(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY
yeah yeah.. thanks thanks..
cos i have some shopping voucher.. so see which department store got good discount.
Seems like BP dun have these kinda model.
PUB bills are shooting up.. so we are looking for means to save electricity

Flo, Sleepingdeer & Rena, pls let me know when and where u want to collect the chopsticks

Re: Chopsticks
I have collected the chopsticks. Let me know how you wanna pick it up from me. I stay at pasir ris, work at tanjong pagar. Will probably be in redhill area on sunday (15 Jun)

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD>Unit Price</TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>Collection </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Orange</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Blue</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD>$32.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Poroporo the little Penguin</TD><TD>$10.00 </TD><TD>$18.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Orange</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD>$8.00 </TD><TD></td></tr></table>

SY
I'm looking for Thermal flask that can take around 2L of hot water and keep warm kind.

Aileen
thanks!.. but the BP each model need at least 3 pc.. dunno can hit or not.

Hi Cookie and Aileen,

I receive your email. Am checking with my friend. Please bear with me a day or two!

Was on half day leave yesterday to bring the gals to the national mesuem for the Mozart: A prodigy.........

They had fun dressing up as aristocrats, writing using quill.... making own teabags, paper wigs......... It is a very fulfilling hald day i have with the gals
Went with their cousins so they really had fun.

But i think ashley would be able to appreciate it more.
Megan still too young to appreciate it.

cookie

haha, ya, 2L is indeed quite big leh. Do u mean something like those old traditional thermal flask that you can use at home? I've seen it at my friend's place before. I think can buy at those small homeware stalls in the neighbourhood market.

Isetan sells the Endo ones 1L abt $29 when there's no promotion.

AIleen/Mashy
hee ya.. it's meant for home use. As electricity bills going up, I planning to switch the electric Air-pot to just Thermal Flask. As the kids are now having milk 3 times a day, so we dun need to have constant hot water.
SO hope to switch to Thermal Flask to save electricity... my IL was complaining my current air-pot a bit ki-siao always auto re-boil...

mashy
my colleague went Robinson last nite.. and this weekend, Robinson is absorbing 7% GST so on top of the whatever current discount, at payment they are also deducting 7% off the bill + if you pay by robinson card, will give another 5% discount when statement arrive :
(1) Zojirushi brand (cos I want to get a better brand so water will be kept hot longer) got 20% disc :
1.85L $66.30 2.45L $69.00 3L$78.00

Same brand another nicer range :
1.55L $54.05 3L $125.40

All price above before discount, thats means still can less 20%+7%+5% = sound like pretty good to me.
My colleague din see any Tiger brand there and Thermos dun have large capacity flask.
Hope the above help.
I'm gng to check out this evening.

Thanks cookie!

Will check it out.

Anyone knows how to cook beetroot? I bought one to try. Have never tasted it before, so very curious how to eat it and how it tastes.

SY, hb says that cos I always forget about changing K's diaper when we are out. That's because she's diaperless at home so I tend to forget about changing her. I especially feel guilty about her taking school bus whenever I get a bit of post natal blues. But really, she's the youngest in class, yet it's as though nobody bothers to pick her up from school, so I feel bad.

Yuki, I'll send you PM too.

SH ,

could you give me your account number so that i can pay you . plus if you are meeting up with flo or sleeping deer and pass mine to them? since you are neighbour with SY could you also help me to collect my stuff from her and pass to either sleeping deer or flo coz they are nearer to me.

Sleepingdeer/ Flo

Kindly collect for me the chopsticks and some stuff.

thanks thanks

SY,
could you pass my items to SH. thanks

Mashy
Long long time ago.. NTUC got those 3 days diet thingy, inside got beet root also. If I remember correctly.. just steam then can eat already.
But after you eat beetroot.. your urine may turn reddish so dun be alarm.

Re: Chopsticks
Talking abt chopsticks.. kae can now use chopstick to pick up food like veggie (for fun, she dun use it to eat yet).
Past few nites she has been very busy body during our dinner time tho she has finish hers and pick up veggie with Chopstick and serve to me and HB
My Hb comment her way of holding chopsticks is even better than me :p
But out adult chopsticks is way too big for her, perhap I will buy a children version for her to use for now.

tabbie
good to know you are enjoying your couple time with hb =) it sure is good to have some time off away from the kids. who knows, #3 might be on the way?? heehee

no worries on the toys, just give me a ring when you can come to pick them up.

May/Mashy
me very odd ball one la, dont like the idea of having a stranger staying in with us in the house. so the idea of getting a CL is out of question for me haha. am not that concern of the variety of food during confinement. my appetite was not that good during my last confinement also. its more of taking the load off my mum cos she will want to help me during my confinement. hb will be off work for at least 10days due to the CNY period too, so an addition pair of hands to help me.

Mashy
can let me know which catering you order from?

Cookie

Thanks for the info!

I'm also looking for a Thermal Cooker to save energy. Heheh. I bought a smaller 1.8L Endo recently to make porridge. Now wanna get a bigger one to make soup. My boy loves soup. SO with a Thermal Cooker, I can make soup daily for him.

Rachel

no la... no no3 yet.. i can't get preggie for the next 3 years becos of work commitments.

Not that i don't want to..everytime i see people get pregnant i feel so envious...

I'm also like you re: CL but after 2 times.. i think if i ever get preggie again, i definitly need a good CL.. I ordered from natal essentials. I like their soups. The food only so so..as with any catered food, the first pregnancy i only ordered lunch menu for 1 month. So i felt the food was quite yummy and ok.. got a lot so can save some for dinner or share with hb... but second time i thot i'd get full day menu, end up after 2weeks so sian of the food... so if you r getting i think get the 1 meal package, that's better. But the service is quite good i feel cos I had them deliver to my moms house and my house on certain days and the were willing to do different addresses and they didn't make any mistakes.

rachel,
there's only two caterers for confinement food in the market now. New baby and Natal Essentials. But I strongly encourage you to consider having a CL for this second confinement. I also din quite like the idea of having a stranger in the house, but seriously, having a CL helps ALOT.

You will get to rest 100% for the first month and thus have more energy to look after baby for subsequent months. Your hubby can concentrate looking after Dylan. The food that the CL cooks for you will make a difference too. The food will remove wind from your body and the tonics they prepare will help to 'tiao' your body back.

I really feel alot of difference with a CL. With the CL, I drank 4 bottles of DOM compared to none in my first confinement. I also enjoyed my confinement! Do consider..

rachel

how did u do your first confinement? I'm also like you, can't stand the idea of having a stranger stay with me. That's why for my no 1, I catered and asked my aunt to help me. I was lucky in the sense that my hb was also ard to help me. But it's still so tiring. Not to mention my ILs giving me plenty of headaches.

But if i get a no 2, I will definitely go for a CL. Maybe even a maid on top of that coz i think i will really need the rest. Do consider a CL.

tabbie/tracy/mashy

my 1st confinement was done with the help of my mum. hb was around to cook for me too when my mum was away to pay visits to relatives during the 1st few days of CNY. of cos night time i was all alone to handle dylan back then. super blue and stressed out. good thing is my PIL was in JB so no troubles from them. =p

had told hb that dylan will be his big task during my confinement, 1 thing that worries me is he will be starting his Pre-N in Jan09...

the market rate for a CL during CNY period is 2k plus on top of 2 ang bao. very costly wor. thats why i opt for food catering. as for the tea and bathing water, my mum will help me still... after reading your advise, now am putting on my thinking cap again. hmmm...

rachel

yah, very ex to get a CL during CNY. But have to bear in mind too that you now have 2 kids to take care of. Previously it was just Dylan.

What's your childcare plans after No 2 arrives?

Mashy
if dylan is younger, i might consider sourcing outside help during confinement. he will be 3YO by Jan09 and from what i observe, he will be much more easiler to handle by then. my mum and hb will be there to help too.

dylan will start his Pre-N in Jan09, so he will be occupied in the morning by his class and he needs his nap in the afternoon. with this routine, it will be a much easier job for me to jaga him and #2. of cos i will be the primary caregiver and my mum is there to help out when i have errands to run. one thing for sure, no maid for us. haha

Rena,
My account number is POSB Savings 119-27400-1
Sure. Will collect your stuff from SY and pass to either sleepingdeer or flo.

Cookie,
Haha…JW tried out the chopstick I bought for him. But coz the first time I put the rings wrongly (keke…since this mummy don't hold her chopsticks properly…) I put it in a awkward position. So JW rejected it. Then my hb has to come and twist the ring in the right direction. But JW don't want…he wants the adult chopsticks. Tried for a while, realised he can't pick up anything…so he promptly went back to the baby chopstick. He was so happy when he can pick food up…that he kept himself occupied picking up his beans while mummy quickly stuff his rice into this distracted boy's mouth.

Easiest feeding in months! :)
Keke…until the novelty runs out….

Sh
when u passing rena her stuff? her stuff are in office so i will pass to u next week.

today i went to watch kungfu panda. initially hb din wan to bring JH cos he scared JH will talk a lot in the cinema. but JH remembered we are going to watch movie today and last night he said he wants to watch kungfu panda. (i told him since last week and reminded him a few days ago). so hb got no choice but to bring him. during the movie he was super quiet and we were so afraid he will fall asleep.

val
dun think that way, it's also good that they become more independent. JH was also the smallest in sch when he started and he was taking sch bus too. in fact for his sch, a lot of kids have parents fetching them and it's only the older ones who are on sch bus.

cookie
i thikn endo brand is qutie cheap. think tihs weekend tangs got some sale

mashy
initialyl i wanted to get thermal cooker to cook soup to save gas but hb din really wan me to get one. my fren using the tiger one. u can try that.

rachel

haha, u seem to have forgotten to factor in dylan being unable to adjust to all the changes.

1) He'll be starting school. A lot of crying is going to happen and the 'i dun wanna go school' attitude.

2) New addition is going to make him feel left out, like he's no longer Mummy's only little boy. Tantrums should be expected too. Probably will be even more sticky to you now that there's competition.

Of course, things might be easier. He could be more mature beyond his age. But better be prepared for the worst.

But of course, you've your mother around to help you. That'll make things much easier for you.

SY

Why is your hb against it? Becoz of the cost? If it's going to be a white elephant at home, then not wise to buy lah. But if you cook frequently, then it's a good investment.

mashy
thikn he not too keen on it for a few reasons. currently we using the tanyu claypot to cook soup which is just the right size for our family. the pot not cheap and he feels it's a waste if we get the thermal cooker and then not use that. plus it probably makes more sense to use the thermal cooker if the person who is cooking cannot watch fire. so he feels not very necessary now.

plus the tiger one that he wd buy doesn't come with warranty at all! we were quite surprised cos it's not cheap. and if i buy the cheaper brands he feel that might as well get the better ones.

and we not sure how much it can save us in terms of gas cos our gas is not the biggest component in our utilities bill currently. i did some rough cal and prob will take abt at least a year before the cooker becomes worth it.

mashy
thats what i mentioned earlier on the thing that worries me is his new school life. will keep the changes to the minimum for him.

SY
is kungfu panda violent?? wanted to bring dylan to watch but tot it might give a bad impression with all the hitting and beating.

SY ... look at today's papers. There's a thermal pot (think selling at OG) going for $69. I'm using that. Hubby was against thermal pot before. We use a hot-plate to cook soup before that. fyi, he's the cook of the house and I'm the cooking idiot. But I convinced him to get it and we've been having soups almost everyday for the past 2 years using it. We are still using that now without the maid, and hubby's selling the idea to his mother ... they are true-blue cantonese soup folks.

hi rachel
my #1 was born on the 4th day of CNY and I had no choice but to go for a CL then ... coz no help and I wanted to obey all the rules (ie no water). Depending on when ur edd is, perhaps u can get the CL to come in after the first 3 days of CNY. Mine came in on 6th day of CNY and she charges $100 more only. But she's quite lousy lah, only thing is not against breastfeeding though she insists I pump out then.

.ky.

ky
my EDD is 20 Jan 09. 6 days before CNY.

hows your days without a maid so far? hmmm, after hearing good reviews of a thermal pot, it will be wise to have one since both hb and dylan likes soup. saving on the usage of gas too.

RE: soup with thermal/magic hot pot
We use that too... cos when i got married my hb insist on buying an induction cooker cos he was worried i'd burn myself.. now my induction cooker spoilt i'm using 2 smaller portable ones so cooking is a bit of a hassle... we get the maid to boil the soup the night before and place in the hot pot.. overnight.. then in the am, continue to boil.. soup comes out quite nice. Can save some time. We are true blue cantonese type.. everyday drink soup. :D

Rachel
I feel its good to get confinement lady cos when you have no. 2, u need 2 ppl to help, one for the baby and one for no. 1 so that you can have some rest time.. last time we got only one.. when we need a break can still pass bb to hb and mom can do the cooking/ helping out... but with 2 kids.. you'll end up either looking after no.1 or no.2 so in the end not much time to rest. One idea is if dylan follows daddy, daddy can bring him out to visit with ur inlaws, then u can rest at home with baby and ur mom.

must make sure you rest well.. cos i don't feel as fit as i did after my first confinement cos my confinement second time round wasn't so good.

hi mummies...i did my x-ray and these are the reports. Doc said there is an inflamation on my sacroiliac joint.
seems to be pregnancy related but shld be ok after medication.

What is a sacroiliac joint?
The Sacroiliac Joints are located at the bottom of the back. You have one either side of the spine. The Sacroiliac joints help make up the rear part of the pelvic girdle and sit between the sacrum and the ilia.

Inflammation of the sacroiliac joints and associated ligaments are very common, especially following pregnancy where the hormone relaxing is released and this results in the relaxation of ligaments in preparation for childbirth. In most cases the causes of sacroiliitis are mechanical, however there may be other medical inflammatory conditions present such as Ankylosing Spondylitis as well as others which will need attention.

Symptoms include:

Pain located either to the left or right of your lower back. The pain can range from an ache to a sharp pain which can restrict movement.
The pain may radiate out into your buttocks and low back and will often radiate to the front into the groin. Occasionally it is responsible for pain in the testicles among males.
Occasionally there may be referred pain into the lower limb which can be mistaken for sciatica.
Classic symptoms are difficulty turning over in bed, struggling to put on shoes and socks and pain getting your legs in and out of the car.
Stiffness in the lower back when getting up after sitting for long periods and when getting up from bed in the morning.
Aching to one side of your lower back when driving long distances.

What you should not do

Do not apply heat or soak in a hot bath as this will increase inflammation afterwards.
Do not do breaststroke leg swimming and sitting with legs crossed as this will stress the joints.
Do not consider trying to stretch the joint as this may increase inflamed ligaments.
Do not forward bend and twist until full recovery as this aggravates the condition.

Tabbiesus - Good to know u enjoyed yrself

Rachel - Think none of like to have s atrnger living with us. I dun either but then quite enjoyable when I have the maid over from my mum's hse to help out. Maybe can consider a CL for yrself since it's u'll have 2 to handle.

Electricity Bill - My bill is almost $200 this mth. Almost fainted aft seeing the bill juz now. And there's no one at home during the day.

SL - Charmaine is so cute. Cephas told my mum he wld keep the teacher in the cabinet so he need not go to school when my mum asked if he wanted to go school.

SSF - Oh dear...are u in pain now? I has severe back pain 2 weeks ago I sneezed hard with a bad posture. I thought I had a slip disc. Fortunately, recovered aft a week of discomfort.

Do get well. Take care.

Sysac
Do you have a central heater at home? I realise most of my friend who has central heater tend to have higher elec bill.
Is the elec an estimate ? or actual reading.. my IL place recently had an estimate charge of 100+++... I think usually their elec bill is very low cos only my FIL stay there and he works in the morn, 3 rm somemore, no air con etc.
So they complain to SP and think next 2 mths no need to pay bills liao cos SP estimate too high!

SSF
Oh dear.. hope you get well soon. Good thing you went to see a doc.

Mashy
My mum has a Thermal Cooker.. cook curry chicken well!! but when my MIL borrowed to test out cooking soup ( my family also must have soup everyday), she find the thermal cooker cannot cook soup well.. or rather my HB complain no taste, I also find something lacking. I dunno how long she uses the thermal cooker to cook la, she claim for many hours..
But I think Thermal cooker can really save on GAS comsumption!

re thermal cooker
we cook soups everday. hmm i saw the endo one but hb doesn't like it. he will go for tiger brand but i find it really qutie ex. maybe if my family is bigger next time then i will get one. right now, hard to convince him.

sysac
my bill is 200+ every month. scary right! i think it's cos we switch on the air con every night. plus last few months was really really hot....

rachel
think u shd consider getting a CL. a fren of mine din get CL for her #2 and rely on maid and she said she really wished she had got one. then can really rest well.

rachel
i dun find the movie very violent but we went in pretty on time and sat thru so many trailers and ads that i think JH got pretty bored and i was afraid he will fall asleep. and i dun think he really understand the movie but he will just ask a few questions here and there. then after that when we go past Mac he recog the character panda. that's abt it...

Hey rachel
I think it would be a great idea to get Dylan started from Nov'08 onwards? So that you can see how well he might adjust to playgroup/pre-N, if he doesn't, he has some time to adjust (as well as for yourself) the crying, tantrums etc. Also by then, by 3rd trimester, usually energy levels are low, so it would give you some more time to rest and prepare for #2?? So at least come Jan'09, when #2 comes, not too much adjustment for you and dylan. I'm sure dylan will be a super good boy, have seen how well-behaved he is with you and he's matured for his age too!!

SY,
It's ok...i haven't heard from flo or sleepingdeer. Can only pass Rena's stuff to them when they reply.

Tracy,
Sorry, I just realised that I forgot to bring back ur chopstick orders. Will be going back town on Sunday. Where do u stay? If it is near our place, I can ask hb to drop by to pass to you.

SY - We also have the aircon on thru the nite but it has always been $120-$150. This time round has gone beyond that which puzzles me esp we were not in for 4 nites.

sysac
sounds like something wrong with the bill. what abt your fridge? is it new? My MIL's old fridge consumed a lot of electricity, bills went down a lot when we changed to a new one.

tabb
envy you.. get to take a trip w/o kids with your hb.. and to my fav place.

rachel
I agree with tracy. do consider.. hving 2 kids is v diff from 1 only.. can rest better with CL. for us, we also dislike stranger. But, i got one coz i didnt rest enough during my 1st Conf and felt v weak. And also, i thought tt it wld be a good idea to get CL, so tt she can carry bb so tt #1 will feel less jealous and insecure. also sugg tt u put dylan in the playgrp at least 2mths before your EDD. Ger's sch recommended 3mths earlier so tt he wld hv eased in and not relate to the bb, like we're pushing them to sch coz of bb. It wld like a lot. The #1 wld tend to hv some trantrums when #2 is born due to insecurities.

Sysac,
My bill this month is $300+ cos of my confinement and me being at home, otherwise its about $100 every month. And we switch on the aircon every night too.