(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny
Yes, the position of my placenta caused bleeding during my first tri and I had to go back to my gynae at Gleneagles every wed and sat for 2 injections to stabilise the placenta. If possible, Perhaps u can consider full day child-care + part-time helper or a maid. Try not to do any housework or anything strenuous as well and that includes mopping the floor, sweeping the floor & ironing the clothes (as it required u to stand for long periods of time which is not good). My maid didn't come until I was in my 2nd tri so we got by the difficult period by buying ourselves a ROOMBA robot to sweep the floor every night when we sleep and my hb will do the mopping every weekend. As for ironing, we kept it to a minimum by wearing clothes that didn't require or require minimal ironing to work. Sometimes, my parents or my MIL will help out abit too.

sunny,

my sister had low placenta problem, but it shifted up in the 3rd trimester. Usually it will shift up over time. However, if it doesn't shift, will have to do caesarean cos i think it blocks the passage of the baby.

Should not carry heavy things, and avoid squatting. That's what the yoga teacher said during my last pregnancy, when I could still afford the time for yoga.

We trained Ethan to stop asking me to carry him. Now he will say "Mummy back back ache ache, cannot carry", and only ask his dad to carry. Nobody else in the family can take his weight anymore..=)

sunny - for my first kid, gynae did said my placenta was rather low and warned me against carrying heavy stuffs and even baby dancing. i was bleeding alittle during my 1st trimester. then at a later stage, the placenta moved up. but i also ended up c sect as i couldnt dilate after 8 hrs and bb's heartbeat was slow. dun worry too much...just heed those warnings and hopefully it will move up soon.

mamapanda- wow..the paints are definitely not cheap ya. plus shipping, i think almost 100 bucks? btw do u think it will arrive by xmas? i plan to wrap that up as a xmas's gift for caleb and let him have a messy xmas this yr. ho! ho! ho!

Sunny,
I have got low placenta during my 1st tri. It became better when it is nearer to 3rd tri. However, I had c-sect as Jamie wasn't engage and she is facing upwards.

SSF,
When I read ur post regarding the messy x'mas. I wanted to laugh. Cos I am imagining Caleb saying "Ah Leb.. draw.." hahaha.. That will be very funny moment.

SSF
If u compare to the prices here, its cheap la. If u buy the normal washable paint set from here (which comes in small 2oz bottles of 6 colours) its $11 at a discount. Fingerpaints costs alot more. For comparison, the normal washable paint 16oz bottles from this website costs only $2+, which is half the price of the washable fingerpaints. So, comparatively, if u buy the washable fingerpaints set from Singapore, you'll be paying about $22 for the set of 6 colours 2oz bottles set (totalling 12oz). Your spree price for 16oz of washable fingerpaint is only $11, which is less than half-price, therefore, its much cheaper. If u don't believe me, you can go check out the price for the Crayola washable fingerpaints here.

mamapanda - i see.. thanks for the detailed costing. hehee..ok, will wait patiently till it arrives. keep me updated ya. thanks!

re: babies on mamil gold
hi mummies...i realised that SNS sells the immunofortis step 3 at $44.53 while sheng siong sells only at $41.50. wah so much of a difference! btw, the sheng siong at commonwealth mrt is having a promotion for the old tins(non-immuni). it is selling $18.90 for the 900gm and will throw in a free 400gm. good buy right? its while stock lasts. btw, anyone gg to exchange the receipt for any gifts? i am looking at the little tikes drawing table. it requires $450. i had in mind to buy 11 tins to exchange for tat so tat caleb can do his painting on it. there is a redemption tomorrow at tampines mart. seems like i be stocking up 11 tins to get tat. poof! but now knowing that SS is selling cheaper is making me sianz.

CL
just now i went to that bookshop. if i have more time, i would have stayed there longer and bought more. :p

Actually for me I also tell Charmaine I cannot carry her at that time she is 3 years. Told her sit on didi later didi will keep poking her.

Sunny
You will get addicted. I have been refraining myself from going so often. Very bad.

Sunny

I don't have a low placenta, but I constantly feel tired for this 2nd pregnancy. And same as mongs, I find taking care of my girl a challenge now... but I still carrying her sometimes, and sitting or squatting on the floor sometimes. Think I should avoid that.

I also addicted shopping in the bookshop after I asked CL about it. Haha...

Anyone knows what is the chinese name for Parsnip and Leek?

mamapanda
thanks for your tips. currently i have a part time cleaner who comes weekly. So, i don't need to do any housework except doing my own and gal's laundry. Then, during weekend, i would do some cooking loh. and hb would help washing all the dishes.
But when come to taking care of my gal, e.g. taking shower, bringing her to potty, helping her wear shoes, i would still need to squat or sit down unless my hb is available to help up.
sitting on the low stool should be better than squatting though it's still considered low?

oldmum/ssf/may
i am praying hard that the placenta will move up in later stage. 'cos i really scared of going thru c-section. haha...

anyone else wanna order crayola things before I close spree and start ordering?

tabbs
The other person has not replied me yet. I'll let you know if spree #2 is on when she replies.

Sunny

My girl all the while not very sticky to me. She prefers Daddy. So now she is still ok not very sticky to me. I also not sure whether she really understand Didi is inside my tummy now or not. I bought a children book from Amazon "My New Baby" which I use the book to tell her next time she will have a Didi like the kid inside the book, she nodded but I doubt she really understand hehe...

Anyone interested to take up scrapbooking basic class with Laines. It is a course of 4 modules , supposedly weekly 3 hours per module. Course fee is $280.

But I am looking at forming a private class of 6 so that we can have 2 full days and complete everything. Targetting 19 and 26 Nov. Now I have 3 pax on hand. Just need another 3.

Anyone wants to join me ?

hi mummies! thanks for your well wishes! and thanks CL for updating in the forum

my birth story is really short and sweet. was still at work on tuesday and went for gynae appt in the afternoon at 3pm. did a ctg scan and gynae said if i know i'm already in early labour. blur me, didn't even know i was having contractions, all along i tot those were braxton hicks coz they weren't regular. so gynae did a VE and said i'm already 6cm dilated! silly me asked the dumbest questions possible, ie can i go back office to clear my work first and if i can go home to take a shower! he had to repeat about 10times that i'm already 6cm dilated!! haha! then he told me i only have about 2-4hrs before tyler pops. so i quickly called my hb who's still at work to rush home to get the camera and my half packed hospital bag. in the meantime, i went to admit myself into the hospital, this is the strangest feeling coz i feel like a single mum!! boo hoo!!

so i went straight to the labour ward and changed into the gown and waited for hb to come. nurse inserted anema (spelling??) to make me poo then a while later hb arrived. anesthetician also arrived shortly after. did the necessary and just layed in bed waiting for cervix to fully dilate. contractions still seems quite far apart at this point so gynae came to break waterbag. and in less than 1 hr, i'm fully dilated already. nurse called gynae to come and in 1 push, tyler is out @ 6.36pm. =D i'm so glad i didn't have to suffer any pains, and can still smile and sms throughout the whole labour process! keke...

i will try to find time to upload the pics onto my blog soon. so stay tune! :D now gotta handle 2 kids, really not easy, esp when tyler cries, edgar cries too. but he's been really clingy to me. thou he's also very sweet to tyler, will kiss him and stroke him etc...

denmy, i will get my hb to collect the spinach at hitachi. collection is on 16 nov right? if there's any change in collection, please sms me hor. thanks!

congrats to all new preggers!! =D

Aileen

Wow your delivery process sounds really smooth and short! Big congrats to you!

Wenyl

A big congrats to you too! Waiting to see your prince's photo soon and your birth story!

Aileen

It realli sounds so simple ha ha. Me on the other hand is the one asking Dr Chan if I can give birth earlier. I feel second delivery usually easier

Hope to see pics of your little Tyler soon. Once again congrats.

Aileen - wow ur delivery is a dream that every woman longs for. Painless and fast! u are really fast in(admitted) and fast out(delivery). hahaa...btw i am curious if ur edgar was delivered tat smooth too? how i wish i can dilate mann! but anyway..haha...no more liao. so no need to think abt it anyway. kekeke....ok, hope to see your lil darling soon! meantime have fun moo-ing!

aileen
wah... your delivery process is really smooth! congrats!

zhimin
your gal is so good!
my gal will keep touching my tummy and say 'baby, baby'. then i will tell her that di-di is inside. she's a superglue to me now...

aileen, congrats to your smooth delivery! Hope to see your bb photo soon! Its good that you "check-in" first. I heard of someone whose second delivery was at home on her own bed because she was waiting for hb to pick her up to go hospital. In the end, her labour was only half an hr and hb delivered the bb. Can't imagine!

wenyl, congrats again!

sunny, mongs, zhimin, your girls are so good. Kirsten still demands to be carried although I explained to her mummy cannot carry her cos of didi. The more my maid tries to help me carry her, the worse it is.

Hi Aillen,

Congratulations! Read your blog quite frequently. Will be waiting to see tyler's pictures! Post soon!

Meanwhile, take care!

tabby
i went to the times warehouse sale today. they have some crayola stuff. i bought the fingerpaint set and kids washable paint.

got some books as well but not much cos hb was going thur what i want.

mamapanda
i kept forgetting to transfer the money to u! will do it tmr

went to kidzloft today and spent 200 bucks! got a table and chair for JH, got a new toy for him (hb got for him. it's his reward for finding his mobile phone) and some other little stuff here and there.

re RP lunch/City Hall Lunch
1. SY
2. CL
3. Flo

Any other mummies can join? we can make it on a thur/fri so tabby can join us.

sunny
yeah i tihnk u shd avoid carrying yx or heavy stuff since u got low placenta problems. i remmeber my colleague's sis had a difficult birth cos she was carrying her elder kid too much and maybe got some other problems.

actualyl i tend to carry JH a lot still. i dun really wan to tell him i can't carry him cos of the 2nd one. duno how he will think of that

aileen
wow your labor really short and sweet! you so cute, stil wan to go back to do so many things.

SSF
i got the NTUC point already. thanks a lot! the exchange of the mamil receipt is only at SNS? i dun buy from there. hb still buys from the medical hall

Valerie
kae is the same...the more the helper wanna help, the worst kae become she will run away or hold on to my leg and cry.

Aileen
Wow.. Congrats! thats so smooth and fast!!
Yes 2nd time is alot more easier

Aileen - Wah, superb birth story lei! reali so sweet n short, all of a sudden aldy 6cm dilated... i hope its tat easy for #2 in future manz.. unlike the long wait for the sturborn cervix to dilate hee... take care ya!

i remember my second delivery to damien..i reached my gynea..already 5cm dilated...immediately got to go to labour ward....by the time i reached there, already 6-7 dilated...cannot take any epdiure..within less than 1/2 hr...damien is already out..just 3 pushes.

My duncan was waiting for his younger brother outside the labour ward.

Maybe i am the only one still with long labours for 2nd pregnancy? Haha

i had contractions at 20 mins apart from 8pm..... up to 3am whereby it is 10 mins apart. As the hospital advise only to go hospital when 5 mins apart, i tahan till 6am in the morning and was worried about morning traffic jam hence i went to hospital.... By then the contractions still 10 mins apart but was 4cm dilated. No hesitation but opt for epidural straight. Kiasu/ kia pain mummy here. haha Anyway by the time i gave birth to megan at 11am, i was died tired cos i was unable to sleep the night before due to the contractions.......... For my first, i was able to sleep cos i had epidural...

Hi gals!

I'm back from Tokyo! Wah, looks like i've missed out a lot of action!

Congrats to SY, Rena and Sandra for your preg, Aileen & Wenyl for your new babies! Hope i didn't miss out anyone coz I just did a quick scroll.

SH
Tokyo is getting cold now, esp when it's windy. We needed a sweater and a light jacket. So u might want to prepare a bit more layers. The weather can be quite extreme. I could be wearing a short sleeve t-shirt one moment, then had to wear 2 layers of sweaters on top of it the next. But think mid Nov should be more stable and colder by then.

I gave up looking for the Nishimatsuya at Akabane coz it's so super far. We simply couldn't find it. We asked for directions and it's always a few more cross junctions ahead. Very far. And of course, the sun setting at 4.30pm really didn't help at all. It was pitch black and very quiet in the area.

The trip felt super extended with C. So tired. AS with the other kids here, he also didn't like to eat much except bread and rice. He can eat many onigiris and I swear he felt very much heavier during the trip. Managed to squeeze in some spaghetti, hamburger & omelette into him.

The hotel room was small but otherwise ok. Did a boo boo there. We hanged our dirty laundry on the door and it won't open when we tried to get back in after breakfast. With no money, no diapers (C had to poo of all times), no jacket for C (he was only in a sweater), we were told that the locksmith could only get there in 1 hr's time! Lucky the hotel lent us 10k yen to go out. End up we had to buy some diapers, jacket, pants for C (he leaked all over coz the hotel staff go and buy swim diapers for him to change his dirty diaper). Good thing they didn't charge us for the locksmith. THink if it was their fault, they would have just given us the 10k yen coz they asked us to keep the receipts when we make purchases.

If u're interested in buying some clothes, u can try this Motherways. It's actually a Mothercare look-a-like. I wonder if they're related coz their branding & store displays are all the same. Except the prices. It's very much cheaper than Mothercare. We went into one near Ameyoko.

http://www.motherways.com/shop/enduser/jsp/freepage/Fp_common.jsp?page_id=4

My boy saw a Japanese gal (older than him) and as usual tried to charm her. Even to the extent of 'accidentally' knocking himself, falling over so that she will come over to carry him up. Then he'll start to talk in his baby language excitedly and give his best smiles. sigh.

SY
Where did u buy the fingerpaint set from? How much did u pay for the fingerpaint set? How many oz are there and how many colours? If its cheaper or comparable to buy here, I'll cancel the spree cuz the shipping is not cheap due to heavy weight.

God's child
I saw your order from mamapanda in the box I collected. So meet RP on wed for lunch with babylon then I can pass to you ?

Mashy
nice weather. it is time to see autumn leaves very nice. ha ha you should make it their fault and get a free one night accommodation.

SY,
Is the fingerpaint cheap ? Me also tempted by you all to start finger painting.

Second Pregnancy
Always thought it is easier. Was telling my husband about aileen's fast delivery. He told me mine also quite fast. After Dr Chan comes in, got the nurse to just change bed position , aden comes sliding out without me pushing ha ha

CL

How to make it their fault leh? It's our fault mah... This year's autumn peak has been delayed till early Dec. So tokyo still can't see much autumn leaves. Yokohama can see a little bit.

Actually the hotel not too bad lah. The service staff are very nice, so very difficult to be demanding to them. hehe. Altho the room very small (we've to store the luggage under the bed), it's clean and the location is quite good lor. Everyday also get a Q10 face mask, cleanser, hair band and manicure cleanser set. Quite shiok.
The breakfast is boring, everyday also onigiri but my boy happily eating them up.

R u collecting anything from Mamapanda? If so, can tompang my training pants from Jshopper?

Rena
R u borrowing CL's winter clothes for your China trip? If not, after I wash all the clothes, I'll sort them out and return back to u and CL.

SH

If u or your hb has time, u should go to the Tokyo Children's Metropolitan Hall.

http://www.fukushihoken.metro.tokyo.jp/jidou/English/index.html

It's free and lots of fun stuff for children of all ages to play. We've loads of fun there. There's a young children's corner on 2nd floor. There's toys, train sets to play with, and a wooden playground there. These Japanese are really creative. They used lots of recycled stuff to make many wonderful toys. They made a fishing pond with a box, and little fishes with paper clips. U can ask for the fishing rod from the counter. They actually made a whole zoo with toilet rolls! Very creative. I took some photos of the crafts so we can do it ourselves too. If u see things that are 'missing', chances are u have to get them from the counter.

On other floors, there's also a music room where the children are free to play the piano, drum set, xylophone and other music instruments. There's also other art and craft areas like clay making, modelling, etc from recycled stuff. A great place for children. Absolutely must go if u r bringing children. It's very near to Shibuya station, once u find the Meiji Dori, then very easy to get there already. Singapore should have a place like this.

Here's some photos of the place.

http://www.fukushihoken.metro.tokyo.jp/jidou/shisetsu/kannai.html

SSF
the fingerpaint set is the one that last time CL help us to buy one. not the same as what u getting from BP. it is $10.

Mamapanda
the fingerpaint set is not the same. it is the one that comes in a pack. got 6 colors and a book. the paint only appears on the book.

mashy
your trip sounds fun. funny right how the kids only eat bread and rice whne overseas and still put on weight!!!

re 2nd pregnancy
all the mummies make it sound like it's quite easy to push. i hope so! JH made me push so long...

Aileen
Congrats! Wow.... such short & sweet birth story! Waiting for Tyler's pic to be up on your blog. Take care and rest well.

aileen
congrats.. you're so lucky.

re 2nd birth
think i'm the only few who take v long. I was in the labour ward for 30plus hours. from monday afternoon till tuesday night. induced early monday am at 9am.

mashy
so envy your japan trip. sounds so fun.

Aileen

Your delivery sounds so easy. Wish I can have that kind of delivery. AI yoh, all of u getting preggy or given birth. Makes me wanna have no 2 liao. hahaha.

SY/Krissie
It's very tiring though. Felt that my legs were going to break from all the walking.

Yah, dunno how the kids can put on wt by eating bread and rice. Now my boy's schedule is upside down. Have to retune it. sigh. It's going to be tough for the next few days.

Very sad thing in Japan.

There's so many suicides daily. When we were there, out of the 6 days, there were 3 announcements of train delay at night due to 'accidents'. Those weren't accidents. They were suicides. In one case, a lady jumped off the roof of the ikebukuro dept store on top of the station (with her shoes placed nicely somemore) and sent an innocent man below to coma. It's so sad that such things happened so frequently.

Wenyl / Aileen,
CONGRATS!!!

Mashy,
Japan sounds like fun!

SSF,
I stock up my Mamil Gold Immunofortis from JB. After conversion, it costs only S$35.

Mamapanda,
I also looking to get a breadmaker. I heard Morphy Richards one is good. Though I have not gone down to Tangs to check it out myself. Do keep me informed if you have more info.

re: fingerpaint sharing
Can I check how we gonna split the paint? Each col comes in a 16oz bottle right? So we have to provide our own bottle, i.e. recycled mineral bottle?

Btw, I saw some Crayola items selling at Growing Fun. Prices are b4 10% discount (for sales under $120)/ 15% (for sales above $120)

1. Washable Fingerpaint (4 colours) 5oz Sqeezable bottle $13
2. Washable Kids' Paint (6 colours) 2oz $11
3. Washable Markers (12 colours) $10
4. Twistable Coloured Pencils (12 colours) $7

RE: Spinach BP
<font color="ff0000">anymore mummies? I'm closing this BP by Tues 113 NOv</font>

Collection date: 16 Nov, Friday
Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy (Marine Terrace)
2. Mamapanda (c/o CL via JG)
3. Durianlover (c/o CL via JG)
4. SY (Hitachi Tower)
5. MamaChan (Hitachi Tower)
6. Aileen (Hitachi Tower) 2 portions, if possible.
7. Queen (will arrange with you on collection later, 2 portions if possible)

denmy
I had thought buying the 32oz bottles and sharing it between 2 persons would be much cheaper cuz some of the items seems much cheaper to buy from US than here but it seems that I'm wrong. To share the paint, all you need to do is to provide me with 7 used mineral water bottles.

crayola spree
I checked my spreadsheet and compared the prices (inclusive of shipping), to the prices u posted. The spree price is only slightly cheaper to the prices u listed after discount. What other crayola items do they have that are on discount? Do they have the 32oz or 16oz bottles? Do they have more colours other than just the 4 colour set? I had seen this 4-color set from crayola website but I wanted the 7 colours I chose for the spree cuz I find 4 colours inadequate as I want the white & black to mix different colour tones. If there's anyone going to Growing Fun, I think its better than we pool all our orders together so that we can get 15% discount. So, I guess I'll cancel the spree?

denmy
Oh, btw, I bought the Morphy richards breadmaker from the Tampines Courts. They're selling for $159 but if u got the Courts card, can get 5% discount. Best Denki selling it for $157 and they give a free glass mixing bowl and bread recipe book but no further discount. I read reviews of it from the net and I think its worth a try. If u want an ultimate breadmaker, then you gotta get the zojirushi ones as they have the best reviews but they cost double that of a Morphy Richards.

BTW, I read reviews on kenwood, phillips and Princess breadmakers. Don't bother yourself with those.

Anyway, if u want tested n proved bread recipes, I've searched the net and found this blog of a SAHM who does alot of baking and owns a breadmaker. You can check out her website for the recipes. http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/

Tomorrow (or rather later) we're gonna buy organic flour and the ingredients. Cant wait to start experimenting my very own home-made organic bread with the machine.

denmy
So sorry for the spamming.. disjointed thoughts..

I don't know how big is your 1 portion but I would like to have my usual 700-900g portion of spinach if possible. Thanks.

Hi Mommies
Have been busy catching up with my work since Im back on Wed plus Mel jet lag is driving me crazy. She has been waking up at 2 plus in the middle of the nite and going back to sleep only in the late morning/early afternoon. Kept sleeping in the day and got cranky when we tried to wake her up. Keeping my fingers crossed shes able to sleep thru tonite.

Its a bit late but CONGRATULATIONS Wenyl, Aileen, SY, Rena & Sandra

Re: #2 Labour
Haha, I still remember what my gynae used to sayfirst time mommies are very Kancheong, will rush to the hospital very earlyand second time mommies think they have a lot of time and end up will reach there very late.

Mashy
Welcome back. Actually Mels appetite got quite good after the first few days.I think is simply because the fussy girl doesnt wanna eat instant food. She happily gulped down the spaghetti, French fries etc. Even insisted on self feeding the spaghetti. The greedy girl kept scoping the spaghetti from the common plate onto her own plate even before she could finishmachiam like me and hb are going to finish the food soon!

Mel is super friendly in France too, esp those cute and pretty French boys and girls.

ok. Anyone else wanna get Brita disposable faucet filter, pls let me know. Need to buy 8 to make the spree worthwhile. Also, since we're getting from Drugstore, spree is open to other DS items as well.

1. chickenlittle
2. Flo