(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re: pronunciation
mummies, do you think it's right time to correct our kids' pronunciation at this stage? i am worried that while correcting my gal's pronunciation, her confidence level in speaking out will decrease. but, if i don't correct it, not sure if it will be hard to correct when she's older.... any advise?

re: schooling
i am thinking of letting my gal to take school bus to nursery next year. but not sure if it's safe for her to take the bus at this age... sigh...

Ashley scolded herself stupid for forgetting her homework. Told her it's being forgetful and not stupid.

Personally i don;t like the word stupid and had never used it on my gals. At most i use the word silly rather than stupid. So i started on my long theory why stupid is not a nice word to use and no one is born to know everything blah blah blah....

Then ashley asked " Then why is there such a word as stupid since no one is stupid?"..... sometimes her question just stumped me......

Hi queen,

I think your ILs love issac too and feel heart pain to see him cry whereas you love Issac and want him to start his education asap..... both of you do what you all did out of love for Issac.

Florence is right. Once your ILs see how much Issac have learn in school, they would be more open.

sunny

i think i read somewhere that u shouldn't correct the pronounciation directly. So if she says 'bop' instead of 'stop', u should say something like 'yes, stop'. U correct the pronounciation by repeating it in the right pronounciation rather than saying that she's wrong. In that sense u also affirm her efforts to speak.

hihi mummies! finally have been able to log in. have been so busy at work. and my gosh, i missed so many posts!

CONGRATS RENA and SY!!!
Ezekiel is so handsome! and lotsa hair! happy breastfeeding! :D
SY, i realise that our kids have the same 3rd character in their chinese names, mine is Yu Heng and Yu Xuan. Yours is Jing Heng and Jing Xuan! :D

queen,
for me, i will access what kind of crying that is. like for edgar when i tried to send him to halfday childcare 8mths ago, he cried very badly and i could tell that it's the traumatising kind of cry. so after 3 days i told myself i will not put him through that and pulled him out of school. i feel that forcing him will not be good on his emotional well being. we decided that he's not ready and we didn't want him to develop phobia of school.
so just 2 mths ago, we decided to give it a try again but this time we chose another school coz we're afraid his fear will come back if we bring him back to the childcare. of coz on the first day, he cried too but this time, we know it's the "yang or" kind of cry. so we just explain to him and let him be. teacher told us that he stopped crying after about 10min. and now he's enjoying school. of coz there are still days he will be yang or but he will be fine after a while. so, my point is, you will be the best person to know if your child is ready for school.

siblings,
i feel so blessed that ed and ty gets along really well. ed is exceptionally loving towards his didi. he will hug and kiss didi. even tells didi "i love u" without us prompting. he certainly has not done that with anyone of us. on the other hand, didi loves watching his korkor play. he will chuckle and giggle when he sees kor kor dancing or prancing around. really warms my heart watching them after a long day at work

pronunciation,
for me, i will correct him but i will not enforce it. for eg if he pronounces OPEN and "AH pen" i will just repeat after him and say it's open not ah pen. actually i'm more particular about sentence structure, tenses and singular/plural esp now that he's speaking well. i will always repeat after him and say it in the proper way. i'm glad edgar knows his singular/plural quite well. like he will say 5 cows and 1 cow. i didn't deliberately teach him that but i guess he just picks it up through our normal daily conversation.

Sunny
For me what I would do is if D says a certain 2 word sentence excitedly, I would smile and reiterate what he said but in the correct sentence and pronounciation. Yes it's important to be mindful and try to correct their speech but it's good for YX in this case to start to speak more as well as to increase her spoken vocab as well. It's easier for them to correct their pronounciation while they are older as they get more confident in speaking and will correct accordingly. So just reaffirm her for speaking by repeating what she says but in what we adults would normally say it.

thanks mummies for the advice. i would also repeat the words that she said but in correct sentence and pronunciation. she's more fluent in mandarin. for english, the playgroup teacher mentioned that she's lack of confidence in speaking it.

sometimes, we are really amused by her pronunciation. dou fu (bean curd), she can pronounce as 'dou pu'. fei ji (aeroplane) as 'pei ji'. haha... then when we tried to say in correct pronunciation, she will just make fun of the words and refuse to say it properly.

sleepingdeer,
read your blog and saw your pics at cambodia! i really didn't think that cambodia would be a nice place for kids and old folks until you mention. hmm...makes me tempted to go.

btw i will be sending edgar to st.james. next year for PN. yes i changed his school again, coz initially i didn't think i would be able to get a place there. but they called me a few weeks ago and told me they have a place for edgar. wasted all my effort in registering him at other kindys. well anyways, i did a tour of the school and i find that the kids are generally very happy and cheery there.

Chicken little,

How old is ur boy now? My elder son is much diff from his didi, his elder bro knows how to speak when his ard 20th mths and off diaper at the same time but didi much later, now his still on diaper. No matter how hard we trained him, he dun want to do it. Sigh...

Why u want to pull in out from cc? I tot cc can help them to learn more things and kids also can interact with eachother? I intend to send my 2nd son to cc cos of his slow in speech.

sunny
hey, there's this LadyBird series of books that comes with a read-a-long CD. Perhaps you can just play the audio CD for her in the background? so she gets used to hearing storytelling in English in the background? My aunt shared with me that's what she did when my cousin was younger and all she did was play the CD everyday and my cousin wasn't even looking at the book for referral. Until one day, my cousin started to reiterate the whole audio CD by herself! And then she started to pick up reading better and also for her to recognize the written word with the spoken word at a later stage. It might help =)

Mamachan,
yup, i love this batch of pictures. SOmehow when you are there and see so many temple ruins, they all start to blur, but the camera captures the details strikingly.

Aileen,
haha, ST James called me to leh, about 1 month back, said they got a place open for S next year, but I'm in a dilemna now. I would love to put her in St James, but next year is not a good year for her to change school, so I am worried she may get stressed... thinking thinnking what to do... leave her at her beloved CC where she loves it so, or move her to St James?

Val and Flo,
the terrible twos are really... TERRIBLE! S started throwing temper tanstrums every day, I will ask her to do something, like change clothes, bath, put the toy back, and she will shout, NO I dun want! And if you insist, out come the tears and the wailing, my hb thinks we have bought up a monster and there must be something wrong in the way we are teaching her, but I keep reminding him it's the terrible twos. Now I am resorting to telling her things like, 'oh, you dun want to change, fine, then you are not coming out with Mommy and mommy is going out now, Bye!' Its not good, I know, but short of dragging her across the floor to change, I dun know what else to do... My hb asks me every weekend to get a cane haha!

Cookie,
I always want to go Perth, haha!

Hi Sleepingdeer

My boy also same kind and i've to keep telling him, if you dun put everything's back next time i c it i'll throw it away infront of u. Tat's only work for a few days then his behaviour comes back again. This needs time to educate them and lots of reminder from us. Now he's noes and he keeps his toys once he finished playing them.

RE: Cane
Sometimes canning also become bad to kids but it's depend when they are really out-of-control i'll use it. Normally i use it to scare them but not really cane it. :p

Re. school
Thanks for all your advice. Yesterday, surprise surprise, my ILs told me that Isaac didn't cry at all cos they bought him a small toy (you know those from the dispenser) and told him to bring to school. Though he did become teary eyed at the lift, but no outright crying. I'm so glad that they managed to think of giving him a toy cos I was about to suggest this to them myself. Hopefully, today is another good day for them.

Aileen,
It's not traumatic cry. It's separation anxiety cry. Cos he's fine in school, which is why I'm determined to stick it out and see how. Though, of course to grandparents, every cry sounds traumatic to them.

Fion,
I think not to worry about your 2nd son too much. Every child develops differently and at their own pace. Not to be unduly worried unless there is no progress by 3 years old.

Re. #2
I asked Isaac a couple of times whethe he wants me and daddy to give him a mei mei or di di. He flat out says No.

Sunny,
Isaac is the opposite. He's a total 'banana', quite fluent in English but I see that he communicates in Chinese and Cantonese with my ILs, but no where as fluent as when he speaks in English.

Re. Terrible 2s
Tell me about it. Just yesterday evening, I went back and my MIL and BIL were in a shouting match. My BIL gets very irritaed when he sees Isaac's toys strewn all over the floor and he demanded Isaac to pick them up. Isaac, the naughty boy, beat his uncle! My MIL said it was just a light tap. Anyway, she tld Isaac to apologise and you know what? That naughty fella said "Shu Shu naughty!" Win already loh... I think my BIL was damn mad and dunno how he got into a shouting match with my MIL. All I heard was the tailend where my MIL was asking why he was making such a big deal out of it and that in the future he will also have kids.
Aiyo... of course seeing that, I quickly asked Isaac to pick up the toys. Some time later, I saw Isaac went over to his uncle who was probably still fuming and I think he 'beat' him again! I told Isaac to go over and say sorry, and the naughty boy said "don't want to say sorry!"
I told my HB maybe it's really time to cane him liao.

Sleepingdeer,
Wow! Lovely photos! I always wanted to go Cambodia / Vietnam and is concerned that Isaac is too young to go. But now you have me convinced!

Clare,
I'm going to Perth on the 1st week of Sep. Tickets and accommodation booked liao.
Maybe we can exchange notes if you are stll keen to go.

Caning
I'm a Cane-advocate but of course I don't use it all the time. Past few months we rarely use the cane on D. I personally feel that cane should not be a scare tactic, should use it when you say you would. Coz if not, the children will grow up thinking that our words "hold no water". Till we are driven to the breaking point and then finally use the cane as the ultimatum... that's when we would lose control naturally.

For us, if it's a purposeful defiance and outright of challenging authority, we will not hestitate to meet that "challenge". But if it's a case of tantrums or other milder cases, we would implement the time-out/naughty corner for him. So end of the day, we don't go to either extremes, but be balanced in the discipline aspects.

Main thing of making sure our kids don't turn "bad" is that we as parents must mean what we say rather than just saying things loosely...other than not keeping promises. Problem kids tend to be what they are due to their r/s with their parents, could be a trust issue or communication issue.

Sleepingdeer/Wenyl
Wow your pictures are really beautiful!! And I really admire your courage and spirit to go somewhere "out of the norm" with both babies & senior citizens in tow! For sure I know HB & I won't have such courage... see even our coming trip to Perth we are likely to follow tour although many tell us can do it on our own. Guess we are just not adventurous.

Queen
You going Perth on your own?? We are still keen to go just that not sure if that's the best time cos its still end Winter in August? Wondering if we would end up having no animals to see at the Farmstay?? I really dun have any notes to share with you so pai-seh... only those brochures from tour agencies hee hee. But I'm keen to find out more about your itenery if you dun mind. =) Btw I just received your package. Thanks! Will transfer the o/s amt to you asap.

Flo
Ashley has a bad habit of spitting out the food in her mouth if she taste something she doesn't like... even if its really small. Sometimes when I see she really engrossed with her cartoon, I'll try to sneak a small piece of vege hidden among the rice & fish and feed it to her mouth. The next min she will spit out everything.

Hi Queen,

Thanks for ur advice, perhaps his diff from his elder bro that's made me worry. I shall wait and c till his 3yrs old how is his progress. Hopefully he can able to speak simple sentences by then. By the way, how old is ur son? To them they only want ur attention, they might afraid u hv one more bb they will lost attention from u. Perhaps that's y they said dun want.

Do u know when i asked my elder son wanna to hv one more mei mei? He ans me "Mummy pls give me one more didi" i was surprise and nearly fainted by his word!! I told him one didi is enf sometimes u do fight with him for a small toy mei mei wont get ur toy mah. He said dun want!! But i only asking for fun :p cos 2 already give me lots of troubles and diff to discipline them esp BOYS!!

Queen
hope Isaac will gets better in going to school and hopefully no need your ILs to buy him a small toys everyday.

CONGRATS RENA!
Ezekiel is really a splitting inage of Elijah! rest well.

CONGRATS SY!
rest well too, do drop by and update us when you can. btw, Jingxuan manage to turn in time for natural birth?

Flo/Sleeping deer
Speaking of picking up words from adult.. All thanks to my HB, kae use GO AWAY to express her displease. Anything we told her no please.. she will roll her eyes frown and then point at you and say GO AWAY!
We cannot condone with bad behaviour towards elder/parents.. so sad to say we are using the cane. Hb is the one discipline her but I alwys remind him that he has to set the example 1st so pls stop using Go Away. hee.. he stopped using these days and really watch his words.
I really hope the terrible 2s will go away soon.
While I hope the terrible 2 effect are temporary but I'm also afraid some of the bad behaviour if not correct now will end up permanent.
My hb is someone hoe believe in cane(but he dun cane hard).. I would want to reason first then if she is disrespectful the cane will come.
My Hb will always suan me... you go and tell her your Da Dao Li see if she understand.
While I always tell my hb not to use the cane to create fear in our toddles, not the right way to teach.
So difficult...

Hi cookie,

I also dun encourage canning unless they really stubborn. I always reason out with them, telling them the reverse side if they do it like this and this need lots of patient and I always asked him to put himself to other ppl shoes and asked him how do u feel when ppl do this to u? It's do work on my elder son, but i need to tell him lots of times as children their memories is short now u tell later they forget. ;(

Terible 2s...

I think at this age our toddler can understand well. That day, megan rush to th staircase and normanlly will stop to wait for me to come. But as there are times she will want to go ahead and walk down the steps without adults accompanying her.

I don't know if i am overly protective.... so far she is able to walk down the steps by herself holding to the rail. But i insist an adult to be by her side in case she fall.

Anyway, that night, she refuse to obey and went ahead. I chase aftee her and at the landing, i pull her to a stop and smack her very hard on her legs. Told her the reason. She stare at me for almost 30 secs, i think it's going thru her mind whether to cry... end up she didn't and she nod her head by showing that she understand.......

Cane....

I think it really depends on the child's character too. For ashley, i never hit her that much or bringing out the cane is able to scare her. For megan, she will ask me for the cane and cane someone else instead. Sometimes she simply refuse to say sorry and look away and ignore us.

But i firmly believe "Spare the rod and spoil the child."....

Yah, they understand. just that whether at that point of time they choose to listen and react accordingly or not. for mine, he tends to ignore our warnings or advice. of cos, they have yet to understand what might be the outcome of some of their actions and doings. Me and hb will reason out to him, he will listen and get it too. BUT when he is at my parent's place, he choose to ignore us and want things in his way.

there was one fine evening when he totally reject his dinner for 45mins and kept wailing to be carried by my mum. i was really boiling hot and my mum was there to shield him. reached my limit and told him i am gonna cane him when we reach home later the night. on the way home he was wailing too. when we stepped into the house, i washed his feet and hand and in we went into his room with a feather duster in my hand. my hb got worried and wanted to rescure him, not successfuly though. i caned him hard and a number of times. of cos he cried big time and i left him in his room to think it over. after 5 mins, i went in again and told him why mama caned him and why is he so notti and bully popo. he listened and answered to my questions accordingly. in the end he said sorry and we hugged. he understood he misbehaved.

dylan is into his "I don't want this, I don't want that" too. so we play the time game with him. e.g. i or my hb will ask him "after 5mins we go and brush your teeth okie?" most of the time he will say yes and cooperate.

mamachan
yeah! that a good way. thanks for your suggestion. i bought the ladybird series 1a - 1c. but didn't buy the CD one... i will go popular to take a look. hopefully the 20% off still on.

re: cane
i hope i do not need to use cane. haha.... my mil bought 1, but it's more to 'threaten' my gal to behave herself.

sleepingdeer
my gal will sometimes refuse to listen to the instruction. one of the ways that i use is to follow what she said e.g. when she said, 'no' to me. i will say, 'ok, then don't do. up to you.' then, i will sit there quietly and ignore her totally. then, she will somehow feel neglected and guilty and start doing what i instruct her to do. :p
for keeping toys, i will gv her 3 warnings, if she refuses to keep, i will throw the toys into the dustbin in front of her. so far, only tried once, and she's scared liao. :p
then, counting 1 - 3 is useful to discipline her, too. she's scare of me starting to count 1. when i start counting, she will say, 'mummy, don't count.' then guai guai do things that i ask her to...

Aileen/QUeen/Clare,
hmm, definitely Cambodia is not a first choice holiday for most families with small kids, Shannon n Ethan didn't enjoy the temple ruins much, but Ethan fared much better then S, at least he came down to walk! S just becomes a koala bear the instance she sees we are headed to a temple... but that said, I think sometimes kids enjoy their holidays when there are other kids around to play with. We've bought S out to places with other kids, and some without, and the difference is quite remarkable, she really enjoys the holidays when there is a child about her age to play with, and so do we! Coz she will bother the other kid and leave us in peace! Haha! Ethan and her had a riot playing in the hotel lobby or in the rooms, or at lunch so that makes it fun for them. That said, Cambodia is definitely doable as long as you set a realistic iternary and just take it slow and easy, and definitely, it feels good to do something out of the norm!

Queen,
ENVY! Perth! I told my hb we must plan to go next year in April or May before it gets really cold!

Clare,
Perth is doable without a guided tour, but if you are unsure, easier to stick to one... just be sure they dun drive you 3 hours up and down, and end up you will be sitting in a bus most of the time... Mamachan's suggestion about the choc factory and petting zoo and zoo are good places for a family outing...

Mamachan,
I agree with you on the cnaing and the communication. I believe that we should also listen to our child and not ignore their muttering, and by listening to them and responding to them it gives them self respect. Also promises must always be kept, and if you say something, you have to mean it, no matter what. If we tell S the conquences of her action and she still does it, then I will follow through with the consequence.

Rena/SY, CONGRATS!!

Hi Fion ... how old is your older son?

Mine is the other way around. My older son who's 5 this year was slow in speech. Got kinda worried and even sought Speech Therepist help ... now he's a chatty and sociable boy. On the other hand, his brother suddenly bursted out speaking more and more each day these days but is more challenging than his brother. I'm not for cane and so far, I've implemented the time-out corner for him. It works wonders though sometimes for very short time. He's always choosing the other option rather than go to the corner. And these days, I use a lot of that, a lot. Kids are supposed to be given a choice of 2, and you usually give a good one and a bad one, and so he knows what to choose. Just this morning, he threw a lot of things around, and I told him that he needs to get them packed up before we can go out, and he did. And though I've got to tell him each area specifically, he did do the cleaning and then he'll come and tell me.

Not to worry, as everyone says, don't compare your kids. btw, I'm not planning to put him in school so soon... probably when he's 4 yr-old and that means that I've to register him early next year .. kinda fast for me actually, so who knows, I may delay sending him further.

.ky.

ky

Thanks for your concern, my 2nd son age 2.5yrs this mth, but he only knows how to speak like car car, light light, stop, no no, bus bus. He do not knows how to speak in sentence and moreover if u ask him want or dun want, he walk away. Normally at this age, they at least tell u dun want or shake their head but my son dun seems to be know how to react by asking him this.

By the way, ur son did go to any Pre-sch? How can he catch up if u delay? His age now 5 should be in K1 right?

Last night, at 11plus, ashley is still not sleeping and i ask her what she's doing. She said she is having a sleep over (watching too much barney).... i ask her what's a sleep over and why you don't sleep in a sleep over.... She replied "Because sleep is over, so you stay awake!"..... I find it very amusing.

When she asked me what i am doing, i said i am having a wake over. She asked me what it is and i said "Wake is over, so i am sleeping!" haha

i m back!!

been quite tired since coming home cos trying to pump and latch (those days again!). ss not that great yet so got to supplement. hope can go total bf soon.

here is a photo of the little one. she is pretty fiery. screams really loud but sleeps much more compared to JH.

JH din react well the first day we came home but after that much better. he will ask if he doesn't see her and wants to carry her.

1529164.jpg

Re: caning

Just caned my boy yesterday and this morning. Why? Coz he climbed on top the drawers to play with the CD player. He used the drawers as steps to reach the top. Kenna whacked real hard by me. Caned so many times still no scared. sigh.

Fion
My boy also 2.5yrs, can hardly talk. Also same words: car, stop, go, bus, dark dark. I've enrolled him for nursery next yr coz he's 1st jan bb. Doubt he can catch up in such a short time, but i'll just take it as a playgroup for him to hang ard with older kids. Hopefully he'll learn something from them.

He has been singing like crazy lately. Kept singing and singing. Ok, i can't understand what he's singing (other than twinkle twinkly little star in bits and pcs coz it comes with actions), but can tell that he's singing. He'll sing in the car, sing at bedtime, sing when he thinks i'm not looking. hehehe.

toothpaste has reached vpost and i have paid. sorry for the slight delay cos went to give birth suddenly.

anyway my birth story. went for checkup on 27th and was suddenly told that my cervix has dilated 3 cm and my fluid not enough adn have to go for op asap. my gynae aske me whether midnight ok. i was too stunned and not prepared so ask for the next morn instead. so really praying hard that she won't come out any time earlier. cos can be dangerous as she is breech and gynae says anytime. went to meet my frens and had a good dinner first....haha

how to increase ss? her latch is nto very strong cos she's quite small and she keeps falling asleep. so i have been pumping and latching also. but so far can only get abt 30 ml for both breasts..

SY
Yes yes very cute. Like a japanese doll.

Queen
Share share your plan for perth with me leh. Hee hee I oso keen

Fion
I got a helper now and preparing my gal for pri 1 next year. Plan is to put her with my mum in day because school is nearer to mum place than mine. So since with helper , i put all at one place with mum.

Mashy
Hi 5. Aden oso sings and it is first time yesterday i heard him clearly finish the whole song for twinkle twinkle little stars and ABC. So cute listening to him sing. He loves to dance too. Now i only hear him say, nonono, i dun want, single words or where is daddy, daddy is there, see you later etc

SY
LOvely gal you've got there! Think she looks like you? Jiayou on BF! Just have to keep latching her when she's hungry, or just massage and pump. Need to unblock your milk ducts to have more supply. Drink more fluids. I remembered back then that my LC advised to drink warm drink i.e. Milo or Soya Bean milk to stimulate supply. So pending if these 2 drinks are permitted in your confinement. Drink lots of the papaya fish soup! SS should come in more steadily after 7 days or so bah. You still producing more colustrum?

Yuki
Ashley is really cute. Hahaha, can;t imagine having such conversations with my little one yet.

mashy
It's good that your boy is taking up singing. Perhaps let him hear more nursery songs...picks up words faster and better? My boy is also into singing now. Very cute...sometimes he'll suddenly break into a song and dance routine at home. Such a joy to watch.

SY
your gal so cute. so much hair!
just make sure that you drink lots of fluid be it red date tea or soup or milo. like what mamachan said, warm drink is good to stimulate the supply. and drink before and after latch on/exress.
jia you jia you.

mashy

It ur boy 2nd child? I found out that mostly when the first one pick up fast the 2nd one tend to slow down, dunno whether is it true? But it do happened on my 2nd son.. I think ur boy is abt the same age as my 2nd son. I intend to send him to Modern Montessori Pre-sch next yr for whole day to let him play and interact with other kids there. I do try bring him to MMI for 2wks trial but he cried when we leave him there and i see him like this my heart get soft and we decide to stop till he 3 yrs old. Both of my sons like Hi-5 shows very much, they act and sing like them. Although my 2nd son like Hi-5 but it's dun seems to helps much at his speech, he only watch but sometimes i saw him dancing like them.

Chicken little,

Great!! at least u got a helper to help out, by the way, ur gal can enrol her P1 at ur mom pl? I tried to enrol my elder son at my mom pl but need lots of document to prove it and my son has to be stay at my mom hse in order to secure a seat. Do u need to do all this procedure?

Fion

No, he's my first child. Sad right? All said first child speak faster but my no 1 very slow. I've been sending him to school since he turned 2. I'm one of those hard mothers. hahaha. Don't care. Wanna cry, cry lor. Not my problem. I let him cry all the way. Think he cried for abt 2 weeks and now on off will still cry. Cannot be so soft hearted lah. No matter when they'll still cry. Even when they go pri 1. So don't tell me you'll withdraw becoz he cry right? Well, that's my thinking lor. So, no matter what he'll cry. I suppose if you have this expectations, you will not be too surprised or feel too heart ache when u send him to school.

A mother of my boy's classmate had this very good method to help her son adjust to school. Before school started, they've been playing teacher and student make-belief. So by the time he goes to school, he's well adjusted to the idea and didn't cry at all. You might wanna start that now with your boy.

mashy

Dun feel sad, as some ppl said 1st child can be slow or fast. Like me i accept it as my 2nd son is slow, I hv to pay more attention to him. Hopefully he can pick up fast when he goes to sch. Ya u r right, i've give up when he reach the Pre-sch he cried like so chiam and my heart goes soft. My hubby said since u cannot tahan to c him cried so badly, stop and wait till he reach 3yrs next yr in jan then put him in. At this moment we tried to bring him to those childcare ctr. let him hv a look of those children there and let him hv an idea he will be going there soon. Perhaps this will helps a bit. We do tried to let him play with the teacher and children there before the class starts, but dun seems to helps still cried when i abt to leave or stand near the door. Sigh... sometime i'm very flicker minder but hb keeps complaints me that sending cc i said not stop also i said, wat u want?
Sometimes how wish my son can 1 nite knows how to talk, just dreaming only la. I know it's impossible la..

SY,
Congrats! Such a pretty daughter u have! Envy Envy! Jiayou with bfeeding! 30ml is abt my yield too when Ben is less than 1 week old. Dun worry, like the others said, continue to latch n pump. Drink more fluid before n after u latch/pump. I drank lots of red date tea, milo, brown rice tea n even warm water helps.

I will pick up the stuffs for Rena, Sleepingdeer, Valerie and Krissie later. No hurry. Dun worry abt it. You rest well n settle down with ur bb first. Once again....CONGRATS!

Fion
Me old gal of the school lah so no need documentation. You going for what school ?

My son oso speak slower than my gal. My gal at this time talk like nobody business liao. But before that she was quiet too till i always get stress by my mil why my gal speak so slow. after that we all regret. Now my son is mumbling , at cc, teachers said he will converse with his other fren across table in their language. And it seems like a real conversation.

She says though I do not understand I still must acknowledge then it will encourage him to talk. I feel he can because when he could not find his bottle and he is at his wit that he wants to drink water , he told his dad " he sui"

Chicken little,
My boy study at Canberra Pri Sch. which near Sembawang area. Eventually, i intend to let him study at Xishan Pri sch which near mom pl at Yishun there but needed lots of documentation ended up i give up and register him near my pl.

I cant imagine when they communicate in their own language with his friends must be very funny as nobody's knows what they are talking abt. hahah.. my 2nd son also talk to me in his own language and u can c star above my head.. :p My son do not know how to tell me to go here and there but he use his hand to hold my hand and lead to the place he want to go. Sigh... I told him say "GO" and he ignore me ;(

SY,
So much hair!!
My little one had poor suction in the first 2 weeks too. i supplemented with FM too and continued to latch and pump 3hourly. After the torturous first week, supply kicked in and I managed to store milk for CL to feed when she arrived. From then on, its fully BM all the way. Just latch her to stimulate supply for the time being and if she doesn't wanna wake up, pump out. I relied solely on pumping for the first month and only revert to direct latch after CL leaves. Hang in there! The first few weeks of bfing is tough!

Hi mummies! Sneaked in for a break.

SY,
Your daughter's so cute! Makes me want to try for a second one too...
SY, I think don't worry so much abt ss. 30ml is very good already since it's your first week? I have about that amt too.... just keep latching on.. it will increase to meet baby's needs ...hang on and jiayou!

Re: School
Queen,
Charmaine's teacher found a very good way to distract her when we leave so that she doesn't cry so much. Guess what? They served breakfast. Sigh. Mine's a glutton.

Re: Terrible Twos
I have an "opposition party" at home too. She will go "nonono" and I want. Sigh. BUT when she's good, she's so cute.

Sleepingdeer,
the pictures are so nice! glad that you have a good trip.

Re: ON
Mummies, saw some stuff that I like on ON. Any mummies keen to tompang, pm me!

sleepingdeer/wenyl

i've never thought of going to cambodia with C coz i'm paranoid of a lot of things esp hygiene. hehehe. Looks like you have enjoyed the trip very much. Maybe I'll consider going there next time.

Fion
U have to harden your heart lah. Once u decide to send him to school, you should just carry on with it no matter what. Actually it's not good for you to withdraw just becoz your son cries in school leh. Like that, he'll learn that everytime he cries, he no need to go school anymore and it'll become a vicious cycle. So it's better to just let him cry it out. Next time, don't stay in school to watch him cry lah. Just leave him there and go off. Don't even try to peep into the classroom. I find that children whose parents don't hover ard in the school tend to adjust faster to school life. One of C's potential classmate withdrew after just 1 week. Her mother kept staying in school through the session and hear her cry. End up decide to withdraw. Those children whose parents just left them there eventually stopped crying.

sl
Hahahaha, though my boy does not need distraction in school to settle him down but I can totally identify the part where he is a glutton too!! He loves his food. He knows that each time when we order pizza, we would get the cheesy breadsticks for him, there was once we didn't order for him, he still sat around the dining table waiting for my crust (which sometimes I don't eat especially when I'm full). Even after his lunch in school at 11.30am, when my mom comes by to pick him up from school and brings him out for a short while so she can catch her lunch, he would wanna eat her rice or noodles!!! *Faintz* he really can eat.... and the teachers at his last PTA told me that he eats more than his classmates le since I feedback to them that it seems like he's veru hundry when we fetch him home.

Tell u something funny today.

At school, a new boy came with a very fanciful pull-along school bag. Everyone loves it so much that they started fighting over it. U know toddlers, what i see is mine. So they kept screaming and thinking that the bag belongs to them. hahahaha.

Quite upset with the school lately. They've increased the intake to 17 kids! That's more than the 16max kids that they promised. They kept saying coz 2 kids leaving soon. But the 2 teachers obviously can't handle and some of the kids are feeling unhappy abt it. That includes my boy. He refused to step into classroom lately. Think he misses all the attention. Must talk to the principal abt it.

mashy

My elder son did not goes to cc before all along taken care by my mom so i'm consider lucky i never face any problem when my son goes to sch. This is the first time i encounter such problem with my 2nd son and i'm panic like an ant seeing him like this dunno wat to do.

Ya, perhaps i shouldn't withdraw when he cried like mad. This will give him an impression that cry can solve his problem. Thanks mashy for ur advices ;p

mashy

I can imagine the sch like market so crowded and teacher unable to handle. Actually u can log a complain in this situation. I tot all the childcare in-take must approve by MYCS or govt.?

Mashy
After asking around I am more keen on Free & Easy Brisbane/Gold Coast (as you've suggested) now for our trip in Aug. A customer gave me this CoachTrans website for all our transport needs. Now Ive just got to search for flight & accommodation. Any good recommendation on where to stay?? =)