(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Weoseek,
Wah, your MIL is very nice to you, you're a fortunate preggie
I bought 2 tops & 1 skirt from Modern Maternity too. The skirt is one of those under 'less $15' category. I also go for cheap & nice stuffs, heheh. Remember someone mentioned about cheap maternity wear in Chinatown. You check it out already?

My detail scan is next Wed, 20th Jul. Looking forward to see bb again.. the happiest time of the month!

Joyful
So far I also, bought about the same amount of maternity wear as you. Have to stop shopping as well, otherwise too much money spend on maternity wear

Detailed scan is done from 20 to 22wks right? Mine will be to be in Aug then, same like Weoseek.

Also have not bought any baby stuff except clothing. Waiting for my SIL for some "hands me down". Went to Suntec, Kids Mall to check out the prices on baby stuff...sigh (*^*) certain stuff quite expensive.

Have you ladies decided on whether you will get a electric / manual breast pump? What about diapers? Any particular good brand to recommend?

BTW, do you ladies get tummy ache (the feeling like going to poo in the toilet) once I awhile? I get these aches normally after my meals and when I pass wind or pass motion, I feel better. Any reason why?

Straycats, I have this tummy ache once after dinner..so painful that I wanted to visit gynae immediately..Then when reach my gynae's place(just few walks from my blk)..wowwowow..the crowd is scary..so in the end just go home and rest ...and everythings gets better in 1 hr later i think. Pretty scary..cos that time I just went to swim during weekend..worry the swimming has brought complications to bb..But luckily was alright..

straycats, joyful
Thanks, feeling fine but bored, so my husband drove me out for a stroll today, heehee...

joyful
ice-cream... I jus make sure I don't eat it on an empty stomach. I only worried if get cough after eating too much cooling stuff. So I eat sparingly ;P

Re: Shopping
I miss shopping. Think I didn't buy enuf cuz I still have problem mix and match the clothes for work. I have 4 bottoms, 1 dress, 3 tops so far. I also cheapo type one and a "try a lot but buy little" shopper...

Chinatown. I went once but couldn't find anything trendy and all seem quite large size to me. Haven't buy any baby's stuff yet, will wait till Aug/Sep.

Krissie
I met Dr Ho twice so far, each about 10-15min. He talks fast, could be his habit or bcuz his Q is long. I usu prepare a list of Qns and he will answer all my Qns. But if no Qn, then consultation may be short loh... I think he is ok, the nurses are quite friendly too.

I also can't wait for the detailed scan...

krissie, i have since switched to very low heels/ flats after i fell in my 2" heels last wk! but still backache.. i also heard abt the "what to expect" book, will get it the next time im in town. thks for tip!

joyful, i try to take HL everyday and gynae said i have to start taking 2 glasses from 20th week. she said annum isnt nec..

straycats, sometimes i feel this terrible tugging pain at the sides of tummy and it can last through the nite! very painful, and dam bloated and i have to "press down" the area to help relieve abit. it also gets worse after i eat. but my gynae say its normal and it will get worse as we get bigger!

moonbell
Thanks for sharing. When is your detailed scan. I called the clinic, apparently Dr Ho will be doing the detailed scan for us, Not those sonographer. I wonder if that's good or bad. Ya, knowing him, the scan would be quite fast, but he's a doc lah, compared to the sonographer shld be more professional, but maybe the sonographer is more experienced after scanning so many babies.... could you share with me your experience after the detailed scan, pls. Thanks much. Btw, did you do the triple test? I heard that there are false positives, so my hb is not keen on doing.

Morning ladies! It's another monday. How I wish I have a day off today...

My details scan is on Jul 30. Same as weoseek, I will be rushing from scanning centre to my gynae's place.

Can you all feel baby movement already? I think I have been feeling my bb moving for the last 2 days. Yesterday morning, I can feel hardness on my right side tummy. It seems like bb is pushing towards the right. And during the nite, I can feel bumping and tapping. It feels amazing!

Moonbell,

Please take good care of yourself, ok?

Sigh! My baby was shy and wanted to keep us in suspense for another month! We can only see the crown and the head this time, so we still dunno what the sex is!!! Sob sob!!! (T_T)

Krissie, I'm in my 18th week now. At first I wasn't sure if it's stomach wind but the feeling is different lor.

Moonbell, we are all here to support each other. Jia you!

Krissie
I think Dr H has his own equipment so it's good, no travelling. I can't comment much on him, since he is my 1st gynae. I only know, he is experienced, and was with KKH previously. His charges a bit high though.

So, think twice ok, get one whom you are comfortable with and have faith in. Remember, there are many other good gynaes to choose from.

I have a report for the triple test (Down Syn, Neural tube defects, Risk for Trisomy 18). The tests are only preliminary risk assessment. To make your consultation worthwhile, try to ask him more qns...

straycats,
I think I'll get the manual pump, bcos mostly likely to gradually stop bf after 3 months when it's time to return to work. Thinking of getting the Avent one. U leh?

As for diapers, I've some hand-me-down cloth diapers, haven't decided if I wanna use them yet. But I'll definitely use disposables during confinement. Read that Pampers Premium & Dryers are gd as newborn diapers. Wonder how much they cost.. haven't check it out yet.

Tummy ache... not really ache for me but mainly my stomach gets quite tight, giving that pulling sensation after a full meal. But usually feel better if I manage to pass out wind.

Berlin,
Congrats, you can feel bb movement already

I place my hand on my tummy & tried to feel for any movements, but most of the time there's none. Maybe my stomach skin is too thick? hahaa...There was once that I felt some knocks, but can't tell if it's bb movement or wind...

Moonbell
Thanks for the advise. I didn't know that the triple test tested for other illness. I thot it was only Down Syn. Will discuss with hb again.

Joyful
I will be getting a manual pump as well, though I heard with electric its much faster. I am still deciding between Avent or Medela pump.

For diapers, there are so many brands to choose from, headache. Will go take a look at the Pampers diapers.

BTW, my SIL is in childcare and she told me not to get a playpen, cos' it restricts the baby's mobility & interaction skills. Best to let baby move around the house

Have your uterus move up to your belly button yet? Mine seems to be hovering about 1 inch below my belly button, once it moves up it will merge with my up abs and my tummy will be round

Berlin
So lucky, you get to feel your BB movements. I same boat as Joyful, tried to talk to BB and place my hand on tummy...no signal. Also wonder if its b'cos my skin is too thick

moonbell,

take care. don't strain. more bed rest yeah.

Berlin,

you aiming for small size skirts. i envy. i should just pass you all my skirts, bet you can wear them till full term cos i am so big size. now when i go buy maternity. i buy Eur size 44 and its just fitting! envy all of you that can wear small size.

krissie,

yes, when i next meet gynae i will ask. my friend just gave birth over the weekend. she also had the episotomy. it hurts like hell. she say go toilet to do big business it feels like it is ripping apart. i got all scared and worried after visiting her. i have heard such feedbacks before from those people in my office who gave birth before. there was this lady because her baby too big, the gynae cut till near the ass hole. when i heard abt it, i nearly want to faint. very scared.

joyful,

yeah,agree with you. alot of times, things are not within our control so just have to make the best out of it. sigh. its just that my sil is not very nice. she didn't offer me any hands me down including the maternity, she gave it to her friend who is also now pregnant. she didn't even congratulate me when i got pregnant and we all live under the same small roof. i guess sometimes, it just happens that not everyone click. its ok, i got over that. what is important is baby and hubby and my parents.

Liewlian,

aiyoh, your baby very cute. so shy. don't worry. you still got time to "talk and negotiate" with the baby, all in time for the next visit. i can't wait for my next visit too.

straycats,

i also agree with your sil on the playpen. some of the kids don't like because they feel caged in. but if let baby move around the house, have to be extra careful of corners lor.

Jan
Ya, me too.. am v afraid of epi. During my 1st visit with Dr Ho, I've already discussed epi with him. He says if bb is too big, he will suggest C-section. Otherwise will be natural. He said that he will do epi depending on the situation. Most he said most asian women cant tear much, that's why need to do epi. Hee hee... this is one of the reason why I choose to see Dr Ho, coz I heard that his cut and stitching is less painful.

Good morning, sorry didn't log in for the past few days, was not feeling well during the weekend. Went for swimming on Sunday morning for about 20 minutes before we went to have breakfast at Mc. (BTW, i still can wear my bikini) But before i got in the car, i felt so giddy and had to sit down immediately, having cold sweat and was struggling to stand up to walk. Hubby was really worried and said wanted to ban me from swimming again

I am already at my week 14, today also don't feel very well. Don't know when MS will be over. I thought at second trimester we will be feeling normal??

jan,
don't be bothered by pple who don't seem to show concern to you, such as your sil. You did it right by focusing on your loved ones who deserve your time & attention.

Read that kegel exercises may help in childbirth leh. Someone mentioned about that before here.
I hope my bb won't be too big. Really hope can avoid c-section. So I've trying to psycho bb by telling her that mummy wants to give birth to her naturally & hopefully she cooperates

straycats,
have you compare the Avent & Medela pumps? any idea what's the difference in performance & price?

Btw, how do you know whether the uterus has move up to the belly button? My tummy is a D-shape now, so that does mean my uterus has shifted up?

I also prefer to let bb roam freely around the house. But it will be tiring for the adult to watch the child's every movement.

taka,
take care. Maybe you strain yourself too much while swimming? Just take it easy, ok?

Re: BM pumps
I read from other threads that it's worthwhile to invest in electric ones like Medela and Ameda if intend to breast feed for long term. Otherwise, it's more cost effective to buy the Avent manual pump if it's just for 3-mths usage.
Some commented the Medela ones are noisy and cause sore nipples, but some like it as it is convenient and fast.
I think if milk flow is a lot, the manual pump will do. The est. normal selling prices are
Medela double - $350+
Medela single - $150+
Ameda - ?? (less noisy, more gentle on nipples but less powerful)
Avent manual - $80+ (may get tired hands)
Wait till sales then buy...

Baby movements
I think I can feel baby's movement too!

Re: Diapers
I also read from other threads that Pampers are most expensive but the best. Some use it for night time only, and use cheaper ones for day time. Some advised that try at least 2 types of diapers before buying in bulk, cuz some types may not fit baby well, and don't 'spoil' baby with only one type.

Joyful
I read that our uterus will start to rise after 12wks at 1/2 inch every 3 - 4wks. And by wk 18, most of the moms uterus will be about 1 inch below the belly button and by 22 wks most uterus will rise at the belly button and pushes the belly button out. You can feel your uterus by touching the belly button area, they are much harder unlike before when we aren't preggies yet.
But I guessed diff ppl's tummy show at diff rate. Mine looks like a "B" in AM and become a "D" in PM , wierd hor?? At least now i am wearing maternity pants but tops not yet cos' not showing much.

Medela and Ameda pumps are the most expensvie for electric and manual. I heard Medela is gd and fast cos' my colleague uses it in the office. But both my SIL used Avent and they said its ok for a manual. I was advised by my SILs to spend on a better steriliser while bottles, they said any brand also can. It's the teat that is important.

Moonbell
Lucky you! I can't wait for my BB's movement.

Jan
Glad to hear that you are feeling cheerful. Just eat properly, the weight gain is normal. Anyway, nowadays most moms return to their pre-preg size pretty soon

joyful,

thanks. just curious. is it better to have baby by normal birth? my sil chose c-section. she say more efficient method. no need to wait in pain. she went in came out in less than half hour. i also scared of pain that is why i was considering c-section. can share opinion?

moonbell,

i intend to buy a second hand breast pump. hopefully someone on the forum wants to sell. new one every expensive, i cannot afford. i would love to breast feed for more months but i guess if i am still working then need to go back to work to earn diaper money. too bad my office no fridge. anyway, mostly man in my office. even if there is fridge, i wouldn't dare put breast milk in it. sigh

taka,

take care girl. i don't know what is MS but i know gynae say for some ladies, first trimester symptons can prolong thruout the pregnancy. i also very sian when i heard that. have not been feeling very up to beat. its like tired all the time, don't have enough sleep even though i slept early and of cos bloated tummy, want to puke etc etc. all still here. i hope all these go away too. sigh.

krissie,

don't know abt my gynae but i haven't decide on natural or c-section. natural will of cos be better on our pockets. sigh.

Taka
take care.. maybe swim lesser laps and dun strain yourself.

moonbell
Congrats, can feel baby's movement.

straycats
My tummy is also B in am and D in pm. So funny.

Jan
It depends on individual. Some pple prefer to experience natural birth. My colleague took C-section (with epidural) coz she didn't want episiotomy. She told me that it was a good experience. I think both births will have pain. It's just at diff places. Either at the tummy and at the vagina (if epi is done). Or unless, we're lucky like one of my gfs, no epi, natural tear and she recovered very quickly. But, if you want C-section, better to discuss with gynae soon. From my understanding, mosy gynaes prefer natural birth and will only do C-section on a need to basis.

To all Dr Ho's patients (I think is Yvonne, Jeslyn, Moonbell)
Can I check if you gals have done the triple test. I'm in a dilemma. During my last visit, Dr Ho asked me to do the triple test, and I said ok. Then, after that I found out that the chances of false positives are quite high. So, I thot of not doing the test as my hb is not v keen. But, I read from another thread that her gynae advised her to go for the triple test even though there are high false positives, so, I don't know whether I shld still go for the test as I didn't have a chance to discuss with Dr Ho abt my concerns. So, would like to check with you gals on your experience, pls. Did anyone happen to raise the same concerns to him? I'm supposed to go for my triple test this Thursday.

Episiotomy is such a scary word....
I can't make up my mind how I wanna deliver my baby yet....
All methods seem so painful!!! Ouch!! (>_<)>

Joyful, Jan and Krissie,

Thanks for the concerns. I am ok now.

I would like to have natural birth, but the word Episiotomy is really scary like liewlian said. I will discuss with my gynae next time, ask him to avoid it as far as possible and seek for his advise how to prepare myself (like doing what type of exercise) to increase the chances of having natural tear instead.

For those want to have C-section, my sis just told me that she sometimes still feels pain at the cut area after 3 years.

In conclusion, best is to have natural birth with natural tear.

Thanks moonbell!
The info is v useful.
Any idea where to get the pumps? Does Robinson or JL have it?

straycats,
I was thinking of getting the Pigeon rapid steriliser, since it has pretty gd comments in the forums.
Which brand of teats is better? I'll choose the teats first, then see which brands of bottles can fit it. Avent bottles can only fit avent teats right... since its bottles are wide-neck.

Btw, anyone know if it's nec to buy receiving blankets?

jan,
personally I prefer natural birth bcos the wound heals faster &amp; can get up from bed to walk around on 2nd day. Also heard that for natural delivery, the pain is mostly during childbirth, but after c-section, the pain may still last for a few days. Heard that some doctors' stitiching skills is so gd that the mummy don't feel painful after episiotomy. C-section also costs more, esp emergency ones.

I'm also scared of pain too, so I'm thinking of using epidural, but my hubby says why not go without it first. Dunno can tahan anot?! What if I reach a stage such that when I need, it's too late to be administered? Die lah

taka, don't force to swim too many lapse. Just stay in water and do some light exercise. I can't wear my bikini, my buttock is getting too huge to fit in. I'm waiting for my tankini to arrive, it's been sent out from the ordering centre, most probably to arrive next week.

Initially I wanted to get C-section, cos I can't imagine my "there" being tear up to asshole. But been hearing alot of side effects on C-section, even my male boss says it's better not to opt for C-section. I'm now keen on natural birth.

Joyful, what is receiving blankets?

Joyful,

I share the same sentiment and concerns with you!!! Even though I do have a relatively high threshold for pain, but I am not sure if I can endure the pains during the delivery!!!

LiewLian,
Some pple suggest to experience the labour pain for a while b4 injecting the epidural, while others ask for it once they arrive at the delivery suite. What do you think huh?

Berlin,
Receiving blankets are for swaddling/wrapping newborns.

girls,

after hearing all your views, me still very unsure. i think i have very very low threshold of pain. like liewlian, i cannot imagine cut "there" ouch ouch ouch.

its terrible. i think i have to discuss with gynae soon. whenever i think abt this i get upset so much so i can break out in cold sweat. really useless.

wah. if my gynae also prefer natural birth kind then i will have to switch already. can prepare for natural tear meh? still going to be painful.
i heard that each administration of epi is $500. that is very expensive.

Joyful, LiewLianSoh, Jan
My gf whom had just delivered told me that during delivery, you will not feel much of anything cos' the contractions will mask all the pain. At most, you will feel the needle of the epidural if we ask for it during the last min. Better not to think too much, until the time comes, otherwise we will all get very frightened by the delivery.

Joyful
I can check with my SIL on the teat thingy. I let you know soon. BTW, besides Robinsons &amp; JL, you can find the pumps at Kids Mall @ Suntec as well.

My mom told me, most important is the mittens &amp; botties when the baby goes home with us.They keep the baby warm,cos'the warmth will mimic the time baby spend in our womb. Stuff that aren't neccessary I was told not to buy, otherwise too much money spend and our baby grow very fast.

joyful
I went for RH tour b4 and was told by the nurse that RH will give all babies receiving blankets FOC, pink for girls, and blue for boys. So you no need to buy.

For MAH, they don't, think they will recycle the blankets, but will give all babies a bath tub.

Jan
Dun say that.. I am also v worried.. when I first got preg, was so worried abt labour, coz I cannot tahan pain type.. then, also very stressed abt which gynae to choose.. I think it's a natural reaction for us 1st time mummies.

Krissie
The triple test thingy is an assessment of the baby risks of chromosomal abnormalities whether high or low. If low, then parents can have some peace of mind. (I have not heard of "high false +ve" leh...)

straycat and joyful, don get ur self a manual breastpump, u will regret...better get a cheap batteries operated pump...
during the previous pregnancy, i bought a manual pump, pump till my hand damn pain, then i bought another batteries opearated pump..
i breastfeed till my girl was 8mths old..quite nice to use...

krissie (cleo) yes i did the test already. was fine...
just go for it lor....
last year my hubby took the blood test too...but this year he don need to...

Last night slept half way my leg cramped and it was so painful. Had to wake up my hubby to strengthen my leg.

Anyone of you experienced that yet? How to avoid it? Aiyo, think i am really early to experience this. Gosh!! It is really painful.

Berlin,

I still manage to squeeze in my bikini with my tummy protruding out. Don't care what other people might think why this fat woman still wear bikini to show off her fat. Hahaha. So, were you engaging vpostusa service? How much is the delivery charges?

Taka,

I had leg cramps couple of times last month, and that was due to me exposing my leg to the air-con, it was so bad that I had to alarm my hubby to help me stretch my leg... Luckily he helped me stretch properly, so I didn't feel any pain the next day... After that, I made it a point to wear long pants and sometimes socks during sleep.

Perhaps next time try to wear socks and long pants if you are prone to leg cramps. Also avoid icy or cold drinks/stuff at night... When cramps occur, make sure ya stretch properly till the tension has been relieved!!!
Try rubbing some "deep heat" to relieve the pain today!!! Get well soon!!!

Moonbell, are you feeling better now???

Straycats, perhaps ya are rite, we shouldn't scare ourselves too much or else it may develop into a phobia or an anxiety which is not good for me and my baby... Now I am trying to read up more and hopefully I can overcome this fear soon!!!

Do you guys get abit jittery whenever its time to visit the gynae and to see your baby? I always get very gan cheong whenever the date draws closer to my gynae's visit, then after the visit, I will feel very happy.

Jeslyn
Thanks for the tipper! Will make comparisons on the pump before I start buying

Moonbell
Are you feeling better?

Jan, liewlian, straycats
Hello thanks, I'm feeling fine and I got extended mc for this whole week fr my family doctor. Maybe God wants me to have a really good rest. I take naps everyday... Sometimes, I'll get very emotional and teary, but I'm fine. My husband is very supportive and I'm very comforted.

Joyful, I guess we still need the receiving blankets at home even though some hospital give FOC. My nephew (8years old) still keep his newborn wrap, cos he can't sleep without it. He used to stay with us and we like to smell his wrap (still got baby smell)... kekeke...

taka, I used vpost service. My tankini cost US$16.99 (initially was US$29.90, now sale). The charges for USA local delivery is US$5.50 + 6% tax US$1.02 = US$23.51. From USA to Singapore, it will cost around S$12 or S$13.

Harlow ladies,

Wow...so many posting in just 2 days..Was down with fever on Monday and MC yesterday...

Trying so hard to recuperate without any medicine..by using old folks method..cover myself with thick blanket and let it sweat off..But body temp kept increasing leh..In the end, had to listen to gynae's advice take 1 tablet of panadol..and amazing, fever is gone just after a short nap.

Triple test: I took it as well, cos its just an additional $80.

By the way, do we hv to pay for detail scan in hospital? How much does it cost?

I also didn't feel baby moving yet..but for uterus hardening..felt it quite often..especially after sleeping sideway and turn back to normal..definitely can feel a hard lump..but after a while it will disappear..so hubby and me think that bb go away liao..hehehe..

straycats, I'm always excited to see gynae. But when I'm about to do the scan, I will feel my heart beating faster. wondering how's my bb been doing.

moonbell,
Have a good rest! I always have mood swing, feel moody and teary... It's good to have a supportive husband.