(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy
great to hear that his appetite is back! this is my hb's theory that everytime they fall sick, they will 'grow' so they end up eating a lot more after they recover.

CL
me me, on for the jap food. 18th Mar sounds ok with me.

SY

hahah, that's my MIL's theory too. That they get sick when they grow. Well, so long as he grows, I'm happy. He's so small sized compared to his peers. I think he's one of the shortest and lightest kid here. Somemore he's a boy. Altho i thought that he has grown taller, everytime i measure him, he's still abt 83cm. Think maybe he had learnt how to tip toe better to make himself look taller. Hahah. Whenever I measure his height, he'll tip toe too. Hhahaah.

SY,
Is JH in the 9pm Channel 8 show sitting on the ride? I saw a boy that looks like JH.

CL,
Thanks for alerting of the scam. I read abt that girl and was thinking of packing Jamie's stuff for her this wkend. Lucky u posted. So bad of that mummy to cheat pple like that.

SY, Mashy,
about the getting sick when they grow, i observe that it's quite true for meg. She jus recovered from flu/cough and she's eating alot these days too! She used to hate rice, but now she enjoys it twice a day, she can also eat bread for supper at night, or 3 pieces of red bean bao for brunch.

cheng,
Can link me to facebook? Am still very blur abt facebook. Are we suppose to join a Jan06 group? I wanna see the pics leh. Din bring my camera tat day. TIA!

Hi CL,

I have PM you.

Wow. Another round of Japanese lunch. OK OK. Me ON again. Please update for me. TIA

Hi mama chan,
add me in, thanks!

DuckTours - 2 Dates, 12th and 13th April Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
====================================
Special Weekends & Public holidays Rates for SMH moms = $488 + 7% GST

=$522.16

Price per person (adult or toddler or child): $16.84

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Saturday, 10am, 12th April 2008 - Duration 60min

1) Aileen + hb + tyke + bb + 2 more adults (5 pax)
2) Tiffany + hb + Lucas + bb + maid (4 pax)
3) kwan(kuikwan) (8 pax)
5)
6)
7)

Sat's DUCK has got 14 more slots

Sunday, 10am, 13th April 2008 - Duration 60min.
DUCK 1
1)MamaChan + hb + tyke + maid $67.36
2)Florence + hb + tyke (?)
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
4)May + hb + Mum + tyke (OK with 13 Apr, Sun) $67.36
5)Cheng + hb + tyke
6)tabbiesus + hb + tyke + bb (?)
7) queen + HB + tyke (Sat or Sun)
8)esther + HB + tyke + bb + maid
9) Chicken little + HB + 2 kids (13 apr) $67.36

Esther on DUCK 1, if you plan to bring one more person, you could do so.

Mummies on DUCK 1, kindly block book your 13th April. I'll be collecting monies from you all end of March.

Duck 2 - same timing as DUCK 1
1) Fern + hb + tyke + maid (MamaChan's friends)
2) first_mum + hb + tyke (kindly confirm the date if it's 12th or 13th)
3) sleepingdeer + hb + tyke
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

DUCK 2 needs 24 more pax on board. Any takers?

Jan mummies
Paiseh for hogging the thread for the DUCKtours.

Mummies since we have a good lunch at Sun Dining this week, ha ha lets do it again next week before the 30% promotion ends. Let me know which day is good and I need to book it before 20 Mar 08 which is last day of promotion

It is going to be Tuesday again ? 18 Mar 08 ? 12.30 ?

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany

Anyone else ? Need to make reservation woh.

Tiffany,
will check. thanks

CL
I hope tt i can join for the lunch. Had a lunch meeting and could not join on tuesday.

Mummies since we have a good lunch at Sun Dining this week, ha ha lets do it again next week before the 30% promotion ends. Let me know which day is good and I need to book it before 20 Mar 08 which is last day of promotion

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie

Anyone else ? Need to make reservation woh.

I feel so xian... was so looking forward to the HK trip, then now dampened by the flu thingy in HK. dunno whether can still go or not and we paid in full already.

CL count me in.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen

Get this new from my coworker
Hong Kong (SAR)

Influenza outbreak closes primary schools

Created: March 13, 2008 01:08 GMT
Updated: March 13, 2008 02:39 GMT
To curtail a seasonal flu outbreak, authorities in Hong Kong have decided to close all kindergartens, primary schools and special education centers for two weeks. The closures begin 13 March, ahead of the previously scheduled Easter holiday closure, and will impact about half a million children at over 1,700 schools. The school closures are intended to stop children from passing the virus among their classmates.
Two deaths and one severe case of flu are under investigation . They appear to be unrelated to each other.
A three-year-old girl, admitted to Tuen Mun Hospital on March 1 passed away on the same day, was positive result for influenza A/H3.
A seven-year-old boy developed fever and headache on February 24, was admitted to hospital on March 8 and died on March 11. Preliminary tests were negative for influenza, however subsequent tests showed influenza A/H1N1. Five of his classmates were admitted to hospital with influenza-like symptoms, and are now in a stable condition. The school involved was closed prior to March 13.
A three-year-old boy admitted to hospital on March 11 with fever, cough and shortness of breath. He is in a stable condition in intensive care. He has tested positive for influenza A/H1N1.
In the case of a 21-month-old boy who died on February 24 "there is no evidence of flu" and investigations are ongoing. He suffered from cough and fever, and suffered a seizure.
A number of schools have reported confirmed outbreaks, and many more are suspected.
The Disease
Influenza is a highly contagious respiratory viral illness that sometimes causes serious complications. In the northern hemisphere, the flu season generally ranges from November through March. In the southern hemisphere, most activity occurs from April through September. Risk of exposure exists throughout the year in tropical areas.
Although most people feel better in a couple of days, influenza can be life-threatening, especially in very young and older patients. Because it is a viral illness, it does not respond to antibiotics, however can be treated with antiviral medication.
Influenza can be prevented via an annual vaccination, which is especially important for people over 50 years old, those with chronic disorders of the pulmonary or cardiovascular systems (including asthma) and people caring for young children.

International SOS Comment

Hong Kong is in the peak of the influenza season, and it is expected to continue for some time. The viruses responsible for these outbreaks are seasonal influenza viruses, and the information available to date indicates no marked variations with 2006 or 2007 flu seasons.
Although the current seasonal influenza vaccination may not match the circulating strains exactly, adults and children who have not had an annual flu vaccination should consider having one.
In addition, to prevent flu and prevent spreading illness:
Maintain good personal hygiene. Wash your hands frequently, and avoid touching your face.
Cover coughs and sneezes with a mask or a tissue.
Stay at home if you are unwell
Parents should take their young children with fever or influenza-like symptoms for prompt medical attention.

For more information:
See the International SOS Country Guide for Hong Kong
See "Influenza" in the Disease and Prevention dropdown on the International SOS Country Guides
Contact any International SOS Alarm Center
Call the Centre for Health Protection hotline at 2125 1133 (from within Hong Kong). It will be staffed 9am to 6pm Monday to Friday.

Authors:
Dr. Doug Quarry
Dr. Irene Lai
Viki Hansen-Landis, MPH (editor)

May
i din watch the show but dun think so bah. JH never did any filming before...unless he happened to be in the background....where was the ride?

mashy, tracy
i think it's also quite true for JH. everytime after he fall sick, he will drink a lot of milk and he will look bigger. that time when he was sick, he actually put on over a kg....

CL,

18th march i have made a booking.. too. for 2 person.. going with my friend.. can change to 17th or 19th? I dun mind going there 2 times in a week .. i am going again tomorrow.. hahah i think i am having a Jap bb....

SY,
I think it is at Toa Payoh. It is those ride which I think u pay $2 for dunno how many mins. It was pretty fast shot and I saw JH on a white Motorbike twice at the bacground. In that show, this little boy is thinking of the past where his father brought him to sit on the bike before his father was bankrupt.

krissie

maybe u can get flu jabs for everyone before u go?

I'm thinking of letting my boy take the flu jab too since he's so prone to bronchitis.

Just saw the newspapers re: the flu outbreak.. hope its nothing serious and wont get to Singapore! so many virus lurking around nowadays... doesnt help when the weather is so cool...

Babylon / mamachan - actuali rite, i never thot the weaning is so easy either... my niece and celeste are avid lovers of their chut chut! they used to ask for it at times when they aren't sleeping.. i guess its easier to wean them now cos they are more sensible and can understand wat we meant by the nottie bird/dog who took the chut chut away... til now, celeste still asks cheekily for chut chut to which i will go: eh... u remember? then she will smile and reply: nottie doggie! so now she protects her bolster ( sometimes even hiding it under the quilt ) and hangs on dearly to her only percious hahaha :p

Mashy - Good to hear tat C is eating soooo well now! its reali true tat aft a bout of sick episode they eat like nobody's business and yes, they do put back the lost weight pretty fast with all tat gorging...

Babylon
Your coworker got alert from my office woh. Ha ha look so familiar and see my 2 favourite dr's name.

May
I oso watching the show woh. But never catch that. Ya I would think that place is Toa Payoh.

Lunch Rena request to change to 19 Mar, everyone ok ? Because she book to go there with a fren on 18 liao

CL count me in.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus

May
hee, then dun think it is him cos TPY too far for me to bring him...

re flu outbreak
so scary. hope it won't affect us...

Lactation consultant:
Anybody has good recommendation? i'm having blocked ducts since yest. just can't clear it. very frustrating. tried massaging and warm compress. doesn't work at all! ARGH!!!

Aileen

If you want a home service, you can call Betty at 98330170. I called for her service in Jan for my blocked ducts too.. She is superb.

medela accessories
the package reached singapore today. i called singpost and it will take abt 2-3 days to process the package so i think i will receive it next week.

Lunch Rena request to change to 19 Mar, everyone ok ? Because she book to go there with a fren on 18 liao

CL count me in.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus
7. MamaChan

Count me in too. Am fine either 18th or 19th, just let me know earlier so I can arrange my time.

<font size="+1">DuckTours - 2 Dates, 12th and 13th April </font>Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
<font color="ff0000">Special Weekends &amp; Public holidays Rates for SMH moms = $488 + 7% GST

=$522.16

Price per person (adult or toddler or child): $16.84 </font>

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

3) kwan(kuikwan) (7 pax)
5)
6)
7)

Sat's DUCK has got 15 more slots

DUCK 1
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)Cheng + hb + tyke

Mummies on DUCK 1, kindly block book your 13th April. I'll be collecting monies from you all end of March.

1) Fern + hb + tyke + maid (MamaChan's friends) (4 pax)
2) first_mum + hb + tyke (3 pax)
3) sleepingdeer + hb + tyke (3 pax)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

DUCK 2 needs 21 more pax on board. Any takers?

Jan mummies

Me too loaded pics taken by hb. Dun pin too high hopes. His DSLR in his hand is like normal digital camera.

This is probably the only pic he took with most of our kids in

I guess my hb loves taking Kaelyn too. Saw a few of her pics.

1297771.jpg

CL count me in.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus
7. MamaChan
8. Flo

Put my name down first, will join you gals if my meeting ends in time. Am fine either 18th or 19th.

CL count me in.

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus
7. MamaChan
8. Flo
9. Rena

CL,
If the majority prefer to be tuesday then its ok.. if you guys dun mine me asking my friend along?

May
Ha ha but your cute Jamie has got a nice pics loaded by Cheng's hb in facebook. Check it out. I realli find her so cute like a full size doll. and her thigh very solid woh

Lunch at SUN , Chijmes , 18 Mar , 12.30 pm for 10 pax under Chicken Little's real name. I assume those who went knows how to go and anyone else who needs help please buzz me, I will meet you at 12.20 pm at the entrance of Chijmes diagonal of Raffles Hotel

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Tiffany
4. Krissie
5. Aileen
6. Tabbiesus
7. MamaChan
8. Flo
9. Rena

Lucky today i did not manage to get a booking with colleague if not I will be overeating SUN stuff

Tiffany,
oh yes, thanks for your contact. but i didn't see ur post till much later. instead i rush down to tmc yest after fixing an appt with the lactation consultant. i heard that they have good LC. the one at GEH where i delivered sucks! the LC at tmc spent an hour helping me to massage and cleared my ducts. really thankful to her. but i kenah mastitis. it's my 3rd time in this pregnancy
that said, i still manage to pump out half a litre of milk this morning!! haha! what a cow!

Cheng/CL
Thanks Cheng HB.. the photos are very nice

CL.. I must go look at your photos too

Hiazz so sad I couldnt join the lunch on 18 march.

btw mummies.. I have made a booking for lunch at SUN on 20th March for 2 pax at 1230pm. I cannot make it now *sad*, if anyone wanna take over my booking pls let me know??...
I thought it might be difficult to book.. so in case u wanna go and havent book just take my existing one.

Aileen,

Oh, mastitis! So you having fever now?

Its good that you got it cleared. I went TMC previously, but it was so crowded that they dint manage to help me clear, told me massage more and latch more nia.. Almost got into depression mann...

Eventually, got Betty's contact, she cleared up for me... A great relief!

Envy your determination. Keep up the good work and go all the way..

Tiffany,
No, luckily no fever but coz LC saw that breast is red liao, so she said it's infected already. Advice me to take antibiotics. I was the only person there yest, so maybe that's why she had time to slowly massage for me. I think if she hadn't clear for me, I would leave!! it's so darn frustrating, wanted to go crazy liao!!

i'm amazed by my own determination too, despite all the cracked nipples and pain. think it just didn't occur to me to stop. coz it's like so wasted, esp i got so much milk. if my supply is miserable, then i don't think i would carry on. which actually could be a good thing, then i don't have to endure all these! :p anyways....

Cookie
ha ha dun pin too high hopes on my ah lao's photos ha ha not very nice ones. But your gal she is a beauty so the pics ok

Aileen
Glad it is cleared for you. Get your little tyler to help you.

<font color="119911"> Sophia,
Putting in another 5 pax for 12 Apr duck tour, my niece less than 2 years old, now 1 year plus need to pay ?</font>

<font size="+1">DuckTours - 2 Dates, 12th and 13th April</font> Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
<font color="ff0000">Special Weekends &amp; Public holidays Rates for SMH moms = $488 + 7% GST

=$522.16

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

3) kwan(kuikwan) (7 pax)
4) Chicken's little's sil (5 pax , 2 adults + 3 kids + 1 todd less than 2)
5)
6)
7)

Sat's DUCK has got 15 more slots

DUCK 1
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)Cheng + hb + tyke

5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Jan mummies

CL,
Saw the photos, quite small leh. Should have brought along my camera also. Ya..u are right. Alot of pple had been commenting her thigh is big. Haha

CL
I will check with DuckTours for you on your niece that's less than 2 yrs old.

Aileen
Ouch! Mastitis is really no fun, can totally empathize with you. I got it 3 times during my 6 months of BF. Pain like anything and I got high fever for all 3 times! I remember that I had a jab for one of the times to bring down the fever. I had to massage for myself, press until darn hard and there were red patches on the breast area!

<font size="+1">DuckTours - 2 Dates, 12th and 13th April</font> Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun

=$522.16

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

3) kwan(kuikwan) (7 pax)
4) Chicken's little's sil (5 pax , 2 adults + 3 kids + 1 todd less than 2)
5)
6)
7)

Sat's DUCK has got 10 more slots

DUCK 1
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
5)Cheng + hb + tyke

5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Jan mummies

Any more mummies keen to join? Sat's DUCK need 10 more pax to fill up the chartered DUCK so that I can confirm and go ahead to book Sat's DUCK for the Sat mummies. Do let me know. Other thread mums who are interested can PM me. Sunday's 2nd DUCK has got 21 more pax/slots to fill. Come and join in the fun!

mamachan,
ya it's really no joke to kenah 3 times. the first 2 times i also have high fever and shivered very badly. couldn't even get off the bed. but this time, i kinda expected that i may get it, so went to see gp first and standby the antibiotics even thou i didn't have fever. by the time i got to the LC, she said i already kenah mastitis coz she could see the red patch due to infection. so bo bian, still gotta take the antibiotics. hopefully this will be the last bout of mastitis!

Aileen
Yah, totally empathize with you. the 3rd time I went to see GP, the younger GP kept telling me to might as well give up BF! I nearly wanted to scold him in the face there and then, but was too sick to say anything, just gave a wry smile and a shrug. I realize not all doctors are pro BF! I guess have to faithful and be regular in expressing milk and cannot allow chances of blocked ducts from happening. Say, are you keen to "donate" your milk once a week for my friend's PHD research? It's still ongoing, that is if you are keen and still expressing.

2nd-time BF mums
Anyone has abundance of milk and don't mind giving away some for my friend's PHD research? PM me if you don't mind. She normally will travel to where you are to collect the milk, about 50ml.

Thinking of doing a little survey to see if we can find out any reasons to why some of our little kids here get decayed teeth so young. Also remembered reading somewhere about how some toothpastes are bad for children. Let's see if we can find some co-relation.

Can u fill this up?

<table border=1><tr><td> Name </TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no) </TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Brush Teeth(YT: with toothpaste(brand), Y: w/o toothpaste, N: no)</TD><TD>Milk before/after brush teeth</TD><TD>Dreamfeed (Y/N)</TD><TD>Tooth Decay </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>Y, once at night</TD><TD>sometimes b4, sometimes after</TD><TD>night feeds when he woke up</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan Ong</TD><TD>Y, once in a.m.</TD><TD>brush teeth abt 930am, milk at10am</TD><TD>morning 630am on wkdays</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>