(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

God's child,
haha, I was laughing at your pacifier weaning trick. I doubt Aidan will be taken in :p But good one...Looks like I have to start getting more creative too.

Tracy
Snapfish do not seem to offer 3R or 2R sizes. Usually I just crop from a 4R photo or I use home printer to print according to the size I want.

Mamachan
If the duck tour is in April, count me in :> I cannot make it on 30th March.

May
I feel tt you shld go for the degree. you guys are still qt young. There is much more prospects for your work if you upgrade yourself. Moving into the knowledge economy, even if you dun do it now, u might still need/want to do it 5 years later. If you're good in your work, hving a degree is only a means for your employer to promote you and pay you more. You must help your boss to help you. Otherwise, his hands are also tied when it comes to increment and promo. furthermore, if your boss suggested it, think it'll be good for you since you intend to stay there for a while. Plus your deg is qt short, I did mine part time for 4 full years, gg to sch 3x a week. USA is qt a good Uni, one of the better ones in Aussie. All the best!

Din post for a long time. Today just seem to have a burst of energy. HaHa....perhaps nesting instinct acting up. Me delivering no3 this week.

Been so busy preparing things ready for the children. Will be away in the hospital for the delivery so busy getting everything done. From daily menu and things to be done for the maid as well as at least 1 mth of homeschool material for the kids.

HI sunny,
handsome looking boy! I can't wait to see mine.

HI Sy,
I took the duck tour when i was abt 7mths and no one stopped me from boarding the craft. I even took the DHL balloon ride on the same day. They had an offer some time back where DHL, ducktour as well as hippo ride was going at 33 bucks and it is 17 for kids. Mayb if so many of you are keen, u might want to negotiate with them to extend the offer to you.

Hi MAy,
I also agree to that you should go ahead with the degree esp if you plan to have more children and also once the kids goes to primary school you seriously will no time to do any other things except for supervising their homework. It is the reality in singapore! So while ur girl is still young, you should take this opportunity to complete your degree.

For taka baby fair,
not sure whether mommies here have graduated from baby fair but tot i share. Went down yesterday, nothing much for toddlers and not many brands are exhibited there. But I manage to get a few sets of the disney character bedsheet (transformers as well as dora)....had a hard time searching for them and even comtemplated buying from target.com in US.

SSF
ha, i think the sucking of the milk was the next best thing he cd get to the pacifier so he took it lor. but it was very quick. the first night, i just kept talking to him till he fell asleep. when he woke up in the middle of the night, i use milk to pacify him. the next night, he fell asleep again without the pacifier by talking. even when he woke up at night, he din need the pacifier to go back to sleep. just milk and he will immediately sleep. sometimes when he ask for the pacifier, i will just keep telling him it's the same by drinking milk. maybe he tried and feel close enough...haha...

cheng
i regret not weaning him off pacifier earlier. he can sleep better at night in fact...

Ashleyjames
Ha ha was reading your post and yes it realli sounds like jamom. Was a bit blur and going to ask that question. Happy popping no. 3.

Reminder for Lunch Date at Sun Dining today 12.30. Reservation for 8 booked under Chicken little's real name}
CL,
Thanks for collecting the stuff plus the kaier for me. I think the kaier will come in useful for my mum cos she's runnign out of things to do with charmaine. Have I paid you for it? How much? Let me know? Thanks.

RE: RP Lunch- I also wanna eat jap!
RP Lunch at Sun - 11 Mar, 12.30 ?
- Chicken Little
- SY
- Rachel
- MamaChan
- Aileen
-rena
- SL
- Tabbiesus

Does all know how to get there ? If not we meet 12.20 at the traffic junction at Chijmes facing raffles city where there is a mama shop.

Good Morning mummies!

SY,
Maybe u would wanna replace water with milk cos it may become a habit to take the night milk feeds. Very bad for their teeth cos FM is very sweet. I used to dream feed Ethan n dentist said tat could be the cause of his severe cavities. Recently he just went under GA to get 8 teeth fixed n it costs us almost $900. Worse part is him going thru the GA procedure.

God's child,

Re: Pacifier
How do you manage to do it...coz the bolster and pacifier come together..whenever damien see his bolster, and will start looking for his pacifier.

Forgot to share this. Keep forgetting about highlight the book fair at bras basah.

There is a Chinese and English Book fair 7 - 16 Mar at Bras basah 10 - 9 pm daily.

My favourite shop Children book Centre is located besides Cheers infront of the ATM machine. During the fair period, the shop will be closed. By the way, on the ground floor all the way back to end, there is a Lido Book Store which is own by same boss of Children Book centre. Ha ha next time dun have to climb all the way to 4th floor

wenyl
hee, actually now he's ok. he doesn't wake up for milk every night. just that if he wakes up, i just feed him and he will go back to sleep very fast. he will sleep thru the night sometimes. more of the lazy mummy who wants to coax him back to sleep faster so i give him milk.

SY,
I agreed with wenyl..my cousin's son have this habit to take night milk feeds..and it really cost his server cavities..almost most of his teeth are gone when he was 2.5yrs old. Initial, dentist said that it is ok, since this is all milk teeth, no need to extract first..recently, just met my cousin and she told me that he started to have gum infection..end up spending almost 3k to extract his teeth..not sure how they do it...but poor boy..got to suffer all this pain.

CL
now that u mention i saw the ad for the bookfair and was tempted to go take a look....but been shopping quite a bit at popular book fair and ikea so think got to stop for a while. running out of places to hide my stuff.

JH has this fetish for black! quite funny actually cos he always ask me to wear black and he colors all his stuff black. he likes to choose my clothes for me and he will tell me to wear black...hope he gets out of this black phase soon. his coloring sure looks quite 'awful' for now as everything is all black.

yesterday he was very sweet. i told him i sat on the floor too long and got backache so need to lie down. before he fell asleep i told him to pray together and he reminded me to pray for my own backache. and he said i must go see Dr for my back ache. quite touched by him.

wenyl,
Oh dear, GA for E at such a young age. Must be very poor thing. BTW, I have been dreamfeeding Jamie even till now but yet to see any tooth decay yet. *touchwood* What milk is E drinking? Jamie is drinking Friso.

Flo,
Talking abt Friso, Mel is drinking Friso also right? If I rem correctly. I wonder if it is the cause of active gals. Hahaha...

RE: Degree
Hi Mummies, I have decided to go for degree and had told my boss about it. He will be proposing this to the HR dept. Hopefully there will be good news. I am worried that chances are slim as I joined this company for only 7mths. Will let you all know the outcome. Thanks very much for all the advices.

SY

JH is so sweet!

My boy also takes night feeds whenever he wakes up at night. Last night he had 600ml night feeds!!!! Think he's replenishing what he lost during his diarrhoea episode. But so far his teeth still looks ok leh. Have just been brushing his teeth at night before he sleeps. Do u think getting decayed teeth easily might be in the genes? I get yellowed teeth & stains easily even though i don't drink tea and coffee.

DuckTours
====================================
Weekends & Public holidays = $550 + 7% GST($38.50)

=$588.50

Price per person: $18.98

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Based on my own calculations, If we go by a total of 10 families, it'll be $58.85 per family (2 adults + 1 toddler). Kindly let me know if you're still keen or not.

Sunday, 10am, 13th April 2008 - Duration 60min. Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
1)MamaChan + hb + tyke (Sat/Sun)
2)Florence + hb + tyke (?)
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
4)Aileen + hb + tyke + bb (?) - bb is FOC (Sat)
5)May + hb + Mum + tyke (OK with 13 Apr, Sun) $75.92
6)Cheng + hb + tyke
7)
8)
9)
10)

Mummies You ok with 13th April? we target 10am?

Tracy, would you have delivered by then? Still wanna go with Meg?

weaning pacifier:
ed has also miraculously weaned himself off. what i did previously was keep nagging at him "telling him 2years old, no more pacifier. pacifier will start to taste funny, bird will take it away etc..." and one night, just before he turned 2, he told me "edgar 2yo, no more pacifier, pacifier fly away!" from then onwards, he never needed his pacifier. even now when he sees tyler's pacifier, he is not "gian" already. just takes to play for fun and try to be cheeky by putting it into his mouth.

SY,
ed also likes black. so jh is not the only one

Hi CL and All RP/Cityhall mommies,

I am a Apr2006 mommy at Cityhall. Happen to see this mommies get-together lunch date, can I join you mommies?

Aileen, can you still remember me? Congrats on your new addition. My #2 was borned in Sep07.

CL
Count me in too!
RP Lunch at Sun - 11 Mar, 12.30 ?
- Chicken Little
- SY
- Rachel
- MamaChan
- Aileen
-rena
-Tiffany

Please let me know if its too late to join in as I understand that reservations is needed. Thanks so much. Hope to be able to meet up with new mommies to share tips

Let me know. If need to contact me, my msn is [email protected]

Wenyl
I read Ethan's blog. You must have been very heart-pain during the procedure, but I must say he's a really brave boy and still can give such a charming smile at the end of it!

Brushing teeth at night after milk feeds
I started about 1 month back to switch the routine around abit. We made Daren brush his teeth after his milk now rather than brush teeth during bath time before milk. Coz I noticed that his upper front teeth looks a little yellow. Now is the weaning him off his chut chut!!

god's child
Celeste must be very good tempered not to throw tantrums and kick up a bit fuss for her chut chut. You and hb very good! Hhahaha, I'm still thinking when to wean D off his pacifier! Celeste is very good at verbalizing too! Must be really cute to hear her talk like that. D will irritate me with all his whining. I'm thinking if I shouild use the method my mom used on me when I was his age...burn the pacifier black!

cheng
I've added your name to the above list. Hopefully we can meet 10 families or total of 31 pax

re: pacifier

don't know whether it's lucky or not for me. My boy only wants his pacifier when he sleeps. He doesn't take it when he's outside or if he naps outside. When he wakes up, he'll auto put down his pacifier on his pillow. But the prob is, coz of that, i find it difficult to wean him off totally. He can't sleep without it at home, but coz he doesn't use it outside, difficult to tell him that his friends also don't use it. How ah?

mashy,
My neighbour wean her gal off quite fast. Only 3 days then ok already.
As her gal is afraid of my hubby, she tell her gal. Uncle Joseph throw away ur pacifier already. Then her gal dun dare to ask for it.

My colleague wean her gal off by telling her gal that the pacifier is left at the CC. So today no pacifier. So her gal tot really like that. And she repeated done it for a week, it was successful also.

You might want to try either one of them.

tiffany,
hi sorry, i can't remember your face already! :p i'm really bad... hope to see u at lunch later
oh and congrats to you too! :D

Hi Aileen

Not that your memory is bad la, we have not met formally actually. Remember that I mentioned to you that your hb and my hb know each other and we sort of "met" outside Shichida some time last year?

btw, the organiser CL has not confirmed if I can join yet. I have no details about the lunch date yet.

cheng,
thanks for the advise on the photos for scrapping!

mamachan,
I'll give the ducktour a miss, hubby's not for it. thanks!

Tiffany
Pai seh. should be no problem. I will try to call them to add in another chair because only open at 12. So meeting us at junction ? Me in brown top and skirt today. Very brown dun think can miss. Pai seh my MSN block in office cannot give you detail. I pm you my contact then

mashy
Actually, my boy is like yours, only takes pacifier at nap time and sleeping. Only when he's really tired outside and it's near nap time that he'll ask for his "tu-tu" to calm himself down and you can see his eyes starting to be half-closed. Think it'll take awhile. I'm aiming to target to wean him off the pacifier at night 1st. Haha, I always start the weaning process at the most difficult time of day 1st.

mamachan

sigh, i tried before once. He threw his tu tu out of his bed in anger. So i kept the pacifier and told him coz he threw it away, there isn't anymore pacifier left. He cried and wailed. It was an agonising week coz he cry to sleep. So we gave up in the end. sigh.

May,
Glad that you decided to go for it! There's no limit to learning and upgrading, so it's great that you are doing the degree! In fact, you should encourage your HB to upgrade himself if he feels pressured.
Though getting a degree does not guarantee career success, it will still provide other opportunities.

Re. Pacifier
Wow, I read with envy that some of your toddlers can quit so easily! Isaac needs his chut chut for nap and sleep and sometimes when he's feelign very cranky. Just last weekend, I forgot to bring the pacifier out and on our way home, he was wailing and wailing for his chut chut. Damn jialat.

Re. sleeping alone
I shifted Isaac to his room 2 nights ago. Carried him to his bed while he's sleeping. He woke up a few times, but I managed to pat him back to sleep. And then at 3am, he woke up calling for HB and me and walked into the room. Ended up sleeping together again. I wanted to wait till he fall back asleep to move him back to his room, but I can't stay awake long enough to do that!

Pacifier Weaning
hahaha...maybe we should have a support group and start the weaning off at the same time, motivate each other. My son is very stubborn, not looking forward to weaning him off. I'm secretly hoping one fine day, he will just stop by himself???

mashy
JH also has trouble sleeping without the pacifier. actually now it is harder to make him sleep in the day cos we dun use pacifier anymore. really got to make him tired lor. he will still ask for it but i really dun wan to give him anymore. just go cold turkey. in fact my hb was quite soft hearted and wanted to give him again when he cried on the first night. i refused and took it away again.

cheng
hee, yeah, good idea to motivate one another. i thnk pacifier weaning is a tough job. i also tot JH will have a super hard time but not as bad as i tot. maybe cos he also taking medicine for his cough and the medicine helps to knock him out before he sleeps. so less struggle.

queen
JH takes pacifier in the car and initially we had problems as we really need to occupy him in the car to distract him. will keep talking to him or i let him munch on his cornflakes. got once, he munch until he fell asleep. quite funny. he still asks for it when in the car but i will just remind him that he broke his pacifier.

pacifier
Just some personal experience to share..

I was an avid fan of the nee tu from young and I was sucking it all the way until 5 years old cuz my parents gave up weaning me off it because I would cry and scream for it everytime they took it away from me. However, they noticed that as the years passed it got more and more difficult to wean me off it. One day, some nurse who went around visiting the houses in our block saw me still sucking on it and advised me parents to quickly wean me off it so she offered me chocolate pudding in exchange for my nee tu and I gave it to her and never saw it again. Of course I did ask for it after I finished the pudding but my parents told me I already gave it to the nurse so its gone forever. I cried for a few days for it but after that I was off it.

Well, actually, the nurse did give it back to my parents but she told them not to give it back to me if they want to wean me off it. However, because I had been sucking on it for 5 years, it affected my teeth structure and I ended up with very crooked adult teeth and had to undergo 1.5years of orthodontic treatment to correct it. My treatment is not the usual 6months treatment using rubber to band the braces that most receive. Mine was a solid painful 1.5years using thick steel wires.

So, morale of the story is, no matter how painful it is for u now, its better to wean them off now than later as it gets more difficult later. Sucking it for too long affects the jaw and teeth structure and it may give ur child "rabbit teeth".

Do consider these points. Few days of crying is nothing compared to 1.5years of pain (not to mention the costs).

Slinky,
I am not a tutu bb..but thumb sucking..till Pri3.
And i learnt from my MIL that my HB is also a thumb sucking bb till quite old.
Thumb sucking mother + Thumbing sucking father = thumb sucking BB (my elder boy, till now he is still thumb sucking)
(Lucky i got no problem with my teeth)

Last year Nov
Damien continuing to break at least 4 pacifiers within 2 weeks. So i bought another 4 more to stand by and told myself if he continued to break it, i will stop giving him.
I made wrong decision, i should be determine not to give him the pacifier since he broke all of it.

babylon
damien is the same as JH! the reason i stop giving him was cos he broke one pacifier in one day! cos of that i decided to wean him off once and for all. wasting my money really.

plus i noticed his front teeth starting to jut out. dunno whether is it due to pacifier...

Pacifier Weaning
For a period we tot Meg weaned herself off the pacifier when her old one had a hole and I replaced her a new piece. She rejected the new piece and we tot that's it! But she had difficulties sleeping at night and napping. Kept waking up to cry. Eventually, she adapted to the new pacifier anyway. So back to the pacifier...

For my elder nephew, my MIL applied bitter grass (dunno wats that) onto it and he stopped asking for it. For the younger nephew, he dropped his pacifier into the toilet bowl and from then on refused pacifier.

Nice meeting mummies for the lunch.

Hee hee nice hor. Lets do it again next week.

What date and what time.

You name it i book it

CL
The lunch was really great. Appreciate it so much. Let me know the calculations. Tx.

Nice meeting up with all of you. Time was pretty short, and no chance to speak to everyone. Hope the RP/Cityhall mommies can meet more often and hope to be able to join you all again. See ya.

cheng,
found a way to crop the pics into smaller than 4R in snapfish. By adding 'thick white border', snapfish will shrink the photo smaller but yet still print on 4R so only $0.09! Jus ordered my photos, will see how it turns out.

CL
Thanks for organizing this lunch. I absolutely loved my food! Think I'm the 1st to finish too. Hahaha. Yes! Let's organize one more for next week? I should be anyday also can.

Tiffany
Great to see you too! Also cannot tell that you're a mom of two

DuckTours

=$588.50

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

Note: For any timing outside our usual tour time, a surcharge of $150/craft is applicable.

Based on my own calculations, If we go by a total of 10 families, it'll be $58.85 per family (2 adults + 1 toddler). Kindly let me know if you're still keen or not.

Sunday, 10am, 13th April 2008 - Duration 60min. Please indicate which days works best for you, Sat or Sun
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
6)Cheng + hb + tyke
7)tabbiesus + hb + tyke + bb (?)
8)
9)
10)

Mummies, if you would like to bring your own family members along, it's also ok, just let me know and I'll see how many of the 31 places have been filled up.

Mamachan,

RE. Duck Tours
I want I want!
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
6)Cheng + hb + tyke
8) queen + HB + tyke (Sat or Sun)
9)
10)

Hi Mamachan

Yippee...Spoken to hb, he is keen on the duck
tour.

RE. Duck Tours
I want I want!
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
6)Cheng + hb + tyke
9) Tiffany + HB + Lucas + Andrea(6mth old is FOC?) + maid (Sat)
10)

I will pm you my contact.

re Lunch
wow sounds like i missed out a great lunch. yeah go again next week and i try to join. dunno why this morning suddenly felt very bad and just now during lunch time felt like puking....but after lunch, i felt much better so decided to stay in office to do some work.

Hi Mamachan

Ok i oso confirmed with my sir.

RE. Duck Tours
I want I want!
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
6)Cheng + hb + tyke
9) Tiffany + HB + Lucas + Andrea(6mth old is FOC?) + maid (Sat)
10) Chicken little + HB + 2 kids (13 apr) how much for me huh since my Charmaine is 5 years old

DuckTours - FULL

=$588.50

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel

1)MamaChan + hb + tyke + maid
3)SY + hb + tyke - Sun
4)May + hb + Mum + tyke (OK with 13 Apr, Sun) $75.92
5)Cheng + hb + tyke
6)tabbiesus + hb + tyke + bb (?)
7) queen + HB + tyke (Sat or Sun)
8) Tiffany + HB + Lucas + Andrea(6mth old is FOC?) + maid (Sat)
9) Chicken little + HB + 2 kids (13 apr) how
much for me huh since my Charmaine is 5 years old

Total: 31 pax (decide to bring my maid to make up the numbers)

If other mummies interested, do let me know so that I can help to arrange for a 2nd DUCK for another 31 ppl.

Aileen, I've taken our your name le, as you could not make it on Sunday morning. HOwever, if other moms want to go on Sat, I can help you all make arrangements.

CL
You'll need to pay a total of $75.92 for your family. Since we go by $18.98 for per seat taken.

Tiffany
Your 6 month old is free =) so long below 1 year is free.

Hi Mamachan,

I can only make it on sat morning lei. Please include me if there is a group for saturday morning. Thanks so much.

Looks like I have jumped ship from Apr to Jan liao.. kekeke