(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Aileen,

No worries, I am sure West side has lots of good schools too. In fact i think when comes to Primary and sec schools, West side has more choices.

East side has lots of good food instead. Haha.

Wonder how will Megan be like in school. She is pretty hard to manage at home. That day she was throwing tantrum on the street and we walk away. She refuse to move even we walk about 10-15 meters away. We tried to walk further and further, she will not move even a single step.

May/Aileen/SY/sleepingdeer/Wenyl
Have you ladies receieved my PM with regards to payment for DUCKtours? Do PM me if you have not recieved my message. I'll be making payment this coming Sunday to collect the tickets so would need you to transfer the money. Thanks!

long time didn't come to this thread. how's everyone?
me struggling with handling 2 kids. luckily, during daytime, my mil still helps me to take care of elder one, so that i have full time with the 2nd one.
dealing with 2nd one's sleeping habit is really challenging. sometimes, i just leave him there to cry till sleep. 'cos he just wants people to carry and i don't have that energy to do that all the time. sigh...
i wonder how my mil can cope after i go back to work.

jamom
wow.. you are really good. salute to you! how you manage 3 at the same time when 3 of the kids need you?

re: tang shi, san zhi jing
ya, we are teaching my gal about this few months ago. she can recite with guidance. for those chinese nursery rhymes, she can recite some by her own. very cute to see her reciting it though she still can't sing. haha...

mamachan
yes i received your PM already. was planning to do it on my wya home yesterday but din feel well. so will do it today. thanks!!

sl
sorry, only just saw your message. I hv another lunch appt today. What abt Monday or Tuesday? I was also thinking of meeting near CL's office, then we can go buy books after that. haha.. maybe we can try eating the peranakan food which I like? It's near the fish head curry place.

jamom
congrats! you're amazing..I'm already v busy with 2. and you can bake with 3 of them, and still recite poems.. make me so small in comparison to you. kudos...in fact, I'm so tired most days, I only read Gerald 1 book and he goes to bed.

Mamachan
Sorry haven't logon for a few days, are we suppose to pay for the duck tour now?

Re: RP Lunch
Shall we meet tomorrow at 1215 outside Mac at Bras Basah? Can decide what to eat then? Flo, CL, Krissie, let me know earlier if you are coming, then I can bring your ON stuff along too.
1) Aileen
2) SL
3) Flo

Re: RP Lunch
Shall we meet tomorrow at 1215 outside Mac at Bras Basah? Can decide what to eat then? Flo, CL, Krissie, let me know earlier if you are coming, then I can bring your ON stuff along too.
1) Aileen
2) SL
3) Flo

SL if you brought my stuff, I meet you all after I run my errand. Running down to Plaza sin to pick up something

<font color="ff0000">Mamachan,</font>
I had done the transfer. Sorry for the delay.

To: Mamachan-sophia xxx-x1126-x
Amt: $71.30
Ref: 1646147705

Thanks for organising.

yuki,
ya agree that there are quite a couple of good schools in the west. but like most said, there's no perfect school. so i'm really in a dilemna now!

mamachan,
i haven't received ur pm. can you please pm me your account number? thanks!

RE. Tang Shi / San zi jing
I really admire the efforts some of you put in to teach tang shi and san zi jing.
I was quite a 'banana' when it comes to C lit. While I enjoyed the lessons on tang shi and song ci, I really didn't have interest in studying them. On the contrary, I was reading unabridged versions of english classics like Wuthering Heights, War and Peace, Gulliver's Travel etc during sec school for leisure. Higher Chinese was ok for me, I was at a B3 standard. C lit... sigh, I was lucky to escape with a C5 for 'O' levels.
Anyway, back to the subject, when you all teach your todds tang shi, do you show them the chinese characters, or was it just reciting verbally? I have no idea how to introduce Chinese to Isaac, and tang shi / san zi jing sounds more interesting than simply just teaching individual chinese characters.

jamom,
Congrats! wow, 3 kids! I really feel that I'm lagging behind liao. Hahah! Like Denmy, you are a super mom!

Yuki,
Is Megan a reader? There's a book by Dr. Seuss on ABC which is good and fun to read. The words rhymes and it's interesting. Isaac loves the book and he can associate objects to the ABCs. The website www.starfall.com is also good. These will help them learn the ABCs and keep them occupied when we dunno what to do with them other than the usual playing.

HI queen,

when i intro tang shi, I dun show the words. I just recite unless it is words tat i think she can read like papa, mama, da, xiao...then i will pointn ask her. Just intro two lines a day n u will b amazed they can recite back. One reason i like tang shi can show pictures relatin to the poem. Like min nong shi, it is abt hardwork of farmer put into growing rice...basically i tell her not to waste food. The ming nong shi will normally have a pic of a farmer with perspiration so it really helps in comprehension. But my frens from china all say they started recitig at young age without comprehnsion so no need to explain. I guess it all depends on what u aim to achieve. Hope my sharing helps. If u are worried abt pronunciation u can get those with cd n play it in the car. My "banana" hubby can recite a number of them veri well now.

Isaac likes Dr suess? My kids too. They like Hop on POP, Put me in the zoo and red fish, blue fish. My girl is also a starfall fan. I can leave her with the computer for at least 30mins with starfall. You can try DK starting to read software if Isaac likes computer based learning. For chinese, I rec A star intereactive.

Hi mashy brainz n krissie,
I always tot i cannot manage but frens who many kids do tell me we will somehow manage. Just need to sacrifice some "me" time and rest time. I am just into my 3rd week, the tiring thing is breastfeeding. The two hour schedule is real tiring.But i tink once baby is older should be better.

jamom
I already sacrifice my "me" time and rest. On a typical day, I wake at 6am to pump then go work and slp at almost 12am after my night pump. really no life and I'm v tired most of the time.

jamom
yeah i also recite without the book that's why got to memorise...memory so limited....

u really managing well leh. pei fu. plus your maid so stone some more.....

Wow, you gals are unbelievable....... Realise Megan is so far behind! I have not attempted any chinese peoms or rymthes.......... I am just bad at languages...... Still atrying to teach her ABC, colours and shapes.......She is not interested in learning but more of playing around...... Like we tried to ask her to match cards, she is more interested to see our expression when she choose the wrong ones.

Hi jamom,

I really really peifu you! Can manage with 3, bake etc and even teach them so well! Like other mummies, i am usually very tired after work and just spend 0.5 hours coaching ashley and the rest of the night read stories or just play around with them. Come to think of it, i think i have neglected to 'nurture' megan..... keep thinking she's still young...........

On one hand i want to teach them, on the other hand, i don't want to be those mother who come back from work and nagged about homework only...........

Yuki

I also never attempted to teach my boy Tang Shi or San Zi Jing. He's already so far back in terms of talking, so not trying to hothouse him too much. So far, for ABC, I've been using Leapfrog's DVDs which are pretty good. My boy now knows most of his phonics and he'll read them from the newspapers, books or any signs that he comes across. So weird right? He can read the phonics but can't talk. sigh.

Guess all kids are different. My boy prefers to use his hands, so he's been signing to me more, playing jigsaw puzzles and fixing his train tracks. He's the type who needs to practise and practise before he gets it.

Can tell that Megan is very smart. With a little guidance, I'm sure she'll pick up very quickly.

I'm blur by all this talk abt the San Zi Jing etc! Really peifu you mummies!

Just went for check-up, 34wks, 1cm dilated, baby is quite low, getting contractions everyday. So I'm on 1wk hospital leave. :S Gotta tahan this fella for another 2wks. But he's already 2.86kg, quite big. So hopefully he'll grow 'slower' so that chances of successful natural birth is beta!

queen
we would recite tang shi or san zi jing to my gal. you can buy CD and play to isaac, else DVD/VCD for him to watch.

tracy
wow, 34 wks liao. jia you!

Tracy
Wow! Baby is heavy!! It is getting more exciting by the day yah? Jia You!

Yuki/Mashy
I've also not expose my boy much to San Zi Jing or Tang Shi. The only "language" I've tried to expose him to is Cantonese =P coz my hb and myself are cantonese but we hardly speak that at home. My hb like not making a conscious effort to converse with him in cantonese =( so knowing how "banana" her grandson is, my MIL will always try to talk to my boy in her broken English which is really bad... I rather he learns cantonese to commute with my MIL.

I asked my hb about San Zi Jing, he told me he's heard of Da Chang Jing with a wide grin *faintz* Then he starts to recite all the nonsense "san zi jing" version of his... jia lat, surely teach D all the wrong funny things.

Mamachan,
I can fully understand cos I am facing the same problem with my mil. Got my hb to hint to her to speak mandarin or teochew to E but she refused. Saying E wun understand her and she rather speak her broken Engolish. Faintz!

SY,
U mean buy 2 tins at $41? Tat is a good deal from Guardian leh. It is abt the price I saw from Ang Mo supermarket. But theirs shld be from msia. Any idea when the promo ending? Cos I just bot 2 tins from West Plaza few days back.

sunny, mamachan,

SY,
Meg was 3.1kg at 4 days short of full-term. Gynae estimate if this #2 goes to full-term, he'll be about 3.5kg. So I'm hoping to tahan him till 36wks and deliver him before full-term. At 36wks he should be abt 3kg or 3.1kg. This boy is like a sponge! He absorbs my nutrients very well and I'm not gaining much weight myself. Even if I control my diet it will not help cos he'll absorb my weight while I'll lose weight.

my gynae commented that i 'produce very good size babies despite my petite size'...I was telling her it's not fair!

wenyl
the one from the medical hall at west plaza seems to be from malaysia also. i checked before and it is different from the official one that singapore imports. i din take note when the promo ends but prob end in a week? not too sure...

tracy
wow your bb are all so big....yah u so small size but all your bb so big. think mine all follow my size...

Hi Mashy,

Thanks for your kind words.

Still, i think i should spend more time with Megan teaching her something rather than play most of the time.

I think Megan is the street smart type rather than the studious type. haha.

Hi Mamachan

Haha, your hubby is so funny.
I think my hubby won;t fare any better! Both of us are pretty weak in languages.

Wenyl

i find that telling them rather than hinting works better. Just let them know that you want your kids to learn mandarin/teochew which they can't learn from you. Make them feel important and they'll start to speak to them in mandarin/teochew lor.

My dad and stepmom also tried to speak to my boy in broken english. Told them directly that I would want them to help me teach him Mandarin and I will switch to Mandarin whenever I talk to my boy in front of them. So now they have been talking to him in mandarin and hokkien. hahaha.

Yuki
Actually they can also learn thru play. And it depends on what u intend to teach. Motor skills are also part of learning. Like if u let her play play-doh, jig saw puzzles, it's also a learning process for fine motor skills, creativity, thinking skills etc. It's not all about ABCs.

If you wanna introduce ABCs, then u can just start anytime too.

Nowadays, it's not just being studious that's important. High EQ is also important. Anyway, there's a research that said that the 1st born will have higher IQ but the younger ones will have higher EQ.

mashy
u know the funny thing abt telling IL such things? when JH was young, they always complain that we dun speak mandarin to him and he can't understand mandarin. But actually i do speak to him in mandarin and he can understand mandarin. so they keep saying need to speak in mandarin to him. but now, they dun speak mandarin to him and keep speaking english to him (when they dunno how to speak english). i reminded them so many times that it is ok for them to speak chinese to him and they are the ones who scared he can't speak chinese but still...they talk to him in english 90% of the time.

yuki
yeah i agree with mashy that they can learn thru play. it is actually impt to let them have time to 'decide' what to play. u can always insert things like ABC, colors shapes etc thru play.

flo - hi! hi! oh my... so sorry for my blunder yesterday. i didnt know you were coming to see my house. all our designer said was that he will be bringing a client to come over to see our deco. it didnt cross my mind its gonna be you. lucky i wasn;t in my sleeping attire. haha..you shld have called me...if you dun mentioned rena commenting on my kitchen..i will still be blur blur. haha...anyway it was a pleasant visit. i hope you will find mo good and reliable. let me know yoru comments ya after the reno.

sy - thks sharing on the sale for mamil...will check it out tonight.

tracy - wow..bb is of good wgt. hope you have a smooth delivery. must be feeling all excited now right?

Flo you realli visited SSF's house ah. Ha ha yday Flo was still asking if it will be SSF house

Tracy
Nice weight leh. So lucky you dun have to worry about the weight gain. Me have to shed shed lots of fat

SSF
Heehee thanks for the hospitality. Sorry for "intruding" and being so late, was stuck in horrific traffic jam yesterday. Actually wanted to sms you to ask if we are visiting your house but end up too busy in office and forgot about it. Your 2 boys are so guai
Quite happy with Mo and Patrick so far, keeping my fingers crossed.

Mamachan
Did you get my email?

<font color="ff0000">spree updates</font>

Amazon vitamin &amp; calcium gummy bears
- ordered 3 April, pending shipping by Amazon

Nutrition Geeks Children's DHA 8oz
- ordered 3 April
- shipped 4 April
- expected to arrive CGW in 4 business days

Luckyvitamin #1
- ordered 4 April, pending shipping

Luckyvitamin #2
- cancelled

GOOD Morning!!

super long did not post here! at least 1 month i think =S

Cookie
CoNGRATS! I gave a big WOW when I read about you having your #3 haha really happy for you and salute to your courage,although is your hb not careful =P heehee. my hb is extra too careful leh...

Tracy
at this moment you take plenty and plenty of rest. boy boy is of good weight and like what you said, should be gaining some more. dylan was 3.55kg at birth and i was like a big penguin back then. so i know you must be very xing ku with a big and low tummy now. Jia you!!

Tabbie/Sysac/Queen
when you girls plan to collect the party pack from our annual gathering?

Baby Spinach BP
Per portion: +-500gm
Collection date: beginning of April 08
Collection points:
a. Hitachi Towers
b. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy - 2 portions - Marine Terrace
2. Slinky - 2 portions - TBC
3. Rena - 1 portion - Hitachi Tower

Anymore takers for the spinach? I'll close it today cuz I need the spinach

<font color="ff0000">Payment Summary</font>
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Payment Summary</TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>paid</TD><TD></TD><TD>owe</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD> $1,026.12 </TD><TD> $884.65 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $163.24 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD> $228.18 </TD><TD> $228.18 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>maywong</TD><TD> $70.52 </TD><TD> $70.52 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mavis</TD><TD> $88.79 </TD><TD> $88.79 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD> $73.54 </TD><TD> $85.27 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $76.91 </TD><TD> $75.56 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD> $72.71 </TD><TD> $72.71 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mamachan</TD><TD> $86.11 </TD><TD> $97.51 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD> $163.29 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD></TD><TD> $163.29 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD> $76.96 </TD><TD> $77.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.04)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sl</TD><TD> $29.45 </TD><TD> $29.45 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD> $59.66 </TD><TD> $59.66 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

denmy,
We'll settle the payment when I collect the spinach. You can always pay me in cash.

rena - hahaa...really itch har? btw, i showed flo the curtain lobang you intro.

CL- my hb was like saying..how come ur frd u also dun know. haha..

flo - no not at all intruding...we are quite close to Pam so we are ok if she wants to bring ppl in to look see look see. patrick bro is into carpentary so its easier for patrick to work with him. i hope mo gave u a good discount as their service is not cheap ya. hee...btw, u been to their holland v office? very nice and unique ya?
my 2 sons guai? oh no...Caleb is like that when strangers come in. once he gets warmed up...you will see him running ard like monkey.

Hi yuki,
I tink I missed your postings...too many to read. My girl was ok in school during day 1 and then she started protesting as she realize that school is not onli abt circle time. Apparently on day 2, she told teacher not to touch her and she just want to sit and wait for me. She sat there for almost 2 weeks and refuse to participate in anything. Principal told me tat it is her way ofhandling seperation anxiety and once she isbored with sitting she will join in the activity. And true enough after 2 weeks, she was ok. She is not doing quite alot of things in school now. You can ask the Principal abt her and she will tell you tat my girl was a tough nut to crack and she has to use reverse psychology to make her do work. Hansa is veri experience so I am sure megan will have no problem. The insect booklet tat my girl has is different from the older kids. I am not sure which level she is joining right now as she is the youngest in the school as all kids starts at 2.5yrs so I tink she is in the baby class but according to my boy she joins them for chinese.So I am not sure too. The insect booklet that she brought back is on colours and insect where she paste all the diff coloured paper on the insect.

Hi CL,
changing my maid soon as current one is not willing to look after children.

Hi Ky,
I undertsand wat you mean. On one hand we are worried abt academic but on the other hand worried tat kids dun enjoy school.

But why do you want to change his school?I know of a few frens who sends their kid to school house by the bay, pulled the kids out when they reach k1. all of them complain that it is too play based. Is that the reason why you want to withdraw him? I tink you post abt learn thru play on theother thread. Just my two cents worth. It is a veri attractive pedagogy but seriously tough to execute. Things like learning corner needs alot of preparation on the teacher's part and if it is not executed properly will not be effective. The onli school that I have seen that does it properly with the teacher engaging the children and preparing the "learning corners" is chiltern house. Of course, I am not saying that learning should be structured all the time but imagine we send the kids to school to have some structured education and as for free play can easily do that at home.
Seriously, kids are highly adaptable n they have to get used to making new frens sooner of later. Haha... I m a evil mother that always believe in developing the kid's Adversity quotient from young. But then again you know your child best n you will know whether is he ok wit handling these changes. He is inK1 oredi so wanna change better do it fast coz new school means new teaching pedagogy so he might need time to adjust.

SSf,

actually i forgot that i give you the curtain contact.. how's the curtains? i am thinking of making addtional set...

re eq n iq
Iup true, first kid higher iq and second eq. Tab is bright and impresses ppl but she can be quite anti social, didi is the charmer, everyone who sees him will say he's so cute and cheerful.

Wow hearing all the talk on chinese lit 4 kids i'm so impressed. I've stagnanted in teacching. I'm so impressed by u jamom. I'm so terribly tired i barely have time with the kids n this is After sacrificing me time. I dun even have time to enjoy a nice bath. I haven't done anything 4 myself in i long long while. Maybe i'm not very good at time management. Better get inspired by u!

Mamachan
I withdraw from the duck tours? I will go another time. Thanks though 4 arrangiing.

Hi Mashy brainz and SY,

The thing is i realise i have unconciously let megan play with the things that Ashley play. She has a leap frog pad like ashley but dun really know how to use it. Megan like to do things that Ashley do, be it writing and colouring. But she scribble most of the time.....Even watching VCDs......... she is exposed more to Dora and Island Princess than barney or the leapfrog Phonics.......

Maybe i should start buying specific toys, puzzles for her age..........

Hi jamon,

Glad that your girl has adapt to school. I truly believe Hansa will have a way to deal with children.
I think Megan should be ok with the teachers. Just worried she will bully the other kids. She would not hesitate to pinch or beat others if they were to fight with her over other things. That's what i notice in the church sunday school. haha. Am sure Ashley will 'report' to me if Megan misbehave. haha.

You know, i was initially worried that montessori will be those learn thru play type.... But after seeing ashley, i change my mind. So far i am quite satisfied with her progress given that i do not have much time to teach her etc.