(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

shared my experience for school bus. My gal last to get up and first to be dropped off for 5 mins ride. She hate it when got boys disturbed her. She complains everyday. sigh

So I have to write to teacher to tell off the kid or inform the bus driver.

This is when charmaine can tell me exactly who is naughty. Imagine our 05/06 kid, how they describe woh

mashy
So terrible hor? My area, in particular my block also got cases of dengue and its been found in one of my neighbour's house also. The officer refused to divulge which unit but they did mention that it was one of the units downstairs. I suspect its one of those families on 2nd or 4th floor. The whole corridor like jungle!

mamapanda

yah, so this sat we're heading to far east florist to see if can get those mosquito pellets for the dish drainer just in case. I just got bitten a few days ago and i managed to kill that blood sucker. Left a blood stain on my bedsheet. sigh. Hopefully it's not dengue infected. My boy had one bite last week, but since his fever so low, shouldn't be bah.

CL
I also didn't know Ariene was bullied in class till I asked her how was school. Cuz all of a sudden she refused to go to school since August so I asked her why she didn't want to go to school. After some prompting, I found out that she was slapped by one of the new boys there and my husband was so mad when I told him about it that he wanted to go and slap that boy. Anyway, I told the teachers about it (as usual, they play don't know and now they know), spoke to the boy very sternly on what I felt about him slapping Ariene in front of his grandmother and spoke to his grandmother. After that, he never walked near Ariene anymore and the teachers also make it a point to seperate him from Ariene so she's ok with going to school again. However, she still mentions that she don't like that boy. Everyone else in class is her friend except him. haha. kids..

ya man
Charmaine was bitten by a boy on her third day at nursery. She oso din want to go to school. And everytime this boy will come bully her. Dunno why this boy so silly want to target my gal who is tallest in class. Lucky this chilli padi will not let him off, will storm into principal office and tell tale so most of the time this boy in office. ha ha

belinda
need my mil to bring my gal and it's abt 5-10 min from her place. quite troublesome for her especially during rainy days... not forgetting got another bb to carry along...
so, i am deciding between the playgroup downstairs at my mil's block, or let her take school bus to the kindy which accept 2006 kids...

CL
your charmaine can really stand up and protect herself. mine... *shake head* i think will only get bullied and keep quiet...
oh, btw, the paste bought from sun lik hor, still need to cook again before making the moon cake?

Bullies

I think they existed every where. During Ashley first day at the nursery, there is this boy who snatch a toy from her hand and smack her head after snatching. Thank God i was there and i cauht his hand before his hand reaches ashley. Subsequently, i heard ashley saying an Indian girl like to strangle people's neck. I warn her to tell teachers if she ever came across that, be it the victim is herself or other children.

I think we just need to teach and remind our children how to protect themselves or highlight to the teachers.

Hi Mashy,

There was a boy in my school bus who uses rubber band and paper to aim and shoot people. Sure have red marks on skin. I complain to my mum who scolded him and threaten to bring him to the principal office, then he leaves me alone while he continue to terorise others....

yuki

lucky u, still have your mum to protect you. My mum wasn't so concerned abt me being bullied. I've to stand up for myself since young.

belinda
hehe, i've a choice and i choose to let C attend school earlier. I don't think it's so 'poor thing' or what. School can be fun too.

Belinda,

Haha...as long as they dun feel poor thing it's okie

We chose to let him stay home until he turned 3 to go school. In a way, we are all prepared for school next year

Bullies - I think it is inevitable to meet bullies anywhere & everywhere. Just rem to teach our children to tell us or someone and be able to fend themselves.

I had good scool bus experiences so I hope C will too
Picking up bad habits is inevitable too. Just need to educate & remind our children not to "Monkey see Monkey do" everything.

C will imitate some bad habits he picks up from my niece & I will explain to him that I do not allow such behaviour. When he sees my niece do it again, he will tell her "Cannot do this, my mummy will scold.."

Hi, mummies. So long never come in already. Bit thick skinned but need to ask you all for a help.

Anyone has a boy suit to borrow or rent cause my sister wedding in end november

Really appreciate it!!!

mashy,

elijah some how like school.. maybe coz he is very kaypoh.. and he has a girlfriend at so young age.. heard from teacher that he and his girlfriend will sit at one corner after nap time and whisper to each other then hug each other...my god.. my son start at young age..

Rena

when will you be back in office ? I am heading to suntec from 22 - 23 Sep for training so wondering if you are around to pass you the risotto

Re. bullying
Oh dear... I haven''t heard of bullying Isaac's playgroup and I hope not cos I'm not sure how Isaac will react. During my Perth trip, my friend's boy who is 1 year younger got quite irritated at Isaac cos Isaac likes to follow him around and watch over him like 'teacher' and tell him 'cannot do this' and 'cannot do that' like when the boy is opening drawers or playing with the curtains. He got so irritated at Isaac and that he was biting Isaac's fingers whenever Isaac was near him! Isaac just run back to us or cry whenever that happens. So I always tell Isaac to ignore the boy and let his parents' tell him what not to do instead of him being so 'Kaypoh'.

Hi Hi...

talk about bullying, kids nowadays also know how to complain hee... Cel also complained to us bout a boy pulling off her hairclip in her weekend class,how painful it was and how he put it in the box and finally bout the boy being scolded by teacher and she will say it in a stern tone tat teacher said to "sit down properly!"

Re: childcare leave
oh, i just saw fr the papers today that if the employer is ok to grant the 6 days, MOM willing to pay the 3 days wor... i thot was pro rated so its oni 3 days this year.. how are your companies treating this? if canhave 3 extra days, was tinking can clear during xmas season hee...

The Childcare Leave entitlement of 6 days per year will be pro-rated for the period 17 August 08 to 31 December 08 for eligible employees, which works out to 3 days. However, if an employee has already taken 2 days of Childcare Leave under the Employment Act prior to 17 August 08, he/she will only be entitled to 1 additional day of Childcare Leave until the end of the year. These 3 days will be employer-paid. Where employers are able to grant up to the full 6 days of Childcare Leave, the Government will pay for the additional days of Childcare Leave taken, up to the maximum of 3 days.

Mashy - How is C now? hope his temperature is back to normal now..

Sysac - Cel is also gona take school bus and i tink its more than 15mins...anyway, im hoping she gets the morning class so that my neighbour's boy can help me jaga her..fingers crossed! school bus fees are so exp now, Cel's school bus is $95 and with inflation n all, not forgetting frequent bus fee hikes, i tink its might peak to $100 next year..

Hi Mashy,

Yup, looking back, i am glad my mum is with me....... in fact she is doing that for ashley too. Her friend snatches and exchange birthday gifts thou ashley is unwilling (hers is blue while ashley's gift is pink). Ashley was super upset. My mum approached the gal to say that she will find a pink one for ashley but if she can't, the gal has to give the original one back to ashley and ashley will return the blue one to her.

I was upset with ashley too. Told her to fight for it if she really really like the pink one. Ashley said the gal threaten not to be her freind if she don't exchange it with her.... so i told ashley if she 'value' this type of friend... if she still want her as a friend, then don;t cry over the gift.

hk disney hollywood hotel:
hi want to ask you mummies who have been there. do you have time to go swimming? coz i'm staying for only 1 night and leaving the next day, i wonder if there's time to swim. and do they provide floats?

Hi Aileen,

Despite people saying HK Disneyland is small, we didn't manage to complete all, miss a few shows, games etc.... And it wasn't even holiday period and we Q like 5 minutes compared to 15-30 mins to take pictures with the characters.....

I thot can only book in after 3pm therefore i went after 3pm on the first day..... reached Disneyland at about 4 plus after checking in, waiting for the bus to Disneyland (the bus ride is about 5 mins from the hotel)....

By evening, 6plus, the sky are slightly dark so cannot take too many pics....

The next day, i reach about 10+ in the morning and had to leave for the airport at 1pm to catch the flight back to singapore..... watch the mickey show half way and had to leave.... Break my heart to see ashley crying.

And that is we skip "Tomorrowland"( lilo & stitch, scicentific stuff) which we reckon the kids prefer Adventure (Eg. Tarzan house etc) and the fairytale (Castle, pooh bear house etc)....

Lesson learnt: Can go earlier and leave your baggage with the hotel. Can come back at 3pm to do the check in, let the children take a nap, then go back for the fireworks. If cannot compete, still have the second day pass to 'finish it up'.

yuki, thanks ur info is very useful! :D
I also think that even pple say it's small, with kids, we tend to take longer at each stop, so may not be possible to finish in a day. btw how's the fireworks? is it really fantastic? where do you view it from? ur room? or outside?

Hi Aileen,

We miss seeing the fireworks! Till this day still regret taking hubby's advice to watch fireworks from the hotel balcony!!!!!!! It is not the same!

So you must stay within the Disneyland itself! That's why i suggest to bring the kids back to nap before going back for the night fireworks.

As we were upgrade to the Kingdom club, the hotel has a lounge with snacks, juice etc for the Kingdom club guests to compliment the watching of fireworks from the balcony.......

When are you going? Was just telling hubby last night that last year this time, we were looking forward to the trip.
I can still remember Ashley's expression when told that we are going to HK Disneyland. That expression is priceless.

yuki,
oh? u missed it?? but why? i even booked the more exp rooms coz the lady said can see fireworks from my room. i'm just wondering if it's better to watch from the room or outside.

what's kingdom club?

i'm going 28 sep. by the way how's the weather when u went there last year? cooling or warm like sg?

CL
I just visit the Aunty Yochana's blog she very POwer hor...I saw some post mention to join her mooncake class.. does she conduct class too?

My HB was telling me.. next year we will bake our own mooncake.. the Bird nest ones...and he MEANT he will bake..hahaha..so I'm looking fwd to.

Mashy
How's C liao??

Re: False alarm HFMD
this morning kae school called to inform that kae has 1 red dot each on both of her inner cheek.. suggest that I bring her to PD.
Haizz I just step in to office and got to turn back.
But Thankfully it's false alarm after all after seeing PD and he has cerify that Kae is alright.
So end up brought her to mac to eat ice-cream instead...heehee... have a good time together

Sunny
At first I'm concern a school bus safety too... so 1st day I took the school to and fro with kae.
After that I'm kinda satify.
School bus MUST have a aunty to follow thru. For kae she took the small bus - combi 18 seater one in the morning and return in a bigger big.
The morning trip, the aunty will usually place her close to her as she is the youngest and usually 3 kids share 1 seat.. so the room of movement is not big
During her return trip in a bigger bus, there will also be a aunty... what she does is she will place kae to sit with 2 other bigger gals, probbaly K1 and K2 kind. Kae will sit inner most close to window while the bigger gals sit outside and when it's near to drop off location, aunty will bring her to the seat near to the door. So far so agood.

There was a time.. kae came home crying.. so I ask teacher to check what happened.. apparantly for that day she was placed to sit in the back row and there are kids playing and pushin and kae was unhappy abt it.. maybe she kenna pushed. SO teacher told me she has already highlight to Aunty dun place her sit at the back row... so now more or less ok.

Hi Aileen,

I missed it as in watching it 'live' at Disney itself. The hotel is still quite a distance away from Disneyland. So it appear small when we view the fireworks at the hotel balcony

Kingdom club is like suites or just come with special service etc..i think. Eg can access to the lounge with snacks at 8pm, story books to read for the kids etc all FOC. Waiter and waitress toserve per table etc... Cos it was Ashley's birthday and we were upgraded to it FOC.

My first impression when i stepped out of the airport is the air is hazy..... like in singapore we always have the hazy period? exactly like that. But the further you travel away from the airport, it gets better... but still not too fresh.... The weather was hot and humid like singapore for those 6 days i was there..... If your kids has asthma/wheezing history, do bring medicine and puff just in case..... cos i thot the air is really hazy. Not too sure if this year is the same.....maybe other mummies who have been there can comment?

Making Science Make Sense @ Kids Science Fest

The annual Kids Science Fest is here again! Sponsored by Bayer as part of the Making Science Make Sense, Kids Science Fest is open to the public this weekend only.

So if you have children aged 5 to 12 years old, why not bring them to experience the fascination of science. Admission is free.

Date: Sat 13 to Sun 14 Sept 2008

Time: 10 am to 6pm

Venue: Annex Building Hall 2 (not the main entrance)
Singapore Science Centre
15 Science Centre Road
Singapore 609081

Admission: Free admission to the Kids Science Fest.

For more details, click on the the Making Science Make Sense website at http://www.sciencemonth.org.sg

God's_Child - Hoping Cel gets the morning class? I rem she's got a place at Glory & u registered early too.

Yep, I hope so too but then chances are slim for C as 7th on waiting list for morning session. Got a confirmed place for 11.45am too. Will be going down to see and do the registration on 22nd. Imagine I confirmed a place for him w/o checking it out! Hee...

The principal told me it'll be a mini van of 15 chn and there is definitely a bus aunty who will bring them up & down from the building as school in on the 4th floor.

cookie

still dunno yet. have to see how's his temp today. He was still having a rather high temp yesterday. Have to wait till night time to see if it goes up.

yuki,

ok, then i better bring medication, like ventolin. i really don't like the air pollution there.

aiya, don't have anyone's birthday leh...

oic... i tot u totally missed the fireworks. but u mean it will be much nicer watching at disney itself? btw where do you settle ur dinner when u were staying at disney? u ate there or went out to eat?

yup. I thot it would be much nicer to watch at5 Disney itself.

We took a cab to the airport to meet hubby's cousin who stayed in HK.... She wanted to buy ashley and hubby birthday dinner. That was also part of the reason why we didn't stay that long at Disney for the fireworks cos hubby wanted abreak instead of whole day out.....

Aileen

We went to Disney HK in Oct last year. Weather was cooling. May need a light sweater, depending on the day's weather. I personally enjoyed the fireworks live at Disney. And if I remembered correctly, the theme park closed quite early at 8pm.

Come to think of it, I think Angie and me quite on. We stayed the whole day at the park. We will find some place to sit down and rest while the kids nap in their stroller - we did not bother going back to our rooms. There's a Chinese Maxim restaurant in the park which serves pretty decent dim sum. We headed out for dinner after the park closed :p

Cheng
Ya man. The next day, after the breakfast , we went back and was even there to watch the parade again around 3 pm while hbs went back hotel to check out and bring the luggages to the park to move on to te city. ha ha

Sysac - ya, i registered early but stil cant beat the other mothers... morning class was full by the time i went so am on waitlist. the bus tat cel will travel in is reali those big school bus, so am abit worried. i tink a van will b better, like your case...

yuki, cheng, CL,
Thanks for the feedback. ok then maybe I should watch the fireworks in the hotel rather than the room.

cheng, CL,
do you all have any itinerary for hk? or like a list of places to go? if have, can share?

Aileen
We did not realli have much itinerary leh. Eat more ha ha.

The risotto, just open 1 of the ingredient pack, add into the one with the rice, cover up and put into microwave for 3 mins can eat liao

God's_child - Haha, we are in the same boat! On wait list for morning session. The impt thing is we've secured places for the kids in the schools.

Don't worry too much abt the school bus issue. There'll definitely be the bigger kids or the bus aunty to take care of Cel.

Hi Mummies who have been to Japan,
I'm going to Tokyo for meeting from 16th to 20th Nov and planning to get my hubby bring Meg together with my SIL and her kids to join me from 21st-26th Nov.

I'm wondering which is more cost effective:
1) Sign up with tour company but agent already warn me may hv added costs cos i'm joining them only from Tokyo. OR

2) Buy airline tix that comes with hotel accomm and book local tour to Mt Fuji with 1N stay in Hakone (JTB tours), then i'll bring them on my own via train to places like Asakusa, Disneyland, Harajuku etc.

Figured this is a good time to bring Meg cos she's below 3YO and disneyland, local tour and bus rides all FOC for her. And my air ticket is already paid for by company.

My SIL is more inclined to follow tour and I'm afraid if i bring them on my own it may not be up to their expectations.

Tracy
Ha ha i see till blur. But reckon it is you since you mention Meg.

Tokyo is not that difficult to move around. My husband managed on his own to bring Charmaine to Disneyland and Sanrio Puroland. If you check the sites where you want to go, they have very detailed explanation on how to take the train. Within Tokyo station, there are signages which clearly tell you where to board the train for Maihama which is the Disneyland station

Your company probably will have corporate rate with some hotels, should get your colleague to help you book. Check if SQ has any promotion now, I think the fuel surcharge has reduced a bit. Check if Keio Plaza is good

Yup brought Charmaine before she turn 3 and she still remember so should be ok.

Hi Aileen,

Depends on how long you will be there. Hubby and i agreed that we will take it slow and steady with the two kids so we were not very aggresive.

With 2 days at Disneyland with hotel stay, and if you consider going Ocean Park too, that will be 3 days already.

I was there for 6 days, left 3 days - went shopping. One whole day at Tsim Sha Tsui and night at ladies market. One word of caution - the price there are not always cheap. I bought those Hello kitty plaster (for cuts) and it comes with nice packaging at normal pharmarcy. Ladies market sell them too but more expensive! thot it should be cheaper! So do check out the price.

There is this MTR station call Lai Chi Kor. Many industrial/ wholesaler there so the clothes were really cheap. But some sell in bulk. Then again, they sell more of winter clothes since it's late Sep already. If your hubby is into sports gear like addidas, there is one factory outlet there. Eg, buy 2 pc at 20% off, buy 3 piece at 30% off etc. We bought many addidas T-shirts as gifts too and shoes for the gals. The shoes, after discount were only $25 or thereabout. Wanted to buy in Singapore prevoiusly but no size for ashley (a blessing in disguise? ). And price was $50. So it's like 50% discount.

Wanted to go the Peak after Ocean park but was dead beat...... so we skip that. With two kids, gotta lower our expectations. Haha.

CL,
haha, change name again. :p

Thanks! i figure would be easy to move around. Oh SQ got promo now?? Better call my agent today. She was telling me fuel charges may go up. For my meeting I'm staying at Mercure Ginza then thinking to book Sunshine City Price Hotel for my family and I'll go meet them there on 21st morning.

Wat do you tink of the stay in Hakone? Should we? Heard there's a Thomasland there.

Tracie
I have not been to the thomasland, but my colleague went. Thomas is just one of the attraction in the theme park. Hakone I would go for hot spring but not sure if the kids will enjoy woh. But if you go for Roten Buro ha ha open air concept, nice view man. Very romantic for couple. Ask your sil to take care of the kids, you and hb go scarely #3 will pop from there. ha ha

Sysac - just called Glory and they said morning class got 5 on waitlist.. :S chances look very slim! Cel will have to take the odd timing of 11.45-2.45pm liao... ya, hope cel will behave well on the bus and no bullies hopefully hee...

CL / Rachel - your got me all inspired by the baking going on! am gona try baking an oreo cheesecake tis weekend...been ages since i did it,tink the last was when cel was still unborn :p

CL,
*Roll eyes* Think my hubby will 'strongly prevent' #3 from popping. Hahahahaha! I also no big fan of hot spring but figure my SIL/BIL will enjoy bah. Thanks!