(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbi
What happen to him ? Hope he will have less pain than expected. And your job to look after the 3 babies will be not too bad.

May
I will only meet SL again on Sunday during class. So I think SL will pass to me on Sunday.

chickenlittle

thanks... he's got recurrent cornea erosion keeps getting abrasion on the cornea.. so have to scrape of the unhealthy layer of epithelium and then let it grow again. So it'll be painful... he'll have to wear a contact lens over it.

need your advice here.
i am having headache in deciding when to put my gal to the school, and what type of class to sign her up i.e. 2/3 hrs playgroup, half day childcare or full day cc.

reasons being that my mil thinks that putting my gal to the classes/cc (even 2/3 hr playgroup) at 2 yo is considered too early. And, i think it's quite tiring for her to bring my gal to/fro class while taking care of #2 whom would be just about 4 mth old by then.

but putting my gal at full day childcare would be my last option as i find that if there's someone at home who can take care of her, she doesn't need to go full day cc.

i actually have few plans but don't know which one to execute:
1) 2 - 3 hrs playgroup - would need mil to bring her to/fro. Else, i would make arrangement with co to work part time. meaning financially would be tighter. (But, if i bring her to/fro, I can choose better school which is not nearby my/mil's house.)
2) half day childcare - would bring her to childcare when we go to work, then ask mil bring her back in the afternoon. Else, i would make arrangement with co to work part time. meaning financially would be tighter. (But, if i bring her to/fro, I can choose better school which is not nearby my/mil's house.)
3) full day childcare - would be nearby my office or my hb's office, then we can bring her to/fro everyday before and after work.
4) send my gal to class after #2 reaches 6mo and has almost taken most of the immune jab.

And, if we insist to send my gal to school when she reaches 2yo and once she gets sick and spread also spread the virus to #2, we would have to stand mil's non-stop nagging.....

really in the dilemma.
what option you would choose if you were me?

Tabbi
Sounds painful liao. Pray everything fine for him

Mamachan
Ya I think Daren is realli big liao. Ha ha I can see my Aden shrinking

remember how i share about brushing your toddlers teeth etc cos Ashley's tooth start decaying from 18 months onwards?.... Well as much as we try to prevent it, Megan's teeth is also decaying now! This time round, we didn;t wiat but just brought her to the dentist and she confirmed it's cavaties. We do brush megan's teeth diligently but on the other hand we also give her sweets once in a while...... For Ashely we didn;t give her sweets that young..........

Anyway to my horror, one of the teeth that Ashley has fixed dropped out yesterday! So it's back to half a teeth for Ashley....... Guess got to make a trip back to the dentist as soon as we can get an appointment.

Feel so xian with all these teeth issues.......my mum attribute one factor of the early decay to my lack of milk intake during preganancy............

Hi Sunny,

Do you have a maid to help your MIL?

For me, i send Ashley to 2 hours playgroup when she is 27 months (last year Jan). I had just give birth to megan then. It took Ashley quite a while to get used to attending playgroup without crying. I chosen one within walking distance from my mum's place.

This year, when ashley is used to attending school and also used to megan's arrival and also because she is older, i am able to switch to a school of my choice whereby ashley has to take school bus on her own. She is coping well with such an arranegment.

Sunny,
It all depends on what you want and how financially comfortable you are.

For me, no diff in going nanny and childcare in terms of $$ so I putting Aden with childcare from Jan 08 as I do not see him progress much with nanny. Just being well taken care of only. That is why I will choose 3.

Anyone to help your mil or she looking after both. If no help, I prefer not to involve mil in any bringing YX to and fro. When I was working from home, in Aden's first 8 months, I have never bring him down to fetch Charmaine to and fro school. It is always either my mum or myself doing it alone while the other one will stay at home.

Since Charmaine goes to childcare, everytime she comes home we will make sure she washes up before touching Aden. So I think hygiene at home will help too in reducing the risk of getting sick. So far it has never been Charmaine passing the germs to Aden but always Aden who will be sick first.

Work out your finance to see how comfortable you are. List the push and pull factor and weigh them. Then go for the one which will work best for you.

yuki
we don't have maid.
ya, i was thinking of letting my gal to take school bus. but i think at this age, it's still too young loh.
btw, does the school bus has seat belt for all the seat? else, how do they ensure kids' safety?

CL
my mil said she can manage 2 leh. but i think it's without the need to send yx to school loh. Do you think too much travelling to/fro for #2 would make him/her sick more often? even it's not because of yx?

Hi Sunny,

At this age i think they are too young for school bus. I have friend who's kids travel by school bus since 20 months olds....

Ashely's school bus has seat belt for every child and there's a school bus auntie to make sure they buckle their seat belt and that they are seated well. And recently i also learn from my mum that the aunite also balance aka give warnings if the bus driver drives a tad too fast.........

Hi Sunny

i have also thot of the arrangements should i have #2 cos it reali is a headache like wat u said... i will choose option 3 also. send the elder one to childcare before u deliver so that she wont feel that she is being sent away becos of her sibling's arrival. meanwhile i tink its hard for ur MIL to juggle 2 kids... i tink if my MIL were to handle 2, she sure will be Mrs Grouchy everyday... for me, i will arrange for my maid to look aft #2 while #1 goes full day CC...

Rena,
I can't meet for lunch on Fri - have another appt. Next week would be free only on Fri - 26 Oct. Can? CL, Flo, wanna meet us for lunch?

Cookie,
I will see you on Sun then - pass you the stuff. No need to pay me first cos my credit card bill not in yet.

May,
Will pass to CL your leg warmers on sun.

Sunny,
When Charmaine goes to infantcare, she falls sick quite often so, upon the suggestion of the PD, we took her out. I agree with CL on the learning part. Currently, we send her to my mil's place 2 - 3 days a week and my mum's place for the remaining. I don't think she learnt much at my mil's place - just well taken care of. It's because my mil doesn't talk and interact with her much. But then, it's real hard when they keep falling sick. I feel more relaxed now though when she doesn't fall sick so often.

SL
Thanks. I can pick up the stroller from either your pl or your mom pl on Sat/Sun if it's too troublesome to lug to JG class.

Mamachan/CL/Weejeans
Wow tho fight between your boys humm...but I think Daren definitely doesn't look so Sumo...maybe he has heavy bone

Yuki
I'm having difficultites bushing Mel teeth. She'll grab the toothbrush from me and wants to bring herself n of cos she doesn't know how to altho she thinks she does! When I use the finger brush, she will either refuse to open her open or will bite me real hard....mommies how do u bush your little ones' teeth?

Tabbs
Ouch...your hb ops sound painful...hope he has a swift recovery and your 3 "babies" behave well over the weekend

Sunny
How about looking for a playschool that provide transportation? I'm in a dilemma too. I orginally plan to send Mel to a playschool in Jan so that my mom can get some rest....she's getting too active! But my nephew will be in the afternoon session next year...so I'll
(1) send her to somewhere that is within walking distant
(2) send her to one that has "better" program (since Val has highly recommended purple train) which means that I've to let her take sch bus or
(3) delay her enrollment until she's "old" enuff to take school bus on her own
I think Krissie's G is taking sch bus now, so maybe our tots are more "capable" that we think? Perhaps we shouldn't worry so much and just let them take sch bus?

Mommies
Anyone can read french?

Sunny,
Ha ha initially my mum also says can help me look after 2. Then I see she cannot make it during my confinement. I source for a nanny. Even my mil who is a superwoman, dare not take up the challenge of helping me take care of my Charmaine when she is already taking care of my niece previousy.

Actually it is not because I think he will fall sick. Because at second month, my kids are going every where we go liao. Charmaine young young 3 months always at bowling alley with us too till 2 am.

I feel very troublesome to bring the kids up and down. Carry one, must hold another one in hand, check the road before crossing. Rain worse, must take umbrella, wear rain coat etc. It is mah fan for me.

Too bad I not continue Aden with nanny, otherwise we could just sign up at that CC playgroup which my fren says it is good. Then ask my nanny to go by and pick up your girl.

mashybrainz/CL,
Thanks for the links on nishimatsuya. But the websites are in Jap and i can't read. can someone tell me if there is a shop in osaka coz that's where my mum is going.

sunny,
for myself, i chose #3. send #1 to halfday childcare.

oldmum, i went to innate montessori and i totally got a culture shock!! it's like a disciplinarian school. i think it's more suited for older kids not young todds. the way they sit and do things are all very structured. no one speaks at the top of their voice. including the teachers. all of them have a very straight and stern face. except maybe the chinese teacher who's a bit more smiley. i guess it's a very good school if u want ur kid to have high level of discipline. maybe if my son turns out to be a terror when he's 3, i'll send him there! but definitely not now. i'll bring edgar for a trial at cherie hearts, layang layang tmr. think i'll most likely choose that school. so ur ethan and my edgar will be schoolmates! :D

Flo
Ha ha let me teach you a chinese brushing song. Everyday I sing this song, my 2 kids will follow me in to brush together. I let aden hold his toothbrush, then I will still use that finger brush to do it for him.

I have frenchies in my office, so if you need help can email me. I only read a tiny weeny bit only.

Sunny
Nowadays, all school bus must have a seat belt. It will not be a individual seat belt but one long one which is buckled over 3 children.

I saw the way charmaine's childcare principal who will accompany all the shuttle service to RP, I sit in so I know the kids from tht childcare are all well take care of

Mamachan,oldmum,
Wow! You guys have 3 sacks of rice to carry around now...

Re: 2nd BD bash
Hmm... I don't mind doing the legwork but I have already applied for a masters so if accepted, will be very, very busy starting jan 08.

Flo,
No problems. I can bring it to JG on sun. No need for you to make extra trips. : )

Sunny,
Both my mum and mil said that they can't even take care of 1 charmaine without maid around. : )

Aileen
Tell me which hotel your mum is staying, I will type a email in Japanese to the shop to ask which is the nearest shop for your mum to go. This page shows one whole list of so many shops in Osaka

http://www.nishimatsuyamap.com/list.php?cid=27

Flo
Sure I can meet anyday between 22 - 23, 24 Oct I think I got appt.

Aileen,
Ha ha innate sounds good for me to put Aden in. This boy is getting out of hand

re brushing teeth,
flo, i have the same prob as u. now, i'm hoping the childcare that i'm sending edgar to will help me to teach him or at least brush for him. sometimes it's easier to get a 3rd party to help. the todds know who they can bully and who they can't. i'm oso hoping that the childcare can help me to make edgar self feed and take his solids well.

re taking school bus,
i'm quite worried about safety. so it's a no no for me.coz if anything mishap happens to him because of that, i'll never be able to forgive myself.

aileen,
that's great... there are two ethans in the playgroup - both i think equally noisy...heh. But actually cherie hearts kids also appear quite disciplined - they are quite strict with them, and i was surprised the children are quite obedient in class... Ethan needs that cos he's spoilt rotten by my dad...=) But i think not so strict to the extent as innate from what you say...well, you can see and decide for yourself..=)

sunny,
i would choose option 3, full-day if no one to pick up for you... I had to place ethan in school soon as he hit 18mths, cos my mom also looks after my sister's 10mth old, and yup, she was really Mrs Grouchy. Also ethan was creating havoc at home cos he was bored... so it was good for him to go to school - gave my parents some peace, and then when he gets back after lunch, he's so tired out he conks out for 3 hours... so effectively they only look after him for a few hours till i get back...

Tabbiesus - Wishing yr Hb a speedy recovery. Enjoy yr babysitting this week! 3 babies!

Sunny - I wld opt for option 2 or 3. YX gets to learn & be taken care of in the morning while yr MIL can watch solely over No.2 in the mornings. YX can nap when she comes back in the aftnns and then it's almost time u & HB are back. Not so hectic for yr MIL.

May - I meant I won't be getting the lunchbox though tempted. For now, he actually carries his own little haversack (a changing mat, a set of clothes, waterbottle, hanky & creams) when we go out for a while. If our trips are longer, then i pack his things into my big bag
With the Gogo bag, can pack for longer trips because it's bigger.

Aileen
Innate montessori sounds contridictory to what montessori sch is all about. I thot the concept of monetessori is to let the child do/learn whatever they like???

CL
Have emailed you the pic, I think is very basic so you prob can understand. Thanks

SL
Thanks, will pick up the stroller from you on Sun then.

Mashy
keep forgetting to post. Congrats on your scan results..so your ears are back to normal now?

Sysac
U r tempting me with the Gogo back. Is really big? So far I've put Mel stuff into my big Allerhand bag so that I don't have to carry 2 bags.

Re: Brushing
I have problems in making charmaine brush teeth too! And I know that it's important cos the PD actually gasp in horror when I told her that we didn't really brush her teeth cos she would snatch the toothbrush away from us and want to brush herself.

Sunny

Tentitavely my planning now is to employ a maid to help my mil to take care of 2 when #2 arrives.

On the other hand we will enrol Clarisse to some enrichment classes during weekend.

CL,
i'll check with my mum which hotel she's putting up at. thanks for ur help! by the way, is the nishimatsuya shop something like our Kiddy Palace equivalent?
haha u can go to innate montessori for a trial if u want, foc.the directress is the english teacher herself. i don't know if it's me that's suaku or what. but it was really an eye-opener for me!!

oldmum,
oh really ar? 2 ethans. so i suppose the teachers gotta call them together with their surnames? i saw Zac (Cherylene's nephew,the little sumo) there yesterday. he's SOOOO cute! like a laughing buddha! ok i shall see how edgar's trial goes tomorrow. hopefully its up to my expectation. if it's something like sunflower, it's good enough for me.

Re: Lunch
Rena,
Sorry I forgot that I have this gp of overseas guests coming next week for the whole week. Need to entertain them - can only meet for lunch on the last week of Oct. So sorry.

Flo/Rachel/CL
Daren confirm dun look sumo, never looked that way when he was a bb. Just stout looking. Maybe can call him heavyweight? But CL, your Aden is taller than Daren wor...

sunny
I think I would just go straight for option 3. Coz pricing b/w half-day and full-day at most centres (from observation and visiting a few) varies from $50 - $80 difference only. And subsidy scheme is different. If YX starts attending CC, then you'll have to jab your #2 with prevenar earlier.

Brushing teeth
Daren likes to brush his teeth and doesn't mind us brushing for him and he's at the imitate mummy and daddy stage. But he only brushes in the morning...think I better start brushing for him for night after milk feed but might upset the routine a little as he loves to drink his milk before bedtime.

sl
haha, I think I will sit out on giving ideas for bday bash. Am in my 2nd and last semester and exams likely in Feb period. So will need to focus on studies. But would love to attend if anyone is organizing. =P if not.....hahahaha, can always hold it at macdonald's =P cheaper option and let them do all the planning and legwork and games and maybe even door-gifts. I think West Coast Park's Macs is a nice and big enough place.

Flo - The Gogo Bag measures 13.5"x12"x3.5" according to the BP thread & babejoy website. To me, it's a big kid's bag. Ya, me too when we go out the whole day. I pack everything into my big bags (whichever is the flavour of the day...haha).

Since getting the Gogo bag, then shall pack his stuff in there and carry that from now on for day trips.

Brushing teeth - Cephas loves it too. Do it during morning baths, evenings baths aft last milk feed.

SL,
i have replied ur email. actually was wondering if you can help me pass my huggalugs to flo during JG so that she can pass to me at RP during lunch time. Flo, hope that's fine with u?

Flo,
actually innate follows very strict montessori methods. it allows you to do what you want but in a very structured manner. as in u choose to play whatever toys/materials you want but they will guide you to play in the "right" way, not anyhow play kind. and from what i see, during the "serious learning time" all the kids play alone themselves. they take whatever they want to play, lay a mat on the table and sit there quietly to play. of coz innate mont. gave them 45min of free play outdoors before going into the class to start serious learning. everyone speaks very softly and politely. you won't hear teacher screaming and shouting the kids to sit down. if the student mis-behave, somehow they seemed very scared of the directress and will listen to her and sit down quietly. i must say she has her own ways. so i'm not saying the school is not good, just not for myself and edgar at the moment. like i say, i may consider sending edgar there if he gets out of hand when he's older! haha!

sunny
thinking of how MILs or even our moms claim that they can handle 2 young children at one time, very scared they might get a burn-out from having to juggle both, unless your FIL is also not working and loves to help out with the children too. I remembered that my MIL did tell me before that if I ever do get pregnant and after giving birth, she would quit her job to help look after. I really appreciated the thoughts but back then, we decided then I would solely care for Daren at least for 1st 6 months (coz TBF) then let her take care when I went back to work due to tight finances. But by then, my MIL was undecided if to leave her job or not and look after. So ended up Daren was sent to IFC.
Now, come weekends when we bring Daren to visit her and interact with her, she simply has no energy to keep up with his running around and getting her to play ball with him. Just a 3-hour visit and she's so tired. Am not sure if age plays a part as my MIL is in her mid-60s... so do give a careful consideration. It's good to have her help now, but we also don't want to risk a burn-out totally and walk out on taking care of both #1 and #2.

durianlover
Sent u email on my acc no already. If not, u can always pass me cash since we live so near

tabbs,
got ur VS orders liao

Hi CL, tx!! can I swing by tonight at your place to do take and see??? we still thinking leh...

Hi Sunny,

I see a lot of MILs/mothers within my area, taking care of 2 kids or 3. Most of them, if not all have maids. For the working mother point of view, they usually will provide help that way if they wish to continue with their career. U don't intend to get one? I send my #1 to 1/2 day childcare when I was preggie ... and I chose one that's nearby which I can fetch easily. For 1/2 day cc, one impt factor that's always neglected is weather - the sun is very hot during noontime (& so have to think if there's shelter along the way if to fetch), and if it's raining heavily, have to think the best way to fetch the kid home ... so imagine if your MIL has to bring #2 along to bring #1 back. But I'll prefer 1/2 day cc to full-day cc. I put ds#1 in full-day cc for apprx 2 months when I was preggie (bad MS). He looked so tired each night we see him as he doesn't nap well there, and we realize that we missed knowing the little details of his daily life.

If it's me, I'll choose the 1/2 day cc option (& that's what I've done, but instead of MIL, it's me:> ), with the cc being very nearby. yes, going on a schoolbus is out for me too, at this age. When it's 1 or 2 years later (say around 3.5 - 4 yrs), then consider if you want to switch to a better school which is further away with transport... some mothers whose caregivers are the grandparents do that.... and btw, I also did change ds#1's school when he's 3+

U staying near CL right? another factor is choosing the cc that you can accept... hv u start looking around?

.ky.

Tabbs
Thanks, I've email you.

Sysac,
Thanks for the info.

Aileen
I can collect the stuff from SL but will have to pass to you on Mon - Wed next week if not I'll be off for about 2 weeks. Will be off for my co offsite now, so will not be accessing the forum over the next 2 days. Let just SL know if you want me to collect for you.

Hi Aileen and Flo,

Ashley's school is also very strict on discipline. Once Ashley wanted to try something that her classmates is working on but was stop by the teachers. The teacher explain to me that they want to emphasis on each other's privacy etc and also learn to respect others. And on the other hand, they also want their other child to learn preserverance.

Thanks flo! SL, please pass my huggalugs to Flo when you gals meet up at JG. Thanks heaps! =D

Yuki,
Is Ashley in a montessori school? I thought it's nice for children to learn how to play together, that's where they develop social skills? Anyways, I suppose for such schools, there's a time for them to play together and time for them to play seperately.

thanks mummy for your advices and views. It gave me a better picture how to plan.

Ya, i do worry on how my mil can cope with 2 kids, even both are at home full time, though my gal is really easy to take care of and she's about 50 yr old now.

But, i think when #2 comes, there would be some adjustment for my gal, too. I am really worried that she would get very cranky easily and throw tantrum to indicate her jealousy. If that's the case, it's really hard for my mil to handle. And she might get impatience to my gal....

Also, if we need her to fetch my gal to/fro school, I don't think I can handle myself too especially like what CL described, carry one baby, hold one toddler, take one umbrella and cross the road....

Then, to get a maid, I think financially we might not be able to cope as hb plans to take up PT degree next year, too. With 2 kids, a maid and his course fee.... i think we really have to eat grass liao. haha... And, I am also not good in ppl management, dont think i can manage the maid well.

ky
where do you send your son? my mil stays nearer to CL.

tabbie
hope your hb has a speedy recovery. my brother had abrasion on the cornea some months ago too and i know it is really very painful. he practically stays in bed bcos even the slightest movement of the eye ball gave him pain. you jia yu too, tough job to look after 3 babies!

mamapanda
i also need your bank account to tt you $ for the jshopper spree.

babylon/sysac
i had submitted our order list to babejoy =)

Hi Aileen,

Yes, Ashley is in Montessori. You are right, they have plenty of time to socialise with the rest of the kids. Circle time, theme talk, outdoor, art and craft etc.

But the moment the kid pick up a mat and choose his activity, he is not to be disturbed and he has to complete the task by himself without help from other kids. they may consult the teachers thou.
For Ashley's case, she's able to try it when the other kid had finished with it.

Ashley also came back from school and insist everyone to speak softly! Haha... but i have seen the principle discipling a boy who interupted our conversation. She was very firm without being loud.

despite all these, Ashley's school still sounds very fun! They had jumping castle in the school during children's day celebration and the kids just went crazy. Ashley couldn't stop gushing about it when she came back.

Last year i think they had snow fight..... The school ordered shave ice as they were learning about winter then.... just nice to experience it themselves

Where do you stay? Is Cherie Hearts at Kenbamgan? Heard it from my neighbour and she is enrolling her son there. Have to be on waiting list right?

You know, reading the messages that some of your toddlers refuse to brush teeth etc.... on my side i brush diligently, megan still have tooth decay...... don;t know to knock myself on the head or what........ sometimes the things that you are most afraid of will just happen to you...... In my teens, my younger brother had chicken pox and as i was about attend a school camp, i stay away from my brother. My sister look after him....in the end, i am the one who contacted chicken pox....... Hai......... Ren suai bu ru tian suai....

MamaChan,
I try to get JW to brush at nite. But then he will ask for his milk feed after and then go to zzz immediately. He will fuss if we want to pull him out of bed to brush his teeth....

wow really lotsa posting cannot catch up.. (I'm saying this everytime I come in..hehe)

Sunny
I was in the same position as you before Kyler arrive, headache on how to handle. But I have 1 more option.. which is getting a helper and I Choose that.
I plan to send Kae to playgroup when she is abt 2.5yr old and also when Ky is bigger ( was also worrying on the get sick part). So mean while.. the helper help out MIL on the daily chores.
By the time kae is old enough to go school, helper contract will be ending too so just nice.

Dunno abt you..MIL also say she can cope with 2 kids but I'm actually glad that helper is here cos now even I'm at home, it's still handful, esp when the 2 babies cry together. Kyler wants milk - he need us but Kae a bit "tei" and wanna be carry - she want us. I know I have to attend to Kyler cos he is hungry but kae can be very sticky esp when she din have enough nap.
I was out running errand and MIL told me... she cannot cook and eat dinner cos Kae stick to her like koala and Kyler crying for milk..*faint*

Flo
Remember I was asking mummy abt this headache not long ago..hehehe...
and Thanks to all mummies contribution.. their advice works for me and Kae.
Last time I used to sit her on the toiletbowl and want to brush her teeth but she die die will refuse.
The new method (I combine a few mummies advice..hehe) is let her stand on chair next to me when we brush teeth together (even I just brush after I wake up), i apply 1st teeth on her brush ( I change to oral B, kae dun like pigoen somehow) and I apply mine.
I will brush to demo for her, she will take her brush to follow. The I show her the "eeee" when we brush the front and sides and "Ahhhh" when we brush inside. Then I rinse first... and follow by helping her to brush, meanwhile she will be busy going thru my toiletries items. then I will "eeee" and "Ahhh" so she will form the mouth for me to brush.

She still zip her mouth or bite the brush but most time she is pretty co-operative.
Thanks to all mommies again... :D

SH
Kae also sleep right after Milk... what we did was ask her to drink some water after Milk like rinse her mouth

i saw from another thread yoplait yoghurt kena recall, hign in metal for banana flavour!! not sure how true this is, gonna check this out now.

OMG, this afternoon just gave dylan yoplait yoghurt strawberry flavour *stress*

Yoplait yoghurt recalled after possible contamination

SINGAPORE: The AgriFood and Veterinary Authority (AVA) has advised importers and retailers of Yoplait yoghurt products to recall them immediately.

The advice comes after the National Foods Limited in Australia made a voluntary recall because of possible metal contamination.

National Foods Limited says the recall of the products is only a precautionary measure.

At this stage, there is no evidence that any product has been contaminated. But AVA says consumers should discard the products if they have bought them.

The National Food Limited has notified the Singapore importer that only the following product has been exported to Singapore: Baby Yoplait Vanilla & Banana (pack of 4x100g) with Best Before Date of 11/11/2007.

Consumers can call AVAs hotline at 18002262250 for any queries. CNA/ir

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20071018/tap-306432-231650b.html

sunny

wanted to post my thoughts re: no2

I have decided on half day childcare for tabby...

i have a helper and my mom. However, i can see that it is very difficult cos tabby is jealous and when didi cry.. she will also start to fuss. SO very disturbing for all of us when they both start to wail...

I myself find it tiring to look after both so sometimes, altho i am the type that is pretty handson, i still have to out source some of the care to my helper like feeding time, and sometimes potty time... i'm around but i get my helper to do the dirty worker whilst i catch a breather or just spend some time with no. 2. I think my mom is more tired cos she's older and even MORE gan cheong than me when it comes to bb stuff.

Also depends on your no. 2.. lucky my no. 2 is really quite easy compared to tabby last time.. however, my friend says her no. 2 is really colicky so quite fussy... for now, i find it hard to spend enough time with no. 2 becos.. i have forgotten how to entertain a baby so young and also cos tabby is more demanding and actually more fun to play with.. so u tend to spend more time with no. 1 than no. 2 except for the bare necessities like bath, feeding and diaper changes... (cos no. 1 will know how to fight for attention like be teh or just pull u and ask u to play whereas as no.2 will just stone there unless they really cry out for attention)

So, having felt guilty abt not spending enough time with no. 2... i decided to send tabby to childcare when no. 1 is 6 months, so at least he has more immunity/ shots completed so if no. 1 falls sick.. he has better immunity.. and also when no. 1 is at school, my mom can spend time with no. 2 who should be starting to be weaned onto purees and be more alert and need more stimulation... half day cos hopefully, when no. 1 comes home from school, she will be tired and sleep for 2 hours so that means almost 3/4 day gone and my mom only needs to tahan 2-3 hours with 2 kids being active before i return. Also, not so bad my mom dun need to run here and there to fetch cos 3 hours gap (ie for playgroup_ is not long enough to spend time with bb (think must walk to playgroup with 2 kids in hand unless u have someone else to watch the newborn at home, walk back settle no. 2 by the time u finish one thing its time to walk back to fetch no. 1 already)... very tiring.. at least half day.. i do the dropping off, my mom only need to pick up.... so much easier for her...

I really do think u should consider the alternatives and try out some trial dates at some childcare places now just to see ur child's response than at least if next time you decide to start, you can gauge your child's response and make sure its less traumatic (more for the parent than the child i think... after 2-3 days.. they seem to be happy... and i have been to a few schools already.. and i must say.. most times... the kids ARE very happy in school!!)

also school bus at this age is not really an option cos i see the school buses even tho got adult attendant.. the kids are always jumping around in their seats... bopping up and down.. the older the kid sometimes the more jumping!!

Rachel
thanks for the note on the yoghurt.. i used to give that brand but switched to meiji brand recently cos tabby likes the mickey mouse picture on the cover!

thanks for the advice on the nursing tops.

sunny
I chose to send Ger to halfday CC a few mths before #2 was born and I'm glad that i did it as i didnt want him to think tt we dump him there after we hv #2. Ger started CC when he was 19mths and took the schbus home. the rest of the gals are right, it's not exactly safe. but luckily for us, there's only 3 kids taking the schbus home in the afternoon. so, the schbus auntie will carry Ger on the lap. But, we hv no choice but for him to take schbus home. But, one thing for sure, he benefitted a lot and learnt a lot from sch.

cookie
The 'chaotic' situation when both are cranky, want milk and get attention is really scary....
if you send kae to playgroup when she reaches 2.5 yo, would she be thinking that mummy doesn't want her 'cos now got didi?

tabb
sending my gal to childcare after the #2 reaches 6 mth is also one of my option. But, i am worried that my gal would get emotionally unbalance and thought that from there onwards, we don't want her anymore..... I think i am fearful of the adjustment period.
does childcare centre allow trial?

krissie
how longs did Ger take to adjust himself to happily go to school?

sunny

i think some places allow trial.. maybe u can call up the ones u have shortlisted...i know pats don't allow, but montissori and babies inc allow..