(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: lizards

I also stay low floor and have tons of lizards. sigh. I also have ant probs, but it seemed to have been resolved lately (at least i see lesser of them) after i bought an ant gel from the handifix. Applied it at the holes that the ants hide in.

mashy
ok I see... so I suppose the centre provide child care too to some other kids rite?
No wonder kae kindy not eligible cos her kindy no child care only.. 3hrly kindy.

Mashy,
How much is the ant gel? I didn't know they have such thing in DIY stores. I must go get one.
Also, does all Kinderland offer the flexi-hour playgroup thing? I'm also surprised that playgroup can be subsidised!
Right now, Isaac is attending a playgroup which cost $550 per month. Quite expensive and I contemplated switching to Kinderland Kindy cos it's cheaper but I'm only considering cos Isaac has joined Purple Train for less than 6 months and not sure if it's good to switch him out so soon. Dunno if it's another cycle of re-adjustment and crying episodes.

Rachel,
Thanks for the update.
I think got Esh Mummy also EDD in Apr but I cannot rem which date already. Hopefully I can update the gender after my next thurs checkup. hehe.

queen

It's abt $10, combat brand. But it's in a big tube and each time only need a little. So i think it can last quite a while.

flexi hr? U mean 3 days a week type or what? Mine is also under flexihr, but it's 3hrs Mon-Fri.

cookie
yah, actually it's a huge school. They've childcare section on one side and preschool on the other. The kinderplay is under the childcare section. Apparently, the curriculum is the same as pre-nursery from the preschool except that the preschool has sch hols while the kinderplay is thru'out the year.

re:toy r us sale at united sq
i was having meeting ard that area and decided to pop by. was there before 1130am. not many ppl but all the toys packaging are badly damaged and there is no sign of thomas train. saw a thomas tent though but it has a big tear. it was cheap though ..only less than 25 bucks. then i managed to find a cashier with weighing scale and bar code scanner. hee..at 15 bucks and a 50 pieces of Mc donald food stuffs also at $15. usual price is $30. i made sure i tested those stuffs before leaving. overall ok la...no new goods..only leftover from yesterday sales.

rachel - got ur blog url. will find time to update this weekend.

queen
me too.. kae started her 3hrly in Aug only, tho she settle really well and like school alot.
but with the recent problem MIL/helper prob, I have to make contingency plan in case I have to do without a helper and very tough for MIL to take care of 3 young children alone.
SO I'm planning to place kae to full time CC. Kinderland near my pl is one of the option but I yet to see it.
it will be like less than 6 mths and I will switch her.. I hope kae will not be affected.

cookie
Milk and Honey is a child care based centre that offers playgroup for half day or full day. So my boy now is on half day. Will let him try out full day in November in preparation that my helper going on home leave in Dec.

SSF,
so sad to hear about C, hope he recovers fast and well. The thing nowadays is that the viruses are so strong. S has also been falling sick, she had a flu virus about 1 month back, she just receivered, and fell vitcim to secondary infection, was on antibotics for that, and just a week ago, fell ill again the third time, same thing, secondary infection again! Take care, must be tough on you!

Re: Toddler Bed
Thanks for the compliments, actually, I have no sense of taste when it comes to decorating rooms, so this was a very idiot proof design, anyone can do it and probably will end up better than me

Rachel,
think it helped that S is sooo into PINK now, so it was easy to pick out the colour scheme, haha!

Krissie,
the bed is 70 by 160cm, so longer than a standard cot. S is quite a neat sleeper, but she does moves around sometimes.

Queen,
Yup, it helps that my second one is a girl too, so I can go all out and just deco it as girly as I want, so good to wait and see your 2nd ones's gender

Mongs,
hee hee, I'm the kind of mommy who hates having her kids sleep with me, so with S, it was her room right from the start. For the 2nd one, we have no choice have to put her in our room... I rather go over to the kid's room then have them bunk in with me

Tracy,
wow, your room must be very spacious to be able to put Meg's bed together with your own bed and have your son in there as well... our room is very small, so even fitting in the cot is gonna be a logistics nightmare for us!

Just to share for me. Now without maid and my mum cannot cope with active Aden so off he goes to Childcare again. Found a good deal with Cherie Hearts , happy with the max 19 kids in the whole centre. So decided to go ahead with it

Schools/Enrichment:

Clarisse - Child Care - going to enrol to Cambridge CDC at St. Xavier. School will start on 3 Nov. ($430/mth after working mother subsidy)
Enrichment classes - No. Considering on the "little note" from Yamaha

SSF - currently on Zoophonics (Kids discovery group). Next yr on nursery workgrp.

Mashy - Currently kinderland 3hrs daily playgroup, $375 per mth after subsidy i think. Going PLM kindy $500 per term i think (follow moe sch terms).

Clariss- Childcare: Cheeryland School Hse. Full day.
Enrichment: Kindermusik, going to stop and go to Little Notes in Jan.
Maybe going for GUG.

Cephas - Nursery@ Apple Tree Kindy 2009. Maybe enrol for swimming classes

Isaac - Currently in Purple Train. Most likely will continue ot nursery there next year.
Enrichment: nil. Will start violin lessons end of next year

Megan (Tracy) - Y'Kidz Montessori pre-nursery 930am-1230pm $361 per month

Elijah - full day Childcare at teeny tiny ( $300 per month next month $200)

D (MamaChan) - Milk and Honey playgroup 8.30am - 1pm (Now with recent subsidies, $210 per month)

E (wenyl) - P&J Montessori PG (9am-1pm) $330 per mth (includes lunch) Next yr going PLMC kindy (same as mashy's C)
Enrichment: Shichida (may stop next term)

Kae(cookie)-Riverlife pre-nursery 8-11am($210/mth, next yr $230/mth. No subsidy). Next yr will place her in Full day CC, still looking around for suitable one.

Aden(CL)- Cherie Hearts/ Tan Que Lan St Full Day CC ($450/mth, first 6 months $360/mth.)

We just got back from Japan. It's really quite fun for Charmaine - esp. DisneySea. I think the rides are pretty kids-frenly which means the level of excitement is lower. We also went to Hakone where Charmaine really enjoys taking the different mode of transport - trains, boat, cable cars.

The svc apartment was quite good and very near to JR Okubo and within 10 mins walk to Shin-Okubo which is on the Yamanote line. Svc is excellent too - they actually hunted around for a transformer at 11pm when we need to nebulise charmaine.

SSF,
I have both the nebuliser and aerochamber at home. We bought the nebuliser sometime ago. Actually my PD was rather nice - she always loans us her clinic sets before FOC but still we bought one since charmaine really seems to be on it more often then. Mashy is right in that there is a mixture of medication to put in the nebuliser. I still have spare prescriptions from my PD as she will give spare prescriptions for us to just buy the medications from pharmacy upon her advice - no need to see her. She has also mentioned that actually there is no need to use medications with the nebuliser all the time. Sometimes she will tell us to just put in saline.

SSF,
Just a suggestion - Charmaine used to be difficult with both the aerochamber and the nebuliser. My PD showed her youtube videos of other kids on it and she's okay with it after that. Perhaps you can try it?

Re: Burger and Fries
Surprisingly charmaine didn't like burger and fries. She hated the burger in the kids inflight meal and ate my salmon with rice instead so I have to eat her burger. She doesn't like fries or fried stuff either. For fried chicken, she will eat without the skin and at best, she will only eat 2 -3 strings of fries. So I guess she's really quite a healthy kid.

HI mommies,
Just want to ask if any mommies is using Pampers Active Baby(purple colour packaging) L(38pcs) n XL(34pcs)? Cos I have a few Ls and XLs to let go at :
L(38pcs)-$20/-
XL(34pcs)-$18/-
Int, pls sms or call me at 91451454

sl,
oohhh..you're back from Japan! Any problems with Charmaine on the night flight? Hmmm..but then again, maybe it's only my Megan that will give problem to daddy :p

sleepingdeer,
We knock off the wall and joined 2 bedrooms into one thus the huge space. But gonna hv problem in future when they grow up but there's going to be a long way next time so will explore this when it comes.

Meg is into pink nowadays too! Clothes must be pink. Girls!

oh yes cookie and rena,
nice pics! i can't seem to take decent pics with my 2 boys. very hard to capture their attention!

re julia gabriel holiday prog:
just wondering if any mum interested. i'm keen to bring Tyler to Playnest. not so much for Edgar.

Cookie
Your children look so lovely!! Kae is so pretty!! Kyler is so charming too!

Rena
Didi really look like kor kor Elijah eh!!! Both are so cute! Ezekiel also very sumo looking!!

Travel
Wow, Japan do sound like a nice place to go to!!! May plan for it end of next year with some friends as well! My hb may be going to San Fransico again in Jan...this time I think I have a good chance of following him!!! =P Coach Outlets anyone??? LOL!

Aileen,
Any idea when & how much is their hol prog? I have yet to bring Ben to any classes except for a trial at tumble tots.

I know some of you managed to change job while being pregnant. Any idea how to look for job that will take in 3-4mths preggie? My company is very unstable now, so am planning to look for one before we are being asked to leave. They are shifting biz to China.

HELLO!!!

Long time no long on mommies! How have you been?

Looking at the recent posts, just to add..

Tabby is in Pat's school house 1K for morning session. I am switching her to Maris stella next year for nursery. Much cheaper!! But I'll be going to the US some time next year, haven't decided when for 1-2 years so I'm bringing the kids along.

I have been asked by my hb who may stay in singapore if i should leave the kids here in singapore with him, but I really BU SE DE and I told him I'd rather quit then do that.

I don't want to switch tabby to full day school yet cos she still likes to come home and I'll be switching schools soon and bringing her to another country. Dunno how she will behave..There are days she tells me, mummy, I giap you, you don't go to work. Makes me feel so sad especially since I have been coming back really late recently.

Aileen,
I'll be going to HK in 2 weeks time. Did you bring the kids to Disneyland?

When is the JG holiday programme?

tabbiesus,
long time no 'see'! Your boy is so big already!

hehe, you appear at right time cos i read abt 'lazy eyes' in kids in Mind Your Body yesterday and tot I should send Meg for a check. Was wondering where do i go for such checks? Couldn't figure out is it normal GP / Polyclinic first or an eyewear shop? Thanks!

CL
the rate that cherie heart is charging is quite reasonable leh. near your work place right?

re: Schools/Enrichment:

Clarisse - Child Care - going to enrol to Cambridge CDC at St. Xavier. School will start on 3 Nov. ($430/mth after working mother subsidy)
Enrichment classes - No. Considering on the "little note" from Yamaha

SSF - currently on Zoophonics (Kids discovery group). Next yr on nursery workgrp.

Mashy - Currently kinderland 3hrs daily playgroup, $375 per mth after subsidy i think. Going PLM kindy $500 per term i think (follow moe sch terms).

Clariss- Childcare: Cheeryland School Hse. Full day.
Enrichment: Kindermusik, going to stop and go to Little Notes in Jan.
Maybe going for GUG.

Cephas - Nursery@ Apple Tree Kindy 2009. Maybe enrol for swimming classes

Isaac - Currently in Purple Train. Most likely will continue ot nursery there next year.
Enrichment: nil. Will start violin lessons end of next year

Megan (Tracy) - Y'Kidz Montessori pre-nursery 930am-1230pm $361 per month

Elijah - full day Childcare at teeny tiny ( $300 per month next month $200)

D (MamaChan) - Milk and Honey playgroup 8.30am - 1pm (Now with recent subsidies, $210 per month)

E (wenyl) - P&J Montessori PG (9am-1pm) $330 per mth (includes lunch) Next yr going PLMC kindy (same as mashy's C)
Enrichment: Shichida (may stop next term)

Kae(cookie)-Riverlife pre-nursery 8-11am($210/mth, next yr $230/mth. No subsidy). Next yr will place her in Full day CC, still looking around for suitable one.

Aden(CL)- Cherie Hearts/ Tan Que Lan St Full Day CC ($450/mth, first 6 months $360/mth.)

YX (sunny) - JG edudrama ($400+/term), growing up learning centre (PG) next year ($350 per term), plan to start MMI phonic next year; haven't decided which non-academic enrichment class i should sign up.

tabbiesus

long time no c! so u're really going US? U sure it's wise to let your kids be in a childcare/nanny in US? I mean it's going to be a totally new environment for them and the place isn't as safe as Singapore where your mom can help look after them. Wouldn't it be better if they stayed in S'pore? And you've been working late. Will it be the same in US? Is it fair to the kids that they've to face a new environment without any familiar faces and only get to see u late at night? And will it be good for your marriage too that your hb is staying here.

And one more thing, well, the US economy is going down. It's going to affect the pp there. I'm being paranoid here, but there's going to be alot more crazy pp out there who snapped under pressure (like that US guy who killed his entire family after he got jobless).

Sorry, coz i know it's probably an internal struggle for u too. But just felt that sometimes we've to make sacrifices. Becoz that's for their good and not ours. Will what u've decided on be at their expense?

may
i think it's much depend on individual company if they wanna take in pregnant lady. i hv a colleague working as a contract for my co. during her contract period, she's pregnant, but the co still renew her contract. good luck in your job searching.

sleepingdeer
wah, your gal is so lucky! has such a pretty bedroom.

tabbie
*wave*
time flies! your boy is so big already.

cookie
wah.. your 2 kids, one so handsome, another one so pretty.

sharing my kids' photo. :D
1777707.jpg

Sunny
Your gal put on weight ? Boy boy very cute

Tab
Long time no hear from you man. good to hear from you again. Nice pic of your cute little GUY. Got jie jie's look

May
It all depends on the company. For my company, 2 times they employed ladies who are 5 months preggy and still let them enjoy the ML.

Sunny, Rena
The price at Cherie Hearts / Tan Que Lan has reduced from SGD 850 to 750. Then plus the current subsidies at $300 so monthly only $450.

They are running a island wide open house from 13 - 18 Oct, so will give 50% off registration, 20% off the fee after subsidies for first 6 months, then free mattress and set of uniform. So I think quite good deal. Most important thing it is small, can only accept max 19, so the ratio is good and less kids, so maybe will lower the tendency of getting sick I hope.

Not far from suntec too, because opposite bugis niah.

CL
ya, finally her weight got increase a bit. now 13.3kg. think got to thank to the durian that she had been taking abt 2 mths ago. she loves durian like me. keke...
boy boy starts learning how to crawl. *headache* he's a destroyer, bites book, tear papers. haha...

i passed by that cc before. small set up, but the deco makes the centre looks very cosy feeling. :D
did you consider Agape cc at yew tee before?

Morning mummies...

Cookie/Rena/Tabbiesus/Sunny
All the photographs are so lovely.

Rena
Ezekiel looks very much like Elijah...

Sunny
YX looks like you too!

CL,
how do you find the Cherie hearts program? I am thinking of switching clariss from montessori to cherie hearts. It's not cheaper compared to her current cc. We are paying $500 minus subsidy for her current cc. The nearest cherie hearts cc near my place is charging $840 for full day so after subsidy will be $540. feel that her teachers can be better so looking around. maybe I will drop by the cherie hearts cc during their open day to take a look.

May,
I was pregnant with my 2nd girl when I changed my job last year, twice some more.
I was lucky and I guess it depends on how desperate the companies are. There was 1 other company who wanted to offer me but when they realised that I was pregnant, they took a long time to come back and by the time they offered, I had accepted the other job already. I was just pregnant when I change my job the first time so that is around 4 weeks pregnant and then I changed the 2nd time when I was 5 mths pregnant because the job is really too relaxed. both companies are willing to offer the ML to me. Personally, I don't think this is a good time to change job because the downturn is really coming and we are not sure how this will impact us in the long run so unless you are quite postive about the industry that you are in, it maybe a difficult task. but nonetheless, it's no harm trying ur luck.

tabbs - ur boy resembles Tabby. has the same eyes. wow...ya gg to US for so long? and ur hb not joining u? how are u gg to cope alone with 2 kids? ur mum or anyone accompanying you? for me, i will also be missing my kids if i am away for so long.

may - i was pregnant when i got my current job. but i told them before they signed me on. i think u shld stay to ur current job, as under the law, they cannot ask u to leave. why dun u stay put first and see how things go.

sunny - nice pics of ur kids. ur boy so big already.

Mong
I feel should personally go see then decide. Because I feel these are franchise so must make sure you and your kid are comfortable with the school.

I brought aden down last week, as long as I am in there he is ok with the surrounding. Quite ok with the Chinese teacher and the centre manager.

Drop by before 13 Oct one time first. Usually they are "dressed up" for open house.

Sunny
The small set up is what draws me to them instead of going back to Del-care.Small group more attention ?

I cannot consider Agape because I still have a Charmaine to pick up from mum's place. So not in time to pick up before 7.30 from CCK.

zhimin
ya, lots of ppl say she looks more and more like me now. keke...

CL
ya, i think that's the good thing abt small set up.
oh ok. too rush for you. btw, there's a new childcare centre set up at blk 542 leh. can't remember the price.

May
agree with mongs and SSF, think you should stay put with your current company 1st. Don't jump ship coz now with the new ruling, our government are protecting the pregnant women better, if they axe you out, they still have to pay for your ML. But looking for a new job now may not be very easy, though now MOM new ruling for companies in employing pregnant women is that so long you fulfil 3 months of work for them, they have to give you ML instead of stipulated 180 days/6 months.

Tabbiesus
Your guy very cute!!! All smiley! Hey, it's really sweet of your hb to want the children to stay in Singapore instead =) Perhaps he wants a part of you to stay with him via your children? And I guess it will make you have a conscious effort to spend the time with both children. Perhaps you can think about it and consider that option since your husband asked. During those times can always arrange for them to travel up and visit you where you're at? End of the day, it's really up to you and your hb's decision. But I feel that it seems like your hb is making a "big gesture" to ask for the children to stay behind.

CL
agape cc near my place, ya not new le. i went there last time, bright and spacious.

mamachan
my gal's hairstyle? haha... i haven't really cut her hair since we shaved her when she's abt 7mth old. can you believe that? her hair is just not growing fast and quite thin. we start getting worried leh.

hi mummies..my sil who just delivered is looking for binder for the tummy. anyone know where to get that and how much? i borrowed mine the last time, so not sure abt the details.TIA!

SSF,
DALE abdominal binder is good. If she's still in the hospital, can get from them, they should have. TMC has and the nurse can put on for her. Otherwise, pharmacies do sell this. It comes in sizes though.

belinda

haha, same. Now i'm thinking whether to get a hair clipper to cut his hair. Anyway, he hates the barber and when i cut, the back is not so nice with just scissors.

Thanks for the compliments on my son.. he's a big boy now!

all our no. 2 are getting big now hor...

Wow, i didn't know so many have no. 2 now.. Congrats!

Mashy, Mamachan
Yep will be going for 1-2 years. I dunno if it will be traumatic to bring them, but I feel it may be more traumatic to leave them behind. Firstly my mom can't really cope with them, and my hb doesn't mind them staying but you know men, he will just off load them to the maid which is WORSE! Even he just off loads them to the maid when i ask him to watch them. I know he's being kind. I am still working out things so that my mom can come and my hb is trying to sort out stuff so he can accompany me but I'm not very hopeful.

I am worried about us being apart though.. I know I will have my hands full with work and kids but if my hb is all alone... i fear.. even if he is the loyal type, i am really frightened of all those women out there who will try and take advantange.

CL
How come your maid is gone? My maid is getting horrible after 1.5 years. Initially she was very good.. now so lazy... maybe she saw that i am getting so busy she thot i got no time to watch her...

Tracie
If you need an eyecheck, get a letter from poly clinic for referral to eye center. You can also go to KKh if you have a referral letter. The docs there are the same as the docs at SNEC. We see a lot of kids. Now is a good time cos our kids can read and we can actually do a proper vision test. Let me know if you need help.

tabbs

should try to get the whole family over then. At least everyone is together. Yah, when a man is lonely, anything can happen, temptations are there esp when there's no one to watch them. Better to hurl him over. Although i know of successful long distance relationships, but it's still rare. Something is bound to suffer in a long distance relationship.

tabbs - haha you sounded so cute. must have confident in urself mah. if a man wants to "run", no need for him to be alone inorder to "run". hee...i believe in having lots of TRUST and COMMUNICATION.