(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

aileen
my friend tried beco and ergo. she told me beco is warmer. at the end, she bought ergo 'cos it's more secured though beco has many beautiful selections.

i bought ergo recently. haven't tried for my boy; so far only let my gal use it and she likes it a lot.

rena
wah!!! your boy is really big!

CL
hiya i went to bugis junction and all snow skin sold out
they dun even know if got stock coming.. haizz
BUT! i bought 2 pc from home's favorite which are very nice too hehehe...

oh lots talk abt ergo carrier.. I havent use it yet but my hb like it alot. Kyl too! he dun mind facing in and I alwways play peek a poo with him from behind, He will fell asleep without fail everytime hb carry him

I look fwd to using it myself
looks very comfortable

re durian mooncake

yummy...me too carving for it.....

re Lantern
Hardly see any places selling lanterns this year. Have not get one for the kids yet.

Rena,
Wow! 8kg at 9 weeks! Sumo #2?

Re. Ergo
I'm really tempted to buy with all these great reviews! Though my HB thinks its a bit expensive.

sunny,
thanks for the feedback. ya i think i'll go for the ergo thou like u said the beco has nicer designs.

SL, I find it heavy to piggy back, i still prefer to put him infront facing me. Or maybe on the side, which i have not figured out how yet but the lady at mummy's milk said can.

Just to share that Megan has adpated to school. In fact she was sick yesterday thou it' school reopen.... She cried when heard that she has to stay at home..... haha.

Hi CL,

You amaze me!!! Still have time to cook and bake! Peifu Peifu.....

Your friend will be touched by your care! Very sweet and considerate of you to cook for her.

CL
he helped me to arrange the muffin cup and scoop the paste in. he was delighted to see his "master piece" and the close-up pic of the muffin was taken by him heehee
the cake is banana cake, 1st attempt to bake one. tasts nice =)

Rachel,
Your banana muffins looks really good! I have only baked blueberry muffins before. Can I ask whether you include banana muffins in the batter intself or just garnish the top?

Queen
i added mashed bananas into the batter, so the texture and taste is better. next on my baking list is strawberry and blueberry muffins =D

wenyl,
thanks for the link. got it!

CL,
oh ok. then i'll just order from her directly. thanks! :D

Rachel,
well done! wow dylan can take very nice pics! must have got that artistic flair from mummy :D

Yuki,
glad to hear that megan is adapting well to school. my boy still say no to his kindy thou he doesn't cry. he stil prefer the parent accompanied classes.

really wondering what's wrong with C. His temp keeps fluctuating up and down. It keeps ranging from 37 to 37.5. And he's as energetic as ever, refused his naps and bedtime.

Rachel

Nice muffins! Wow, Dylan is so good at taking pics. My boy kept pointing the camera on the floor. Still a long way to go for him.

CL
hip carry is 'chimz'... like lots of steps.

re: ergo
today i use the carrier to carry my boy, he's ok with it. and with the carrier, i still can carry the laptop sling bag walk from my place to my mil's place which is about 10 min walk. and i don't feel back or shoulder ache! it's much better than bb bjorn. :D

mashy,

i also duno how to tell, only doc can do it coz the other time i am so scared that damien kana dengue coz his fever is alwasy between 37 - 38 degree. End up it was a throat infection after going to doc. He looked perfectly well and no cranky and still eat as per usual.

belinda

just remembered that C had fever something like this last Dec before we had a playgroup at CL's place. Searched the thread and realised that his fever went away after a few days and i think we didn't see a dr coz i asked here whether should i take him to a dr. Weird. His fever is back tonight again.

mashy,
Oh dear... did your doc do a blood test? Normally when they see the child being active and all, they usually brush it off but if the fever persist after say 4 or 5 days, I think better to do more thorough examination.

Rachel - Wow, yummylicious muffinns! Dylan looked so satisfied!

Mashy - Better see a doc. Cld be infection.

Kindergarten - While some of you mummies were enrolling your kids for school next year in May/Jun period, I was still deciding btwn Kinderland, Appletree & St Joseph's. I called the schools 2 weeks ago and to my horror, found myself on the waiting list for morning session.

Anyway, I finally managed to enrol C at Appletree Kindergarten (11.45am-2.45pm) for his nursery class in 2009. 7th on the waiting list for the 8.30am session. Kinderland is full & 5th on waiting list. St Joseph's afternn session too late into the aftnn.

This was a lesson learnt not to take things so lightly. I even called the PCF branches near my home. Didn't believe my ears when they told me they did not have vacancies! Haha...

sysac
ha ha me too hor. You know after CNY, or around Apr most Kindy will start the registration. So ha ha I oso stuck on waiting list at Faith Kindy for Aden. Aiyo headache headache.

Appletree is the one at HDB building beside Lot 1 ? My nephew was there for nursery then switch to BPMK

Re: C's fever
Called the clinic and the nurse said if using ear thermometer, abv 38 then considered fever. So i suppose C is not having a fever after all. sigh. it's so contradictory. All the base levels for fever is different everywhere.

Queen
no blood test done at all. Is it necc? Yah, usually if child still jumping ard, the most they'll give is fever meds.

sysac

haha, sometimes have to be a bit more KS. No choice coz the rest of the Spore mommies are like that and if you don't register early, will end up in waiting list.

mashy,

i am a super KS mother, i use 2 type of thermometers to measure. Hee..
I tot ear thmermomenter above 37.8 is then consider fever.
Maybe his body is got abit more heaty.

belinda

yah, probably too heaty. But he's still pooing like 3-4 times a day and not hard stools. later i'll go and buy green bean to boil for him.

Mashy
Eh.... I thought if temp 37.5 and above (using ear thermometer) is considered as fever? That's what I was told by 2 different PD clinics before. Hope C is much better now, might be viral infection if no other symptoms.

CL - Ya lor..I was thinking still can wait in May/Jun...but nvm, he's got a place & the principal of Appletree sounds nice. Yep, it's the bldg next to LOT 1. She is mailing me the registration form so I'll fill up then go down to pay the regn fee, deposit,school fees for 1st term & prob the uniforms so I need not go down again until term starts

Belinda - Oic, do u live in CCK? If not wrong, the one I signed C up for is the only Appletree Kindergarten. The others are playgroup. If you continue, then got to come down to CCK. Better hurry cos left with 11.45am slot. I understand they only have 2 classes of each level (N/K1/K2) for each session. In a way, that's why I like it - small outfit. But it is expensive!

Mashy - Hee hee...ya got to learn to be more pro-active! Waiting list now is for ideal time which is he morning session as we were thiking of sending him to school in the morning and let him take the bus back. If he con't 11.45am slot, then will be 2-way on the bus.

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

Sysac

no i am not staying in CCK but in Bt Batok. They only have appletree kindy in CCK. Apparently he is in the palygroup near my house.He is very comfortable with the samll group .

Belinda - Oh yes, a distance away for you. I m letting C take the sch bus (1-way if 8.30am & 2-ways if 11.45am). Any Kindy near for you then?

My colleague was telling me to let him take the bus as they'll enjoy the ride. I don't want to think so much also. For him, it's about 10-12 mins bus ride.

sysac
how much is the bus fare?

mashy
could it be that C catches cold? any cough/runny nose? sometimes my gal will have fever when it's evening time, then day time, she's perfectly ok. then, the sinsei told us that she caught cold during night 'cos she pulls up her clothes when she's sleeping.

school-bus ... just a personal opinion. my older son only hops onto school bus last term, ie, he's travelling to school by bus for 10 weeks. We notice that he's got slightly naughtier than before, and I've personally sat on the bus before ... find that the kids are quite chatty and interacts a lot on the bus. my son told me his best friends are those on the bus... so I'm quite concerned on the kind of behaviour that our young ones pick up from the others on the bus.

oh ya, young kids love the bus alot. mine prefers to take the bus than the car, and we do that at least 2 times a week, and both boys are so easy to bring onto public transport because they love them, but personally, I'll not put the younger boy onto a school-bus now.

just a personal view.

.ky.

sunny

no symptom at all other than the high temp.

Mamachan
Yah lor, I'm also confused. Everyone says diff things abt the fever yardstick. sigh.

ky

yah yah, if i can, i'll also not opt for school bus. I still remember being bullied on a school bus before. One of the indian boys kicked my back when i was getting off the bus then after that pretend that he didn't do it in front of his teacher.

hi mashy ... give him a few days. if anything's happening, you'll see in a few days. Just read in the magic schoolbus that fever means that the body is fighting the germs as the white blood cells work better in a warmer temp. Or like the old folks say, the body will need to stretch and the fever will help the body to grow. I've seen a few fevers that resulted in nothing, just fevers.

.ky.

ky

haha, interesting that we're learning a lot more new stuff from our kids' things. Hehe... I've learnt how to tell Asian elephants and African elephants apart from Mamamirabelle (kiddy national geog cartoon) too. Heheh!

Yah, will just wait it out and see. So far he hasn't been coughing, which is a good sign. Coz he usually will start coughing after a bout of illness.

mashy
Actually, its normal for toddler's body temp to flatuate between 37 and 37.5 since they are more active and their metabolism rate is high. In general, there's no need for any alarm unless their fever is 38.5deg and above and they are "off" their usual behaviour, ie, lathargic, cranky, no appetite, orangish/brownish urine, signs of pain, watery/hard stools, etc.. you know, the general signs that something is not right. I was even asked to bring Ariene home when I brought her to KK A&E when her temp hit 40.2deg . All we did at KK was feed her panadol & water (she was so hot that she threw up the panadol n water we tried to feed her so we brought her to KK as it was 2.30am) and wasted 4 hours there waiting for her temp to drop, only to hear them say its a viral fever cuz urine test shows no infection.

BTW, the temps for dengue fever would be HIGH as in 39.5deg and above and there will be symptoms of "flu", vomiting, watery stools, possibly febrile fits. If you do not exhibit any of the above symptoms, you are not likely to be suffering from dengue.

Sunny - $85 for school bus. Keen on Appletree too? Hee...hurry if you are.

School bus - C has to take the school bus as we are both working & it's inconvenient for my MIL to send/pick him up with a little toddler in tow. I took the school bus from kindy to Pri 6 and had no problems. I enjoyed the interaction in a social setting out of the classroom.

mamapanda

talk abt dengue. there's a case in my blk. Argh. The NEA officer just paid us a visit today to tell us to remember to clear the water. Apparently they found some larvae in one of my neighbours' home.

sysac
they accept yr 2005 kid leh. mine 2006, i called and they don't accept. haha....

re: school bus
i am more concerned abt the safety...