(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

god's child
saw your blog earlier, wah! mummy and daughter so pretty!! ya ya, we should pick back up our baking again and in the future we can have a freast with all the food that we bake!

CL
you have any idea any branch of sun lik in the west??

re: Movie- Wall e
watched it with dylan and hb, found it meaningful and educational. our future genterations could be facing what is animated in this movie. dylan now like the little robot Wall e alot =)

tracie
went to your blog and was amazed with the freezer packed with your BM!!! great job man! Duncan so blessed!

you must bee looking forward to this japan trip. the weather should be cooling when you guys go there =)

Tracie
With kids I feel more difficult to hotspring lor. You think think lah. Because Hakone quite exp.

Rachel
sunlik only one shop near my office. What do you need ? Phoon huat got more outlet and in jurong I think got one lee bee I think

CL
me want to do kiwi apple muffin, so need kiwi filling from sunlik leh. guess i need to specially make a trip there to get it.

CL,
Hmmm..quite true hor..and yes more ex to stay 1N in Hakone.

Rachel,
I'm looking fwd to the trip but becos it involves my SIL's family, i gotta plan 'sui-sui'. I even have to type out itinerary and print brochures all to propose to them and let them choose and advise cost before they decide! Alot of work. And I hope I dun disappoint them if it's free and easy.

Haha, oh my BM...it may the last time i'm bfing so tot I put on record for memories. Duncan is not drinking as much as Meg used to, so the BM is moving too slowly and running out of space. He just upgraded to 180ml this week, 4hourly feed. I'm quite frustrated arranging the milk in the freezer cos its so cold, gotta do it fast and the milk keep falling like dominoes!! Hubby threw out my proposal of a separate freezer so no choice.

CL
thanks! *muack*

tracie
your SIL's kids are much older, so i guess free and easy is of no issue to them bah.

do you give some BM to Meg?

rachel,
SIL wants to make sure her $$ is worth it so I worry free & easy may not seem to have alot of sightseeing packed in as compared to group tour.

I tried giving Meg frozen BM but she can taste it! Even when i only add 30ml out of 150ml. So i only give her freshly expressed extra ones when the timing coincides with her milk time. AND i cannot let her see me adding my BM into her milk. She will reject it. Guess she relates BM with baby and to her,she's no longer a baby.

Tracie
got to check with her liao. coz we understand that free and easy is really 'free & easy' lor, might change plan and not so rush and on the go on schedule. group tour is always rushing and kind of 'zhou ma kan hua'. no wonder you got to type out itinerary and print brochures =p

hee yah our todd is no longer baby le. they know how to express and have a mind of their mind.

CL
huh =( then i got to search somewhere else le. its aunty yochana who say should get from sunlik. anyway thanks for checking for me!

to those who stay in disneyland hotel in hk, is it far to travel to tsim sha tsui area/central by MTR? how long 1-way? i stayed in hk years ago and am hoping to bring the kids to show them where i stayed before ... packages seem to have the disneyland hotels cheaper than those in town, right?

.ky.

tracy

I went to Thomasland before. It was part of a themepark called Fujikyu Highlands. Hehe, that was before i had C, so totally not interested in Thomas and was happily playing with the rides at Fujikyu Highlands. The roller coasters & other rides were fantastic. My MIL was the one who went Thomasland and took lots of pics for her kindy kids to see. Hahah.

Fujikyu is not at Hakone. It's nearer Kawaguchiko. In fact, Kawaguchiko is nearer Mt Fuji than Hakone. You can book an onsen hotel stay there and buy all inclusive travel tickets from JR (return train tickets from Tokyo, all transport in Kawaguchiko etc). Fujikyu Highlands is one of the stops that is in the Kawaguchi travel segment.

Yah, better if you go by yourself. Japan is actually very tourist friendly. You can get to almost anywhere on the subways/rails. Very easy and lots of signages.

Tracie

Oh yah, don't be so stressed to plan until sui sui lah. It's your holiday too you know. You can do your part, but they must also do theirs. Hate it esp when you plan everything, then they all dun wanna follow. Say dun wanna eat this lah, dun wanna go there lah etc. And you can't please everyone esp in a big group coz of the different age gaps. You may wanna go Thomasland, but your SIL's family may not like it. Then if you wanna eat sushi & sashimi, some will say dun wanna eat raw fish. Can be quite frustrating. Still can remember my SIL insisted on wanting to eat chicken when we were at Tsukiji Fish Market. Argh!

Tracie

I stayed at Oike Hotel in Kawaguchiko. Very nice hotel with lots of onsen pools (outdoor, indoor). And the best part is that you'll wake up to the full view of Mt Fuji in the day. By the time we reached the hotel, it was rather late and the sun has set. We pulled the curtains and thought it must be some ugly garden view or something coz we couldn't see a thing outside. Imagine our surprise when we saw Mt Fuji standing there in the morning. Such a beautiful and awesome sight!

http://travel.rakuten.co.jp/HOTEL/2946/2946.html

I can also give you some suggestions on where to go for your F&E trip & some budgeting tips.
One thing is find good abt F&E is that you can plan to go places where it's usually not included in a group tour. Like we made a trip to Ghibli Museum (totoro/spirited away) in tokyo and a children's playground (or rather a big building with playgrounds/art & crafts/ music stuff etc) & Yokohama's hakkeijima aquarium. That was my boy's highlight for the trip. You can also book a date to visit the imperial palace altho must say that the imperial palace in kyoto was more worth visiting.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/alwinwoo/page3/

mashy,
thanks for your input! Precisely, i'm worried about what you described. My hubby prefer F&E too cos he felt with Meg, it'll be hard to follow scheduled tour. My SIL was saying it seems cheaper with tour cos full-board. But I kept reminding her still must add in tips for driver and guide while on our own, meals we can flexi and eat cheap cheap. Not all food in Tokyo is ex lah.

Eh...asking for chicken at Tsukiji fish market????? So did she ask to see Hello Kity while at Disneyland? hahahaha

tracie

Forgot to add, it's better to go Kawaguchiko for the onsen if you're thinking of going to an onsen. Coz the ones at Hakone are hot hot hot and very smelly due to the sulpuric properties. It's not very suitable for children. I find the ones at Kawaguchiko are not as hot (of course curative properties also not so good).

Tracie

Actually if your SIL insists on this, it's better to go your separate ways. Let them book tour and you go F&E. No point hanging on to each other and then unhappy. Later can create quite a fair bit of conflict. Personally, I find go F&E so much cheaper. And you get to see things that you can't see in a tour group. Yah, not all food in Tokyo are ex. There's lots of vending machine eating outlets.

mashy,
wow wow wow! the hotel looks good!! And I din know Asakusa at night is so beautiful. I always go during the daytime. Did you go in November period too? My colleagues in Japan say it's gonna be a cold winter this year. I see that C wasn't too wrapped up in the pics. I'm not sure how wrapped up I should keep Meg in. And my nephews and SIL are terrified of cold. Imagine they say Taiwan during year-end was freezing :S So i gotta forewarn them.

Tracie

For this trip with C, I went from 4 Nov for 6 days like that i think. So it's early Nov. Not very cold. In fact, it was so hot on the the mornings at the imperial palace, i was just wearing a t-shirt. But it can fluctuate quite a bit during the day. On the coldest day, C was wear a long sleeve, sweater and a jacket and I was wearing 2 sweaters.

Hey, if it's a cold winter, will be good. Coz then you'll be able to catch the autumn leaves. When we were there, the autumn hasn't arrived. Only end Nov till mid Dec. It'll be so beautiful to catch the autumn leaves. Make sure to check where the autumn leaves will be to catch that. The Japanese actually monitor the changing of the leaves and post it on the metrological website.

Tracie
i will go with F&E too. like what mashy said, if they keep wanting group tour, let them have their way, you also will not be stress up. F&E allows you to see/taste what is really local culture and food. rest and relax, own time and target =)

Mashy
any idea how much roughly it will cost for a family of 3 to F&E at tokyo + Hokkiado, say for a week.

rachel

haven't been to hokkaido before altho that'll be next on my list. So can't really tell u. Maybe the closest est would be when I travelled from Osaka to Tokyo, 13 days, $3k per person all inclusive (incl shopping). We booked an open end SIA ticket, landed in Osaka and travelled up north towards Tokyo by shinkansen, then leave from Narita Airport. Actually i find 1 week is not enough to travel in Tokyo and Hokkaido. Too rush. Unless you only intend to stay in Tokyo for just 1-2 days. But that's so short. :p

You may wanna consider a driving trip in Hokkaido itself with GPRS system in the car coz Hokkaido's train system coverage is not very wide. Not sure abt buses though. Apparently it's quite easy to drive ard Hokkaido with the GPRS system.

tracie

Actually if you have time, budget and your ticket can be open-ended, you can consider going down south to kyoto and leave via Osaka. I find kyoto area is so much more charming than tokyo itself. And of course the autumn view is to kill for. Not sure whether autumn will reach kyoto by then though.

rachel

hahaha, me too. But have to wait till spring or summer to visit that place then can go travel F&E. Still better to follow a tour group for winter holidays coz of the road condition and the harsh weather. Always can't seem to find the budget to travel that far. hehehe. I'm always on a budget tour, so always end up in tokyo. hehehe. I wanna go kyoto & osaka again. I think Japan is the only country that i wanna have repeat visits. Hahaha. Most of the other countries are those that will be the one and only time you'll visit that place. And I haven't seen my sakuras!!!!!!!

Rachel - thanks for the compliments! hee.. it was the photographer who was good la... talk bout baking, hope i can succeed on my cheesecake then will try to do chicken pie again.. my oven canstart to come alive tomorrow haha...

Tracie - envy lei,i haven been to japan before!!! actuali i tink if ur SIL prefer F&E, then best to travel separate so as to prevent 'just in case' unhappiness... travelling together with frens n relatives can sometimes dampen the trip if not chin chai enuf...

mashy
haha the nearest country to Japan i could afford to visit back then was Korea lor. then after gave birth only dare to travel to nearby places. nv seem autumn leaves before =( not to mention sakura.

god's child
heehee time for your oven to be back to work!
=p in order for the photographer to take good pics, model is very important too wor! *wink*

Mashy - reali? korea is more exp now ar.. was stil tinking of taking cel to korea early next year.. i thot korea package norm bout $1k per pax whereas Japan easily $2k and above... i also love to plan F&E trips cos its cheaper n we choose wat we want to eat,do and see.i rem i oni spent $3.5k per pax(incld shopping) for 15 day trip to europe incld transfer flights.. hee.. my colics n frens all rather shocked by it cos they expected us to spend much more..

Rachel - u planning to go for a trip before u deliver ar? if so, then gota be soon before it gets too heavy rite?

mashy
really?? me same statement as god's child. always tot korea is a less exp country to visit as compare to japan. spent not more than $900 for 8 days back then.

god's child
want to but got to seek approval.. anyway think chances are very low. hb only left with 2 days annual leave for this year nia =( he happily took 5 days leave for his mt KK trip last month.

rachel,

at least your hb took 5days leave. My hb took 12 days leave and now happily backpacked in India. Just got his sms that he is heading to pink city.

rachel

yah lor. last time i also booked korea 8 days for only $899. Now at least $1.2k and not including taxes. And the flight tix alone are already more ex than Japan. Japan sometimes can still get $399 on NW airlines.

rachel & belinda

haha, your hbs all different from mine. My hb won't even go for overseas company trips unless i can go too. Hehehe. He said rather not go if i don't go. :p So sticky.

mashy
sticky good leh =p keke means he cant do without you!

belinda
oh, i tot he went for biz trip when you mentioned earlier he going to India! ha really special for him to choose India of all other countries. some more left you and 2 boys behide.

cookie
was it you who bought the hot flask? i not sure what you call that actually. wanting to cut down on electrical bill and think it might be good to get one instead of on the water boiler 24hours. is it enough for you to prepare milk for both your Ks?? hot enough?

God's_child - Cel & Ceph same fate 11.45am-2.45pm. Maybe blessing in disguise. Traffic is lighter during that period so we dun worry too much about traffic jams in the mornings.

U have a better chance than me 5th in line. I am 7th in line

Re: HK Disneyland

Is it cheaper to buy the air tix and hotel accomodation separately ourselves or book a package? Tom is Chan Bros fair. Thinking of whether to head down to book.

Mashy, CL, Rachel, god's child,
Thanks for all the tips! Just got pricing from agent and proposed to SIL. We'll go F&E. Apparently morning flight is cheaper than night flight, but we decided to go for night flight save one day of travelling.

So 20th night they fly and reach tokyo 21st, i'll meet them at Sunshine City Prince hotel. We'll stay one night in Hakone as well. We depart on 25th Nov night flight. All in, air ticket, tax, airport limo bus transfer, local tour to Mt fuji with 1N stay in hakone, entrance tix to Disney is about $3300 for my family and $7000 for my SIL's family.

Mashy,
Re:HK Disneyland
The last time i went with ILs and Meg we booked thru agent pkg with air tix, hotel accomm and one day local tour. HK hotels very 'laku', always fully booked, esp the ones in the central areas. HK also easy to move on your own, so if i'm going with my family only, i'll book on my own. Not sure if it's cheaper tho.

Mashy - i went HK last nov and also booked as a package with hotel n air tix. i tink pricing not much difference and it comes wf airport transfer.

Sysac - true lor on the traffic
but then,if so, gota start adjusting her naptime to get her ready for school else she will be dozing off in class haha

tracie/god's child

I've been HK a couple of times, mostly F&E and book air tix & accomodation separately. Just wondering whether it's more worth it with the agent F&E package or book separately myself.

Tracie
5 days only very easy to fill it up. hehe. 2 days will already be taken up at Hakone.

My boy was burning up after we came back from outside. Wondering if it's due to the hot sun coz it went down rapidly to 37.7 after we gave him a wipe down. Do your kids burn up too after a day under the hot sun? He was climbing the overhead bridge and i was wondering if this could contribute to him heating up.

Haven't come in for a loooong time cos Kirsten is no longer going to playgroup and I don't have any free time to come in at all, other than blogging. She and Seth always take turns to take naps. We just bought a place in Tampines so have been busy with that plus reno stuff too. Will be moving end of the year.

Flo, I read that Mel is withdrawn too? I took K out of PT, mainly for her health reasons. Maybe the full air-con environment is not doing her good. And since we're moving anyway, so it was good timing to take her out and save some money too.

Tracie, how come you change your name from Tracy?

God's child, I love your studio shots. I use them to chio him to bring our family for studio shoots too. And he's quite impressed with them and cel is so photogenic.

Queen, congrats on your pregnancy! Another accident? Both our kids are accidents too. No more accidents I hope, no matter how much subsidies the government are going to give out.

God's_child - Oh yes, must adjust nap time. For Ceph, he'll prob knock out the min he reaches home cos he usually naps 2.30pm onwards. Sch ends 2.45pm, he shd reach home 3-3.15pm. I've got to see when I reg him.

Mashy - Cld it be viral? Keep having on and off fever.

So glad that my exams are finally over! Ya! That's one more term down. Just came back from the Clarke Quay Lantern. It's so crowded but my kaypo gal didn't want to leave...

Tracy,
I am going to Tokyo too! Just booked my tics last week. Would be staying at Fraser Place - the rate that they gave me was quite good. Also booked hotel at Hakone. Hakone was recommended by a fren - she said that her boy was so thrilled with the different modes of transport that they can take with the Hakone Free Pass and he's around Charmaine's age so thought of going there. Would be taking the night flight as well - I find it easier to travel on the night flight with Charmaine cos she sleeps so no need to entertain her....

any recommendation on where to go in Tokyo? Thanks!

Mashy,
Ya, 2 days already 'burn' at Hakone..hope i got enuf time for shpg!

Hmmm..even when meg perspires alot till whole head wet her body wun feel warm. For Meg, I know she has a fever when i feel the soles of her feet. Sometimes feeling the body alone is not good enuf to judge if having fever.

Val,
haha, for fun of it only lah. Been chatting here so long 'ku-ku' me din explore the 'profiles' till latey.

SL,
When you going tokyo? Besides Mt Fuji/Hakone and taking the bullet train back, i'm planning to go Asakusa temple, maybe the Meiji shrine, Harajuku (for shopping) and if time permits, CL's recomm of Sanrio Puroland. I hope Meg sleeps on the plane. My colic's son was too excited on the plane that he din sleep well and got cranky.

Mashy - C's fever haven subsided? cel also sweats alot but doesnt have her temperature shooting up. prob u wana bring C to see a doc if fever still on off these 2 days?

Val - thanks for the compliments! must say David reali had a way wf making the kids laugh. my classmate also brot her kids there and they all were tickled pink by David. U b going for the shoot soon too? will look out in your blog for the pics then
have fun!

god's child/sysac

yah, he's still having fever today. Started yesterday again and now it's 38 after his meds. I'm also coming down with flu. Having a blocked nose already. But he's still running ard with just the fever. sigh. I'll send him to see the dr tom if it still doesn't subside.

sl
recommend for the kids if u need something to let them have some fun:

http://www.fukushihoken.metro.tokyo.jp/jidou/English/General_Information.html (been there during my trip and C loves it)

or

http://www.kodomono-shiro.or.jp/english/hotel/index.html (not been there myself, gotta pay entrance fee, got swimming pool upstairs)

If u wanna shop for kiddy stuff, try near Ameyoko (near asakusa). We walked ard ameyoko and found a few places selling children's toys, clothes etc at a more reasonable price than the shopping malls. We bought a couple of nice clothes at a Mothercare type of shop for C there.

Had been reading the posts but not contributing. I am having very bad MS again this time round. Now only 10wks hopefully it gets over asap. I feel so terrible with pregnancy this time. Dun think wanna go thru it again. Can I check if anyone of u considering Birth Control method like Hysteroscopic Sterilisation or Intrauterine Contraceptive Device (IUCD) ?

Hi Tracie,

No exact plans yet going to take it easy. Am going to Disneyland, Disneysea - I have been to Disneyland 3 times and Disneysea twice - I loved it. Going to Hakone, Asakusa temple, factory outlet for shopping. The rest just play by ear and see. Thought of going to Nikko for a day trip but no concrete plans yet.

Mashy,
Thanks for the recommendation - will definitely check out the metro hall - looks interesting.

May,
Hang in there - will be over soon. Personally, for me, the MS is worse than labour pain.

Mashy,
For Charmaine, I would avoid feeding panadol unless her fever goes up beyond 38.5. My PD is okay with that - must also monitor that the child is active and not dehydrated.

mashy/rachel,

ya..among so many countries, they picked india, i personally dun like indian food and etc...

mashy,
damien fell sick again....Urggh....