(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mummies..just to share..yesterday i finally left C to sunday class while i attend church so that hb and me can listened to the sermon in peace just with J alone. so i left C with my helper and picked them thereafter. surprisingly C didnt cry looking for me. my helper said that he was having fun..just abit scared during the dancing segment. otherwise, after warming up he was happily dancing. so at the end of the class, he was colouring a picture so I asked him who tat was and to my surprise, he said Jesus. then i pointed to another man. he said a boy with lots of fishes. hee..so cute! tat really amazed me and make me seriously want him to attend school. then i ended up asking him..so what did you learnt in church today? he says "eat biscuits", dancing and amen. hahaaa....

SSF
that's nice. i never tried leaving JH alone during sun sch cos i dun bring my helper along. hmm, maybe C is ready for sch??

mashy
thanks for the links. will read up...hmm, it wd be scary if it's an invisible imaginary fren.

SY

I think at this stage, they still can't differentiate between reality and fantasy. Just like kids think that Santa Claus is real, and their stuff toys/dolls are their best friends. I think should just play along with him lor. He will eventually grow out of it. That's when the 'loss of innocence' happens.

SSF
Oh, it's so nice and great to know that C finally managed to settle down well in sunday school!!! =) So happy for you guys. Which service you all attended? D has been happily looking forward to attending sunday school, hahaha....I was told that he loved the circle time - which has the singing and dancing the most. Heee, maybe both our boys will be playmates in sunday school! If you dare, can start to place J in the BrightStar side Champion Babes? Think he should be ok there too =)

I guess I'm pro-Nursery ministry coz it's the 1st ministry which I was happily serving in for 5 years before moving on to serve in other ministries. And I know for sure that they make sure that it's an excellent place for the sunday school kids as much as possible.

mamachan-last week, we attended the 4th service and we realised for C, there isn;t any classes for the 4th service. so this coming sun, we will be attending 3rd service. hopefully he will be able to adapt well. slowly i am asking my helper to move away and probably stand at a corner. this can teach him to be independent and prepare for school next yr.as for J, we realised it is quite a distance to walk out of convention hall so maybe we will hold on to J until he starts getting noisy. haa..

ky
oh, i find it not good enough, coz when we bought it, the person told us that we only need to boil for 15/20mins at nite, then can out in the pot. the next morning, the beans, etc will be soft, I tried making soup with soya beans and i find the beans not soft enough, so not good enough.. my auntie tried using this to cook her beef noodles in perth, the beef are soft and tender. but, when i tried, the beef was v tough. not sure is it coz singapore's beef is tougher or what.. can you describe how u use your pot, pls.

tell u a funny joke. u know my surname is Chua (Cai). yesterday i ask JH what is my name and he went vegetable SY....was pretty amused by it.

hi Krissie, we boil about 1/2 hr before putting in the external pot, and re-boil till it bubbles just before consumption. We usually cook in the morning and drink it during dinner. not sure about beans & beff but the pork pieces are very tender

.ky.

hi, anyone organizing any Lucky Vit sprees or the likes? Need to get Nordic Naturals Codliver oil.

btw, for those who feed their kids this, how long can it last u? 1 4oz bottle lasts me barely 1 month for both boys ... I thot just a little each day is enough so why finish so fast.

.ky.

ky
What's the amount that you feed your boys? For me, I only give D 1/2 teaspoon every morning and that's sufficient for him. 1 bottle can last me about 3 months plus?? I had to write the opened date to keep track. Think you gotta check with MamaPanda if she is organizing again?? I got my 3 bottles from her to stock up.

SY,
hahaha, wat a cute answer!

Mamapanda,
I've used Cali BB shampoo, bodywash and calendula cream. I prefer Cali BB to Gaia but I still find Cali BB shampoo too drying. Anyway i've stopped using Cali bb products. BTW, have you experienced mould in the calendula cream? I've experienced it a few times in different tubs. Maybe my MIL or the maid used it with wet hands.

Ky,

i still got 1 bottle.
My boys dun like the smell.
If you want i can sell it to you.
Let me go home and check the expiry date.

tracy
One of my cali bb calendula creams that I bought last December was also mouldy! I though its because my home too warm.

cali bb stuff bp lobang
I just found another lobang to buying cali bb stuff and she does the spree regularly every month so no need to stock up anymore. She said some of the other mothers who bought the cream and who kept it for more than 3 months also had the same problem. Their solution was to kept the cream in the fridge or don't stock up. Anyway, since she does the spree every month, there's no need to stock up anymore. I've already joined her BP for my cali bb stuff. Here's her website : http://www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/index.htm

Since she buys direct from cali bb, subject to a minimum order quota for wholesaler pricing, she needs large numbers of orders every month, so if u need cali bb stuff, buy from her. Her price is reasonable and much cheaper than if u buy from other websites like luckyvitamin or drugstore.

ps: I don't know this lady at all. Just happened to bump into her website while searching for cheaper cali bb stuff lobangs yesterday.

ky
so, u find tt it's good enough for pork rib soup. maybe i can try it again.. to save our electricity bills.thanks.

re fish oil.
1 bottle lasts us for v long.. few mths..

tracy/slinky
Oh looks like I have to look closely at the cb cream.. I have 2 tub at home and has been using for a long long time. Din notice any mould as far as I'm concern.. I better go check now.

SLinky
My MIL somehoe dun like cb bb wash smell.. so I never use it for long time. I used Gaia before and find the bb wash produce too much foam somehow. The bb shampoo is ok. The powder as mentioned by 1 mummy is liek sand wun stick to the body well.. but then again it's make from cornflour, I find it's abt the same as cb powder.
I dun mind give Gaia a try again on Shampoo and powder again. In fact I join the BP in the market place.

KY
The fish oil last for a long time for me too.. a few mths perhaps. now only #1 is taking and perhaps sometimes helper forget to feed too so last longer. Each time we feed about 3ml or so..

cookie,
you can easily spot the mould in the cream. it's tiny black sprouts in a group. eeks..thinking of it makes my hair stand.

I am finally back..
ezekiel is delivered with birth weight of 3.485.. wow much heavier than his brother. but not so big cheeks...

I was totally in pain for the first day due to c section but i could walk the second day already..

now trying to breast feed but doesn't seem to have much milk now. and my nipples are sore and has a bit of blood already for both side...

so now i breast feed and give formula at the same time. after taking the breast for half and hour he can still take 90ml of milk..

elijah is taking it very well . he will want to kiss his didi and sai yang him too, he will pass his bag of prize cars and tell me play with didi cars... so sweet... he refuse to go to school yesterday .. i think bcos he has missed me for so many days.. but the funny thing is he refuse to let his didi sleep his cot... hahah so some things can be shared and some things not.

rena
glad to hear that everything is going well.

you cd walk on second day? that's really fast...

JH has been saying a lot of things that rejects mei mei. really a bit worried. but can only pray hard that things will be ok when mei mei comes out...

Rena
SO happy to hear that you are coping well and Elij is doing well.
Do learn alot from some of our very successful BF mummy here..
hope you will be good at BF this time too...
Waiting for my turn :p
kae is fine with didi sleeping in cot.. but cannot share toys.. hahaha.. gals so different?:p

tracy
I went to inspect my tub of cream last nite... and found all ok and smell also ok.. seems fine so far!
Know what.. I hate to see mould too.. make my hair stand too..hee

Haven't logge din for a while.

Rena,

Congrats! Yup, BF for the first two months was really a sore point for me since charmaine's like perpetually stuck at my breasts but I really enjoyed the moments when she got older and she enjoyed nursing too. Actually, so pai say that I am still nursing her.

Tracy/Mamapanda,
Guess I am lucky? I bought quite a few tubs of cali aloe vera cream from Lucky Vitamin previously which are still in good condition.

Re:childcare
Charmaine's still not settling well in childcare. Thankfully it's better in the sense that she is no longer crying but wimping now... wonder how long it will take her to settle down...

rena - great to hear that you are coping well. as for MS, take it easy..ask zhen jie to cook more fish for you. somehow my second time c sect is also more painful than my first but i also can walk the second day onwards. C is ok with J sleeping in his cot but at times, he wants to join in with didi and we have to be careful that C don;t squash or kick J. now i bathe both of them together in the same tub as C insisted. haha..so good also..save water and one effort, bathe 2 together. helps to bond them too....seems that J do understand C whenever he talks to him. Somehow J is always smiling to his kor kor.

sl - guess it takes time. C hasn't been to school yet. planning to start next yr and i think he will also be crying for at least a mth.

SSF
dun say you let your boys bath together. Ha ha I love to bath Charmaine and Aden too. 2 of them enjoy so much, help scrub back. But of course soon I have to stop Charmaine from doing it liao.

SSF
Kae like to join didi in cot too..if we dun bring her in.. she will climb in, she thinks it's fun to be inside together with didi, not sleeping tho.. they will be looking out of the window together

Mrgan has started to join her sister in school since monday. I thot given her aggressive character plus since ashley is with her, she will be able to adapt faster.

However she has been crying and worse yesterday..... She cried ever since she wake up and said she does not wannt to go to school..... Hubby didn't want to break the pattern and offer to drive her to school instead of school bus..... She was so happy, immediately grab her bag and wait for daddy to fetch.... As expected, she start crying when hubby leave the school.........

Ashley on the other hand, complain that she has to take care of megan and it is interfering with her work........ haha.

Wonder if i am very cruel to send her to school so young, taking school bus etc......... hai.........

updates
all the toothpaste has reached vpost already. hmm, not sure how i m going to pass to the mummies but will think of a way.

yuki
JH has been taking sch bus since 2 years old. sounds a bit harsh initially right? but i m glad i listened to my hb. cos it really makes the whole going to sch process much easier. in the morn sometimes he will say he dun wan to go sch but every time when i mention that we going to be late for sch bus he will fall into the routine of brushing teeth, changing etc very quickly

JH keeps rejecting breakfast. i know if i give him biscuits only he will eat but i dun wan him to take too many biscuits. tried giving bread, cake, muffin etc but only take a few mouth and dun wan..headache. any other suggestions?

Hi SY,

For first two days, Megan cried on the school bus or in school. But these two days including this morning, she started crying shortly after she wake up..... Refuse to change, bath etc.... no amount of sweets or chocolate can get her going.

The teacher commented it is normal as they realise it's going to be a daily thing. But still worried about her.... wonder if i push her too hard.

mouldy cali bb creams
Cuz they're organic and preservative free ma. That's y prone to mould. Other creams contain chemicals to preserve the creams to prevent them from spoiling or growing mouldy.

YUki
Kae will be gng to school on 1 Aug too.. I'm expecting her to be alright.. I hope she dun suprise me by crying too.
Did you accompany her on school for 1st 2 days?

Hi cookie,

I brought her there on the first day. She was alright in the school bus. Anyway she has been asking to ride on school bus since last year and sometimes the uncle give her a ride down a few blocks....

And when she reach school, she was ok too till the teacher said to wave bye to mummy. that;s where she started to cry. I linger on and then she started to play and forget about me during outdoor games. After which ashley brought her to the toilet to was hands and ask her to say bye to mummy. I mean ashley is really considerate and speak to megan that mummy go work and she goes into class with her. Megan did wave me goodbye happily and enter the class. I stayed for another 5 mins and didn;t hear any crying so i left. She cried thereafter.....

Second day, she hop onto the school bus happily with the swets that my mum gave her. Heard from ashley that she cried a little on the bus and thereafter in school. Third day, same thing.

Just that yesterday and today, she started to cry since morning, keep harping that she does not want to go to school.......... wonder if she is too frighten.....

Even the teacher commented that she wants things her way. haha. insist that ashley wear shoes for her, take bag for her etc.... i think that's her way of expressing anxiety....

Yuki

Don't worry, all children has to go thru this. I think so far out of 10 children going to school, 9 will cry. It will get better with time.

Rena
Congrats again! Glad that you're coping well.

SY
what abt pancakes, pao, waffles, cereal?

Yuki
Gerald started taking schbus when he was 18mths old. think the youngestin this forum.. no choice, coz we wanted to ease him in sch before clare was born. Till now, there are days when he'll cry or fuss saying not wanting to go sch.. think it's just their moods. For Megan, think she just started, so need a while more. perhaps can gv her a comfort toy, like her fav bear, etc. how long is the sch? half day? it does sound like Megan has some anxiety over gg to sch. We'll also try to know the classmates' names, then, we'll tell him.. hurry, your friend xx is waiting for you in sch, etc.

SY,
try mini sausages with cheese cube and small piece of bread. Hee poke them in a tooth pick. Different presentation he might want ?

Today is Aden's last day at cc.
Scrap a layout and put into a frame for the childcare.Photos taken by Foto_u.
1516927.jpg

Yuki
since megan is quite vocal. talk to her. ask her what she is afraid of. Give her choice like want to walk or take school bus. Use "HELP" , like can you help mummy to go to school and look after jie jie. Ha ha they love to "HELP" and be given a task. I din use it on Aden because i doubt he understand much but it works on Charmaine on her bad days when I ask her to scrutinised what aden is doing at cc

hi Krissie, Mashy and CL,

Thanks for your assurance and suggestions. Will try to talk to megan more about school and friends.

Yuki
I think it's quite a common phase for crying and not wanting to go to school. My boy was like that too for 3 weeks. He cries everyday and the moment he sees the school uniform, he cried!! He gets excited taking the bus with us. But the moment we alighted from the bus, he recognizes the way and would refuse to walk the way to school. It took awhile for him to settle down and get used to the idea of the routine. After awhile, he gets excited to walk to school from the bus stop and would look for his favourite teacher at the CC. Then another week or so later after the 1st 3 weeks, he would say,"Bye" to us when we leave him there, sometimes even run in without turning around to say Bye!

Rest assured that Megan will settle down soon, more so when Ashley is around her.

HI Mummies
Re: Collection of Toothpaste
I read sometime back.. that the toothpaste that SY help to order has arrived.
Since she has popped...I can help to collect from her to pass to the rest of the mummies. But I dunno who is on the list tho...

Let me know if you need me to help collect ok.

Congrats SY.
Hope to see baby Jingxuan's pics soon.

Cookie
Thanks for your comment. My helper is in now. will be sending both kids with helper to my mum place daily.

congrats SY!

Cookie - i am also one of those who ordered the toothpaste. 10 in qty. I can collect from your place. let me know. Thanks!

Rena / SY,
CONGRATS!

Re. Cali baby cream
I'm surprised to hear about the mould. Mine last for months and I don't see mould growing on the creams leh. I have 2 tubs which I bought since early last year, and it's still perfectly fine. Could it be due to storage? I keep the tubs in a cool and dry cabinet immediately after using.

Yuki,
Have to bear with it. Isaac just resume school after a 2 weeks school break and it's back to square one. He knows that he has to go to school when my MIL changes clothes and changed his clothes. And he will wail and wail and wouldn't let my MIL change. My MIL had to lie to him that she's bringing him to Toys R' Us or to meet us to get him out of the house. But once he reaches the school building, he'll start to wail again. It's very frustrating for my ILs. They are wondering whether Isaac should change school. But I'm firm on letting him continue till at least end of this month.
My Isaac has very bad separation anxiety. Can you imagine even now, he cries most of the times when we drop him at my ILs every morning before work? And my ILs were caring for him since he was a few months old!

re: Bumbo

Remember how our kids outgrew the bumbos? Well, I took it out lately to wanna let my nephew sit in it. Unfortunately, he's too big. However, my boy whose bum has shrank since then, took an interest in it again and it's one of his favourite chairs now. Hahaha. So for those whose bumbos are still sitting in the storeroom, u might wanna take it out again. Maybe they can fit into it again.

just to share this v touching video abt the parents' love for the children. brought tears to my eyes.. It's an incredible video about the relationship between a father and son.... and for christians, God's relationship with us.

"A son asked his father, 'Dad, will you take part in a marathon with me?' The father who, despite having a heart condition, says 'Yes'. They went on to complete the marathon together.

Father and son went on to join other marathons, the father always saying 'Yes' to his son's request of going through the race together.

One day, the son asked his father, 'Dad, let's join the Ironman together, to which his father said 'Yes'.

For those who don't know, Ironman is the toughest triathlon ever.. The race encompasses three endurance events of a 2.4 mile (3..86 kilometer) ocean swim, followed by a 112 mile (180.2 kilometer) bike ride, ending with a 26.2 mile (42.195 kilometer) marathon along the coast of the Big Island.

Father and son went on to complete the race together. View this http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=8cf08faca5dd9ea45513 with music.

This is a really touching video. It reaffirms the immeasurable love parents have for their children