(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy
yeah think it's too early to have regular contractions. do try to rest well and eat well. did u tire yourself out these few days?

SY,
thanks. not really leh...we think it could be becos i carried meg while she was sleeping ystrdy morning at the temple. Though i was sitting down, it was her dead weight on me for about half an hour.

cookie - oh mann..even yahoo email also cannot. my co didnt block the messenging although they are against it. now i dun on my msn already. i only use skype. funny thg is that they encourage skype but not the others messengers. yahoo email is fine though.

SY - we thot now that caleb can pronounce all the disney characters like goofy, pluto, mickey, minnie, daisy and donald. maybe he will enjoy disneyland and the nearest would be HK liao. coz in jpn all will be in japanese. US too far and ex. at first we are deciding hokkaido but is worried tat the journey is too long and the kids may not enjoy as much as disneyland. nowsaday the holidays are all for them. no longer for us mann! but then when we see them happy..we are happy too
maybe u can use that to persuade your hb to go. hee...

tracy - so ur time is not up yet. hee.. btw, when is ur delivery? maybe u want to take mc and stay home till delivery?

aileen - for cradle cap, you can use J&J baby oil. leave in for abt 5 mins before bath. then during bath time, just use a brush or towel to gently rub it.

tracy
rest well....

aileen
can use olive oil. i think i saw some kind of medicine from guardian before which is for cradle cap.

SSF,
I'm only due 14may...now is really toooo early. cannot take MC and rest all the way. Think i'll get bored at home too.

Sunny,

RE: Unlucky Happening
Hope the bad luck will leave us after we pour out here.
My new car had got a scratch at wet market yday. Hb and I went there to see doc as he was sick. But when we are back, there is a NIKE logo FOC on the car boot. I was fuming mad with the FOC masterpiece. It is about 13-15cm long. And the car is less than 4mths old. Urgh..

Mamapanda,
Jamie can join Ariene in hyperactive club. She tore down teacher's wall diaplay, scream in class. Now her famous act is kick and teacher say she has been learning how to protect herself from other kids. Her new word is "Zuo Kai" - GO AWAY in mandarin.

RE:XXL Mamypoko Pull-up DIAPER
Any idea where to get XXL Mamy Poko? My big buttock Jamie has outgrown XL.

tracy - ohh tat's still a long way before delivery. hmm..u better take care then. dun make yourself too tired and get more rest.

may - oh no...can the sticker be remove? some ppl are just so inconsiderate. to date, my car has countless no of scratches. i given up hope too.

re: hyper active
speaking of which..i got a visitor yesterday who has a hyperactive kid. he ended up pouring all my toys over the floor. take one look at the toys and then run all over the hse searching for other toys to play. he snatches caleb's toy and mess ard for less than 10 secs and disappear again to look for other thgs. then he went to my coffee table and nearly pushed all the CNY goodies off the table. may/mamapand - are your girls the same as that?

tracy
hee your EDD is my customary anniversary.

SSF
i think HK is good. the rest are pretty far unless u wan to take such long leave.

may, mamapanda
dun mean to sound overly concerned. when i was doing relief teaching, there was this boy who wasn't from my class but really cute and i heard from the teachers that he takes mediciation for hyperactivity. i hope your kids are not hyperactive to that stage. is it also a discipline issue? does the teacher discipline them? my hb's colleague son also got some hyperactivity problem and need to see a psychatrist cos his problem was really serious.

SSF,
It is not a sticker. It is a big scratch, a TICK. Quite deep, cannot be polished off. Need to respray.

My gal is not to the extent. My hb say she is a mini tazmanian devil (mini tornado). Wherever she goes, after awhile, the whole place will be in a mess. But her attention span on the toys she pour out can be quite long before she tackle a new place.

SY,
I think Jamie wants attention as she used to be the gem of her teachers but ever since Jan official school start, her teachers diverted attention to other children that had been crying. The teachers had realised that too. If they place Jamie beside them, she will stop all these mischievous act.

SY
The funny thing is Ariene is very well behaved at home. She doesn't snatch other children's toys to play nor does she create havoc in other people's house. If she wants to play their toy, she'll ask "May I?" or "please". When at home, she'll share her toys with other children. She does tend to leave her toys everywhere after playing but I'd make sure she keeps them back together with me. Anyway, I thought that is normal cuz almost every kid I know has the tendency to leave their toys all over the place?

However, she tends to follow what other kids are doing so I suspect someone else in her class is doing it first and she followed blindly. Before she went to school, she never used to jump on sofas or the bed. Now she doesn't jump anymore after getting a few canes from me. Unfortunately, Ariene is easily influenced by peer pressure.

I don't think Ariene requires medication. She's just very active and curious with her surroundings. Maybe we're too strict with her at home and she never had the chance to be "naughty" and all these are very "interesting" to her.

Anyway, learning of bad habits aside, I'm still happy with her performance in school so far. Important thing is she's enjoying herself. She's learning quite a few things also. At least she can tell me A for Astronaut, C for Carrot, fish live in aquarium, etc, and I'm quite happy with that.

May, Mamapanda
yeah as long as it is not that kind of hyperactivity issues, i guess it is ok. sometimes hearing all these stories can be quite scary. my hb's colleague son was really quite bad. his colleague even took one year no pay leave just to help the son.

usually they will follow what somebody does in sch. did u try asking the teachers abt it?

Re: hyperactivity

My hb was diagnosed with that when he was a kid. He went to a psychiatrist and the dr advised his mom to give him lots of activities coz he's under-challenged. Needed more activities. So to counter hyperactivity, one way is to make sure that your kids have plenty to do. Always keep them occupied, like puzzles, games etc. Challenge them. Hyperactive kids are usually smart & very curious.

Also, keep the sugar level low. Realised that my boy is more hyperactive when he had an increase in sugar intake.

RE: Huggalugs
These was laying in my cupboard for awhile. CNY took out to try for Jamie for 2nd time. Who knows it is too tight for her. Any mummies interested to get? I am letting got these two Brand New at $8 per pair (think we bought at $12+) The other one that she tried I will keep it.
Let me know if u are interested ok?

Fairy Floss
1243072.jpg

Love
1243073.jpg

SY,
Yap..I first suspect it was hyperactive. That's why I brought it up to teacher and ask her to monitor. She sms me and tell me not to worry as Jamie is just trying to get attention. She realised that following what the peers does will capture teachers' attention. Just that I find that it is a very bad habit to tear off wall display and screaming like no one biz in class.

Happy new year mummies! May the new year be Blessed with good health for everyone in the family!

SY - Wow, JH is really cute! Cephas wld chase aft spiders & lizards when he sees them. Then he'll run back when they run towards him. Quite a funny sight too!

Mamachan - Take care. Quite a dread to feel sick during the festive season.

Tracy - Do take care too. Rest well.

SSF - Wow...I wld be glaring at the kid but can't help it if it's yr fren's kid. I had a fren's 3-yr old dau who walked around my hse with a chicken drumlet in her hand. She walked into Cephas room & was doing oil pasting all over my flooring with her oily fingers! Arrrghhhh...aft they left, my helper cleaned the entire floor with detergent. Her parents allows her maid to feed her in Cephas' room. It happened last yr & it happened again this yr! I have to zip my mouth cos they are HB's old friends.

hi mommies

Sy, poor JH, have to deal with feeling itchy and so brave for not crying whilst being stung..
do you know that tabby always calls herself a bumblebee, cos of the song "i'm bringing home a baby bumblebee..."

Mamachan.. wow, are you okay? hope u get well soon!

Tracy, rest well, i was on MC for 3 months for tabby for preterm labour! Had to take nifedipine and ventolin for it...

RE: hyper active baby
tabby is quite hyper at home sometimes, but usually quite shy outside if people try and engage her.

She does empty out her toys and she's abit lazy to clean them up but lately I've been trying to encourage her to clean up her mess by singing the clean up song which she's been taught in school, actually i didn't know she knows this song, only cos I remember they used to sing this at JG, so when i sang it, she suddenly added the second part of "everyone do their share" then i realise they must be doing it in her school.

But, she isn't so hyper at school, i don't think she tears down stuff, at least no mention of this.. only thing is the teachers will say she will just run off to be on her own when she feels like it and ignore them if they want to scold her.. she's apparently quite independent.. she's the smallest in class physically and age wise i think most of them are just turning 3 (I've had 5 party invitations already this year!) but tabby's only just turned 2!

SSF
HK disney is very small, one day is sufficient. Only make sure its not a china holiday then, cos then it gets crazy. I'm going back end June.

mashy
yeah, my colleague was telling me that her niece took bananas at night and then the increase in sugar caused them to be so hyper that they couldn't sleep and she and her hb almost fainted cos they only zonked out at midnight..quite funny.

May
i guess it's a phase bah. just need to wait for it to pass?

sysac
wow your tolerance level is high. i also dun like JH to eat anywhere else in the house except the living room cos his table is there. i wouldn't be able to stand it if the kids oil paste my floor!! one thing i can't stand is oily hands....

tabbs
the itch caused him to be awake at night. anything i can put to relief the itch? he threw a big tantrum in the middle of the night again. i feel that he is using his sickness and the bee sting to throw tantrums. scolded him in the middle of the night cos i couldn't take it and he took his milk and went back to sleep...

JH surprised me yesterday by reciting all the days of the week in perfect order! i can literally see hb's jaws dropped...haha...i have been singing this song that i picked up during kidsloft on the days of the week so he memorised it while i sang and he recited all of them last night before he slept. quite funny.

sy-impressive! my boy can only repeat after me but not solo.

mashy- yes agreed with u. sugar intake shld be limited for hyperactive kids.

sysac -its my hb's good frd. moreover, kids are kids. they dun know anything. no point scolding him also. just feel bless i got maid...else i sure faint.

tabbs- yup checked the china calendar for their holidays already. so most likley mid may. i checked out the disneyland hollywood hotel. so nice! there is another one disneyland resort. do u know which is better? any recommendation?

SSF/SY

Yah, we call my boy the energizer bunny whenever he ups his sugar intake. hahaha. That day we went vivo, he ran round a pillar in the mall many many times. That's really after dinner exercise.

So peeved today. My boy had a sudden spike of high fever yesterday. Suddenly went up to 38.9 and he was shivering and crying. Refused his milk and med so had to give him suppositories. Gave him a bath but he cried all the way (which was really unusual), and rushed out when I said ok, dry up.

But after that, his fever subsided and he was back to normal (other than refusing his milk). Today he's ok too. Brought him to playgroup as usual since he's alright and didn't have other symptoms. Told his Chinese teacher abt his episode yesterday to watch out for him. But guess what. She measured his temp and said he has a fever (which was 37.3-37.4). SHe said anything above 37 is fever. Argh! My boy always have a high body temp. 37 to 37.4 is considered common. I also checked with the nurses in the PD's clinic. It's 37.5 then considered fever.

Then he kept crying (which is also normal, coz the English teacher whom he's attached to was on leave) and she said, see, he's cranky coz he's having a fever. Everytime when his English teacher goes on leave, he'll kick up a big fuss. Even yesterday, he also cried in the morning coz his English teacher wasn't ard.

Can tell that she's 'kia see'.

mashy
doesn't the teacher have any knowledge? medically, 37.4 is not considered fever. even PD will tell u that is not fever. Anyway next time u shd just tell her doc has cleared him already. then she will shut up.

i did ask PD before if JH has a fever episode, how soon can he go back to sch. he said as long as he needs no medication for fever for 24 hours, he can go back to sch. so maybe u can use that as a guideline.

SSF
yeah JH does a lot of parroting now and also he remembers what we taught him and will output it as well. got once my hb said' come on baby' and he has been saying that since. we both said so sleazy if he said that to a gal...haha

SY

thanks! hehe, then he hasn't reached the 24hrs mark. I just gave him 1 dose and a water bath and it went down. After that, he was ok and playing well.

Will monitor him today and see how.

Something very very depressing happened last nite

I arrive home earlier and Kyler was crying badly waiting for his milk or to be carried. So I quickly wash my hands and change then carry him. he was ok when carried tho a bit cranky.
SO I offer to feed Kyler milk since I'm back...
At first he is ok then later he fuss and fuss refuse to drink, then MIL came in and oei oei him.. he quieten down, then MIL walk away he start to fuss again.
then I no choice.. I ask MIL to feed see if he is ok to drink.. at first he fuss abit but later still finished his milk.
I felt soo sad lor... like so Shi bai ley...haizz
Then MIL make things worst by saying.. aiya you so noti ah, dun wan mummy feed you (aagggrrhhh....)

Still very sad... but Hb told me dun be cos he think sometimes bb just cranky and when change hand they will calm down cos it happen to kae also. Sometimes she refuse to calm down in HB hand, pass to me ok and vice versa.

mashy
no prob. think as long as they are playing well and eating ok, then no need to worry.

cookie
dun be too sad. i know how u feel. last time when jh refuse to let me feed and i hear such remarks (from my maid) i also feel very sad. u feel that as the mother u can't even feed your own child. maybe like what your hb said, when cranky, change hand will be ok.

is he very close to your MIL?

cookie
don't feel sad. as your mil is taking care of him most of the time, i think naturally, he would want your mil more than you at this stage. i am sure that it's just a phase only. my gal last time also wanted my in laws more than me.... even now, she knows who could play with her more and carry her more, she would look for the person, instead of me.

SY/Sunny
Thanks for your comforting words...I really hope it's a phase. Maybe he was just extra cranky last nite.. dunno. But I will be trying again tonight. Will try to go home early before he sleep whenever possible.
When I started work after my ML, I need to work late nites and sometimes dun get to see him at nite only in the AM a few mins..

Tho I know finally they will still know we are mummies (which explain why I not as kan cheong as last time) but I still feel sad for last nite.
It has never happen to kae before...

cookie
i know what u mean. no matter how we know that they will still be closer to mummy, it still hurts when it happens. like we make effort to rush home etc and then the kid doesn't wan us, kinda disappointing...

just try again tonight. think really impt to be there before he sleeps.

mashy-hope ur "energised bunny" gets well soon. to think of it, i dun think ur boy is so active la. i last saw him in the kidsloft and he was very well behaved.

cookie- dun be sad...my son also the same. sometimes prefer the maid to me. try again tonight and play with him before bedtime. as for ur mil, ignore la. i now has master the art of filtering her words. haha...just recently, she asked me to feed my son every 2 hrs. and i have already told her that it is a waste of milk as he dun finish it and it will just make his milk intake schedule haywire. bt she refuse to listen..keep saying that i am not giving him enough milk which is why he is so skinny. haiz! nowsaday i just nod my head and smile sheepishly at her.

re:bd bash
sorry mummies...we are planning to go away during that period for a short trip to malacca as its my hb bd on the 4th mar. enjoy yourselves with the grown up tots!

cookie,
*sayang* dun feel sad. sometimes babies also know how to choose people. as they grow up, they will tend to stick to mummy, esp for boys. so jus a matter of time.

SY,
i'm also thinking to convert Meg to booster cushion when #2 comes along. But i think booster cushion is at least 15kg. Now she is only about 12kg. Hopefully she can meet the minimum height.

SSF
My co allow yahoo messager but block webmail and MSN.
My #2 also very skinny ley.. maybe it run in the blood, my babies dun have thunder thigh one..
yeah I will try again. SO far last nite was the only nite Kyler fuss like that, never ebfore. maybe he was really too pek chek liao.
Really pray it gets better...

Tracy
Hee Thanks... I really hope sooo.
Thanks all for your comforting words...

When I tell hb, he cannot understand one ley..hiya

SSF

Hahha, my boy well-behaved? Then it must be one of his good days. Ask any mommies here who attended the JG with him. I actually consider him a good boy already, except that he has tons of energy and a curious mind. I've seen worse. At least he doesn't anyhow throw tantrums and beat others.

That day I went to TOys R Us. There's 2 boys from 2 different families crying away. Seems that they were screaming for their parents to buy toys for them. One of the mother smiled when she saw her screaming boy and told the husband to just pay for it. Gosh! Dunno what she's trying to encourage. Somehow she made me think that she's a mistress, that's why want the son to squeeze dry her lover instead of teaching him the right thing. Well, the 2 boys all succeeded in getting their parents to buy the toys.

haha, told my boy that even if the toy cost 5c, i also will not buy for him if he behaved that way.

CL,
I feel it is tight for her.. she kept pulling it. And the elastic make her flesh looks like Bao Ba Zhang (dumpling). I will pass the Fairy Floss to you then.

RE: Huggalugs
Anyone interested in the LOVE design?

Hi SSF,

I went to HK last Sep and stay in the Disney Hotel. It is smaller and more cosy. I like the look of the hotel. I feel the Hollywooy one looks more like a flat. But think Hollywood is more popular and kiddish cos they have cartoon chrarcter greeting you during breakfast... Disney hotel itself is more romactic type.........

It was very near Ashley's birthday then and they upgrade us to the kingdom club. i think room size still the same except it is on the highest floor, free snacks at 7pm onwards for you to watch the fireworks from far.

Hi mashy,

haha, my hubby has this problem....... he likes to buy toys for my gals whenever we step into Toys R us........ He tell me it's very poor thing for them to be able to see but not able to buy...... i almost faint. Told him that he is spoiling the kids.......

Yuki

Toys R Us is just a beginning. Once you cultivate the habit of going in means must buy, then next time when they're older, whenever they want something, they expect to have it. If she goes to a branded store, then do you buy her a $5k bag? If she visits a car showroom, do u buy her a car? When she sees the guy that she likes next time, will she expect to get him? Disappointments along the way helps to build strength and character.

I agree that your hb is spoiling the kids. He's paving problems for himself & them in future.

I've known pp who get things their way all their life. Once they met with difficulties, they couldn't handle it.

Hi mashy,

I agree. Hubby think since can afford, can buy......to me it's not a matter of affordability. LIke what you say, $0.05 i also won;t buy.

Now seeing the house so messy, he learns not to buy them too much toys......haha. Once ashley walk into Kiddy Palace and wanted a toy car and hubby ask me if can buy. To my horror, it is those big toy car and it cost $200 plus! Told him no! Plus no enough space at home to park the car, don;t mention to ride the car!

When Ashley was young, she being the only grandchild, my MIL also buys everything she wants. After a while she realise Ashely don't treasure her things so she stopped. It comes to a point ashley knows exactly who to ask for things when this bad mummy refuse to buy for her.

My sister has just asked if i like to buy a computer game for ashley... think it cost $200 plus... saw a lot of kids playing them during CNY..small and handy...a game boy or something. Told my sister i don;t trust ashley with such a expensive toy so it's a definite NO No. Hubby think it's good for her to play game as they will be more alert etc. I said she is already playing computer games and i think it;s good enough.

Expensive Toy
during the reunion dinner, my elder boy saw his cousin own a PSP so he kept asking me and HB to get one for him.
and HB said "NO"...guess what on the second day of CNY, we weree at AMK again..and happen to pass buy a shop having promotion.
He was the first one : Let's go up and have a look..see how is the promotion like...OMG.
End up he still buy for my elder boy. but we set term and condition with him..eg. He can only play during weekend or school holiday.
And also I am going to deduct from his Ang Po

Yuki
Since you open a can of worm..heehee..Personally...I'm totally against game boy/PSP for kids ley. I saw my niece/nephew playing all the time, even at unappropriate times, having lunch, walking, singing birthday songs, Even when pple try to talk to them, they ignore and totally engross in playing.
I certainly cannot accept my kids grow up with that attitude! it is also the parents teaching that play a main role I have to admit. They should teach when they are allow to play when to stop.
I was talking to my hb 2 weeks back, tho I cannot confirm if I will change my view in future but right noe I'm totally against those handy computer games and will not buy them. Oh not forgetting.. I bet those handy computer games will strain our kids eye sight more than ever. One more bad points to add :p

Then my HB challenge me by saying..then how about COmputer games, ok? if they play PC game at least they will be happy to stay home and not wonder on the street during their teens year rite? This is debateable I guess.. I hasnt think so far yet but my hb is a big fan of PC gaming and true enough, he rather stay home then hang out at the Night spot on weekends, that make him a homely person and I Thank God for that

Babylon
Must really set term and condition!!!
I suspect in time to come, it will be my hb who will relent to buy these gaming stuff for the kids... definitely not me..haha

Hi Babylon and Cookie,

My cousin shared that she regreted buying the gameboy for her 8 year old gal......played non stop and at every interval.......even in restaurant while waiting for food, the child will complain of being bored and take it out to play........

I guess it is really unhealthy to do so. How do kids build up their social skills or patience etc......... I am not against playing these games but i think the parents must control the playing times and maybe not let the child bring the game out.