(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy

Yesterday i called the clinic ask them is it cos of the antibiotic cause rashes, they said if u took those med is allergy means ya lor, Sigh... I look at those medicine that i given to him, flu, phelgm, cough that i given to him no.of times and never got rashes leh. I suspect is the antibiotic???...

Re: Fever
fever of 38.4 degree after took both medicine burofen and paracetamol will cause rashes or not??

Fion

Yah, chances are it's the antibiotics. My boy had very bad diarrhoea that time he took klacid. On the antibiotics label, it should state that the meds could cause rashes and diarrhoea.

Don't understand your question on the fever though. U mean the burofen and paracetamol causes the rashes or the fever? Don't think u can take burofen and paracaetamol together right? Should let one medicine work first. If paracaetamol doesn't work, then u give burofen.

SY,
Is Bambec a prescription drug?

Mashy / CL,
Isaac's cough sounds like it comes deep from his chest and phlegmy. I thought I should monitor just in case it gets worse.

Fion,
Brufen and paracetamol can be taken together but not at the same time. They are different class of medication and normally, brufen is only needed for high fever. You should administer brufen and panadol 4 hours apart. Anyway, I think it's best to see a doctor to determine whether which medicine is causing the rash.

queen

Yah, be sure the chest is clear. U can ask for something to clear the phlegm. My PD gave mucoslovan for his phlegm. Quite effective in clearing the phlegm but makes him cough like siao coz as u know, cough mixtures are usually expectorants. Well, it did manage to clear in 2 weeks.

mashy

Sorry, I mean both medicine burofen & paracetamol will cause rashes?? Ya the doctor also prescrible the klacid antibiotics for my son but the bottle label never states the side effect leh?

queen,

Thanks, later i'll be bringing my son to go for review again. Sigh... touchwood!!! my #1 health oki leh, dunno y my #2 alots of problems. During my pregnancy i oredi avoid eating those foods like crab, prawn. Y his skin so sensitive?? Ppl said if #1 obedient then #2 tend to be a little mischievous so apply the same theory, #1 health oki then #2 will be lots of problems??? hahahha

Fion

unlikely the rashes are caused by the fever meds. More like Klacid. How come your dr's meds no warning?
nono.gif

mashy

dunno leh.. i cannot find it by the way, ur PD gave mucoslovan for ur son phlegm really work?! Later i must ask the clinic they hv this medicine or not. U know both of my sons always kanna flu then follows by phelgm, so always take a long time to recover esp. phelgm cos they do not know how to split out. Suddenly i realised that give birth is easy but watching & guiding them is diff. Sigh...

Fion

yah, giving birth is easy, it's the raising them that's the tough part.

It works for my boy, not sure whether it'll be the same for yours. After all, all of them will react differently to different meds.

And u can complement his diet too according to the type of cough he has. Like if he has heaty cough, give him more stuff like pears, dried figs (wu hua guo) to clear the phlegm. No heaty stuff. If cold cough, then cannot take cooling stuff such as bai he. Can take a bit heaty stuff to warm up the lungs. Cannot take cold food.

So, it's important to know what type of cough he has, then u can give the right kind of food. The wrong type can delay the healing process or make it worse.

Sorry for late reply, unable to log in cos my gal this few day don’t know why cling to me almost every minute and want full attention leh, even go toilet she will insist go with mi tat drive me so tried. Thank you all of your feedback and advices, really appreciate it, as I wasn’t sure of my choice, nw more firm. Its really helpful! 10QQQqqqqq!!

Hope ur kids get well soon. Can understand ur worry when kid not feeling well, v head pain right. Ya don’t understand why sengkang mmi charge higher compare to your area. Ur pricing for full day is almost our half day care price. mi oni 1 kid alredi can't tahan, u 2 kids really salute to u.

Hi Fion,

Does your son always have a skin problem or it is only recently and you suspect it's because of the medicine?

fion
sounds like an allergy. cd also be mycroplasma infection? my son had bad bout of rashes last year n it was accompanied by bough. in the end was given steriods. this year he had cough for one month due to sensitive nose n took singuliar for a month before he recovered

mashy
no prob. just msg me.

mashy
How u differential btw cold and heaty cough?? They cough normally with phelgm. Peifu ni leh, u knows alots as compared to me, Sigh... chan kwee(shame shame)

TCL
ur gal same to my #2 boy, now super glue me after we hv sent him for MMI for trial session but now we stop it for the time being but still very attached to me Sigh... super bo-eng. No choice leh... i tot #2 is a gal but come out is a boy ;) Ya lor dunno why ur place chg. so exp. perhaps their curriculum is diff. perhaps urs is more activities than mine.

Yuki
No, my son dun hv skin problem. Only recently he down with flu, cough, phelgm, rashes. First thought it could be the anitibotic medicine but not sure whether is it. Until yesterday, my hb brought him back to the clinic for review. The doc said is the antibiotics cause rashes.

Fion

I've been forced by circumstances coz my boy kept having bronchitis mah. Even hospitalised before, so have to read up a lot on this and how to get him well fastest.

With heaty cough, the lips will be red, phlegm yellow, and feel hot. The tongue is red with yellow coating on the tongue.

With cold cough, phlegm is white, usually coughs in the evening and morning when the temperature changes, will feel cold. The tongue is pale red, with white coating on the tongue.

My boy usually gets heaty cough. Only lately, then he got a cold cough once. That's why after i bought the crocodile meat, kept having to delay cooking it coz he's still so heaty.

Washing Hair
Hi mummies, like to check does your kid hate washing hair? Is there a better way to encourage washing hair? My gal dislikes it, we teach her close her eye; lightly wet her hair with washcloth, taking special care not to get any into her eyes. she still scare water get into her even around her forehead area and each bath time she will tell me "don’t need wash hair" yet happily enjoying playing water

Fiona,
Think more or less the curriculum are abt the same for this age gp, guess my area highly demand so they rise up fee loh. For one thing, I learned that CC don’t away live up to expectations- and that you just have to accept them for what they are. How’s ur kid cough? If the cough takes longer than 2wks to clear up, gets worse, or interferes with his sleep, do consider consult 2rd doc.

Ya aft mmi trial she nw stick to me like glue, she won’t have me out of her sight. Hope tis syndrome is common at this age and get more independence as she becomes a child.

TCL

My boy loves water, and so far washing hair hasn't been a problem. I supposed it's coz when we bring him to the swimming pool, we'll dip his whole body (incl head) in the pool. He finds it fun and will blow bubbles into the pool. Yah, disgusting habit that my hb taught. I think my hb has instilled an adventurous spirit in my boy. To try anything and everything. It's me who keeps holding back.

We will also let him hold the shower head by himself and when we wash his hair, he'll hold the shower head to wash off the suds. Or when he's not holding the shower head, we'll prepare him ahead. We'll tell him that we're going to wash his hair, so at a count of 3, close his eyes. Then try to spray backwards so that the water doesn't drip into his face that much.

Mashy,
Ur boy so brave hor, no scare scare water even dare to dip into the pool. Mine gal scare like mad, once kana water at the pool she screamed and turn to hold me v tight, refuse to let go of me. Basically she is ok with bathing, she jus cant stand water on her head and face area. Like you, we allow her to hold on the shower head and tel her b4 water her hair but still when wet her hair, her face changes to scare, tend to close her eyes v tight and no choice let me wash even she dislike as told her tat her hair smelly nobody will want to play with her. then again the e nxt bathtime refuse to wash again. dun know why leh?

mashy
Thank u so much for ur info. May i ask u, do we need to avoid any food, ie. chicken or meat if they having cough or flu? I heard ppl said need to avoid but not sure which kind of food need to avoid??

TCL
Thanks for ur concern, my #2 boy still down with flu, phelgm and cough, rashes still having a bit. See doctor yesterday and change his antibiotics cause the previous one cause rashes but he need to take his flu, antibiotics, cough and phelgm medicine. My 2 boys like water and they are not afraid of washing their hair. Ur gal scare of washing her hair is it becos the water keeps running down on her and she cant breath?? Did u use the Johnson shampoo with no tear, perhaps u may try it.

TCL
Some of the MMI ctr. do hv brain gym, swimming, yoga for kids.. perhaps cos of this the fee much more exp. For my side here, dun hv these programmes...

Fion

Pp say cannot take chicken lah. I seldom let my boy take chicken anyway coz he's allergic to it. Avoid cold drinks, sweet stuff(generate more phlegm), deep fried food. Some also say avoid seafood.

If your son has heaty cough, can make white radish soup (if not taking chinese meds), figs drink/soup, pear with chuan bei, bai he.

If your son had cold cough, then take crocodile meat, ginger etc all the warming food.

fion
sengkang branch do hav swiming pool & yoga but only for e older kids, not for the younger kid (playgp / nursery). The fees charger is the same for all ages gp. they rise the price this yr jan to $895 full day & 775 half day.

using johnson shp w no tear nw. Water didn't even get into her face. she jus cant tahan water near her eye.

Mashy
Thank you so much.

TCL
Wow... really exp leh.. must well go for a 2.5hrs or 4hrs playgroup/nursery.. The way u described,I think ur gal must be kanna scared by 1 incident when she wash her hair. If not how can she scared until like this??? No choice u hv to overcome her fear by showing & telling her if u dun wash ur hair there's lots of bugs and flies coming to build houses on ur head.. :p

my boy now is attending the MMI jurong west branch on Sat. Find it so so but one of my friend recommend me to the Choa Chu Kang branch, she say the teacher there is better.

Any comment on the MMI Choa Chu Kang branch? Cos may want to let him try there.

Phoebe
I'm not so sure MMI-CCK, U means so so, is it their curriculum is diff from other ctr or the teacher so so.. ?? For my son, he attent 2 wks trial session b4 and i found that their teacher quite responsible and their curriculum oki.. but just without the yoga & swimming lesson

SY
My elder son has a very sensitive nose. He always sneeze in the morning and he easily down by flu... and if he sleeps in the air-con room with temp 24degree, next morning u will c his nose bleeding
dunno y, i suspect he hv a very sensitive nose but never go to c doc. How's ur son? Now getting better?? Children easily falls sick, Sigh...

hi phoebe
mi also Not sure of CCk branch too, like what fion say curriculum should be the same. generally I think the teachers have to be able to connect with e kids and offers creative ways to get kids attention cos this period they tend to be easily distracted. Unlike e older kids they are able to following instructions. Of course teachers responsible play a part too. Hence I do feel tat it is impt to select e right CC. after all they spend long hours there. U can go for the trial session

SY
sorry for the delay. Just TT $24 to you. ref is 20080712435335. mine is from OCBC, will take a few days to go thru. thanks!

Sept03bride

CONGRATS!!! u rest well and hope to see your princess's photo soon

SY,

your photo really makes me feel like having more babies ( well too bad for me )

TCL,

both my kids like to wash their hair..i'm not sure but from young..probably around 6/8 mths..cant remember now, i will slowly pour water down their hair . Not too sure if this will work ..maybe u can get a doll in to shower with her and wash the doll's hair as well and then let her wash the doll's hair the same way..

Renee and Leroy

they have a love hate relationship! they will be so loving, hugging each other, holding hands and walking around in the house and the next min, fighting with each other over toys.

a latest video of leroy. he's turning 13 mths soon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vph4nnGfb1Y&eurl=http://youtube.com/my_videos_edit2?ns=1&video_id=vph4nnGfb1Y&next=%2Fmy_videos2%3Fpi%3D0%26ps%3D20%26s

Rena,

Congrats to u too!!!

fion,

it may jsut be sinus.. my son has it too.. if nose bleed then get a humidfier coz the air is too dry..

TCL,

what i did was i always prepare a dry face towel .. the moment i rinse his hair i will quickly clean his face with the towel..

Rena
Oh really? Any medicine to cure for sinus?? I saw him sneeze so badly, i didn't hv this problem but sometime my hb do sneeze like him esp in the morning.. Were sinus inherit ???

hi mummies..
for a few days never come in.. so much to catch up!

Krissie
Kyler also know how to fight attention tho he is so young. I cannot imagine when #3 is here..

CL
sure sure no problem.. I trouble you so many time.. am happy got chance to service you now

Re: Collection of Toothpaste from SY
Sorry ah..Just a recap of who I will be collecting on behalf :
1)Mamachan
2)SSF
3)Rachel
4)Chicken little
5)Flo (also the chopstick from SH)
Pls add on the list if u need me to collect.

all this while i am very concern abt damien that he was drooling. He had been drooling badly since 9mth old....but ever since he stopped his chut chut, all the drooling problem sovled....so happy..finally he can do with the the bib..

Belinda
Happy for u. Ever since we become mother we starts to worry our children till they finally got marry but even they got marry they are still our little ones, keep worry them. I can understand how u feel. Glad that all ur problems had solved ;p

Fion,

There is no cure of sinus.. Even Elijah's school teacher also say that he is sunny boy coz when there is sun he is ok when the sun is down or cold weather he will start .
both me and hubby has this problem.. that is why.
my parents dun have but my aunty has so that is why me and my brother has this problem too.

Rena
oops there's no cure, so sad...
I can imagine how diff when ppl hv this problem as i saw my son everyday keeps sneezing sometimes can be non-stop... and ppl tot he is having flu actually is not..

I was thinking of bringing Gerald for some enrichment classes, but do not know of any other than JG. Coz I find tt he's absorbing stuff like sponge and yet I dun really know how to teach him.
any suggestions on what is good?

krissie
hmmmmm, is he already attending CC or weekend JG? If he is, then actually no need to send him for more enrichment classes bah.... if time and logistically permitting, perhaps just bring him more on family excursions to the zoo/bird park or botanical gardens? Then just be a narrator and talk about what excites him visually and expound more on it? Like whatever facts you know of certain things that he's keen in and just talk more about it? Guess it's a good way to engage them. Or pictorial books that has alot going on that you can just describe the scenes and the ongoings? I find that helps for me and my boy. He's also at a stage where he's absorbing like a sponge but it's also subjected to his mood.

Then again, if you still prefer to have him at enrichment centres, I suppose have to ask the rest of the moms.

krissie
I'm sorry that not quite understand ur statement. What sort of enrichment classes u want ur son to be attend? My elder son last time b4 he goes P1, i used to bring him to enrichment class e.g. clay work, cookery course, maths wonder camp, art & craft, balloon making....

Hi Krissie, it depends if you are able or prepared to travel ... there are tons available like MyGym & GUG that takes from this age, but there are some like Berries that takes in from 3 yrs old (by year) .... I'm thinking of looking into some enrichments too, more for interaction, but I can't seem to get any timing at all since I've got an older kid to take into consideration ...

.ky.

Hi mummies...wow so many postings. cannot catch up. my weekend was totally burnt as have to attend a course.
however, managed to squeeze some time on sat to bring C and J to the new explorerKid in downtown east. C is now a proud member of explorerkid as its so much cheaper to be a member. J goes in as free though. after all the maze...i was so exhausted. guess its also a good time for me to workout too. hee.. but the new playground is definitely more fun than before.

sept_bride - congratulations!! Caleb must be a proud gor gor now.

sy- will sms you for the collection and pay you then. thks!

TCL - you can buy a cap(like a cap that expose the top part) that is used to shade the water and soap from touching the eye areas when shampooing. you can get it from toy r us at less than 5 bucks! so i just put in on my son's head and he will play his toys while i wash his hair. fuss free

Krissie
kyler when see I carry jiejie, will cry and crawl to me.. like so so sad and stand to my lap and wan carry.. wow like that how not to carry him.very noti boy.
I know what u mean.. kae is also absorbing like sponge and I dunno what else to teach her, tho there are stuff I wun really should sit down and do with her.
I'm starting her on regular PG soon, so I hope she learns more and not just watch VCD at home when bored with my MIL.
When she attended nothing else but kidszloft.. she really impropve alot! Now I stopped the weekly PG since she gng to daily one.
I miss the Kidzloft myself...hmmm

SSF
the playgorund at explorer is parent accompanied one? cos I saw lotsa big kids there.. I afraid Kae might be push over.. but I'm also not in the condition to go crawl with her all over now.
What can J does inside the explorer?
It was tempting to brign the kids in there when we pass by.

SSF
Last time i went there with my kids at the same time we apply for membership so far no letter or via sms to inform us the membership ready for collection. May i ask u how long hv to wait for them to process the membership card. I went there if not wrong abt months ago... cannot be that long to make a card right??

cookie
u or ur hb can accompanied with ur kids in the playground. My 2 boys played so happily esp my #2 at first i tot the will scared but out of my surprised that he dare to take the slight down by himself!!! he only 2.3yo only at that time. Dun worry and it's fun

cookie- yes each parent pays like $1.50 to enter. children under 1 is foc. there is a play are with tunnel, ball pool and slide specifically for toddlers under 3 y/o. my hb was basically checking out those big kids and keep telling the parents and kids off. haha...one parent went like " Uhm oh really?" haha...then told the kids.."lets's go" but then its also to protect the fragile young ones..cos those older kids are really rough. the maze one was open for all ages...so i was really careful in protecting C. then came to a stage, i saw one young girl..couldn;t get to climb up..so ended up..i was carrying like 2 kids up the maze. boy it was really tiring. when i was leaving...the young girl was asking me to try another one..haha...i was like "no! no! aunty very tired" haha...

fion - the membership will take abt a mth or 3 mths. sorry couldn;t recall. but was told to use your receipt to enter the park before your membership card arrives.

hi mummies, does anyone of you give your kids singulair? is it good? ed develops cough very frequently, so just wondering if I should give him singulair...

i'm hoping to self medicate this time round. just gave him the med he was given the last time. ventolin and rhithinol. hopefully he recovers. a friend told me about giving singulair after he recovers, but i think need to get from doc. i'm not sure, that's y i'm asking here coz i remember either rena or someone else has given to their child. just want to gather feedback.