(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Linda
wow your pictures are sooo nice.. really nice during Autunm in Korea.
I went there during winter.. hahaa.. my photos were not as dreamy as yours

linda
wow wow, lovely! you have proof to us all that korea during autunm is so beautiful.

babylon
your GO GO bag is with me, when you want to collect? btw, you have yet tt $ to me right?

re: birthday bash memento
I believe all are fine with the final design of the memento, then i will get them printed out and start the distribution by next week. need to know who can help in the distribution.TQ!

CL
I be meeting you next week to return you the coats, can help me pass the memento to some mummies??

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng
3) Clare
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac
8) sl
9) mongs
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krisse
14) linda
15) queen
16) may
17) sy
18) sh
19) cookie
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny
30) celine wong

Aileen/Cookie
Thanks for the info, I've dropped Lavina an email...hope the class in not full.

Rachel/CL
Can I tombang the pic with CL? CL, thanks in advance. I can also help to pass to Queen, Clare & Mongs.

CL
re: momento
Can help me pick up the momento? I get from u either when we meet up next or when u come for the playgroup?
sorry for the trouble...

I believe all are fine with the final design of the memento, then i will get them printed out and start the distribution by next week. need to know who can help in the distribution.TQ!

CL
I be meeting you next week to return you the coats, can help me pass the memento to some mummies??

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krisse
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie -
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny
30) celine wong

Rachel , Depending when you meet me. On wednesday, I am meeting sunny and Rena for lunch. Hence I can collect for them. Of Course I am collecting for Rena, can tompang Wenyl and Sleepingdeer to Rena since they are attending class together.

SY,SH and SL's I just assume I can collect for them.

Anyone else wants me to collect ?

I'm early this am too. CL, can collect for me pls.. I can get from you at tabb's PG.

Rachel
thks for the hardwork. v nice.

tabb
the fish tank is so nice... i feel so bad. no time to do such stuff with ger. shall try to do a T-rex with him tom. he loves dinosaur now.. ger's also v bad with colouring. haha.. ger also cant sit still in church. he'll sit at the pew and play with the hymn books.

linda
I love the pic with the red leaves. are these places v far from seoul? i told my hb i wanna go japan or korea maybe end next year with the kids. He says cant coz we cant self drive there since we dun understd their language.

tabbiesus, CL,
You guys are really early risers!

Re: Playground
The past few weeks have been terrible... so busy... didn't have the time to really look through the postings.

err.. just to double-check, the playground is still on for 22 dec?

CL,
Sorry, just to check. Have you tted the huggalugs amt to me already?

Anything nice at concourse? I am looking for stickers and wrappers and deco stuff...

Thanks for offering to pick up the memento for me! : )

There's a thermos warehouse sale over this weekend.... see this flyer .... http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c76/melsandosham/Thermos.jpg

Hi Flo - I m not far behind u in age
The rest are still younger. Hee...I'll just leave it in the hands of GOD. If I have a 2nd one, will accept graciously. If not, will also accept graciously

Mamapanda - Maybe yr 'accident' will happen in Norway. Those cold nites - nice to cuddle up

Rachel - I'll collect my X'mas loot & the Bd Bash momento from you. Will call u to arrange cos this weekend is Cephas' BD plus rushing out a project report so kind of BZ.

Nite Safari - Brought Cephas to the Nite Safari last nite. He enjoyed himself very much. Quite proud that he could name out some of the animals he saw. Eg. lion, leopard, owl, bear, tiger, tortise, crocodile (Gharial). It was quite Christmassy there last nite, with the carols & everyone in X'mas wear. This is only my 2nd time there & I didn't realise it was so dark! Must be my aged eye sight. Fortunately, the weather was nice. A little cool and it made the walking pleasant.

Rachel,

can you pass to CL coz i got some loot with her that not yet collected from her. BTW,can you pm me your account so that i can tt the money to you.

CL
Can you help to pass mine to SY.

SY
PLs tompang you also..

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krisse
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny
30) celine wong

Re: thermos warehouse sale
Any mommy gng down this weekend? couldnt go there myself cos HB working this weekend

Wanna check if 1 of the item is cheap.

flo - i went for the pre assessment last week and dr commented tat my cornea is pretty large at 7.5 and they will normally discourage gg for the op if its 8.0. side effect is that i will have halos in the night. he asked if i can live with it...if ok, then we can proceed with the op. thinking abt it...i decided to go ahead and pray that i will not have halos. at most, i will have to wear sunglasses at night lor. haha...i be doing the op on the 18 dec..on mc on 19th and 20th is a holiday. woohoo...hopefully this xmas can make me "see" better
Patrick did for our house too..apparently his bro does the carpentry work..so easier to liaise on tat part since its his bro.

linda - ya very sweet and pretty. look like a korean lei.

tabby - wow...ya very creative! the fish tank looks good.

SY - I want to tompang you too. TIA!

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krisse
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny
30) celine wong

Krissie

You are right the place is slightly far away from seoul...is at NAMISEON ISLAND. We took bus there about 2 hrs and took another shuttle bus around 15 min and transfer by small ferry about 10 min to that island. The place and the picture that I stand with hb with those tree are actually same place and is part of Winter Sonata drama place.
Yongpyong Ski resort part of winter sonata drama place also very nice and stay at the resor for 1 night...paisehhh and think is better not to post the picture that I took at that resort...later this post full of my picture...

Thanks Mummiessss

The Scenery really pretty and best time to go korea is in autumn....
Korean drama actress are veryy pretty and sweet....I'm not pretty and sweet at all lahhhh

CL
need to trouble you to collect for me again.

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krisse
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny - CL
30) celine wong

re: thermos
my hb went there yesterday 'cos it's near his office. we bought the bottles for 3 of us and a food jar (with separate container inside). the food jar is about $45. original price is about $90+. then, the bottles (stainless steel type) cost about $20 - $25. not sure about the original price. so happy that yx doesn't need to use plastic water bottle anymore and always get to drink warm water when we go out liao.

re: clarke warehouse sales
read from newspaper that there's sales. but at tampines... too far for us to go. anyone got good buy?

linda
your photos are all so nice!
i went there during autumn too. but that time the leaves weren't turn red yet.

SSF

a word of advice.. glasses won't make halos go away leh... anyways, if u r not driving at night, i don't think its a big issue

krissie

i answer ur question here.. i didn't reply u straight away cos I only know for hep A and B, not sure for cholera/ salmonella.

Reason for vaccination for Hep B for me is that Hep B infections result in a long term carrier status that puts u at risk of Liver Cancer/ cirrhosis.

For Hep A, cholera, salmonella.. these all cause an active infection and then there is no carrier status. Immunization just prevents active disease. Altho for salmonella, after the active disease it is shed in the faeces for up to a few months making it infective still, so this is of concern esp in workers handling food so usu. hawkers are required to be vaccinated for this. I didn't bother to vaccinate my maid actually i just make sure she's not hep b positive as my whole family is immunized and didi is but hasn't completed his vaccination yet. To me, Hep B is more infectious and has a high prevalence rate in the local population.

cholera, salmonella is spread by saliva and fecal-oral route from person to person. Cholera is a water borne bug and can be spread by drinking affected water, and eating affected food. Salmonella also from affected food and water.

Hep B is spread by blood route so unless u deal with blood products its not easily spread. Hepatitis B is not spread through food or water, sharing eating utensils, breastfeeding, hugging, kissing, coughing, sneezing or by casual contact.

Hep A is also by fecal oral route.

For me, i think food handlers have to be vaccinated for salmonella, but i'm not sure for about cholera.. usually cholera is associated with poor hygiene conditions and is not prevalent here.

CL
thanks for helping me to collect the momento

ky
no way to check on when the promo will be. but they usually have during low peak period. i went during Jan so i guess that is considered a low peak period?

CL
dun worry too much abt Aden, he looks perfectly well to me.

re xmas present
i m getting a WII for my xmas present. managed to convince my hb to get it for me..hee

tabb
tks for the reply.. hmm.. so chim. anyway, the agency called to say that the doc recommended tt we just check her for Hep A and B. I thot Hep B can spread thru saliva.. hmm.. i must hv rem wrongly. good point, i didnt think of giving her hep B vaccination. I also think hep B is more serious. My dad had a friend who died suddenly as he had Hep B. so, i hv a deep impressiion of Hep B.

SSF
Maybe you want to consider seeking a 2nd opinion? My bro's fren's halo is quite bad, so he can't drive at nite.

KY
You can check out SQ website for promo but unlikely to get those cut throat prices offered a few years ago cos biz & hol travelling has picked up. In fact Cathay/SQ flight to HK are prettily full these days, sometime can't even get seats if travel last min. Apart from Jetstar, you can try MAS or UA for cheaper flights but MAS will need to transit in KL I think.

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac -Rach
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena
12) wenyl
13) krissie -CL
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny - CL
30) celine wong

CL
i cannot confirm with you whether by tues can meet you or not. erm.. i might join you ladies for lunch on wednesday =p can??

SSF
I agree with flo to seek for 2nd opinion, you might need to drive during nights when your hb is away on biz trip?? although his new job will travel less.

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac -Rach
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena -Rach
12) wenyl -Rena via Rach
13) krissie -CL
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer -Rena via Rach
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny - CL
30) celine wong

Had been MIA for awhile. Very busy at work as many of my colleagues are clearing their leave. So envy them. If only I can also. Still under probation so no leave to clear for me. So many posts to catch up, I will try to answer to the most recent one bah.

Tabbisus,
Wow..nice fish tank.

Linda,
Wow..the scenery very nice leh. You must have enjoyed ur trip.. very nice photos and of cos the "model" there is so pretty also. Envy Envy..

Rachel,
Thanks for the hard work. I will drop by to collect from ur place once it is ready. THANKS once again.

1) CL -Rach
2) Cheng - CL
3) Clare - Flo via CL
4) sept03bride -Rach
5) ssf - SY via CL
6) god's child -Rach
7) sysac -Rach
8) sl - CL
9) mongs - Flo via CL
10) mamachan -Rach
11) rena -Rach
12) wenyl -Rena via Rach
13) krissie -CL
14) linda
15) queen - Flo via CL
16) may - Rachel
17) sy - CL
18) sh - SY via CL
19) cookie - SY via CL
20) demny
21) val
22) tracy -Rach
23) flo - CL
24) esther
25) sleepingdeer -Rena via Rach
26) tabb - CL
27) wenny
28) chillies
29) sunny - CL
30) celine wong

SSF
RE: lasik
out of curiosity, can i ask who's doing ur lasik? are u still BF? cos if u are ur degree may not be stable yet.. last time my consultant discouraged a lady who was BF who wanted lasik and advised her to do it after she stopped BF. Lasik if not done well gives more problems.SOme patients are really unhappy about the halos.

Actually i really envy you, i wish i could go for lasik but I'm really worried about the poor night vision. As it is my eyesight is really bad at night cos of my high power. Esp. now,tabby keeps pulling my glasses and messing it up, and i end up squashing my glasses until they are deformed liao.. have to get the super strong type that can't be easily bent. I can't wear contacts cos my eyes are super dry.. i guess i'm not a good candidate for LASIk.. what a waste cos i can get a really cheap rate.

Tabby - Dr Leonard Thean frm NUH is doing for me. he is the senior there. i have already stopped breastfeeding for quite some time thats why i want to go for it. i know halos can be pretty disturbing but i really want to do it coz its really much more convenient esp at nights...when i cannot see...and keep pushing the pacifier into Jadon's nose. haha... discuss with hb and he still encourage me to go for it...at the most, i dun drive in the nights...which normally i dun. i be back home before sunset. hee..i also got a good rate tats why i dun want to waste the chance.

krissie
Drugstore used to have it but not anymore. iHerb and Lifesvigor have it too but they're selling at $9+ to $10+ USD (compared to LV $7+) for the same thing. Anyway, even if u're willing to pay, also all out of stock, so maybe u can try Vitakids. One of the ladies from the spree once told me Vitakids sell it but they're selling at $30+ SGD per bottle for the same thing. The other thing that's OOS for a long time is California Baby Calendula cream. Heard both are changing formulas so it'll take quite some time for the stock to come in.

Chickenlittle, Denmy
May I check who is holding my crayola stuff now? I need to get them before next week cuz I'm flying off next Wednesday.

tabbs : teething fever?
Anyone has experienced teething fever before? How high did your fever go? This afternoon all of a sudden Ariene just got very manja and refused to eat her lunch and keep wanting me to carry her so that she can rest her head on my shoulder. Cant even put her on my lap to sit down during lunch so my maid had to feed me while I carry her. Then, all of a sudden, while we were walking halfway in robinsons's she just threw up. Luckily I could sense something was wrong so I carried her away from me to have a look at her just in time for her to throw up on the floor so she didn't puke on me. After we cleaned her up, I could feel that she's having a fever and when we brought her home to take temperature, her fever was 38.6deg. Quickly fed her panadol then fever subsided. Just now I took her temperature, it shot up to 38.8deg again. I'm still hesitating whether I should give her bufen of not..

Tabbs,
what do you think? Should I

1. give her the bufen
2. Sponge her (but she's already asleep.. I don't really want to wake her from her slumber)
3. bring her to Mt A to see doc if fever dun go down in 3 hours time
4. wait till tomorrow to see doc if fever persists 5. bring her to see her PD whether or not the fever persists

Ariene has only been sick once for the last 2 years so I'm really quite lost on what I should do..

btw, did u managed to buy any Barneys or hi-5 from greenridge?

hi mamapanda
Personally, in my 2 cents worth and what I've experience with D is that he doesn't get such 'serious' teething fever but more of viral-induced fevers. What Ariene is having sounds like viral infection? Viral infections normally cause such high fever. For me, I'll give panadol every 4 hourly and sponge D when he had that high fever. If temperature still persists after 4 hourly of panadol, next dose would be bufen (as it's a much stronger drug but not in favour of it unless panadol doesn't work to bring down the temp)and bring him to the PD the following day.

Hopefully Tabbs will give your a clearer answer, am just sharing my experience with D.

tabbs
Ariene also likes to pull my glasses and sometimes when I wake up in the morning, she's stepping on my glasses and contorting it so I got myself this pair of really flexi carbon fibre plastic frame called "Swissflex" (or something like this..) with the super strong lenses (carbonate lens or something like that..) and the good thing abt this frame is there's no screws so even when Ariene detaches my frame, I can just click it back, no problem. The whole thing incl lenses only costs abt $375. Had mine made in this big shop in Bukit Panjang Plaza.

Hi KY,
The theatre does not have a drawing curtain. I added on myself.

1102791.jpg

Maid health check,
If u take a look at the health screening form given by the doctor, you can see a small transcript written to request for employer to test for cholera, thyphoid and para thyphi( I think so) as these 3 are endemic in countries like indo and philiphines.

mamapanda

ariene sounds sick, doesn't sound like teething... teething fever is low grade and never so high and also not with vomiting.

For me, i usually reserve brufen for high fevers 39 and above. I will sponge and give panadol otherwise. Try and put those cool patches on her fore head. If u don't want to sponge her in the tub, take a cool towel wipe her down. to help her body temp go down. I usually will sponge her even if she is drowsy. Drowsiness can be due to fever also so if the temp is too high, we will sponge her and then give her her med. I will repeat the panadol at the dosing schedule but if the temp is not down yet and panadol not due, i'll give brufen. Some fevers are more responsive to brufen, and some to panadol. If the temp can come down with panadol, then just give panadol alone. If Ariene starts vomiting and can't take medicine, you may need a suppository.

I suggest you bring her to see a PD, esp since you'll be travelling soon. you might want him to give you extra medicine and advice on how to handle simple cough/ colds since you'll be in a cold country.

hope she gets well soon!

btw, re barney and hi 5, yes they got more stocks already! I bought quite a few barney cds and other vcds, and the lady gave me additional discount.

mamapanda
one more thing, try to give Ariene more fluids if she is willing to take. If she is having GE, you can give her rice water.

have not been into the forum for quite some time.
I am into my 37 weeks this week and my gynae is not around and my PIL going off for holidays at the end of the week. Kind of worried that the 2nd one will come out earlier which is really quite likely frm e last gynae visit. My gynae wn't be back till 12 Dec and my PIL 16 Dec so hopefully my gal will be "guai guai" to stay inside longer.

Clariss is going to half day childcare starting tomorrow and I can't take leave to be with her. Her daddy will be sending her and I guess with all the above and sending clariss to school, can't really have a peaceful mind to sleep. been up fr 2am till now. sigh!

Rachel, CL, Flo,
Thanks for designing the memento, arrangement and collecting for me.

Mongs,
Hope Clariss start well at childcare.

Mamapanda,
Ariene sounds sick. Better bring to pd and get well before your trip.

Denmy has not informed me or I have missed the post. Is it ready for collection at her store ? If yes, I organised a RP lunch and hop to her shop.

SSF,
Ha ha I also very keen in Lasik. My son hor takes my specs on and off during the trip till I so fed up now.

mamapanda
thanks for the advice on sambucol. Like tabb, i'll gv panadol every 4 hrly and then dose of bufen when it exceeds 38 deg. better bring her to doc. think if necc, they'll gv antibiotics, then she can recover faster, in time for your trip.