(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Moonbell

Thanks for the info. Now I can eat & drink my OJ in peace, while waiting for my tummy to grow.

absolut
I am not petite, I am quite tall at 1.7m and weight around 55kg. Am consider big for a S'porean size
Mostly its the butt & bust that don't fit me for most maternity wear in the US. Could be becos' I am firstly buttless and secondly small bust
Which part of US you like most? Before I lived in the US for 3years, S.F was my fave place.

Berlin, liewliansoh
I sleep so much earlier than u gals. I normally sleep at 9pm latest, I can zzzz..off at 8pm also. Ha ha! But I wake up at 5.30am every morning.

absolut, dorothy perkins maternity is only at Marina Sq & Bugis seiyu. Topshop at wisma only.

Liewliansoh, I think I only applied around 10times ever since I bought my stretchmark cream 1 month ago. I was too lazy to apply, so lazy woman becomes ugly woman!! uuurrgghhh..

Straycats, you are quite tall. I am only 1.6m weighing 48kg before pregnant. Now I'm 51kg, gained 3kgs from my pregnancy liao... :p

Berlin
Hee hee! I noe. I always wanted to be taller around 1.75m, my brother is 1.8m. I guessed its my father's genes. My hubby? He same height as me, imagine during my customary wedding I have to wear flats..otherwise I will be towering over him

So far I gained 2kg, now @ 57kg...tomorrow will be my gynae visit, will see how much I had gain since.

Liewliansoh
I very kai-see one. I apply twice a day (am & pm) since I was at 6wks.

Do u noe when we can start " tai jiao" and when we can play music to our BB? When do you all plan to attend the ante-natal classes?

absolute,
I've heard a lot of ppl saying now if we eat, it will be "bu" on mum..after 5 mths it will bu on bb. I think the rationale is that now is the time bb's organ developing..but after 5 mths they are only growing more flesh so that their skin are less "wrinkled"..So thats a good time to have more bird nest.

Actually the NT scan is only 1 glance at the bb's neck by gynae and its free...so i think do also no problem eh? Just more assurance. My gynae offers an optional blood test for $80 to further confirm, its different from the normal blood test for HIV, Thalesemia.

straycats,
I actually bought a Mozart CD from HMV for pre-natal mums.But i just cannot appreciate the music..Once the music on, I felt like sleeping liao..hehe..

Usually the antenatal class starts on Wk 20 right? So cannot do anything now also. Thinking of book the course when do detail scan at hospital around then.

Gd morning mummies
Just came back from my checkup this morning. All is well for me and my BB. Gynae said my BB size is more like 17 wks than at 15wks. Weight gained only 0.5kg, gender still cannot see leh, my BB's legs kept blocking the view. Maybe nxt mth can see lor

Weoseek
Really ah? Wah I oredi sleep so early, if I play the music some more I still I will zzzz...off lagi early. BTW, what is the detail scan for?

straycats, so what is the size of your bb now? Can measure weight already? Must ask gynae to check my bb weight next round.

From my boss advice, he says that listening to music and reading is to cultivate your patience and temper. Cos after birth, you need alot of patience to take care of bb.

Berlin
Gynae said now cannot measure CRL of BB cos' they always in a curled up position, so BB's head is measured instead. Weight wise they only start measuring at 28wks if I recall correctly. Did you do a Triple T Test earlier? I did mine today. Only know the results in a week's time. When is your visit?

straycats,
I haven't done any tests yet. I was bugging my gynae when will I be tested, he says during my 16-18th week. My visit is next sat, he wants to check my cough. And maybe I will ask for the test to be done.

Mango sales start today, wonder if there is any thing to grab for maternity size.

Berlin
Are you in shopping? Seems that you are keeping track of all the sales
I just bought a 3/4 pants online from Mothers En Vogue @ S$39. Usual price was $69. Maybe this weekend I will pop by 9mois to take a look. Are you getting better with your cough? I suffered from a very bad throat 3wks ago, I ended up taking honey with lemon and its gone now.

hello ladies, I'm back today...

Earlier I've a hunch that my bb is a girl, and yes! I'm expecting a ger-ger
My hubby was simply overjoyed as he prefers a girl.

During yesterday's scan, BB was quite active moving her body, and yes, can see her spine, and she listens to me & open the legs for us to see her gender. She's mummy's gd girl.. heehee

My net weight gain so far is 1+ kg, after losing 1 kg during 1st 3 mths & gaining 2 kg during 4th mth. Aim is to gain at most 2kg per mth. So I'm keeping a close watch.

straycats,
I read that bb's ears can hear at 5mths, so I'd let let bb listen to music then.
Also heard that antenatal classes @TMC by Mrs Wong is gd, so I'll be going there. But only for 5mths mtbs & above. So I plan to go in Aug. Anyone also going in Aug?

Weoseek,
I also saw the Mozart for babies CD & was thinking of getting one, but not yet. There're quite a few out there, dunno which one is gd?

Joyful
Congrats on a ger-ger!
My BB naughty leh, cannot see gender, *sigh* have to wait until nxt mth then can see.

I delivering at Mt E leh, can attend the antental classes at TMC? If can I go cos' the timing at Mt E abit tight for my hubby to rush from work.

joyful,
Joyful,
I chose the one which is cheapest and CD label got so most effective ultrasound for bb loh. But to me, really cannot appreciate Mozart..too boring liao..lost my patience when hear it..hehehe..

Straycats,
U just need to pay extra ~$20 more than those delivering in TMC to attend the antenatal classes there.

Oh yeah, my colleage's definition of taking orange in moderation is once per week leh..how can possible? Aiyooo..books say must take 4-5servings of fruits per day...but so many fruits cannot eat..and in fact even those can eat one, need to eat in moderation..so dun wont get overdose of vitamins..Very diff..

straycats,

Before scan, trying talking to bb to open legs for you to see.

Can go to TMC antenatal class even if you deliver elsewhere, just pay slightly more. Gd thing about TMC is that they've wkend classes (Sat & Sun). I can't make it for the wkday evening class too, quite a rush.

Thanks Weoseek & Joyful

I still take orange and drink OJ once per day. My mom told me that its mandarin orange that should be avoided leh.

Ladies planning to start on durians soon?

Ya, I'm into shopping. Since now is GSS, better to buy and keep. I got 1 top from mothers-envogue for $62. Maternity-wear is quite ex. so I'm always looking out for alternative wear from non-maternity boutiques. Mphosis is my fav. I still cough but not as bad now, I'm taking cough syrup from my gynae. I only take when necessary.
How much is the antenatal class at Mt E? They only have weekday classes? Then I think my hubby also cannot make it on time.

Congrats Joyful!!! BB so good gal... I must talk to bb from now then. I already gained 3kgs, and today I ate a bowl of zhajiang mian and 10pcs of boiled dumplings. Whoa!!! Hope it can last me till dinner.

Congrats to you, joyful!!! Ya can now start shopping fotr her clothes and do up the baby room!!!

Straycats, I envy you lei! Every time I go to my gynae, he always says my foetus is smaller than normal, what do you take in your diet/supplements???

I don't like durians leh. Hubby also worried if bb is small, bcos he thinks big=strong, & stronger bb is easier to take care after birth. But nowadays if I eat too much, my tummy feels tight & hard & can be uncomfortable. So gotta strike a balance...

Thanks Berlin. Wah, your appetite is gd! The food that you ate sounds so delicious.

Weoseek,
maybe you can consider playing the CD as background music, instead of focusing on it lor. Me not a classical music fan too.

hmm, quite headache about what fruits to take hor. Apple, honeydew, rockmelon, can eat right?
Avoid mandarin orange, pineapple, banana (del monte types),
Take in moderation -> orange, water chestnut, papaya. Am I right?

straycats, are you going to organise a durian feast?

joyful, normally I take apples, strawberries, guava, kiwi. occasionally I will take orange. I am so greedy, I walked 15mins to the shop to satisfy my cravings. Their handmade dumplings are quite popular. You have to queue for 20mins if it is crowded.

joyful
Congrats! Wah, active bb gal, must be very cute when she's moving around! I hope I can see more for mine, the last time my bb sleeping...

Heard that water-melon, honeydew is cooling. Is cooling = liang?

Berlin
You can really eat! Btw, where to find the popular dumplings?

straycats
Heard durians help baby grow bigger? My husband's friend said sweet-corn also helps. I like corn and intend to eat once a week.

thanks LiewLian, and yes, can start buying clothes liao. Also thot of buying those pretty hairclips, hee. You bet, I'm gonna doll my girl up ...

Saw a cute angmoh girl (1-2 yrs old) at the clinic yesterday, so adorable... Hope my girl can be like her. kekeke. My new hobby: look at cute little girls photos

Berlin, I like dumplings too. Where is that store huh?

It's call Qunzhong (beijing dumpling) at Neil road, along tanjong pagar shophouses. I can't find the exact address, I need to dig out my cards at home. I find that it's better than Ding Tai Fung.

Someone mentioned that eating durians, baby will grow big hor...
Hmmm... I shall eat durians tonight!!! ha ha!!

LiewLian,
I think beef also can make bb grow big if you can take..Cos its rich in iron..

Anyone bought draw string pants? Giordano got 40% sales..so each was selling around $23 only..Last night bought 1, a bit regret cos only take 1 size bigger..Should hv taken much bigger, so that can wear longer time. But really ugly leh, look like fat fat like that..hehe..

None of you mentioned got feel dizzy/headache recently hor? Used to hv during weekend in 1st trimester...

These 2 weeks like had it everyday leh..Dunno whats wrong

Berlin,
Tg pagar huh... I thot of going there tomorrow to collect my VIP card from Perfect Mum. If nearby, I may drop by. Greedy me...

moonbell,
ya lor, bb moves a lot during the scan. But I can't feel anything yet.
Sweet corn will help to boost bb size, really? If so, I will take it since I don't eat durian.

Weoseek,
any idea if the draw string pants can last til full term?
About your headache, since it's occuring almost everyday, why not seek doctor's advice? maybe there's remedy...

Berlin

No lah. Cos' my mom heard that durians can make BB grow bigger so she plan to feed me durians soon. But my frens told me not to eat too much cos' end up the mom will get fat instead. Also eat too much, BB too big, delivery will be difficult for the mom. Maybe I will eat 1 durian, once a month.

Wah, you got such good appettite. I so envious!
I am like Joyful cannot eat too much otherwise get very uncomfortable for the whole day

Regarding the antenatal classe at MT E, they start at 6pm / 7pm, cost $189 for 6 sessions, they only hold weekday classes, so I might join the classes held at TCM, weekends are better for us.

LiewLianSoh
I have a TCM sinseh that I see quite often, now he said since I am in 2nd tri can start talking the "bu" for BB, so I take once a month and not more.
I normally seek his advice when it comes to food for my BB. U so funnie! Eat durians tonite

Weoseek
I don't really like draw string pants ...makes me look very fat, though I know they can last longer. I prefer hipster or elastic band (with no gathers) types can enlongate the body since our tummy is gonna grow sooner or later.

Joyful
BB girls can dress up more. I like to see them with the ribbons on their heads, so cute! You so lucky! I think I will talk to my BB till the next visit, so that can quai quai open leg for me to see, ha ha!

Ladies, I bough the Motherhood mag this morning, saw TCS actress Vivian Lai on the cover, most of her top are from Espirit...hee hee, another excuse for us to shop.
BTW, I heard that Mothercare got sale, it is still on?

joyful,

i would be joining the antenatal classes at TMC and most likely the aug class too! Maybe Ill see u there...

weoseek,

i know it sounds strange but when im at work, the headches would come everyday around the end of the day, usually 4+ luckily not earlier if not ill have to go home and lie in bed! is it due to work stress??

Berlin/joyful,
I quite big size leh..especially after pregnancy feel like giant everyday..so dun think I'll be lack of blood...

Everytime see gynae I'm always happy and feel healthy..always forgot to ask this..aiyo..hehe.

My colleage say buy bigger size draw string pants should be able to last very long..But really ugly, cos from waist to bottom..every where is big.

hello everybody,

i miss out on so many inputs. have been very busy and worst of all very tired. tummy same as straycats and joyful, cannot eat too much, i end up tummy so painful even when i turn in bed i want to cry cos pain.

weoseek,

i am like you. i got giddy. in fact i nearly black out in office a few times before i found out i was pregnant. i was worried then cos didn't know pregnant. after test then realised so was more careful. now i still get giddyness at times. i try to sit down as soon as i start to sway. will inform gynae next time i see her. i think you should too. could be like what Berlin said "low blood"?

can recommend where got nice maternity and reasonable priced ones? i need elastic band skirts. the last time you all mentioned 9mois. is that at paragon. expensive?
which ones having sale now?
i don't like to wear track pants, very hot. draw string pants make us look fat and before i was pregnant i was already more heavy than all of you with baby now!!!!
think i put on alot of weight too. worry i overweight mummy.

joyful,

congrats! i like girls. i praying hard baby is girl. they are so sweet. dress in pink, can put hairclips, wear pretty dresses and shoes and then still go those pretty shoes. so happy for you.

straycats
that explains why you dun fit US cutting. I'm opp...got big boobs and bum so cutting fits quite well. haha! Hubby and I are disney fans so like orlando coz can spend a few days at Disney and then shopping at Beltz and other discount stores.

Berlin
Thanks for the info. Will make my way there to shop then.

Liewlian
Never applied stretchmark cream coz the antenatal class at kk mentioned that it doesn't help. It really depends on the elasticity of your skin. I didn't get stretch marks during pregnancy but had a few after delivery.

Weoseek
Dunno leh.Gynae said results may make you freak out more so what for. Bro also told me what's the point of knowing unless you wanna consider aborting. Anyway it's true that the triple T test freaked me out for a few months so maybe it's better to avoid.

joyfulhands
Better book early if you want Mrs wong's class coz my friend just booked and said it's very popular and often fully booked

Re:Durians
Been eating them coz it's so heaty and I wasn't feeling too well already and started coughing and experienced sore throat after eating. Sigh.

Re:big bbs
better dun eat so much stuff to make bb big otherwise very hard to deliver leh. I dun mind my bb on the smaller but ave size so easier for bb to be delivered. Bb can gain more weight after being born. haha!

Morning Ladies, hoo hooo.. today is friday. I'm so happy...

For those who like dumplings, here's the exact location: 21 Neil Road Tel 62213060 (closed on wed) Opens: 11.30-3pm 5.30pm-9.30pm. No reservations.

Since some of the MTB likes dumplings here, how about a dinner gathering?

jan, 9mois is expensive. Why don't you try Spring maternity (15%storewide) or modern maternity ($15 off selected items)

straycats, if you are signing up TMC antenatal class, pls let me know. Perhaps I can join you.

Berlin
Can can. No probs. We can all go together and have some fun

absolut
Before I used to have big boobs (36B) then they shrunk (34A) cos' I trained alot for my triathlon races. Now my boobs are at 34B, hopefully can grow to a C cup, ha ha! I very greedy hor :0
I shopped alot at Targets & Walmart cos' their prices are so much cheaper than other departmental stores. I quite cheapo one.

Triple T test, aye, I just took them yesterday, now I praying everything will be fine for my BB. Ladies, keep you fingers crossed for me can?

Jan
I asked my gynae why my tummy felt so bloated he said it's due to hormone changes plus the placenta & the baby pushing upwards..so we have to take small meals but more often instead of large ones at one go.

first_mum & straycats,
I intend to go for Sunday classes, what about you?

absolut,
thanks for the reminder

jan,
thanks. Hope your wish comes true too.
I myself don't dress up, but I think it's fun to doll up my little girl

Size of bb...
There seems to be 2 schools of thot.. one is small bb easier to deliver, the 2nd is big bb easier to take care after birth.
Btw my hubby believes big=strong, but I subscribe to the 1st one, bcos I'm the one giving birth mah.

Fyi, Spring Maternity's 15% discount is until end of June. I think their clothes are quite nice.

ya, finally it's Friday! yeah...

joyful and berlin,

any spring maternity in orchard? let me know. i see if i can go this evening. starting to feel lousy. sigh.

straycats,

thanks for asking gynae. will take note. by the way, do you know if its ok for us to eat charcoal pills to get rid of all that wind?

jan
I am not sure about taking charcoal pills, best if you ask your gynae or GP. But try not to self medicate cos' may harm your BB. Whenever I feel uncomfortable, I take deep breaths, get up and walk for 15mins, normally I feel much better thereafter.

Don't feel lousy, feel happy then your BB also will be happy

jan,
agree with straycats that walking around does help. Maybe the blood circulates better...
At other times, sitting upright helps too. I just sit on the toilet bowl longer, and the wind will be passed out, which makes me feel better. Other people say can try drinking ginger tea, but I don't really like the taste.

The Spring maternity outlets are at Suntec City, The Arcade, Causeway Point and Century Square.

straycats, so fast you sign up liao. Me got to discuss with husband. Must drag him along one. Actually what do we do at these antenatal classes? (ok, it sounds so silly me, keke..)

Jan, spring maternity is at suntec#03-27 family link, Raffles place Arcade #03-06, Causeway point#03-36, century sq #02-27. I went to Arcade branch and found that they have higher discount rate - tops and dresses 30% and selected bottoms are going at $25, nursing bras (huge size) $15.

Weoseek, same like you, my headache attacks are getting more frequent for the past 3 weeks.
According to some books, during the 2nd trimester, some preggie mommies may get frequent headaches, so I suppose we belong to that category..

Actually since last evening I already have this throbbing headache and it didn't even go away till now, I can only use my medicated oilment to help relieve the pain but it hasn't been really effective.... Sigh!!!

We are on the same boat!!! (T_T)

Berlin
I also dunno what we will learn in the antenatal classes, but my hubby very keen to attend, so might as well sign up since both of us will be busy in July (and the classes in July is almost full @ TMC), Aug will be the best for us.

LiewLianSoh, Weoseek
I have the headaches about 3-4wks ago, now totally gone oredi. Gynae said it normal. Maybe you both should drink more fluid and rest more, it helps for me.

Have a good weekend mummies!

Hi girls

i went to the arcade branch of spring maternity and bought 3 tops ($19 each), 2 dresses ($29 each) and one pair of beige pants (25).. its really nice but usually limited sizes S or L no more M.. and usually only a few pieces left.. its cheaper than the other place i went to (Maternity House)... and the quality of clothes is comparable..

straycats and joyful,

i contacted my gynae already. it was so bad i wanted to scream out in pain last nite after dinner which was super light. my tummy was super bloated and stretch till it was very very painful. she said charcoal pills can. but there is a solution we can get from GP which is save for baby because she prescribes it to. its called "Mist Carminative solution". she also recommend drinking coke! say the gas will help us to burp! i don't know about putting in more gas into my tummy but you bet i will try to get the med from GP if not i will get it from her clinic!

berlin,

thanks for the address of spring maternity. i will pop over after work on monday. think the closest one to me will be the arcade. see how.