slower movement of meg's right eye. as in when she move her eye roll, the lazy eye(if have, *touch wood*!) will move slower than the normal eye. and the shine of the eye ball is different.

Rena
Sorry, won't be able to join in. Actually I'll likely be at ECP but with my group of church friends for cycling gathering already. Maybe can drop by and say "Hi!"

CL - Since I get up at 5am, I pop by your place and sample your baking lah...haha...

This semester, I started waking up at 5am to either study or do projects. Now I also clean the house since my maid has gone home.

Maybe when my promotion course ends, I will start baking and cooking! Hiak hiak...I used to bake muffins...lots and lots of muffins...

SSF - Oh okie, lifetime then it's really worth it! 6mths & no card...that's too long for comfort...

hi hi sysac
ok lah if you want to drive down and pick up, ha ha i will update you on my next baking schedule.

Thinking of a yogurt cake or plain buttercake tonight ha ha. Or maybe early tomorrow morning as my kids ha ha always want their cake fresh from the oven. Dunno why, they eat more when they see the cake out from the oven

Lets bake together. or you bake one i bake one and we exchange. ha ha more variety. Must ask sunny to do too then we have 3 types.

SSF
I called them up and they sent within a week. Something must be wrong with their system. I think i signed up quite soon after you. I chased them for it when we went chalet late aug.

CL
me? haha... ok ok, if you don't mind to be guinea pig of my 'experiment'. my skills is still very raw. haha...

tracie
jh has the same medicine but he loves it. he wil give me a big smile when it's medicine time

jh finally din vomit last night! he has been vomitting for so many nights until i m scared.

tracie
think duncan and jx can be good frens. she dun sleep past 7am ever.....so though i dun work i get up at 6+ everyday..

CL
u really good leh. so full of energy...

SSF
once jh sleeps he dun cough. it is the time just before sleeping that he coughs a lot. funny right.

re toilet training
actually all along we know jh can tell when he wants to urine. just that he refuse to be off diapers. so last week when my mum came, she told him not to wear and he listened. today he not wearing diapers to sch (1st time!). hope no accidents. he seems shy to tell his teachers he wants to pee or poo in sch.

SY,
So good that jh loves the med! It's a nightmare for us feeding Meg medicine.

JX wakes up so early too? Me too gotta wake up early on wknds nowadays. Sometimes when he goes back to sleep at 9plus, I will go zzz too.

tracie

heheh, when the next issue of women's weekly is out, i see if i can send u an article on feeding medicine. :p C & I will be appearing in it on this matter.

Chicken Little,
I've been meaning to bake a chiffon cake.
Do you have recommended recipe? Any tips on how to make the cake light and fluffy?