(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

god's child
Durianlover and I are sending our girls to Little Pals schoolhouse next year. We've already paid up and signed up for the Jan 2008 class. You want to join us?

As for transport, the only 1 I know that has transport is Kinderland at CCK center but I only want to send Ariene for 2hr lessons to get her used to the idea of going to school first before I consider full day childcare. For me, no hurry cuz I have my maid. I just didn't want Ariene to be spending her entire morning watching Elmo and Barney.

Mamapanda - thanks! will check out Little Pals then.. mabbie will get Celeste to join in if got vacancy heee... have discussed wf HB bout going back to our own home when i finish my studies in May. am so lookin fwd to it! If not, the other option is Carpe Diem which is 5mins walking distance fr my home..

SSF
so sorry missed ur sms yest... u can drop it off anytime at my mom's place cos got maid in all the time.

RE: watery eyes
will send u a pm abt this...
actually thad got blocked ducts since birth.. i'm so upset... sigh... anyways with the massaging, one eye has cleared.. one eye still bad.. just hope it will clear by 1 year otherwise need to do a minor op.. but i'm still quite upset abt it..

Mamapanda
Re: Calibaby Spree
I'm interested, will PM you my orders...thanks

Tabbs
Is watery eyes something that can be prevented? If not, why are you so upset with yourself over Thad's watery eyes?

rena - thks for informing tabby abt my qn on tearing.

tabby - wow! thks for your advice..impressive. ya i forgotten ya an expert in this area. hee...anyway, let me paste wat you write so others can read it too. we will monitor caleb's case and will let you know if we need the contact frm you. thks!!!

did caleb have tearing from birth.. if he did then it maybe blocked ducts.. now too late to massage, will need a simple procedure called syringing and probing.. not a real operation but need GA cos bb so small... however usually when a kid has tearing we will examine for a few things.

Most important is to rule out glaucoma as this is blinding.. very rare.. and usually unlikely judging by calebs photo.. doesn't seem likely
but need to get it checked by ophthal with special machine to confirm), otherwise the most common cause of tearing is either blcked tear duct
which should clear by 1 year if not than need the surgery i mentioned above.. the other common cause is epiblepharon which means the facial fat in the lower lid is too much and causes teh lower lashes to rub against the eye and irritate it and cause tearing.. no need surgery unless the rubbing is very bad and causing the cornea to scar. This is quite a common condition with asians, but usually no need treatment.. my girl and son have this too... other minor conditions that cause tearing is allergy or sensitive eyes so eyes can get irritate easily.. all these conditions are considered relatively mild.. only real worry is glaucoma...even if u don't do the syringing probing procedure, there's no real harm except that some kids the tears abv the blockage can get
infected and they can get an infected tear sac, this is the only reason why we need to try and clear the blockage at 1 year plus.. success rate of the procedure is about 80 % some kids need additional procedures.

Aileen
Nissan Presage(7-8seater MPV) is a very nice car.. Oh I suppose u din consider Toyota Estima becos it's parallel import? I love full size MPV but cannot afford
Good CHoice!

Tabbie
I was abt to ask the same qns as Flo...how do you know if bb has block duct? becos of the teary eyes? I din notice anything different when I met thaddy the last time...he is really one cheerful baby

SL
Can you pass the Cod Fish Oil and my Hugglag to Demny?? My Hb will pick up from her sandwich shop.

CL
A bit lost track.. I think Mamapanda has pass my stuff to you? Can you also pass to Demny.

Demny
Sorry to trouble you.. my HB will pick up from your shop.

SSF/Tabbie
Thanks for sharing the info..
Kae has been rubbing her eyes quite a bit these days. I will have to monitor more too.
Not sure if it's cos her hair poke and irritate her or... I hope it;s not someting else.

hi mommies

re: thad's tearing
oh its very obvious... his eyes r much better now, only the right eye is tearing... the tearing was at birth.. like he's crying with tears streaming down the side (but he's obviously not) or with lots of "buck sai" or sticky discharge that can be even greenish color sticking to his eyelids/ lashes.. with regular massage of the duct, it can clear.. now only right eye will have tears streaming down.. now i'm not so sure if its due to the epiblepharon cos sometimes i see his lashes touching his eye and his eyes will be wet. Of course other cause of tearing i forgot to mention is conjunctivitis, but this is obvious cos eyes will be all red... the causes i posted to sSF, are when the eye looks relatively normal, and there is tearing.

Cookie
i know thad got blocked duct cos its at birth and the way his eyes looked sometimes children will rub their eyes if they are tired, so u must see... if they are irritated they will also rub. u can monitor..

tabby had gotten a chalazion/ stye(eye lid gland infection) before like a pimple on the eye lid...

hehe.. i'm upset cos i know what the surgery is about and the problems of tearing so i feel sad that my kid has it. it can't be prevented. Sometimes for us in this profession its hard to know when we are "paranoid" and when there is a real problem cos we are either over concerned or too blase about our own kids/ family or even ourselves cos we lose our objective, as compared to patients... I hate going to the doctor!

I saw that some of you are buying fish oil for your toddlers. Are they taking it well? Is it in liquid or softgels form? Anyone tried giving Nordic Naturals - Children's Dha/Strawberry, 250 mg, 180 softgels to your toddler?
Clariss has quite persistent eczema and her kindermusik teacher asked us to try giving her fish oil. I am not sure how receptive she will be to fish oil. Want to get from feedback from the mothers here.

Aileen,
Sure! Where and when would be convenient for you? I pm you my hp no. - we discuss?

cookie,
Okay - do you mind if I pass to denmy only on sun at jg?

Flo,
let me know if you want to borrow the combi pram?

Cali Bb spree
Yes, this will be my last spree for the year

tracy,
noted your 5 tubs of calendular cream.

tabbi, wenyl, flo
received your cali bb orders.

mongs,
One of the mummies from my last LV spree say her son dun like the Nordic Naturals softgels and want to sell her 2 new bottles away. If you're considering softgels, I can pass u her contacts and the 2 of you talk it out.

softgel vs liquid
Personally, I'm against giving softgels to toddlers as they're a choking hazard for below 3yrs. Also, the nutritional value of softgels is lower than liquid. You can check out the Nordic naturals website to compare the difference.

http://www.nordicnaturals.com/retailers/order.asp

Flo, the Jacob Ballas Children's Garden is along Bukit Timah Road, Kheam Hock Road, somewhere between Evans Road and Serene Centre (Farrer Road).

Aileen, Nissan Presage is a good MPV. Its really comfortable and I like the auto sliding doors. I thot you going for small sedan? ;)

cookie,
ya we didn't consider the PI models. HB is just not comfortable buying one.

valerie,
ya it's very comfy indeed. very spacious and reasonably big boot space. we were thinking whether to get small car or mpv. end of the day we chose the full size mpv coz we reckon it will come in handy on the weekends when we go out with either my parents or my pils. coz currently we always gotta go out in 2 cars (my pils just live a stone throw away from us). so if buy small car, then it will only be used on the weekdays which is quite a pity.

SL,
i have pmed u my hp no.

Re: JG
Forgot to post this earlier - we attended the first session at JG by Adrian and it's really good. He can capture the attention of the kids. But sad to say, when it comes to the chinese session, the session become the typical JG sessions of the past semesters. I think the tu lao shi is not very keen in getting the kids' attention. the other chinese teacher better.

mamapanda
can i have your bank account so i can transfer to you the Jshoppers $? thanks

re: fish oil, softgel vs liquid
having fish oil in softgel is for easy consumption (eg oversea and outings), sealing out the fish smell etc.

mongs
for me, i gave marine omega from pharmanex to dylan. i squeese out the fish oil from the softgel to mix in his food, can't smell any fishy smell bcoz there is nice fragrance of natural lemon. he likes it. my gf give her 7 years old girl too and she bite the softgel and drink in all the fish oil.

another gf of mine gave it to her boy, now 18 mths. bcoz since birth he had many tiny pimples like skin condition. now can't see any of it =) eczema(skin problem) is another form of inflammation.

some information on fish oil, omega-3 fatty acid:
the intake of vegetable oil (omega-6) most time lead to unhealthy fatty acid ratio of omega-6 and omega-3 at 30:1 in our bodies. this resulted in making our bodies become pro-inflammatory. it is widely believe that inflammation is involved in a wide variety of diseases including cancer, heart diseases, arthritis, immune disorders and neuronal degeneration.

Omega-3 fatty acids are essential fatty acids involved in multiple bodily functions. they are needed to balance the effect of omega-6 fatty acids in the body while protecting the body from damage, related to inflammatory conditions. so omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids must be in balance for us to be healthy. otherwise, it can lead to inflammatory disorder, such as heart diseases, cancers and joint inflammation.

one such precious gift from nature is omega-3 from Krill fish(marine omega continues this). these small shrimp or prawn-like crustaceans are found in oceans off the west coast of vancouver island, russia, ukraine, antarctica and japan.

krill oil naturally contains 40% phospholipids, while most fish oil sources do not provide any phospholipids, which is an essential part of every body cell.they are essential for all vital cell processes and are indispensable nutrients for proper brain functions.

hope my info helps.

Hi mummies (and esp hi to Chicken Little!)

Responding to celine77 question - i checked out carpe diem at jalan jurong kechil before. Was not impressed - seems to be manned by mainland chinese ladies, toddlers placed in one room where I saw one kid crying and nobody paying him any attention at all, with snot running down his face. Supervisor strangely told me, when i asked her what is the capacity of the place - "oh about 70, but we're writing in to increase the maximum no. of kids" which isn't really what i would have liked to hear.

That same day I checked out Sunflower Montessori (inside Toh Tuck) and Cherie Hearts (Jalan Layang Layang) which were much better. In the end I placed my son Ethan in Cherie Hearts cos of the small size (about 25 students total), altho i quite liked Sunflower.

My son is a Feb 06 baby. Was due 25 Jan, but he came 10 days late....=) Now enjoying playschool..Been reading this thread a long time but never had anything to contribute...

old mum - No need to be shy. Just share. That's hw we started out too more than 2 yrs ago
We have journeyed our pregnanthood to motherhood together

thanks for the welcome... I'm always amazed at how friendly and helpful most mummies on the forum are, the few that i've emailed and talked to..

oldmum,
welcome to the thread and thanks for your feedback. I, too, am surprised by the amount of students carpe diem take in. they have about 100 now, coz i just called in the afternoon to enquire. i did bring my son to sunflower for a trial and i must say he liked it there. enjoyed much more than when he is at JG or Shichida. But I am very concerned about the staircase from the living to the dining area. my son still needs to hold on to the railing when he climbs up and down the steps. care to share more about cherie hearts at layang layang, in terms of the teachers and school environment/facilities etc? is ethan in the full day program? ur input will be greatly appreciated!!

hi celine77

yes that was my concern with Sunflower - the staircase! Even though they put gates on it, and I think the teachers carry the younger tots up and down, but still, there is the fear that my son would trip and fall (he's quite clumsy..heh).

That's why in the end i chose Cherie Hearts, cos it's a one storey building, and they have a garden to play in (with a bunny and two hamsters)(cos' it's a small old bungalow) and no air-con. Also the supervisor Cherylene seemed very hands-on and doesn't have that fake kiddy voice that the supervisor in Carpe Diem puts on when she talks to the kids (sorry for being judgemental...) - talks to the children properly like adults.

I was very impressed with the way they handled new kids - they kindly allowed me to stay with him for a week in school - first day i sat in class with him for the 3 hours, second day i sat outside (only call me when he cried), third-fifth day i was banished to the garden. By the third day he had stopped crying and had become quite attached to the teacher... So after about a week he was quite alright. Now he packs away his shoes, washes his hands, waves bye bye to me and goes in smiling...

They have water play, sandplay, goes on excursions to animal farms, national library... Class size is small - Playschool has about 10-12 kids with two teachers. Kindergarten class about 10 kids i think. They have an auntie there who cleans and cooks there - nice lady. There is a China-chinese teacher, pretty young but very nice - ethan loves her and one English teacher, aside from the supervisor. They also have a music teacher that does Kindermusik stuff in the afternoons, altho ethan hasn't attended any of that cos he's only half day. I hav't decided whether or not to put him fullday later. They also have Japanese lessons for the kindergarten kids...

hope this helps...

Cherie hearts also has another branch at Hillview area - i didn't check out that one, but it's a double storey building so again the staircase problem...

Re: Teary eyes

SSF/Tabbie;

Thanks for all the info!

Gabby's right eye tends to get teary too, started when she was around 6 weeks old. I ruled out conjunctivitis because there is no redness. Finally took her to the PD yesterday and he confirmed it's a blocked tear duct problem and it should go away before she turns 1. Before I saw the PD, I would massage the duct from time to time but he advised against it because even if wash our hands(according to him lah), it will never be 100% clean so there is a chance germs or bacteria can get into the eye - then u get a real infection problem. But massaging really seems to help cos i noticed her eye is less teary if i massage.

oldmum - welcome to our family! indeed we have all grown up together and I have always been thankful for the ppl from this thread. happy or sorrow...everyone is always here to help one another

SY - ok i have PM you Caleb's details for the kidsloft trial. thks for organising.

Hi oldmum

Welcome! I also seldom post in this thread but I do read them from time to time. My son was supposed to be a Feb Baby but was earlier by 4 weeks so I had him on 25 Jan....we're just the opposite.

Hi Mummies.
So how's the 2nd Birthday bash coming up? I posted somthing abt the venue few weeks a ago. I will be renting a Bungalow in Changi for my son's bd. A friend of mine is helping me to get the place but they are very generous with the number of days....... 5 days 4 nites....... guess we only need them on the 19/1 (sat) for his party so for the rest of the days, the place will pretty much empty (17 -21 Jan). Do let me know if you're interested to use it.

oldmum
kao_welcome.gif
do post more and 'chat' with us!

how much is the cost for Cherie hearts? am looking at half day. any website where i can look for more details? thanks in advance =)

hi mommies
anyone organising a VS spree soon?

Cass
I dunno abt in England, but in term of opthalmology, we've been asking our parents to massage.. of course, doing the right massage is essential, with firm pressure and without using nails... I find it quite good cos my son's left side is cleared up only left one side now... i'd rather massage than have to undergo GA for a procedure. Anyways, u r massaging the skin only, shouldn't cause infection.. u shouldn't be rubbing the eyes in any other way...

hi oldmum

Oldmum,
Warm Welcome to u! My son is also called Ethan. Supposed to be Jan bb but decided to arrive early in Dec 05. Tat makes him the gor gor Ethan here. Heehee! Hope to "see" u around more often.

oldmum,
ur feedback sure helps. i will pop by cherie hearts later today. i'm on leave to bring edgar for a trial at Innate Montessori, very near cherie hearts, at Jalan Kakatua. just a stone throw away. from the way u describe cherie hearts i'm very keen to put edgar there. so i suppose i will get to see ur son ethan later =) btw have u been to Innate montessori?

aprica/combi strollers in japan,
does anyone know if the strollers are cheaper in japan?

damien is down with virual attack again.
this time is Diarrhea and now his stool start to have blood...i feel so stress. he just recovered 2 weeks and now is down again.

Anyone got good PD to recommed coz i hate to waiting time for Dr. Yip...super long

Hi Oldmum
kao_welcome.gif
to the big family

Tabbs, SSF, CassCL
RE: Teary eyes
I'm sure with your TLC your darlings will outgrow it. My fren's son's condition was quite bad previously, can see his eyes were teary most of the time...but he still managed to outgrow it without surgery. I suppose the eye ex my fren referred to is the eye massage?

SL
Thanks, would love to borrow your stroller but I suppose you are bringing along with you to Goldcoast? I'll be back on 7 Nov, when are u leaving?

Babylon
Oh Poor Damien, is there any particular reason for him to have blood in his stool? Mel's PD is good and the waiting time is short, but she's out of town only back at work on Fri I think.

Aileen
Yes I think Aprica (and prob combi) strollers are cheaper in japan. You can get real good bargain during sales.

Aileen,
Got your pm. I think my hubby's nearer you. I get him to pass you? Let me check with him first.

Flo,
I am not bringing my combi along - most likely will bring my mac instead. We would be driving plus Australia's baby friendly so the weight and size of the mac dun matter so much. I bring my combi along for the coming JG? Sms to remind me on sat? Thks.

Babylon,
Oh dear! Must get him to drink lots of water cos one of the issues would be dehydration. Charmaine's seein Mel's PD too - she's good but out of town now. Will be back on Fri.

Oldmum,
Welcome!

Re: 2nd BD Bash
Anyone's organising?

CL,

Where's Nishimatsuya? My sis' going Tokyo. If the stuff are nice, wanted to ask her to help get some stuff for Charmaine.

SL

Nishimatsuya has many chains. Must know which part she going , then I let her know which is nearest to her place. It is definitely not in Shinjuku area lor.

Babylon
Hope Damien gets well soon

Flo
Ha ha good to bring a stroller. But for me Hong Kong, me not bringing, too mah fan liao to bring my peg

Weejeans
Welcome!! My gal also EDD29Jan.. and arrive 3 days late on 2nd Feb. That make her the meimei in this thread

Re: PlayGroup
Will there be any more Playgroup?? So sad 2 more weeks I will be starting work. Wanted to bring kaelyn out for play more.

My place left only the hall and its pre-dominant by my MIL to watch TV or care for Kyler in the day so may not be a good place to host playgroup.

tabbs
I might be organising a fast VS spree cuz I have a VS voucher expiring soon. Let me have a look at what I want to buy first then I let u know.

Cali bb spree
Spree still open. Any more orders?