(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mommies

Congrats to SY and Rena

Have been MIA so long cos busy preparing for a conference.. with the kiddies in HK now....

Weather's not good now... cos of the recent typhoon... so sad...

Can i check with the mommies who've been to disney in HK.. which character breakfast is better? We're going to stay in hollywood hotel cos i've been told its quite nice for the kids... any recommendations?

Mashy
My girl also loves the bumbo when i took it out for my boy boy..

Rena
Very good that E is so good to his didi.. to this day.. i'm very sad that tabby is not very loving to didi.. didi on the otherhand adores tabby... sometimes, when we go out other little girls will find didi adorable and play with him.. but not tabby. She's always like... didi cannot touch me, didi go away...didi NOOOooooo!!!! Hardly ever see her spontaneously hug him... maybe once in a blue moon, she will sayang him..

tabb,
think there is only 1 disney character breakfast. it's at the disney hotel. if you're staying in hollywood, they will hv a car to bring you over. Just tell the conceriege that u're gg for the breakfast. We liked it v much. Enjoy!

oh no.. Gerald sounds like tabby. He'll also not like Clare to touch him and he'll say tt mei mei is no good, throw away.. *faints*. But, he's improving on sharing toys with her.. hopefully, he'll love her more some day.

dear mummies,

dunno what happen to damien..suddenly he refused to go to school. My mum had checked with the teacher. But his teacher told her nothing went wrong.
Since after school reopened, the first 3 days was fine with him..it just started on last Thursday..he started to cry and refused to go to school.
I did asked him why did he refuse to go to school, he just answered me "I don't want to tell you'.

Hm..

I think my words are too fast.. coz my hubby actuyally forgot about my son on wednesday and i have to get my CL to pick him up.. he was so upset and so winey.. the worse part is he was so angry when he came back and saw his didi sleeping on his usual tv place... then later in the night he told me pinch didi.. elijah pinch didi..

i was so angry with my hubby coz when he came back he tell elijah " sorry daddy forgot about you..

so stupid...

RE: Ezekiel's photo..

i am still trying to down load his photo.. btw it seems like i am so lazy in taking pics after the first bb...

belinda..

they are like tat.. elijah was fine during the first week then the 2nd week he refuse to change and go to school.. anxiety

rena
oh dear. i think your hb needs to do something to make it up for elijah. hope he doesn't develop -ve feeling towards didi.

re: #2
me too getting lazy to take photo for #2. if not because #2 is more responsive and smiley, i think i will take lesser photo.
today we brought kids to my mil place in the morning, we even forgot to bring #2's bm! :p

rena
Oh dear.... perhaps your hb was really tied up at work? Is there any other better arrangements to pick Elijah up from school?? Do take care yah?

Progress Milk Offer
For those toddlers on Progress Milk, there's a promo at NTUC for the Twin Pack of 900g tin + 200g FOC at $42.50. Offer ends 2 July 2008. I was so ks...bought 9 packs!!!

hi mummies..took an urgent half day last fri to bring C to KKH for bronchities. now he is much better but didi's turn to fall sick. wat a tiring weekend.

tabbiesus -i went to the one in hotel disneyland which was excellent. it has a indoor and outdoor pool that is heated at room temperature. the character breakfast in the hotel was good too. charges at $29 per adult. children under 3 is FOC.. hey i can understand your part...C is also always shouting at J. C likes to imitate my high pitched voice. always screaming to didi "you cannot touch my toys! Okkkkkkk?"

rena - oh my...guess ur hb have to do lots of damage control

this is a pic of my little one.. looks like elijah but cheeks not so chubby..
1521852.jpg

went out to the supermarket with Damien last weekend.
While doing our shopping, suddenly damien heard some noise like someone farted.
Suddenly he turned to us and asked louldy " Who farted?
Feel so paisay.....and the shopper there tot that one of us had farted.

rena - so cute of Ezekiel! oh and yes he certainly has lots of hair. so are u enjoying all the good food and rest?

belinda - haha...so funny of Damien. it really tickle us when our kids say such innocent thgs. just that day...i asked C ..

"mummy pretty?"
C says "pretty".
Then hb snapped in..." is daddy pretty?"
C says "No, daddy fatty"

and we burst out laughing! haha...

Thanks for the compliments..

it is quite tiring for me as this is the first time i am trying to keep on breastfeeding.. ezekiel is a big drinker and my supply is not enough to meet his need..

Re: Collection of Toothpaste from SY
As I think I will pop by SY place(if alright for SY) to collect my memo, I can help to collect toothpaste too if you need to :
So I suppose...on the list now are:
-SSF
-Sysac

Rena
I think Eze is very handsome..
he looks so calm when he asleep

Rest well.. and ask CL to cook more papaya fish soup for you
suppose to boost up the supply.
my Colleague din BF her bb during the 1st mth but she started maybe aorund 2nd mth.. but she manage to BF her son till now 1yr.. so supply will come.. just keep up your good work

tabbiesus
kae is most of the time liks tabb.. she is always didi go away, didi NOOOOOOO.. all the expression really remind me of kae. the only hug she gives is Bear Hug..when didi accidently lean on her and she bear hug him soooooo tight like that WWF wrestle...
Once in a while.. she wll want to play with didi and if didi crawl away.. she will shout and insist didi come over and play with her..

Krissie
Just read that ger is also like that.. I kinda LOL when he say meimei is no good throw away...sometimes the kids are so funny.
kae favr word to express she is angry is.. YOU go away! and she point her finger at far away..
she was cane by hb for being so rude..
I really hope she will outgrown the stage soon and enjoy the company of didi.

Queen
From what u say.. seems like really not the school issue but rather Issac is just very attached to you guys, I mean he is not attached to ILs for such long time, he will probably take a longer time to adapt to school.
My friend's son was also super attached to my firend, took 5 mths before he is happy to go school and I think he cried for 3 mths or so. He cried until his voice turn coarsh.
I would be firm too.

Kyler has constipation earlier and MIL insist that it was the FM and said all neighbour say due to FM - I told her he has the same FM since young and no problem, should be due to the solid and not enough water.
MIL insist she has feed lotsa water but when I ask how much in quatity, she cannot tell and she dun feed fruit regularly.
Finally now we switch from bottle teats to straw, he drank so much more water and MIL make an effort to feed fruits, his poo poo is back to normal already. Phew...

SY, congrats! Jingxuan is a lovely name.

Rena, congrats again! Ezekiel looks so handsome, looks like his gorgor.

Queen, even for Kirsten who's been in school for more than half a year, she still has a week of separation anxiety. So, it's normal for Issac to go through the anxiety phase again. And not to forget they are at an age when they understand things better. On 2nd day of school, her anxiety was so bad that I left the house without her then she followed me after that. She was wearing her home shirt and training pants (worn inside out cos she insisted on wearing them herself after I forced her into diaper) to school and teacher helped me to change her. After that day, based on bus auntie's advice, I brought her to the playground to play for a while before taking the bus and she brought her favourite toys with her. Then things got better on the 4th day. Maybe the same advice can work for Issac?

Yuki, I've always felt bad for putting K, the youngest in school, on the school bus after she turns 2 while all the rest of her classmates have caretakers fetching them. Now she has more company on the bus and auntie told me she enjoys playing with them so I feel less guilty. I think talking to the bus auntie helps me ease my guilt and they take good care of her too so she's in good hands.

Kirsten is becoming so defiant now. She always says no to everything and only wants things to be done her way. Only asks for milk when she's hungry. When we refuse and insist that she eats, she only takes a few bites at the most and rather wait for the milk. Sometimes, I oblige when she asks for milk and after it's prepared, she refuses to drink. Almost everything in her routine we want her to do, we'll have to go through so much negotiation, scolding, screaming, crying and sometimes, smacking. Hb has smacked her so many times over the weekend till both of us feel numb already. It's easier to smack her and explain and make up to her than going through the normal diplomatic ways. I hope she grows out of this terrible two's phase before we lose our minds! But thankfully, she's still very sweet to Seth and can still say hi to him in the midst of her crying fits.

thanks mommies for the advice on disney

Valerie,
Don't feel bad.. for no. 2 thad, i feel very bad cos he kena fall off the bed whereas I was super gancheong for tabby. But i think when you have 2, its not like you want to be less gan cheong but you're either too tired or too busy watching one, that sometimes, it just can't be helped.. I'm sure Seth will be fine... I hate it when didi cries badly too..

Phew... i thot tabby was the only one like that... felt so bad that she was so unloving..maybe its a jealousy thing. HOpe it wears off soon...

Cookie
Could you help me collect my toothpaste from SY? Would pick up from you during lunchtime? Thanks!! Think I have 5 First Teeth and 2 tubes of Oral B.

SY & Rena - Congrats!!! wow... so exciting to be hearing arrival of newborns

Rena - your boy looks exactly like his gor gor! very handsome chap! take care...

SY - i loooovvve the name jing xuan!!! i was decided on naming Cel this then til inlaws wanted to heed the fortune teller instead and thus gota settle for xuan lin... well, at least i got one of the word i wanted :p take care ya! do share ur princess's pic soon

RE: Toothpastes

FYI. SY just discharged yday from hospital. She is still waiting for the toothpastes to arrive. Its probably still with Vpost.

I will be collecting for sleepingdeer, rena n val. Anyone else want me to collect from her? My collection point is in Hougang.

Rena,
Jiayou on breastfeeding! I supplemented alittle of FM during the first week till my supply kicked in.

Val,
Meg also has this habit of asking for milk then rejecting it after it is prepared! I hope she outgrows this naughty phase too!

Re: Vegetables
Ashley refuse to eat vege leh... so end up sometimes her poo really hard and twice I found a little bit of blood when wiping her bum. Thank God she eats fruits though. Any recommendation on how to coax them to eat vege?

We're thinking of bringing Ashley somewhere in August (before i get too bulky)... at first was thinking of HK Disneyland but HB was afraid it'll be super hot during that time. So now we're thinking of Australia... Perth maybe?? We have not been to Australia so likely not going on Free & Easy. Any good recommendation on where and which tour to follow? Btw what is the weather like there during August huh? We wan somewhere cool...

Clare
August in Perth would be end winter so will still be quite cold? That's what my aunt and uncle who stays there mentioned. Places to visit in Perth includes Margaret River (Chocolate factory), Swan River, Fremantle great for weekends as their E-Shed markets are opened, Rottnest Island (If I didn't get the name wrong)and their famous King's Park. Of course they have their Perth Zoo should you want Ashley to see the Koalas and Kangaroos.

Clare

How abt Gold Coast? Gold Coast is quite easy to go free & easy. And u can visit all the theme parks there. If u want, can even go up to see Dolphins. It's not a cold place even in winter. The funny thing abt that place i find is that when you're in the shade, it's very cold, but once you're in the sun, it's super hot.

we are finally back from Cambodia, and finally back to normal.... the packing to go, the unpacking after we come back, really siao!

It was pretty tiring but the photos make up for it! I downloaded some on Shannon's blog www.shannonho.blogspot.com

Really beautiful...

I missed tons and tons of posts man!

Congrats Rena and SY!

Yuki,
S was totally ok on the first three days of school. On the 4th day till the 3rd week, she started wailing.... so give her abit of time, once they adjust they will be fine.

Thanks for sharing stories of sending your little one to school. Really make me feel better... Yesterday Megan started crying on the school bus and even vomited... end up the bus driver have to clean the bus and send anotehr bus to fetch the rest of the students. So paisay........

On lighter note, Megan did a very sweet thing last night. She was complaining that "My daddy work so late." to which i reply "Daddy work so hard for you all." Then she cup both her hands on my cheeks gently and said "Thank you mummy. i love you."

So sweet..........

Hello mummies.

Re. School
This morning, my in-laws asked whether we are pulling Isaac out of school and that if we are, we should do it now since it's the start of a new month. They said that Isaac cries very badly when it's time to go to school and they have problem getting him out of the house. The last few days, they had to lie to him. I know that they are very frustrated dealing with the crying. They said maybe he's too young or switch to those 1 hour RC playgroup. They said Isaac has a phobia going to school. I'm quite upset by what they are saying... I mean I know how difficult Isaac can be when he cries hysterically, but I feel that they should see beyond the crying and try to understand that it is separation anxiety and not that he dislikes school. Isaac does not cry in classes, but he will cry all the way from my ILs' place to the school and will sometimes continue crying for another 10 mins or so after we leave. After that, he no longer cries and is very participative (at least that's what the teachers said). I had a spat with my HB about this, he feels that I'm being selfish for not putting myself in their shoes. But I feel that if my ILs open their mind and understand the reason behind the crying, they'll probably be able to handle the crying better, rather than feeling that we are forcing Isaac to go to school. My HB says that he can try to convince my ILs that the reason for his crying is separation anxiety but he thinks it's no use if we cannot tell them how they can help Isaac lessen his anxiety. Sigh... I dunno what we can do. I'm not sure how my ILs handle him when he cries... I hope whatever they do will not increase his anxiety. I know that my FIL gets quite angry sometimes with Isaac and will scold him. And frankly, I'm quite tired of this. My ILs has been commenting and complaining to us every evening about the crying since Isaac started school and I get just as tired and stressed hearing that.
Sigh.

Clare,
Perth is one of my favourite places to visit, though yes, August will be still quite cold. One of my favourite things to do when in Perth is go to the local supermarket and pick up a few sausages, hot dog buns, onions, and meat ( they all come spiced and seasoned) and just head to one of the parks there with coin operated BBQ stations. You just slot in a coin and cook up all the meat and have a picnic right there, no charcoal to worry about coz its gas operated, and the best thing is you can do it for lunch! Great feeling to be out in the sunny outdoors, when its still cool and have a sizzling BBQ meal sitting on the grass
Kings Park is really nice and Fero with the weekend markets are great. You can also drive about 1 hour away to village weekend markets, and you get to see tons of arty and quaint stuff, and tea at the Rose Garden is really great too

sleepindeer
Great to see you posting here!! Saw shannon's blog and wow! What a trip it must have been for you and Wenyl! Love the photos that you all took =)

Yuki
Awww...Megan is so sweet. And her comprehension of your answer to her question is amazing!

yuki - aww so sweet. C recently told me "mummy i love u" and i was like har? and he said "mummy i love you".
then i think and think again...maybe he meant "mummy go zoo" haa...cos it was pretty noisy outside.

val - oh yes the terrible twos...C is also very naughty and hb has been spanking him so frequent. just yesterday..hb spanked him cos he insisted to go into the maid's room when she is on the phone. hb said NOoo...and C wailed and keep banging the door. haiz...these days, C is getting our of hand and always insists in his ways. hb keeps saying that i spoilt him.

cookie - i ordered 10 first teeth toothpastes from SY.

Hi Queen,
is there any way that either you or your hb can bring Issac to school rather than your ILs? It is very heartbreaking to see them crying but its also true what you say about separation anxiety. Once they get over it, they are fine. S used to cry the moment we get into the car, and always says she wants 'Mommy go school with me' so I always tell her yes, mommy is going school with you' which is true, just that I dun stay. I make it a point to tell her that I will pick her up immeidately AFTER LUNCH instead of like 'at 1pm', coz they can't tell time yet, so this way she knows excatly when Mommy is coming, 'after I finish my lunch'.

Also, the teachers there are good in the sense that they will let a new kid bond with one particular teacher, and for the whole time the child is suffering from separation anxiety, they will get only that particular teacher to carry him and smooth him, so the child bonds with that teacher easier and faster. For S, her teacher was teacher May, so as long as she saw that teacher, she would calm down faster, and teacher May made it a point to be there at the door whenever we arrive to take over.

sleepingdeer,
Isaac does have a favourite teacher and she knows that Isaac likes her. In fact, she'll wait at the door for Isaac so that she's the one to carry him and soothe him. It helps. Isaac usually calms down faster or stop crying immediately when he sees her. The problem is not at the school. The problem is trying to get him out of the house to school. He will start crying when he sees my ILs change their clothes to prepare to go out. He'll insist that they change back to their home clothes and is basically crying inconsolably and refuse to leave my ILs place. So recently, my ILs had resorted to lying to him that they are bringing him shopping or buy toys etc just to get him out of the house which I feel does not help at all. And he'll just cry and cry on the way there till reaches the school where teh teachers take over. My ILs is very frustrated having to deal with this everyday.

queen
Hmmmm, as much as we reason with the ILs that lying is not the way to go as it may add on to the anxiety separation further and also make themselves look bad that they actually had to lie to Issac to get out of the house and go to school, but for old folks there and then at the point of the relentless crying, they can't bring themselves to be so hard-hearted....in fact, I think our toddlers know who they can bully and who they cannot.

It's not quite possible for you and hb to send Issac to school? Just got to keep talking to Issac and give him a comfort toy or item to bring along with him? In this case, we can only let time pass for Issac to get settled down with the routine of going to school?

queen,

damien also refused to go to school since school reopen. This morning he get worst, refused to change his uniform...my mum got to lie to him...promise to get him a power ranger...then he happily changed his uniform. Understand that it is very annoying to coax them to go to school everyday.

On the other, damien started going to school since earlyJan. I actually feel bad that not even once i send / fetch him to/from the school. I know that if i am the one who send him to school. He will start with all his..........

MamaChan / Belinda,
Actually I also feel that it would be best for me or my HB to bring him to school but it's difficult cos his class starts at 12.30pm. Not possible for me or HB to travel back everyday and the principal said this may not be good as Isaac will expect us to bring him to school everyday, instead of my ILs. I also had first hand experience of Isaac's crying. Yesterday, I took half day leave to bring him to school cos my ILs had a medical appointment. And he does the same thing. But I was impervious. I told him that I'm bringing him to school and say all the necessary things about coming back for him etc. He's cannot stop. Till I took out 2 DVDs and showed it to him and asked him whether he wants to show them to his friends in school, then he kept quiet and held on to the DVDs. But he started crying again when we take the lift up to the school. My HB was with me, and like my ILs, he lied to him that we are going shopping. I told him cannot do that.
Anyway, when it's time to go home, he saw that only my MIL was there to pick him up and me and HB were not around and started crying badly again and kept asking for mummy and daddt cos I think he expects us to be there to pick him up since we sent him to school. My MIL was very mad at him.

queen
Hmmmm, seems quite tricky eh? Does Issac love books? I know that the LadyBird range of books has got for those nursery themes i.e. going to school or what they do in school type. I got some of those for D, though he doesn't have such display of separation anxiety. But I think it helps for him to talk about what he does in school? Or could it be the timing is too close to his nap time as well? Just guessing here.

Coz at the end of the day even if he doesn't attend school now, he would need to attend in January next year for Pre-Nursery, it will be the same thing all over again. Then again , they might accept changes much better? Hope this phase will ease off easier for Issac soon.

Hi all the mummies,

Recently I was sad when i send my 2nd son to Pre-sch. He was crying badly once we go. I saw him crying so chiam my heart goes soft and think y not wait till he 3yrs old then go for it. I need some advice from all of u, when he reach 3 yrs old by next yr will that be too late for him to pick up things? As i saw some of the children at his age of 2.5yrs knows how to c the different of shapes and ans simple question like "want or dun want" My son till now still mumbering or talking his own language.

Fion,
My son oso still mumbling at 2.5 years old while some kids here are able to speak well. They will catch up.

My gal was at weekend class till 3 months before I pop at 3 years old I sent her to playgroup because when I pop she has to go nursery so I thot better do something for her transition.

I just pulled my son out of cc so will be sending him for weekend class till I identify where to put him next year fo pre-nursery.

Rena
Cute and handsome didi. Jiayou on breastfeeding but most impt rest well.

Clare
My sis in Perth now ask me to go around Oct which is a better choice. If you go HKG, would there be some rides you cannot take with Ashley ?

When I was heavily pregnant at 32 weeks I went Tokyo Disney with Charmaine. So I only took very kiddy rides with her.

Re: Colletion of Toothpaste
Errmm.. mummies.. can do me a favour,list down who and the expected qty to collect so it's clearer for me as I dun come to the thread everyday, afriad I might miss your post:
(1) SSF - 10 1st teeth
(2) Mamachan - 5 1st teeth, 2 Oral B
(3) Sysac - QTy?

Collection point : Pasir ris, Raffle pl (My HB), Cityhall lunch time, Beach road

Sleeping deer
Wow I feel like visit Perth now

SY & Rena
Congrats once again…. Ezekiel is so handsome. SY, got Jingxuan’s pic?

Queen
No wonder, my mom was telling me she saw u and hb sending Isaac to school yesterday. I think you need to tell your ILs cannot lie to Isaac cos he can understand now and probably feel “cheated” when he reach school. Let him bring a comfort toy to school, prob would help. You can also try to pep talk him every night; tell him school is fun and a lot of friends to play with and he’s a big boy now has to go to school? Your MIL will once in a while grumble to my mom too but my mom told her is like that initially. I think you just have to turn a deaf ear, hopefully she can see that Isaac is picking up things in school and change her perception?

Val
My mom was telling me early last week that Kirsten cried in class and brought her fav toy to school as well. Hope she has settled in

Talking about defiant…Mel is sama sama. That day she insisted on wearing her PJ top with her skirt to go shopping..faintz! My hb forced her to change and end up wailing so loud.

Cookie
Haha, Mel will shout “stop it” when she’s angry and wants her way. Pick up the word from my hb and my bro…my hb will shout “stop it Melody” and my bro will shout “stop it Jody” when Mel and my bro’s dog misbehave respectively…have been telling my hb to watch his words!

Clare
Re: Vegetables
Mel is the complete opp, she doesn’t like meat only like vege. Maybe u can mash the veg?

Re: Colletion of Toothpaste
Errmm.. mummies.. can do me a favour,list down who and the expected qty to collect so it's clearer for me as I dun come to the thread everyday, afriad I might miss your post:
(1) SSF - 10 1st teeth
(2) Mamachan - 5 1st teeth, 2 Oral B
(3) Sysac - 5 1st teeth

Collection point : Pasir ris, Raffle pl (My HB), Cityhall lunch time, Beach road