(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Weoseek,
When your tummy grows bigger will seems kinda weird if u wear bikini rite??
Unless u don mind tat lah..
Somemore maternity swim wear gives support to your tummy too..

Sabre,
No no..I'm too fat to put on bikini even prior to pregnancy hehehe..But i saw the rest of gals chatting about it..so keh poh a bit..hehe

straycats
welcome back! Yup, I've stopped eating papaya after knowing it's "liang".

What about barley water? Is it liang too? My mum doesn't know about these, she even gave me "liang teh" a few weeks ago, which I drank before knowing that preggies shouldn't eat too 'liang" for baby's health sake.

hello ladies,

so many inputs just over the weekend. read all though.

moonbell, weoseek, liewlian, joyful, berlin:

i went to my first gynae visit. very happy. can see baby's heart beating. had to do a vaginal scan because tummy scan cannot see anything at all. was uncomfortable and a little painful but worth it. hubby was very happy too. very touched when i see baby. because now high risk period and also becos of my age. doctor wants to see me in another 2 weeks time. didn't really enjoy my weekend after the gynae trip. was very tired and tummy one side had a dull pain. not much appetite too. so did not do any shopping.

taka,

my hubby feels that dr wong is ok so most likely we will stick to her for now. 1st consult was $88 because its weekend and her scan is $38. they have a package but only from 12 weeks. $500+ but don't include blood tests, medicine and supplements.

joyful,

cannot swim now. maybe after 12 weeks when things are more stable? my mil very strict so better not risk anything. she absolutely said no swimming. sigh. : (

first-mum,

don't depress. baby is a joyful gift. think of the nice maternity wear as a priviledge lor. after baby come out, we will be very busy so will slowly lose weight. hopefully old clothes can still fit lor. don't worry too much.

weoseek,

i still wearing my old clothes even though tummy bloated. i don't hook and zip up all the way. my blouse will usually cover so nobody except myself knows. trying to cut cost because baby will need alot of money and we are very tight financially. : )

Weoseek, though it's rubber band waist, our hips and thigh will gradually expand, so tight fit will not allow much room for this growth. And we may feel uncomfortable due to the tightness. For me, I prefer stretchable jeans.

As for swimwear, those bikinis might not fit below the tummy area. I worry it might just slip off when we got out of water. And another thing is, I'm quite hairy around my tummy area, and it got more obvious as my tummy grows bigger. I'm looking for tankini for coverage... Anyone knows if we can use hair removal cream over tummy area?

jan, so nice.. U can see ur bb in another 2 weeks time. By then, u should be able to see the hands and legs bz kicking liao.
I remembered the 1st time I heard bb's heart beat..tears like rolling in my eyes leh..so touch.. But recent few visits..not so dramatic liao..Think the next time I'm gonna feel so touch again, should be during delivery and heard bb first cry..hehe..

Berlin,
is the stretchable jeans u've got will be bao1 bao1 at the thigh area? Most stretchable jeans's design are like that..
And hair removal cream on tummy...i think too dangerous eh? So close to bb..I realised through my last visit, doctor's scanner moving around my tummy with a bit of force able to make the bb turn(dunno if i imagine or wat)..So i think bb will be pretty sensitive to outside...

Weoseek, sorry I can't catch what you mean.. maybe you can give it a try at the shop.
Hmmm.. then I cannot have a smooth tummy liao..

belin,

agree with weoseek, cannot use cream on tummy. gynae told me also cannot put medicated oil on tummy. i was feeling too good at tummy so i ask and she said absolutely no! lucky i didn't put. sigh. so i guess the cream you are thinking abt it also out.

weoseek,

can see legs and hands! really! but i will only be 8 weeks in 2 weeks time. i also like you, very touch but no tears. : ) the kind of feeling very different. see the heart beat flickering on the screen. yes, think next most emotional for you will be the delivery!
i think hubby very touch. maybe he got tears. i go home tease him tonight. heehee.

Moonbell
Barley water can but try to drink maybe once or twice a week. Have you started bird nest? I started taking them yesterday, only can take once a month and not more. When are you going for your next scan?

Weoseek
At least you can see something, mine never let me see anything leh..always sleeping..hopefully I can see the gender this weekend.

Berlin
U still hunting for your swimwear? Have you found something you like? I bought a swimwear while in US, its a 2 piece but the top looks more like a tank top, cost me around S$30.

Joyful
I same as you lor. I can still wear my current 2 remaining miserable pants (with extensions at the waist). Nobody knows that I am a preggie cos' not visible at all. I am dying to lay my hands on my maternity clothes!!!!!

Ladies, you must all do your Kegel exercise..my SIL is around 8mths pregnant and nowadays whenever she coughs her bladder leaks! Yikes! My other SIL, cannot control her bladder at all after giving birth. So remember Kegel exercise everyday

Joyful
My MIL even show me the "qi koo" plant ...sigh

Apparently she said it works on my SIL; whom is 8mths pregnant when my MIL was preidicting the gender of her BB. I see if I can take a pic and show you all

straycats,
Bird nest once a mth and not more? So strict? Got limit how many cups or not? I jia lat liao..hubby just cooked me the bird nest on saturday..and dunno what happen to him, put 3 pieces..so ended with 4 cups..and I drank 3 cups within 2 days..dunno too liang or not..

Btw, what is Kegel excercise?

Jan,
When i see bb kicking, it was around 9-10 weeks..Try take Anmum..I felt that bb really grows fast with Anmum..last week I'm supposed to be 13wk 1 day..then doctor say I'm around 13/14 week..in fact the scan pic showed I'm 14 week 2 days..

Ladies, does your scan pics show GA week? Is it accurate? Or those we calculate ourselves more accurate?

Straycats, me still hunting... That's really a good buy you got from US. Post a pic if you can.
Pls teach us the kegel exercise. I leaked yesterday while throwing up. Luckily I was at home.

Where is Tom & Stephanie? I know it was mentioned in the earlier thread, but I seems to miss it. Can't find the thread now.

I had a dream last fri nite. My bb opens the legs wide wide and show me the gender. It's a girl.

Got some info for you all if you are interested in Kegel exercises:
1) Kegel's are a specific type of exercise that target the muscles of the pelvic floor. These muscles support the rectum, vagina, and the urethra in the pelvis. Strengthening these muscles can help prevent incontinence after vaginal delivery, decrease the incidence of rectal and uretheral prolapse that occur with aging, and can even make vaginal childbirth easier.

2) Finding your pelvic floor muscles can be done easily with some practise. To begin, go to the bathroom and sit on the toilet. After you begin urinating, stop the flow of urine. Do this several times. The muscles that you are "squeezing" to stop your urinary stream are your pelvic floor muscles. (Note: Only do this initially to LOCATE the correct muscles to exercise. Stopping your flow of urine should not be done to exercises the muscles themselves.)

3) Now that you have located the pelvic floor muscles, it is time to start exercising. The good thing about these exercises is that they can be done anytime, anywhere! No one will know.

Start by tightening your pelvic floor muscles and holding it for six seconds. Then relax for six seconds.

Repeat 25 times tow to three times a day.

Weoseek

I was advised by both my TCM sinseh & my MIL that preggies can take bird nest only once a month. Why don't you try drinking them once a day instead of taking 3 cups at one time. Cos' if we take too much the goodness of it will end up going to the mom instead of the BB.

weoseek,

i don't want my baby to be born any earlier. i want to give birth in feb so i worry if i drink too much the baby will be too big then will come out early? its the dog year issue again. i think i am being so silly. i worry early. any day in feb is ok. even 1st feb. how?

berlin,

you are so sweeet.... i wish i can have the dream too. usually when then we can see the gender? is it at 12 weeks? i already anxious on naming my baby although it is still so early for me!

straycats
My next scan is my 16wk on the 29 Jun next wed. Heard can see more of baby's details.

Berlin
Tom n S outlets: West Mall, Tiong Bahru, CCK, Civic Plaza

Jan, it depends, some can see at 3mths plus, if bb open legs wide to show. I keep telling my husband to ask bb open legs on my gynae visit this sat. He thinks I'm silly and ask me to teach him what to say to bb.

straycats, thanks for the info. I tried it when I'm on public transport. Hopefully I got it right.

Moonbell, thanks! I'll be heading to Tiong Bahru, nearer to my work place. Heard they have some good buys on maternity bras from Nov MTB thread.

jan,
I watch a documentary on Discovery channel that says it's bb that decides when he/she wants to come to this world, strange enough hor... BB's brain will send out a signal which will trigger labour. Quite scientific...
It also mentioned that at 12wks, all babies will have something between their legs, regardless of gender. It takes a few more wks later for the genitals to shape.
Some mtb can see gender as early as 15-16 wks, esp for boys.

straycats,
Taking bird nest once a mth sounds just nice for me. Gotta spend alot if taken too frequently. Having a child in Sg is expensive, even before bb is born!

joyful, thanks for the chart.
My friend knew the gender on her 15weeks, the 'birdie' is so obvious to show.

Liewlian, 3dots replied me. They have maternity bikini, but I'm looking for tankini. They can tailor made to suit during and after prenancy so it won't go waste after birth. But I think I will look around first.

Do any of you still feel bloated? It causes the stomach to be pushed upwards near the bra line????
This feeling goes away in especially in the mornings.

Thanks, Berlin!

I guess I will just stick to my bikini for now.
Of cos, I will try not to swim too hard, in case my bottom comes off!!! Ha ha!!

Straycats,
I also have such feelings, esp when I am too hungry or too full, all day long, but I kinda got used to it, if it is really uncomfortable, I will rub some oilment on my chest!!!

straycats
same bloated feeling here too, I tot it will ease after 1st tri, but still feel bloated especially in the evenings. Our digestion is slower hence the stomach gets bigger after meals.

Berlin,
Hope I can have a peek at bb's gender during tomorrow's gynae visit... so excited
Gd to know early rite, then can start buying clothes with the appropriate colour. Hmm, hope bb co-operates... *pat pat tummy*

Btw I remember the nurse telling hubby that we can claim $400 for antenatal package & $1050 for hospital delivery. And the nurse also says can claim more if govt hospital, but mine is at a pte hospital.

joyful,
how the claim is usually done? Submit bill to medisave? Any form to fill up? The antenatal package can only claim after delivery or as long as we've paid full?

moonbell

Exact feeling like yours. After meals, my stomach feels very uncomfortable and it looks bigger than my tummy. Makes me looked like I got 2 layers

Weoseek,
Bring all your bills (including antenatal package) to the hospital at the time when you're admitted for delivery, and the hospital will help to process them. Hence, can only claim the cost of antenatal package after delivery.

straycats, liewlian, moonbell,

i am like you all. at first i also thot its me only. then previously i think either joyful or weoseek said its wind. its very bad. so painful until when i turn in my sleep it also hurts. yes, i get hungry then i eat then tummy big big and painful, you i touch tummy, its very hard. i hope it goes away. sometimes in the morning also like this. my skirt cannot wear. its so silly, now i have to go and buy maternity skirts liao because usual skirt cannot wear. gynae says its not baby but wind too.

joyful,

good for you. happy when i see you put me down as feb06! hahaha. cheap thrill i guess. but thanks for the effort. all the best for tomorow's gynae visit. hope that baby good, show you what colour clothes to buy!

berlin, joyful,

thanks for info on when can see gender and also the documentary. joyful, that is very scietific. tonite go home i will tell hubby.

I went to my gynae just now, my cough didn't stop. And so did my antenatal check up as well. Now at 15 weeks, bb size 87mm. Can't see gender yet leh.. bb like sleeping on 1 side. Can see the spine bone very clearly.

Joyful, you are right. the nurse told me to keep all antenatal receipts until delivery and claim is only up to $400.

Berlin,

Medisave Maternity Package includes your checkup & doctor delivery charges that you sign up with your gynae. Thus, if you take up the package, you can claim more compare to Medisave delivery procedure claims where you only able to claim the delivery (Normal or C-Section) from your medisave account. I hope I am right.

I didn't know we can refund for our delivery and antenatal receipts... My gynae didn't tell me anything, sob sob!
I may have thrown away some of the receipts liao!
Sob sob!!!
At least $200 gone!!!!

Jan, straycats, liewlian
Try not to eat too full each meal, and avoid gas-producing foods like onions and cabbage. But nowadays I have better appetite and difficult to control myself, haiz....

jan,
my bloatedness is also due to wind in the stomach. Usually feel better after burping or farting. Constipation will make it worse. Hope you won't get it, like me.

Feb05 bb...
Hopefully your wish of getting comes true
Btw I'm also a Feb baby, hee.
Will update here after my checkup tomorrow. Coincidentally, tomorrow is also my ROM anniversary

Berlin,
$400 is so little hor... Medisave is also my money mah.. should allow me to use more to pay for maternity charges... that's what I think...

Today just wore the track pant i bought during weekend..Felt quite comfortable..

But the bad news is..already got 2 colleage(male somemore) came to me..to congrat me liao..dunno is whether tummy really so obvious..or the track pant make them felt so...This make me more tough to switch to maternity clothing leh..quite embarassing loh..heheh.

joyful,

happy ROM anniversary! hope your wish come true too.
i same as you, got alot of wind but i cannot burp or fart and a little constipate too. end up my tummy super big and super hard. use finger to press also pain.

weoseek,
how many weeks are you now? i think i have to start wearing the maternity skirts! i have no choice. my tummy is so bloated i tried on 3 of my skirts today cannot wear at all. ended up late for work. they are those button kind. cannot wear at all and large size too. now i very sad and worried. i got no skirts and it seems so early for me to wear maternity when i am only 7 weeks! you all so much more advance in pregnancy also haven't started wearing. how? got advice?

moonbell,

i need advice too. how my clothes? those zip ones i can still don't zip all the way up but most of my stuff are button skirts. i tried to use safety pin but cannot! my appetite swing from day to day. someday i feel so lousy i cannot down much food because tummy bloated and i want to puke. someday i am better and i eat more but end up still with painful tummy. its terrible.i am really upset. so dead tired by end of day i just cannot bring myself to go buy clothes too.

berlin,
so happy for you. can see baby. hope your cough gets better.

berlin,
wow..your scan can see spine? Good machine your gynae has....Can it still do somersault like your previous visit? Becos during my most recent scan, bb can only rotate..

jan, I should be 14 week this week..Wk 7 is a bit early for maternity skirt hor? But maybe the clothing you've got prior to pregnancy is all tight fitting ones, thats why hv problem fitting in.

Is orange also forbidden? A relative just called to say that she ate some orange during her 2nd pregnancy..and end up bb in and out of hospital becos of jaundice. Her 1st pregnancy she didnt touch orange at all..so was ok. Her advice is to take Vit C supplements..But becos of constipation..i actually eat an orange almost everyday leh.

Thanks Jan, I hope I get well by this week. I know how upset it is when you can't find something to fit in. And end up being late. I was also like that and had to shop for something that don't look maternity and yet can fit for maternity. Buy rubber waist skirts, I got mine during Ness sales, it can be stretch cmfortably. I saw 3 quarter pants from BYSI with rubber waist, I think it is ideal for maternity and also can wear after birth (don't go waste). Don't know how much, but will go and check.

Weoseek, ya, can see bb's spine leh. I don't know how good is the machine. BB is quiet and sort of sleeping, wasn't so active, probably the father wasn't there yesterday to see...
Some ppl say eating too much yellow based fruits can result in jaundice. Orange, carrot, papaya, mango are consider yellow based. (How about tomatoes?) I read from Today's newspaper that Guava has exceptionally high level in vit C. The skin alone is 5 times richer in Vit C than orange. And it is also rich in Vit A. It means can help safeguard against cancer and build up immune system. Why don't you eat the fruits alternately. But avoid eating Guava seeds, it's indigestible.

Jan

Maybe you can try widening the waist area for your current skirt. That's what I did to mine and I am still wearing them. Or like what Berlin advise,buy rubber waist skirt they can fit better and last longer.

weoseek
Orange is a forbidden fruit ah? Then what about OJ? I drink OJ almost everyday....how? Is it safe?

Joyful
Happy ROM ann
How did your visit go? Did you get to see your BB's gender? I will be seeing my gynae tomorrow, hopefully my BB will be good and open the legs for my gynae to see...but most important I can see the heartbeat

moonbell
my bloatedness is really bad by evening time. In the morning, everything is back to normal. My tummy also not very big, dunno I normal anot. The other day, my MIL was complaining that my tummy so small

Many of my friends who are mummies now told me to avoid citrus fruits cos they may cause yr babies to have coughs and develop phlegm easily. Try not to take huge amounts, but once a week is fine!

Also, try not to take too much food containing yellow ginger(Huang Jiang) and blue ginger, eg Malay and Indian food cos our bodies are not really accustomed to such foods and hence the toxic may be retained by the body and baby may develop jaundice....

Just wish to give some justice to citrus fruits...hope you all don't mind... Jaundice is not caused by the colorants in fruits. Jaundice is detected by the levels of bilirubin in baby's blood, not by the amount of beta-carotene.

It's true that high levels of beta-carotene (as in carrots, vege, n tomatoes) will cause skin yellowish, but this is not jaundice, and the color will fade after the diet is adjusted.

More info on jaundice in this website
http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Jaundice_in_babies?Open

straycats,

my skirts cannot widen waist kind. no more space to widen. i guess i have to go search for rubber waist skirts liao. if not i will just go get some maternity skirts. very tired of trying to solve this problem.

gals,

is it true cannot eat orange too often? i have been eating one everyday because i thought i read somewhere in the thread that orange got folic acid so good to eat? can someone help to confirm whether can or not?

Oh my! Feeling really tired today... dozing off to sleep. What time do you usually go to bed after you got pregnant? During my early weeks, I slept at 10, now after 10 or around 11pm. Wake up at 7.15am.

Jan, there are a few sayings about oranges. So I think it's better to take moderately.

straycats, berlin and jan
For me, I have an orange on alternate days. Eat in moderation should be fine ba... But think those who have weak stomach or more prone to cough should eat less.
Anything over eat is no good, should also eat other fruits to be more balanced loh. I avoid those from the fridge, afraid it's too liang.

Jan
If skirt/pant is tight, it is uncomfortable for the stomach too.

straycats
I read from other threads in the past, it's normal if tummy is small in the first few months, but will be bigger fr 5th month...

Berlin
Dorothy Perkins in marina sq has maternity? Do you which other branches have the maternity wear section as well? How abt Topshop? Only available in Wisma? Popped in to Dorothy perkins in PS but didn't see any maternity section.

After reading all abt your NT scans, I asked my gynae today abt the NT scan coz I'm 14 weeks now. And gynae told me I opted out of triple T test so why wanna do NT scan? Told her triple T so inaccurate ... the only purpose it served was to make me freak out big time during 1st preg and she said NT scan is even more inaccurate. If want to do, must do as a set but even then also not accurate. Most accurate is to do the amnio test but it is invasive so decided not to do anything in the end.

Weoseek
So strict, bird's nest only once a week? For 1st pregnancy sometimes ate abt once or twice a week. Didn't know it's liang. Mom just told me can start taking during 2nd trimester when MIL made it during my 1st trimester. This time round, MIL hasn't offered any bird nest yet leh. :p

Straycats
are you on the petite side? I like shopping in the US coz can fit into their smaller sizes and feel very slim. haha!

Berlin,

Same here, I sleep around 10pm or so, somehow my baby machiam sends a signal to me to go lie on bed and prepare for sleep around the same timing each day and recently I tend to wake up a couple of times too... unlike 1st trimester, where I could sleep soundly thruout the nite...

Are you gals all very consistent in applying stretch mark cream daily? I tend to forget or become lazy after a while!!! :p