(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Dili,

I understand that cm produce casein that causes Phlegm. Soy milk do not have casein thus will be better for my son. I did not consult any doctor. I just ask my boss (she is an expert in milk) and one of the nutritionist and they recommend that.

So ur kid allergy to cm?

Dili, Rooster,

Hi, I'm a mummy from Dec thread, just KPO KPO here once a while, and I got questions to ask u all since your tods drink Isomil 2 advance. My boy also on Isomil 2 recently cuz he kena virus and stomach upset, if take GainIQ he will LS. So now I stuck with many tins of Gain cuz I bulk order from Guardian lor. Is soy milk good? i saw in Mother & Baby latest issue that soy milk is reported to be no good as it contains dunno what chemical or hormones, so now i quite worried. then i saw words like "soy-free" from the HT cereal that DS is eating, so it comes to my mind why soy is no good? U all got any idea? I wanted to change back to his Gain but i scared he LS again, cuz reverting back 2x cause his LS to come back again even though previously he was Ok with it and been taking quite a few tins of 900g till he kena virus.

Fairymoss,
there's a difference between allergy and intolerance. if your ds has taken gain before and took it well, it's unlikely the LS is caused by gain, what he's experiencing is likely due to stomach virus like you said he had.
soy formula has been touted to have hormones and not good for children in the long run, but Abbott has done several good trials to show otherwise.
The cereal that your ds is having says 'soy free' probably for angmohs who are even allergic to soy (they have higher chances than us asians to be allergic to soy). It's not because soy is no good.
Since you have that many Gain at home, I'd suggest to try it again, and not full strength (meaning maybe half soy and half gain first). if LS comes back, please seek medical advice instead of trying anything by yourself again.

Personally, if my dd is not allergic to soy, I wouldn't think of giving soy to her. So once I get clearance from her kkh allergist, I'll give her cow's milk.

Rooster, yes my dd is seeing kkh specialist and her allergy is confirmed by skin prick test.

hiroshima, 2 mar cannot leh... sigh... cos adam started having flu and slight cough again..think i let him 'rest' a while before 'torturing' him with another round of fever after MMR...
maybe i go mid mar...

Dili / baby2005,
initially wanted to bring my gal to KKH A & E but worry the standby doctor during holiday season not good & also worry they will cold bath my gal to bring down the fever...tat y i sponge her the whole nite to control the temp...then morning quickly bring her to the PD...
Now my gal fever ok liao but still hv cough & slight running nose...& me still coughing...

IF, the last time my gal got high fever (arnd 39.6) and I brought her to KKH (think on a Sun). They didn't cold bath her, they just do blood test, give her some med and ask me to sponge her. Then they check on her again an hr later. I understand from my family doc, usually A&E doctor shd be quite experience one, otherwise how to handle emergency. Anyway, thank goodness your gal fever is gone now. the cough & runny nose will take a while to clear. My gal also got runny nose recently with slight cough too.

Manuka, think the weather is bad, hope adam recover soon.

Morning ladies..

I also yet to bring Orlando for MMR jab.. coz he still having cough..

Anyway, brought him to Bird Park on sunday.. he enjoyed himself, but i can say its very tiring even wif pram.. sigh.. one thing for sure.. he din enjoy the Bird Show, which the presenter tok a lot n din manage to get his attention.. instead his attention was more to the biscuits i gave him.. hahaha.. here's a pic to share, taken wif the flamingoes..

705005.jpg

kisses21, Orlando was already toilet trained since young.. my mum was the one training him.. so nw at times he can go w/o diapers at hm n will auto go to his potty if his wants to pee or poo..

Dili,
I've brought my gal for MMR in early Feb. It's not as scary as what was mentioned. At least, she didn't cry during the jab cuz PD gave her biscuit to munch on. No fever or rashes after jab too, so quite happy that everything was ok.

Cel, I think Orlando's one of the rare ones that are toilet trained. I haven't started yet...

pat, orlando look so diff now. his hair quite long liao hor?

syl/dili, jaime took her mmr jab after her 1st birthday and no fever or rashes.

Syl.. ya.. guess i'm lucky to haf my mum bah.. *grinz*

chien.. ya his hair quite long.. but hb wants orlando to haf long hair.. hahaha.. but hor.. Orlando keep scratching his head leh.. machiam got hair lice... pengz...

Cel
Think I will start potty training when he turns 18mo bah.

Malc will have his MMR next Monday. Good idea about giving biscuits to munch on the distract their attention, Dolly. I will do that at the polyclinic. The past few times, the nurse asked me to held him tight to prevent him from moving. Ended up, Malc cried. He hates to be restrained. People must have thot he cried becoz of the jab. Haiz....

Ju.. so late ah? hmmm.. start early can save on diapers leh.. heehee..

chien.. issit? hahaha.. too short also not very gd looking leh.. like balding.. hahaha..

talk abt potty training... yesterday the channel 8 bb show got talk abt potty training... its says the rite age is abt 2 yrs old... and the child must 'meet certain criteria' first, eg, can understand the parents instruction etc etc (can't remember liao)....

but same as Ju, think i will potty train adam when he is more ready... or during my maternity leave when i can do the training myself... cos dun think my MIL will be so hardworking to train him...

wah so many posts! no time to read all.
anyway saw a few MJ kakis! hahaha during CNY played quite a lot. luckily manage to have josh sleep and eat at the usual times wherever we are.. so i get to gamble. haha

manuka, try ZARICOT. u can get from pharmacy. of cos drapolene is already quite good. but i m quite kiasu, i have also used seba med before but there was once josh has very bad rash, and PD gave zaricot. ever since, i will use drapolene daily, but when the rashes get bad, i use zaricot. the effect is really good!

hi mummies, long time never post liao. Today brought javier for MMR jab and prenunoccol jab. Luckily I distract him with eating biscuit, kekeke, did not cry at all for the two jab.

Alden is done with his MMR jab last Fri. I can't wait for him to turn 18 months so that the last jab will end. As for milk feeds, he still wake up once in the night for milk.

Ju: I have subscribed to Disney Playhouse for Alden recently. I love to watch it more than him at this point. haha...

To all preggie mums: take care and have a smooth 9 months :)

Elaine: How's your Ipoh trip?

Sarah: What have you been busy with?

teething

ju, i think josh all of a sudden grows many teeth leh. sorry i cant differentiate molars, etc hahaha i only know in front, 4 on top, 4 below. behind, 2 on top, 2 below..and seems to have 2 more coming out....drooling so much!!!

potty train

i raed that if you potty train young, its really not potty trained, its conditional training. ie. baby when put near the potty will poo or pee becos conditioned to do so. appropriate time will be when baby can indicate what he/she wan. so can let u know when he/she indeed feels the urge to pee/poo...so for me, not in a hurry lah. except of cos, quite 'siong' to keep buying diapers!

Cynthia
I love to watch Playhouse Disney too!! LOL!!

momo
Yah, that is what I read about the potty training too. As for diapers, now not too siong already. nNow Malc uses about 4-5, depending how many times he poops.

potty training
I think I agreed with momo. when my boy was 18mth to 2yo, i tried potty trained him, trained until i pek chek and he can sit in the potty for 2 hrs and nothing came out. I tried for 6mths then give up liao. then when he hit 2.5yo to 3yr, i tried again and after a few tried he was off diaper for the day liao. As for the night, just before he hit his 3rd birthday, he suddenly came to me and said it is very hot wearing diaper and he don't want to wear at night, and he is off diaper when he sleep and he only wet the bed once or twice. I read somewhere that if they r being toilet-trained when they are ready, the chances of them wetting the bed is minimal.

As for jaime, i think i'll start training her when she hit 18mths and see how it goes. ppl say gals r easier to trained than boy.

Have u gals heard of washable traning pants? It is like those disposal one but it only hold 1 urine and it is washable. It is good when u try to toilet train your kids. U gals may like to give it a try.

Hi Ju

Fine thank you. Been super lazy like wan to 'rot' at home liao kekeke. Now into my second trimester and feeling better than before.

Hi Cyn

I also subscribe Disney Playhouse Channel and on it whole day but boi only turn to watch it when his favourite show start. He love Fun Song Factory and will sway his body and clap his hand when the music come. It's a long journey back to Ipoh and back to Spore cos traffic jam. Usual 7 hours trip become like 10 hours or more and it's best to bring javier on a nite trip cos he can sleep inside the car if not during the day trip, he get too excited inside the car and i pity my helper.

Think i will also toilet train my boi when he is ready like 18 month to 2 year old time. Now even when I put him to sit into potty, he keep lifting his bum up to protest so no point forcing him until he know wat we want him to do.

Hiroshi used to be able to sit on his potty read book and watch dvd till he poo or pee.....
BUT, recently after his first attack of the stomach flu virus.... He refuse to sit on the potty anymore.... He rather push it ard, and fill his toys in it!! SIGH...... I am going to wait till he is interested or at least able to express himself before i try it again.....

thank you all for your feedback on toilet/potty train.
I have another worry, my son's height/weight are at average percentile, however i find that his belly is very big, i can even see his belly button popping up (like us when we are pregnant).
Does any of the mummies encounter this?

kisses21

My boi used to have poppping belly (when u press it, u can feel water insidethe button) since birth and i used binder to wrap around the tummy and after some time, the belly button flatten. I ask PD and tey said it very common in newborn and shall flatten by one year old if not, got to perform a small operation. Lucky i use blinder to flatten it if not operation pengz.

me just found out yesterday, this time is gonna be a boi boi

so, abby will hv a bb brother 2bully hihi...

hi elaine, so long nvr see ur posting here

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Baby's Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Syl</TD><TD>22 May 2007</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hir0sH|-m@</TD><TD>15 June 2007</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>17 June 2007</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>05 July 2007</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babestaurus </TD><TD>12 July 2007</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>littleabby</TD><TD>01 August 2007</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misch</TD><TD>11 August 2007</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elaine</TD><TD>28 August </td></tr></table>

hi alice - wow, so excited to know the gender of the baby. I still need to wait patiently for another 12 days for my gynae visit, by then shall know the gender liao.

I haven't been in this thread for such a long time. Didn't realise that there are many 2nd-time expectant mummies from Nov 2005 thread!

My 1st one is boy, born in Nov 2005. Expecting my 2nd one, this time girl, EDD 25 May 2007.

My boy still wakes up in the middle of the night. He's tortured mummy and daddy for the past 15 mths!

Hiroshi-Ma, ya, I think that's one of the brand. I got my many years back from a mommy I know thru the web and she import from Australia.

Alice, Congrats!
707473.gif
One girl & One boy, just nice.

kisses21/elaine, I tot bb having big tummy is quite common but I don't know abt the popping belly button. kisses21, you may want to check with your doc if u r worried.

Von, haha.... 'Hi'