(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re:WEEKEND PLAYGROUP, Christmas theme/ Christmas party!
was thinking of a weekend group so daddies can get involved (IE volunteer to be santa??)

Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs)
2. Craft (paper toy stocking.. or christmas tree decoration... e.g. styrofoam ball decoration)
3. Storytime : some christmas story...
i have one of those walking inflatable mylar balloons which is a reindeer.. if anyone knows the rudolf the red nose reindeer story we can use that as prop.
4. If the kids aren't afraid, and some kind daddy is willing.. santa claus and gift giving/ sharing..

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax

1. Chickenlittle - ok for all dates now. Yup yup bringing Charmaine. She is doing a lot of caroling in school, can get her to lead the kids if she dares ha ha.
2. krissie - ok for 22nd dec, brining hb and my new helper, gerald and baby.
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - all dates except 15 Dec (is Mel's bday but we have yet to plan anything!)
5. mashy - ok for sats.
6. ky - prefer 15 or 16th. can my 4.5 come too?
7. Aileen - ok with 22nd. coming with hb, helper and 2 princes.
8. Cookie - Coming with HB, helper, and the 2 Ks
9. sl - okay for saturdays.
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 15th and 22nd ok, will also bring Ethan along
12. queen - preferred 16th or 22nd.

Krissie,
Thanks for the link! Will check it out! Ethan is crazy over Thomas the Train show now.

Tracy,
Cookie and me went for amnio. We are under the same gynae. I was advised to do it cos my NT scan readings were on the high side. The amnio risk for MC is very low. And the procedure is done quite fast. If I remember correctly, we are advised not to carry heavy things, especially for the 1st week.

RE: playgroup

I just realise that there will be so many adults at my place, and its quite small, so i hope u don't mind if its gets to be a bit of a crowd cos I still prefer to have it at orchard cos I'm afraid it'll be too hot at holland.

Can I put some mommies in charge of certain sections? Mommies, please volunteer to help in each section as u are comfy in...

Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft \b(tabbiesus}
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. kiv santa & gift giving ?denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax

1. Chickenlittle - ok for all dates now. Yup yup bringing Charmaine. She is doing a lot of caroling in school, can get her to lead the kids if she dares ha ha.
2. krissie - ok for 22nd dec, brining hb and my new helper, gerald and baby.
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - all dates except 15 Dec (is Mel's bday but we have yet to plan anything!)
5. mashy - ok for sats.
6. ky - prefer 15 or 16th. can my 4.5 come too?
7. Aileen - ok with 22nd. coming with hb, helper and 2 princes.
8. Cookie - Coming with HB, helper, and the 2 Ks
9. sl - okay for saturdays.
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 15th and 22nd ok, will also bring Ethan along
12. queen - preferred 16th or 22nd.

SY

I tried that tactic but failed. He knows. He's getting smarter each day. I pretended to drink from his cocktail of meds from his cup, he didn't even bother taking a 2nd look at me.

Now he's so suspicious over everything we feed him. He'll take a small little sip to see if it takes normal, else he'll spit it all out. Even when we tried to syringe him water, he'll spit it out thinking it's meds. When we tried to spoon feed him honey (as an experiment), he also spit it out.

cookie
We tried pinching his nose but he struggled even more. sigh. Think will try the bending backwards thing. He might like that coz he loves all somersaults actions.

Wenyl,
Thanks for the advise on amnio. I've quoted your reply to her and also directed her to our thread to read your reply. Thanks so much!

cookie

tried your mtd. it works best in terms of force feeding coz it's diff for him to struggle out. Managed to get abt 75% in.
good.

mashy
u know, my hb actually tried taking JH's medicine before just to know how it taste. he really took it in front of him lor. a bit only lah.

how abt letting him feed himself? they feel quite proud of themselves.

SY

tried that too. also failed. My boy is really stubborn. At first i thought he wanted to have some independence and hold his own spoon, but he just threw the spoon away. Like the raisins which i spiked, after he tried, now he's very wary of raisins and will taste first.

mashy
your boy really stubborn. we used to try a lot of tricks with JH too until we so fed up and just force feed. maybe he one day just suddenly decided to cooperate with me.

god's child,
Yup yup...i was there on the 15th in the afternoon. Were u there too?

JW didn't eat much in HK coz the food was too salty i think. But in Japan, he was like a food monster. Can eat bits of ramen, udon plus whole bowl of rice on his own, then ask for milk barely an hour later.

In fact we bought one bento thinking of sharing with him and he finished almost the whole thing. Poor mummy starving after he was done

Mashy,
I remembered someone once told me that she resorted to freezing the medication and giving it as an ice-cube. A bit weird but she said her son took medicine with that method...

wow so many postings. cannot catch up ,..
mummies, i am gg for my lasik pre-assessment on next MOnday. Hope to get a perfect eyesight by Christmas. hee...

krissie - i bought a bob the builder cake from cake ave for C first bd.
Paid like 110 bucks for 3kg cake.

so fast and now we are back for the bd parties all over again. haha..so exciting.

re: medicine
i know its wierd but C dun have problem taking medicine at all. he simply loves it. all i need to say is eat medicine...and he will come to me. haha..

Mashy

Giving medicine to your boy really sounds challenging.

So far Clarisse didn't have this problem, she will cooperative with me to swallow the medicine, which I guess she finds it sweet so ok to take it. Only if she is really not feeling that well, I will slowly use syringe to inject the medicine slowly then she is more willing to take.

Anyone know how much the annual subscription fees for Subsequent Born Incentive card? Is it true that I can get discount for hospital package charge in TMC?

SH

Japan's Bento is too yummy that's why they can eat so much. hahaha.
Cannot freeze the meds lah. My boy coughing too...

SSF/Sysac
My boy used to be ok with meds. We feed him cod liver oil and multivits every night. Then after we returned from Japan, somehow things changed. He just decided that he doesn't wanna take any meds or supplements anymore.

Zhimin
You wanna check out the Junior Angel Club instead? It's 10% off the rooms rates leh. Perhaps u should call the hotline at TMC to see whether it's better to get SBI or JAC.

Zhimin,
I signed up for SBI already in order to get the Oscar test discount. I paid $128 for subscription. Think will be entitled to $100 off your hospital bill for single-bedded ward. My gynae and PD are on the list of clinics participating on the SBI.

Mashy/ Tracy

Thanks for your reply, will check out the JAC also.

Tracy
$100 like a bit little hor, my friend delivered in Mt A and she paid by UOB ladies card got 10% off total bill leh.

I'm back...how are you mummies....

Accident
I have a good trip in Korea for 11 days but something happened to Gracie
She has an accident at Child Care.
Her forehead was hit on wooden cabinet and was sent to KKH. And she got 4 stiches on her forehead... This accident happened when I was in korea. I got to know thru MSN with MIL. I was sad and feeling guilty and cried. MIL told me that Gracie was fine and got no fever, and I dont need to worry.

When I saw Gracie at Airport the first thing she did called me "Mummyyyyy" Oh dearrrr I PAu Pau her and kiss her. She did complain to me with pointed her forehead and her uniform to me after I reached home. Thanks God she is fine right now.

linda - sorry to hear abt Gracie's accident. glad she is fine now. really must sayang sayang her for being such a brave girl

Hello Mummies!

greetings live from Shanghai! hb is on biz trip and i tag along. a good chance to have some couple time since dylan came along.

wow, so much postings to catch up!! think have to use at least an hour to speed read through the thread. *sweat*

finally i got to upload the birthday bash memento, been very busy lately. i sincerely apologise to all on the delay of this memento,only got to collect the last bb photo in Sept. hope to seek some forgiveness and understanding. sorry sorry..

and here it is!!

1087523.jpg

erm.. cant seem to post a bigger image.. let me figure out 1st.

if all mummies is happy with this design, i will go have it printed out in postcard size (about 15x10cm)

Hi Rachel, it is beautiful. I am ok with the design. Thanks for the hardwork

Linda,
Will pray that little Gracie's scar will go away.

Linda,
Poor Gracie! *** sayang sayang ***

Rachel,
The artwork is nice! Can send us the softcopy via email or load into yahoo group? Would like to put as wallpaper. Seeing all our bbs all so grown up now. Time really flies!

cookie

i'm getting better at your mtd. haha, today finally managed to shove down some of the meds down his throat. His fever also finally broke today.
Altho he really hates me now (refused to hug/kiss or even let me carry), it's for his good lor.

Hi Mummies,..

Thank you..Gracie is fine now and hopefully no scar on her forehead.

Hi Tabbiesus,

The trip was really good as free and easy trip.
But I got to know from MIL about gracie accident 2 days before I came back to Singapore. Than was really sad on the last 2 days. MIL told me dont need to worry every thing is fine

I visit the Yongpyong ski resort and Namiseon Island..those places are for the korea drama Winter Sonata and also Lotte World for the korea drama Star case to heaven.
I personal thing that Autumn is the right time going to Korea as you may see the 3 diifferent color of maple leaf and tree...but Snow also not bad and scenery also different compare to Autumn.
I will upload some picture...

Hihi!

today is my 2nd day in Shanghai, tomorrow will be going to Cixi, in Zhejiang province. had a super duper day today, shopping shopping, eating and the weather is great! average of 15degree C.

grateful to make the right choice in joining hb in this trip. had the feeling of our dating days once more after such a long time. it has bring us closer once again =)

yah, another thing is i bought LOTS of books and dvd for dylan!! hahaha i simply went crazy after stepping into the children book section. little einstein dvd is S$3+!! children books as cheap as $1!! bought some books on developing right and left brain too... bought CNY clothings for dylan and myself. a very fruitful day =)

re: birthday bash memento
can't post a bigger image of the memento, keep stating image exceed 50kb and 600x600....*angry*

wenyl/linda
when all mummies are fine with the design, i will print out and send out the softcopy to all of you. =)

linda
korea is one of the country i like very much. went there during the winter time. would want to pay another visit during autumn.

linda
hope gracie will recover with no scar. she is a really brave gal

rachel
the design is really nice! thanks for your hard work! no need to apologise for the delay. we shd thank u instead!

wow the books and dvds are really cheap there

Thanks Rachel! Enjoy yr trip in SH. If u can, drop by Bi Feng Tang for their tim sum! Delicious!

Linda - Hope Gracie recovers soon
I enjoyed my Korea trip too & that was b4 Cephas came along. HB & I plan to bring him there when he's older.

feeling damn terok. one of the 5 dragon boat racers was my hb's childhood friend. I also know his brother & parents. die just like that. His family must be feeling so devastated. I think if something like that happen to my boy, it will feel just like dying. What a horrible feeling that must be. Must have more kids. Cannot have only 1 child. So at least if something bad happens, there's other children to live for. Even though the loss will still be tremendous, will still have to pick up the pcs and move on. If just 1 child, will probably wanna die with the kid.

rachel - i lurve it..it's lovely! thanks for your hard work!

mashy- i read it in the papers today...its really a tragic accident. hope that his family can come to terms soon.

HI CL,

Thanks for organising the open house with the chinese teacher. LEarnt alot from her and also burnt a hole in pocket.

anyone going babies prom next friday?

SY

Syaac and Rachel

Yeahh Korea is nice country and a lot of pretty girl :p but did not really see any handsome man there.
On my first day in Korea I went to shop and visit the Gyeongbokunng palace by mysel and got myself a pair of boot
really good for shopping.

sysac
i did pass by Bi Feng Tang but did not went in for a feast, bcoz the q was so long! haha yes, am enjoying myself here =)

linda
hey, i agree with u there are lots of pretty ladies when i went to korea years ago and not a single handsome man around. so it still is the same now huh =p

jamom
what babies promotion is it?

tracy
I sms you

Mashy
hee I also find my MIL method work very good. Hope C come to term soon and like med once again.
U very funny.. .sound like those female magazine, tried and tested product page... next time u can list out all the tried and tested meathod of med feeding :p

Rachel
Thanks so much...the artwork is very nice.
It's all my fault... I should aplogise..
Sorry to all mummies

Linda
So sorry to read abt ther Gracie.. but Thankfully she is fine now..and they recover very fast too so dun think will leave a mark.

Re: eating problem
I'm soooo envy to read abt kids being "food monster". Kae has been increasingly difficult to eat. I really dunno what to do ley... now she refuse rice/ porridge as well

Today.. I cried when she just refuse to eat again, cooked pasta also dun like, porridge also dun like, rice with soup also dun like - only drink soup and spit out the rice.
Haha dunno my maid think I siao or not cos I just breakdown when she reject her meals again

Then Kae see me cry, she also cry.. haizz faint.

After some crying.. kae has a little improvement.. she show interest in plain pasta, so I end up give her plain pasta with soup and plus an egg.

kae really Luv Soup.. she ONLY want to drink soup and nothing else. How ah?? should I be concern?

cookie
it sure is very stressful for you when kaelyn dont show interest in eating... ermm, kae is in the healthy range of weight?? or you have heard about something that can improve children's appetite, "kai wei" powder. can ask from the chinese medical hall. heard it has help many children.

try to relax, when you stress while feeding kae she will feel it and be stress too. do you feed her with spoon with cantoon print on it?? when dylan show pattern while i feed him, i will play with him asking him when is doggie on the spoon. he will say "dog dog where?" and take a mouthful of his food in order to see doggie =p

Rachel - Dun miss it while u r there! My fren & I enjoyed the egg tarts and I am one who is quite fussy abt egg tarts! Hee hee...of cse the other dishes are also yummylicious!

Linda - Ohhhh...I love the shopping in Korea! I went with my mum while my HB was away in US. Hee...cos he had been there earlier. My mum & I bought 6 bags & 3 wallets the minute we hit Seoul.

Jamon,
I'm going to Babies Proms but on Sat 2pm. Yours on Fri?

CL,
Yah, thanks for organising the open house... I also burn a hole in my pocket. Now wondering if I will be disciplined enough to go through all the books with the children.

cookie,
Keenan loves soups too. And all sorts of sauces. Maybe you can give her some soupy kway tiow? Kway tiow cos it's softer and smoother to chew and swallow. start with more soup and a little kway tiaow 1st, so it wont turn her off the dish?

Mashy
I also feel so bad for the families though not related. Just a event like that and turn out to be a tragedy which pple least expected it.

Jamon, Denmy
Ha ha i also lost control each time. First time I spent $500. Of course it includes a logico set at $100 plus lah. She dare not show me new books scare i spent too much. But I happen to see it each time she use it during class so ha ha still burn hole lor.

Comfortable with her as a teacher ? My hb oso learnt the story technique from her. Now he can read the books quite well. Test and proven because when he was reading for my gal, Aden who usually run away during reading time actually walk and sit down beside him.

Heard she wants to order montessori stuff in next round. Did you get the activity books, realli fun. Can finish one, now I let charmaine do activity books everyday. She cannot stop doing.

Cookie
Aden sometimes oso like that. Sometimes I just let him sit with us at the dinner table, he feels he is eating with us he will eat. Then other times, I know he wants to self feed so I was ready to let him make a mess. They are observing us and wants to be like us, so can try. Ha ha you are better than me since you got maid to help out. For me, haha i have to clean up and tolerate my hb's frustration because he cannot tahan the mess.

Linda,
Very nice places you have went. Hope we hear good news from you next month for a "Made in Korea"

rachel
thanks for the artwork. very nice!!!

cookie
recently i face the same difficulty in making my gal to eat, too. can understand your stress. not sure if it's because she's feeling unwell (tummy too bloated with wind and just recover from fever). last time, even when she's sick, she still managed to finish the whole bowl of food. but now... sigh.. i hope the phase will be over soon.
i think it's just a phase for kae refusing food. besides main meals, do you give her snacks? i normally don't give snack to my gal, other than her milk and fruit. so that, she can finish her main meal.
in terms of nutrition, i think soup is really nutritious cos it's full of goodness of all ingredients.