(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY, CL, belinda, yuki, fion
ya, I'm also hving a tough time juggling with two. Gerald is getting super naughty lately. I attribute it to converting him to full day and his jealous towards clare. I think his misbehaving is his way of getting attention, coz last nite, he asked me why mei mei always cry. So, i think he thinks that whilst clare cries (and we'll carry her). His way is to whine and fuss and we will attention (thru discipline). It's so sad, coz I know he can be a sweet angel..
He also seems to dislike Clare more. He'll say he dun like her, etc.. and hv been beating her these few days. Clare on the other hand is a koala bear now.. she'll cry when i carry Gerald or gv ger my attention and she's only 9mths! *faint*

Rachel,
So sad to hear about your friend, my condolences. think we shld treasure everyday that we hv. which also reminds me tt I've to quickly do up my will.

sy,
Hehe, actually I din notice it's a nursing photo until the rest posted! I saw the photo earlier and was only looking at JH and baby. I tot it was someone carrying baby only. :p Nice pic!

That day Duncan was crying for milk while i took my bath so hubby carried him. Meg asked why is Duncan crying so hubby told her. Guess wat. She told hubby,'You feed lah. There!' She pointed to his nipples.

sorry to interrupt, may i know which MMI you went to? What you are facing is actually what i face now after sending my girl for 2wks trial at mmi. Same as you, my girl was not like that before she attends the trial. Now she is so scare that even don't dare to go near to any enclose area. My heart breaks and even regret of sending her too early for the trial. I keep asking what’s the problem?? was she not prepare for the sch or the sch environment don't suit her or was it due to lack of confident. Sigh! Whatever it is, she scared to attend any sch now. I feel so sad and at time I blame myself for pushing her too much. :<

Aileen

Urs son is very similar to my #2 one leh.. He so traumatise when he goes MMI. He even recognise the place and starts to frown oredi when he see his sch. Then we decided to send him again once he reach 3yrs old. Hopefully, he will be oki by then.

Krissie

My #1 also the same, he will tends to jealous if i carry didi or attend didi first. When didi was born i bought a present for kor kor by saying that this is didi give u one and everytimes when he tell me u always care abt didi first, i will tell him this way. "didi small" do not know wat is danger or talk to us so i've to attend to him first, but kor kor r different cos u knows how to tell me ur dislike and like. didi loves kor kor and he always ask mummy to give u a hug before sleep (as i always kiss my #1 b4 he goes to bed) from there he knows that didi actually care for him. Must reason out to them and waste lots of breath... after all, he knows and slowly slowly accept his didi. I mades use of when didi talking his own language, i tell kor kor that didi say love u and want u to behave not to make mummy angry. :p of course, is just trying to let kor kor knows that didi really communicate with him.

TCL

MMI at Canberrra-Sembawang. Which MMI u send ur gal to? I think every mum here do not wish to c our children crying like mad but they hv to go to sch one day. I must learn how to be heart harden and dun see him when he goes to sch, ask my hb to send him instead
but now i give my #2 a break next yr he reach 3, die die must send him to sch.

fion
U must understand that its just seperation anxiety that makes them cry. You'll still face the same problem next year when he starts nursery. Almost all kids goes through that phase. Are you going to let him not go to school if he cries even when going to kindergarten, or primary school?

Mamapanda

Ya u r right, i've to train myself to be more harden and stop thinking those negative thoughts. For his future good, i've to be firm and try not to look back. Perhaps this is the first time i encounter this, as my mom bring my #1 goes to Pre-sch so i never witness it.

fion,
yes, ed was very traumatized. even after i withdrew him from the school, if we ever pass by the neighbourhood, he will start crying. and mind you, he's only been there for 3 days! trust him to remember the route, kids have super good memory. and like u, ever since then, he's very weary of confined spaces, places with setup similiar to school. he'll cling to me like a koala.

i have friends who sends their kids to school only when they are 4yo and they don't cry at all. the kids felt weird that they are not going to school whereas all their friends are in school, hence no one to play with. that's when my friends feels that their kids are ready for school. so it's not too bad an idea to delay school. that's my thots.

Aileen

Ya lor ya lor, watever u said is exactly same as mine case. My #2 one cling to me like koala even he dun want my mom to carry, I think kids thoughts are the same. But when they reach 4yo is it too late oredi to send them to sch? Cos some kids oredi learn when they r 3yo liao. R they able to catch up as late by 1yr?

rachel
so sad to hear about your friend. my condolences.

ky
same here. when i nursed my boy and my gal wanted my attention, i would read story book to her. then when my boy is crying for attention, i will also let him join the story telling session with the sister.
i find that when i take care of 2 alone at home, the best thing to 'entertain' the 2 kids are reading stories. haha...

aileen
recently i withdrew my gal from the playgroup 'cos my mil finds difficult to bring my gal to the school while taking care of #2. after we withdrew her, she kept saying that she wanna go to school like other big jie jie and gor gor. haha... i hope she means it 'cos i am still thinking whether to sign her up in another playgroup which is just located downstairs of my mil's place.

Hi Tracy,

Haha. Meg is really funny. I recall when i was nursing Megan, ashley offer her breast too. haha.

Hi Krissie,

It would probably be good to spend some individual time with each child so that they won't feel left out?

For me, I always find Ashley a more mature child. She can understand when i explain to her Mei mei cry because she cannot express her needs, she don;t know how to talk etc.

Being mature has its pros and cons too. Sometimes i have to be very careful with my actions etc cos she is very emotional about things. Even to the extend of supressing her own feelings just because she understand mei mei needs mummy more than she do at that moment.....

recently in the midst of playing, she hug me and say "i love you forever. If you die, i will cry forever." and she really start crying. When i ask her why, she said she's scared that when i die, she won't be able to see me anymore..... Hai, she's only coming to 5........

Recently i have been asked many questions by ashley:

1. How people make people?
2. How people make TV?
3. How people make electricity?

Sweat...... Any suggestions for a shortcut answers?

fione,
I send my gal to the sengkang branch. Same here, tat's my concern too? are they able to catch up if delay to sch?? somehow kids learn faster and more when they attend sch. i'm not being kaisu but tat really cause an concern esp ppls ard me gives lots of gd feedback on kids attending sch leh. maybe as you say hav to learn the hard way n also close both eyes..

Aileen,
i do agreed with you tat at time no harm delay especially if they are not ready for it. in my case my gal seem to be emontional affected so for the time being hold on to it 1 then c how. when the time is righ for sch, it will be right.

TCL

Looking at ur place MMI, it's seems like the fees they charge is exp than mine? How come? Maybe each centre programmes is different from other centre? They charge me only $583.15 for full-day with GST and after less govt subsidy of $150.

yuki
yes, i do make it a point to hv individual time with each of them. but it's still not good enough..
wat's the age gap between your kids?

ky
i try to get JH to sit beside me to read when i nurse but so far not very willing. i guess now with the cl still ard to help i cna afford more time with JH but once cl leaves, will need to try to have activities that all can do at the same time..haha...

mamachan
yup lucky JH refuse to nurse. he will say he wan but when offered he will refuse. but yesterday he was really going to try so cannot challenge him too much also

mamapanda
haha my hb dunno abt me posting this pic and anyway not very 'revealing' also....

tracy
haha JH says he wants to pump milk and he says he got milk for mei mei...faintz...

krissie
sounds like G trying to get attention....thikn it's a real tightrope that we are all walking on.

toothpaste is here.

Let me know how u wan to collect or thur whom u r collecting. PM me for my account number. All in SGD and include shipping

First Teeth
SSF - 10 $59.10
Mamachan - 5 $29.55
val - 5 $29.55
Rachel - 5 $29.55
Sysac - 5 $29.55
Rena - 4 $23.64
Sleepingdeer - 4 $23.64

2nd batch (the exchange rate for this batch was higher)
Flo - 5 $29.88
Krissie - 4 $23.91
SH - 5 $29.88
Mashy - 2 $11.96
Wenyl - 2 $11.96
CL - 4 $23.91

Oral B
Flo - 2 $13.50
Mamachan - 2 $13.50
Cookie - 2 $13.50
Rena - 6 $40.49

Oral B Stage 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser
CL - 1 $7.01
Cookie - 1 $7.01

Gerber
CL - 2 $ 16.80

fion, tcl,
from what i have seen, my friends kids doesn't seem less smart compared to other school going kids. they have a whole life to learn, what's 1 year if you come to think of it. furthermore, our todds are only 2yo!! i guess we are mothers tend to worry too much. i believe 10years down the road, if we look back at this same "issue", we will find ourselves so silly being bothered by it.anyways diff pple bring up kids differently so we just need to do what we feel is most appropriate for our own kids. afterall we only want them to be happy right. unless otherwise...

Hi Krissie,

They are almost 2.5 years apart.....

I think the initial stage is always difficult. It will get better when they are older and know how to share (but don't expect 100% - can achieve 50% is very good already! Haha).

At this stage where ashley is almost 5, they are still fighting on and off....

btw does any mummies know what's the formula to calculate the amount of milk intake at certain age or weight? realise that tyler is drinking much less milk since he started semi-solids. afraid that he's not taking enough.

Krissie / Yuki

My 2 sons age gap is 5yrs is quite a big gap. When comes to reason out, the elder one seems easy to understand how things works when i trying to explain to him y didi need more attention or caring than him. Sometimes it's helps alots when i tell him pro and cons. Sometimes kor kor do quarrel or compare with didi but kor kor always give in one ;P as i told him kor kor should set a good example to didi and didi learn from u. To my suprised that he do listen and follow so actually it's depend how we guide them and their understanding but sad to say children tends to forget things easily that we hv said, i've to waste lots of breath keeps repeating those theory to kor kor again and again..

Hi SY,

U still have your helper right? Make use of her. What I usually do is to work with ds#1 and get my helper to work along side with ds#2. But you'll probably have to wait a while till your girl is more mobile. It's easier to work on different activities for a baby vs a toddler, but when both are young kids, then it becomes a different challenge. For eg, when I did a door hanger activity with kor-kor, I've to prepare a set for K. And once it's done, overtime, the door hanger that kor-kor has done which has tiles stuck to it has been slowly peeled down by K. Kor-kor was quite upset initially with K but eventually he got over it. I've seen another 5-yr who got upset with mine when he accidentally step on her artwork, so it's not just sibling rivalary but a child just to live in acceptance of those around him/her. And btw, I do agree with Fion, once you get the older child to set an eg, the younger one follows, be it good or bad.

.ky.

Fion / TCL,
There's no hurry sending your kids to school. They must be ready for it. For my boy's case, I didn't intend to send him to playgroup till next year (born in Dec 05, by year he would be 4 liao). But my ILs keep nagging about sending him to child care or playgroup so we decided to give it a try. He had cries hysterically everyday and for the first month, he doesn't nap well after class. The thing is, he only cry before school, when the class gets going, he's perfectly fine. Now into 2nd month, he still cries, but not as badly. It's improving. Sometimes he is just teary, sometimes, he only cries a short while. The teachers say he is fine and very participative in classes.

Re. # 2
I read about all your experiences having to juggle between 2 kids. You know I'm thinking of TTC after Sep? I have reservations now. Isaac has very serious separation anxiety. He always want to stay home and wants me or HB to stay home with him. He'll say "don't want daddy mummy to work". He doesn't even want to go over to my ILs place every morning. My ILs are fed up that on top of having to deal with his crying before going to school (thankfully now it's better), they have to deal with his crying when we drop him off in the morning. Sigh...
I'm thinking if I have #2 how to cope? Isaac will sure be very jealous.

sy
when my gal requested to suckle, i will let her leh. but, she seems to have forgotten how to latch liao. so, she will just kiss and say she's done. haha...
i just want her to get the feel that we are treating her equally like what we treat didi.

queen

RE:#2
First u hv to educate him by telling him if hv a didi he can play with u and u no need mom or dad accompanied. If mei mei, u r like big kor kor or small adult likeus helps mummy to take care mei mei. Let him knows his job by helping u. When u r preg that time try to let him feel ur stomach and tell him that u will very soon got one company to play with u soon and didi or mei mei cant wait to c u soon and when give birth soon, u try to buy one present for him by saying this is mei mei or didi give u and u also urge him to buy one for his didi or mei mei. This will helps by let him understand that the coming child is welcome him and he also welcome didi or mei mei as a family. This method do helps and he feels that he become a big kor kor soon and helps mummy alots of things.

Thanks to mummies who sent your condolences here..

like what some of you mentioned, the hb is now at loss. during the tribute for my friend, lots of friends came forward to speak and the hb was the last to voice out. his words made tears rolled and broke our hearts too... he said, she was the only one on earth known him the best. always know when to give him advise, nag him, pamper him and let go of him to have his own time alone. and this is the time she decided to let him go...

asked my hb, what if one day i was no longer there, how? i guess no one wants that to happen yet have to be prepare for it. life is short, live each day to the fullest.

Hi Rachel,

Your message above makes me tear.... reminds me of my friend who pass away from cancer last year. She left her hubby and a 2 year old son.

She found out about her illness when the son was only 6 months old.

I guess to some extend, the hubby have time to prepare for the loss as compared to your friend's hubby....

Sudden death is always a shock especially to the loves one.... takes time to heal and go on with life.

My friend's hubby is doing quite well now... he also make a point to keep in contact with us becuase he wants his son to know his mummy's friends...... Hang in there

SY
I'll be collecting my toothpaste via cookie. Thanks! WIll make funds transfer to you soon.

rachel
it must have been difficult for the hb to voice out his feelings, but it's good that he did. I hope the journey for him and the young children will get better.

What a Night!
Last night at 1 plus am, had to rush my helper to A&amp;E...she not only broke out in Fong Mok aka hives, she suddenly could not speak out as though something's stuck in her throat. Her face and lips had swollen patches as well. Decide not to risk it and send her to A&amp;E to get her checked....she was kept under observation so the doctor told me to head home 1st and then come back to bring her home between 7-8am. We both came home and crashed while my DH was quite good and hands-on with managing D - from making his milk, to making him poo in the toilet and brushing his teeth and sending him off to school.

The only funny thing that came out of it was instead of packing in a medium sized bath towel for him, he packed 2 face towels for D as "bath towels" *faintz*. Now my helper's much better after the jab she got at the hospital.

Yuki
sorry to make you teared leh =(

mamachan
it will takes time for the family's wound to heal, life just has to go on.

wah, what a scare you had. so what was it that trigger the hives? glad she is much better now and hope she gets well soon!

Cookie
can help me collect my share from SY? 5 tubs of First Teeth. arrange with you on how to meetup, either lunch date or pass to CL okie? xie xie

Hi Rachel,

Not need to feel sorry! It's just sad but true that life is vunerable..... we never know what happen next. As we are busy working, i contact my friend via sms once in a while...... We had a gathering in dec and she discover the illness in Jan. Just one month apart and such a drastic change........

We just have to treasure what we have

Yuki

Feeling sad for your friend too, hope her family can cope with it. Consider ourself, we are lucky and hv to cherish everythings and enjoy life with our family...

Hi Fion,

the hardest person to let go is always the parents...especially mothers. It's the case of white hair sending off the black hair......

just to share that i delivered my ger on 29th june.
Caleb is adapting pretty well to her. He will sit with me, while i'm expressing or latching her. My supply is also not fanastic.

Hi Sy and rena
congrats to your NBs!

new to this thread. Can anyone help me to give me your opinion or experience. I have a two and a half yrs old boy, Javier and is now having a headache as to where to enrol him to a daily lesson school. Wish to enrol him to a school near to my place at jurong west.

Been to Q-dees and Pats school house at jurong. Find Q-dees so-so and Pats school house is really very expensive $900+ per month but environment and lesson schdule is better but really no money man.

Anyone has any recommendation? Thanks for the help.

phoebe

I'm not living at Jurong area but instead of putting him that exp sch. Is that any sch which is much more cheaper and only for a few hrs? For example, playgroup like appletree, tot house etc... these are the sch are much more cheaper if compared to yours and only for 1.5hrs, 2hrs or even hv 3hrs it's depend on the sch schedules unless u want to put him for full-day course.

As my 2nd son also same age as urs, but i intend to put him to MMI Pre-sch next yr when he reach 3yo. Sigh... it's a long story for him been go to the sch.

queen
JH does that as well. everyday he will say he dun wan go sch but wan to stay at home and request us not to work. but once we distract him and bring him on the bus, he's fine. so it is really quite normal

ky
my current maid a bit blur. dunno how to take instructions. will have to see how it goes....

sept bride
congrats! hey, one day after me! so our kids almost have the same bday again..

Sept 03 Bride,
CONGRATS!!!

SY,
It's ok if Isaac just say... but he cries as well. That's the part we can't handle sometimes.

CL / Denmy,
Are Cahrmaine and Ethan using Internet already on their own already? My Colleague told me that there is a Symposium at Ulu Pandan CC on Protecting Yoru Child Against Cyberspace Menace... it's on internet safety.
Do attend if you are interested.

Re. Cough
Isaac had a cold since last week and now it's havs become phlegmy cough and sounds quite serious. Went to a GP and he prescribed Sinupret, doesn't seemed to be very effective. Do you all know of any medicine that's more effective?
Also, how to watch for signs of bronchitis?

queen
JH will cry sometimes and we will distract him quickly before he can give a full blown one...

i find bambec quite good for opening the airways.

RE: Rash/Cough/Phelgm

Yesterday i was woke up the whole nite cos my #2 cannot sleep thru the nite. He was breathing diff cos of cough, flu &amp; phelgm and he keeps scratching his neck cos of the itch rashes. The whole nite he keeps crying and no choice i hv to put med. powder on his neck area and hv to carry him to sleep.

I've been bringing him to c doctor 3 times oredi, dunno is it the antibiotic cos rashes or other medicine he took cos that. Sigh... Now i stop all the medicine and intend to bring him to the same clinic to see the doc again. His medicine dont seems effective and his rashes is more than 2 weeks liao. All the cream from the doc apply oredi also takes no effect. I think the last option is to bring him to skin speacialist liao... Sigh...

Thanks Queen,
Charmaine got a folder under favourites which daddy save her favourite site like barney, and all other kids website. She only know how to navigate from there.

Not sure about symptoms of bronchitis. phelgmy cough is one. Need doctor to listen to lungs to determine or a x-ray.

Fion
Hope your boy gets well soon.

Sep06bride
congrats and hope to see your sweetie pie too.

congrats sept06bride!

queen
my mil's method to cure the cough, apart from giving medicine is to give warm water for my gal to drink. i find it very effective.

congrats sept06bride!

SY
I'll arrange to collect the toothpaste from u either this weekend or next when i hop over to Ikea.

Queen
One of the key symptoms of bronchitis is wheezing. Listen to his lungs, see if it makes funny sounds.

Fion
If the rashes only occured after your son took the meds, likely he's allergic to it. The only way to stop the rashes is to stop the meds. For this type, cream is useless. If the source of the allergy continues to be present, the rashes will continue. No need to see skin specialist on that lah.