(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Lizard in steamboat but restaurant uncle says 'it's nothing'

1122678.jpg

Student Rella, 19, and seven friends were enjoying steamboat at a restaurant in Marina South when this lizard showed up in the soup.

'One of its feet was gone and its tail was semi-detached!' she said in an email today (21 Nov).

The STOMPer said they had dinner at the restaurant on 17 Nov, persuaded by a 'friendly uncle' at the entrance.

'Happily chitchatting and having fun cooking. Eight of us, two steamboat sets,' she said.

'At about 8pm, just as a guy was about to empty the rest of the raw sotongs (half of these sotongs were already cooked and eaten) into the steamboat, we realised there was a dead lizard in the plate!

The STOMPer said they called for the staff who asked his niece to talk to them.

'A lady came. We showed her the plate of lizard. She immediately took the plate away. When she came back, I asked her what's to be done. She replied in a rather rude tone 'you want I change the soup for you la'.'

The STOMPer called a friend for advice. 'He told us to ask for compensation as we hadn't had our fill of the food, and that the disgusting sight had made our stomach spin,' she said.

'What can be done on your side? How would you compensate?' I asked.

'The lady stared into my eyes and said 'Compensation? NO WAY ! You want, I will change the soup for you. That's all'.

'People from the other table came to me and told us we should get compensation, and that the lady looked really aggressive,' she said.

'We decided to get the uncle who first invited us in since he was so friendly and assured us of the best food we can get (I hope the best food he referred to wasn't that lizard).

'The uncle came and heard our explanation. His attitude changed too. He stuttered. He said we might have been the ones who put that lizard into the food. (What a thing to say!)

'He even added that 'Lizard is nothing. We used to have cockroaches and even rats too. Nobody complained what'.

'A lady from the table next to us came up to me and told us to report the case, saying that the lizard might be poisonous if eaten. We tried contacting Ministry of Health that night, but it was already closed.'

The STOMPer said the manager refused to budge, and said 'you all got food poisoning then come find me la'.

The STOMPer asked for her namecard and got her to sign on it, below the words 'There was a dead lizard in the plate of raw sotongs'.

'She thought for awhile and signed. We thought we needed some witnesses in case she denies everything. We got the contact numbers of people sitting at the tables next to us who saw everything.'

The STOMPer said stiff action should be taken against the restaurant. 'We certainly do not want to know what lizard's tail tastes like with sotong,' she said.

Chillies - So yuckky to find a lizard! Eeeekkksss...

Mummies - Cephas went for his 2yo check up yesterday. Funny boy kept telling me " I dun wan to see Dr." then when he was the Dr, he went " Good morning, Dr. What u doing?" Kept smiling and said "Cold cold nice nice..."when the Dr placed the stethescope to check him.

Well, he's 12.5kg, 86.1cm tall & has no allergies aft the skin prick test results were completed. Another 4 cm & I'll have to buy him the ez link card already

hi mummies..being MIA for some time. as usual this thread never fails to have so many postings. haha..in a way its good and alive! i am also busy doing xmas shopping. last i went was centrept after work, and it was so quiet. managed to buy most of the presents for the old and young. but for my 2 sons, its still pending as i know if i were to buy in front of Caleb, he will want to open it when we reach home. haha...also lately he has been insisting we buy the toys which he fancied and if we take him away, he will cry the whole mall down. so mad at times with him. any of your kids behave the same way too? now we are so scared to bring him into the toy dept.

re: potty training
wow so many kids are already potty trained. so clever! sad to say, caleb is still not on. guess re-training has to begin. heehee..

mamapanda - ariene is so guai on the flight. enjoy urself and do

sysac,
the allergy test.. why did u choose to let Cephas take the test?
I wanted to go for the test myself previously but my GP advised me againist it.

chillies
i got the see saw from ikea. quite fun.

i have this doggie bag with leash. sounds quite bad but have u tot of using it for your boy? i tried on JH before and he actually likes it.

do u give DHA to him? i find that sincd JH started on DHA, he coughs much less and seldom for sick.

sysac
how come cephas need to take skin prick test?

SSF
hmm, JH does that at times but he is overall quite good. when we were at ikea and he was happily playing with this push trolley, i took it away from him cos i wanted to go else where. i carried him up and put him in his stroller. of cos he cried and was struggling but i distracted him with something and he stopped crying. i guess we must be quick to distract. worse come to worse, just bring him away from the toy. i was prepared to just quickly push him elsewhere. once distracted, he is ok. he even managed to say bye to the pple there.

Sep03bride - Rem Hb & I have allergies & so Cephas was on the probiotics project at NUH when he was born. The study was until 2 yrs old but just got extended til 5 yrs old. One of the requirements is to test if he has allergies every yr because his chances of having allergies is highter becaos of Hb & I. That's why the skin prick test.

SY - Same reason I gave Sep03bride. He was placed on this program when he was born aft HB & I were found to have allergies when I was pregnant. It's a test to see if probiotics intro to babies from birth onwards helps prevent allergies as back then (2005), S'pore only sold FM with probiotics aft 6 mths onwards whereas it was from birth onwards in some other countries (can't rem where liao).

We agreed to the program as we'll get the report of the study as well as know if Cephas had the FM with probiotics for his 1st 6 mths.

SY - the see-saw looks interesting! space contraint else i also will like to play on it :p

Re: HK pics of celeste
Mummies, chare 2 pics of Celeste at HK disney

1122892.jpg
1122893.jpg

SY,
How much is the see saw?

God's Child,
Celeste is so good in posing. Can she still rem what happened in Disney? I wanted to bring Jamie there but hb say she is too young to rem all these.

may

they'll be too young at this age to remember anything when they grow up. So take lots of pic to remind them next time. They'll remember better with that. My friends' kids couldn't remember they went Gold Coast movie world when they're like early pri school. They thought they went USA.

It's not remembering the place that's important. It's the happy times spent together with the family that's more important. I can't even remember much of my sec school days but i remembered some of the friends and silly things we did.

re see saw
it is $79. actually not that big. maybe i shd take a pic of it agst something so that it will be more obvious.

sysac
yeah i think quite a few studies show that probiotics helps with allergies. hopefully the study will be helpful.

glad that cephas got no allergies

May
even if they can't remember, i still think it is the experience that counts. as the parent u will remember it even if they forget.

i m trying to plan for one more trip before number 2 comes so that JH can go on yearly trips.

God'schild - Wow wee...Celeste looks like a model

SY - Yep yep...glad that he does not have allergies...all documented down in his medical booklet.

Travelling - Yes, agree that though the kids may not rem, the parents will & it will also helps parents cope with travelling with the kids.Can't wait for my Yr 1 to end then going to plan a holiday with Cephas.

May,
If you want the kid to remember has to be 3 years old. Charmaine can remember everywhere she goes from her first trip at 3 years old.

Aden's last trip I think he gets more awareness on mickey and will say "mouse mouse". Dun think he knows he actually sat in a plane.

God's child
Nice pics. Ha ha I think i never look at the pavement to see the logo of mickey. Nice nice

Hi SY ... I just came back the bookfest. It's huge, ie space huge, got some stuff as usual but not as much as the past. saw a lot of books with audio CDs and got 1 to try... hm, what r u looking for? laminators are very cheap but not the laminating pouches, I'm looking at stuff more for teaching at home. a lot of assessment books but generally from 3 yr onwards.

I wanted to bring the boys to see looney tunes but the show is just 15 mins so really not worth it... but if u want, go by this sun, it's until then.

btw, has anyone gone for the ice-skating show at central? Is it good?

.ky.

KY

rE: book fair

ah u went already! I wanted to go down but my pump in style advanced broke down.. the inner diaphragm cracked so i panicked today and went to down to Mumsnbabes to rent a pump for a couple of months whilst i get mine fixed. I wanted to get the SEI scrapbooks from popular.. very cheap!

Did u see any kumon workbooks. I really like the coloring series for 2 year olds.. so thinking of getting more.

So paiseh about the cds I owe u.. will pass to u this weekend. I am having a bit of trouble burning the on the go one, but i'm going to try and do it at work so it should be ok.

Mongs/ god'schild
can sms me or pm me your address. My supplier didn't keep a copy.

Of course the trip was a good bonding for father and daughter too. Pic plus a page i scrap for the 2 of them when they went for the grand prix at Ocean park

1123443.jpg
1123444.jpg

SY,
went IKEA recently din see though.

We giving COD liver but recently aunt said he not very cooperative in taking it.

I hv a "teng tiao". It used to be a wooden spoon and now i bought the real thing. Actually wanted to use it to hook keys once I got stuck outside. It works at times when he's notti and I used to threathen him. but when we are out knows I do not hv it. Thats where the headache will come!

SYAC,
90cm need ezlink card? I din know....but they seems rather young to be paying communters... :p

CL,
Like your scrap

Hi KY, SY and Tabbieus,
I went to bookfest too. The following is my review. Agree to KY, not as good as the chinese world book fair where each organiser has its pavilion. English books are not as cheap as those i have seen during bookfair in singapore expo. Chinese books for toddlers are quite comprehensive but not as impressive as chinese book fair. But I would say tis book fair is quite well organised esp the chinese section for kids so quite easy to find books.
FOr kumon books, elm tree is selling at $10 and I have seen other places selling at $8.But if u looking for activity books many cheaper options available.
Ky, wat time were u there? I was there from abt 4 to 8pm. BTW, I was at the acalliz sale last weekend. Sorry din see ur msg before I went. I find the sale not fantastic. More suitable for older child. I managed to get alot of IQ games for my boy. I did enquire abt the montessori stuff and find their pricing really ex! The only set i got was the red and number rods set which they sold me at $24 and I found a place selling at 14 onli! Anyways, I am tinking of making spindle rods. Any idea where i can get the container for it?

HI mashy brainz,
kinderland YCK.YOu enrolled ur child for the childcare or kindergarten side. My boy was in the prenursery class in the kindergaten side for one week and i withdraw him.

Hi Denmy,
Did the chinese teacher contact u with regards to the collection of chinese books?

Hi may,
My boy went disney went he was ard 20mths and he can rem many things even till now. I occasionally show him picturs of the trip and he can remember veri well what happened during the trip.

Jamom,
The shipment for the books will only arrive this weekend so reaches teacher probably beginning next week. She will pack and advise collection once she is done.

Impressed with your son. Ha ha I think Aden dun, ha ha must try and ask him. Ha ha the problem is he cannot talk well now.

Cheng,
Ha ha I din see that pics of Aidan hugging Aden. Ha ha I think the 2 of them are in better relationship in Hong Kong then now. Now Aidan is fighting with Aden for Charmaine.

Chillies
Thanks for your appreciation of my scrap. Ha ha my scrap quite standard one not much variation.

Ya ezlink card has to purchase when they exceed 90 cm. Ha ha I think Aden sure exceeed but I just carry him so dun think they will ask him to come down and check. Anyway, Charmaine gets away very often and she is close to 120 cm

CL/Cheng
the pics are so nice and inviting. Makes me so wanna go to HK.

tabb
just to confirm, the potluck is for us adults plus kids right? another alternative is to order pizza to share too.

RE: Holiday
Hmm.. seem like I need to psycho my hb already. Feel like going HK for holiday. But now winter right. I heard it is better to go during summer.

jamon,
teacher will deliver the books to me.. I combine orders w cookie. actually, do u want her to send yours to my place too? then I can pass them to you at chiltern.

sy, cookie,
btw, I signed keenan up for 2 day/week 2hr playgroup for next term at chiltern big splash. the teacher is William, supposed to be quite good, award-winning.

ky,
re: POEA
yes, can be done in Philippines. the poea office is at manila airport. that's where my helper went to get hers. you only need that and her contract to leave her country. its 1000 pesos (900peso for poea cert; 100peso for OWWA membership).

tabbs, mummies,

my hb says he will be Santa!!! but he says costume must be realistic, a in hair & beard must be all white.... tabbs u getting the costume?

can I check the baby porridge is for the babies or toddlers?

Gift Exchange & Pot Luck - 22 Dec

Gift exchange: I'm ok to bring a gift :>

Let me start the ball rolling on the food list lah
1) Chicken Little - Onigiri for the kids ( Rice ball with pigeon baby food)
2) krissie - chicken wings
3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
5) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge
6) denmy- sandwiches

HI HI CL,
My boy veri big already la. Now 4 can speak veri well already. My girl jan 06 child dun have the luxury to go for any holiday.....sigh...gotto wait till i deliver and baby is ard 1.

HI CL and Denmy,
thanks for letting me know coz me cannot wait to get my hands on the books le. Want to get them started before the new school term start and my baby's arrival. BTW quite alot of the chinese IQ books can be found in the bookfest and 20% off.

Thanks CL for recommending her. She really gave me alot of inspiration when it comes to teaching chinese.

Thanks Denmy for offering to topang the barang but yu dan mention that she has some chinese character cards and so will drop by her place to take a look.

HI mashybrainz,
Will pm u my reason.

anyone keen in signing up for music classes at siempi whitesands? I am looking at saturday class ard 2. Currently there is a slot at 12.30 pm but wanted something later to coincide with my son's violin class at 2pm. They introduce keyboard at 2 yr old age but at veri slow pace so it is more for music appreciation. I have attended program at kindermusik, mac and mandeville. I still prefer siempi's program.

CL
ha...good friends go through hugs and fights :p

Hmm...Aidan can remember the fireworks and Mickey Mouse - he was quite into Mickey when he came back - the show, toys etc. But now, interest died off a bit already.

HK weather
Actually, I think it's quite nice to go in Oct - weather is cooling (if it does not rain :p)

Denmy
Is there a new Chiltern branch at Big Splash? Me thinking of Rightstart at Tumble Tots for Aidan.

Cheng,
Yes, its a new branch at the newly refurbished Big Splash. You can call up Forum JG to 'chop' a space. Just tell them you were from this terms playgroup. Apparently they have 2 classes for playgroup during weekdays: Mon & Wed 9am under some lady teacher OR Tues & Thurs, under William.

Jamon,
Lesson time is 9 to 11am, not 9.30... heehee

Cheng,
Forgot to add: Don't go Tumbletots at Parkway. They not very professional... Fly our (cookie & myself) kite when we were supposed to go for a trial class last month!! When we go tthere they were shut... no call or anything from them!!!!

Gift Exchange & Pot Luck - 22 Dec

Let me start the ball rolling on the food list lah
1) Chicken Little - Onigiri for the kids ( Rice ball with pigeon baby food)
2) krissie - chicken wings
3) sl - fruits
4) cheng - fruit jelly
5) tabbiesus - drinks and baby porridge
6) denmy- sandwiches
7) Flo - cupcakes

may

actually don't like HK in summer. Too hot and rainy. It's very hot and humid in summer. Worse than in Spore. Esp coz most walkways are not sheltered. Also that's the typhoon period. I went in June before. Hated it. Winter still better.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Hello Mommies!!</font></font>

Sorry to interrupt....i have brought in a few very nice Disney Rompers and other apparels in the BP thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1118857.html?1197621888

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">All are authentic Disney apparels from HK. Designs not available here. Stocks are limited!</font></font>

Do visit the thread and check out the rompers for your babies for this <font color="ff0000">Xmas/CNY</font> festive seasons! Thanks for your support of this BP!!

RE: BUMWEAR
Oh no.. realised that Jamie has outgrown her Bumwear. She just learnt how to toilet train today..Out of 8 times, she has got 7 times correct. But her bumwear is too difficult to fasten and pull down already. Any mummies interested to take over before I put it to the marketplace for sale?

SIZE: MEDIUM
<table border=1><tr><td>Size</TD><TD>Waist</TD><TD>Leghole</TD><TD>Rise </TD></TR><TR><TD>M</TD><TD>40 - 50 cm</TD><TD>24 - 34 cm</TD><TD>23 cm </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
1) RED - Worn twice ($7)
2) ORANGE - Worn once ($10)
3) TURQUOISE - NEVER worn nor wash ($15)
4) 5 Brand New Inserts (Selling @ $5 each)
5) 2 Used Inserts (Selling @ $2 each)

*Note: For used bumwear, Jamie only pee on it. No pooing.

If I am not wrong, shared with Denmy and SL last time. Estimate each Bumwear is $21.50 and Insert is $5.70.

1156202.jpg

Mashy,
Same as my boy. He used to be ok with the potty. Now he will refuse it completely.

Chillies,
Eeeks...i just bought a box of Ferrero Rocher. Ate a number some more

Janmon,
Do you have more information on Siempi? What is it?

Hi jamom ... I was there from 12 to 3pm, so we just missed each other ... didn't get much books, coz chinese books getting from CL's chinese teacher, and english books basically not my type... ya, if u r used to MPH/times warehouse sale, the books are pretty ex, just 20% discount generally.

spindle box - get disposable chopsticks, n make the box urself ... i used the hard cardboard from popular + craft glue. it's ok abt acaliz ... too many things going on at the same time that I've forgotten abt it.

On Seimpi, u looking at it for your girl? Recently, a fren transferred her 4yr boy from Seimpi to Yamaha. Pace in Seimpi was too fast for him, and he was there for quite a while.

tabb ... r u talking abt the SEI sb in the papers ... didn't see that, place is too big to cover. yes, agree with jamom that there are cheaper option than kumom.... I didn't explore that section much. sorry to trouble u on the disc ... no problem if can't do it, i know it's not easy n u prob don't have much time.

btw, went pass suntec today at 3plus, cars were queuing to get in, so think place is flooded with people today.

I might be there on Mon night. There's a talk by son#1's teacher which I'm thinking of attending ... anyone need to look for anything, do sms me, I can't promise anything though.

.ky.

Denmy
Chiltern at Big Splash - is it parent accompanied session?

Tumbletots
Really? I did go for the trial, but u are right, they are not very organized, took me a long time to get them on the phone.

May
I'm keen to try one of the pull up pants, but not sure if Aidan can fit M. Should be ok since he is quite small size?

May,
Wa... so fast Jamie outgrew her training pants?!?! Keenan still using the M size. I don't mind taking the pants. But I don't need the inserts.. got too many of them liao. But if you wanna get rid of all the inserts together w the pants, then you go ahead if someone else is interested. Otherwise, please KIV me for the pants. Thanks!!!

cookie,
I keep forgetting to tell you that Kaelyn's artwork from Gymboree is with me. I'll pass them to you on the 22nd.

May,
Oops then I better check Aden's bumwear too. I bought M from beginning.

Cheng,
I will pass mine to let you try the size on Aidan before you get it from May.

cheng, CL
your photos of HK so nice! the toy room at the hotel looks really nice.

denmy
are u still signing keenan up for great beginnings? i m starting JH in Jan.

re book fest
think i will still go down and take a look. prob will skip the english books and zoom in on the chinese books cos i m going to go during lunch hour

re HK
May, i think it's better to go during winter time. i went to HK in May before and it was so hot and i find the place dirtier during hot weather. cold weather time is nicer.

jamom
regarding seimpi, the class timing at 2pm is a bit tight for me. what time does the class end?

Denmy,

sorry think I order some crayola stuff from you. I have not came into the forum for sometime. are they with anyone now?