(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May,
Take care and rest well. Walk less, especially dun walk up the stairs.

Sunny,
At the moment hubby, myself and 2 kids all bunk into our master bedroom and I think this will be the arrangement for many years till they go primary school. Cos our MBR is 2 rooms combine and it's spacious. We figure also save elect cos on one aircon only.

In future I think they will both share one room cos we only have one other bedroom. Unless we shift house.

CL
i also share room with my sis. but for different gender... not too sure if sharing room, what's the appropriate age to separate them to different room next time? 10yr old?

tracy
i worry that they will disturb each other when they wake up middle of the night. now #2 doesn't wake up, but my elder one will loh.
your 2 kids both sleep thru? what if one cries and the other one follows?

sunny
my husband shared room with his sister and brother till the day they got married. Just need to make sure they change in room locked or in toilet lor.

May,
Good to hear about your latest visit to the gynae. Take care still...

Sunny,
I used to share a room with my bro and younger sis till Primary 5. My brother was a year older than me. Then we moved house and my brother got his own room. Generally I think it's ok to share rooms, till puberty at least. Then perhaps, it's best to separate. But then there are families with different gender sharing rooms till adulthood. I guess it's a matter of instilling the sense of respecting one another's privacy in your kids. But if possible, try to separate when the kids reach puberty loh.

Fion,
I'm the opposite. Isaac started out sleeping in his own room since 2 months old till about 9 months when HB and I started bring him to our bed cos there was a hot spell and we had to turn on the air-con quite often. We didn't want to close our room door while Isaac is sleepign in another room. BAD MOVE. I regretted. When we tried to get him to sleep by his own after that, it's difficult. Now he still sleep with us. But I'm going to try some of the suggestions like getting him involved in decorating his room. Hopefully he will want to sleep in his own room soon.

Re. bathing
I used to do that when Isaac is younger, but now very seldom. I do feel a bit weird cos Isaac is now quite curious about body parts. My HB showers with him though.

cookie
is the sch bus the big sch bus? i m thinking of switching Jh to riverlife. but he dun wan to switch sch. he says old sch got a lot of frens and new sch dun have. and he keeps talking abt a particular gal in sch...lke his girlfren

re nap
JH has been taking 3 hours nap. if i dun wake him he can continue sleeping. it is good in a way cos jx dun sleep much in the day

mamachan
wow D cab write...i think jh interested in writng but haven seen any 'works' from him yet

mummies recently he very funny. when he makes me angry he will quickly say i love u. got once i was angry n he told me to be happy. i asked why shd i be happy n he said becos i love u mama...how to stay angry...

SY
Yup, D is starting to try to make out works. Initially his 1st few attempts, cannot tell what it is, to us adults it's just scribbling. But he'll call out what he tries to "write". Then during dinner outside while waiting for food, we were stunned when he knows the strokes for 10, 11, 12 and 13 and some of the alphabets. He was too quick in erasing the board that we had no chance to snap pictures!

Sy
wow... this word "I Love You mama" so powerful!!! Perhaps he afraid u might scold him so he used this method to make u happy and forget the incident.. hahah.. he so cute...

Queen
Ya, once u let them sleep at ur room often it is very hard to get them back to their own room... I'm sure ur method do work on it, cos he can decor his own bedroom...

May
Happy for u, do rest more and do careful the food or drink that u take. ;p

Sunny
I do share room with my sister till i got marry. I think when they reach P4 or P5 u hv to separate them to different room liao...

Sunny,
At the moment when one cries the other is not affected. I'm not sure if it will change when they grow older. Only when Megan screams very loud continuously in the middle of night then Duncan will 'ek ek' abit to show displeasure but quickly goes back to sleep when i pat him.

When Duncan cries, Meg is not affected. Then again, this boy cries rather softly. When it's time for milk, he will go 'ek ek' only.

CL/queen/tracy/fion
thanks for sharing. i think i will let them sleep in the same room soon. my gal will surely very happy to share the room with the brother. sometimes she asked us to let didi share the bed with her. haha... i hope she means it. :p

SY
Heee, JH really know how to appease you and say the right words to keep you from getting angry. How's he towards mei-mei?? My boy only know how to kiss and make-up. But nowadays, he knows how to use the word 'sorry' sometimes...

mamachan,
ya, duncan is more gentle compared to Meg. For now that is...better not speak too soon, who knows when he turns 2YO...

SSF
yes yes.. Happy belated birthday to J! We are celebrating tis weekend with my family , so ytd I bought a small cake for him still. Think Kae is happier tho hehehe..
K can walk a little too.. but he is kinda lazy, prefer to crawl still. He has 6 teeths now and he has a Gap between the front teeths.. hmm I wonder will it close up, not very nice. Kae has very uniform teeth!

Sunny
I shared rooms with my siblings from young too.
Now basically the kids are sleeping in the same room as us, so kae & K are sleeping in same room but not same bed. kae sleep on her own bed and K sleep with us. I hope to move them out soon.. maybe in a yr or 2.. depends on situation

SY

JH so smart ah... really knows how to make mummy happy.

My boy also says 'I love you' but that's coz he's singing the song. Nowadays, he wants to lie on top of me to take his nap. Argh, he's getting so heavy already. But still feel kind of happy that he wants that coz last time he'll want me to stay away from him, cannot hug, cannot kiss. But now he's very much more affectionate.

Did u gals read the news on the 3 yr old who just died from HFMD? So sad hor.... He's abt the same age as our kids.

Sunny,

i shared rooms with my brothers till 20+.then i have my own room and my 2 brothers shared a room until i got married they each have a room

Mashy
yes I was so so sad to hear the news over radio and it's really get me worry as Kae just started school and teacher told me in the afternoon session there was a case of HFMD.
As the boy is only 3yrs.. and pass away within a few days, I was very affected becos very close to our todd age.

I wonder if there was anything to do if HFMD affected our child ( pray hard will not happen).
From what I know.. there is no medication given ususally? only some ointment to apply?
The child will need to recover on her/his own?
How to know if it's an acute or serious case?

SY
The morning journey is in smaller bus but the return trip is in Big bus.
There will be aunty on bus to make arrangement for kids, like for kae she is youngest so aunty will let her sit at window seat with big gal sit beside her to take care of her.

I think JH really benefit alot from GB because i can tell he can speak very well!! kae seem so lack behind her speech is not well still and I hope she improve soon

CL, Cheng
Haha, true..strangers will think that Aidan and Charmaine are siblings rather than Aden.

Sunny
re: sibling sharing room
A few of my frens who has many rooms at home but still let their kids share one room. I guess is helps with bonding cos they will chit chat until they fall asleep everyday...very cute.

May
Congrats...take care and rest well

Mamapanda
Sorry to hear about your lost, rest well and nurse back your health

SY
Wow, JH really know how to make your heart melt

CL
Charmaine can really pose, nice shot

CL

Nice meeting you too! Thanks very much for helping me to get the book.
Charmaine looks so grown up & pretty! More like in Pri school already.

Hahaha, i think it's normal for siblings to treat other kids better. I think I treated other 'didis' better than my own brother when i was young.

Felt so good baking with my kids. Pizza making with Charmaine. And chicken pie for Aden.

Check out my big boy eating his chicken pie

1625041.jpg

CL
Wow! So cute to see your little "sir" tuck into your home-made food with love so heartily! kekeke. Baking is such a good way to bond with the older children eh? Maybe next time will involve D when making pizza.

Mamachan
it sure is. I did the pizza dough and get the kids to punch the dough flat, and use a rolling pin etc. Then get them to use tooth pick to poke the dough. Ha ha some steps did involved Aden lah but big sir not around to take pictures so not captured.

CL

wah, did u wake up this early? Heheh, it's normal lah. My boy also like that. Run ard like crazy. hahaha. they've tons of energy lah.

I won't dare let C take part in any of these baking session coz i'm afraid he might eat the flour. hehe. He's not a very cooperative boy and won't listen to instructions. I think he's going to give his teachers a big headache next time.

Mashy
I usually up by 5 liao. Ha ha. So my poor helper very stress one because she will never be able to beat my wake up record time.

Hee hee I din involved them in the process of the dough too. I knead and prove it first and only involved them in the setting of the pizza base. ha ha

CL

Wah, so early. I think your helper is very poor thing. She must be so stressed that she can't wake up earlier than her boss. How early does she wake up then? Can't u wake up later? Hehehe.

Mashy
ha ha i sleep enuff then wake up liao so very difficult one. I may wake up earlier one then I start to touch and feel my other stuff before the kids wake up

CL
Wow... pei fu leh... u got time to do baking.. I like it this way leh.. can bond with each other but for me no time and having 2 kids really can go crazy!!! If i baking or cooking with them, they sure will mess up my whole kitchen, heehee i rather do it myself ;p

Belinda
Damien very brave leh.. not scared at all!!! He must be very happy abt this trip... ;)

CL,
wow u supermom! u no need to sleep one issit? i still need my 8hrs beauty sleep, else i feel very lethargic. btw can pm me your recipe for the pizza?? looks so yummy! charmaine looks so patriotic in that outfit! hey u good friends with foto-u pple ar? see you always going there to take pix. haha!

Fion,
ha ha next time if I have more time, I will host a mini playgroup over weekend. Then it will be pizza time for the kids. ha ha

Aileen,
I no need 8 hours. I sleep less than 8 hours so I think I going to age very fast. will pm you the recipe

12 Aug - Cityhall Lunch
Anyone for lunch tomorrow ? And who is picking up the risotto tomorrow ? I need to ferry them to office. So pai seh will be in at Cityhall

1. Chic Lil

Tiffany,
I will be going to Stamford court during lunch. Pass you your carton then ?

CL,

Duncan will be going to Keming. He was pretty sad that one of his fav galfriend cannot get in to the same school.

Can i meet you some other time to collect the risotto. Cannot make it to cityhall.

Tracy, his #1 fav is still megan (lucky she got in to the same school) and he also got a backup galfriend..Yiling.
Really cannot stand him.

The mummies here always inspire me.....scrapbooking, cake baking, pizza making! U all are super women leh!
Now if only I can get at least 5 hrs of un-interrupted sleep everyday, its a bonus for me liao. Haha! But I hope in near future I can also do some activities for my kids. Tats my dream! :p Maybe can start with a little project like pizza making.....

Chicken Little,
Do u need special big oven for making pizza? Can share ur recipe? Have always wanted to learn to make the dough. I m sure it will be fun to let our todds decorate the toppings.

Wenyl
hee hee no need big oven. Mine only 28L oven. i break the dough into half and use a small disposable aluminium tray for the dough. ha ha I might as well post the recipe here. Got it from one of the baking thread within SMH too

Dough:
200 gm. plain flour - sifted
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. Instant Yeast
1/2 tsp. salt
110 ml. water
1 tbsp. canola or olive oil
Toppings:
200 gm. Ham - cut into small pieces
5 Tbsp. Tomato Paste
some sliced Hot Dogs
7 slices of cheese (Kraft singles slice)
250 gm. Mozarella Cheese

Method:
(1) For dough: Mix ingredients in a mixing bowl. Knead into a pliable dough. Add in oil and water, continue to knead until very smooth. Leave to rise until it doubles in volume for about 40 mins.
(2) Punch down dough and shape it into a ball and rest for 10 mins.
(3) Roll dough into a round shape - the size of your pizza pan. Use fork to prick holes onto the dough.
(4) Rest dough for 20 mins.
(5) Half-bake ( 200C ) the pizza dough for 8 to 10 mins. then remove from oven.
(6) Spread tomato paste onto the pizza dough.
(7) Place slices cheese, then ham, sliced hot dogs.
(8) Sprinkle mozarella cheese on top.
(9) Bake at 200C for about 15 mins. or till cheese turns golden brown.
(10) Remove from oven and serve hot.

* You can use any topping you desire like prawns, tuna, cuttlefish rings and clams

Check out this blog, lots of recipes to try

http://www.auntyyochana.blogspot.com/

Wenyl,
You can try using sliced bread if you dun have time to make the crust. I did that before. Just get the sauce from the supermarket, get whatever topping u want, plus mozarella cheese.

Spread the sauce, ask E to put the toppings (u can cut it up first) and the cheese. Then put into normal toaster oven to toast. Very fast can eat already.

I used picnic ham, button mushroom, pineapple (canned) as topping. So it taste like Hawaiian Pizza. Cos I scared the crust will be a failure..hehe.. or u can buy ready-made crust from NTUC also.

Belinda
I got helper now so now trying to fulfil all the plans I had which I want to do with my kids. And oso ha ha must make sure oven hb bought for me dun become white elephant.

May
yup good idea too.

CL & May,
Thanks for the recipe & suggestions!

May,

The sauce u mentioned is it the same tomato paste in CL recipe? Can buy off shelf from supermarket?

Wenyl,
It is called Prego sauce.. usually near spaghetti or sauce section. Can buy off shelf. But turn mouldy easily. So u scoop some in the bowl first then use from the bowl. It use less time but yet 100% successful. Somemore E can spend more time with u.

Oh ya.. must read the sauce bottle carefully. Some contains meat.. as it is meant for sphagetti. I bought the one that had some veggie in it only. I use the TRADITIONAL one, I think.

Singapore packaging is green metal cover...
http://www.prego.com/product_landing.aspx#

Thanks CL for the pizza recipe! May try it out sometime =)

Belinda
Your elder boy is so cute! Got gf already? Hahaha, really like Tracy's Duncan and Megan...these two names "you yuan"

Any extraordinary behaviour from children after National Day and start of Olympics?
Am wondering if your children caught NDP on TV and the Olympics??? My boy eversince he watched NDP, has been marching and singing "soldier, we're soldiers" (a song from wheels on the bus), grabbing his cap and putting on his head and getting my hb's cap and making him wear it and signalling us to march along with him. He would pretend to give the parade commands and then end with a "Go" and start marching around! He holds his water bottle as his "rifle". Very cute sight. I wonder if the toddlers are into such pretend play too?