(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tiffany
My colleague has told me she explain to her maid for not letting her hold cash is because to avoid any $$ dispute in future. e.g. in case one day you suspect $$ missing from your purse, perhaps amt not large.. with maid holding her $$ then it's difficult to rule out if she really steal it or what. SO I'm using this explain to my maid too and she understand well.
I do give her an option, if she wants to keep the $, usually she will ask me to keep for her.
I will note down on the record and get her and my signature on it.

SO far I did not let my maid hold her $20 as well. When she wants to call home, I will give her the necessary amount. The last time she need undergarment, MIL bought for her.. 3 for $10 so we deduct from the $20.00.
For other stuff like shampoo and shower soap we provided for her. SInce she is totally (almost) provided, I also felt there is no need for her to hold any $.

Rachel,

Does it comes with any trains? he has no preference. could you jsut get for me 2-3 sets as longs as they are different. thanks. if there is no trains then please get 1 set of trains and 1 cars and 1 trucks.

Tiffany,

have you purchase the rainbow?

my friend is selling hers away. she used only 1 time and also just bough. she is willing to let go at a much lower price.

mashy
hmm, since can't do anything abt the law, then must make sure u can claim all the damage from him. it is quite frustrating that they get away with it but can't do anything abt it. when i had my accident, even though i was having the right of way, the outcome of the investigation was no conclusion. can u imagine that? in the end claim our own insurance....

Re: Little Jillian
HB, my aunty & I went to NUH donation centre earlier thinking that we could just walk in to donate our blood eventhoughwe were all from different blood group. However was told that Jill need B+ blood PILATES which is (pls correct me if i'm wrong) a specific type of (white blood?) cells within the blood stream. As blood pilates can only be kept for 5 days, the hosp do not stock up excessively but would instead take down the doners name and contact them when Jill is schduled for next chemo/blood transfusion. So in the end we left HB's details behind as he is the only suitable doner. Sorry if I have confused everyone as I too myself only realised this when we went down to NUH.

Acually i have never donate blood before and the though of it I admit is really quite scary. But when i think of poor little Jill has to do this on a regular basis it really gave me the courage. And now that I know she needs something even more specific (B+ Blood Pilates), I can only pray that doners will be readily available whenever needed.

Its really heartache to see children suffer like that. This morning i teared when I read abt children being trapped under the rumbbles in China. I am just so thankful for my life right now.

Clare,
That means what little Jillian need is B+ PLATELETS. Platelets are tiny cells in the blood that is needed for blood clotting process. As long as one is certified a suitable blood donor, he/she can also donate platelets. The blood donation and platelet donation process are similar except that there is some kind of machine that will separate out the platelets during the donation process and platelet donation takes longer time, around an hour. Oh dear, I think B+ blood group donors are not as common as the other blood groups. I really hope little Jillian can pull through.

Rena
for the 80pcs set it comes with a train set and a few cars and others like dolls etc.

Clare
meaning only people with B+ blood type is suitable to donate?

Plantoys Wishing list:
1) Cheng- Terrace Doll House OR other Dollhouse as long as 50% off
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House OR other Doll House as long as 50% off (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget~SGD150) *if no Railway Station, get 2 sets of Doll House*
3) Tabbie- Road & Rail: Railway Station OR Road & Rail set: 110piece one OR 80piece OR 42piece in order of preference. + additional 1 train set (no budget as long as got discount)
4) CL- Road & Rail: Railway Station
5) Pin- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD100)
6) Rena- Road & Rail set: 80pcs + additional 2-3 sets of vehicles
7) Mamachan- Road & Rail set: 80pcs + additional 2 sets of vehicles

*do let me know any amendments, i will print out this list and bring along with me to BKK. Items will be drop if there is no stock or budget is over. thanks.~Rach

rachel, can help me to get dolls and furniture if u manage to get the doll house? coz can't play without those things leh. i guess budget wise i'm quite flexible and preferably get those that are on sale lah. else no point making you lug the whole thing back for us! thanks again! :D

alieen
you want get what furniture set? living, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom? they sell in different room set. for dolls, get for you 1 family doll set? you want the ah moh or asian family set? heehee

Clare/Rachel/queen
Yes, only pple with B+ blood type can donate specifically the platelets. Actually, B+ is quite common after O+ in this country, followed by A+ and then AB+....

I'll get my hb to make make a trip down to donate when he's back from the states, if he's not scared of being poked. One thing about platelet transfusion, you would need to sit there for about 1-2 hours with one tube in one hand, and another in another hand. BAsically, blood is taken out from your body via the platelet machine like what queen mentioned, and then the platelets and some plasma will be extracted from the body via some filters, and the rest of the blood is returned to your body. I did the procedure once, can be tiring on the butt to be seated for so long periods and cannot move much.

may
you can take actal. I think it's safe coz i read the box and they say its safe for preg women to take for heartburn. good luck, yes, late ovulation will result in late menses. menses will come exactly 14 days after the O day.

Mashy
how much chuan bei to put for the pear with chuan bei? ger's hving cough again.

Clare
Hope Jill is able to pull through

Rachel/Aileen
I think they only have Chalet Dollhouse and my first doll house (pic below).
1427041.jpg

My first doll house is about THB3000+ before discount (now on 50% discount). Some of the furnitures are on 30% discount and is ~THB400+ after discount (I think just under S$20). Accessories have no discount. I spent ~THB5500+ for the Chalet Dollhouse + furnitures. U can get them to deliver to your hotel room if u buy about TH5000. Actually is quite bulky, they pack everything nicely into a box and is about 59cm x 67cm so I'm not sure if you are able to carry so many back.

krissie

i normally tell the medical hall to prepack for me into single doses leh. So if i buy 1 liang, think they'll pack into about 4 packets.

Re: Doll House

Not sure if it's the same type but I saw some wooden doll houses (101pcs) that come with furniture and dolls selling at toys r us vivocity for $99 under imaginarium brand.

mashy
thanks.. I bought 1 portion only.. but it seems too much. Think I'll put half. so tt the taste will not be so strong. the last time my mum made, ger didnt want to drink it.

Mashy,
Ur mind and mine are alike. I took the pic of the wooden toys today at Vivocity Toys r us for the rest of the mummies to see.

Here u go! Other ACCESSORIES at $11.95 per box (many varieties)

1427559.jpg
$49.95

1427560.jpg
$49.95

1427561.jpg
$139.95

may

hahaa, were u there today? I was there for lunch today. Hahah, u see how bad my brain has gotten. can't even remember the price correctly.

Mashy,
I was there last week but no time to upload the pics. Camera is my brain. I cannot rem the price too. I purposely capture the price together. hehe.

RE: Weaning
Sigh. Read all the mommies post on weaning of the pacificers. So sian mu...can't wean my boy off his thumb :-(

And not like i can cut it off....urgh

Re: Plan Toy
I went BKK and my hb won't even let me carry back the doll house or train set. says too heavy

SH
I bet if I go BKK , my hb will also say " what for" if i want to lug the toys back. But ha ha if his daughter give him that "i realli want it "look he sure no problem. Daughter power more than me man

Hope you find a solution to wean off too. Actually mine no chut chut or thumb but will need a little hanky to touch. My Charmaine worse, ha ha must have her hipo fant hippo soft toy. even if i send the toy into the washing machine, she transfer that collar to another soft toy. Aiyo how to get rid of this habit woha

CL,
Think all the hb abt the same lar. I told my hb that my company going to organise trip to BKK. Although I am not going, I want to get my colleagues to help me get one doll house back. First thing he ask is how much, next is "What for? Our house not enough things ah?"

Flo
thanks for your information. the box sure is big! now i am more prepare for what i gonna encounter.

Re: Plan toy
jia luck, now a few of my hb's female colli also looking at what to get for their kids too *sweat* haha all started from cheng's sharing and its like a virus spreading to all of us =p

SH
ever thought of apply something on JW's thumb??

SH/CL/May
mine too, will block me from getting most of the things i want to get for dylan or even for our home. will always ask, "Need it mah?" or "I thought we already have?" or "Will it be useful or not?". anyway, he learnt to go with my decisions most of the time bcoz he saw for himself those things really comes in handy. =p

Valerie and Mashy
Nice meeting you guys on Sat at Ikea.
Mashy sorry din manage to talk to you cos my HB was calling me over to chop the table.

rachel,
at least ur hb can rem house have leh. My hb cannot rem what I had bought. Everything I want to get he will give a "NO" answer.

SH,
I think can try apply medicated oil to stop him from sucking thumb. My auntie does that to my cousin. He sucked his thumb till Pri 3 and there is these lump of flesh growing out from his thumb. Let me see if he allow me to take the pic of this thumb next time. He is now Sec 4.

CL/Rachel/May/SH

Your hbs and mine are total opposite.

We once lugged back 2 huge standing lamps, 1 room divider among other things from Bangkok. We had to book a whole van just to bring them to the airport. He was also so tempted to buy a children's table/chair set from Japan just becoz it's so unique. Also wanted to lug back the train set with table. I had to stop him from doing it. It's crazy to lug back these bulky stuff esp when we had to take care of C as well.

cookie
yah, nice meeting u too. Haha, your hb came over to my table and asked for the high chair when we left. Think he couldn't recog me. hehe.

Mashy
I only wish for half of what your hb will react in purchase. Ha ha too much i oso cannot tahan

SH
what about drawing a face on his thumb. 1 side daddy and 1 side mummy. Tell him he is bring daddy and mummy with him so dun eat you up and must make sure you come back home. In this way, ha ha likely he wont suck the thumb. Just a suggestion as I have not tried before. And must make sure you use non toxic pen

SH,

My elder boy..5 yr old still thumb sucking..i tried all ways...but still unable to stop him...i even teased him that deamien already stopped his pacifier..why he is still doing it.
Btw, both hb and myself also thumber sucker when we were young...our son is 100% inheriate from us...hehehehe

Belinda,
What abt telling him, when tooth fairy took one of the tooth, she left a note there and tell him not to suck thumb anymore? Since he is so particular with his appearance. Or u can ask one of his friends/relative to tell him he dun look good sucking thumb?

mashy/may,

yesterday we went to airport..and i saw a bb sucking her thumb..so i asked duncan to take a look..ask him dun he feel shame shame...
but when we got up to the car...he just continue to suck him thumb.....

thumb sucking is more difficult to stop..coz so convenience...

btw, damien already totally stopped his pacifier...he ever asked for it anymore..

Anyone has contact for ceiling fan? Thinking to install one since the ceiling light in our hall crack so need to change anyway.

Chicken Little
Heehee I think girls will always get their way with daddy

Rachel
Heehee, I guess shopping is very contagious with women.

Cookie/Cheng
We will be going to HK on Wed and coming back on Sat. Keeping our fingers crossed that we are able to board the plane

Flo
I'm actually at the airport hotel for my company event till Thurs :> If u arrive at the airport, sms me and I will walk out to say hi :p

Rachel
paiseh to spread the Plan Toy craze :p haha

Morning mummies...woke up at 4am to feed my sons and can't get back to sleep. Anyway, got urgent call and need to report work early. so might as well login and surf the net
hopefully i won't fall asleep in the late noon.

re: GSS
speaking of shopping..wow can really feel the heat coming. yesterday i was in vivo and centrept and everywhere is having sale. i have missed the 2 consecutive years as was both preggy at that time.was telling hb i am not gg to let this sale off easily tis time round. haaa

may - my hb can also be like urs sometimes. but in a way they help to control the number of toys lying ard. hee...

flo - enjoy ur trip to hk! are u gg for work or leisure? weather is pretty hot though..so need not bring many winter clothes

GSS - Fox sale is good
Was at Marina Sq ytdy morn. Bought some beach shorts & tops for C for Phuket trip. Amex card has addt'l 15% on top of your purchases (even the disc ones).

Everywhere's having sale but dun overspend yet. More to come! :p

SSF - I m up so early cos studying since 3.30am & not even feeding any babies! Hahaha...

Mamachan - Hw's the Mother's Day Hi-tea gathering? I am NOT working that day so taken off already :p

i can't wait for GSS....want to do my last shopping spree before i give birth! but now find shopping so tiring. yesterday was at taka and me and hb so busy chasing JH that we were both so tired out...

jsut to share some incidents over the weekend. now JH really outsmarting the father. he was walkign ard when i was feeding him so i got a bit frustrated. hb told him to go to me before he counts to 3. so hb started counting and when he reached 2, JH walked over and hold my hb's 2 fingers and stopped him from lifting the 3rd finger. then he told hb, '2 only, no 3' so hb cannot take out cane..quite funny. me and hb just can't stop laughing.

then yesterday when were were having dim sum, he wanted to eat something deepfried. so hb purposly put chili on it and then told him got chili and tried to give him (knowing that he will reject as he doesn't like chili). instead of rejecting, he pointed out that the other side no chili. my hb got no choice but to dunk the whole thing in chili.

Sysac
Wow you are fast! Hahaha, I will apply leave too lah to meet up and have hi-tea. Likely Rachel and possibly Flo can join in bah. Any suggestions? Any cravings? I really have no preference. Let me try to go dig out the list.

Weaning off Pacifier a Success!!!
Mummies, want to share how glad I am that D is finally off the pacifier without much fuss past 2-3 nights le. Actually, he's a really determined boy, despite the 1st night (last Wed), I cut off the rounded tip, he knows that his pacifier was tampered with but he still put in his mouth anyway. The following night, I trimmed off the pacifier somemore and still he can manage to stuff it in his mouth, Friday night again I trimmed off somemore until it really is not possible to suck anywhere on it but my dear boy used his teeth to hold on to the rubber part of the cut pacifier!!!! We just decided to totally not give him his pacifier come Sat night....he cried but we explained that his pacifier is spoilt so have to throw away and thus no more le. Now, he's getting used to not having the pacifier and can sleep through longer without waking up to do "search and rescue" for the tu-tu. So happy!!!

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Any suggestions where and when would be a good time for those keen? Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday from 2pm onwards

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac (I will die die go on 28th cos working on 27th-BD Fuming mad)
4) Flo (if 26-30 May)

A few sugg:

Goodwood Park Hotel - 1)Coffee Lounge Hi-Tea - $28++ (Mon-Thursday, serving Nonya Local High Tea)
2) L'Expresso cafe - $30++, serves English Hi-Tea Buffet (Pastries, sandwiches, scones, cakes, desserts) with 2 drinks per pax. They claimed to be known for their specialty coffees, etc

Orchard Hotel

Swissotel Merchant Court

Hanabi Jap Rstnt at King's arcade - Ala carte Buffet

Think last year one of the sugggestions was Goodwood Park hotel?

Anyone other mummies would like to join us? =)

just to update on the first teeth and oral b toothpaste.

i ordered 40 first teeth and 17 oral b toothpaste in the first found. will place order for 2nd round once the stock for first teeth comes.

any mummy needs it urgently? if not i will distribute it based on the first come first served list.

First Teeth

1. SSF - 10 (1st batch)
2. Mamachan - 5 (1st batch)
3. Val - 5 (1st batch)
4. Rachel - 5 (1st batch)
5. Sysac - 5 (1st batch)
6. Rena - 4 (1st batch)
7. Sleepingdeer - 4 (1st batch)
8. Flo -5
9. Krissie - 4
10. SH - 5

Oral B Baby
1. Wenyl - 3 (1st batch)
2. SY - 2
3. Tabby - 10 (1st batch)
4. CL - 2 (1st batch)
5. Krissie - 2 (1st Batch)
6. Flo - 2
7. MamaChan - 2
8. COokie - 2
9. Rena - 6

Oral-B Stages 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser - 1.1 oz
1. Cl - 1
2. Cookie-1

Gerber
1. CL - 2

I dun need so urgently cos i just opened a new one. so i can wait for 2nd batch.

let me know who needs it urgently if u r not in the 1st batchl

mamachan

sigh, i can never go for such mommies only outings lah. I don't have any help to take care of C.
Even today I've to see the dr, my hb has to take leave to help me.

Mashy
Then bring along Caeden lah. I oso working out my leave to see if I can join on 28 May. Me too need a break. Or lets find a place to eat where you can just deposit him for class.

mashy
yes, bring caeden along. No worries, we can help take turns to help you entertain him. so long if you're comfortable with bringing him out on your own, as in no more aches and much pains.

CL
Likely we'll meet afternoon from 2pm bah....so need only to take 1/2 day leave afternoon. Hahaha, unless you wanna shop shop during the GSS.

CL/mamachan

I am so tempted to go..but i am very stingy with my AL...
my parents are going for holiday so i need to save my leave to bbsit and i also planning for a long holiday.

re high tea gathering
i may take leave on 29th cos need to attend meet the parents session...so can't join on 28th...

recently JH has been telling me he wants to go toilet! so happy cos hoping to get him off diapers during the day before #2 comes. need the space to put #2's diapers....