(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

oops, I'm the last. Psiseh. I'll collect from u at your place? Where wld it be?

re: birthday bash memento

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac -Rach
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena -Rach
12) wenyl -Rena via Rach
13) krissie -CL
14) linda - CL
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may - Rachel
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny - CL
21) val - Rena via Rach
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther - CL
25) sleepingdeer -Rena via Rach
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny - CL
28) chillies - rach
29) sunny - CL
30) celine wong -Tracy via Rach

anyone interested in these?

http://www.crayolastore.com/product_detail.asp?T1=CRA+58%2D8750
http://www.crayolastore.com/product_detail.asp?T1=CRA+52%2D0029&SKW=DRAWCRAYONS&menu=&subcat=&hdr=

Unfortunately, these won't make it here in time for christmas but it'll still make a great gift for your kids. We can probably get it at a slightly cheaper rate from Amazon but expect it to cose abt $30SGD after shipping. I've checked toys-r-us and other stores in Singapore, nobody sells these so can only import from USA. The crayon tower comes with 150 colors (non-washable) and the marker tower comes with 50 colors of washable markers.

If you're interested, I'll organise the spree in Jan08 when I'm back, but the stuff will only be here around Feb. If anyone else is organising a spree for this, do let me know cuz my friend wants to buy too.

If I have easy internet access from Norway, I don't mind organising it from Norway.

chickenlittle
Thanks for collecting my stuff for me! I'll collect them from u by Sunday.

1107832.jpg
1107833.jpg

Year End Warehouse Sale at Acalliz

Up to 80% discount for wide range of educational toys comprising more than 300 items. Website not updated.

Date : 8, 9, 15,16th Dec 2007 (Sat & Sun only)

Time : 11am to 6pm

Venue : 245 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, #02-00 Shun Li Industrial Park (3 Storey Terrace Factory)

Tel : 67820056 / 63345752

Hi Mummies - forgot to share a piece of happy news with your... heehee... i cleared my exams and did pretty well, will be moving on to the last and final semester!!! yipee

Tracy, Durianlover, Sunny, Valerie - Thanks for the compliments wor! actuali i lost the extra weight very very slowly and gradually... i attribute the weight loss to MIL stress, Maid stress ( my #1 maid was a horror if you can remember ), Work stress, Baby stress and Studies stress... so many kinda stress, how not to lose weight? hee.. in fact, i stil have 3kg which i tink is staying as PR ( permamnent resident ) liao

god's child
congrats on clearing your exams..ha, tot u going to say u having second one.

aiyo, u dun look fat lah. so the 3kg no need to worry abt losing.

Sysac,
Happy very belated birthday to Cephas! The big brother in this thread.

Dem / CL,
Thanks for holding on to the marker.

Flo,
I hope you don't mind collecting for me? Thanks! Always have trouble you to be my go-between for collection.
Is Learning Vision really openign near your place, exactly where is it and when's the opening?

Valerie,
How's Purple Train? Worth the money? I also agree that it's better to put her on daily classes.

god's child,
It feels great that your course is ending soon right? For me, it's the reverse. I was back to pre-preggy weight awhile breastfeeding. After I stopped BF, I'm gaining weight!

Rachel,
Forgot to thank you for the momento. It's great!

sunny,
The snail puzzle is a number puzzle? Where is it sold?

Clare,
Congrats on your shop! I think it's takes courage to make the plunge. All the best!

Krissie,
Thanks for the Thomas & Friends video link. Isaac loves it!

Mamapanda,
Is it troublesome and time consuming to prepare the bread dough? I'm also thinking of getting a bread machine but my HB thinks it's not worth the hassle and he thinks homemade bread may not be as nutritious a fortified bread???

crayola marker and crayon marker tower
Lets see how many are interested and if I can, I'll organise the spree while I'm in Norway. If not, I'll do it ASAP when I come back. I'll most probably be getting this from Amazon or any stores that offer free US shipping. Prices now are abit higher than I last saw in Nov due to the christmas season. The prices at Amazon should drop once Christmas is over. Otherwise, I'll get them from Crayola.com which offers free US shipping for orders above $75. For convenience, I'll use the RPP from crayola.com first. I'd expect the cost for this to be $30+ SGD after factoring in shipping.

(Max 11 sets total per shipment to avoid GST)
Crayola 150-color crayon tower @ $17.99USD
1. Mamapanda

Crayola 50-color washable marker tower @ $17.99USD
1. chickenlittle

SY, Mashy, Queen, yes, its true having daily classes will help to ease the kids into the routine faster. Well, too late for Kirsten now, have to wait till Jan then start again. The teachers realize she's the type who plays hard to get and needs a longer time to warm up to new faces. They cannot force themselves on her but have to wait till she's ready, then she will approach them herself. Having daily classes will definitely help her better.

Queen, I feel Purple Train is worth the value. It's montessori-based. Teachers there are very caring, provide feedback frequently, not results driven and teaching is more individualised to every student's pace of learning. I like the concept teaching method rather than memorizing things. I knew a few mummies from there who were thinking of moving their 3yo girls next door (Word Learning Centre) cos it does look quite impressive. But after comparing and speaking to the head teacher (also the wife of the principal/owner), think they are still staying put at PT. Think the class ratio and the very academically driven way of learning makes them think twice. Eh, but if you do want to put Isaac in next year, maybe you have to start to enquire and register to put on waiting list. The empty slots fill up pretty fast and morning classes are all full.

Mamapanda, I'm also interested! Thanks for organizing!

Lets see how many are interested and if I can, I'll organise the spree while I'm in Norway. If not, I'll do it ASAP when I come back. I'll most probably be getting this from Amazon or any stores that offer free US shipping. Prices now are abit higher than I last saw in Nov due to the christmas season. The prices at Amazon should drop once Christmas is over. Otherwise, I'll get them from Crayola.com which offers free US shipping for orders above $75. For convenience, I'll use the RPP from crayola.com first. I'd expect the cost for this to be $30+ SGD after factoring in shipping.

1. Mamapanda

1. chickenlittle
2. valerie

queen
No la. Just prepare the ingredients and dump them into the machine in the correct sequence and just let it run if you're busy. If u want better results (which is what I do), I'd normally set it to dough function to let it knead for 20min first, then reset the programme and set to the automatic wholemeal bread function. Lastly, I stop the programme after 30min of baking so that the bread crust is not so thick. If you're busy, just let it run automatically. The bread will still turn out nice but the skin will be thicker than normal if you're using Asian low-flour recipes cuz our breads are less dense and require less baking time. However, if u follow the ang-mo bread recipes, just let the programme run its course cuz their breads are denser, ie, heavier and not as soft, but will last longer.

oh.. forgot the 2nd part.. as for fortified breads, you can buy wheat germ, wholegrains, rye, whatever u want to put in your own breads to "fortify" it. I felt homemade breads are healthier actually cuz it's preservative free. Commercial breads can keep for 1 week because they contain preservatives. Homemade breads can only last at most 3 days. Anyway, the breads are so yummy, they hardly last 3 days for me. You can just eat them plain cuz they taste so nice!

I rem some of you went for a buffet at Hotel Phoenix last year and had good reviews for the food. So was thinking of having our family Christmas feast there. But the phone numbers I have are not working, neither can I find Hotel Phoenix in the Online yellowpages. Any of you know what happened to it?

oh dear, I haven't gone there for so long, didn't even know it's history! Thanks thanks! Hmmm, shang nao jin where else to go now. My budget is below $30+++. Any recommendations?

Re: the crayola tower looks interesting!

Just scanned thru the posting...

Re: Delcare
I remembered someone asking about Delcare. I put Charmaine at delcare for a while. It's really good. I liked the way Jeannette talks to the children. She talks to them like they are adults. Plus the aunties there can really cook very well. It always smell so good when I went there to pick up charmaine. My mum likes it there too.

Also, I think they are not the very money-faced kind cos when I pulled charmaine out of infantcare, I literally only give them 1 day notice and they are perfectly fine with it.

Once Charmaine hits 12kg, I am sending her back there...

The only minus pt I know is that the admin is pretty messy cos when I registered charmaine there, I didn't sign quite a lot of documents and they only realised it one mth later. : (

Valerie,
You can try searching the various credit card promos? hubby and I used to go for Orchard Hotel's one-for-one buffet which is really good...

I have been to the old New Park Hotel as well. My dad has some card whereby the buffet dinner would be 50% off which is quite good...

Mamapanda,
Me too! Thanks for organizing!

1. Mamapanda

1. chickenlittle
2. valerie
3. wenyl

valerie
Christmas feast on christmas eve, christmas day or other days? If its on those 2 days, very hard la.. most places charge at least 50 to 70+++ for those 2 days. Also, you want lunch, high-tea or dinner?

val
yeah hotel phoenix is gone. me and my ex colleagues went to eat the food before it was gone.

think u can try orchard hotel. the buffet is quite good

mamapanda, we having lunch feasting on 22 dec. Yah man, most places already charge higher by then cos inclusive of christmas feast. But I found one from credit card promo like sl suggested. Made reservation at RSVP Park Hotel Orchard. With DBS card, even better deal, 1 for 1. But I don't have, only UOB or Citibank, so 3 for price of 2. Hopefully one of the in-laws have DBS card.

sl, SY, aiyah, too bad orchard hotel doesn't appear in the promo this time. Maybe next time when I see it, will go and try it. Hopefully before I bomb, cos my appetite very good now!

RE: Fondant Cupcakes
Mummies, I am thinking of baking fondant cupcakes for Jamie's 2yrs old bday. Anyone try to make fondant before? How's the outcome?

queen
i saw it online... someone is organising the children apparel BP, the snail puzzle is in the link that she provided. ya, it's number puzzle.
http://bondingwithlove.multiply.com/journal/item/1/Snail_Puzzle

valerie
ya, i also think that sending the kid to daily class is better. the MMI bt panjang that i visited mentioned that next yr onwards they will not be having flexi classes i.e. kids can go to the school for 2 days or 3 days. 'cos they realised that those kids on flexi scheme got more difficulties in settling down compared to those daily ones.

mamapanda
for home made bread, could we don't put yeast? 'cos yeast will cause stomach bloatedness....

re: crayola

1. Mamapanda

1. chickenlittle
2. valerie
3. wenyl
4. sunny

Recently due to work committment, I have been working late. Very little time spend with Kyler as he sleep at 8pm and only about 1 hr with kae..
Felt so depress and guilty for not spending time with them and being very insecure, afraid will affect our bonding..
Last nite tho reach home at 9pm, kyler is still awake and am sooo happy cos I can hold him till he doze off. Felt like REAL mummy again...sob sob..
Sorry about my ranting...just feeling very sian.

ok back to work now...haizz

I noticed that my mil doesn't set any kind of schedule for Charmaine and basically let her do watever she wants, whenever she wants so I had difficulties in getting her to sleep early. Ended up she always sleep at 11plus... Thus, I have drawn up some kind of a schedule. Does this make sense?

Time Activity
7.30am 8.00 am Arrival

8.00am 8.45am Play

8.45am 9.15am Breakfast

9.15am 10.00am TV

10.00am 11.00am Milk and Morning nap

11.00am 11.30am Morning exercise (walk)

11.30am 12 noon Bath

12 noon 12.45pm Lunch

12.45pm 2.00pm Play or Read

2pm 4pm Rest or nap

4pm 4.30pm Snack (fruits)

4.30pm 5.00pm TV

5.00pm 5.45pm Dinner

5.45pm 6.15pm Evening walk

6.15pm 6.45pm Bath

6.45pm 8pm Play

cookie
oh dear, how come so busy recently? Dun feel too bad. u tried your best

sl
actually JH doesn't have much of a schedule also. not sure how your MIL will react to such a detailed schedule. maybe u can set certain time like lunch/snack/dinner time? my maid knows roughly what time i want JH to eat lunch and dinner. the rest is really up to JH and her. does she sleep a lot in the day cos your MIL never engage her enough?

HI all,
For those keen on childcare. Just read in young parents mag that cherie hearts is going to have internet camera installed in all center. Parents can check out on what is going on with their child. Find that it is quite a good idea. I am not too sure how good is this CC but tot ladies looking for CC should know.

Hi sl,
I tink it depends on how ur MIL is like. But ur schedule looks good. Perhaps if ur MIL allows then u might want to indicate the kind of play (playing bubbles, pots and pans, colouring) and perhaps u can even provide a box of material ur mil can do with charmaine.

HI mashybrainz,

Thanks for sharing the lobang. The store seems to have alot of stuff. Might drop by this weekend.

SHaring some lobang,
--ENjoy hippo tour, DHL balloon and duck tour for onli 33 (for adult) and 17( above 3).
I bought my tickets at suntec duck tour counter.
-- JL sale at Expo selling quite alot of cheap educational toys. Saw boggle junior selling onli at $5. Esprit children's clothes selling at ard $15 each. THe rest of the stuff not fantastic though.

HI Mummies
Anyone has any good hotels in Taiwan-Taipei to recommend? I maybe gng Taipei with HB and Kae, so now checking out Hotels.
Thanks in advance

SY
ya very busy, Auditor just left then month end closing then Biz Plan. All deadline very close one after another, no time to take a break

sunny,
You cant make breads without yeast.. If u use the right amount of yeast, it shouldn't be a problem.

Hi Mashy/Jamom, I went to Acaliz 2 yrs ago and sale was good. But do expect the quality of the items to be not as good. But they are cheap. Think I got the wooden train set for $25. They sell montessori items too (but not listed, must ask) - the maths boards are cheap. I'm looking for the Mighty Minds and called them. Am told that for that, they can only give 10% discount ... if anyone going, can I tonpang something? Don't think I'll go this time ...

.ky.

janmom,

haha, my hubby and my family was just talking about CC putting cctv in their centre last night. there is a cherie hearts at the building next to my work place and it's like a award winning childcare centre. have not been there to check it out but think the cost is very expensive. some cherie hearts outlets are cheaper.

re: childcare,
clariss didn't want to go sch after 2 days. Yesterday, she was also crying on and off in the class. I guess the first 2 days, she may have thought that it's only for 2 days and hence enjoyed herself there. after 2 days, she must have realised that it's a daily affair. heard that it will take about 2 weeks for them to settle down. I hope there is not much struggle this evening.

sl
for the time schedule, i think it's better for you to discuss with your mil if it's workable for her as well... 'cos to be fair to her, she might need her personal time to do other stuff, including marketing, too.
for me, i don't set a timetable for my mil. i just tell her to wake up my gal at 430pm no matter how late she sleeps and for the whole day, the nap time shouldn't be more than 3 hrs. for the rest of the activities and time spent, i leave it to her to juggle.

I realised that there will close to 50! ppl at my place.. i really hope u guys don't mind the crowd...

Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft: tabbiesus
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. kiv santa & gift giving ?denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax
Indicate if you want kiddy lunch/ adult lunch (potluck)
1. Chickenlittle - 4 pax
2. krissie - 3+2bb
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - all dates except 15 Dec (is Mel's bday but we have yet to plan anything!)
5. mashy - 3 (hb and C)
6. ky - 5 coming (hubby, helper, and the boys)
7. Aileen - 3+2bb
8. Cookie - 3+2 bb
9. sl - okay for saturdays.
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 15th and 22nd ok, will also bring Ethan along
12. queen - preferred 16th or 22nd.

RE: gift giving
I think we just bring a present for you own kid/ kids so just in case u have any last minute cancellation than you won't waste the present. So you can bring a present that you already have at home. Label it and we'll put it under the tree.

Since we have such a big group, i'll arrange for some snacks and food for the daddies/ mommies/ helpers and kiddies.

Can i get a vote if mommies want to feed your babies at my place? Since its a saturday I'll leave you to decide if you guys want to have lunch outside with your family or at my place, if you want to have lunch at my place, then we can arrange for pot luck.

Denmy
Will your hb agree to be santa? Cos i'll go and hunt for a santa costume. My hb refuse.. so sad.

Activities
KY, and any other mommies
I was thinking of splitting the kids into 2-3 groups for different table crafts so that we can spend more time with them. one idea is christmas snowman hat with cotton wool (basically a cone hat that we'll stick a picture of a snowman on, kids can decorate the snowman with cottonwool and colored paper for eyes/ nose/ mouth/ hands). Reindeer mask with antlers made from fingerprint of kiddies hands. Another is free scribbling on my glass window.

materials i need
some vanguard paper for making the hats. Cotton wool. Construction paper for cutting out eyes/ nose/ mouth for reindeer and snowman

I have lots of construction paper material already but if you can get some and help pre-make the basic shape for the cone hat it would be helpful.

Please be prepared for kids hands to be dirtied.. i have washable non toxic finger stamp pads.. very easy to wash off

for bb's if u want to let them to a foot stamp for memory.. also can but i don't advise for handprint cos they are so small still!

okie, hope this playgroup is going to be fun for the kiddies..

jamom
u going down for the sale? hee, let me know if there's anything interesting.

cookie
u planning to go taiwan? i got a colleague who just came back. let me ask her what hotel she stayed. not bringing kyler? when u going?

i m hoping to go HK...hee

mongs
harborfront got a cherie hearts right? i read abt it before. seems like uqite good. which cc is clariss going now?

mongs,
dun worry about it. Jamie took 1mth to get settle down. First 3 days of trial is ok. Then it started with separate anxiety, the minute the teacher stretch out hand to carry her, she cry. Then follow by the sight of uniform, when she see my mum coming into the room with uniform, she cry. But now she is ok already. Will automatically want her teacher to carry and will sit down to take of her own shoes.

Cookie,
Dun worry, u have the weekends to bond with them. Try to spend more time with them then. Must take care dun overworked too. So that u have more energy for both of them. Take care! =)

Thanks mummies for the inputs on the schedule. Will let hubby speak to mil.

Cookie,
I stayed at some boutique hotel in taipei which is really good but not good for kids cos the room is so small... somehow you got 2! But should try chuntian at beitou - they have hotspring stuff in your own room plus burberry toiletries.

Re: playgroup
Tabbiesus, there are santa suits available at concourse. I saw them before. I can help to get the santa suit and the craft stuff cos I think I will be making another trip to concourse. I miscalculated the number of wrapping papers I need... : (

Re: Lunch
If the mummies are agreeable, perhaps we can organise a potluck? Then the kids can eat too - no need to cook separately for them.

re: school

tabby has finally adjusted to school.. no crying. In fact today i told her its time to go to school, she walked towards the door herself and let daddy bring her WITHOUT a single tear drop or crying. This is good cos I stayed at home and she just let me wave bye bye to her..

I think its cos she really likes one of her teachers, unfortunately i don't know if she'll get the same teacher next year cos she's only in the holiday programme now. I hope so. Her English teacher is really good and fun. Her chinese teacher is nice but i think becos tabby don't like chinese or can't communicate in chinese she don't like her so much. Took tabby maybe 2 weeks to settle down. First week was bad cos she kept changing teachers cos the teachers had eleave, but once the regular teachers came back she fell in love with her english teacher liao.. i don't think i'd like to change her altho i was eyeing cherie hearts at one tree hill. nevermind cos tabby may only be in school for one year.. then we may leave singapore after that so i don't know if we'll keep her place or not.

tabbs

gd to hear that tabby has adjusted to school.
u leaving singapore? migrating?

wow! 50 pp, that's a lot!

Re: Crafts
getting tougher. Any easier crafts?

1. Mamapanda

1. chickenlittle
2. valerie
3. wenyl
4. Rena's friend
5. Rena

tabby
u planning to migrate? how come going to leave singapore?

good that tabby likes sch. maybe she feels more attachment for her english teacher so she's ok with sch. that's good also.

tabbs

how abt paper plates snowmen?

similar to this:
http://www.allfreecrafts.com/christmas/cotton-snowman.shtml

but instead of using cotton pads, use small paper plates. we can draw the eyes, nose and mouth. or if not cut for them to paste.

then just cut the construction paper into triangles for the hats? they can also paint/decorate it.

i've some foam & felt cloth, can cut into shapes for them to paste too.

I've also magnetic strips, can paste on the back to make magnets.

But will need to get small paper plates. anyone has any lying ard at home?

Sy

me n hb may need to train overseas for a year in 2009 so will need to bring the kids, still planning but maybe going to the US

RE; BIRTHDAY DIRECT SPREE
Any mummies want to get things from there? I intend to get treat box for Jamie's mini party in school. If we get enough pple, I will start one spree, else, I will see if there is any spree going on or not.