(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL
how true..... after reading the story, made me feeling guilty.

esther
does leroy still cry for you to carry him every night?? wish he has a speedy recovery!

babylon
oh no... got to arm yourself with lots of med. in case damien's running nose does not get any better. a fren just back from genting and he said the weather up there is cold and lots of fog.

re:<font color="ff0000">2nd Birthday Bash!!</font>

Date: 26 Jan 2008 (Sat)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: TBC

1) Chicken Little
2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
13) Sysac
14) God's child
15) SSF
16) Rach - 2 adults + 1 child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

<font color="0000ff">Volunteers pls!
committee:-
1. Treasurer: esther, Rach.
2. Game/Activity Team: Tabb, MamaChan
3. Display Team: Rach,
4. F &amp; B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

We need more helping hands in the game/activity and display team.

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!</font>

Happy BD to all the babies!

Rachel - Nice story. Love it very much. Thanks! We need all these reminders as we always take time for granted. I donated through a friend for nourish the children already.

Durianlover - Wishing u smooth delivery! Happy New Yr in advance! Take care!

re:2nd Birthday Bash!!

1) Chicken Little
2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
13) Sysac - 2 adults + 1 child
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!

1) Chicken Little - 2 adults + 2 child
2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!

Durianlover,
Smooth Delivery Tomorrow and Happy New Year to you too.

Happy Birthday Keenan and Tabby.

Haven been posting lately due to busy work at year end, but I've browsed thru quickly everyday.

Happy Birthday to all the babies!

Durianlover,
Praying for you for a smooth delivery!!

Esther,
Hope Leroy is feeling better and will recover soon!

2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther
21) Tracy - 2 adults + 1 child

Volunteers pls!

It's our bb's birthday months! Happy Birthday Keenan and Tabby! Just celebrated my boy's with my parents yesterday and today will be going with my ILs. This yr celebrate 3 times. hahaha.

What's display team ah? Anyway, i put my name down for games/activity.

2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!
2. Game/Activity Team: Tabb, MamaChan, Mashy

aiya, I also want to go to the birthday bash lei but don't know can cope with 2 kids or not. my young one will be just 1 mth and 6 days old on 26 Jan.

Durianlover,
hope that you have a smooth delivery. u will be able to see your baby very soon.

RE. Bday Bash
So sad... I think I cannot go cos have to work from till 3pm that day.

Durianlover,
Have a smooth delivery! The cycle of breastfeeding and almost sleepless nights starts again... so rest well while you can and take care!

Thanks for your well-wishes! Ya can't imagine that the cycle of breastfeeding and sleepless nights are starting all over again!!

RE: bday bash
Sounds fun! Too bad i won't be able to join in coz i'd still be on confinement. Hmmm unless i 'sneak' out with Janelle...hmmm...

2) Mashy
3) SY
4) sl
5) MamaChan - 2 adults + 1 child
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

Just want to introduce a book.
I came across this book titled: "Einstein Never Used Flash Cards" by chance and borrowed it from the library. It's a really good book written by 3 child psychologists.

It's about how nowadays babies, toddlers and children are being put through rote learning and memorizing with the use of flash cards and videos instead of learning in context and through play. A lot info on various scientific studies and psychological findings to show that babies/toddlers who are exposed to flash cards / videos and memory classed do not necessary grow up to be more intelligent. There are also several suggested activities to help kids enjoy learning through exploration instead.

Go borrow the book from the library to read or buy it from bookstores if you have the time. I think the book helps to put children learning in perspective.

Found a website on this book:
http://www.udel.edu/ILP/einstein/index.html

Happy birthday to all the Dec babies! the mummies in the forum really have good memory. me losing track of whose birthday on which date...

2) Mashy
3) SY - 3 adults + 1 child
4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

i give my headcount first but haven inform hb of this activity yet...

queen
actually today's papers also has this comment by an early childhood educator abt what she thinks abt the benefits of going to classes so early. i guess there's always pros and cons of everything. just how we balance it? there was this mother who sends her one year old boys to class 6 hours 5 days a week, and on weekend more and more classes! the best part is, she's a housewife so i m wondering how that leaves her time to spend with her sons...

queen/sy
Actually, I was doing a SB page layout last night on pictures of D laughing heartily while playing stack the blocks and I decided on the title of that layout to be called as "Play Is Elementary". Coz from what I observed, he learns best via playing which should be a big part of their growing up years. From stacking his lego-like blocks of different colors, I would just count how many blocks he stacks on and name the different colors. Over time, he's able to follow suit and count along with me and name the colors on his own now.

I really believe in letting them learn at their own pace and time and just love and nurture them in the ways that are best and most suited for them at this age. Even for the alphabets, instead of feeling "stressed" over if he knows his ABCs, I decided to "teach" him the phonetic way, rather than just saying that 'A' is "A", I'll make the sound of the letter instead when he points to letters out of interest, especially after he watched the LeapFrog Letter Factory DVD a couple times, other than that, won't purposely go and test him or grab D to sit with me and read.

This morning when I showed him the layout I did (more to show his laughing pics and the colorful buttons used), he pointed to the letter 'S' and made the 'sssss' sound while attempting to rip off the alphabet. And he pointed to the letters forming the word 'Elementary', and making each and every letter sounds accurately. Now, I know he "reads" from right to left!! And after that, proceeded to name the diferent colored buttons by himself. I was just awe-strucked how much could be learnt via playing.

Mamachan,
That's good! I also don't much believe in flashng cards, though I have to admit that sometimes, I wonder Isaac is losing out when I don't send him to classes at all or do flash cards (especially those Shicida or Glenn Domann etc) with him cos I have a lot of friends who send their kids to such classes or uses the materials at home. Isaac just doesn't seem to like flash cards. He loves books though, so I stuck to reading with him (now he's really into Thomas &amp; Friends books and I have recently introduce Dr. Seuss books). He also likes to play with whatever he can get his hands on in the house. He surprised me a few months ago by opening the kitchen cabinet and took out the condensed milk cans and lined them up in a row or stacking them and started counting to himself, 1, 2, 3 and so on... though he didn't really get the order right at that time (he went, 1,2,3,4,6,8, left out 5 &amp; 7). But I was just so surprised that he could just find something that are so mundane and 'invent' a counting game by himself. Just yesterday, I read in the book that babies has a innate sence of numeracy and there is no need for special coaching to enhance the numerical ability. The ability evolves by itself through daily activities. It's more important for us to teach them the meaning and value of 'quantity' rather than flashing cards with dots cos they may memorise and associate the numbers to the dots without understanding the concept of counting and quantity. Very interesting...

re:<font color="ff0000">2nd Birthday Bash!! </font>

2) Mashy
4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

<font color="0000ff">Volunteers pls! </font>
3. Decor Team: Rach,

<font color="0000ff">Happy 2nd Birthday to all Dec toddlers!!!</font>

queen/mamachan
totally agree with you ladies =) I had 3 stacks of blank flash cards but just simply lazy to fill them up with words and dots! normally i will teach dylan through play, games and daily housework. he loves to draw and from there i teach him countings and others. like isaac, he loves to line things up too =p he can count and identify 0 to 20 and 20 to 0, of cos in between he will skip numbers like 7, 11, 13, 17 or at times will wait for me to say them for him before he continue with the next number.. can say and link quite a few alphabets now too. was playing with him on an activity book before he have his milk, brushing his teeth and put him to bed. really fun to learn with him and witness how fast he pick things up!

queen/rachel
Yes, it's the everyday mundane things that they learn from. I would count with D the no. of steps that we go up and down on whenever we go out, but there's only 8 steps, so I've yet to try counting up to 20 =P. In fact, I think their mind should be used more for imaginative play. In the instance I shared with some moms before that D transformed his blocks and whatever small balls into a game of snooker/pool and uses a big empty coke bottle as his cue stick. And then few days later, he would pretend that the bottle is his baseball bat and then later, becomes a golf club. It's really fun to watch how innovative he can get and transform the daily items into "real" play items.

Flash Cards
While I thought it as no harm to try on them and I've borrowed from a gf her 2 sets of flash cards which I didn't really show D, I was thinking in the toilet this morning after being awed that he recognizes letters with the respective sounds, it's more effective in helping to read this way than flash cards. And it just brought me back to remembering how my mom helped me in my spelling by teaching me the sounds of the alphabets and the vowels, so that by speaking a certain word, I would try to remotely spell by matching the sounds/syllables....hmmmm interesting....anyway, I think now that as adults, we still turn out quite alright without all these revolutionalized methods that was developed over the past decade.

hi mommies

thanks for all the birthday wishes for tabby!

i had such a tiring day with her.. and she is pretty pooped today!

Queen,

I've heard of that book! But, never had a chance to read it.

I guess we have find our own technique for teaching our kids, cos each kid learns so differently. I find my son responds so differently to the same stimulus i gave my daughter.

Like my daughter enjoyed baby einstein and baby can read videos, but my son just can't be bothered with it.

Maybe some kids just respond better to the flash card techniques, and others learning thro play. Also, i guess as parents we also adopt whatever techniques we were exposed to when we were kids.

Re: Flashcards

haha, I'm also one of those who bought but end up didn't use. Ya, agree that flashcards are not necc. And the old Chinese saying goes : Xiao Shi Liao Liao, Da wei bi jia. (U may be smart when young, but not necc so when u grow up)

queen
thanks for the recommendation of the book. will check it out.

mashy
^5, i also bought the flashcards, but too lazy to do it.

mamachan
ya, we also do the counting when we walk up the staircase or take the lift. my gal can now recite 1-20 in mandarin and 1-10 in english though she doesn't recognise the numbers well. haha....
thru activities and plays, i believe that kids can absorb faster.

mashy
my hb is a firm believer of that chinese saying....he always use it whenever i say i wan to send JH for classes haha...

re flashcards
i tried doing before but gave up when JH just starts snatching from me. now no more energy to do with him already.

JH also started to play more independently yesterday. he started to play by himself and was talking non stop to himself. me and hb just sat one side to observe him and we couldn't stop laughing.

sigh, our kids are growing up so fast. i really miss the days he is young. nowadays he will tell me he no need me sometimes and ask me to go away. lucky i m going to have number 2 or else i sure find it hard to get use to the phase that my kid doesnt need me anymore.

SY

My boy has been playing independently for the longest time already and he already indicated that he doesn't want me either long before. SO must say you're very lucky for JH to hang ard with u for this long.

sunny
So smart! my boy can't even talk, let alone count. His words are still amen, bubbles, dark, cold, di-ah (dear-that's how he calls me).

mashy
I think jh makes it hard for me to get used to him not wanting me cos he was needy for a long time. told my hb i will feel the void once he starts to be independent. he always tell me things like mama sit, mama play etc so now when he says mama go, i can't get used to it.

this morn i told him he will be going to sch and i cannot be there with him, he immediately cried and asked me to come with him. felt like tearing too...sigh

Happy New Year mummies!
Reflecting on my 2007, it has been very busy and meaningful. Got a new job in Jan after retrenchment. Gave birth to my second son in Aug and I finally did what I wanted to do so for a long time which is to do LASIK! haha...now my vision is a perfect 10. so happy that i no longer need to look for my glasses or wear lenses anymore. And best still, I manage to convince my hb to change job which no longer requires to travel. hb also recently started his own co to do programming for the banking sector as a side line. Praying that the years ahead will be an exciting one to come..but of coz not with a surprise no 3. hahaha...

re: birthday bash
sorry couldnt help out this yr as I will be busy with 2 little ones. i can however try to go early and help out in the deco or anythg else
let me know.

Sy - heart pain ya. i can feel that. sometimes, caleb cries too when i told him mummy need to go work. and he immediately hug me and say no no...mummy bao bao. i am thinking of enrolling caleb to a playgrp nearby too to get him to be independent. hb 's new job will be flexible...so he can sit in with him for a start. hopefully it will work out.

2) Mashy
4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
15) SSF -3 adults + 2 child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

SSF
sounds like the new year will be even more exciting for u!

anyone interested in getting pineapple tarts and peanut cookies? my sis got a lobang. she tried both and she says they are very nice. asking her to get me the details and pic if possible. may be able to get some samples as well. will post more details when she gets back to me.

RE: Birthday Bash
I will need to confirm hb's attendance again. Cos he will be having reservist. Might turn up with my mum and Jamie instead. Will volunteer once confirm.

Mamachan,
I also same same as u.. count steps. Now Jamie will follow me to count from 1 to 10. But she can continue by herself if I stop at seven. She will proceed to say 8,9,10 herself.

hi hi ... I'm having more troubles with K these days ... trying to cope with his hyperactiveness... really hyper as he can't even sit still for a min, and just last nite, he woke up 4 times (every hr from 2.30 to 5.30), and I just do not know if he's been too active in the day or having nightmares ...

abt learning n flashcards, etc... I find as the child gets older, u can really see if the kid's talents ... CL, do u agree? I can see that my fren's son who's 4-going-5 is gifted but he's really hyper, but my #1 is more "lao-shi" but he's not seen to be having high IQ. I'm happier to be dealing with mine actually. Now, I'm slowly getting concerned if K is hyper in that way, coz his mind is working quite differently from his brother's ....

On Birthday Bash (or rather decor), I'm contemplating doing a spree for Birthday Direct since my 2 boys birthdays are in the coming weeks ... maybe can consider getting for the decor, Rachel, u keen?

.ky.

ky,
currently i cannot confirm what we gonna do on the decoraton on our bash. yet to have a discussion with the committee. personally, i find if we want to get stuff from Birthdat direct spree, it is going to cost us quite abit.

Hey mummies - Wishing all of you a Happy &amp; Blessed 2008! May all that you plan/wish for be fulfilled in the new year ahead.

Reflection - Yes, indeed a hectic later half of year for me but a fulfilling one. As I take stock of 2007, I am thankful to be surrounded with my loved ones and to have made friends with you

2008 will be a new beginning for me in career as well. I got a new posting abt a month back. Will still be in the same unit but in a different department dealing with bigger &amp; newer things. Wish me luck!

Update - Still driving me replacement car. Pray for me that I will get me car back in the 1st week of the new year &amp; that all insurance claims will be smmoth

2) Mashy - 2 adults + 1 child
4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

SY

So envious of u! My boy is hardly needy. How i wish he's more needy and cry for me more. Hehe, evil mummy.

When I go out, he will wave bye bye to me. The only times when he will cry for me is when my hb and him are outside the door and he'll wonder why i'm not following. Coz he's so used to the 3 of us going out together, that he finds it strange when he goes out with daddy or mummy alone.

But he doesn't mind when he goes out with his grandma without me.

Mommies
Wishing you and all at home a healthy, happy and fruitful 2008.

RE: Flash Card
I guess it depends on which school of thought you belong to. Those that are anti-GD/Shicida feel that they just program the brain to recognise what's in the card (e.g. for GD, at a glance the bb can tell how many dots are there) and will stifle creativity. But at the end of the day, I guess it depends on the personality of the kid, rigid learning is suitable for some whilst others will do better with free play.

Queen
You don't have to feel pressurise do flash card with Isaac just becos your frens are doing it. More importantly, is must be something that both you and Isaac enjoy doing together. For me, I’m sending Mel to school more becos I want her to learn how to socialise and care/share with others, plus she’s getting too active at home so helps to give my mom some rest time.

KY
Someone ever told me that inquisitive kids tend to be more active kids..I'm hoping is true cos Mel is very active too....haha

SSF
Ya, indeed an eventful 2007 for you. Hope 2008 will be even more fruitful.

Sysac
Hope your 2008 wishes come true

4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie
12) bblon
14) God's child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
19) Flo - 2 adults + 1 child
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

Hb is tentatively not working on that day, hopefully his roster doesn't change.

Mongs,
Don't worry, just join us. I'm sure there are lots of mommies and daddies around to help to keep an eye on Clariss

4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie - 3 adults + 2 child
12) bblon
14) God's child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!

Congrats to Durianlover

Her little princess Janine Lee Yi Ting arrived at 1.06 pm on 31 Dec 07. 3.155 kg , 50 cm tall and looks like Janelle

Hi Mummies,.

Happy New Year to your mummies....
Happy Birthday to Tabitha and Keenan

CL, Rena
Happy Birthday to your boys

Durianlover,.
Congrat for your little princess...

Mashybrain
Tomorrow is your boy birthday

Happy Birthday ....he and Gracie are going to "2"

Halo Mummies

A Happie New Year to all! 2007 has been flying past and now our babies are so grown up... may 2008 be an even greater and better year for all of u

Durianlover - Congrats on arrival of princess Janine! take care and post some pics when u can

Happie Bdae to Caeden and Gracie...

4) sl
6) Aileen
7) sunny
8) cheng
9) Maywong
10) Krissie
11) Cookie - 3 adults + 2 child
12) bblon
14) God's child - 2adults + 1 child
17) tabbiesus
18) Linda
20) Esther

Volunteers pls!
3. Decor Team: Rach,God's child

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"> Happy New Year to all and Greetings to your toddlers as they move on to their 2nd year milestones</font></font>

1173603.gif