(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

harlow ladies, compiled a list of our EDD dates below for ref, but may not be up-to-date, or might have missed out some.

289439.gif

LKG here, I have just changed my nick due to my latest cravings!!!
Thanks, joyful! You are so thoughtful!!!
BTw, I am gonna deliver at Eastshore....

Gals, I bought most of my maternity wear from 9 mois, cos I find their designs really chic and stylish... Can't fit into most of my clothes now and that's why I already bought a couple of maternity wear...

Talking abt the Motherhood Expo, there's nothing much, I only bought a latex pillow for my baby, stretch mark cream, collected some free samples and subscribed the Motherhood Magazine...
Since I am only abt 14 weeks, my hubby and I were so lost, not knowing what to buy for now...
[Anyway, he said he will pass the words around his friends and collegues and start making our wish list so that we dun have to spend so much! Very thick-skinned of him ,rite!!??]

Lately I have been experiencing heartburn which makes me feel so terrible, last nite and this morning, I was feeling so bad, me can't help being teary and nausea, gosh! Any good remedies??

Weoseek,
will look out for Pierre cardin ones.

Straycats, I still wear some of my thongs, it should be ok cos maternity undies also have thongs. I'm looking for pregnant massages, have been stressed out since pregnant. I need a good massage to relax. I was clearing my wardrobe and had to fold the whole chunk of clothes on the bed. I have also eat on my bed, is it ok?

Joyful,
I started my evenig walk with my husband and dog last sun. I am so tempted to go swimming since the weather has been so warmth but I really need a decent looking maternity swim wear to hide my growing elephant thigh.

Joyful, Berlin
My MIL & mum told me that folding clothes can caused the BB ears to be deformed..so I don't do it on the bed lor. I think on the chair or on the floor can lah, otherwise what can we preggies do????? As for eating, I never heard of anything about cannot eat on the bed leh.

As for exercising, I am still doing all my brisk walks, pilates, etc. Talking about swimwear..I abit headache...cannot get a decent looking one that can provide proper camoflague of our "areas", 2 piece is definitely out...I don't want to scare the ppl in the swimming pool. Ladies, any ideas?

Joyful
Thanks for the complied EDD thingy.

Ladies, who are interested in massages can check out this website: www.momsinmind.com.sg/massage.html. All the contacts are posted on it, I rang up most of them and it cost around $50 - $70 for an hour & fifteen mins massage. They prefer to massage preggies that are 5mths and above.

LiewLainSoh
Welcome back! Your new nickname so cute
You crave for durains now is it? I heard preggies that eat durains their BB very big. Is it true?

LiewLian
Did you eat a lot of durians to curb your cravings? Think the high sugar or potassium may not be healthy..
What's the pricing like at 9 mois? any idea if sales is still on?

Were you very hungry when you have heartburn? Eat regularly should help prevent stomach acid gushing up. Antacids helps, but I'm not sure suitable for preggies or not?

joyful
Mt Alvernia for me

I went topshop for a short spree. Was trying the maternity jeans but found that it does not flatter my hips line. It's either too tight or too loose for my butt. The jeans aren't stretchable, they are the normal jeans with rubber on the waist line, I worry it can get too 'stiff' after a few wash. Nevertheless, I bought 2 sleeveless tops for $16ea. Their cap- sleeves t-shirts cost $23ea, quite affordable. There isn't much range yet but they say they will come in new stock MAYBE on friday.

Hello, gals!
My nickname was given by my family, I'm not really gorging myself with the King of Fruits, but I do have the sudden crave for a specific type of durians which can't really be found in SG... Sigh! So I always pester my sis to help me buy in JB... hee hee!

Sales at 9 Mois started since 27 May I guess by now, maybe not too much stuff liao. Zoe Tay took many of their clothings, and 9 Mois also sponsored some costumes for the show "New Moms" starring Kim Ng etc... Prices can't really remember but ya may wanna visit their website www.9mois.com.sg for details.

The heartburn problem hits me during the time before I sleep and in the morning... Antacids were given by my family doctor when I had very bad morning sickness during my 1st trimester, but he said try not to consume unless absolutely necessary, so I never take any so far... All I do is rub ointment on my chest, that's all!

Etelle,
Yes, it's only available at wisma outlet. You can visit their website at www.topshop.co.uk, go under 'shop by: B maternity"
Are you going? I may go again this friday after work and provided that I'm not tired out from my work. :p

Hi Dec MTBs!

I'm from the Nov thread, some of you may know me. We're organising a gathering next week, anyone keen to join us?

I haven't decide which hospital to go. My gynae is at Mt E and the choice of hospital is at Mt.E and Mt.A. I will decide upon seeing the package.

LiewLian
Thanks for the website. Looks nice!

Btw, anyone knows if we can eat the cheese and mayonaise found in burgers? I have sudden cravings for BK Mushroom Swiss, but heard should avoid soft cheese and mayo(with egg). I don't really like beef burgers, but don't know why see ppl eat, I also feel like having it, maybe baby wants to eat heehee... What about Kraft cheese?

hi all..

was reading the previous thread and saw that some of you were getting mothercare stretchmarks cream... i seriously recommend Palmers Cocoa butter stretchmarks cream.. it is slightly more expensive than mothercare one.. but it is more effective... i've tried applying mothercare one.. but it doesn't really help much...

just my two cents worth..
hope ya guys don't mind..

moonbell

Me too! Everytime I see an ad on food I want to see what's appearing on TV! I think cheese & mayo found in the burgers are ok cos' the food is cooked. I take kraft cheese with bread, and am ok. So don't fear, eat what your BB likes.

straycats,
My gynae is Dr. L.S. Lien (male) on fifth level.

dili_mummy,
one hand I'm very keen to join, but the other I'm also shy about gathering like moonbell. Where would you be holding the gathering?

straycats
Thanks! I'll go grab a swiss today! Can't wait : I__
Great! Kraft cheese is another good source of calcium, everyday milk, I get a bit sianz...

Berlin

This is nice
I like. From where?
My gynae is on the 16th floor. Have you sign any package with him yet? I will sign when I see mine at 16wks. I heard from the nurse that for 2 nights stay at Mt E is S$1600, not sure if it is a 1 or 2 bedder though.

It's from Gap maternity. They sell the combination separately, it will cost around s$150 (sales) with postage.

I signed my package during week 12 for $400 (not including medication and delivery). He is my mum's gynae for my 2 young sis, and also my 4 nephews. So Ex.. I think that's for 1 bedded. My 2 sisters gave birth at Mt. E. I need to make comparison of the charges with Mt. A.

Dunno what happened to the posting that I typed earlier... anyway retyping here...

weoseek,
I'm thinking of getting a similar one as in the picture. How much does it costs? I saw one in v-hive selling for $199.

LiewLian Soh,
cute nickname
Heard that eating durians will have a bigger bb. And some say bigger bb will have smoother skin when born, dunno how true?

moonbell,
I asked gynae what type of cheese is ok, and she says Kraft is safe, but avoid blue cheese.

straycats,
Me too, I crave for whatever that appears on TV! I remembered there was a food programme featuring laksa & after that I felt like eating it! But the very next day, the craving disappeared.

Berlin,
Nice swimwear! So trendy & sexy... but ex!! You getting it?

I need to consider, cos if I buy online I might not get the correct size. Ya know, for swimwear it has to be well fit, otherwise you will see my lower trunk floating on the bay... hee hee... I only bought a Gap skirt before, not sure about swimwear.

I'm craving for mee-siam and spanish paella....

Actually do you think it is gross to wear bikini when one is preggie? Me thinking of planning a surprise escapade wif hubby to somewhere nearby, either Bintan, Bali, Clubmed, or Redang in July or August...

Joyful
Yah lor can fully understand how u feel. Whatever appears on TV, I will tell my hubby I want to eat, then he will say sure anot...like u my craving is very short span maybe at that moment only. But its fun leh

I also want to know, what is blue cheese????

Berlin,
I will be going to the US this Fri, maybe I will go to Gap and take a look if I got the time.

LiewLianSoh
It all depends on individual preferences. In s'pore, maybe certain pool, the uncle and aunties will get scared by us preggies prancing in a 2 piece, but overseas, I think it is very normal. I admire you for that

straycats,
Wow!! you going for a holiday? You should make time to visit Gap or check out their website first. www.gap.com

liewliansoh,
If I still can maintain a sexy body even during pregnant, I will go ahead with it.

Straycats,

Me also got short span cravings too and my hubby simply reprimanded me for just being "tam-jak" (greedy) Hee hee!

Not that I have a nice figure to flaunt, in actual fact far from it!!! But I guess if I were on holiday overseas, no one will recognise me so never mind lah!!! Hoo hoo!! (>_<)

The Gap Baby series looks nice too, so tempted to buy some of the items!!! Wonder is there any summer sales in the States... Hmm...

Other than blue cheeze, Brie are also not recommended to take during pregnancy...

Yes, I agree with joyful, Blue cheeze is so yucky!!!

But I do know of a Japanese friend who told me that she finds blue cheeze so much better than our durians here!!! I was so upset!!! (T_T)

joyful
Thanks... Did you just asked your gynae about the cheese? So good. Think I'll try calling up the nurse or Dr and ask them questions next time, see if they will tell me or not...

SeaHorse also sells chest of drawers.

straycats
going to US for holiday??

Berlin
It's very nice! I'm thinking of getting 2-piece swim suit too.

LiewLianSoh
Dun worry too much abt what others think... I even saw a causarian lady who was topless at the Redang beach. Everybody there were as per normal.
Btw Redang is one of my fave beach! Esp the Berjaya stretch, very nice! Oh, I'm a eslf-confessed beach bum

straycats,
same same
my hubby also cast a doubtful eye on me when I point at the TV &amp; says I wanna eat that. He's very lucky that I didn't ask him to go out to buy it for me! Heheh, come to think of it, now preggie can use this 'priviledge'. Hahaa...

Joyful,
I think the cabinets is around $200-300 depending on the no. of rack you want..But the one i like from ikea is around $300.

Liewlian,
Think redang would be a too tedious trip for preggie ladies..I remember need to take speed boat to the chalet for at least half hour. Bayan tree@Bintan would be nice..there's a personal pool I think..then u wear anything u like..kekekekek..:p

Hmm... I will take that into consideration, thanks for the advice, joyful and weoseek!!!

Btw, any good and cheap lobangs where I can get cheap packages for these locations??
either Bintan, Bali, Clubmed, or Redang in July or August...

How does heart burn feel like?

Today got colleage treat, so I'm feeling so terrible after eat..like cannot move like that leh.

moonbell,
I asked my gynae about 1 mth ago, during the visit. In fact she says eating cheese (the right type) is good for preggies. Oh, and eating eggs too.

Despite its name, heartburn doesn't affect the heart. Heartburn is a burning feeling in the lower chest, along with a sour or bitter taste in the throat and mouth. Heartburn is also called acid reflux disease or gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD). It usually occurs after eating a big meal or while lying down. The feeling can last for a few minutes or a few hours.

Things that can make heartburn worse
Cigarette smoking
Coffee (both regular and decaffeinated) and other drinks that contain caffeine
Alcohol
Citrus fruits
Tomato products
Chocolate, mints or peppermints
Fatty foods or spicy foods (pizza, chili, curry)
Onions
Being overweight
Aspirin or ibuprofen (one brand name: Motrin)

Info which was given to me by my sis...

Another option is to take slow ferry to Redang, ~1.5 hrs I think. A smoother journey. But the land journey by coach itself is already 8+ hrs. Quite tiring.

Looks like some of you going for short trips during 2nd trimester. I'm so tempted too! Tot of tag along my husband's working trip to HK in early July. Maybe a day trip to ShenZHen free &amp; easy. Anyone knows how to go there from Kowloon, and how long it takes? How's ShenZhen?

Gd morning ladies,

I am just tagging along on my husband's work trip. Was supposed to go with him in May, but I was at early stage of pregnancy then, so my gynae said no. Now, finally my gynae said ok...so might as well take the chance. Otherwise, when BB arrives, dunno will get the chance to travel anot.

Talking about heartburn. I am not sure if mine is but I feel very bloated and sick after every meal. Sometimes, got reflux of water also. It will take me at least 3 hours before anything gets digested. That is partly the reason why I cannot eat too much...though I am really tempted to eat all the food that appear on the TV...like what LiewLain Soh hubby said, "tam jak".

Moonbell
You can take the KTMR to Shenzhen. My frens get their clothes tailored made within 1 working day.

Regarding pregnancy diet, I'm not sure if I'm eating enough for my baby. Every morning, I took a glass of anmum milk, a slice of bread or a pack of jacab hi-cal biscuit, followed by an apple or fruit juice. Mid morning, I will take another pack of biscuit.

Lunch, I will eat normal meal, usually noodles. I can't take rice too much. Mid-afternoon, if I have heavy lunch I will snack with fruits, otherwise I will eat bread or kueh or biscuit and an apple.

Dinner, I will take a bowl of rice with vege, fish, pork. (I dislike chicken, don't know why), with fruits.

Before bed, I took another glass of anmum milk.
No supper, I'm too tired to wake up for supper.

What's your prenancy diet? Am I eating right amount?

LewLian
Is that a reason why we have to avoid cold drinks in the 1st trimester? I've been drinking it daily. Past few days crave for desserts so keep eating ice jelly, ice kachange etc.
My gynae didn't say anything so eating most things except real cooling stuff like chin chow, fresh coconut and pineapple.

U're delivering at Eastshore also? U must be staying the east then. Who's your gyane? Mine is Dr Heng.

Going to the US? Try to go to the factory outlets ... should have gap there and hopefully you can buy the past season stocks cheap. Bought some old navy and gap stuff over the web a month back for my little girl coz they are so cute.

Moonbell
You can take the train from TST East to Lo Wu. The train ride is abt 1 hour journey for one way. I only go shenzhen for shopping at Lo Wu. Usu there to buy shoes and bags.

Straycats
Bought my jeans from Thyme during 1st preg. not sure if they still have it. Saw the faded type of jeans at spring yesterday but think it might be the over belly type.

There was a top being sold at the motherhood exhibition that mentioned the exact same thing. 'I'm not fat, just pregnant.' It's quite funny ... was tempted to buy it but decided against it.

Joyfulhands
Thanks for putting up the database. My EDD has been changed to 24 Dec and delivering at Eastshore Hospital.

Berlin
For breakfast, I take 2 slices of peanut butter &amp; jam toast &amp; 1 glass of fresh milk. Lunch, I usually take fish soup / porridge with silver fish with a glass of OJ. In between if hunger strikes, I snack on apples &amp; nuts. Dinner, like you I take rice, vege,fish &amp; drink soup followed by fruits. I also cannot take chicken and I dislike pork..but my mom makes me drink the chicken soup she boils
, she said it is good for both my BB &amp; me. Before bed, I take another glass of milk. I bloat easily so I spilt them into smaller portions but eat more often.

Absolut

Long time never hear from you. Most probably will try to get my maternity wear in the US. My hubby said ok, can go shopping
Yippee!!

Berlin, your diet looks fine to me...
Absolut, cold stuff and desserts are not so good in the 1st trimester cos according to my family (chinese) doctor, he said the health of the baby will be affected, asthma, bad coughs, weaker health etc, that's why I try not to take cold drinks. It is quite unbearable especially when the weather is so humid and hot lately.
The only thing cold that I drink now is my daily intake of fresh milk, which I would pour out from the fridge and let it rest for a while before consuming.... I guess for me I better heed his advice since he knew my medical history etc, but for you, of cos ya need not follow!!!

My doctor is Dr Lek and yeap, me staying in the East too!!!

I also wanted to buy that top but my hubby said I am fat and pregnant so pple will laugh at me if I wear that!!! (So maddening!!! It is just that he is a skinny man, he always says I am FAT!) Hee hee!