(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY, Mashy, sleepingdeer
Thanks for the input on diapers changing at Nursery.. So, I dont need to worry till later date.

I tried to let my son pee in potty... he will stand above the potty and hold his penis.. but when i asked him to shh shh and whistle, he keep laughing and nothing comes out.. faintz.. dont think he is ready lor.. Think i will relax about it.. when its time, they will just be ready.

CL
So funny right? He can action action hold his penis and aim at the potty.. I so kan chiong to see him pee into the potty.. but he just giggle giggle... Chey.... anti-climate!!!

Tiffany

Ya lor he still say " xu xu ah"

Tabb,Sleeping deer
I went down to Maris Stella to enrol Charmaine to start 5 May. Like the school and very comfortable with the sister who is the principal.

Saw how they standby at the pouch this morning to bring the kids down from car ferried by parents and very assuring. Saw the school bus and can see they handled well too.

Also witness how they handle kids who are sick or suspected with HFMD. Now no assembly or outdoor playground for them because of HFMD. They close for 2 days to sterilize the school this week as there were cases of HFMD

Toilet clean but ha ha facilities a bit old lor. Hope my gal will like the place.

Re: Milk poll
bblon/Damien = 2 x 180 ml pedisure mixed with rice cerel (730am/830pm) sometime even skipped the 830pm feed..if the take too much for dinner
sleepingdeer/S = average about 150ml X 3, 730am, 3pm, 930pm
tracy/megan = abt 750ml, 630am, 10am, 230pm, 6pm, 10pm

Somehow Megan must take alittle milk before dinner. We tried not giving her milk at 6pm but she refused to eat rice. Once she drink about 100ml of milk, she will then start to eat. Strange...

And we realise that if she hasn't poo for the day, she will not eat any solid food for dinner. Will only drink milk.

tifanny
yes the teacher/assistant wil help to change. a few times JH pooed in sch. he told me his chinese teacher changed him.

tracy
if not too troublesome, can mail? i pay u for the postage. hee, or u want nepia xl pants to try?
anyway i PM u my add. if u drop by the area let me know

CL
i not sure whether i will be in office on mon. but fish head curry sounds good! let me know if confirm. if i going office i will join

Sleepingdeer
yeah too bad after XL no more sizing.

re potty training
JH is good at poo but only starting to tell me when he wants to pee. i tried to let him wear training pants but he refused. i think he doesn't wan diapers also.kept insiting they are heavy

re milk poll

bblon/Damien = 2 x 180 ml pedisure mixed with rice cerel (730am/830pm) sometime even skipped the 830pm feed..if the take too much for dinner
SY/JH =110ml a day at 9pm

babylon
no need to worry abt damien. JH takes the least milk here i think...save money for me

need to check something. JH has this really bad habit of wanting to poo when he eats. he will ask to go poo at every meal. it's getting too often. i did ask PD and he said it's a phase. shd i be worried?

SY
Ha ha SL's main objective is to meet you leh. Ha ha need to pass you tickets for the musuem right ?

why worry about XL diaper? Who knows the next moment they already toilet train and aiyo their growth is slow down a bit now mah.

SY
Ha ha Charmaine is also like that. Only evening because I din she too shy to poo in school.

re milk poll

Chicken Little/Aden Weekday 720 ml , 7am, 2pm, 9pm
weekend 960 ml , 7 am, 11 am, 3 pm and 9 pm

took a day off yesterday and brought the kids to the zoo. since its a weekday, managed to sit the tram for free. it was so quiet and we managed to cover almost all areas without squeezing. gg during weekend is really madness! over all it was a good break to be away from work. wouldn;t mind to earn lesser to work 4 days a weeks seriously

may - ya tixs to such kid's concerts are always ex! i think i will skip this one...still have not recover from the hi5 one. hahaa..

cookie- ur mil seems to very harsh on the maid. has your hb tried talking to her and find out what's the main problem? maybe your maid accidentally stepped on her toes? haiz..not easy to live in harmony hor...with MIL already cham..plus one outsider...worst. lucky for me...my mum is OK with the maid. my MIL is picky on her though as she always compare her to my SIL's indo maid who is proficient in English, can do housework fast and can cook. but normally when MIL complains...i will side my maid if i think she is unreasonable. like she does say that my sil's maid do things fast. but i do say that although she is slow but she is thorough and clean. i will be frank to tell her off...hee...

i'm really depressed now. tyler and myself both kenah HFMD. Tyler is super cranky. can see 2 ulcers in his mouth. refusing to drink milk too.he keeps wanting me to comfort and carry him but i can't coz i also have hfmd. makes me feel so helpless. Fortunately edgar is feeling much better and back to normal self. now i'm afraid, i may pass the virus back to edgar. just hope all this will be over soon!!

re milk poll

Cheng/Aidan 600ml, 8am, 3pm, 10pm

Cookie
My MIL has same problem...For me, I just told my maid it's old folks way of talking and to just be more tolerant. If there's any issues, don't talk back and just share with us, we will try to resolve for her from our end.

Aileen
Take care, I believe Edgar should have some immunity to same virus, at least, that's what I read. Hope all of you get well soon!

sleepingdeer
Oh no worries. I've been quite caught up with work. No worries, the DUCKtours company are quite good, had sent me the vouchers for the families who could not make it.

Aileen
Oh no...take good care of yourself! I think it's still ok to handle tyler directly? since both of you have HFMD? I would think Edgar has some form of immunity against the HFMD as he is recovering. Cheer up, you all will get better. I guess it can't be helped that Tyler got it as the brothers are very close and HFMD has got a couple days incubation period so he might have gotten it before Edgar started showing the symptoms?

re milk poll

Cheng/Aidan 600ml, 8am, 3pm, 10pm
MamaChan/D 540ml, 7.30am, 4pm, 9.30pm

D eats alot more for his 3 meals. Thus not as much milk as in the past.

cookie
Wow, your MIL really sounds unreasonable. I guess older folks are not so gracious towards domestic help.

May
Wow, Jaime really drink lots of milk through the night!!! Does she eat alot during the day?

Easy Reading Chinese books for Toddlers
Just to share that I came across the Popular Brand of Chinese books for our toddlers. The style reminded me of the Sunshine books. It's really easy reading and comes with han yu pin yin too. and It's cheap @ $2.90 per book. I got a few that might appeal to D i.e (direct translation from Mandarin to English) Bubbles everywhere, The Shapes Robot, Let's Count.

I've not bought any chinese books for D before, so thought these books are handy for me to get me and him started to be exposed more to the Mother Tongue. Hahaha, I hope he'll appreciate them. The books are good for ang-moh pai moms like me.

aileen
oh dear, must really build up edgar's immunity. possible to send him to your in laws place or something like that?

that time when JH had HFMD, i moved with him to my mum's place for 2 days. dun be too upset. u better take care. it is more dangerous for adults actually. kids recover pretty fast.

SY

thought for HFMD, it's pretty mild for adults but more serious for kids? That's why all the hoo-ha in schools?

Aileen
gosh, take care. Yah, just read a few days ago on HFMD that Edgar will have some form of immunity even though it will not last. But for the time being, it will come in handy. SInce both Tyler and u have HFMD, shouldn't be a prob carrying him bah.

Aileen

Oh no! Get well soon. How are you feeling? Is it just diarrhoea or are you having fever and ulcers too? So poor thing.. luckily you are breast feeding then at least tyler can get the antibodies from you. That's very important. Hopefully he doesn't get it so bad. Glad that edgar is getting better. Maybe can get the maid to take him out to the park or open air so not couped up inside so much and for one he'll be happy and you'll be able to get some rest.

Aileen
Hope you and Tyler speed recovery and Edgar or other family members will not get it too.

Fishhead Curry Lunch 21 Apr ??
1.SL
2.Chicken Little
3.SY ?

Anyone else joining ?

sigh, my boy's classmate has gotten HFMD. The classmate was stopped at the school gate and so didn't get into the class. Since there's an incubation period, wonder if it's contagious during the incubation period. Anyone knows?

SY
Think HFMD is more dangerous for younger children than adults? Read somewhere that it could possibly lead up to meningitis/encephalitis (can't remember which exactly).

aileen,

sorry hear that both your and t kana...damien is also having fever now..and ulcer in his mouth. so afraid if he kana HFMD..
brough him to GD yesterday..thank god..it is not ..but fever is on and off...super cranky.

mashy, mamachan
no leh i read that it is actually more dangerous for adults but easier to spread amg kids cos they may share toys etc.

mashy
there's an incubation period so dun worry too much. maybe C din have much contact with that classmate as well?

JH super cranky nowadays. dunno what to do abt him. when i m at home he's like crying most of the time....dunno why.

Aileen,
Take care! Soon will be over.....

Ben kanna the flu bug from E, after 1 week. Sigh. Was having fever yday. 1st time got to give him yucky medicine. 1st time see him cry so badly. Today both boys coughing away. Sob sob. I hate this flu bug!!!!!

SY,
E is also super cranky at home these days. SOmetimes I wish to send him to my inlaws then can have some peace at home. Hahaha! He keeps whining & crying & shouting and keep waking didi up from his naps.

SY

It's more dangerous for pregnant women lah. Coz it could affect the baby - organ failure and even miscarriage. But for adults, some don't even have any symptoms.

The thing is his class is very small, so definitely with have contact no matter what. It's a very intimate group.

babylon
think someone here said before about being diagnosed by GP, said no HFMD. But later turned out to be leh. So have be careful still.

sigh, just read that incubation period is also contagious. So means if my boy caught it, he has the virus already.
Think will need to keep him home next week.

thanks for your concern. all 3 of us started with the same symtoms only different day- fever followed by spot appearing on hands and feet then followed by ulcers. 1st it's ed, then me, then tyler. now edgar is recovering well.behaving and eating normally. tyler is still whiny, think the ulcer is hurting him and making him drink less. i got the worst hit. had fever up to 40 deg, many ulcers and many spots. the boys' are milder. pd mention that even thou both ty and i got it, i should avoid contact with him else he may get worst. just hope for ty to recover asap!

babylon, if damien has ulcer and fever yet it's not HFMD then what is it? i think still better be more vigilant. check his hands and feet and mouth more often.

hello mummies!

long time never post.

SICK LEROY

Today is his 9th visit to the PD since 23th march..yes..less than 1 mth!!! i'm so tired out. It all started with an ezcema attack on his face and i brought him to his 1st pd @ tmc. She told me he's alright and asked me to give him the 2nd prevenar jab as its 3 mths overdue..i told her he dun seem very well..she says his lungs are clear and he looks good so she administered the jab. Since then, he's been having bad running nose, blocked nose, occasional fever and now bad cough.

He's been seeing one other PD and didnt improve and my mil told me to change another doctor..and since changed and he's still bad
already spent more than 1.5k so far seeing doctor.

I think he's so sick of all the medicine h=and his cough is so bad he's vomitting out all the medicine. so finally today, the pd put him on neubeliser and cut down on med..i pray he recovers soon.

oh no Aileen,

do take good care.

RE: HFM

This HFM thing is very scarly.. i am worried already.

lately elijah is very whiny.. duno why but in the morning .. almost every morning he will have running nose.. then in the afternoon he is fine again. teacher mention that he is a sunshine boy .. once the sun is out and shine his running nose stop.

not too sure if he has sinus jsut like me and hubby. but at times his mucus is a little yellow for the first blow.. after that it is transparent.

mashy
if his immunity is ok, dun think he will catch it. think it also depends on immunity. when JH had it, i din catch it though i was even sharing food with him before he was diagnosed (he already had fever then).

dun worry too much. hope he will be ok.

wenyl
yeah the crankiness gets to me..yesterday he refused to take nap till 4.30pm...arrghh...was so tired by then

plus he doesn't wan maid now. he will tell her to not follow us....can u imagine that..

rena
JH had the same problem. think elijah having allergies and it makes him more prone to infections. when JH had this running nose problem due to sensitive nose, his nose will be running sometimes but it will stop. and sometimes the mucus turns yellow due to infection. if it turns yellow, probably need to clear it up with antibiotics. suggest u see a PD abt it.

esther
poor leroy. sounds really bad but once they cough, it's so easy for them to vomit out their milk etc.

sounds like he has a bad case of allergies. JH's one only cleared up after he started on singulair for 28 days. long right....

u wan to try this PD at Glen E that my fren recommended if he doesn't get better?

sy,

i realise that his yellow mucus come only when he was give cookies or chocolate the night before.. duno if it is heaty.

I will bring him to the doc tomorrow...

good news! C's classmate went to see dr and said it's not HFMD.

But not sure how accurate that is though since there's been cases if misdiagisnos

Queen, glad you like PT too. I actually didn't see any other centres, just followed my friend's recommendation, am happy with the teacher and student ratio, then signed up straight away liao. Now the class is becoming more international than local. More than half the students are from overseas. Although they have enrichment classes like MPM or Jelic for older kids, I think PT is trying to convert to nursery/kindergarten status. I hope I can start using the CDA account for school fees. So when are you starting Isaac?

Mashy, re: being SAHM with 2 kids without maid, for me, it's near to impossible to do without her. Moreover, Kirsten goes to playgroup everyday for 3hrs and transportation to/fro via school bus takes total of 1hr. She's a rather demanding girl and always wakes Seth up with her screams when she doesn't get things her way. Plus the waking up at night, cooking for older one, if older one is very active, it's a rather heavy burden. Even before younger one is born, by the time I reach last trimester, my energy level is low and can't handle even playing with her, only use eye power most of the time.

But can still be done in my case if I choose to:
1. Send Kirsten to full day childcare. So Daddy (provided he can knock off on time everyday) will take care of her when she's home.
2. Bottle-feed Seth instead of latching him cos there're still some light household chores to do everyday. Also, may help him sleep through the night earlier.
3. Hire part-time maid.
4. Order tingkat for dinner and feed Kirsten the same food.

In the end, my concern about Kirsten bringing home germs from childcare and passing it to Seth, plus got to take care of a sick whiny toddler too, puts me off going without a maid. Hope my input helps!

Aileen,

for damien ulcer + fever is very common..that always come together...his lip and face is very reddish.
but we still monitoring him closely due to too many cases of HFMD..
just called home and his fever subsided.

Sleepingdeer, are you still using diapers at home? If so, maybe you try to use training pants or even make S go bottomless at home. She's obsessed with cleanliness right? So maybe can make use of it to toilet train her. You just have to tahan the cleaning up initially. Kirsten now toilet trained for peeing but she refuses to poo poo in potty or toilet bowl although she could do so for a while. Think she's scared of seeing her poo poo. Really dunno what to do... Just cross my mind that maybe I got to make her go bottomless too.

Hope you have recovered already! And your ankle too! Then we can all meet up again sometime soon. Haven't seen you for a while.

Wendy, hope E recovers soon too!

Esther
Leroy sounds really sick.. just like tabby for me.. when she first started school.. do you think it could be a bit of allergy? partially allergy? my didi was on chlormine and bromhexine. The bromhexine makes the cough worse and the chlormine dries it up.. How come your PD put him on so much meds..even when my didi was sick my pd only gave me chlormine and bromhexine. But added the puff/ neboliser.. only once when the regular pd wasn't around, another PD gave syr ventolin which i didn't give cos i use the puff instead. Hope leroy gets well!

Aileen
poor thing! rest well..

CL
hope Charmaine likes maris stella. The school uniform for girls is very nice.. i like.. i think its very sweet.

Aileen, must be terrible suffering from HFMD. I think adults get it worse. My neighbour's girl passed it to her daddy and he took even longer time to recover. Adults' nails will be blistered and broken too. Hope you and Tyler can recover really soon. At least Edgar is ok now. Will pray for you and all the sick children on our thread.

Oh cookie, I just realized you are pregnant again! Congrats! Wow, very efficient! ;) Your MIL seems to be always finding fault with your maid even though it's something trivial.

Valerie,
Its good to have a helpful maid who is careful & trustworthy. I dun tink I can cope without a maid for now cos I have a dog at home too. Maid now takes care of hse chores n dog, while I take care of 2 sick bbs.
Its good tat K is going to 3 hr PG daily. Then u can hv some time with Seth. I am now choosing betw a halfday cc or a 2.5hr pg for E. Hope to start him on daily sch in May. Its so tough to find a 3hrly PG in my vicinity. Even if I send him to the 2.5hrs PG, i still need to settle his transport cos they dun offer sch bus svc. Then, if send him to a halfday cc, I worry abt him bringing home the viruses. Sigh.
My 2nd one is also always awaken by his demanding gor gor who will talk or scream v loudly at home. Yday was worse when Ben was down with fever. Luckily hb took halfday cc leave to help out.

Esther,
Sayang sayang Leroy! V poor thing to be feed those yucky medicine. My Ben cried like sh*@ yday when I had to give him paracetemol for his fever. V xing ku on u, esp ur hb is always not around! Maybe can boost him up with Vits? Did u try the TCM u mentioned to me last time?

RE: KinderArt for todds (2-3 yrs old)

There is a Baby Art trial going on tomorrow at KinderArt Dempsey Rd (St James Kindy premise). Time: 10-10.45am. I tink just need to pay $10 for material fee for the trial. Anyone interested, can call the lady Vanessa at 63274200.

Too bad, E can't make it tmr cos I wanna quarantine him for the weekend till he is fully recovered.

Thank you all mummies for your concern

Tabbs,

the last the pd gave him benadryl, mucuslovan, xepagan, ventolin and then klacid..and all didnt work..before tat he was taking rhinathoil and actified...haiz actually they changed his med few times coz he just didnt get better.

yes i think its also very bad allergy plus i think the pd gave prevenar jab and all just got worse i guess
so today the pd gave the nebueliser and 2mrw i will bring him back for one more time and monday..

wats the puff for??

Wenyl,

ya the TCM i brought renee for her constipation but never let leroy try coz he's so very sensitive ..so figured out maybe not too for now

oh ya..renee goes to 3 full days in josiah montessori and she has also been coming back with running nose often...and most of them say for the 1st 3 mths or so in school most of them will come down with flu often

Wenyl

Have u thought abt sending E to plmc for pre-n? SInce by May, he'll can be accepted into the school. It's 3hr like nursery.

Val
Thanks for your inputs! Really appreciate that.

Re: Getting sick in school

Think my boy has become stronger since he left IFC. He probably developed most of the immunity in his 8mths there. Constantly sick then. So other than the latest bronchitis case which resulted in the hospital stay, he's been pretty well. So glad to say that he's been sick only once since he started school this year.

Think it's a matter of now or later. They will have to go through the bout of illnesses to dev immunity against the diseases.

Now my worry is HFMD...

esther,wenyl

Can babies take TCM? if so i may let didi try too cos now he's having a bit of phlegm. I really think chuan bei works.. i tried for tabby, n she got better. I also decided to try for myself cos 2 weeks ago was really sick and losing my voice.. i took the eu yang sang powder one and after 3 days.. i actually got better.. hah! so much for medical school and western meds.. actually i was just trying to avoid the western meds cos worried that will affect my BM so decided to take something more herbal.. but i was surprised at the effect.. only thing is that the powder form is really really horrible to take.. want to vomit... but if you make the chuan bei with pear like how mashy recommended last time, its actually quite yummy..