(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Ahhhahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! My god... sorry but it's really scary...... My mum and sisters all got stretchmark too, think I might got it since they say it's can be inherit.

Bao bao,
Laughing is a healthy activity. Don't be afraid to laugh out loud, just ignore your colleagues lah.

DS,
I heard that the nurse will shave for you after you're admitted into hospital, so no need to DIY.

Summer,
Preggie's temp are usually higher, so it's normal to feel warm. I felt so warm during the wkends when I was at home. Almost can't live without air-con nowadays!

Jeslyn,
Did you apply stretch mark cream then? Wah 20kg is quite a lot. Sorry ah, but I think I've goose pimples oready... But the +ve side is that you reminded me that I must not forget to apply cream diligently!

Dili,
You're so hardworking! Even track EDD across dfiferent threads
Nominate you for the "best updater" award, if only there's such a thing! Compared to you, I'm pretty lazy, update only every 1-2 wks. hee... hope the mummies here don't mind...

Hi Dec MTBs

How does a bb kick feel like? I felt a thump on my left belly just now. Like tapping on the wall. Not painful. Is it the bb's kick? But like a bit early right since i'm only 14 weeks.

Hui32,
You got apply stretch mark cream bo? One day how many times? Your photo shown is expecting gal or boy? Weight gain during pregnancy?
Maybe is due to the weight that cos so much of the stretch mark?
Did your gynae told you that we cannot be too tired, work (housework) too hard? If not will kena a lot of stretch marks?

What brand of the stretch mark cream you used last time?

Summer,
Wah, you work from home.. can tell simi work bo? hee

Joyful,
Really ah, so is a free service of shaving hair? :p
Then i would worry so much from now on.. maybe would have to shave for natural birth?

jeslyn,
Don't be sad, think as times go by the stretch mark will fade right? Read from book, it says so..

DS

Just some simple accounting entry for my husband. At least next time i can stay at home to look after baby and work at the same time. Still can earn a bit of salary. Hehe.

So ladies
Try to put on weight little by little ok. Like tat i tink can help reduce the appearance of stretchmark. Try not to gain too much weight at one go.

summer,
I can't say you would not have. But your chance of getting SM will be lesser than mine.

DS,
The nurse will definitely shave for you if necessary. My sis also didn't shave until delivery. You don't have to prepare for it but becos I vain mah and I want to try b-wax cos mine is like "forest", everytime wear swimsuit must hide them up, if not they will peek-a-boo.. kekeke...

Bao Bao
I peifu you man. You can pluck all the way. So painful. I pluck midway oredi buay tahan!

Joyful
Agree with Bao Bao, u r so funnie. Searching for BB's head thur' the "bushes"
302466.gif

DS
I same reason as Berlin lor, to have the clean and "airy" feeling..hee hee!

Jeslyn
I must say the stretchmarks very scary, did you scratch yourself when the tummy was itchy? But don't worry, nowadays can ask the doc to lighten them using laser. Actually, the shape of your tummy looks very nice leh. It does not look like 20kg weight gain to me.

Re: Free shaving at hospital
My colleague told me the nurse anyhow shave one leh, and not completely clean shave...And then hor, husband there looking at nurse do the shaving...urrrgh

Joyful
What an interesting bb trend! Wonder if I will break the trend or not??? Looking forward to Wed my check up.

joyful, straycats, meixue
My husband is slightly better, he's willing to wait longer for bb movements, but bcuz he got sweaty palms, so I don't like him to place his hands for too long and shove away his hands hahaha....

Moonbell
I hope you will break the trend, hee hee! Anyway, do you have the carrying girl loook / boy look? What is your hunch?

At least your hubby still wait..mine wiat abit longer will ask me " Where got"?
302470.gif

Moonbell
I hope you will break the trend, hee hee! Anyway, do you have the carrying girl look / boy look? What is your hunch?

At least your hubby still wait..mine wait abit longer will ask me " Where got"?
302473.gif

I like i got the carrying boy look cos my mouth area darkening and the skin around the area got those peeling skin. My husband frenz comment tat from the look i am having, it must be a boi and vola after the scan it really turn out to be a boi.

Jeslyn

Sorry the say. Look scary to me... I don't think i wanna look myself in the mirror man. My hair standing leh. Pai say huh

moonbell,
I also think that hospital will anyhow shave one. They only shave the area they need to explore, the rest will be left hanging around.

I think I finish already..prior to pregnancy I already hv silvery stretch mark..cannot imagine going to get red color lines somemore..aiyo.

Krissie,
The bloom top is t-shirt material..with sleeves and some flowers at the bottom edge. Very simple one. But till now I still havent wear any maternity top, very pai seh..still wearing bigger normal clothes.

Weoseek
I also don't really like to wear maternity tops. I dnno, I don't feel like me when I am wearing them. Maybe I am abit chor lor or tomboy kind, so instead of flowy tops I buy tank tops / singlet instead..easier for me
302489.gif

Plucking...

Baobao, I salute ya!!!
Gosh, I once did gather all my courage to attempt that, after 2 pluckings, I was close to tears...
Then I decided to go for a bikini waxing...

Now I am even more determined to do a full monty liao, after all these messages here, dare not wanna imagine the nurse anyhow shave while my hubby watch!!!

Stretch Marks

Hopefully I won't get any cos my hubby is a perfectionist and he will sure condemn me!!! But if it happens, I will sure use his credit card and go do laser!!! Ha ha!!! After all, he is the one who minds!!! (>_<)

I was told by many I am carrying a boy, looking at the tummy, my cravings etc, but it turns out to be gal lei!!!

DS,
Maybe you wanna confirm with your hospital nurses or gynae about the shaving. Not sure if every hospital provides such foc service. Scarly your hospital don't provide, don't come &amp; look for me hor *grin*

moonbell,
you must be v excited now. Wed is just 2 days away. You prefer boy or girl?
I've a 'lousy' suggestion for your hubby... put a thin handkerchief or cloth on your tummy then put his sweaty palms there... hee

straycats &amp; meixue,
maybe we need to start training our hubbies' patience... ask him to count to 10 before moving his hand away...

Ha ha, my hubby lagi funny, he tried to listen to the bb while placing his head above my belly button, and then he complained he can only hear my intestines moving...

After pointing out the rite position, he stayed there for less than 10 seconds and said the same, he hears water sounds.... I pengz!!!

Just only, my hubby was lucky enough to feel the baby kicking once he put his hand on my tummy and he gave an amazed shout. haha. Think after this, he will be more willing to put his hand on my tummy.

The weather is so warm, i feel so warm in aircon already, can't imagine what it'll be like when i get back to work (without aircon).

I heard that stretchmarks cream are not really useful, use or don't use, will also get stretchmarks if you're prone to them.

joyful, straycats, liewlian, meixue
Ya, I think all hubby will like to feel it too. I always tempt him and make him jealous that I can feel it, heehee... Also I always tell him to talk to baby, until he complained to bb "your mummy ask me to talk to you but I dunno what to say liao leh..." Hohoho...

meixue
ya, I also feel hot at night and can't sleep, but I dun like aircon, so dahan the fan..

straycats, joyful
I like oranges and meat in first tri. One colleague told me she like oranges too when she had her boy.
Most important to me is that bb is healthy. My husband said he'd like to have three!! Hmm...I'll keep my hunch a secret first, and find out on Wed. ;)

straycats
I intend to work all the way if possible, so I can make full use of the whole ML.

Anyone watch Incredible Tales at 10pm? I skip all horror shows now, what about you all?

straycats,
I plan to take ML 1 week before EDD. And also tentatively plan to take 2 mths ML then come back to work alternate days. Will see how I cope with my bb.

Aiyah, my hubby also the same one lah. Ask him to feel the kick last nite, after 10sec, he still can't feel it, then he say don't disturb bb, let her sleep...

Moonbell,
I watch CSI, whenever there's ugly scene I will turn away.

Moonbell

I don't even dare to watch or else i won't be able to sleep.

Me kinda timid one, whenever i go toilet i ask my dog along. Cos my dog slip with us. As for my hubby he sleeping like a log. think if i shout in the toilet he oso won't be able to hear me. Haahaa....

straycats/moonbell,

I also intend to work till my EDD. Maybe will take 2 - 3 days of my AL. I also want to make full use of my ML. Or worst case, ask doc give mc lor. hehe

Still thinking whether to take 3 months of ML or 2 months of ML, guess will take 3. One shot lor, if not the other 1 mth ML, also don't know m=by when got to clear it. Will also depend on my hubby also.

I also don't really want to watch the incredible drama, although i would very much like to. Also scare i will scare my baby. haha

straycats,
I'm still thinking about whether to take leave prior to EDD or work until the day I deliver... Hmmm, maybe I'll see how's my condition after 36 wks. If tummy is v big &amp; heavy by then, and it's uncomfortable to move around, esp taking public transport, then I maybe take leave to stay at home. What about you? Any plans yet?

moonbell,
I usu don't watch horror shows. But last wkend, I watched ET on TV &amp; my MIL was telling me not to look at weird creatures. But I thot Drew Barrymore was cute when she was a little girl.

These few days, hubby &amp; me were discussing about names for our girl. We can't seem to agree on what to name her. And he doesn't fancy those names that I came up with - Ashlyn &amp; Summer. Neither do I like his one - Eleanor. So we continue cracking our brains...

Then he came up with this idea... let bb choose her own name!
Method #1: He will read out loud some of the girls' names one by one &amp; see if bb reacts to it. If she kicks me, then we'll pick that name.
Method #2: After our girl is born, write the potential names on strips of paper &amp; dangle in front of her. Whichever one she grabs or stare at, will be her name!
I faint!

Have any of u start buying stuff for bb? I don't know where to start. Just came back from Perth n bought some clothes n books there.

Thinking of start buying now if not afraid will be too rush if start too late.

My MIL warns me of the forthcoming Ghost Month and asks me not to watch those horror movies etc... Now that I am preggie, I also avoid watching sad scenes other than those bloody and scary movies!!! I scare my bb will be a "hum bao" or turn "alien-looking".... Hee hee.

That's why I am ardently watching on America's Next Top Model and Man hunt on TV... Woo hoo! Drooling over the hunks and babes on TV!!! Ha ha!!!

Joyful,

Actually yr hubby's idea is very innovative, after all, if yr daughter doesn't like her name, i mean IF, she can't blame both of you mah!!!

I have appointed my dad to think of a Chinese name of my daughter and then we will then decide whether to have a English name or not...

Joyful,
Your hubby very cute arh.. ekekekeek
If like that then i think his way will be good, since both of you don't want to give in mah. So is to let the bb choose herself. :p
But who knows, choose liao you all will still consider.. hehe

YL,
You just came back from holiday? How many weeks/months are you into your pregnancy? 20 weeks? (Saw your name in the list above) hee
I also haven started buying any bb stuff. Will take some handovers from my sils.
Not enough then buy.

Liewlian soh,
really got such thing? Watch sad movie next time bb will be a "hum bao"? heee

Joyful, your methods to choose name is so cute! We're decided on the english name, but still sourcing for the chinese name.

I intend to take 1 month ML before my EDD and 2 months after. Maybe take some unpaid leave after the 2 months is up too.

I'm also quite apprehensive of the Ghost Festival... *shudder*

Regarding Ghost month, my MIL even wants to restrict me from going out after dark. Try to come back straight from work before it gets dark. Guess she might not allow me to go swimming during this month.

Joyful,
I'm also trying to track the names now. Am thinking of making the list and read it out to bb to see if she has any response.

DS,
I was 18 weeks when I went for my trip, we had a 10 days free n easy trip. so we can do things at our own pace.

Joyful, Moonbell, Berlin, Summer
I have not decided yet as to work till delivery or take 1 week leave. I have to see how my condition is..but my boos very gan cheong..keep asking me and he will get a temp to cover my work until I return. I may take the 3mth ML plus my own 1 mth AL.

Moonbell
I am not allowed to watch any scary movies, even though I like watching them, hubby said cannot. Lagi worse, since 7mth coming &amp; I am preggie, my mom now don't even allow me to hang my clothing outside pass 5pm. Also, my new place just renov finish, also cannot move in must wait till 7mth over...and don't mention about buying any BB stuff, also cannot due to 7mth....haiz...
302709.gif

I also heard that moms would like to eat alot of meat &amp; eat / drink OJ will have BB boy...anyway, I hope you will break the trend on our Dec BB gender chart
302710.gif

LiewLian
Me same as you, will ask my dad to think of a Chinese name..but he said must see the time &amp; date that BB is born then choose.

Berlin,
Better don't go swimming during 7th mth. When i am young, mum also advise me not to go swimming. So don't need to say for pregnant woman. Just rest for 1 mth lor.

YL,
Then that's good, at least no need to rush.

Straycats,
What is the reason that your mum gave for cannot hang out clothes after 5pm during 7th mth?
We only go back to work after 5pm, that is the time that we are able to wash clothes and hang out our laundry when we reached home. How not to hang out after 5pm?

DS
Dunno leh. I normally don't like to ask any questions. So, she said don't hang then don't hang lor. Anyway, she will ask the maid to go over and bring the clothes in for me.

I've also heard that if baby's clothes are drying outside, must bring them in before 7pm. Not sure about the 5pm though.

straycats,
Then for you still not so bad, my side is, no one at home, mil also not at home.
So the ony time to hang laundry is weeekeds nia lor.

Yeah, think for bb clothes, cannot leave it outside until 7pm, got to bring in before sun set or what.

LiewLian,
that's the idea! Our girl can't blame us 'cos she chose the name herself, heheh.

YL,
Just sorted out the list of bb items to buy recently. Will start hunting around soon.

straycats,
7th mth cannot buy bb stuffs ah? Didn't know that...
Did anyone say 7th mth better not to give birth? If so, then those due in 7th mth will be v stressed...

High 5! I'm also thinking of 3 mths ML &amp; 1 mth AL. Dunno if my colleagues will hate me for MIA for so long while they cover my work.

mashy,
Hmm... maybe a bit too early to detect bb movements at 14 wks unless you're v slim, and/or not a 1st-time mum. Quickenings (ie bb movements) can usu be felt at 18-22 wks. Some mums say it's like thumping, tapping, or bubbles or like butterflies. Not to worry if you can't feel it yet, your turn will come in a few wks time.

Last night after waking up to pee, I couldn't fall asleep for a long time. Bb was moving no matter which position I lie, left, right or centre (ie on my back). I thot since mine is a girl, her kicks will be more 'lady-like', but sometimes not true leh. When she feels like it, she will just go all out, and I can see that part of my tummy go up &amp; down. Quite amazing...

Wow.. nowadays, the weather really unpredictable.
Just now was quite sunny, now started to rain heavily liao..

Joyful,
Huh? 7th mth cannot buy baby stuffs. Maybe is same as 7th mth cannot buy wedding stuffs. The got to wait for 1 month lor. Rest and relax 1st.
At 1st wanted to buy some, but sill said now is too early for me to buy, so wait lor. Wanted to buy during the great sinapore sale mah. Now got to wait liao.

wow, your bb girl so active, maybe when given birth is a boy boy? :p
Really that obvious until you cannot sleep huh? Then you must be very sleepy now lor?
Got ask your hubby to see bo? Hee

I still haven feel any bb movement yet, i am in my 20th weeks now. Maybe have liao, but i cannot feel it. :p

DS,
ya lor, eyelids like garfield now.
Hubby sleeps like a log last nite &amp; even snores. Decides not to disturb him.

Don't scare me leh. Keeping fingers crossed that bb is still a girl. Heard that it's more accurate to look out for 3 lines during the scan instead of absence of birdie to tell if a girl. But my gynae &amp; sonographer just say nothing in between the legs, so is a girl. I trust them lor.

Actually I'm a little apprehensive of the coming 7th mth. Preggie already got so many 'rules' to observe, then come 7th mth, there seems to be more. Moreover sometimes I tend to imagine the unthinkable... tsk tsk.. must curb those thots.

Joyful,
How to look out 3 lines or not? The sonographer also say no birdie in between legs is a gal, and my gynae only refer to the report, never scan again for me.

So during this seven month, we can prepare a checklist and see what to buy. Me need to push my hubby to pack up some stuff and keep. Make space for bb stuff liao. Talking about this, don't know my SIL will move back her stuff in my nursery room or not. *sigh*

Joyful

Really 7mth cannot buy thing ah. Me still intend to go shopping with hubby next monday. Haahaa....

Straycats

cannot hang clothes after 7pm. But my undies and towel always hang until next morning leh. Lucky my MIL and parents not pantang at all.

But oso will try to follow. Bu ke xing qi you wi ku xing xi wu

straycats
Thanks. Wah... you got a new place? It's good to wait for one month then move in. The residual smell and dust from the reno works are not good for health ya.

baobao/berlin
I'm afraid to have weird dreams after watching. So skip all of them.

joyful
I watch ET also, ya drew barrymore v cute. After show, I quickly looked at cute bb poster to help erase the "ET" image in my mind!

Hmmm our thread seems to be moving fast these days!