(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sunny
Hmm.. I hope she wun feel that way. It's 1 year after didi arrive. However if she still does, Iguess it's easier to explain to her when she 2.5yr old as compared to now.

Sunny

Charmaine's childcare has 3 days trial too. I feel it is how you keep talking to her. Then she will understand. She is turning 2 next Jan anyway so I feel if you want to start , can try from late Dec.

Cookie/CL
i think i am the one who's having separation anxiety which is more serious than my gal. haha.... really bu she de to let her go to childcare and see those crying n screaming session. But, i just have to learn letting go and i might underestimate my gal's capability in adapting to new environment...

Sunny

Don't think your YX will cry lah. Ha ha wait till Dec then I update you about Aden.

I feel the childcare got so many toys and kids, some of them actually like it there

CL
aden is attending the same childcare as charmaine?
i think it's the sense of security that yx needs loh. she's those timid type leh. and doesn't like to really mix around one...

sunny
I cant qt rem.. he'll cry sometimes when we drop him off.. then, the teachers will distract him with toys, etc. I think it's better for you to sit in with her for the 1st 3 days. i did that though on day 2 onwards most of the time i was not in his class.. wanted to gv him more time to be with his teachers. His CC also wanted us to bring him to sch every sat the mth before he started sch. i found tt very useful as he was familar with the teachers and sch environment before he actually started sch, so his 1st day was not too overwhleming for him.

Sunny,
Yes I enrol Aden in the same one. I told Charmaine to tell me if he misbehave to make her feel like she is big jie jie and she likes it. I think Aden will be taken care of by Charmaine's classmates too because most of them do not have siblings.

Aden was there during Charmaine's birthday, he already made himself at home so I feel he might not need me. at JG class I think once he goes in, he is very much on his own except times I need to pull him back when he wanders off

Tabb, sunny, cookie

I am also toying with the idea of putting E up for half day at CC when #2 is abt >6 mths. Can see he is so bored at home nowadays and keeps wanting me to play with him now. But I dun really have the stamina to play long with him and if the maid plays with him, the hse chores are not done. Now, when I ask him if he wants to go to school, his response is quite positive. Last Fri, hb & I brot him to 2 nearby CC to check out the premises and rates. The person in charge let him wonder around and he seems quite happy to be in a classroom environment. But too bad, one CC only does fullday and the other, we find the charges exp$ and the place is not so clean. So, we will continue to search around our area. Hopefully by next yr, we will be able to find a suitable CC for E.

Re: BB MONITOR

Mummies who use bb monitors,
Can advise which brand is good? Angelcare, Avent, Philips.....??? TIA!

CL
wow.. if charmaine is there, it's even better! somemore got corporate rate and discount leh. so good!
i was thinking to let yx try out half day in december, too. If she really cannot make it, at least we still have time to think of alternative.

Wenyl
E knows what's the meaning of School? so smart!

Racehl - Tks. So orders will be delivered to your hse rite? Let me know when to transfer $$ to you and acct number, pls.

Rachel - Tks. So orders will be delivered to your hse rite? Let me know when to transfer $$ to you and acct number, pls.

Sunny,
He somehow knows cos he looks forward to going to Shichida school every Thurs. The other day, we were invited to his cousin kindergarten for Lantern Festival celebrations. He enjoyed playing with all the older kids. Keep asking us to bring him back to gor gor school. I hope by then when we are really sending him to cc, he will still be keen. Else, big headache lor.

Hi Sunny, ds#1 goes to The Learning Ladder (TLL), across from 10-mile junction. The fees btw is going up in 2008 :<. He was at ACE@Works at blk 75+ before that for 1.5 yrs. What cc are you looking at around CCK? Another one that's highly recommended is Wharton, this and TLL are play-based CCs. Most CCs allows a 2-weeks trial, ie if you decide within 2 weeks that your child is not suitable for cc, they'll refund you the deposit/fees (except admin charges) with no 1-month notification required. Read the T&C before you go ahead.... and don't buy uniform first till u confirm.

if u r afraid the the child feels she's been outcast coz of #2, then set aside 1-to-1 time with #1, and on a daily basis, ask her what she does in school (that's why i like to talk to the teacher) ... she'll be excited abt the many new experiences that she's having ... get her to feel excited abt those :>

btw, can I know if there's a SAHM with 2 children and the younger one also goes to a 1/2 cc as well?

.ky.

Hi KY - What's the fees at TLL? Care to share. I pass by there to go to the ofc and I like the house concept kind of school. Are there many of Int'l kids there?

Sunny,
Here's my update on my gal. She just start her 2hrs Playgroup on 8 Oct.

3-5 Oct - Trial for her before school start. She loves it and was in home clothes.

8 Oct - She is fine as my mum is still visible to her.

9-12 Oct - She started crying the minute my mum stepped into the class with her. Cried till vomit and teacher got to clean up for her. My mum was abit reluctant to leave and even ask me to withdraw her. I was pretty upset and wanted to withdraw her.

This week, no more vomitting. She started crying when she see my mum with school uniform and ask my mum to bring her to shopping instead. Cry all the way from home to school. Teacher carry over and walk into class, she stopped crying.

I am waiting for her to stop crying. It is really heartpain to see them like that. My mum asked me not to apply leave as I will definitely cry too if I were there. I took half day on wed and Jamie was very happy to see me there.

Most imptly is you have to explain alot to her and let her be prepared that she is going school. I repeated countless time every night to her.

sysac
ya, when i passed by TLL, the outlook attracted me, too.

ky
can share with us the fees for TLL, ACE@works and Wharton? where's wharton?

may
i think i will cry, too when my gal is crying badly in the school.... that's why i told hb to bring her 'cos he seems to have no feeling at all when i mentioned to him about sending my gal to childcare...
you mum is good. if that's my mil, i think she will bring my gal home once she started crying half way to the school.

re: cherie heart at kallang sector
anyone been there before? any comments?

yuki,
care to share which montessori is Ashley in? so it seems like all montessori schools are like that. as in speak softly and very disciplined environment.

may,
can totally understand what u are going thru. thou i hope i won't have to go thru that when i send edgar to school. which is why i'm trying as hard to find a school which both edgar and i will like. must say, it's really hard to find the perfect school!

tabbiesus,
if i don't remember wrongly, u have been to babies inc at cherry ave right? can share how it went with tabby? btw has she started with pat's?

Sunny - where are u working at? i just found out theres a MMI in Raffles Place which CL hi-lighted to me
am very happie cos i have got one more option now! and also, it has always been my dream to bring my kid to work wf me and travel tog haha... but downside is, she gota wake up real early cos i need to catch the 7am bus
my office starts works at some weird timing la - 8.15am!!!

Aileen/Sunny,
Sigh.. really peifu u all lor.. must handle pregnancy/2nd child. Plus the 1st one is starting school soon. This period they will be need alot of attention and super sticky. Both mummy and child got to adapt to so many changes at a time. Can't imagine if I were u all, will be tired out by then.

God's Child,
MMI is pretty ex leh. Not sure abt the town area. For Jurong Area, Half Day is $525 and Full Day is $600. I wanted to sign up at first but end up did not. Cos out of budget already.

May - did u less out the working mother's subsidy le mah? for MMI in Raffles Place, aft subsidy is $500 a month. i thot it was pretty ok cos the Carpe Diem near my house is $430. I might choose MMI cos i can pop in to see her during lunch and also go to and fro work/school tog heee... extra bonding time!

God's child
where's that MMI located? how much is the fee? I work at suntec. I went to visit Brightstar at suntec, 1st impression is good. but it's ex. Even after the corporate discount and subsidy, i still need to pay $660 for full day....

sysac
you visited wharton and ACE@work before? any feedback?

May
i am still thinking whether to let my gal start before #2 comes. My hb visited cherie heart at kallang sector today, the person in charge advised him to let my gal to start before #2 comes....
it's tired to manage a sticky child when pregnant. But, my gal so far only bed time is sticky. Other than that, she still behaves normal and still very easy to take care of. Thank god!
i think women are good at multi-task and can adapt to the changes faster. So, don't worry. You start trying to 2nd one already?

god's child
the brightstar admin staff told me that it's better not to pop-by the centre to see our kids leh. 'cos i was also excited over seeing my gal during lunch time like you. hehe... the reason she gave me is that at this young age, our kids still dont' know that we just pop by to visit them for a short while and after that they will be at the centre again. So, after we leave the centre, they will get cranky again like what they did in the morning....

God's Child,
Yap.. I less out the subsidy already. That's why it is more worth to place them in for Full Day. Actually it is my dream for the lunch time thing. When I was younger, I studied Pre-School Teaching. Planned to open a childcare in the town area so that working parents can go work and leave child there. And during lunch time, I can plan lunch time for parents and child together so that the bond is stronger. But it is the MONEY issue lor. So did not open a childcare in the end.

Sunny,
It will be good to let them settle there before #2 comes. Cos I rem when I was teaching the nursery class last time, a boy started crying and reject coming to school. When I spend time talking to him, I realised that he hate his didi. He told me that his parents spend more time with didi and dun want him already. That's why they push him here. He dun want to come school cos didi will snatch his parents. He want to go home. When I told his parents, they say they saw a change in behaviour of the elder son. He started to throw tantrum in order to capture parents' attention.

We only intend to start next April. Want to have a Jan 2009 baby again. I intend to opt for C-sect to cut short the labour time since already got a zip there.

Sunny
That is the price i pay also after corporate rate leh. Next year I x 2. Brightstar got webcam to monitor right?

MMI is located at Far Eastern building. Opposite Lau Pau Sat and near AIA building.

Another option sunny is Cherie Hearts at Tan Que Lan, from the overhead bridge at suntec near mothercare, you can walk over and check out on her.

Aiyo Del care encourage we all to have breakfast before we go or have lunch with the kids one leh. If never go, I also have those lunch date with your kid arrange by he school. Ha ha then have to eat with them what they eat in school.

may
wow... thanks for sharing the boy's experience. it think if my gal has same reaction like this boy.... it would be tough for us.... better do my research faster.

CL
ya, brightstar got webcam, find it impressive. haha...
MMI at raffles place quite far leh... hmmm... i think cherie hearts still ok.
wow... Del care so good. i really hope that i can have lunch with my gal.. it will brighten my day. haha... for yx, we have to prepare her meal as the childcare around here doesn't provide vegetarian food. i know yew tee got one... haven't gone there to see...

May
It was also my dream. Ha ha I even want to open one centre right next to a good pd so they all know their kids are in good care.

Charmaine's del care is exactly what I wanted for myself. But ha ha but the dr is just a GP beside them lah

Sunny,
I only sent Charmaine to JG weekly but before Aden arrives, I also start sending her to playgroup daily. It makes a lot of difference. Then I silly always tell her only xiao peng you can go in i cannot but will wait outside for her. She noted and from first day, she walk in without turning back. The teacher must be the one asking her to say bye bye

Sunny - true also hor, she might fuss when i leave.. i tink gota wait til she is much more sensible then will understand why i need to go back to work aft lunch hee... but im reali looking fwd to pickin her up aft work,dun have to wait one hour later to see her

May - tats exp hor, for a location in Jurong. cos i thot rental shld be more exp in town area... or is it cos the MMI at Jurong very spacious?

haven't come in here for a loooonnnng time.... everytime i peek into the forum, I see mommies posting stuff, and I always wanna add on my comments, but the next time I get in, the topics have moved, and it's outdated, haha!

Have been busy, but seriously, I have no idea busy with what! Time passes so fast nowadays, especially when the babies are all non stop monkeys now! S isn't rowdy, but she is forever moving about, either talking, or walking, or playing, some days, by 8pm+ I am totally burned out. By that time, I am so sick of it that I snap very easily, so my hb knows to watch for it, and when he sees that I'm about to blow, he quickly grabs S and escapes with her... haha....

Celine,
I'm also looking around the same area for a good CC for S. Actually there are some very good ones up in Hillview, you should take a look. One good but pricy one is Rosy hearts just near Chun Tin, they initally only had infant care till 3 yrs, but I heard form a neighbour of mine that they recenly started a toddlers programme and the numbers are very small. What is good about this place is though the price is quite hefty, they incorporate other enrichments like Kindermusic and phonics into their montersorri programme, so rather than send your child all over the island for extra enrichment programes, the CC does it for you...

Weejeans,
welcome! My friend went to sunflower to take a look too, she was very impressed by the place, but their waiting list is apparantly 9 months to 1 year long, faint!

Mamachan and cookie,
yup, we should do another playgroup b4 you gals start work!

Hi sysac,
fees is $595 b4 GST/subsidy for half-day. after less, it's $561.65. There are a couple of Korean, and 1 or 2 Jap/cacausian kids, but not in my son's class. The one at Highgate may have more int'l kids, I'm not sure, but that branch doesn't provide lunch.... huh, but looking at some the cc's prices, TLL seems ex hor. Wharton is around the same range and Ace is half of that. All for half-day. For TLL, there's a flexi scheme where kids stay till 5pm. For this cc, most kids are gone at 6pm ... in fact a lot of kids are on 1/2 day and from some feedback, the enrichment prog is not as good as b4. And btw, this was a school before it was converted to cc some years ago when there was a govt regulation to change it (like Faith Montessori). Hence, these schools are better are schooling rather than caregiving (that's my personal feel).

Sunny, I've been to Wharton before... there was no vacancy and hence I chose TLL instead but frens whose kids went to Wharton swear by it ... the teachers are grads and very dedicated - they'll call and email parents for communication and even provide additional lessons to help those who needed help. One of the teachers even won an award recently (in papers). Ace had a change of management 2 yrs ago and there was a drastic change of curriculum; I didn't like a quicken pace of learning and hence left. The chinese teacher was very good, but I wonder if she's still there ... this is the one at blk 75+, ie facing the MRT line. There's one more cc at limbang (2nd level) ... huh, I don't like that. And there's one more amongst the private houses (villa verde) ... it provides vegetarian meals and it was newly setup 2 yrs ago. It's the 3-level house and I found the focus is on chinese. btw, I choose ACE for convenience; I have a bike and fetch my ds#1 that way or hop on a bus when it rains. The bus from TLL will take 5 mins to reach my place, but so far, I've been fetching him myself via public bus (that to me is convenient)

When I was considering the change, I wanted Montessori, the only worthy consideration is MMI@ Phoenix but after sitting there for more than an hr, I think it's not worth it and the schoolbus takes 45 mins to go ard CCK back to my place (that was my main obstacle as I've got no easy way to fetch him)... eventually I gave up on Montessori. btw, I like Montessori in that it provides cultural, geography curriculum and I find it works to extend short attn span of a child ... I did that with ds#1 when he was younger and find he can sit down longer than his peers.

There's a kindergarten behind 10-mile which was my next option ... Gracefield, a simple academic-based school.

.ky.

God's Child,
MMI at Jurong West is newly setup. Very spacious and clean. Everything is new inside. I love the place. It is the price that let me think twice. Since I have my mum to look after Jamie, then I am not considering at this time. Let Jamie settle down at playgroup first then might consider there.

KY - Tks for the feedback on TLL. Yep, it's rather ex for 1/2 day programme. Kinderland at CCK is $510 for 1/2 day aft subsidy. Curriculum at TLL looks interesting though
Plus I like the house type of schools
Haha...

Sunny - I noticed Wharton when I used to go for Yoga/Pilates lessons at the stadium. Plus I read abt the teacher who recently received an award. Have not checked the place out though. I always see Ace@Work when I drive past it to go KJE to work. Want to consider Kinderland at CCK HDB Br Ofc?

Sleepingdeer - Yes, heard of Rosyhearts being good too

Mindef has a Child Development Centre too. Seems not too bad. I have another school, Elfa, next to my blk, where my God-dau & a friend's son go to. BUT standard has dropped since their previous principal left. I saw a teacher man-handling a young child one day while walking past with Cephas. I stared hard at her and she looked away. I complained to my friend to feedback to the principal. Anyway, there are several schools near my house/ILs which I think I want to check out once I have the time!

I am keeping all my options open because I wld prefer Cephas to go on a half-day prog & be at home for the other 1/2 day since he has his grandparents to care for him.

wenyl - i got a philips bb monitor. so far so good. no complaints. not sure abt other brands though.

re:angel wipes
i know tabby has recently organise this purchase. can i know wats the pricing like? recently bought a 80pcs x 3 packets for $5.50.

Rena - Yes, there is one at Far Eastern which is directly opp AIA building... ur office is now at Suntec rite, will MMI be convenient for u??? if u place E in half day CC, then the other half day u be able to fetch him home?

sysac, u staying at cck crescent side is it? i recky that area 2 yrs ago but can't find anything. heard Elfa was good, 2 yrs ago. heard abt kinderland CCK 2 yrs ago too ... again situation might have changed. didn't leave me a good impression previously and I didn't visit it. 1 new place i have in mind is LV at Republic Poly... it's new but already 3 classes of nursery 1. I peep in at the place before and it looks good ... it's just that I've got no way to fetch the little fella back

.ky.

Wendyl
I'm using Philips one.. so far it never fail me before and it is super clear and can even be a walkie talkie with my hb but it has a problem, the rechargable battery also die off very soon. Now I have to constantly put the parent unit at the charging base. if not for this problem, it will be a good monitor to use.

KY - Yes, stayg at CCKC area. Elfa was good previously. Std has dropped the last one year. Some new places have sprung up since then. Shall check it out and share feedback.

sleepingdeer,
hey thanks for sharing with me rosy hearts! i just called the school and from the way the PIC, Choon Peng describes, it's like a nice place. probably will pop by later this evening to take alook at the premises. what other schools are u considering? i'm not familiar with hillview side leh... maybe we can share information. btw what makes u say that rosy hearts is good? have u been for a trial there?