(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,
He meant like he look at you then very fast look away , eye contact not so good. ha ha difficult for me to tell you but I feel he is just hyper but the gp think otherwise man. He did a study on autism and my hb trust him because he is always able to give us very good advice too. So i rather go check then be sorry.

Thanks SY
I will be going for psychiatrist not speech therapist. Speech I not worried, he is beginning to start repeating a little bit after us.

Yup it is realli difficult to imagine Aden as one but well since it is being suspected I would go for professional advice to rule out.

CL
the GP assessed Aden during the usual development assessment or you brought A there specially to check for autism? Healthway clinic?
i wonder if quietness is one of the symptom of autism. For austistic child, does he/she mix around with other kids?

hi cookie,
i don't think the holiday prog is full. u can try calling lavina.i will be bringing him there myself. since i'm on maternity leave.

sy,
right now, i still have confinement lady with me so tyler sleeps with her. after she leaves, ty will sleep in the baby. i'll probably rock ty to sleep or latch, before edgar goes to sleep with us.

Mashy,
Very worrying hor. I also very xian now. But then again, you also dun have that instinct that they all say the mummy sure have one right. Then we likely can rule out. I spoke to Charmaine's classmate's mummy whose child is one and she is in her class now, plus my other 2 frens who child are one,, first thing they tell me " as a mummy, you will know one" They all assure me Aden is ok. But just because of that dr's comment I have to go see professional to rule it out lor.

Sunny
I only happen to bring Aden there for normal cough consult. Healthmark. And then he pass this comment. I have not realli went to read about it. He says they will engage in their world, not sensitive to changes, sometimes if got loud sound they may not be aware but if there is a particular sound that irritates them, he will be very disturbed by it. Charmaine's classmate do not mix but only to Charmaine she will hug because my gal is well known in class to be able to look after her friends and other younger ones in school.

Congrats to all having #2!

Queen/Mamchan/Mashy/Sysac,
Ha hah a... I am not having #2 either or won't be having #2 for the next 2 yrs... am going to do my masters part-time. Must really pray for good time management.

Cookie,
I have signed charmaine up for lavina's hol pg - sat 4415 to 615. Starting on this sat.

Re: Speech dev
My PD assured us before when we raised this issue that speech will come in their own good time. As long as they understand what we say. She said that she herself didn't start talking till she's 3. We are more relaxed after her reassurances. Plus she said specifically that charmaine's not autistic plus charmaine has very good eye contact.

Actually I am like most of you here when it comes to sweets. I don't like the idea of giving sarah sweets and the WHOLE family including the maid knows that. I think that is why she tried to act blur when I confronted her about the sweet in her mouth. Unfortunately for me, NONE of my family respect my stance on sweets. I have come to alot of fights with my own mother and ILs as to the sweet-giving countless times that I have resorted to not letting them meet so often. It's pointless telling them when they take whatever you say as er bian fong.

Will try to enjoy the hokkaido trip. Dunno how it'll be - just keeping my fingers crossed.

Aileen, it's really wonderful that edgar can sayang the little brother so much. =) I hope sarah will sayang her little sister too.

SSF,
Praise God for your hb's new job! Can tell you're so happy that he'll have more family time

CL / mashy,
Guess no harm going for the checks if you are really concerned abt ur boys. At least gives you a peace of mind. But meanwhile, don't worry so much. Nothing's confirmed yet!

esther,
I didn't know the hepatitis wasn't part of the health check. But i'm also not too bothered about it actually....maybe i'm too sui2 bian4!

CL,
I dun think Aden is, but best to go rule it out.

mashy
Ger has ear infection, so it might hv affected his speech as he cant hear clearly (he hears muffled noises). he can speak qt a lot, but articulation is not so good. anyway, we are seeing an ENT doc which was recommended by Flo's PD. Let me know if u want the contact. sometims, they dun speak well, coz they cant hea well.

sl,
which hol prog did u sign up for?

cl,
don't think aden is autistic at all... or at least he doesn't seem to be to me. some kids are just shy, that's why their eye contact is brief. but best to have a pro examine to set ur mind at ease

Sysac
Don't worry, you won't be the last one to have #2 cuz I'm not planning to have a #2, unless accidents happened. My hb don't want a #2 although I don't mind having 1 more

sandra,
ya i'm really blessed that edgar takes to his didi very well. i don't know if it's because i always ask him to kiss didi (ie my tummy) when i was pregnant with tyler. the moment edgar laid his eyes on didi at the hospital, he wanted to touch and kiss didi already. and nobody tot him that!

krissie

C also had ear infection before. maybe cannot hear well too?

CL
Don't worry. I also think Aden isn't autistic. It could be that Aden's eye contact is brief only wrt the GP? I realised that my boy doesn't really like to interact much with his PD.

With us, he does a lot more things. WIth other pp, he tends to keep his contact short and brief. With us, he'll make funny faces, raise his hand when we call his chinese name and say amen after prayers. But once there's someone else other than us (incl his yeye and nainai), he will not do any of these things.

sl
C also has good eye contact. Hope that is good enough not to be autistic.

Have been so busy latelyactivity in office doesnt seems to be slowly down despite coming to year endstill have fair bit of travelling to in dec

Linda
Poor Gracie, hope shes alright now. Those custom officers in Korea are quite sickening rite.

SSF
Congrats on your hb new job. How did your pre lasik assessment go? When are you doing your op? Must be really excited

Btw, we have decided to engage Patrick to do our reno, highly recommended by Pam. Originally took leave today/tom to clear and vacate our pl but this morning hb decided to delay the reno until after CNY cos of his work commitment.haiz

Rachel
The postcard is so nice.wow can really see our little ones are so grown up now. Have fun in SH

Sandra
Long time no hear. I used to be able to leave Mel in the room and sleep by hersefl but these days need to stay in the room with her until shes asleep. I normally will take some books/toys to "keep" her in the bedroom (she would want to go out if hb is still in the living room). She'll play/flip until she fall asleep. My colics wife used to let her son watch tv to sleep but after a while it came back to haunt her. At one stage, the boy would wake up at 3am in the middle on the nite and insist on watching Barney. If she refused to let him watch, he would scream and cry until he vomit. So maybe should try to kick the habit before it become too deep rooted.

Durianlover,
Actually I drove myself to work until the very day before my labourI think as long as you are comfortable yourself should be fine.

Mamachan, Queen, Mashy, Sysac, SL
Re. #2
Well, at least you gals are still young, so time is on your side. For me, I told hb that if we dont plan one by mid of this year, Im not going to have #2. But hb is still keen to try for #2 next year when hes more settled in his new job. Frankly, Im having 2 minds about iton one hand I would like Mel to have a playmate but on the other hand the thought of going thru everything all over again (esp the 1st year) and my age really put me off.

Rena
I got some angelwipes during JL 20% sale, is much cheaper than Stevens price

CL
I thot Dr Khor said Aden is ok? Anyway, Aden is quite responsive so unlikely leh, autistic kid is always in his own world

SL
Re: Speech dev
Haha, ya Dr Khor ever mentioned she would be highly suspected to be an autistic kid when she was young.but she managed to make it to be a doc

Mel is quite slow in her speech too but lately shes getting more vocal. So funny she must have watched the leapfrog phonics disc too often; when she see A, B, C she will pronounce the phonics instead of the letter. Yesterday, she was holding a piece of paper with some words and she was trying to pronounce the each letter by phonicsso cute.

Maid hep B check,

Can try Sata for health check. Cheap and efficient. NOt onli hep B is not in the list. I also check for the following: Hep A, typhiod and cholera. I have one maid that was tested positive for thyphoid and i have to send her back immediately. For typhoid test needs to do feacal test so not many places does it. I usually gets my agent to do it for me. But for simple hep A and B test. Sata is convenient.

Hi mashy brainz:
I know of this speech therapist http://www.speech-connection.com/ She is really good. I am not sure whether can she recommend any therapist for assessment with regards to autism but she can definately help with speech issues. But she did mention that she will usually wait till 2.5yrs before she can give a formal assessemtn. From what i know from my pd, she mentioned that autism can be formally assessed at 3 and above. Like what KY, mentioned. it is a spectrum. Not having eye contact does not indicate autism. Like the name indicate spectrum means whole range. YOu would need to meet several criteria to label a child autistic and many charateristics displayed in autistic children is common in toddler. I know of an autistic child who is super friendly but he is labelled autistic. There is this website www.wee-care.com.sg this lady denise runs a school with special facilities for children with disabilties and they also do assessemtn for children.She has a EMAIL me section where she answers queries from parents. She is veri qualified in this field. Perhaps u might want to ask her abt ur boy's condition and whether is it a concern right now. Good to get some "free" professional advice first.

I found a really good and cheap puppet theatre at IKEA. 4.90 onli.

SY
How's kidsloft hol prog timing like? Have some more leave to clear, would like to enroll Mel if timing permit.

HI mashy brainz,
I just checked speech connection website. She does conduct ASD assesessment. YOu can call her up and tell her your concern. If it is a concern, she will let u know. If not she will tell u to wait. She is not the money minded type (coz her schedule) super full so I highly recceomend her. I recceomended a few frens to her and all like her.

Hi Mommies

Here's the checklist for Autism in Toddlers that PD gave me. I've actually posted it sometime back.

Questions for Parents
Does your child enjoy being swung, bounced on your knee etc?
Does your child like climbing on things, such as up/on chairs
Does your child enjoy playing peek-a-boo / hide & seek?
Does your child ever pretend, for eg, to make a cup of tea using a toy cup and teapot, or pretend other things (pouring juice)? (Pretend Play (PP)
Does your child ever use his or her index finger to point, to ask for something?
Does your child ever us his or her index fingers to point, to indicate interest in something (Protodeclarative Pointing (PDP)
Can you child play properly with small toys (eg cars or blocks (without just mouthing, fiddling or dropping them?
Does your child ever bring objects over to you (parent), to show you something?

Padiatrician's Questions / Observations
Gaze monitoring (GM): Get the child's attention, then point across the room at an interesting object and say, "Oh Look! There's a (name of a toy)!" Watch the child's face. Does the child look across to see what you are pointing at? (To record a YES, make sure the child does not just look at your hand, but at the object you are pointing at).
Pretend Play (PP): Get the child's attention, then give the child a miniature toy cup and teapot and say, "Can you make a cup of tea?" Does the child pretend to pur out tea and drink it?
Protodeclarative Pointing (PDP): Say to the child, "Where's the light?" or "Show me the light." Does the child point with their index finger at the light?

Block Tower: Can the child build a tower of blocks? (If so how many?)

Bold indicates critical questions most indicative of autistic characteristics
failing all questions with shaded boxes - 80-85% risk of autism
Passing all questions with shaded boxes - 0% risk of autism.

maid checkup
U talking abt the first checkup before working in Singapore is it? I've had my maid for more than 2 years and MOM never ask me to send her for all these checks. ONly need her to go GP every 6 months to do regular checkups (think its to check for pregnancy, AIDS, etc) no need take xray or anything. As for the first checkup, the maid agency did everything for me so I didn't have to bother myself with it.

hi mashy, CL
your kids don't look autistic to me at all..

Esther
i always pay extra to get Hep B checked. I get the maid agency to do this. Costs me abt $30 extra. I will choose the maid and they will get the test done even b4 coming.

Linda
Wow, your photos are very very nice.. like from the scene of a korean movie.

RE: speech and tv
i'm so guilty of letting my girl watch to much TV cos my mom can't really cope with 2 bb. Today she was sitting on her potty and some power puff girl cartoon was on.. i was going to switch off cos i usu. don't let her watch non-educational tv shows, when she suddenly asked "where are the puff girls?" (during a scene with baddies) .. initially i didn't know what she was talking about but then i realised it the the power puff girls she was talking abt... faintz... and later on she was waving her xylophone stick around and screamed I love my "TON" repeatedly.. and then she said "bald eagle!".. i was wondering what rubbish she was talking about when I realised she was repeating the scene from little einsteins where the bald eagle steals the "baton" that Leroy? likes... haiz.. didn't realise she "learnt" so much from TV! I really have to control.. can u imagine her liking powerpuff girls already?

RE: anniversary gift
I'm so happy becos of the sitex show.. my hb decided to buy me an early anniversary gift ( supposed to be due in dec) of a canon 40D DSLR so that i can take more shots of didi and tabby! Yay.. hopefully, i can do more scrapbooking. I've given up on updating my blog..

RE: race course
today we went to the race course cos there was an open day, and tabby got up close to a horse and patted it fearlessly.. she's kept going horse "neigh, neigh" throughout her ride home.. so funny!

linda
Very nice!!! It must be really beautiful there now. Nice and cool too

tabbi
Did u receive my emails regarding the VS spree?

linda
i love your pics.. make me so feel like going..

mashy
yah.. maybe. ger's ear infection cleared, then came back again. he just finished his second course of antibiotics, If he still doesnt recover, need to do minor surgery to remove the fluid in his ear.

re ear infection
does anyone know of someone who has done a minor surgery to remove the fluid in his ear? the doc says it's not painful, but how can it be, right? haiz..

krissie
re: ear surgery to drain the fluid
i don't know if its truly painless but with the numbing ear drops, the surgeon will use a blade make a hole in the eardrum and place a grommet tube ( a small plastic tube) to help drain the ear fluid. After awhile the tube will fall out by itself.There maybe a a permanenat hole or if can self seal after that. I don't know if it would have to be done under GA for a toddler.

Krissie
RE: arts and craft.
I did this with tabby on one day using a tissue box and construction paper.
1099088.jpg

Its a fish tank and u can pull the strings and the fish will move up and down. Tabby colored the fishes and octopus.

mamapanda
yes i got it.. will transfer the $$ to you soon and maybe can pick up on friday or sat?

Flo, Tabbiesus,
Thanks, it is not Dr Khor who says Aden is one. It is my family GP and he knows Dr Khor. Ha ha he felt more senior to Dr Khor though he is a GP. Anyway, I rather pay that $$$ to ensure he is fine. If he is one then I will just have a early ttmt to make sure he is ok. Anyway Charmaine's childcare has experience dealing with one so I guess they are able to make him normal too if he is being diagnosed as one.

Linda,
Very nice woh. Ha ha can go into one of those drama serial liao. Very tempted to go.

Krissie,
Hope little Ger will recover and skip the surgery

Tabbiesus
Nice craft you are doing with Tabby. Now I am feeling so bad that I hardly spend much time each day with the kids. Now only left reading story before they sleep

Linda - the pics are very nice! u make me itch for korea now hahaha...

Tabbiesus - wow wow! impressed wor... its so pretty and im sure my little one will like it! she simply loves the fish tanks at home and kept askin to sit there and watch the fishes... mabbie i shld do one wf her then get her to watch her own tank haha
thanks for sharing such a great artwork!

Thanks Krissie for that blog.
This mummy is realli creative. Shall steal her idea for her butterfly and do it for Charmaine's classmates too. Very cute.

Down with gastric flu n on MC these 2 days. Fever, body aches, diarrhea... after vomitting this morning I felt so much better!

Aileen,
How's your confinement lady? A mummy in May08 thread looking for CL. Can share her contact?

Or any other mummies whose CL is still available for May08 can share the contact pls? Thanks!

Tabbie,
Wow..you're so creative with the fish tank thingy! I'm impressed too!

tabbi
Let me know if u prefer this evening or tomorrow night but pls SMS me before coming as I'm usually not home on weekends ok?

tabbs
Tabby is really intelligent! I tried drawing circles for Ariene to color but she always color out of line! Just cover the whole circle with color and very messy too!

tabbs

nice work! Tabby is so smart can colour. My boy just scribbles. I gave him a colouring book and he just scribbles on it rather than colour.

When i gave him playdoh to play, he rolled 2 small balls on his cheeks and slowly moved them to his mouth!!! He knew i don't allow him to eat, so he tried to secretly sneak them in! sigh. He's so cunning. Don't think he's autistic anymore. haha. Went to see PD today for his cough, asthma is back. He said no need to worry coz he understands what we say to him.

my boy just fell asleep watching tv! hahaha, i was wondering how come he's quietly sitting there watching tv. then realised he's asleep. hahaha.

Linda
Your pics are so nice, so romantic =)

Tabbie
Wow really impressed with your artwork. Tabbie will quietly sit down with you to finish the entire artwork? I just simply can't get Mel to sit thru, she will either insist on doing what she wants or she'll walk off...haiz. How do you get Tabbie engage?

Aileen
Your Huggalug is still with me. Will be back in office next week, can ask your hb to pick it up from me

Tracy
Hope you are feeling better, have got your email. Will confirm with my fren and let you know if I wanna get...thanks.

linda,
ur photos are very nice. sooo romantic.makes me miss my pak toh days with my hb! :p

tracy,
my confinement lady is Daisy. her number is 94572297. she's quite good. can ask her to quote my name. but she can only speak eng. coz she's peranakan.

art and craft,
i am so guilty. only lately i started to let edgar play with paint which i bot ages ago. usually only let him draw with crayons. and i never do crafts with him! but his drawing is getting better. he can kinda draw circles now. instead of just scribbling straight lines.

flo,
so paiseh, left the huggalugs with u for so long. okie, will ask hb to contact u next week. thanks! btw read that u are interested in bring mel to the kidsloft holiday prog. think there's still vacancies for fairytales and folktale. i have just signed edgar up.
Date : 10th, 12th and 14th Dec (Mon, Wed, Fri)
Time : 4-5.30pm
Fee : $100

hi Jamom, saw the puppet stage in ikea online catalog ... it's just cardboard based? I don't see any drawing curtains...

Tabb, can see that tabby has very strong colouring strokes ...

sy, on the sq promo ... any good way to check, when it happens??

.ky.

hi mommies

paiseh lah..\the fish tank idea i stun from her playschool... I just draw the outline of the fishes and octopus and ask her to color.. she is basically scribbling everywhere.. .. i 'll ask her to do on the fishy again.. after that i just get her to tear the "seaweed" green paper... i have to do the sewing and the gluing myself.. haha.. she just appreciates the end result..

her scibbling is mainly circular too.. and she can't color within the object yet...

I can only do this with her on weekends, and only once in a while... actually i let her color when she is in church.. its the only way i can get her to sit thro a 1 hour service without wanting to run around... i will give her a coloring book or blank paper and just let her go wild with the crayon.. i find she don't like the color wonder crayola as much.. maybe cos the color takes a while to come on and the individual markers got no color so she's not interested.

i also notice that tabby likes to use her left as much as her right hand.. i didn't correct her but i have a feeling she maybe left handed cos she prefers to grab the crayons in her left hand.

Mamapanda
I mayhave to pick it up tomorrow evening. Will sms u in the evening before coming to check if u are in.

FLo
when it comes to painting she can sit still for 20min, my girl likes painting ALOT.. she even sleeps with a paintbrush. haha..

Aileen/Flo
I just called up lavina just now and yes there are still vacancies for the Holiday program.
I am signing kae up too.. just submitted my leave.. hope no onjection from boss

Flo
U can send to [email protected]
child name
DOB
address
contact
and I suppose lavina will get back to you cos she ask me to send in these details.

Aileen,
Same for my boy. If he wakes up cries, then I have to go back and lie down beside him again.

Sandra,
Wahthat's so dangerous. Your maid is so irresponsible!

Aileen
yes I'm planning to sign up for that class cos the timing is good.
I can take half day and not so rush to bring kae for class. These days she dun nap at that time too so really just nice

yes see you in class

SH,
hehe.. sama sama... abit troublesome ya. always gotta have someone in the room when he's sleeping.

cookie,
that's good! ya i find the timing good too. coz edgar's nap time is 1pm - 3/4pm. i make him nap only once a day now. it's easier to plan playgroups/classes for him.

CL
Managed to skim through the last archive of postings. Was so shocked to read what you shared bout what your GP said of Aden. I'm like,"huh???? sure or not? Aden is so sociable wor" Think don't have to be too worried. Am pretty sure that God had given us the instincts to detect if anything is wrong. Maybe Aden is plain not interested in seeing your GP anymore? hehehe

SSF
Congrats to you and your hb for his new work! Really happy to hear that for you, a big new blessing coming your family's way come 2008!

linda
very lovely pics. HAhahaha, looks like you and hb starred in some korean drama like that.

1100522.jpg
1100523.jpg
1100524.jpg
1100525.jpg

Hi Mummy some more to share with your hee..hee
Thanks and feel really like in korea drama :p I must thanks to my hubby because he took for me those nice picture and I arrange the pose as well.
I personal think that the best time go to Korea is in Autunm...