(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Queen
Oh dear.. really must scold the travel agent..
I'm leaving office in 5 mins...but San fran.. I think if u have time, can take the tram to the fishermen wharf and walk around. The golden gate bridge is nice too but nohting much except for the bridge.
DUn stress, and enjoy yourself at SF. I feel SF is quite a nice place.

Clare,
AShley is so sweet.

Queen,
Wow... us... enjoy yourselves. Especially with the exchange rate now can really shop till you drop...

We started charmaine at childcare last week and as of today, she still goes I don't want to go to school. sigh. Hopefully she can adjust...

Tracy,
I finally remember to bring the chopsticks home already. Let me know when u wanna pick it up :)

SY,
can i pass both Flo and Rena's chopsticks to you?

Sleepdeer,
let me know when and where u wanna pick up the chopsticks.

Yesterday worked till 12am in office. By the time i got home, my hb pointed to the sofa and pop..up comes JW's head. According to my hb...he refused to go to sleeps. Says he wants to wait for mummy. Then he lie down on the sofa in front of the TV!!

Felt so guilty. Then he wanted to play...so i didn't managed to get him to sleep till 1am plus. So poor thing...early morning kena woken up for childcare again....

SH,
Damien is having 1mth holiday break and going back to school on next monday...we so afraid that he refuse to go to school..for the past few days we been reminding him that he is going back to school soon.

anyone knows where i can get kids' furniture? preferably cheap and nice. heehee.. intending to get rid of the dangerously sharp furniture which we hv now in the kids' room.

SH
not sure whether i will meet Flo. will check with her first.

sl
JH also says he dun wan go to sch every day esp now. but we have been prepping him and telling him hol ending. hopefully he won't struggle...

krissie
hmm, ikea? but i thihk ikea quality not fantastic..

clare
glad that your check up went well. i also find the 2nd pregnancy more tiring....maybe cos older liao.

what abt bookshelves? Any idea where i can get them? Gerald has more books now, so hv to get a bookshelf to keep the books.

Krissie
I got a shelve which is meant for kitchen as bookshelves for the kids. Last row i use those toy box so it is book shelve cum toy box

krissie

i've been using ikea's book shelves for his books. They aren't that heavy so ikea's shelves still can hold.

Furniture wise, ikea sells one of the cheapest already. The other places are quite ex. There's some furniture shops like Courts sell kiddies' furniture too. U can go to one at Tampines to take a look.

krissie
i got my bookshelf from scan teak when they had sale. worth it. very good material.

how abt trying those HDB shops? the quality better also.

krissie - i actually bought a big toyogo container to store all of C's books. it make it easier for him to choose the books he wants before bedtime and also prevent it from being dusty. but i do already have an ikea book shelf which i used to store his leftover books and our books too. not too bad. has been sturdy after all these years. u may want to check it out in Ikea.

last nite, I asked C if he wanted to go to schoo. His reply "No need. I want to stay with mummy". Then I told him "Next year, you wld have to go to school, have tachers teach u intersting things and make friends. His reply "Next year no school..." Looks like I need to drum into him he has to go school next year constantly.

Philips @ TPY is having sales up to 40%!! hb just called me and ask him to grab a hair drier for me. now i eyeing on their Avent dual pump, milk bottle and teats etc (for avent is 25% discount). Sales till next friday.

sysac
you settled on which school for cephas already?

Rachel - Shortlisted but yet to cfm. Will let u know once I decide which one

ky, tabb
what is the brand of thermal pot tt u guys are using? mine is le gourmet brand. but, i dun find it good enough. thinking of getting another one.

sysac and rest
I just got my bill.. usually it's ard $150. this mth, it's $250. so strange, coz like sysac, we hv no change in pattern and were not in a few days?? btw, did u calL SP?

sysac/krissie
It's so strange for SP to over estimate charges esp these 2 mths, as mentioned my IL household got over estimate too...really must call them to check.

need a quick feeback regarding on on CDA (baby bonus), which bank is giving better offer? Standard charted or OCBC and which have you choosen?

1) Belinda - OCBC (TBA - not confirm yet)

belinda
i think i will choose OCBC

this morn JH din cry when he got on sch bus. hopefully he's ok in sch as well. he kept saying he doesn't miss the teachers and din wan to go sch. i told him i hid something in his bag and he can only open when he reached sch. think that kind of helped...

need a quick feeback regarding on on CDA (baby bonus), which bank is giving better offer? Standard charted or OCBC and which have you choosen?

2) SSF - OCBC (prefer local bank. Me and hb have an acct with SC and i must say their interest sway alot and frequently)

congrats, rena!!!

2) SSF - OCBC (prefer local bank. Me and hb have an acct with SC and i must say their interest sway alot and frequently)
3) sunny - not yet decided.

4) tracy - most prob ocbc. my fren experienced bad customer svc w sc. can hardly get thru their phoneline.

GAIA baby products
Anyone using Gaia products? I'm thinking of switching to Gaia since Cali bb stuff are getting hard to buy, more expensive to ship and the retail prices have gone up by almost 30% (not to mention the fact that its always out of stock!). How are Gaia products compared to cali bb? I made a rough comparison, its more economical to buy Gaia products now compared to cali bb.

Anyone interested in taking a 2 lesson Japanese sushi making workshop by Catherine Hosoi? I attended her class once before and must say her recipes are very good.
http://www.culinary.com.sg/

Lesson 1 on 11/July/2008 Friday from 7pm to 9.45pm,
Lesson 2 on 18/July/2008 Friday from 7pm to 9.45pm.

A). Register & pay by 2/July/2008/Wednesday and enjoy the EARLYBIRD rate of S$218 for a course of 2 lessons.

B). To register & pay from 3/July/2008/Thursday onwards the fee for a course of 2 lessons is S$258/-.

C). BUDDY DISCOUNT:
1). If you register & pay by 2/July/2008/Wednesday with another 3 friends, i.e 4 of you, each pay this special rate of S$200/- for a course of 2 lessons.
2). If you register & pay from 3/July/2008/Thursday with another 3 friends, i.e. 4 of you, each pay this special rate of S$218/- for a course of 2 lessons.

The 2 sessions will cover:
1. Preparation on making of SHARI (Vinegared Rice for Sushi.) You will
learn how to prepare Sushi-Rice. See the proper way on how to cook Short-Grain Rice, make your own Sushi Dressing with no artificial msg, no preservative, also to learn the techniques of fanning & tossing the rice to the right texture.

2. California Temaki-Zushi (a cone shaped Sushi with crab-sticks, Avocado & Salmon Roe,

3. FUTOMAKI, popularly known as JUMBO SUSHI ROLL. You will learn how to cook the various fillings.

4. TAMAGO-YAKI (Flavoured Layered Egg Roll): Make your own Layered Egg Roll in class, it’s an exciting experience!

5. TUNA-APPLE GUNKAN-MAKI: Sushi with Tuna-Apple topping, banded with Nori.

6. SALTED SALMON CUCUMBER REVERSED SUSHI ROLL

7. TRADITIONAL INARI-ZUSHI, popularly known as Sushi stuffed in flavoured Soya Puffs. You will also learn how to cook the puffs in flavourings.

8. KAPPA MAKI (Cucumber Roll) & OSHINKO HOSOMAKI (Pickled Slim-Roll)

Mamapanda,
Long time no hear from you! I've tried samples of the Gaia talc-free powder and bodywash. Personally I dun like the powder cos it's very coarse and doesn't seem to 'stick' onto the body, as in when you apply it jus seems to fall onto the floor. The bodywash is too soapy for my liking too.

4) tracy - most prob ocbc. my fren experienced bad customer svc w sc. can hardly get thru their phoneline.
5) krissie - ocbc - coz i already hv an OCBC acct. But, when i compared, SC is offering cash benefit for stay in hosp due to HFMD. But, i didnt compare the rates.

mamapanda
JH used to use GAIA but i switch him already. i think it's ok but i heard some comments that it is a bit drying. he is still using the shampoo but not the body wash. the fragrance is nice. but i never use cali bb so can't comment.

5) krissie - ocbc - coz i already hv an OCBC acct. But, when i compared, SC is offering cash benefit for stay in hosp due to HFMD. But, i didnt compare the rates.

since most mummies here prefer OCBC..and personally i think OCBC is more easy to access..more branches..i think i will switch to OCBC...I nearly forgotten abt it. i need to submit for the changes before 30 Jun...

GAIA
Oh dear.. their products sound quite bad.. anyone else who uses cali bb used gaia before? I want to have a comparison. I don't know what to switch Ariene to once my cali bb shampoo and calendula cream runs out, which will be next month so need to start re-stocking now.

mamapanda
why do u still need the calendula cream? JH has not been using any cream for a long time. is it like diaper cream?

or u can try pear soap. recommended by Flo's PD. i using that for JH and it's cheap and good.

calendula cream
I still use calendula cream because Ariene has sensitive skin and ezcema. If I don't apply moisturiser on her every time she takes a bath, she'll get rashes on her neck, arms, back and legs. I don't like her to use too much of those medicated moisturisers from the PD or doctor. If she gets a rash outbreak, I'll need to use the elomet on them otherwise they'll grow and get worse.

In fact, she's also still using Desitin now but I only use it at night when she sleeps with diapers on. Daytime, I don't use it anymore since she's already toilet trained.

ask something. is it ok for our kids to have imaginary fren at this age? JH seems quite attached to his bolster and he calls the bolster skinny heng. last night he asked me to pray for skinny heng!! and when i said skinny heng is not real, cannot pray for him, he got a bit upset...

5) krissie - ocbc - coz i already hv an OCBC acct. But, when i compared, SC is offering cash benefit for stay in hosp due to HFMD. But, i didnt compare the rates
6) ky - sc - the rates are higher ... anyway, trying to see if can get the freebie, and can change anytime to another bank. n btw, I've worked out that I'll use up the $$ to pay for the school fees for both boys by the time they finish pre-school.

.ky.

Hi krissie

My thermal pot is brandless. Why is yours not good enough? Perhaps you've put too much water? It's like that when you've too much water.

.ky.