(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Babylon,
if Damien is not eating food still, maybe can try giving him other liquids. When S had flu, her throat usually gets very sore and red, that's why they dun want to eat... I give her the kids' size packets of Milo or fruit juice when she refuses her meals during such times, Jellies are also very good, coz they dun hurt their throat, so sometimes you can make it yourself and just add lesser sugar...

Mamachan,
wah, 14kg! Oh my! I can't imagine carrying that load, heehee, how do you manage!

Cookie,
you can give tofu too for protein if K doesn't eat meat. S too, she doesn't like meat too, so we really mince it small then she can't spit it out..

aileen
wah.. that's a lot of fruits! i can't even finish them. haha..

re: JG
the teacher told me that there's a small party held at final class. and parents need to prepare some food. what food are you going to prepare?

cookie
my gal follows our diet i.e. vegetarian. if you are worried about the protein, can give lentil, tofu, egg. sometimes, we will buy 'tao huey' for my gal for her breakfast.

sunny
I'm bringing biscuits to the JG party.

CL
thanks. i was thinking of flowers too. but qt paisei to gv flowers to only his class teacher and not to the rest of the teachers, so i was thinking of getting something which i can put in his bag.
then, i'll sms his class teacher to take it out of the bag.

SY
my FIL worked in the farm as egg delivery man before. he told us the egg used in the egg tofu normally not so fresh one.... that's y we seldom take egg tofu and nvr gv egg tofu to my gal so far.

krissie
i wonder what i should bring.... biscuit? cheese sanwich? fruit? need to discuss with hb. did the teacher say the portion? i didn't attend with my gal last wk, hb didn't mentioned the portion to me.

Re: hols

Guess what, we're going Japan after all. Haha. Found that NWA having a $399 tix promo and today last day. So going there for 6 days in Nov. Hotel also booked already. Hope can catch the momiji.

Thanks....Gracie is now very active and her favourite song is IF YOU HAPPY AND SHOW IT CLAP YOUR HAND...
the funny thing is when we asked her where is PIG PIG...she smilling at me and pointed to the PIG picture but later she saw hb..she pointed hb :p

Hi Babylone

Whoaaa HONDA STREAM....my hb also thinking of that car....but that is provided we have second child bcos that is our good axcuse...

Hope Damien recover soon... you can try plain porridge ( a bit watery ) with bovier + yakult mix with plain water
Sometimes they just no appetite and try this,,,,,hope it work for Damien..
How do you cook Damien food??

May..
Congrat...Nissan Latio nice car..

SL..
I just ignore what ever MIL said..but overall she quite ok ....I will fight back if she being unreasonable...

What is Krispy Kreme ???

tabbie
so far with the help with MIL coping ok, except sometimes really hard to find time to relax and pump! with bb crying and all, although I
told MIL to help me- give me 30mins for pumpin and help with the kids, but she will end up doing house work and when bb cry, I may need to attend to them. a bit frustrating in that sense.

Can share share the Lentil stew?

Btw.. I very suaku ley.. I still dunno what is Lentil.. is it a kind of beans? I tried searching the website. it look a bit like chic pea to me.. are they the same?

sleepingdeer
my mil say she mince those meat until very very fine.. still kae will detect and spit out. I was thinking worse come to worse, blend them.. I know we have to encourage chewing but she dun even wanna them in her mouth in the 1st place

SSF/SY/sleepingdeer
Yes Daren is getting too heavy for us! We highly encourage him to walk nowadays even down the stairs and up the stairs and we hold on tight to his hands. Or we make him sit in the stroller which he is fine with it so long it's on the move. I hardly sling him anymore...too much weight for my back. But if I use sling, I'll carry him in the piggy back position.

I think tallest in this forum is Denmy's Keanan and Chicken Little's Aden. They are close to 89cm!!

Feeding Eggs
Daren loves eggs too! Scrambled especially. It's okay to feed them egg everyday, one egg a day, it's the adults that need to restrict to 2-3 eggs a week. The nutrition in egg yolk is impt as it contains Vit B - something, for release of energy. The egg white is good source of protein for their muscle development. But we don't cook egg for Daren everyday since he has other source of protein.

Re: Krispy Kreme
Ha ha ha... didn't know that this would start all the comments on it. Actually I haven't tried it before but, they are the most-faved about donuts. I would loved to try it. Yes, there are branches in HK and Jarkarta. : )

Flo,
I considered the franchise too seeing the number of pple who craved for it. BUT other than the $ (which is like ?!!!), there are also lots of other conditions...

Re: Fussy Eater
I just let her be most of the times. My hubby says that it's like adults, some days we eat more some days we eat less.... I have also concluded that snacking has no effect. E.g. on Sat, she ate 2 pieces of bread plus 1 banana for bf, 1 big bowl of porridge for lunch then when we meet our frens for high tea, she can still eat 3 plates full of fruits plus her usual portion of dinner at 530?!! On good days, she eats like this but some days, she only eats about 75% of this amount. It's frustrating right?

sunny,
ya that's alot of fruits, that's y i told my maid don't go overboard althou we all want edgar to eat more coz he's very petite.

cookie,
edgar also don't like minced meat in his porridge. that's y we are still blending his meat and vege.

what to bring for JG class:
speaking of which, what do we need to bring? i also tot just bring biscuits. coz i don't know what else to bring. i'm not good at preparing kids food. coz edgar doesn't eat them.

cookie
I think the minced pork must add alittle cooled boiled water to it to "disperse" or disagregate the meat before pouring it into the porridge to cook...confirm no chunks for her to spit out. Or how about letting her chew meatballs on her on? Can make pork or beef minced meat balls and panfry with butter? Just add a drop or 2 of soya sauce to the mince meat and marinate and some corn flour and roll into balls. after cooking, can encourage her to self-feed using fork perhaps? I did the meat ball thing for Daren when we were preparing a spaghetti dinner meal, and he finished up all the meatballs meant for him before we could serve him his spaghetti!

SY,
think u were asking me whether we could feed soft boil eggs. i see that edgar didn't develop any allergy or stuff like that, so i presume it's alright. maybe other mummies can advise on this.

cookie

my boy also doesn't really like minced pork.

but find that he's more receptive when i add water, cornflour and pinch of sea salt to the meat before i throw into the porridge to cook. Think the water and cornflour makes it easier to eat.

Wah, 89cm is so tall. My boy is still a xiao bu dian. 78cm only.

cookie ,

instead of mince meat why dun you give chicken? Last sunday i cook chicken rice for the family and invited some guest over . I also give elijah the chicken breast shredded into small pieces and he loves them.

my son is a lover of chicken rice and chicken. normally i will only give only the ones i cook and the ones from my parents shop.. confirm no msg. and the homecook ones have no salt for him too

Mashy very good deal on the airfare. Yes yes momiji is so beautiful.

Ha ha who is 89 cm. My son oso. Ha ha but sometimes I hope he is smaller in terms of size.

JG party
Ha ha my hb wrote down sausages leh. I even know if I can make it for the class since it is grandma's birthday

Rena
hahaha,daren likes the chicken rice, rice only and some chicken meat. That's the only rice he'll accept but not the plain white rice or rice with soup/gravy.

Speaking of Chicken
I've seldom give Daren chicken meat ....somehow abit paranoid as I understand our chickens nowadays are injected with hormones and such, to lay better eggs or to plump them up with more meat... not sure if it's still true or what...any mummies share the same thoughts?

re: chicken
i ever watch a documentary. to lay more eggs, the farmer will switch on the light 24 hrs so that the hens will lay more eggs in 1 day.
for injection of hormones, i heard before, haven't read any articles before. for the injection, i heard that it's to let the chicken to grow faster and fatter. so that the farmer can save more time in rearing the chicken and earn more $$ in shorter time. it's not only for chicken, it applies to other animals, too. that's y ppl said kids nowadays puberty seems early than old time ppl, they relates it to the hormones resided in the animals' bodies.

mamachan

yah, haha, u know what, my hb said coz my boy doesn't eat chicken (allergy), so he's small size - lack of the hormones from the chicken. hahaha

Bb height
wow, some of the babies are sooo tall...89 cm is impressive! Mashy, my Ryan can shake hands with your boy...he is barely 80 cm I think

Food fussiness
Yah, Ryan has been fussy abt food recently. Sometimes he only takes 2 or 3 spoonfuls and dun wan to eat anymore....I haven't given him jam or anything sweet or salty yet...maybe time for us to give as they may no longer want bland food?

mashy
hahaha, no leh, my boy also hardly eat chicken too (coz of my being paranoid) but he's grown so big-sized! But the hormones, not too sure if it's just steroids type or female hormones type. Think I better go find out properly 1st.

Early Puberty
One of my cousins had her menses when she's a mere 9 yrs going on 10 yrs!! We were all so shocked!

Re: Eating
So happy..called back home..finally damien start eating..although no much..but at least he started to eat liao.

so envy with bb with heavy weight..unlike my damien..seem to be so fragile..once fall sick..we can start to see guitar string..

So hard to make him put on 1 kg..but to loss the 1kg..seem like within 3days will do.

How i wish i can give him my excess 4kg...hee~

MamaChan,

One of my niece is Primary 4 this year and had her menses early this year too.. so early and scary.. is it due to the food? or too much eggs haha i wonder.. coz she loves chicken rice..

Mashy,..

You are right that corn flour make it easier to eat...As only minced pork itself the KOU KAN is not very tasted and if you cook it for long hrs with the porridge the taste also quite hard...
Cornflour help to soften the taste of minced pork and porridge also taste quite NUA ( Smooth )

For me if I cook minced pork porridge. I will cooked the porridge + 1 garlic ( cut it in small size )during half way cook of the porridge, I will get some porridge water and mix it with those minced pork in a small ball...so that the minced pork will not too hard when they bite it. After that throw all the minced pork to the porridge and add a bit of dark soya sauce ( but not light soya sauce ) and I will add a bit of water when the porridge almost cook and wait for 2-5 min than I switch rice cooker button to keep warm button..
I put water when porridge is almost ready is to make the porridge not too thick and not too waterly.
As minced pork itself not absord well if the porridge is too thick...and end up the taste not really sweet.

Rena
My hb also chicken rice lover....but for Gracie's as long as is food she also eat.....

RE: Fussy eater
Thanks God Gracie not like me as I'm fussy eater
she look more like my hb, as long as is food she also makan.
I notice she has been eat a lot even last week when she got ulcer...she manage to finish 1 big bowl of porridge and 1 hr later she request for 200ml milk.
She like fruits, and no fussy on food. MIL always change her food and we let her eat all kind of vege so that she wont fussy on it.

Last sunday I cooked Frog meat with ginger and union for her...she like it so much and finish 1 big bowl porridge during her lunch and dinner.
I like cooking just because I'm working mum so not time for me to cook on weekday but I will cook on saturday and sunday for Gracie and my family...

Rena
wow...so early too wor your niece. Could be the chicken bah...if they were to inject the hormones, normally inject into the breasts of the chicken. Think for chickens, I suspect they might add in female-type hormones. so scary man... I heard early come menses will early menopause too...dunno if true or not.

RE: Eating

Elijah use to be sumo but now he is still 11kg as per 1 year old. the angry part is tat my mil still put my poor boy on diet . somehow i felt funny coz the two nieces who are under her care are terriblily under weight. my younger niece is 1 year old and she only weight 6 kg.. her PD mention tat it is ok.. funnny!!!! i cannot understand...

aileen
hmm, i love soft boiled eggs too but just wonder is it too young to feed them stuff that is not completely cooked

re meatballs,
JH also likes them. i will add carrot, onion, egg yolk and then cook over butter. he finished most of it with rice + soup

actually JH takes quite a fair bit of chicken. he has meat almost every meal, either fish, pork or chicken.

does the cornflour makes it nicer? i never try before.

Chicken & Menses

Don't remember when mine first started. Seems like events before pregnancy all wiped out after giving birth.

re meals,
wow some of u mummies here can really whip up a meal for ur little todds! think i'm the most lazy mum around! edgar only has boring porridge everyday. furthermore i use slow cooker to cook for both lunch and dinner at the same time. which means he has the same thing for both lunch and dinner. i tried making yummy food for him but end up he also don't like. so i gave up. just stick to the usual boring stuff. and i realise even when we try to feed him our food, he's not interested either.

Babylon,
U so funnie! Made me laugh when i read u wish to donate ur excess 4kg to ur son. Kekeke!

Mamachan,
Wow! 14+kg! Daren is a heavy champ. I like his built. Can predict next time he will be those sturdy 6-packs type of guy. Not those overweight lumpy fatty guys. My E just hit over 11kg mark and I already find him too heavy for me to carry for long period, esp with a tummy now. Can't imagine if he is 14kg & ask for "bao bao". Faintz!

Re: Chicken
Me too! Realised I hardly give chicken to E. Same reason like Mamachan.

Re: Menses
Dun tink early menses is associated with eating excessive chicken bah. I had mine b4 I hit 11yrs old. Considered quite early cos most of my classmates din have theirs at tat time yet & I dun eat chicken everyday. I still remember I was so shy abt it cos it seems like I m the odd one out.

rena,
wow elijah so slim now ar? i tot he shld be at least 12 or 13kg considering that he was a sumo! haha! anyways 11kg is a good weight. not too heavy nor light. but i can't say the same for ur niece. 6kg is abit too underweight leh...

menses & chicken
I had mine the day before my 13th birthday. I heard abt farms injecting growth hormones into chicken to make them fatter and grow faster but I'm not sure if its true. Maybe I should try find out more.

denmy,
having similar feeding problems. Caleb has been consistently rejecting his dinner for the past few days. Duno what happen to him also.

chicken,
we have heard of the hormone stories too. We seldom give Caleb chicken too. No particular reasons. We give pork and fish more frequently.

Oh, Caleb loves egg too.
My mum is rather diligent in giving egg to Caleb. Think he is having it almost every day. But he dun like to eat those that are too cooked. He prefers softboil egg, like Edgar

Mamapanda,
I tink it's true. Chicken has the most no. of hormone jabs. Pigs also have but I tink its only 1 or 2 jabs. Its compulsory cos the jabs were provided by AVA back in the 70's & 80's. Tat's wat my grandparents told us.

Aileen,
We can Hi5 liao! Cos E meals are also the same boring porridge day in day out. Sometimes his daddy even complain that this mummy not putting effort to add variety to his son's meals.

RE: Movie "Ratatouille Dinner Affair"
Movie about a rat and a chef will be showing on this week.....
The rating is 5 star and is very good show for family. This movie has been showing in Taiwan and one of my supplier said is fantastic...

I will going for the movie with hb and Gracie this week...and this is her 5th time to watch a movie..hope she likes the movie

Rena
eh...6 or 9kg? hehehe, I was so shocked I had to relook at my keyboard at the number pad to see if you might have make a mistake....since '9' is above '6'... unless your niece's birthweight is really low... Elijah is still of good weight, like Aileen say, not too heavy nor light. But abit funny leh your MIL, put Elijah on diet? He's already lost quite a bit of weight wor.

Menses
I had a moderate chicken intake when young, menses came around 12 yrs old... think it's up to individual biological clock. Back then in our time, I don't think injection of hormones into chickens (if any) are prevalent as compared to now with all the new technology and findings, etc etc.

Re: Party at JG
We would be bringing sandwiches. I was mentioning to SH on Sun that it's so weird that potato chips is one of the items. I mean, can the toddlers eat potato chips?

Re: Chicken
Actually the PD was saying the same thing too! - that chicken are injected with hormones. She doesn't eat chicken herself.

Aileen, Wenyl
JH has porridge for every meal too! i used to think that it's so boring and try to thinkg of different foods but then my hb says just give him whatever he eats...

so now i just try to vary his porridge.