(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

taka,
I stay at hougang, near hougang festival market.
Thought if can get someone near to go swimming together.

It's good that you seek 2nd opinion, some results are contradicting.

Sabre, don't take too often if you are asthmatic yourself. Don't know if it's true if it will affect the baby, so take moderately.
Morning sickness is a horrible phase to get thru, try not to think so much. The more I think of it, the more sick I am.

Berlin,

I haven't bought any swimwear leh. Haven't tried if i can still squeeze in my two pierce bikini or not. But sure very awful, cos can see my tummy liao.

btw, do you gals still wear jeans?

I usually wear jeans to work...This week already got 2 person say I shouldn't wear jeans anymore leh..Its a bit tighter than previously but still tolerable leh.

I'm only takin essence of chicken. My frens mums all don have asthma but because took bird nest den when baby came out got. Think they say bird nest very liang1. Anyway don wanna risk it so nv take at all.

Me feel like swimming also but hubby workin den no one acc. Also haven buy swim wear yet. Got a bit tummy already, cant b wear bikini rite? Will look so ugly..

Weoseek,
I still wear jeans some times but normally i try to wear more loose clothings. You can wear those drawstring pants as our tummy still not big so no need buy the maternity pants yet..

Weoseek
I stored away my jeans already! know it sounds a bit early to do so... but I feel more relax in loose bottoms now. Heard tight clothings may cause ugly varicose veins in the legs...so don't wear too tight ok.

Re: Bird's nest
Many people say it's good for baby's skin and rich in proteins. Think take moderately loh, anything too much also no good. I might just take twice per month.

good morning everyone!

feel better at the moment. just had my big breakfast. normally i am not a breafast person ie i can don't eat. now i don't think i can start work if i don't tummy growling since before i wake up. terrible.

moonbell,

tell u, before i realise i was pregnant, i tot i put on weight. so i squeeezzzeee into my jeans. terrible. but i think this weekend onwards i cannot wear jeans already. if this evening up to it, i will try to g buy some pants with elastic waistband. very uncomfortable if tight. sabre's suggestion of drawstring pants also good i guess.

taka, weoweek and joyful,

first trimester can swim? i saw people in bikini but pregnant in pool before. ok lah. quite cool actually. hubby with her all the way. of cos will invite stares but all for motherhood. who dares to say anything. quite brave! plus swimsuit not cheap leh. i trying to cut cost.

taka,

abt dr chan, there were some negative comments abt her.but then i guess every doctor also will have good or bad comments just that for your case, i think it was very traumatic. don't think about it anymore, think of baby. : )
anyway i decided to try dr joyceln wong cos her charges are more my budget. 1st consult is $68. very axious to see her actually. i want to know the situation.

joyful,

thanks for the feedback. my friend uses Dr Chan, she also say she is nice. i guess its up to indiv. let's see what happens this sat.wish me luck.

moonbell and sabre,
If cannot wear the jeans..pants already so tight..sit down..zip will open automatically leh..then i really had to buy new bottoms already..aiyo hehehe..Still dun dare to go in maternity shop..But will try top shop this evening..hopefully will feel healthy to go out loh.

jan..I always wanted to go swim..but hubby not allow so far..today during our visit to gynae ..will ask him. But books always say its the best exercise for pregnant ladies..Hubby says thats ang moh book..so not accurate..

Oh yeah, not sure if your first visit is tummy or vagina scan? If your gynae uses tummy scan...easier to see your little "dot" with full bladder..

New to the motherhood my EDD date is on 13 Dec now planing to give birth on MA. Staying in SK as well hope to share information with you gals.

Btw how is the neck measurement done i haven't had any leh only blood test.

Violetgem

Are you the 1 I know from SG brides??

Duno y my post never appear. Anyway I new to this thread and my EDD is at 13 Dec and thking of giving birth at MA. I staying in Sengkang too.

Check with you gals what is neck measurement my gynae only do blood test but never do any neck measurement leh.

Hope can share more information with you gals.

Violetgem

Are you the 1 I knew in SG brides?

sunnyling,

welcome to the thread! always good to have more to share information and to support one another.

weoweek,

your hubby just like mine! he say ang moh different from us. ang moh swim, eat raw veggie salad and do alot of pelvic exercise eg bending when pregnant but chinese believes that ALL these cannot do! i so confuse.

i don't know abt the scan. didn't ask but i will take your advice, before i go, drink a cup of water. nowadays i go quite often so i worry if i drink too much, keep going. plus TMC is like half hour drive from my place. i am like you. i also hope this evening i feel comfortable enough to get some new pants. my jeans really cannot wear alredy. pants cannot hook. : (

Hi Taka, I also looking for swimwear. Yesterday the new variety " shopping queen" showing a couple selling bikini at home and website. can tailor made one. don't know if they tailor made maternity swimwear? Anyone knows the website, pls post to me. Gracias!

Sabre, if you staying near NE side, we can get accompanied and go swimming.

Jan, we don't really have to swim laps. We can do pool exercise and relax...

Hi Sunnyling, welcome to Dec mums-to-be!!!
Your EDD is 1 day earlier than me and I maybe choosing MA as well. Like jan, you are staying at SK, maybe we can have gathering or swimming companion when time comes.

Weoseek, it's not advisable to wear jeans at this stage. I had bleeding experience when I wear my hipster jeans during my 8th week. Immediately, I dumped my jeans aside. If you really want, get maternity jeans.

Weoweek
C'mon just go, no need to feel so paisay! Usu maternity shops have few customers, and sales girl should be quite understanding one. The most, you tell them you just looking around on behalf of your auntie loh. It's quite an "eye-opener" for me, when I first step into a maternity shop. You can start look around and compare price and style first, that is if you are not too tired to shop.

Btw, ladies
Tom & Stephanie sells maternity pants too, the v-front and adjustable strap type. (Not from Baby's section, found at the female clothes section, strange!) Not much colors and variety and quite casual type, so not good for office. But cheap with 20% off now. I got a 3/4 slack for only $19! Very soft material and comfortable...intend to wear it for excercise sessions. Oh yes, there's also draw string pants, but too large for me.

Good morning, ladies!!!

I am wearing my new maternity jeans to work today, yeah!!! It is so comfy!!! I got it from 9 mois, cos it was on sale, but sorry, can't remember the price liao, cos I made hubby pay :p

Re - Swimming
1st Trimster is too dangerous to swim, try to rest more, and only after yr gynae has confirmed that yr pregnancy is stable after 2nd trimester, then ya can start swimming, alternatively you may take slow walk as well. Swimming is good esp breast stroke cos it helps you to exercise the lower pelvic and helps yr delivery to be easier.

Re - Bird Nest
My MIL said that 1st trimester it would be too cooling to take it so she didn't make any for me, it is true that some mummies took liao and babies became asthmatic, so better dun take too much!!!

Btw, I called my gynae and asked abt the NT scan, he said that since I am only 29, not belonging to the high risk age group, so no need to take such tests, unless my/hubby's family medical history reflects some hereditary deficiancy or handicapped etc, then better take the test.

Now can go swimming ah?? I wearing my maternity jean to work also cos all my jean quite tight especially sit down i must unbutton. Thk i must do some serious shopping liao. Anybody got good intro for those cloth dun look like maternity but is very comfortable for preganant wear?

Berlin can if got organize let me know but hor Sengkang no swimming pool right and I quite lazy to travel very far especially now hor i really lazy leh just feel like sleep and eat.

I thking of start eating bird nest next week since vomitting stop liao for this past 2 weeks. Is once weekly too much?

Weoseek / Joyfulhands
Tried the gender predictor in both websites and the chinese one said it's a girl and motherhood predicted a boy. hahaha! oh whatever ... as long as healthy.

berlin,

haha.yeah. i was thinking of doing laps! i don't know if i can even enter pool. my mother in law may just decree NO. very sian.

liewlian,

where is 9 mois? save us some trouble for searching. can let us know which are the botique shops we can visit? i know places like taka and istan and maybe metro etc will sell but where is the highest concentration of maternity shops?

i suddenly tot, may we can wear jumper? those are denim and thus button at tummy? just that when go toilet, i think will be super inconvinient.

Liewlian, thanks but no kiss... I don't want to get thorns on my lips.. ooouch.. kekeke...
Will call them to ask if they make maternity swimwear.

sunnyling, Jan, think we better heed lianliew's advice. wait till we are more stable than go Meanwhile, we can check with gynae when is the suitable period to go swimming.
I think the nearest swimming pool is hougang, if that's not consider far for you.

Jan, you are really a good Daughter in-law. If my MIL is so strict, I don't know how I will react. 9mois, swell and blisse are at paragon but I find the price quite high. I hunt my maternity wear at modern maternity (amara hotel), topshop maternity(wisma), spring maternity(suntec), dorothy perkins maternity(bugis, marina sq). Novena square has quite a number of maternity shops. 1 of my favourite hunt is M)phosis. I like their doll dresses and tops.

Just got back from gynae visit..The neck measurement is very simple..I think gynae took less than a second to take measurement and then key in the measurement together with my age on his pc to get the risk factor..But he say it really doesnt mean bb is definitely ok.

Then hor..while scanning i asked how come didnt see hand/leg..cos previous visit can see bb's hand and leg bz kicking. This time bb like grown very big..fill up whole tummy..So gynae tried to show me by moving around the "scanner" on my tummy loh..and guess what?? He say might be a boy leh..
hehehehe..Lucky since wk12 when i already hv a feeling that it might a boy..else sure super dissapointed one..

I'm diff from jan..my mum in law mentioned to me once, she prefered gal ..hubby also prefer gal leh..aiyoo..

I just bought the neurogain at guardian after gynae gave me the brochure..although he said not a definite need to eat..

Oh yeah, has asked gynae..he say swimming is ok..take flight also ok..cos i plan to go back hubby hometown in August.

berlin,

i live with my parents in law so i guess no choice have to give in because if not when my hubby is away, they will make things difficult for me. i also actually prefer male because i find that they are more steady and sympathetic as gynae/doctors but also have to take in mind i pai sei too, esp when we have to reveal pte parts so.....

btw, i not staying at SK. is it mixed up? plus most likely my mil will faint if she sees me in my bikini. they are very conservative people. last time they were quite shock to see me in shocks when i first shifted in. they expected slacks. i don't intend to spend money. i on really tight budget. baby arrival is a joy for both me and hubby but our finances currently quite difficult that's why trying to save.
will take note of those shops u mentioned. i quite mountain tortise. i don't even know that topshop and dorothy perkins got maternity! gosh. looks like i have alot to learn from all of you.

weoseek,

so happy to hear that you can see baby! looking forward to my turn but it will be a few more weeks? when then can see baby's hand and legs etc?

boy! i envy you. i really opposite from you. my hubby and mil wants boy. i want gal. hahaha.
no matter still ours so still overjoy. children are so precious these days, having one is already a gift. : )

i seeing doctor tomorow. just want to ask. hubby will go in with us right? more convi to wear skirt or wear pants?

wanted to ask all of you. have you all change your footwear to low heels already? any comfy brand to recommend. i guess i have to stop wearing my 3inches cos back ver pain.

Aiyoyo, Jan, better stop wearing those high heels, very bad for your back!!
When I was in my 1st trimster, I ran quite a bit wearing my 1.5 inch heels and I had sudden bleeding which the doc gave me a jab and 1 week stay-in-bed MC, so better dun play-play, ok?

Flat slip-ins are most comfy and make sure non-slip as well. I bought a pair of shoes from URS recently at 20% discount, Charles and Keith also having 20% sales this week, if you can afford $$$ shoes, go look for better ones!! I bought a nice leather sandals from Hue too! Ya will realise that later stage of yr preg yr legs may be bigger so better get comfy shoes so that ya won't hurt your back...

<font color="aa00aa">sunnyling and violetgem</font>
hey gals, are u the sunnyling and violetgem, i know ?!!!
CONGRATS to you both !!!!!!

LiewLian / Jan

Just wanted to let you know that your feet may expand a little (think due to water retention) when you're pregnant so try to buy looser fitting shoes ok? Some pple get it quite bad... saw my friend's swollen feet. Very scary. Luckily mine wasn't so bad. Think it grew abt 0.5 size.

Liewlian,

oh dear. so glad you are alright. yes, i know. looks like i have to pack up all my heels. sigh.

will take your advice to go buy a pair of flats. problem is i am already not feeling good. start to feel lousy now. usually after lunch hour i feel lousy. didn't have much appetite for lunch too. i think i getting naeusous. feeling very down. don't feel like going shopping at all. i just want to go home and rest.

Jan, ya I think I mixed up you with taka. I also staying with in-laws. No choice, my hubby only son. If it's virginal scan, better to wear skirt. I've been wearing flats since I confirmed pregnant. For casual, I go VNC and Charles &amp; Keith for scandals.

Weoseek, can see gender already hah? Hope can see mine next week.

Liewlian,
I called 3dots, they current not doing maternity swimwear but he will check again with the designer and reply me in a couple of days. Will let you know ya.

sunnyling,
thks. yep waiting for bb's arrival. anytime within these few days lor.

u must enjoy life now before bb arrives. play more mj !!! hee hee ....

Today not working, was not feeling well, didn't see doc, cause they can't do much with MS. Then have to apply leave liao.

Jan,

Heard Joycelyn is good, but i prefer male gynea. I thought her fees are quite ex, didn't know is that affordable. Tomorrow i am going for my second check up with Dr. Yeo TMC. Just want to do a comparison before i sign up. So excited to see bb again!

Berlin,

Keep me posted if you are organising any swimming session. I may want to borrow the swimwear from my friend. I find it very wasteful to buy new one. Same as maternity wear, a lot are passed down from my sisters. But i have bought some pants already. BTW, i didn't know M)phosis got maternity wear, hm must go and have a look next time. Seem like i have lost interest in shopping nowadays, i spend my weekend sleeps and sleeps zzzzzz

Hi Taka,

Rest well and don't think of your MS too much.
M)phosis is not selling maternity wear, but the doll dress and tops can be worn as maternity wear for up to 6-7 months.

Finally tomorrow is sat!!! Can have more sleep!!!

wow... so many posts within the last 24 hrs!

weoseek,
jeans... can't button at 10-12 wks, so stop wearing them &amp; put into 'cold storage' already...

Actually I also feel a little weird when I step into the maternity shop the 1st time. The salesgirl looked at my tummy &amp; then looked at me. Bcos tummy was not obvious at 3+ mths. But luckily I'm the only customer at the that time &amp; the salesgirl's attention is dedicated to serving me.
The 2nd time, I walked into Spring maternity &amp; my tummy is still the flatest among the preggies. But I grown to be thick-skinned already, not paiseh anymore...

jan,
Swimming is supposedly gd. My cousin who swims regularly, both b4 &amp; during preggie had a smooth &amp; short labour. So I'm motivated, but still looking around for swim wear ...
Heels... if u can, change to flats soon, less dangerous in case of falling &amp; more comfy for legs, esp if u need to walk alot.
Scan... if vaginal scan, more convenient to wear skirt, just lift up without taking off, else if tummy scan, wear pants/skirt that can just unzip/unbutton.

absolut,
Got the same, contradicting results about the boy/girl prediction... anyway just for fun...

Been feeling so sick all day long.. In e early morning stomach suddenly very pain, made me worry so much. Luckily in the end its ok..

Weoseek,
Swimming is a very good activity cause of e pressure and more exercise makes u have a smooth delivery. No need to pain so long..

Berlin,
Me staying in the East side. Was thinkin when 4 to 5 months den go swim.. Maybe can meet up with u too..

Tat time i tried e boy/girl prediction got a boy. But hope my BB to b a girl girl leh..

Still can't eat much, feel so sick.. sad..

Today i break record..ever since preggie..today is the longest hour i can tahan shopping..around 6hours? ehhehe..Been to the maternity shops you all mentioned at paragon..so ex leh..all rangin 180-280 for a maternity jeans..Finally reach top shop..saw theirs @100..really happy..But havent get yet..cos 1 size smaller..the jeans is exactly tight fit as my current ones..bigger 1 size..then its a bit too lose..so quite confused..Will definitely go there to check out again.

Got a track pant from bossini..after hubby's numerous request..cos he sees his colleage also wear that during first few mth.

Morning ladies...
Recommend this website. Simple registration with email and EDD, and can read about your personalised baby's daily development and our body changes. A lot of useful info too, good reading for first-time mums like us. Enjoy!

http://www.babycenter.com/

Liew Lian
I only know some of Tom &amp; Stephanie outlets: West Mall, Tiong Bahru, Civil Plaza (opp causeway point).

Yesterday, I went to TB one, and bought a skirt and baby-doll tube dress (found at maternity section), after 20% discount only $49 in total, really cheap!! SO strongly recommend it to those who's looking for less pricey, simple comfort wear.

Hello MTBs,

Im seeing Dr WK Tan TMC. I went for 1st visit at gynae in my 10th week. 1st consultation paid about 80 bucks. Subsequently I signed up for package. Costs about $2,100 for check-ups up and including delivery, but not ward charges. But other independent tests excluded, like i paid $315 for NT Scan yesterday.

i tink eastshore would be the cheapest pte hospital, those looking for more affordable gynae packages can try there.

jan,
i also sqeeeeezzed into my hipsters b4 i realised I was pregnant. my poor bb, luckily nothing happened!

i get depressed these days cos my clothes dont fit well anymore. yet when i go shopping im reluctant to buy anything for fear they wont fit again v soon! and its too soon to buy maternity wear right?? Just bought a few Giordano Tees yesterday, bo bian nothing to wear out anymore. Feel so ugly. My whole wardrobe are lycra and stretch tops, cos i used to hate cotton they go out of shape very fast so now i have absolutely nothing to wear. my hubby is getting angry cos i now only wear track pants and tees and refuse to go anywhere too far...

first mum
why don't u start getting maternity clothes. some maternity clothes r nice n get those which u can wear throughout ur pregnancy.

first mum,

How come your NT scan so ex? i just went for my second check up this morning. Despite being low risk, doc has suggested we to do either OSCAR ($320), NT ($60) or blood test ($105). OSCAR itself can detect up to 90% of abnormalities, NT 70% and blood test 70%. But combine NT and blood test can detect up to 90%. I haven't decided which one to go.

So how is your result show?

hi taka,

oops, mine was actually an OSCAR.. this morning TMC called to say im in the low risk category
thank god!

how was ur checkup this morning?

Taka,

Happened to come to this thread so kaypo a bit. I'm actually a Nov-MTB. Gynae in TMC mentioned briefly that OSCAR is all in all test combining NT and blood test but if we do the tests separately and pay individually, it's the same and cheaper. Hence I didnt opt for OSCAR.

Hi first mum,

Ok, i see. The check up was fine, doc did a ab scan for me. I am not good at identifying the fetus, but my hubby is very good, he can identify the heartbeat, the head and the hand immediately.

I haven't decided to sign up with which hospital, very indecisive leh. I prefer TMC over Mt. E, but i am more comfortable with Dr. Kowa at Mt. E, who doesn't deliver at other hospital. Sigh, that is a tough decision to be made.

Aprilpinky,

Thanks for sharing. But how come the gynea said no point doing both NT and blood test? I think what he meant was if one test show high risk and the other test show low risk, then it produces contradicting results, then have to go for OSCAR. Is it the case? Correct me if i am wrong here.

BTW, how is your both results show?

Taka,

I also a bit not v sure on that. Was discussing with hubby just now. We concluded probably the NT scan plus the triple test (blood test) which I did a month later (together with the HIV test compulsory test) would be equal to OSCAR. But I'm v sure OSCAR is a new combined test from previous tests available. The results would be just assuring but it's just that pay more and do all at one go.

My NT is fine at 12th week. One month later the blood test also no problem
Going for fetal anomaly scan at 20th week on 28th June
Last test to go. (I paid abt $180 during NT scan visit for both NT scan and this coming fetal scan.) The blood test was charged separately at 16th week. Hope this helps.

Haro all mummies!

How have you been? I am back from my trip to the US
Did I miss anything in this thread?

I am well and fine. The journey is abit long but we mannaged to get seats near the emgergency exit so alot of leg room for me to stretch.

Got bought some clothings for my BB and some for myself though not alot fit as the sizes are very very big for most asians.

Moonbell
I read from the previous thread that you eat papaya? Try not to take them, they are too liang for preggies, even those bananas you find at the supermarkets (big ones), they are not gd for preggies.

Went shopping for more maternity clothes yesterday...retail therapy
Was @Mama Chic @Specialist Ctr (level 2). Hmm.. found the selection of clothes not that trendy, and mostly too big.. the type that can put 2 chickens inside. kekeke. But I must say the pricing is more affordable. After spending some time browsing, managed to find a nice pair of working pants for about $31+ &amp; a top ($21+, after 20% discount). May switch to maternity clothes 2 wks later...
ladies, are you still wearing your old clothes?

Btw another Tom &amp; Stephanie outlet is @CCK.

Weoseek

Can see BB gender so fast ah? So happy for you.
Hopefully I can see mine when I see my gynae next week. Unlike your MIL, my MIL prefers boy, she even buys some funnie plant called "qi koo" (translate into Cantonese)and she said if the plant grows upwards it means boy, if it remains short it means girl

Personally, I don't care, so long as BB is healthy and normal can oredi

Joyful
Me too. When I entered the maternity stores in S'pore and US, the salesgirl will look at me then at my tummy...so paiseh. So I just say to them I am due in Dec, any nice looking maternity wear for me
Hee hee!! Must be thick skin otherwise can never buy anything!!!

Ladies, has your tummy grown as bigger? Mine still the very small for 15wks leh, more like 2 layer then just one round one...like this very hard to start on my maternity wear...must wait for how long???

Welcome back straycats!
So nice for u to have enjoyed a holiday in US

About maternity clothes shopping, I'm now 'once shy, twice thick-skinned'. Hahaa..

Going to the gynae next wk too
Have been looking forward since a few days ago. Dunno if bb will let me see his/her gender. So trying to talk to bb to open the legs. kekeke.

Never heard of the 'qi koo' plant leh, altho' I'm a cantonese. Find it quite funny that a plant can predict the bb gender..

Oh, my tummy has grown a little bigger, but still not very visible unless one looks hard enough. When I try on the maternity top yesterday, I still don't look pregnant. Maybe when I run out of normal clothes to wear, then it's time to switch to maternity liao.

weoseek,
I gave up Topshop maternity jeans cos it's too tight fit and don't think it will last long. I bought 1 from Dorothy perkins at marina sq. It's stretchable, cost $69 cheaper than topshop. And I also got a maternity smocked top there for $29. A kind lady offer her 10% discount card to me. So sweet of her.
I also bought another top from M)phosis for $36.
Have been spending too much these days. Got to refrain from going shopping liao.

Sabre, Ok. I will hunt for my swimwear now.

Yo, straycats, welcome back!!!

straycats, Gynae has no confident at all about the bb gender..but both hubby and me really can see some whitish in between the legs..It will be more clear in my next visit around wk16 bah.

Berlin,
Top shop jeans is the first and only jeans I've ever tried.. Thought as long as it hv a rubber band waist, we can pull it lower as tummy grows bigger?

Btw, dun quite understand why you all need to shop for swim wear? Hmmm..thought bikini dun cover tummy? So no matter how big your tummy grows..sure can continue wear right?