(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Slinky
I was browsing through archieves and saw that you need to check for front buckle bra in Thymes in Suntec? Do you still need help? Cos I working in Suntec, can check for you.

Valerie,
dun wori, as she grows, the hole may close. i also ve hole in heart, my left valve doesnt close fully. no need medication, jus heavy dose of antibiotics b4 n aft operations.

cookie
my gal too! morning often c her from vertica to horizontal. sometimes i tink she even knock her head against e bed despite e bumper thr. so i place bolster to cushion.

wailing at nite
for e last 3 nites, my bb will wail v loudly whn we put her into e cot upon return from MIL's pl. so carry her awhile, pat pat then put her bk n she'll zz. ystrdy figured out dat its cos e cot too warm. e evening sun shines into my bedrm so e whole rm is warm whn we come hm. so nw come hm straightaway on fan to face her in e cot. so moral of story: babies r v sensitive to temp..

haiz, feels like i'm coming dwn w a cough..

poo
my gal hvnt poo for 3 days..if poo today, surely overflow..dunn o y her poo schedule keeps changing altho i nvr change her feeding pattern. my MIL ask me use cotton bud to tickle her anus, says it will make her poo. hm..last resort ba

Hi Valarie,
hang in there and take care, I know how worried you are for your gal... we mummies always want the best for our babies... how did you discover the hole, and did the cardiologist say how big it was? Small holes will mend by itself as babies grow up... our thoughts are with you!

photos of my darling gal before her hair fell off

Happy Shannon
400008.jpg

Grouchy Shannon
400009.jpg

i have a small bottle (120ml) of similac given by hospital. anyone want? 'cos i don't think i will give my gal FM at the moment and the expiry date for the similac is end jun 06.
let me know so that i can pass to you during the gathering, if i got the chance to join you gals.

valerie
do keep us updated abt kristen and hope she recovers soon. kristen is still young so much easier to recover. i have a fren who also has hole in heart and like what tracy said, need antibiotics before ops and even at dentist. my bro also has valve closure problems and he's even more active than me when it comes to exercise!!

pochacco,
glad to hear that your bb is feeding much better on similac. sometimes when they dun drink milk, we get worried right

re nap
my bb sleeps more now. he wil ltake one long nap in morn and one long nap in afternoon and go to bed by 10pm....sleeps a lot...

sleepingdeer
what's the diff b/w bumper mat and playmat?

rena
u mean the travel steraliser can only steraliser one avent bottle at one time? Elijah is sooo cuteee.. so chubby, wanna pinch his cheeks. I have the same long sleeve top, on the right.

can't join you all today. must be very fun, will try to join the next gathering.

Re : Frequently of poo
previously my boy poo once every 3-4 days, for the last one week was once in 5 days and now have not poo for 5 days again. Very worry, is something suck in there. Wish he could poo everyday then I would be so worry.

krissie

were u looking for second steriliser? metro baby fair selling a lucky baby steriliser bundled with a free warmer at $59 dollars u can check the advert in yest papers

hi sunny,
I don;t mind trying. But it's the ready-to-drink type right? Can mix with powder FM? Think cos to change milk got to do it progressively...

Y,
My boy having exactly the same behavior as yours. No interested in milk, green poo, sleeps more in the day. He is on Nan HA now.
Recently he will always wake up from sleep crying (regardless day or night), near his feeding time but when give milk, cry even harder. Got to spend 10 mins pacifying him then give bottle again.

Pochacco,
thanks. I'll buy a small tin to try next week. My boy not interested in feed. His poo and general well-being is ok though, that's why we haven;t change FM yet. Bought a NUK bottle the other day, haven;t try it out.

Rena,
We'll see how it goes later this afternoon. Frankly I don;t know how they are usually conducted too... so excited to meet all the babies! Must take pictures!

Cindy Tan,
I tried to add in the Vitamin drop that PD gave me after he struggled with me. He seems to like the new taste and drank another 40ml. Sian, simply dunno wat's his problem. Mum kept telling me to feed. But how to when he doesnt want. She told me dont care juz give after 3hrs. She has messed up my entire feeding schedule. With little bit here and there, he's drinking everything in instalment. I feed upon demand or at least 3.5hrs interval when he show signs or when he drank very little the previous feed. Mum wld ask me to wake him up and feed when time's up. So far, unless he wans, he wldnt drink.

Gained only 100g in a week. He's towards the slim size and heard comments from relatives and mum. I'm already stress enough and this surely isnt helping.

Wld he drink after fussing? Did you try to record the amount he drinks in 24hrs? That's what the PD told me to do. How much does he drink now?

Y,
I keep a record of his feed and poo since the day he was born. His peak was when he was 4 weeks old, can drink up to 870ml a day. Then from his 7th week onwards started to slide. Now only 650-750ml per day. He is coming to 12 weeks.

I can understand how you feel. My mom also tends to force feed more, but i read somewhere that we shouldn't tramautise bb too much otherwise will reject milk even more. We are now feeding by 2 instalments: 90ml then 30ml and try to keep it within 1.5hrs. In the past his middle of the night feeds are smooth and he can finish at one go. Now also cannot liao, so we only give 4 feeds of 120ml (AM) and 3 feeds of 90ml (PM). Everyday hope that situation will improve. If not, will just have to wait till he is 4mths old then try my luck with semi-solids.

SAME! He has only gained about 100g each week for the last 3 weeks. He used to gain 400g in a week.

But honestly I think recording too much and having an electronic weighing machine only add to our stress level.

How old is your boy?

rachel,

so the thread has been removed issit? No wonder I can't find it. The bumpermat is from Korea? Is it easy to find bumpermats in Korea? My fren going there next mth leh. Wonder if I can get her to buy there ...

I saw the thread on getting bumpermats from SSW but thought that the mats are quite ex leh. You getting from that BP?

pochacco,

I also doubt that my gal can guai guai stay there for the whole massage session. She's very grouchy this morning leh. Wants to be carried and walk walk the whole morning ...

tracy
PD also suggest your mil method to me.
cos my gal some time ago 4 days never poo..
PD say this method is harmless so can try lor.
I did try.. the next morning my gal poo wor..
but my hb say it's not due to the tickling.

cindy/Y,

your bbies are on FM or BM? My gal doesn't want to drink much in the day cos she doesn't like bottles. She only drinks 80ml 3hrly interval. But in the evening when I come home from work, she would want to drink like every hr to make up for it. my mum doesn't force her to drink cos it's really useful to force her to drink when she doesn't want. She would keep kicking out the teat. She seems okay leh. Shd I be worried?

Cindy, sl,Rena,
I coax and coax till sian. My longest was 1hr 100ml. Kept heating the milk. Mine is on formula, my milk supply was pathetic and gotta give up.

Record down does add on the stress but at least i can monitor. I cant help but wld weigh him every now and then when i pass the weighing scale. Became so obessed that my hub cant stand it! I'm bringing him for jab next Thurs, worry that with the jab he has decrease appetite. urgh!!!

I'm going back to work in a week's time and dunno how if it doesnt improve.

4mths can start semi solid? Like wat type of food?

He's 13wks now, at 5.5kg. How heavy are yours?

Rena,
really cant force them. mine will sometimes shake the head and push me with hands. Once the bottle actually "flew". Can u believe how angry he was? Your boy is so chubby. Mine slim.

wendy - yeah MS is dipping a little now that i prefer to sleep longer thru the night. woke up at 6.30a.m and manage to pump abt 200ml and just did another pump after 5 hrs and a pathetic 110ml. normally if i woke up at 3a.m and another at ard 8a.m, i should get abt 400ml in total. but yet, i was enjoying the rest that i am getting. its been so long since i last slept thru 6 hrs of sleep

re: rashes
cannot tahan and brought my boy to see PD 2 days ago n he commented that my boy rashes was pretty bad. gave some cream to apply on his neck n face n it is much better now. glad that i took him to see a PD early before it worsens.

valerie - do u have any family history of hole in a heart? definitely keep your precious gal in my prayer..do not be too upset abt it. stay strong ya for your lil princess.

Y / Cindy
My boy boy also show little in milk since 4 weeks ago. He was drinking like 1 litre aday from 6 week and then at 11 week started to decrease and now only 800ml. He is on the heavier side and so 800ml is consider little (7kg now, so intake should be around 1 litre). Check with Paed and he said is ok and since he gain so make already no harm if take lesser.

Recently, he also only gain 100g a week for the past 4 weeks. But I understand that the weight gain should be around 100g - 150g per week from 3 months to 6 months, otherwise bb will be overweight.

re milk drinking
my boy also start to drink less and sleep more. sometimes will cry when drinking.

maybe it's just a phase that all bb go thru since so many having this problem....?

SSF
i also getting lazy for the pump at night. the stretch getting longer and longer......

The PD suspected a hole when she checked Kirsten's heartbeat with a stethoscope (baby was sleeping). She says she can hear a heart murmur, which is longer than normal. So the PD referred me to a heart specialist to do an ECG and an ultrasound scan to confirm it. The hole is 4mm between the upper chambers. She didn't detect it earlier, only now when the heart murmur is more obvious in the sleepy state...

SSF, yes now that you mentioned, actually there is a family history. My bro also has one and he's always exempted from PE in school and when serving NS, he can only be a clerk... Is it genetic?

Tracy, SY, no wonder my bro has to go to hospital for dental checks... So it's because of the antibiotics?

I know it's a common birth defect, but seeing Kirsten attached with so many leads makes me feel heartpain... Thanks, mummies, for your prayers!

Sleepingdear, Grouchy Long-hair Shannon is so endearing! Wanna squeeze her cheeks...

Aiyah, really wish I can join in the gathering! Must take photos and upload to share har!

Hi Wenyl,

Yep.started Cephas on Chor Bi since last week. I feed him only once. That's lunch time. I bought from Chong Hoe Medical Shop at Serangoon Gardens.

Cookg mtd for me:

One tbsp with 4oz of water. Just stir over fire for a while. Add a bit of his milk & then feed him. Cephas will finish the chor bi along with abt 100 ml of milk.

We feed him semi solids for lunch as we think it may be too filling for dinner.

Hi Valerie,

Take care. Will pray for you & Kristen.

Enjoy your session! Share the photos

valarie
hope Kristen's hole in the heart will mend by itself. how did doc know during the 3rd mth check? will keep her in our prayers.

tabbiesus
yup, me looking for steraliser. wah, then the warmer must be free. coz the steraliser is $60. thanks for the info.

cindy
aiya, just now you didn't come to look for me... i didn't manage to see your massage and i left home liao... where did you stay? if near cck/yew tee, i can pass to you.

just now the gathering was quite fun. at least i saw most of the bbs and the mummies. and the massage session, didn't absorb much, need lots of practise. but too bad... i am going back to work in few days time and don't have much time except night time to massage bb and build bonding...

denmy
soooooooooooooooo paiseh, just now didn't know that you are BF and went to peep your bb in the sling. :p sorry leh.

valerie
take care.
hope everything goes fine to your bb.

valerie
Take care of yourself and have faith keep praying, I'm sure Kristen will be fine.
Will keep Kristen in prayer.

Re:Gathering

Rena>> sorry I left in a hurry... forgot to thank you..heehee... Thank you for organizing!! it's good that all of us meet up. So happy to see all the babies and mummies and daddies

Cindy>> Thank you too.. the massage cannot happen with your help and your colleague help too.
Thank you.. now I have some idea what to do for baby massage...
Pls thank your coleague Alison ok!

sunny
heehee.. u were very funny with Denmy..:p
Dun worry also.. building bonds can be many ways...
actually I'm also worry abt bonding when I start going back to work.

re: Gathering
Many thanks to Rena for organising the gathering and the yummy food, and her uncle for loaning us the place, cool condo!

Also to Cindy for her help with her friend Alison! The gathering was fun and now at least we have a face to all the nicks... so funny calling each other by nicks!

Rena, your SUMO baby holds the record so far, cannot beat ah, in terms of size!

Denmy, your bb was the 'guaiest' during bb massage... can lift his head and shoulders, super!

And Pochacco, Reeve with his tiny pilllow hugged close to him when he sleep is so cute... how come I and my hubby have our own pillows, but Shannon never develop the habit huh? Think I better start hunting for a small one too for her to smell, so that she can knock out with it!

Great to meet all the mummies and their lovely adorable babies... let's organise another one when they are older, and can start playing with each other!

Queen,
you're right, the mini fridge is heavier than the PIS cooler bag leh!

All who have taken photos, remember to download hoh....

Tracy,
my PD say that the longest a bb can go without poo is 5 days! After which, may be constipation... so 3 days still not so bad bah... my gal used to be 3 times a day, now it's only 1 in 2 days...

pochacco
just now you went ah? didn't notice leh... i think just now i didn't talk to every mummy. :p

cookie
ya loh... just now so paiseh leh... hopefully denmy won't mind my rudeness....

sleepingdeer
mini fridge so heavy ah?
1st thing that my hb reached home just now was to see how the cooler bag worked. it's in the freezer now, but it can't really collapse like what the brochure indicated.

Krissie,
Bumoer playmats are made from safe PVC material that are non toxic... you knwo the usual playmats? They are made from PVC which may not be safe for bb... also, bumper playmats have special finishing which make it last longer...
But there's a price loh... bumper playmats are at least twice as expensive...

sleepingdeer
oh i c i c.... hahaha... i was thinking who's that mummy taking turn to carry bb with her hb. :p
just now told hb about the bumper mat.. he said too ex....

sunny
my hb also say the bumper mat too exp...hmmm...

Re: baby tired after outing
My baby seems to be very tired from the afternoon outing... she has overslept for her feeding time liao.
aiyo.. every time over slept I dunno whether to wake her or not. but she ate only 3 feed today since she wake up...she must at least eat 1 more time before she retire for the night...

the gathering is fun..thank you all to make it happen..

Thanks cindy and alison.. I think we all have fun..

so glad that many can make it.. actually we should also make the husbands carry bb and take picture .. then next time can remember...

those who have not pass me the money.. dun worry about it just transfer the money to me.. at 148-11345-9.. if it is not convenient then next time lah...

my bb.. slept again just now after drinking milk at 6pm.. but only 3oz again... haiz

Hi Cookie,
yah, my bb too, after outing, we thought go to Changi Airport for Swensens ice cream... she sleep in the car, then started crying in airport... in the end found out Swensens no longer at airport! Sigh, then went back west to buy dinner, she was wailing like mad in the car while waiting for my hubby to ta po... hungry yet too mang zhang to latch on... poor thing... now knock out liao, I waiting for her to wake up for her 9pm feed, but she still sleeping... now in dilemna whether to express out or not..

cookie/sleepingdeer
i woke her up after 3 hrs sleep for feeding. :p and after feed, she zzz again. later will wake her up again for the last feed of the day. haha...

sleepingdeer
think your bb is too tired, that's y keep crying just now.

rena
thanks thanks.

sleeping deer/sunny
so I'm not alone.. kaelyn is due to feed at 810pm for 3hr feed.. now it's 10pm liao she is still sleeping.. oh dear...think I better wake her up to feed her.

Sleeping deer
poor thing shannon.. sometimes hungry + tired will become super mang zhang bb. my bb was very mang zhang too just now when she is trying to get some sleep when finally reach home.

Anyone using NUK teats? My baby is 3.5 months old. Until now he is still on the NUK latex medium hole since newborn. I'm thinking if I should switch to a bigger hole since he is older now. Also he has been constantly drinking 150-180ml for few weeks. Should he be drinking more?

cookie
thanks for the link. Think I'll be getting the lucky bb steraliser, coz it comes with a free warmer.

sleeping deer, swenson still in terminal 2...
i was surprised that no one has baby with a pillow. my mum develp this habit for him by cutting 1 pillow into 2 as the baby pillow is too big. i take the smaller one and she takes the bigger one.

sunny, i also dun know which one is you... any description?

my son need to rock to sleep so i got to take shift with my HB as my hand are really aching...

my son after the outing also being very man zhang as no solid sleep... now sleeping and it is already 6 hrs since his last feed but he refuse to drink as he is too tired...

i left the hse in a hurry and forgot to bring my camera...

so mummies with the photo can share???

i don't wake ethan up if he sleeps past his feeding time. last night he last feed was 6+pm and he slept till 6am in the morning. i was so worried that he was hungry but my mom said if he is hungry, he will wake up.

re: poo
ethan has not poo for 5-6 days. went to a gp last sun. still he did not poo every day. dunno whether to take him to a pd. ethan is on tbf.