(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi all- thanks for all your well wishes. Im struggling to adjust to new-mummyhood 2nd time round. Forgot all about the night feedings n diaper changes until now. Great reality check...=P

Wanted to upload pictures of sonia for u gals to see but the picture was too huge to upload. So, I've 'borrowed' Sarah's blog to showcase our latest addition. Only uploaded 1 picture so far ... 2nd kid syndrome *hiaz* =) She's 2 weeks old now n weighs 4.1kg... The picture was taken when she was 1 week old. Have to stress 1 week old cos everyone that sees her keep thinking she's 1 month old...

www.sarahmaeloke.blogspot.com

Sharon Sum, yup, im the mummy u met at the zoo eons back. Hope ur ankle's better. Take care.

Sandra - Sonia sure resembles Sarah. She's a big girl! Do take care & rest well.

Mashy - Don't know hw to uppdated the table. Pls help to key in my info. Thanks.

Cephas - YT (First Teeth). 3x min (Am, aft lunch & pm). No dream feeds. No tooth decay.

Sysac,
Help u to include into the list.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no)</TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan Ong</TD><TD>Y, once in a.m.</TD><TD>brush teeth abt 930am, milk at10am</TD><TD>morning 630am on wkdays</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth)</TD><TD>3x min (Am, aft lunch &amp; pm)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>Y, once at 12midnight</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

RE: Brushing Teeth
We tried to brush Jamie's teeth but she scream and cry whenever we do that. How should I go about brushing her teeth?

I wonder if tooth decay is passed down thru genes. I never had decay tooth nor fillings to my teeth. Although Jamie did not brush her teeth, there is no visible signs of tooth decay yet *touchwood* I am trying my best to try brushing her teeth but she hates it and scream whenever she sees a toothbrush.

May

That's why I also wonder what could be the cause of tooth decay for some of our kids here. Also wonder if it's the genes. I also don't remember brushing my teeth when i was young. Think last time, our family don't have the habit of brushing teeth for young kids. I got my tooth decay only when i had my adult teeth.

As for encouraging our kids to brush teeth, I borrowed a chinese book from NLB called 'shua ya' on brushing teeth. It's very simple and had little animals brushing teeth. I'll take out his toothbrush and let him imitate the animals in the book. It's quite cute and my boy loved it. So now whenever i say 'shua ya', he'll go to the toilet and will brush his own teeth.

Anyone whose kids have tooth decay can help fill the table too? thx

May,
My MIL uses a hanky to clean meg's teeth during bathtime. She struggles but hanky does the job faster than toothbrush. Can try that.

Mashy,
I'm wondering also if the amount of milk/calcium the mummy takes during pregnancy affects the kid's teeth too. My SIL can't stand milk or any milk products and i notice both her boys' teeth are yellowish, tho no decay so far. My colic's fren's kid at 3-4YO had to do a root canal and she didn't take milk during her pregnancy too. Any link here i wonder.

Tracy

Hmm, that's a point for consideration too. Maybe we can ask the mommies whose kids got teeth decay if they took milk during their preg. I know i don't really take milk. Got a few tins of anmum then, but only drank 1-2 cups.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no)</TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan Ong</TD><TD>Y, once in a.m.</TD><TD>brush teeth abt 930am, milk at10am</TD><TD>morning 630am on wkdays</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth)</TD><TD>3x min (Am, aft lunch &amp; pm)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>Y, once at 12midnight</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth), once either am or pm</TD><TD>Milk before (am), Milk after (night)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N (teeth yellowish) </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
I'm not a milk person, didn't take milk during pregnancy.

Wenyl
Re: Donating EBM for Friend's ongoing PHD studies
As far as I know, ideally if it's possible, fresh EBM would be good or refridgerated ones instead of frozen ones. Coz once it freezes and then thaws, it's not possible for her to extract the cells of interest for her studies. =) She's looking and studying on potential BM stem cells. Hope this helps.

Mashy,
Ya I agree, last time when I am young, I dun brush my teeth. Think it was when I enter P1 then I start brushing. I will go look for the book on brushing teeth then. I heard another way is to place a mirror in front to let them see themselves when brushing.

Same here, bought a tin of anmum but drink abit only although I am a milk person. But I took alot of vitamins cos I am less veggie + fruit person. So hb bought spirulina, calcium, iron, vit C, multivitamin and cod-liver oil. I took about 12-15 pills per day when I am preggie. Not sure that adds to Jamie's growth or not.

Tracy,
Jamie refused to open her mouth to show us the teeth when we attempt to brush with cloth leh. Meg so good girl still allow cloth brushing.

Thanks May. How come Jamie has such a phobia? We used cloth to clean Cephas' teeth when he was a baby. We slowly intro the finger brush b4 graduating to the baby toothbrush. He absolutely loves playing with the toothebrush during bath times.

Mashy/Tracy - I am a milk person. 2 glasses a day. During pregnancy, was taking Ensure 3x a day.

re teeth

JH brushes twice a day. once in the morning and once at night. but sometimes he does drink milk after brushing teeth at night but i will give him water after that.

hmm, i dun take much milk during pregnancy. in my family, my sis and my teeth ok but my bro had tooth decay from eating too much sweets! i guess maybe if kids take less sweet stuff, less tooth decay chance?

i brought JH to see another PD to get a second opnion. confirm it is allergies that's causing all his problems. hopefulyl with the change in medication he will recover soon.

aileen, SL,
i will bring your medela stuff with me on Tue when we go for lunch ok?

hello all,
wow, have a hard time catching up with all the post. Has been very busy at work due to some new project biddings. Still going for presentation this afternoon..*stress stress*

May, did u try to squeeze some toothpaste? The 1st teeth toothpaste has a nice flavour. Since caleb was a baby, i will brush my teeth in front of him. So when we introduce brushing of teeth to him, he's okie. Recently he started to reject abit. So what i did was, to brush together with him. I made him hold my toothbrush and brush my teeth,and vice versa.
Maybe u can try?

SY

Does JH take sweets?

Hmm, also wonder if it's due to the type of milk that they are drinking???? Gosh, so many factors. Maybe will need a full survey form.

ask u a question. JH has been prescribed Singulair for his allergies but i read a lot of side effects abt it. any of your kids tried it before?

sysac,
I think she has got this phobis bcos my mum is quite rough when she brush jamie's teeth with cloth. That's why it is difficult. Jamie is scared of my mum's style of washing hair, tying hair and brushing teeth. She will scream for me if I am around. Else she will be crying thru the whole process.

Sept,
I tried with toothpaste before, First Teeth and Kodomo but she give the YIKES look and start spitting.

queen
Yes yes, my friend is YP. She's still doing her BM research. Recently she went to Perth to do a presentation on her ongoing works. She recently passed her PQE last year, so she would need more results to support the PHD. Think the last time when we were still BF our then-infants, she was on the Masters course.

CL,

Can include me for the Jap lunch too! I liked the food....

SY,
Thanks. How much do I owe you for the medela stuff?

Re: singulair
charmaine's on singulair now. We mix it with yogurt. I think she's actually better - in a way. I don't visit the PD so often now... : ) But I am not sure if it's because of the singulair or because she has gained weight and is fighting the germs better....

May

Haha, I also just tried First teeth and my boy hates it.

SY
I read that there's a condition called fluorosis. It's brown discolouring of the teeth due to too much fluoride. does JH use toothpaste? If he does, limit the amt, and get him to spit out, don't swallow.

Also read the sipping juice can cause tooth decay. So it's important to let them drink it quickly (don't let them take their time to slowly sip) and after that drink plain water to rinse it out.

sl, mashy
hmm, i just started JH on it on fri. he takes the chewable and he likes it too. i read some side effects on it and it sounds scary. do u notice any change in behavior since they started?

SL,
i let u know how much are the stuff. been too lazy to check the exchange rate.

mashy
i use first teeth toothpaste. actually since hb brushed his teeth, his teeth has been getting whiter. think my maid din brush properly last time.

JH doesn't drink juice.

SY,
ok sure. pass me the medela stuff tmr. see ya!

mamachan,
i can pass some bm to your friend. let me know when, which kind (fresh or refrigerated) and how much she needs.

SL,
the stuff is SGD 33.97

Aileen,
your stuff is 30.31

exchange rate very good. 1.43! tempting me to buy more stuff from US....

SL, added you liao. SO just nice 10 pax. So any stuff to collect for ON ?

Lunch at SUN , Chijmes , 18 Mar , 12.30 pm for 10 pax under Chicken Little's real name. I assume those who went knows how to go and anyone else who needs help please buzz me, I will meet you at 12.20 pm at the entrance of Chijmes diagonal of Raffles Hotel

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus
7. MamaChan
8. Flo
9. Rena
10. SL

Aileen
Is it ok with you that I get my friend to get in touch with you? She'll likely travel to where you are to collect. She told me that she'll try to arrange the collection to fall on days of her experiments. =)

Re: Singulair
Hmm... mine's the powder form... I haven't notice any change in behaviour though... hahaha ...most likely becos mine's a monster to be begin with so cannot go any further than that.

Re: brushing teeth
charmaine likes to brush teeth - she will go brush teeth in the morning and at night but i still nurse her to sleep so the brushing effort's gone...

SY,
I also eyeing stuff from amazon .... : )

CL,

Singpost is so irritating. The first box is already in Singapore. I have called them to redeliver the item cos my mum's doorbell is spolit so definintely no one will answer the door cos no one knows that there is an item to be collected. I have arranged for the redelivery 3 times and told them the same thing so many times... gosh! If it fails for the fourth time, I am gong to collect it myself.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no)</TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan Ong</TD><TD>Y, once in a.m.</TD><TD>brush teeth abt 930am, milk at10am</TD><TD>morning 630am on wkdays</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth)</TD><TD>3x min (Am, aft lunch &amp; pm)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>Y, once at 12midnight</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth), once either am or pm</TD><TD>Milk before (am), Milk after (night)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N (teeth yellowish) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ariene</TD><TD>YT(First Teeth), 8AM (wake up), 1PM(before nap), 8PM(before sleep)</TD><TD>Milk after brush for nap and night (rinse mouth with water after milk)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I'm lactose intolerent so I do not drink milk at all. Neither do I take any powder milk nor soya milk. I only eat alot of cheese. I also feed Ariene lots of cheese ever since she was 7months old.

Ariene likes to brush her teeth herself so I'll let her play with her toothbrush with some first teeth on it. After that, I'll follow up with the finger brush esp on the back of her teeth, her molars and her tongue.

I'll also make sure she rinses her mouth with lots of water after taking anything sweet.

SY

That's good that JH teeth is getting whiter. Maybe like u said, the maid didn't do a gd job.

I'm also tempted to buy from US. There's been sprees going on to get the Leapfrog read &amp; write system from Amazon. So tempted to get that but the gals organising them all charge very high exchange rates leh.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no)</TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan Ong</TD><TD>Y, once in a.m.</TD><TD>brush teeth abt 930am, milk at10am</TD><TD>morning 630am on wkdays</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth)</TD><TD>3x min (Am, aft lunch &amp; pm)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>Y, once at 12midnight</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>YT, (First Teeth), once either am or pm</TD><TD>Milk before (am), Milk after (night)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N (teeth yellowish) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ariene</TD><TD>YT(First Teeth), 8AM (wake up), 1PM(before nap), 8PM(before sleep)</TD><TD>Milk after brush for nap and night (rinse mouth with water after milk)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daren</TD><TD>YT(First Teeth), AM waking up and PM before sleep</TD><TD>Milk b4 brushing in the morning and evening (sleep time)</TD><TD>N</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mashy
My hb is going USA in May. Need any leapfrog stuff? I can ask him to help look out and buy. He got D the Word Whammer and Leapfrog DVDs the last time he went there. But buying in US will have to pay their GST lah.

mamachan

Wow, that'll be great!!! Paying GST is still cheaper than shipping. Hahhaa.

Let me go and see which ones i want and let u know. TIA! I love the leapfrog stuff but they are so ex here.

luckyvitamin
Anyone want to get anything from LV? I'm thinking of re-stocking my children's DHA, sambucol and vitamins for Ariene.

mashy
Sorry, just kpo abit, I was looking around at some of the leapfrog threads. Most of them charging the exchange rate of $1SGD:$1.5USD . Considering today's exchange rate + 4% typical credit card rates, it works out to be about $1SGD:$1.45USD so I think $1SGD:$1.5USD is quite ok unless they're charging more than $1 : $1.50.

To be honest, that's the rate I would take too if I organise any spree now to make calculations easier. A rate of 1.45 or 1.5 will only make a difference of $1SGD per $20USD. Normally, most don't buy more than $20USD in a spree so people don't normally bother much. Besides, the savings you would have made even with this exchange rate will far outweight whatever price you'll pay for them here in Singapore.

Its not easy to organise sprees and I stopped organising sprees because my home turned into a warehouse with big carton boxes everywhere, even during chinese new year and I got scolded for that. Many times, you have people who order from you then go MIA and you get stuck with boxes of half-paid stuff. Keep the stuff for them, they become an eye-sore in your living room but you cant throw away or sell their things away either. You can call/email/sms and still won't get a response from them. Sometimes, you get people who take more than 6 months to collect their stuff (my record holder is 9months). Then, when they collect it, they complain about the expiry date when they wasted 6 months of their product time sitting in the box in my living room.

Also, the organisers also have to monitor OOS items or back-ordered items and coordinate back and forth with the shipping agent, online store and the buyers regarding the delivery, payment and cancellation of the items.

Lastly, the items shipped here were wrong or shipped in super big boxes that are half empty and you have to collect additional shipping charges from people (explaining the same thing over and over again to people so that they'll pay the additional charges which is usually <$2 but it felt like you're asking for 1lb of flesh from them). If you're super unlucky, you hit a higher exchange rate from the credit card company than expected.

If you're lucky, you don't have such problems. More often than not, you will encounter one problem or another or a combination of the above problems if you're unlucky. I've organised many sprees before and the above are all spoken from personal experiences.

Taking all that into consideration, now I'll only organise sprees only for people I know (eg this thread) and a few others I've known from my previous sprees. No more new buyers for me, esp when they're fraudulous people around.

Just my 2-cents worth.

PS: Flo, Tabbs
I cant remember if I have refunded/paid you your monies from the previous sprees. If I have not, can you please email me your bank A/C numbers again. Thanks.

Denmy
I cannot remember if I've paid you for the prev round of spinach or not..

SY,
sure, i'll pay you directly when i see you tomorrow. thanks!

mamachan,
no problem, you can ask your friend to contact me directly

mamapanda

haha, i also understand the pain of organising sprees. I also done that before. Still have 1 pack of stuff at home not collected. Think 2 yrs already, and she's still not coming to collect it. I give up on her already coz i sms her, email her, she kept saying she'll come but in the end didn't. But unlike u, i ask for full payment up front, so she doesn't collect also i don't care since she has already paid up. It's her loss not to collect.

The rates have dropped further already, so the credit card rates should be abt 1.43 now. Of course I don't mind paying more to the organisers for their effort (in fact, i support that, got into a huge fight with some forum mummies coz i supported that notion like u and till now they still dun wanna talk to me) It's a huge ticket item mah, coz there's still the international shipping charges.

Anyway, I'm talking to the local distributor for leapfrog and i hope to get a better price for that. So see how lor.

mashy,

let me know if you get a good rate from the leapfrog distributor.

Mamapanda,
I can understand that's why I always only order things for pple I know and comfortable with. : )

Mamapanda,
Can I tompang to buy california baby? pm you my order later can? Thks.

tracy,
The first box of ON stuff already in singapore but the stupid singpost kept pressing on a doorbell that doesn't work....

multi-vitamins for kids

Nature's Plus Animal Parade Assorted(180 chewable tabs@$13.77USD)
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/097467299825.html

Nutrition Now Rhino Gummy Bears (190 chewable gummies@$14.97USD)
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/027917016948.html

Amazon's offer :
Nutrition Now Rhino Gummy Bears 2-pack (2x190 chewable gummies@$22.64USD)
http://www.amazon.com/Rhino-Gummy-Vitamins-190-Count-Bottles/dp/B000FKGFJU/ref=pd_sbs_hpc_title_2

I remembered seeing the Rhino gummy bears in GNC few weeks back selling for around $50+ for the same thing. If you're interesting in the gummy bears, getting it from Amazon or LV is definitely cheaper. Only thing I'm unsure about is if taking too much beeswax is bad cuz they use beeswax as part of the ingredient to prevent the gummies from sticking.

sl,
We'll have to see if we're ordering from Amazon or LV depending on the overall response.

Sambucol
Those who are giving your kids sambucol, is there any difference in your todd's health after taking sambucol? I'm not sure if it helps for Ariene cuz I only weaned her off BM recently and I gave her the flu jab before going to Norway. Not sure if she's seldom sick because of the residual effect of the BM, the flu jab or the sambucol. However, I do notice that while she's still on BM, she was only sick once. Now, she does catch a cold here and there but she recovers very quickly. I'm wondering if I should continue with the sambucol or not.

Mashy
I've checked with my hb le, he says it should not be a problem. He wanted to get something similar to what you showed me, but he can't remember how much it cost at the Target shops. Will let you know again when he's in USA and he's seen the pricing, by then I'll sms you instead ok?

sl
i want to order stuff from old navy cos my fren in US now but the stupid website keeps saying that my hotel address is wrong...strange....

glad that charmaine not affected negatively by Singulair. just very scary when i read abt the sife effects

mashy
my most recent purchase, the credit card rate was 1.43. good right..so it's tempting me to buy more stuff.

mamachan,
your hb going in May? how long will he be there?

re leapfrog
that time my fren said she got a good deal on leapfrog. her fren has some discounts on it. let me check with her if intrested.

Mamapand,

For my case, Sambucol is really helping . coz eiljah is always sick and i have tried many types of Vitmins for him but useless. i realise tat since he is on sumbocal he seldom get sick and when he gets a flu it always recover easily and faster.

SY
If leapfrog items, still can, but will be limited coz he's the only person from Singapore going USA. So long dun ask him go into VS and help me and other ladies buy stuff can le. He's only willing to buy things for me from VS. hahaha, even then, I think VS online is cheaper than from their stores. Yah, these past few months he's been going to US quite frequent. But heard from him that after this trip, he will have no idea when the next trip will be.