(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE : Scotts Emulsion
My boy was coughing and MIL said y sick? Wanted to buy Scotts Emulsion to feed him as it builds immunity. Ask me to feed regularly as she claimed that my hub and other babies started at 4months. I told her i dont think he can eat and she insisted and wanted to buy immediately to feed.I read the label and can only start after 1 yr old. I doubt can. Anyone feeding?

RE : Lollipop
I think my FIL wanted to give my boy lollipop yesterday. The damnest is they now purposely speak in cantonese and din wanna translate for me.

hi Chillies,

RE: Scott Emulsion
Scotts is very good to build up immunity, but I dun think can start so soon leh.. I will start my gal on it when she reaches 1year old.

Re: Lollipop
Just sharing with you mommies what Demny me learned at the Baby first aid class. The nurse mentioned that the two food items which she feels are choking hazards are lollipops and those small fruit jellies in a plastic cup?

Lollis, coz if the baby is moving about, and falls with the lollipop in his mouth, ths stick may lodge in the throat and cause choking.

The small fruit jellies coz most small kids will just glup the whole thing down their throat. The jelly mass may lodge in their throat and cause severe choking..

Hee hee, sorry to start Monday on a dismal note... the first aid class was so depressing and sobering...but very informative.

Wow, our thread is really moving so fast. I can't keep up reading the archives. Have been very busy lately as my hb was having exams and I had to look after Gerald everynight, incld when he wakes in the wee hours. So shag. So, haven been checking the posting.

The 2 gatherings sound so fun..
Too bad, I missed it this round, will try to make it for the next round (if there's still space) - always full before I can read the postings.

Update on Gerald
Rena, Ger's 2 front teeth also just came out.
Now, his new hobby is trying to stand on his own. I've also started letting him try the 5 grain rice and millet. He seems ok with both.
Another new change would be that he's drinking v little for his last feed. only 60ml last nite.
and likes to wake at 5+ / 6 am.

Hi Clare/ mamachan

computer down yest. night.. so missed the deadline! I put my name down on waitlist?

Re Scrapbooking gathering

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy
6. Cookie
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel
10. Flo
11. SH
12. Chicken Little

Waitlist
1. Tabby's mom

No) Name (Age)- Crawl/Sit by self/Stand by self/Walk by self

1) Jamie (8mth 1wk)- Drag while crawl/Only twice/With support/no
2) Damine (8mth 3wk) - Drag while crawl/No/No/Yes
3) Ariene (8mth 1wk) - Crawl on knees/All the time/With support/No
4) YX (8mth 2wk) - Yes/Yes/No/No
5} Aden (8mth 2wk) - Backwards/Yes with me putting him in position/No/No
6) Celeste (8mth 1wk) - Yes/Yes/No(only wf aid)/No
7) Caleb (8mths 1wk) - Yes/Yes/No(only with aid)/No(only with aid)
8) Elijah (8mths 3wks) - No/Yes/No/No
9) Renee (8mths 2wks) - Yes/Yes/Yes(for few seconds each time)/Yes with aid
10) Caleb(Sept03bride) (8mths 6days) - Yes/Yes/No/No
11) Ashley (9mths) - No/No/No/No (Oh my goodness!! My girl is that slow huh...)
12) Daren (8mths 2 weeks) - Yes/Yes/Yes/No(only with aid)
13) Isaac (9mths 4days)-Yes but slow/Yes/Yes but need to support with hands/Yes with aid
14) Melody (9mths 9 days) -Yes/Yes/Yes (not for long)/Yes with push walker or furniture as support
15) Ethan (9mths 3 days) - Yes (Only knows commando crawl)/ Yes / No (only with aid) / No (only with aid)
16) Shannon (8 mths 3 weeks) - No/ yes/ No (only with aid)/ No (only with aid)
17) Megan (8mths 2weeks) - Yes/Yes/Yes/No (with aid only)
18) Xavier (8mths 1wk) - Yes/Yes/In Progress/No
19) Caeden (8mths 3 weeks) - Yes/Yes/ With Support/No
20) Cephas (9mths 3 wks) - Yes/Yes/No/No. standing & walking are aided by furniture
21) Clariss (9mths)-Yes/Yes/with support/No
22) Gerald (8 mths 2 weeks)- Yes / Yes / With support / with support

13) Isaac (9mths 4days)-Yes but slow/Yes/Yes but need to support with hands/Yes with aid
14) Melody (9mths 9 days) -Yes/Yes/Yes (not for long)/Yes with push walker or furniture as support
15) Ethan (9mths 3 days) - Yes (Only knows commando crawl)/ Yes / No (only with aid) / No (only with aid)
20) Cephas (9mths 3 wks) - Yes/Yes/No/No. standing & walking are aided by furniture
22) Sarah Mae (8 months 1 week 4 days) - yes (backwards only), yes, yes (but need my hands for support), No

Hey mummies, gathering at tab's sounded really fun. Wished I had gone. Rena/ Tabby, so how do I collect the kits from u? How much are the kits and who do I owe the money to?

The pictures of the babies at the botanical gardens gathering all look so cute. The next time round I'll be sure to bring my camera. Great to meet u gals too. =)

22) Sarah Mae (8 months 1 week 4 days) - yes (backwards only), yes, yes (but need my hands for support), No
23) Gerald (8 mths 2 weeks)- Yes / Yes / With support / with support
24) Kaelyn (7mth 3wk)-Yes/Yes/Self pull to standing by furniture/no

SO many of us post at the same time... :p

tabb's gathering:
Many thanks to you, tabbs! *3 cheers* u and ur family have been great hosts! even little tabby! so friendly and sociable.. didn't even mind other bbies playing w her toys! :D

denmy, ya didnt get a chance to speak to u. think we are all busy w our babies and interacting with the rest! keke....

Rena,
Re: BP/CCK gathering
I would like to apologise for the midunderstanding. I was thinking of having a mini gathering for mummies staying nearby because I had thought of making it near our place eg, Bukit Panjang Plaza, Lot 1, Greenridge Shopping Centre, our houses, etc. As CCK and BP is quite far, I didn't think anyone else would be interested in coming all the way here except for those who stay nearby. I didn't mean to exclude everyone else. Of course we'll be more than happy to welcome anyone who wishes to join us.

Made some changes..

3) Ariene (8mth 1wk) - Crawl on knees/Yes/Cruising /With support

chicken little
hope aden get well soon... slowly he will increase his milk intake. don't worry.

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy
6. Cookie
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel
10. Flo
11. SH
12. Chicken Little

Waitlist
1. Tabby's mom
2. sunny

wendyng,

hope you dun mind .. even mummies that stay quite far in the east also can come over to my place previously .. so i think its ok... i hope you understand what i mean.. coz if evry mummies start an area gathering by them self , at the end of the day this thread may be quite and not as active..

sorry about it..

25) Edgar (8mth 1wk)-Yes/Yes/Self pull to standing by furniture/no

re: Tabbs gathering

a big hug to Tabb's mummy for allowing us to mess up the house ... Keith n I had a wonderful time.... and it was really nice to meet up with some of you finally ... huh, forgive me if I still can't remember much of who's who n who's who mummy...

Denmy, let me know amt of $$ to transfer, ok?

took a shot of the lovely cupcakes which is probably the best photo I have that day ... looking forward to more photos coz I saw a lot of cameras by the male species that day :>

524667.jpg

.ky.

Wow, the last gathering sure is fun and yummy. So where was the cupcake from ?

Looking forward to next gathering liao. So we going to for Crab Feast ?

Who is getting crab from where huh ? I will get from No Sign Board because a lot of people never try white pepper crab before. My hubby loves pepper over chilli crab

But the outlet at Pasir Panjang no more liao I have to go Kallang, Oasis

Hope my Aden is well by then

Crab Dinner
Date : OCT 7 ( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm)
2) angie + hb + bbs (confirm)
3) rachel + hb + bb (confirm)
4) celine + hb + bb
5) sept03bride+hb+bb
6) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
7) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
8) SY + hb +bb (can only confirm when nearer)
9) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Shall we get a lantern for our little ones?

Celine77 ,
does your house have a park somewhere or a garden then we and bring bb out to shang yue..hhaha

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3.Rena
4. wenyl
5. Denmy
6. Cookie
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel
10. Flo
11. SH
12. Chicken Little

Waitlist
1. Tabby's mom
2. sunny
3. ky

26) Keith (8mth 1wk)-Yes/Yes, can't turn to sit on own/Self pull to stand by furniture/yes, with aid

Poll on how many table spoon of porridge given to bb at meal time
(1) Kaelyn - 2-3 chinese table spoon
(2) Caleb - half a ikea small bowl
(3) Daren - chinese table spoon (make up to 1 bowl)
(4) Megan - 4 chinese table spoon (heaped n thick)
(5) Dylan - 1 whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
(6) Clariss - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl
(7) Celine77 - 1/3 to 1/2 chinese rice bowl (with side dishes, either extra fish or fruits or eggyolk)
(8) Ariene - 1/2 to 3/4 pigeon bowl of medium/thick porridge mixed with meat + vege puree
(9)Damien - 7-9 to make up 1 whole bowl of Chinese rice bowl
10)Celeste - i whole bowl of chinese rice bowl
11 Sumo - 1 chinese rice bowl...
12) JH - about 1 chinese rice bowl
13) Xavier - 1 chinese rice bowl
14) Isaac - 3/4 - 1 chines bowl (estimation lah, cos I use Tollyjoy flat base bowl)
15) Daviern - about one bowl
16) James - one chinese rice bowl
17) Kirsten - one chinese rice bowl (about 6 tbsp?)
18) Jamie - Half ikea bowl
19) Ryan - One chinese rice bowl
20) Rayeden - 1/4 children's bowl wiz meat(stock only), fish, small silver fish and spinach
21) JW - One chinese rice bowl
22) Ethan - 1/2 to 3/4 rice bowl
23) Keenan - 1 full ikea bowl + a fruit (after dinner)
24) YX - 1/2 rice bowl (approx 5 tablespoon)
25) Charmaine - 2 pigeon bowls (approx 1 Chinese bowl?)
26 Cephas - 3/4 Chinese bowl.
27) Melody - 1/2 corelle western soup bowl (approx 7-8 chinese tablespoon - I realised I don't have any chinese bowl at home!!!)
28) Keith - 1/2 - 3/4 Chinese bowl

BP/CCK gathering
----------------

Can I have a poll who prefers weekdays and who prefers weekends for gatherings pls?

1. Wendy Mamapanda (Slinky), BP (Jelapang), Thurs/fri
2. Durianlover, BP (Jelapang)
3. Rachel, BP (Senja) , weekends only
4. Edd2Jan, BP (Senja)
5. God's child, BP (Jelebu)
6. Sysac, CCK (Yew Tee) (wkends prefably)
7. sally cinnamon (Yew Tee)
8. ky, Yew Tee (prefer weekday morning, weekend will try)
9. Chicken Little (CCK, Yew Tee)
10.sunny (Yew Tee)(weekends only)

Crab Dinner

4) celine + hb + bb
5) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)

Good idea for lantern leh. where u mummies want to get from ? we go BP then cheaper ha ha

Shall we decide where to get the best crabs from all over Singapore ?

Heard Ang Mo Kio got 1 XO crab very good

BP/CCK gathering
----------------

Can I have a poll who prefers weekdays and who prefers weekends for gatherings pls?

1. Wendy Mamapanda (Slinky), BP (Jelapang), Thurs/fri
2. Durianlover, BP (Jelapang)
3. Rachel, BP (Senja) , weekends only
4. Edd2Jan, BP (Senja)
5. God's child, BP (Jelebu)
6. Sysac, CCK (Yew Tee) (wkends prefably)
7. sally cinnamon (Yew Tee)
8. ky, Yew Tee (prefer weekday morning, weekend will try)
9. Chicken Little (CCK, Yew Tee) (Weekday either wed or friday, weekend is oso fine)
10.sunny (Yew Tee)(weekends only)

For the crab feast.. lets get a dish each from our favourite stall.. but please do not buy too much just buy crab for two..

GAthering on friday,

This friday lets go for shopping then next week we do botanic again...

Shoping Venue CK Tangs, Isetan scotts / Taka..
Time: 2.30pm

1) rena + bb
2) Wenyl + bb

We can do a little window shopping then have tea/ coffee..

RE : Jelly
Yes. I think there were cases in Taiwan where kids got choke from eating those small jellies and they sued the company. I'm nv keen in buying those for children.

26) Keith (8mth 1wk)-Yes/Yes, can't turn to sit on own/Self pull to stand by furniture/yes, with aid

27) Davier (8mth 2 wk plus) yes/He can stand with support

shall we note down what type of crab and put the place we are getting the crabs from next to our names? so we don't get duplicates.

Crab Dinner

4) celine77 + hb + bb (host) (chilli crab - a coffee shop along bukit timah rd)
5) sept03bride+hb+bb

rena, there is a playground near my place but i have not been there myself :p don't think there's chair or stools there leh... and i'm afraid there mite be mossies.

28) Tabitha (8mth 3weeks+)Yes/ yes/ self pull to stand using furniture/ yes if u hold her hands

All mummies

Any of u noe where to bring my son to c lantern? Any one noe is there any BP for Fisher Price Leadpad? I wan to buy for my son ma

Crab Dinner

2) angie + hb + bbs (confirm) (white pepper crab - No signboard)
4) celine77 + hb + bb (host) (chilli crab - a coffee shop along bukit timah rd)
5) sept03bride+hb+bb

Buy how much ? Buy for 2 pax means 1 crab ? small or medium ? or buy 2 medium ?

re:mini gathering @ tabb's place
thanks tabb for letting us mess up your place! your hb and mum sure are very friendly. your place is big and no worries about the weather, like what mamachan said, thats singapore! =p

guess what my hb told me after the gathering.. he said Dylan respond better and is more sociable when he saw how dylan behave during the gathering. its really a fun sight to see so many babies together =) so its a BIG green light from my hb for our future gathering!! hahaha

a pity we got so carries away that we totally forgot to take the group photo... saw a few daddies busy taking photo during the gathering. can share share?

28) Tabitha (8mth 3weeks+)Yes/ yes/ self pull to stand using furniture/ yes if u hold her hands
29) Dylan (8mth 1wk) No / Yes / No(only with aid) / No

my goodness...
The Botanica Garden gathering looks so FUN!!!
All the bum admiring... hahaha... so cute and funny

Oh any picture at Tabbie place to make me drool!!...

celine (celwong)
Hello!!! yes i remember you! how have you been?

saw your post and sad to read you mentioned about you and hb being like weekends parent... since its really bothering you, do consider about SAHM or even a change of job which allow you to have more time with your boy? our babies only grow up once, hope we dont live with regrets to miss their growing up moments...

do hope to hear from you more.

Denmy,
I hv transfered $7.44 to u. Pls kindly check. Will contact u thru sms to arrange collection tonite at ur hse. Thanks!

RE : Fell ON bed
Yesterday after evening bath, MIL suggested to bring boy out to living room. I passed baby to her and bend down to keep changing mat. Who knows she din carry and my boy fell! Luckily landed on bed and bed was soft. Phew....if on floor, i dunno how. Must be very careful next time. Dunno why i so blur and why she din "catch"?

I am from Feb 06 mtb forum. I need advice as my girl, Corinne has started to learn how to crawl and due to this my hubby and me considering of getting 3 in 1 baby cot. She is now sleeping on low bed with mattress and she is sleeping on her own in separate room. We are worried that she will crawl out from her bed without us knowing (as she sleep in separate room). But we are not sure if 3 in 1 cot is the best solution, but at least it can be converted into junior bed when she grows.

Can you share your views and what do you do given that babies have started to move around?

Please help. need advice

524872.jpg
524873.jpg

chillies
OMG... thats a scary accident. Really must be more careful.
Oh regarding the cereal.. I pick up from u next week ok..

cookie,
yup, my MIL was SHOCKED!!! Luckily no injuries and he was okay.

Cereal, no problem. Let me know before u come in case I'm at moms and left the stuff at my own plc

Venus
I am using the what they 3 or 4in1 baby cot.
Now my baby can crawl and stand on her own when she is inside the cot and holding the rail. We have lower the Cot to the lowest level.

it will look like the right hand side picture but I think mine is 1 level lower.
So far so good. When I pull the sliding railing all the way up. The top is above my baby when she stand but in that postion should she be in lying position very difficult to carry her up.

If I let down the railing like the right hand picture... when my girl stand the top of the railing is at Neck level, so should be still safe for now. In fact.. I think she is pretty happy to be in the cot now.. as she can practice her standing and shaking skill..heehee..

Hope this help.

chillies
aiyoh, scary man! no more 2 time. did your boy look shock?

=p i had an incident when i dropped dylan inside the sarong. stupid me did not hold him tightly while i carried him in. before i know it he slip out of my grip and fell into the sarong! he gave me a stunned look... made me so guilty and i kept saying sorry to him.

Venus
same as cookie, we had the 3 in 1 baby cot and it was lowered to the lowest level. caught my boy kneeling in the cot while holding onto the railing for support to further pulling himself up to standing position. i think its a good investment as you will know your baby will be safe inside the cot even if she start to stand and cruise around.

Venus,
Same as cookie, my baby is also in a 4-in-1 cot. I have lowered it to the 2nd lowest level and when she stands, her neck is above the rail. Its quite safe. But be prepared for them to knock their heads on the bars when they fall backwards. Happened a few times to my gal already. keke.

re: Dylan's first baluku

mummy here is very guilty... this morning was playing with dylan at my mum's place before he takes his morning nap and i ready to go to work. was holding him high in the air (he likes it very much), when i lower him nearer to my face he was so excited and shaked his head happily. the next moment before i know it he bang his head hard onto my mouth. i was shocked, he was too and his whole face turn red from the shock and pain, but i think he abit thick skin so after a minute or two he was back to his old self le...

still i discovered a small baluku appearing after awhile and i tried to rub it. think he hit hard onto my teeth... my 2 front teeth was painful after his bang.

Chilies - close shave! thank god it was on the bed...

WOW..the gathering sounded like so much fun at Tabb's hse! saw from sleepingdeer's blog some of the pics esp the pool of 380balls! my golly...my Celeste wld have gone crazy if she were there... all thanks to the extra lecture on sat tat caused us to miss it..urgh......

chillies,

waw very scary leh..

Venus,

My thinking is that it seems a little to late for cot as bb may start crusing soon.. actually investing in a play yard is good coz you can covervet it into a bed by putting a single matterss in it and will not be worried that bb will fall off the bed