(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Flo,

We let her call home. her family are all not affected. jsut that she is too young. only 19 and she is a typical burmese. stuborn, full of pride and rude as well. we still bear with her as i am too tired of changeing maid. But she is super busybody.. coz when other pp are thalking .. even when she cannot understand she will look at them and engross then forgot that she is looking after elijah by the time she realsie elijah has ran away...

she is careless and forgetful.. only 19 not 91.. yet more forgetful than me.. and she has spoilt many things in my house too but she blame that my things are old...

haiz.... most burmese maids are like that just like their country. Even in her cuntry she is a job hopper too. she quit being a waitress, housemaid and looking after old folks .. three job only lasted 3 months.. the only job she stay on was a tutor coz student gets the scolding and not tutor... therefore she thinks highly of herself.. always says that every parents in her country like her. her life back home is so good. just need to go to school and no need to do house work at all. even her younger sisters and brother are not taken care by her...

SY,
wa peifu u.. ur hb didn't go back, u will go alone? I will never go my MIL place without my hb. Even he say meet me there later, is a NO-NO. I will rather shop somewhere with Jamie and he pick us up later. My MIL will "bully" me when hubby is not around. My hb also feel so and say it is "unsafe" for me to go alone. hehe.

SY / Belinda,
This morning I cut off the tip of the chut chut and gave it to Isaac. He suck suck and spat it out and looked at it closely. Then he stuck his finger into the hole. And then put it back into his mouth and then spit it out again. Then he doesn't want it anymore. Haha... he looked so funny! I passed the chut chut to my MIL and told her to use this whenever he asked for it. But not too sure if it'll work when he's cranky and sleepy. He's very dependent on the chut shut in that kind of situation and I think my MIL will cave in and give him the good standby chut chut when he's making a ruckus for the chut chut.

queen,

i just called my mum and reminded her not to give in to damien..and so funny, this morning he woke up and asked my mum to buy him chu chu.

mashy,

damien somehow got his own preference..i pretend to give him another pacifier that belongs to his cousin..he refused to take it.

Pacifier
Good luck to all mummies who wants to wean off.

Helper
Wow my that helper has got a transfer after first interview yday. so fast hor.

Admission
sigh. just when i have a maid replacement to look for. My father is admitted last night for heart failure. Now he needs to be closely monitor for possible heart attack. Hope during this observation he will be fine.

Queen
You've given me new found hope and idea to wean D off his chut-chut! I should try since my hb is away for biz trip and D got no mountain backing him up.

CL
Oh dear....I'll keep your dad and family in prayers.

Mashy
C really know how to find alternatives for his pacifier!

SY/May
Actually, if my hb is not around coz of work trips, I would still bring D over to her place and visit her or have dinner with her. Recently, for her birthday, my hb was away in Beijing, ended up I took her out for dinner with D. My BIL wasn't free to join us.
I know for sure that my MIL and I have different thinkings and different ways of doing things, but as how my mom always tells me; so long I know I've done my part as a DIL, but if MIL don't recognize/appreciate, doesn't matter, so long we know our conscience is clear.

Mamachan,
I tried many ways to treat her nicely but her action makes me upset. So from then onwards, no more "pampering" her.

During her birthday last yr, I give her an Ang Pow. Wished her Happy Birthday and told her it is a small token from us. She take and then throw it on the sofa say "no need lar, I got work." I was very upset on this incident. So this yr, no more Birthday Present for her.

Last yr Mother's Day, I bought her a Pierre cardin Long Wallet. Wrapped it nicely with pattern and ribbon. She open it up, see already and put on the coffee table and walked away. I am very upset abt this too.

My hb told me that since his mum dun appreciate what I have done, dun bother to do all these thing since both of his younger bro and sis are not doing this, I dun need to bother. So I leave it like that.

belinda,mamachan
thanks. I sure hope he just need observation only that is all.

May
Dun be upset with such reaction. As long as you do your part ok liao, there will be a point in time they will realise you are best and will learn to appreciate you.

Helper
If anyone knows of any good helper whom employer letting go, please let me know hor.

CL
Durianlover is relocating so her maid is now looking for employers. I've met Gina many times and she's good, only alittle talkative. Perhaps you can give her a call. YOu can also speak to Gina yourself.

May
I'm pretty sure it's really upsetting to witness such reactions. Afterall, perhaps we're not even used to receiving such reactions from our parents. Maybe your MIL also not used to receiving such good treatment from even her own children. But like how CL said it, so long you know you've done your part can already, maybe just don't think and expect too much of appreciation back. Perhaps on the surface your MIL seems so like don't care about what you've done, but I'm sure deep down she's touched...just that dunno how to show. You know lah, the older generation are not very good at showing affections one. I know my maternal granny (whom I'm close to) wasn't a fantastic MIL to my aunts (my mom's SILs), very hard to please. But in her last few years, she realizes how good my aunts are to her.

Belinda,Queen,
Since March 23rd when we applied bitter grass on Meg's pacifier, she has not been sucking on it. BUT she has been holding it to sleep since March 23rd to date which is like 2mths already. :S Maybe I should take it further and cut it, tell her the cockroach bit it.

Tracy
Meg is so cute!!! Has she ever been tempted to put the pacifier back into her own mouth?

Rena
It sounds like this is not your 1st burmese maid? You had other burmese maid before also similar pattern? Actually, if this is the case, I would think it's advisable for you to let go of this one, if not it might bring you more headache when #2 is out. End up you have 3 young ones to look after (including your maid)

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Any suggestions where and when would be a good time for those keen? Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday or 30th May Friday (please choose a date that's best for you as well as any conjunction weekday promo)

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac (I am on exam leave on 20-23 May. Exams on 20 & 23 May. Can go anytime aft that. 4-7 Jun is out though if thinking of Jun cos will be overseas.)
4) Flo (if 26-30 May)

A few sugg:

Goodwood Park Hotel
Orchard Hotel
Swissotel Merchant Court
Hanabi Jap Rstnt at King's arcade - Ala carte Buffet

Think last year one of the sugggestions was Goodwood Park hotel?

mamachan
30th May we be flying off to thailand. will go for 28th May =)

May
let your MIL be, since she dont appreciate such a thoughtful DIL like you.

CL
sorry to hear about your dad, hope it is just minor heart problem. be with him, give him moral support. hang in there.

SL
Refund done.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>To Account </TD><TD>POSB Savings xxx387-7 SL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amount </TD><TD>S$29.45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Transaction Reference </TD><TD>1706325297 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Rena, krissie
I've yet to receive your account numbers for your refunds. Here's the amt to refund :

rena = $25
krissie = $33

Cookie
Need you to tt to me another $2 for the shipping excess. Thanks.

CL

Hope your dad gets well soon. Take care!

May

Last time my MIL also like that. But now better lor. I bought her a bag for her birthday this year and I've seen her using it. My MIL also buys presents for me but so far those aren't quite my taste. So thinking maybe the present u got your MIL not to her liking?

Another way is to get Jamie to make the present for her lah. That way, she cannot reject it. Hahhaa. Last yr I got my boy to hand paint some pics and framed them up. Then I gave to my dad, FIL and my hb. Only my dad wasn't appreciative of it. GUess he's not arty type lor. My FIL found a place in his living room and hung it up.

Actually, my ILs got everything they need already so diff to get them presents. Give them ang pao, they'll bank into my hb's acc. Easier when I rope in my boy to help.

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Any suggestions where and when would be a good time for those keen? Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday from 2pm onwards

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac (I am on exam leave on 20-23 May. Exams on 20 &amp; 23 May. Can go anytime aft that. 4-7 Jun is out though if thinking of Jun cos will be overseas.)
4) Flo (if 26-30 May)

A few sugg:

Goodwood Park Hotel - 1)Coffee Lounge Hi-Tea - $28++ (Mon-Thursday, serving Nonya Local High Tea)
2) L'Expresso cafe - $30++, serves English Hi-Tea Buffet (Pastries, sandwiches, scones, cakes, desserts) with 2 drinks per pax. They claimed to be known for their specialty coffees, etc

Orchard Hotel

Swissotel Merchant Court

Hanabi Jap Rstnt at King's arcade - Ala carte Buffet

Think last year one of the sugggestions was Goodwood Park hotel?

Tracy,

megan is so funny...think it is time for damien to wean off..today napped without chu chu coz my mum told him that she had forgotten to buy...then he said " remember to ask mummy to buy.

mamachan,
initially she attempted to put it back into her mouth but was hesitant cos she knows its bitter. Now she dun dare put it into her mouth anymore.

Tracy
hehehe, I was thinking whether to use the bitter grass method or the cut off the tip of the pacifier method. But D can eat bittergourd, seems like he don't mind that, so maybe bitter grass method might not work so well.

say, you keen to come out for hi-tea with us? confinement should be over by then already hor?

mamapanda
too late liao. Gina is already taken liao. ha ha i am always late for such arrangement. hee hee

Thanks mummies for your well wishes for my dad.
Crossing my finger for him. Now he has to keep repeating blood test to check on his cardiac. Ha ha me still thot everything can be tell thru ECG.

But when i see him on oxygen supply he seems better and peaceful without my mum nagging. Good to be in hospital to be taken care of lah.

mamachan,
meg also drinks bittergourd soup. tink the bitter grass is really bitter.

Confinement will be over liao but I'll give the hi-tea a miss lah. i gotta bring my pump along then find place to express..troublesome. Then gotta bring Duncan to my MIL's place first.

It's me again.. :)
Can i check if anyone as install a cam at home, in the living rm/kitchen when there's helper at home?

may
actualyl i dun mind going back on my own cos i get more freedom of speech..haha i can say what i like in front of my mil since my hb not ard. actually now my hb also dun really care what i say cos sometimes he realise i make more sense

yeah like what the rest say, just do your part. my mil last time complain a lot abt me but nowadays never complain already. in fact she even tells my mum i better than her own daughter. cos she knows what i say (even if it sounds harsh) is for her own good.

queen
must make sure dun give in to him. i m sure isaac can do it. JH used to be so dependent on it too. he can't sleep without the pacifier. just need to make sure no one gives it to him...

CL
hope your dad is fine. will the agency be helping u to get a new helper?

esh mummy
i use mobile live cam service. have 2 cameras. one in living room and one in my boy's room. u can check singtel website.

Hi SY,
But does ur helper know that the two round round thingy are cameras? If yes, how does she behave then? Yup, i do know abt singtel mobile live cam...

Re: Pacifier
Yesterday evening damien found his chu chu in the room. Immediately / happily he poped inside his mouth. Manage to get it back from him by giving some goodies.
But lucky, sucessfully he managed to sleep without it. Maybe he is too tired / sleepy to think of his pacifier.

esh mummy
i dun particularly tell them but over time they know. they behave normally lor. cos i dun monitor all the time. if they try to keep up apperance, they have to do it for a really long time as i dial in at different times everyday.

Gd Morning mummies,

CL,
I hope your dad is getting better soon.

Re. Pacifier
I think we have been quite successful. Yay! Cut off the tip of the chut chut yesterday morning, and Isaac did not take it the whole day! And even when he was trying to sleep last night, he just lie on the bed, tossed and turned and sang for a while and fell asleep WITHOUT the chut chut. It's a miracle! Haha!
My MIL told me that Isaac seemed to have "withdrawal symptoms" the whole morning yesterday, but he did not really ask for it. In fact he 'accused' my MIL of cutting the pacifier (which in fact I was the one). I was surprised that he knows what was going on! I think he must have understood what me and HB were saying about cutting it. In the evening, Isaac asked for the chut chut and I showed it to him. He shook his head and said 'cut chut chut. take another one'. I replied that I don't have another one and told him that since this one is not nice, then don't take it. And he didn't ask for chut chut again, not even when he sleeps.
YAY!!!

queen, belinda
sounds interesting for weaning the pacificer and wish you all the best to wean off completely

Queen
Thanks for your concern. Needs to do Echo test today. See how it goes.

SY
The agent does not have suitable candidate on hand for me. So if can find someone, she will help me do the transfer or procedure too

Queen,
Congrats, another successful case!

CL,
Hope ur dad get well soon. My dad did a "ballooning" about 1yr plus ago. It was done immediately after the Endrogram (pardon my spelling) aka colour dye insert. Small op but he is put under medication to thin his blood. Till now, sometimes he still feel weak but cannot be help. Need alot of rest after the op.

queen
congrats!!! hope that he stays off it permanently. but once in a while they will still ask for it. JH just asked abt it this morning in fact.

CL
hmm, the problem abt getting transfer maid is if the maid doesn't work out, then agent won't do the replacement for u right? that's the problem i had previously when i brought in my first maid.

CL ,

Do you want to check with Val? she is tryig to transfer her maid out.
I was so mad with the agent. she was telling me that they are going to send the maid back but when i called again she say they decided to give her another chance to transfer. but since the maid has attitude issue .. why allow transfer? i told her off that i am not paying for the govt levy as she did not respect me as an employer .

The worst part is that now we have to pay for the insurance and only can get back 30% of the money ...

CL your case is worst coz she is not even 1month with you so you dun get a refund.

SY
I got 1 change anyway only. So this is my last chance to look for new maid

Rena
Val no need maid already ? I will sms her
If the maid is transfer out within 30 days, once MOM issue the transfer, I can still get 70% lah.

If it is within 6 months it is 30%. I talk to agent liao. So my agent is working on get the transfer done before next week. Hope to get at least 70% man

esh
shd start sourcing already. sometimes can take quite a few weeks for them to come.

rena
yeah the thing abt changing maid is that u have to pay insurance etc all over again. really waste money

CL
i see....my agent quite fast. she transferred my previous maid out within a day.

if your maid not transferred out, u are still paying her levy. so must make sure agent transfer out within a week.

SY
Me more particular lah. Must know how to take care of kids specially for aden and must be able to communicate so my requirement more difficult lor.Levy is still small amount ha ha I dun want to waste my leave teaching lah

CL
hee, my mum also say i particular. i said got kids at home must be more particular. no choice. somemore mine need to stay at home alone with kids. i need to be even more particular!

lucky my current one quite ok. except really spoil JH. that day my mum's maid came over to help out and a few days later i found one book torn quite badly. i asked my maid and she said she doesn't know anything abt it. so i told my mum and she asked her maid abt it. u know what was the reply? she said JH happily tearing the book so she let him tear...really no idea of discipline.

Hi SY/ other mommies

Check with you. I remember you have a new maid recently. Just wondering if we can hold their monthly pocket money? Is it against the law? Any mommies can advise too?

Re: Rainbow cleaner system
Anyone using this Rainbow system to suck out dustmite? Any comments and advice how much it cost?

Tiffany

Tiffany..

It cost about 3K plus

If it is the maid using then no point coz too complicated for them and bulky unless you have space.

Rena
Ok.. I was quoted S$3424. Wondering isit expensive. Are you using it? Is it good?

Oh... It will be my maid who uses it. They will provide training and will give training if we change maids.

how to mix EBM with FM for Megan? Eg. she drink 180ml, do i make 120ml FM then add 60ml of EBM into it? The EBM is taken from fridge so its cold. Is it ok to add in just like dat?

Tiffany,
My mum has a old rainbow....used for many yrs and still functioning well. We have taught our family maid to use. Best to watch them do it for the 1st few rounds, in case they not sure n spoil the system. Its v good to suck up the dust in the mattress n sofa.

As for maid's salary, best to open a bank acct n deposit the main bulk of the salary for her on a mthly basis. The maid may request for some cash like $40 for my ex-maid to spend on tel card, etc.

Tracy,
Yes I used to mix it into E's milk when I had excess. Just warm up the EBM separately n when ready, mix into the FM like what u mentioned 120+60ml. Tats wat i do.

tiffany
i almost bought the rainbow but my hb went online to do a search and din find very good reviews on it. when u look at the demo, sure feel like buying.