(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Maid
I have finally sent my maid away for good! Wat a relieve! Yesterday was the ultimate n we couldn't endure anymore. Have been giving her lots of chances cos we know she need to earn $ for her family. Yesterday while I went to fetch E from school, was away for about half an hour only. I came back & my neighbor told me Ben was wailing away so loudly. I asked the maid n she said he was hungry. Then she warmed up my EBM. I was skeptical cos I fed Ben just abt an hour ago b4 I left and he wouldnt be tat hungry to be wailing for milk so soon. Then, when my maid carried him to feed the EBM, I was shocked to see a 3cm burnt mark on his leg. When I questioned her further, she said she was ironing when Ben cried in the other room. She went to carry him n came back to turn off the iron. I was fuming mad cos she shld hv turned off the iron b4 attending to bb. Furthermore, I have already instructed her many times only to iron at night when the kids are asleep. Sigh! Really really give up on her. We r giving her a final chance to be transferred out. Told the agent not to give her to families with young kids at home. Hiaz! Wat a weekend!

RE: Anyone got good part time maid to recommend??

Wenyl
oh dear what a horrible maid.. did your maid abuse Ben on purpose? Lucky you saw the burn mark... and she didn't even tell you when you asked her....what a horrible horrible maid.. must be so heart pain for you.. hope ben is ok. Good u sent your maid back.. but i really pity who has her next seems she is completely unreliable.
To me its impossible for her to have burnt ben when switching off the plug. she can switch off the main switch what... you can make a police report man! Lucky you are so calm, for me, i'm scared i would get into trouble cos I'd sure whack the maid.

CL
thanks for helping me to pick up the stuff from mamapanda.

wendyl
oh, i was too tired to ask u yest why you were sending her back. Oh yes, since she's careless and hurt ben, shld send her back? then, you're alone with both of them in the day? I'll try calling the pt cleaner later. Let you know ya.

Wenyl

Oh no! I hope Ben's alright. Better bring him to see the dr and report the maid to the police. Since no witness, who knows whether it was intentional or not. I also think that it's not possible to burn ben when switching off the plug.

wenyl,
Hope Ben is alright! Thankfully your neighbour was alert enough to notice the bb crying loudly. Good to send the maid back.

Thanks for the concern! Ben's burnt mark is ok, he is a bit cranky today due to his flu rather. Brot him to pd n was given antiseptic cream for the wound. I am quite sure the maid didnt do it intentionally. I imagined she was trying to bend over the ironing board to switch off the main switch. But she shldnt have carried Ben to do tat. And after it happened, she claimed ignorance when I spotted the mark. Tat I m not sure if she knew but acted blur or she really hu tu n din know Ben got burnt by the iron. Anyway, will just forget abt the whole incident n all the past incidents which happened on E. Need to move on lor. Praying hard tat the next maid will be a REALLY USEFUL helper.

Krissie,
Thanks! I m arranging for E to be in school till his daddy fetches him after work. Luckily this PG does after school care, so its like a full day cc lor. But I dunno if E will be alright, with so many changes suddenly.

Just now, we told him aunty went home, he started calling out her name, looking for her. When he realised aunty not around anymore, he started crying. Then he cried again when we left our dog at my parents' plc. Keep asking us to bring our dog home. He fell asleep with tears rolling. I see already so sim tia. My hb can still tell me to give the dog up at that moment. Feel like kicking his a**.
Sorry for ranting

Wenyl
Thankfully Ben is not badly hurt. Just give E sometime, I'm sure he'll get over it after a few days. Take care ya

Mommies
Wishing you a Happy Mother's Day!

wenyl

dun worry abt the crying for maid.. i think all kids do that.. also doesn't mean they are attached to the maid, just they don't like change. My girl will do that occasionally when the maid walk out of the car, but its not like she is sticky to the maids.. it irritates me but i try not to bother cos it means nothing.. anyways not all maids are blur.. some are truly alright..

Anyways, your attitude is very positive. Jiao you.. its tough right having 2 kids... its no better being SAHM, there are so much more responsibility.. and really no break...

To all mommies
Have a GREAT MOTHER's DAY! You are a great mother, never blame yourself and CELEBRATE! Yeah!

To all mummies
Happy Mother's Day. Take a break and enjoy your Day.

Ha ha Helper
Conincidentally when I was chating with Wenyl over MSN about her sending her helper back. I was telling her mine so far ok except talk back a bit.

Then after a trip to my cousin's place for her wedding. I was coaching how she should jaga Aden and not let Aden run up and down the stairs and outside the house. Then home I was telling her she should put iron back where it should be.She says she din do wrong
1. Iron still hot. Told her iron was hot last night, not this morning
2. Dunno where to put back. Ask if she dunno where to take out how she iron
3. She says I took it out for her. So i ask if I have show her where to put back. she says yes in the cupboard.

Was just telling her that, even if iron is not hot but she left in the playroom where my kids frequent. Then 1. drop on the floor, my tiles damaged 2. the iron drop on kids leg then how !!!! Told her cannot wait till something happen then regret

This time she just tell me, she has no experience with young kids and will not do a good job with kids and cannot work for me.

Told her fine, if she has such intention i will not force her too. So within 1 hour, i sent her back to agent. So much for my first experience with a helper which lasted only 10 Days ha ha

ya man Tab
Ha ha wasted my 1 week leave. Lucky my mum can manage Charmaine alone and Aden still has cc to go to so I dun have to think too much for contigency plan

But I oso thank her for showing the colour at early stage. If not I waste more time. Now I only waste leave and her insurance

CL
My fren was telling me is best to be strict and lay all the ground rules at the start - what task they need to do and what cannot do. I guess if you are too lenient with them initially, they will tend to "climb over your head" and become difficult to manage subsequently...good luck for your 2nd maid.

CL,
Alamak, wasted your time training her. But good also that she told you early instead of wasting your time further. Hope you get a better one!

HAPPY Mother's Day to all the dearest mummies! Motherhood is tough, 24/7, life-time responsibility (even when the kids reach adulthood!), no annual leave, no medical leave and no resignation accepted!

wow really lotsa post.. incredible this thread, I had hard time reading..hahahhaa...

cheng/flo
This time is only me and HB
we need a break before #3 arrive and also to strenthen bonding more to spend time together without the kids.
No not bringing Kae.. and I know I will miss them dearly but all my firends say it's good choice. Must have er ren shi jie too not all the time about kids.
Oh there are HFMD in HK too? I thought the serious one are somewhere hainan in china or something.
If we are all there.. do sms to meet up for lunch for dinner

Cheng >> I might not have your number..dunno if u have mine..

My friend just came back last week.. no complaint about pollution but say lotsa pple , very pack and squeeze. Phew...

Happy Mother's Day!!!!

So many maid probs. My hb is very keen to get a maid esp now that I can't do much stuff with my bai ka leg. But seeing all these problems with maids make me scared....

ha ha mashy
Actually my maid is good at housework but job mismatch for me as i need someone who can take care of kids to help mum. If anyone needs someone who do housework only, i recommend her man. For kids no no man

happy mother's day!!

re maids
actually for maids, it really depends on the family needs. some are good at housework some are good with kids, seldom good with all.

my current one is actualyl pretty good. i must say she has caught up. one thing i realise (which my mum taught me) is that when i say things and she can't understand or dun make effort to understand, i jsut need to say i will call agent and ask agent to tell her, she immediately will make the effort to understand. cos the agent quite fierce so they dun wan us to call her. i did call agent once when she couldn't take my instructions a couple of times. and i think the agent scolded her and after that she really picked up very fast. only problem now is she spoils JH a lot.

my hb did say that if i wan to stop working, maybe we shd not have a maid....so see how lor.

wenyl
good to hear that ben is alright. when is the new one coming?

CL
yeah a waste of time to train them right..but lucky she told u upfront. it wd be worse if she tells u only 6 months later..

Wishing All Jan 06 Moms a Blessed Mother's Day!!
Not too good a mother's day for me...down with epigastric pains and feverish. =( and my hb left for biz trip this morning.

Wenyl
Oh dear....hope bb Ben will recover soon from the burnt mark! I would have reported to the police nonetheless if it's intentional or not.

CL
That's fast! Your ex-maid quite upfront about not being suitable to work for you. Really wasted your leave to train her man.... hope you'll have better luck with your 2nd maid.

JH actually wished me happy mother's day! actualyl i din really tell him abt mother's day but this morning during sunday sch, the teachers did mentioned it. din think he will remmeber but just now after dinner he suddenly came to me and said happy mother's day. and pretneded to give me a present...even hb was shocked....

Happy Mothers' Day to all!

Tabbiesus,
U r right! Today E din even ask abt the maid the whole morning until when we were abt to leave hse. Then he started shouting for aunty to hurry up cos we were all leaving. Haha. Then this evening, he mumbled something like aunty gone home, no aunty to help Ethan wash buttock....cook mum mum. Haha.

Mashy,
Having a maid is really a load off housechores. Why not get a part time maid to come in to help u during ur "bai ka" period.

SY,
I am still looking for a new replacement. E also wished me Happy Mothers' Day today. On fri, his school help made a card n teacher asked him to present to me when I went there to fetch him. My 1st Mother's Day present. Haha!

wenyl
yeah they forget abt the maids pretty fast. imagine JH din even really miss the maid who looked after him full time for 2 years!! like very heartless right..

Wenyl
what a maid you had! lucky it was a burnt mark and not any serious injury. hope that your new replacement will really be a good helper!

CL
think its honest of your ex-maid to admit she is not good with children. not till something happen *touch wood* or really cause stress to all parties and sour the whole relationship. but your leave really wasted la.

May
any good news for us??? =p

Good morning mummies,

SY / Wenyl,
Wow, you boys can wish you all Happy Mother's Day! My Isaac doesn't understand what it is I think. His playgroup made medals for mum and I went on Friday cos there's a mini celebration. Isaac put it round my neck but I doubt it means anything to him.

Wenyl,
Oh dear, you must really be anxious when you saw the burnt mark. Better to be safe than sorry, even though you are sure that the maid did not do it intentionally. If you can manage Ben alone, it's a good idea to let E go to full day child care.

Mamachan, Rachel
Me oso dun feel anything. Nothing wasted. Ha ha she helped clean up the mess after our installation of storeroom. She is realli good at housework. But it is ok I am fine. Just go another one lor

Re. Pacifier
Isaac is really VERY attached to his pacifier. I won't say that he's on it every single moment but in the past he'll only ask for it when he's sleepy. Now, even when his throwing tantrums or feeling cranky, he wants it. And he will want it, even when we are out shopping!. I haven't been able to wean him by talking to him and threatening to throw it out.
Anyway, last Sat, he was happily sucking away on his chut chut when I was paying for my purchases at Cold Storage. The cashier auntie commented 'aiyo, so old still eating chut chut!'. I asked her whether she has a good weaning method. She said for her kids, she'll cut off half of the rounded tip of the pacifier and let her kids suck. Not so shiok to suck anymore and soon her kids don't want it. She did say to stand by extra 1 or 2 chut chut, also with the tips cut off in case the kid is a bit smarter to ask for another one.
Then I asked my MIL and mum, both of them say use the chili method. But my HB thinks it's quite 'zek ark'. So we'll try cutting off the pacifier this weekend.

any mummies has temp part time maid to recommend? my friend lives in lorong chuan area. needs a part time maid urgently coz just send her full time maid back this morning. tia!

wenyl,
fortunately u are vigilant to check ben's leg. luckily it's nothing serious. maids,sigh... sometimes really don't know what to say.

CL,
i would be so frustrated if i were u. well my previous indo did the same thing to me. after a few days with me, she told me she can't take care of children, very stress. would rather only do housework. so we sent her back. like all have said, rather her be upfront initially than to confess later.

mother's day,
my dear son refused to say happy mother's day. tell me happy birthday instead! so cheeky, argh!! then last night out of no reason, he decided to walk up to me and want to hug me, then in his sweetest voice possible, mutter "mama", lie his head on my shoulders and pat me...

Well CL,

This time i am unluckly again too. I have this instinct that my current maid cannot make it but was relectant to let her go coz she is ok with house work jsut that she is carless , impatient and rude. but at least some help is better than no leh.. how ever on friday. when we can back from work at 6 plus.. we realise that she did not cook. so i ask her. she say coz yesterday call mdm never answer so today dun dare to call . but i call back !!! then she say i duno what to cook. so riday no dinner.. i was angry and scolded her for lame excuse. she went to her oom.. in the dark i saw two bags on her bed..
guess what .. the whole day she has been packing her bags and when i went in she tell me i want to go back agent.

Fuming .. i call the agent.. she told me to sent her back incase she run away.

when the agent spoke to her she ignore her too..

Burmese.. maid.. after 4... i think they cannot make it. coz too much pride and stuborn and duno refuse to ask and do wrongs things blame you. my this maid is only 19 and jsut like a kid. I was worried of leaving her at home with my new born too therefore also have intention to change jsut that wanted to give her more chances. When we are nice to her , she simply take advantage...

Part time help..

I think will need some part time contact too till my new maid comes..

wenyl

already have a part time maid to come in once a week. But last week, she's sick so came in on sat and left earlier too.

My leg better already. Can start to walk, just having prob climbing stairs and walking for long.

Got a surprise when I sent C to school today.
Got a Mother's Day gift which C did in school earlier. So happy.

Re: Weaning off pacifier/ finger sucking
Yesterday at Guardian, I saw this tube that's supposed to help wean off nail biting. Maybe that can help for weaning off pacifier too? Not sure what's in it, maybe some bitter tasting stuff?

RE: Mother's Day Card
So envy. Jamie was sick and did not go to school since Thurs. Dun think she will be able to make me a card since she skip school. She dunno what is mother's day too. So got to wait for another year.

Queen,
Ya.. chili method is very bad leh. I think cut off tip better.

Rachel,
No good news yet. Need to wait till end of this mth. Hope to hear good news from others =)

anyone bought the endo thermal pot before? Good or not? Isetan is having that on sale. Thinking of getting that to make stew/porridge so that I don't have to watch the fire all the time.

Rena
19 year old for maid....that's really young. Is that legal? I know for certain nationalities got age limitations then can work in Singapore. Your this burmese maid had been with you for 4 months? BUt also good that you send back, coz I don't think maids being too young are good for helping out with children. Perhaps you can really consider going through MamaPanda's contact for maids?

Mother's Day
D brought home a card from school on Friday. On Fri evening when I got home, my maid took out the card from his bag, upon seeing the card, he excitedly ran up to me and gave me a hug and a kiss. I guess the school teachers must have emphasized to kiss and hug mummy when they give the card. Though I'm not too sure if he got the concept that it's Mother's Day.

Aileen
Your boy is quite sweet eh!!!! Hahaha, though he sounded cheeky....but he knows how to make you melt.

CL
Hahaha, at least not so bad, she did help you out to clean up the mess as well as did up your housework for the 10 days.

RE: Mother's Day
Its great the kids are doing presents for their mums, so sweet! S's CC did one stalk of paper flowers with a card and one tissue flower and peanut butter Cornflakes for the moms. When I reached the CC, the chinese teacher whispered something to S's ear, then she came to hug me and kiss and said 'Ma Ma, wo ai ni'... awww, tears came to my eyes! THen the English teacher passed her the stalk of paper flowers, and she passed them to me and shouted, 'Happys Mothers Day!' The whole weekend she kept shouting those three words when she saw the flowers....' really melt my heart... My Bu zi dong hb bought some carnations with S and gave them to me, haha, so surprised this wooden head did it!

Wenyl,
I think your maid probably had no ill intention and was just plain careless. From the way she plays with your kids, can tell she actually likes them alot, just too bad, she is too careless liao.

Re: Maids
I think maids very really funny people, like my SIL's one. We had lunch with them yesterday and the maid was feeding my nephew some milk. After he finished the bottle of milk, she pulled the bottle out from his mouth and I saw his whole mouth was smeared with milk. Instinct will tell anyone that we should clean the mouth right? This maid just wanted to stuff the pacificer back into his mouth, I find it strange, isnt this basic, haha?

***HI mummies.. these days I really had little time reading this thread, everynite I tell myself, I will read the thread when #2 sleeps, but everynite I fell asleep with him till morning, even miss my #1 sleep routine.. haizz.. this pregnancy is really making me very tired.***

CL
was glancing thru and saw your post on your maid..
When I read she talk back... hmm thats really a no no to start off. Good thing she give up herself and not waste your time and effort more.
Hope you get a better one next round.

so sweet of your kids!!! My boy doesn't understand anything abt mother's day coz he was at home the whole of last week. And my hb, sigh. We didn't celebrate mother's day unless u count going to his granny's place as a celebration. :

queen
for JH, what happened was really quite accidental, he had spoilt too many pacifiers and i just decided to stop buying. i continue to give him the spoilt one and of cos not so shiok, then one day it almost broke off and i decided not to give anymore. cos i scared he will choke on it. and for the next few nights, i will talk to him until he falls asleep. when he woke up at night, i gave him milk as a substitue and told him it's the same feeling as pacifier. after like 2 to 3 nights, he completely off it. the other problem i had was during car rides. he's very dependent on the pacifier. so we really had to keep talking non stop to him to distract him.

mashy
me and hb also din celebrate any mother's day. in fact this year, din celebrat with my IL and my mum as well. my MIL asked for present instead and my mum not in sg.

re mil
sometimes really feel quite irritated with her. that day on sat i went back alone cos hb went for wedding diner. also good cos i can talk more freely. she really every little thing wan to ask me to do. even small things that my sil shd do also ask me to do. anyway i told hb abt it and said i find his mum unreasonable. surprisingly he din disagree with me and told me not to do it for them. my mil even ask me when shd start taking tonics. of cos she not concern abt me but more concern abt my sil. my sil only 5 weeks pregnant and she already so gan cheong. then i sick for so long also never ask whether i m better. only tell me my fil sick. of cos she tell me so that i will tell my hb. then she even calculate the next date we coming back to her place and told me to remind my hb to pass her the allowance. when i told my hb, he was really quite pissed cos he feels that my mil doesn't care abt us but only care abt the allowance. anyway i m quite glad over time my hb doesn't side his mum so much anymore....

cookie
i guess it's really tiring...partly also cos of your pregnancy, like nowadays i can feel my mind not really working....

Wenyl - wah! i would be soooo fuming mad if i were you and yes! send her back immediately.. i hate it when they do sometin wrong and yet do not admit. i mean, if u k now u make a mistake, be sincere and ask for forgiveness mah.. stil wait til its discovered.. argh... thank God ben is alrite...

Re: Mother's day
Cel made sometin fr her weekly class also and the message tho pre-printed by school was rather touching.. about her little fingerprints left all over the place and with it comes a handprint of her little palm for me to remember it by when the handprints have faded away.. i almost teared when i saw tat little hand. and ytd when i whisper i love u into her ears durin her nap, she hugged me and pull me by the neck and whispered' i love u mummie'..aaawwwwwwww....

CL - on ur maid, ya.. i also think talking bad is a sign tat she isnt suited, and wats more she is stil so new in the family.. new maids should be very humble wor...

re. Mom's day gift
Tab also, her school made a photo frame with a pic she drew of me n her, i look like a circle on a stick hehe but feel so happy.
My girl says i love u very often to me maybe cos i say that to her very often. Yest i wasn't feeling well and was puking over the toilet bowl she came up to me n asked me what happened and gave me a kiss. Very sweet. I am really going to miss these moments. I hope i remember them next time when they become rebellious teens! Ha.ha

Re: Mother's day
so sweet to read on what the little ones had prepared and said to their mummy =) going to scholl really made them more aware of the special festival.

i think i got to wait till next year then got the chance to receive any hand made stuff from dylan =p as for saying sweet stuff to me... nope, not yet but i am waiting for that day. till date he will only say "Yes" or nod his head when asked does he love me.

Tabbie
how i wish i could capture every cute and sweet moments of dyaln too! like what you said, next time can see and remember their innocent moment. i can forsee this little fellow of mine gonna give me lots of trouble and stress when he grow up! haha

Re: Mother's Day
So sweet of ur little ones saying I LOVE YOU. I must go back and teach Jamie already. Dun think she knows that I said that to her while she is sleeping. One thing she did to me that is very touching last week was, I am sick, and she comes to me, giving me a kiss and hug and said "Mummy is sick, Jamie sayang you. Get well soon ok?" It makes me cry when she said that.

Wendyl
Goodness...hope Ben is alright! poor boy..so sad when I read it. Your maid is really careful.
SO glad u send her home, from the incidents that u told me before... really should sent back earlier.

Hi God's child,

Your posting on making mistake should admit and apologise instead had me laughing.

This is because i have a colleague from the accounts dept who always forget things but never admit her mistake even thou it is very clear it's her fault.......

So i imagine if office have to deal with such people and back home still have to deal with a maid like that..... faint.

Hi Tab,

My first reaction will also be like yours......... remember the recent case report on the news that the parents caught the maid abusing the baby by rocking the sarong very hard, nearly knock onto the chair......... Probably my first reaction is to give her two tight slaps man!

Hi Wenyl,

Hope Ben is ok! Poor child..

Cookie
Great to spend couple time together. Hb and me have been able to sneak for supper since we shifted to stay with my mom. HK HFMD situation is not that bad now, just that I'm paranoid that it might spread from China.

Rena
Could it be that your maid is worried about her family back in Burma that's why she's packing up?

Queen
Haha, Mel doesn't understand mother's day at all, she didn't even bother to put the medal round my neck. Is Isaac attending full 3 hour lesson now?

Flo
oh it's great rite! sometimes my hb and I sneak out to have a movie too.
it took me a while to finally decide not to bring kae, Ya the situation in CHina is really worrying...hee I will be paranoid too.
So where will u guys be heading?

Queen,

Re. Pacifier
Yesterday nite, damien was sucking his chuchu...suddenly saw his dad back home and get too excited..just throw his chu chu beside the dustbin..
so when come to bedtime, he being trying to find his chuchu..and found it near to the dustbin..so immediate i threw the chuchu into the dustbin infront of him..
told him....chuchu is in the dustbin and your soiled diaper also inside...if you really want it..and and pick it up....he rufused to do so.
So also try to pacifiy him that mummy will buy a new one for him tomorrow...and for the very first time he went to bed without his chuchu...
Told my mum not to give him today during his nap time. Hope that i can sucessfully kick his chuchu off...