(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

C makes a growl for all the animals! dog goes growl, elephant also growls. sigh.

he learnt that when reading the 'nicky and the big bad wolves' story. it's one of his favourite stories. Love to growl when the wolves appear and scream when he sees 'help'.

mashy
re: crafts

sample of what i intend to do.. not so cheam cos we can do most of the stuff for them, they just have fun painting and coloring

1111049.jpg
kiddy hand antler reindeer hand puppet
1111050.jpg
snow man cone hat.. model courtesy of didi.. i haven't had time to decorate the snowman but our kids can stick cotton wool and maybe construction paper and maybe crepe paper as scarf?

feeling kind of sian today. looking forward to my 'off' day tomorrow.

It's like at work when our leave is just the next day. totally no mood to play with C or do anything today.

And feeling very very bo liao. So if i write nonsensical stuff today, pls forgive me. hehe.

tabbs

the reindeer looks cute!

think the snowman don't need the cotton wool lah. This is good enough. did u do this or tabby did? looks nice.

Haha, with your pic demo, looks easy enough

mashy
we can do the paper plate snowman too.. it sounds easier than my hat.. if you want we can still mount the paper plate on to a strip of vanguuard paper like ur piggy hat and let them where it..

crayola tower
Just to remind u that the spree will only run after christmas just in case you're intending to get this as christmas present. Now prices are higher due to Christmas so I'll wait for the prices to drop after christmas before ordering.

mashy
where do u buy magnetic strips? i wanted to buy but cannot find.

tabb
i see. so where are you going or not decided yet?

re crafts
all the crafts look so interesting. hee makes me feel that what i do with JH is boring.

May,
I'll be baking a 3D train cake for Isaac with fondant. 1st time trying... dunno can make it or not. I heard that fondant taste horrible, so I don't have a lot of high hopes on it, just for show to make Isaac happy lah. He has been telling me, 'make train cake'.

Playgroup
Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft: tabbiesus
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. kiv santa & gift giving ?denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax
Indicate if you want kiddy lunch/ adult lunch (potluck)
1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - all dates except 15 Dec (is Mel's bday but we have yet to plan anything!)
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
6. ky - 5 coming (hubby, helper, and the boys)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - okay for saturdays.
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 15th and 22nd ok, will also bring Ethan along
12. queen - Me, HB and Isaac

I think it's easier to prepare finger food snacks, like mini-sandwiches, curry puffs, small kwehs and cakes. So that our HBs and helpers can munch. If not enough, I guess, we can just go and have lunch on our own later. Do you all want to save the hassle and cater? Potluck is a bit difficult cos not too sure how much to prepare?

tabbs

anything is fine by me, so long as the kids find it easy to do.

SY
got them from Spotlight.

That time bought a lot, then end up didn't use. I was making some magnetic sheeps when i was preggy during christmas time. But then, i ended up in hospital, so did only halfway. hiaz...

Actually that one also easy to make. But need to cut the sheep shapes lor. After that I pasted polyester fibre (cotton wool also can) for wool and eyes, tied a red ribbon on the neck.

may
wah, you gals so on the ball. I've never baked a cake before. Was going to try out orange walnut cake with orange frosting coz i find a recipe without dairy. If it turns out good, then will consider making it for my boy's birthday. do u know how to apply frosting? do i have to freeze the cake first?

May,
I'm going to bake and decorate from scratch. Not using any special tin cos it's going to be a 3D cake. I borrowed a book from the library and will just follow the instructions. Have already bought the fondant.

Re: Childcare / School
Hmmmsoon it will be JW's turn. Hope he turns out fine though I really doubt ithe is usually a super glue when we go outside.

Something funnythat day I went to my friend's house. They have Wiiand me & hb playing boxingsuddenly out of the corner of my eyes, I see JW imitating us with boxing actions in the air! So funny!

Mashy,
JW calls all animals "woah woah" (dog dog). When we went japanhe saw some of the angmoh with blond hairhe oso say woah woahsee some fur coat, he oso point and say "woah woah"so pai sei!

Tabbs,
Wahu are really innovative with the things u do. In comparision, I think JW must be v bored at home.

May / Mashy,
As per Mamapanda's recommendation, Phoon Huat sells it. http://www.phoonhuat.com
I believe there are quite a no. of shops in Singapore. I bought the Wilton's ready-made white fondant and decided to buy colouring and dye the fondant myself. Coloured fondant caused a bomb but it hassle free. Anyway, from what I read, ready made fondant generally is more for decoration cos it's not exactly tasty. If you have a good homemade recipe, I think it's better. But for 1st timers like us, think better just get the ready made once.

Mashy,
So far, I haven't attempted to decorate the cakes that I have baked before. I dunno how to do frosting leh... but it should be easier than fondant. Just get the correct cream, colour it and apply on cake. Can go library to borrow cake books or check it out on the internet.

SH,
JW woah woah reminds me of a joke that Jamie make while in the lift.

RE: Joke
I entered lift with Jamie in my arm and hb. There is already a guy about age 30s inside. He had farted inside the lift and was pretty obvious bcos of the sound as the rest of us are at the back. All of us heard and smelt something. I was so surprised that Jamie said, "Mummy..ke..put put..chou chou.. yee.." and she pinch her own nose.

What she meant was " Mummy, Uncle (she pronounce as ke..) farted, so smelly.. yee.."

The guy, was so paiseh that he walked out very fast when we reach the ground floor. Both hb and me were very paiseh too as she made this comment and we tried not to laugh inside the lift. But after the guy walked away, 3 of us burst into laughter. And I told Jamie that next time she got to keep quiet inside the lift.

SY, Flo, CL
Very belated, I was sorting thr' my digital photos and saw some of the shots taken at Pasir Ris Park and the Explorer - put them on our motherhood facebook already:p

SY
Change of plan.. apparantly my HB like HB better. He say nothing much in Taiwan
At least HK got ocean park and disneyland ( tho suck suppoingly?) and the Roast Goose. he has been talking abt the roast goose since he come back from biz trip

SH
I remember u went HK recently? Which hotel u stay? is it near MRT? pls share with me if possible

Tabbie
your didi look so cute! in fact I think he looks like my didi at home hahaha.
When kae saw the photo... she keep pointing the photo and say didi didi....

queen

i've added you to the singaporemotherhood group. Unfortunately we're a bit slow moving there.. i guess too many forums to check, too little time. but its useful to share private things like photos.

cookie
thad looks like kyler? That's nice! Cos i think Kyler is really cute and handsome. We can compare during the playgroup. I think thad has 2 looks.. he looks really sweet sometimes and looks like a grumpy old man (like daddy, sometimes.. haha) depends on which angle you see him and whether he's in a good mood.

may
i read your joke post.. and its so funny! haha.. jaime so clever!

tabbiesus
yup yup.. we shall put them side by side on 22nd. Looking forward to the party

Pls let me know what can I help to prepare.

Btw.. as u are familiar with HK.. wanna check, do you any idea of Ashley Apt ( at 18 Ashley street) and Shamrock Hotel ( at Nathan Road). Am considering booking 1 of them.
Planning to visit HK in Feb.. is it a good time? weather will be ok for our tots?
not bringing kyler.. only Kae.

cookie

i think if u can wait, u ask my husb at the party, maybe ur hb can chat with my hb cos i'm not so familiar with the above, but i think my hb will know more.

I think feb in HK can be quite cold and windy

hello mummies!

been so busy lately...hardly had time to read the postings. i manage to come in after checking my office emails on a sat morn! haiz. but the comforting is that i recv an email from my boss that they are gg to adjust my pay next yr! praying for a big one this time

tabbiesus- wow thad is all grown up.he looks very much like tabby..esp their eyes.

clare - congrats on ur new shop!

god's child - well done for passing with flying colours. not easy to study and still having to care for Celeste. u deserve a good pat!

Hi mummies - Thanks again for the well wishes. I am accessing internet for the 1st time in a 4 days! Been so bz - X'mas shopping!

I was at Centrepoint at 11am - 8pm. Came home with 9 bags of X'mas presents & feeling so contented now cos all the presents are next to my tree

God's_child - Congrats to passing your exams. Can enjoy b4 u start your new term
I am doing 2 projects back to back now so took a break & went shopping yesterday!

May,
Keke...Jamie so funnie.

Cookie,
I stayed at Kimberly Hotel. About 10 min from MRT station. I think a lot of tour group put up there coz i met 2 family of singaporeans (both on the plane and at the hotel)

cookie

when i was in HK, i stayed at BP hotel before. It's the the best that i stayed in HK. Dorsett is horrible. DOn't try. Stayed at another 2 hotels, couldn't remember the names. Think one is Metropole Hotel. Small as usual.

BP is convenient, clean and cheap. And it was renovated sometime in 2005. So pretty new. Only thing it's rather small like most HK hotels. U can try its executive room. It's got a King size bed. Of course, there are even better ones, but all comes at a cost. That time went with hb, so went budget hotel hunting. We rather like that hotel even though it was in the midst of renovation. There's a airport shuttle bus stop very near to the hotel. They used to have family rooms (coz it was org for the scouts), but now think they decided to get rid of it.

Since u r bringing Kae, should try to book a bigger room. I passed by Shamrock before. It's very convenient. Not sure abt the rooms though. But it's usually fully booked. So better check that it's available first. U can check out its reviews in asiatravel.com

Feb is very windy and cold. Esp in the outskirts. That time i went, it dropped to 10deg +the wind, my sweater and jacket wasn't enough.

Better check the general weather before u go. If it's warm winter, then not so bad. The weather is kind of crazy there i feel. I went twice in end Jan and had 2 very diff experiences.

First time, it was cold like anything. Had to wear thick sweater at night. In town, it's still not so bad, but once u go out, it's freezing, sweater and jacket also not enough. Heard it was han liu that year. By the time we leave, my HK friends had started to don their bomber jackets and thermal wear.

The 2nd time, it was warm like anything. Was mostly in light jacket. And this time, I went even later in Jan than the 1st time.

cookie
i went HK in april, stayed at Majestic hotel. the room can put in a king size bed + a baby cot and still got space to walk around.

tabbi
I dun mind pot luck at your place.
heehee your 50pax incl the kids and bbs right?

cookie
you leaving kyler with your helper and MIL?

Oh.. ger kenna bitten for the first time by his classmate.. I told hb cant be helped (was telling him what CL shared with me abt Charmaine when she was young. But, i still felt heartpain, so called the teacher to ask her to watch out for the "biter". My dad so funny, ask him to bite the classmate back. haha...

sorry, think someone was asking me abt Ger's busride home? think usually, the schbus auntie will carry the younger kids. then what they told me was tt younger kids sit in front while the older kids sit at the back. supposed to put seat belt. but i think mine doesnt put for gerald though the principal reminded her many times.

celwong
I've got your stuff from HG already. Will post them out by Tuesday. I've checked. YOu didn't buy any sambucol or cod liver oil. Only 1 oral B and 1 first teeth toothpaste so I'll just buy bubble envelope for you and post it out at the post office as I cant squeeze it into the post box.

krissie
I'm flying off on Wednesday so not organising any spree (except maybe the crayola one if I can get easy internet access in Norway) till I come back in Jan 08.

celwong
You've got mail

SH - i also stayed at Kimberly! and our stay was supposed to be the same period too... so qiao!!!

SSF/ Sysa / Queen / SY - thanks for the congrats..hee... an reali over the moon now hoping for May08 to come! cos tat will mean end of exams forever!!!

God's_child - May 08 will come by fast! Am looking fwd to it too. That will signal the end of my 1st yr too! We journey to May 08 tog! Hee hee...

Congrats God's Child.

And hope May 08 will fast forward for both you and sysac then you can both enjoy the company of your darlings.

Mamapanda
Have a good trip to Norway and enjoy your holiday

Krissie,
Did the teacher highlight how they purnish the kit ? Though Charmaine was bitting during her playgroup at JG, she is being taught many times by Adrian and I am there to pull her aside to reinforce. When she was bitten during her 3rd day in nursery, her teacher will quickly call me and update me what happen, how they treat the wound and what did they follow up with the kid's mummy. Is ger ok ? For Charmaine she had phobia going to school.

Cheng,
Nice pics and it reminded me that I have not downloaded lots of photos to share with other mummies from Jun Holiday programme to other activities.

Busy and sad
Hmm I juz lost my paternal grandma last week. Was a bit angry when I went to the wake that they closed up the coffin and I cannot see her face again. Well though I know she is already 95,but still feel very very sad to let her go.Sigh, juz lost my aunt (dad's sister) early this year and now my grandma. Life is so unpredictable.

CL
so sorry to hear abt your grandma.your grandma really lived to a ripe old age! take care and dun think too much.

cookie
u planning to go HK in feb? me too...hee, want to time our trips? if i can get the go ahead from gynae, i told hb let's go HK after CNY

finally got my Wii! it's pretty addictive. me and hb been playing a lot and i thrashed him..haha

Mamapanda
have a good trip. hope u have a safe flight and an easy one at that too..

CL
So sorry for your loss.

SYsac, God's child
i know how it feels to have studies and exams looming..so I really admire you guys.. i am so sian of studying and taking exams.. its only roughly another six months, and time will really fly!

RE: playgroup
confirm potluck? I am very happy to state that i have finally got my christmas tree up and running.. now just have to wrap all the presents to put beneath.. i hope i have more time cos I want to creat a fake fireplace and hang some christmas stockings...

RE:singing at church
I really want to share this cos i want to remember this date before i forget.. yest at church tabby suddenly decided to join in the singing and started singing "lord hear our prayer" during one part of the service.. it was very funny cos she was using this very deep and adult voice and everyone started staring cos she was busy scribbling and singing matter of factly. Initially it sounded like an adult with very horrible singing/ voice, then i realised it was coming from her... haha.. funny thing is i never really taught her the flow of the service, she just 'picked' it up.. so mommies better becareful what u say in front of ur kids cos i think they are at the age when they are quietly listening and learning!!!

SY

My hb also bought the Wii last week on behalf of my FIL. (Forbade him to buy coz he tends to get addicted to it and totally ignores my boy) Anyway, my ILs are going for hols, so we get to play it until they come back end dec.

Re: Swissflex specs
I just broke my swissflex specs again. Argh. 2nd time already and i broke it while trying to protect it from C. He broke it the first time. It's too fragile. Lucky that time my hb's aunt fixed it for us free. Now have to go and make another pair. More money flying away.

Finally bought a new fridge with some vouchers from my ILs. Had been delaying this due to lack of funds. Finally!