(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

hi chin,

maybe your bb lying low?

hmm..dun know leh..my baby is still not engaged yet, according to the doc yest. anyway, he is still super active..very busy in my stomach now..i have no idea what he is doing.

chin,

though sometimes the movement hurts a bit, but when bb dun move much - we get worried... better to be active bah. :p

hahaha ... my hb always "ask" bb what she's doing inside ...:p

tink most of our babies r putting lots of pressure on our groin/pelvic area though they r nt engaged yet.. my boy also moving a lot.. n its almost like whole day long, he machiam like no nid to slp.. kekeke..

celtricia,

sometimes i do observe my ger more quiet when i play mozart to her .... not sure if the music is too boring to her .. but for myself i do feel sleepy if i listen to it. :p

sib: u play mozart for her ah.. i wanted to.. but hb doesn't like it.. tink only i enjoy it.. hb love to let bb listen to eminem or linkin park.. those kind of hip hop songs w lots of vulgarities.. coz he feels dat as a boy muz b rugged.. so sianz.. i would wan my son to listen to mozart or beethoven.. hee..

celtricia,

your hb so cute ..kekeke ..he like those music is it? maybe he wants your boi to share same music interest with him lah.
bonding bah.

sib: yes, my hb love listening to those music n he love blasting it.. but i dun like music being on so loudly, so i always lower the volume.. heh.. so if he's nt ard, sometimes i would turn on the radio for my boy to listen to classical music.. hee.. but rarely haf the chance to.. haiz..

Cute hor.. I think babies react to all kinds of sounds outside! My boy also kicks / moves around vigorously when I play certain music with a catchy rhythm..

sib.. ya lor.. must secretly let my boy listen.. haiz.. so cham.. kekeke.. hope he does like classical music as well as hip hop songs.. heh.. but duno whh kind of music will work better when putting him to slp.. hahaha..

yah, my boy loves mozart and soothing music. Didnt try the pop music on him. But sometimes we on 933 in the car he will hv no reaction, with classical he will move. I think he's used to listen to classical.

Lunch time soon.
I'm less hungry in the morning nowadays. It's a relief...or else got to keep on munching and munching.

Aprilpinky, gd for u.. but i tink my boy reacts to all kinds of music.. the first time he reacts to music was while we were watching tv n d show played a funky music, he kept moving till d song ended.. hahaha.. whh frm den onwards whenever there's song he will so call 'dance' to it.. heh..

i'm also hungwee.. nw duno wat to eat for lunch.. sianz..

<font color="ff0000">Naughty, Venus</font>

36hrs natural..yah think of it scares me too...
So now I'm kinda "xin li jun bei" for half the time.. at the same time also preparing self for c-sect for this No.2..

My Boy..

well on a Monday 31stMay 8am had induction..pill popped in..(waters low)... no cervix dilation so second tab went in 6pm (10hrs past).. contractions technically started Sunday night.. but irregular about 10mins sometimes 15mins apart but were worse after the pill went in...

Tues morning 130am(17.5hrs past).. waters broke..contractions unbearable..so transferred to labour ward for a bit of happy gas..

Tyesday 2pm(29hours past) still dilated 2cm...finally needed to drip in Oxytomicin..

Asked epidural at 4pm (31hrs past)..Matthew arrived 9.30pm (36hrs)..

Why so LOOOONG?? no idea.. but just glad that baby wasn't distressed..besides... I was on drip for most of the time.. and ended up bloated like puffer fish.. so the confinement menu is not suited for me after all.. SIGH..

Actually c-sect depends on the person..i've heard docs asking patients to start moving about soon after...

<font color="0077aa">naughty</font>

re:hospital bag..

Me too not packed AT ALL!! like very laid back for this No.2.. I don't even have her 0-3mths, 6mth-9mths clothes ready!!

-no hospital bag
-no baby clothes in drawers/or washed (only my son's)
-microwave in box
-confinement catering not ordered!!

<font color="ff0000">re:hubby's things in hosp bag</font>

Agree with you dili.. labour ward very cold!! I've LISTED (note-not PACKED)those polar fleece blanket for him..

entertainment.. I got him an early early anniversary present.. P2P..lol.
Tlod him now can shop I buy first cos our anniversary falls in NOV..

when I had Matthew..I realised the most important was the adhesive pads..the ones provided by the hospital...LOOP ones!! (like my Mother's time!!)

I've bought the Tena lady's mini adhesive..my lochia flow was very heavy.. and seems like the only pad can capture everthing since it was meant for bladder incontinence...

The other item..was the v pillow.. good for proping up..and for Bfing baby..

Dili_mummy
Yup, will put a jacket for hubby into my bag as well.

Toiletries ah. Think will be bringing some baby powder to powder my body only. Cannot bath mah. Oh yah hor, need to bring toothpaste and toothbrush hor.

I am bringing a mirror and my eyebrow pencil only.

<font color="ff0000">v pillow</font>

it's like a pillow only V shaped..
good for proping up.. ermm available at spotlight or caarrefour..

chin: me bak frm lunch liao.. reading wat natalie has posted.. today lunch nt bad.. had yong tau foo, though can't choose the kind of yong tau foo i wan, coz standard ones only..

natalie, really pei fu u leh.. u muz remember all info n tell matthew abt it in d future, so dat he will noe wat difficult times u had when delivering him.. heh..

celtricia - good...healthy lunch.. i lunched at home ..just cooked some simple wanton noodles etc. Sleepy now.. haha.

thanks, natalie.. is it like the breast feeding pillow? i am wondering if i need to get one of those..heard that if C-section, then prob need to get. so i may wait and see how my delivery goes.

so should we bring the nursing pillow to the hosp? i do have the inflatable type ... so won't be bulky .. but just not sure if necc or not.

chin.. ya.. quite healthy lah.. i'm feeling slpy too.. heh.. muz b due to lunch.. kekekke.. wow! simple wanton noodle.. nice leh..

i dun tink i will b buyin any breast feeding pillow.. dun tink will haf the nid to use it..

wahaha.. natalie: u sure.. are one 'well prepared' mum ah.. hahaha..

as for pillow.. can i bring my fav big pillow to the hospital? mmm.. hehe.. no need what v pillow for me.. so long got my big comfy pillow.. can already heheh... was tempted to bring.. but scared will get scolding from hb.. mmm.. *thinking*

<font color="0077aa">hi all</font>

This is the V pillow I'm talking about..got cheap version..about $20.. Iopened the seam.. and stuffed kapok into it... LOL

324975.jpg

324976.gif

324977.jpg

It can be compressed into those vaccum bags by hand...then zip locked.. so not so bulky!!
I used it to BF Matt like the pict 3.. :D very useful; and half the price of the bF pillow..

The BF pillow bulky..

<font color="ff0000">hi all</font>

I took this off some web baby supplies I think...

For Mom

2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NUTC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax)
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you dont mind spending, more, Victorias Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.

For Dad

Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Books or CD's to help Mom relax.
Camera and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your babys name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.Visit the ICA's website for more information on how to register your baby.
Admission form (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation as you might deliver anytime).
In the meantime, think of a good name.

For Baby

Newborn clothing (1 set for going home as hospitals will provide clothing only during the stay, see shopping list for baby)
One Receiving blanket (for going home. Metro Orchard have a good selection of affordable and nice receiving blankets)
Extra diapers (hospitals will provide one pack of diaper, so you can bring yours if you want)
One set of anti scratch mittens (for going home as they will be tightly swaddled during the hospital)
Cans or bottles of infant formula if you intend to bottle-feed so your baby can start with the brand you prefer as soon as possible.
For Siblings
If siblings are going to be present before or after the babys arrives, here are some helpful things to have available for them:

Favorite books and toys
Drawing paper and crayons or markers
Snacks
A gift from Mom and Baby (to help ease jealousies after Baby arrives)
A camera just for big brother or sister to take pictures of what the stock has just brought that tiny bundle of joy.

<font color="0000ff">celtrica</font>

copy n paste from the web la.. lol but at least it applies to our local context..LOL

The pillow.. spotlight or carrefour suntec has..

Not sure how much.. I'll be going to suntec to meet forum mummies from my other thread..will check it out and let you know..

In fact some mummmies suggesting the boppy pillow.. not sure about that..

Natalie: hee.. ya.. n it will b of use to some of us here.. hee..

Thanks.. i will wait for ur research on the price.. heh.. mayb i will b it in d end.. heh.. seems quite gd to use, esp when i dun haf a bolster at home..

Natalie..thanks for the info..and your son is very cute! His eyes are very alert.

Pls let us know after you have checked out on the pillow..

Boppy..saw friend using it..she said it is useful if you have a C-section wound..can protect the wound when breastfeeding. But to me, it looks quite hard as well.

My turn to crave for KFC tonight!! hee hee

Hi Chin...

I'm doing the TRial for the confinement catering from New baby tis evening..... will do some picture taking before I tuck in.... hopefully can post on forum..LOL

ya.. agree wif chin.. ur boy is very cute.. n charming as well.. nxt time grow up definitely can charm lots of gals.. heh..

chin tonite eating KFC liao ah.. me craving for century egg porridge.. yesterday hb bought chix rice coz he can't find porridge for me..

Hi Amber! Welcome.. Whh hospital u deliverying ur son? Tot of names for him areadi? U might wan to give details so dat our update list lady can incld d details in the chart..

*yawnz* i just woke up... from my nap.. i guess almost everyone.. has knocked off from work already ba.. sianz. am feeling so tired... and have been feeling very weird today.. since from the afternoon.. wonder why..
hope it goes away soon..

Natalie - I did not know can do tril also for confinement catering! Enjoy! But remember not to take too much ginger now..(think confinement food tends to have that)..my doc told me to abstain in my final 2 months b4 delivery..she said causes jaundice!

Welcome, Amber!! The more the merrier..glad u "found" us!

Naughty..what kind of weird? Not well?

Celtricia - Yes - KFC for dinner..packed back already!
Efficient hor!

welcome amber! almost forgot about u! u can type ur boy's name if u have any.. and also which hospital ya staying in.. then dili_mummy will update for u! hiak hiak..

chin: wah! very efficient leh.. who packed bak for u? ur hb?

naughty: r u having pre-labour symptoms.. if there is any of such a thing..
heehee.. tink u better take gd care hor, or call up ur gynae n tell him hw u r feeling..

i'm home frm wrk liao.. hee..

Naughty...yeah..wondering if it could be the labour symptoms as well? is your huuby home already? but really, we all have our days..some days, no energy..feel lousy ..somedays, just really high. Take care, yeah!

Celtricia - I went and ta pau myself!Hubby coming back only next week lah..boy, u sure get home fast. When i used to work here last time, I never get off work until 7pm +!

chin: oh! sorry.. 4got ur hb nt bak yet.. heh.. ya.. i'm only stayin opp my wrking place mah.. dat's y can get hm early.. hee.. finished my dinner liao.. simply delicious.. heh..

celtricia: so good to find a working place tts just opp ur home! hahahaa...... my dinner is on the way still.. my poor hb woke up at 5am this morning to rush to work.. then now come back le still gotta go out and buy dinner for me.. mm..

i dun know about pre labour symtoms though.. just feel really unwell.. mmm.. but i think am a bit ok le.. not as bad as jus now..

Furry Furry, hahaha... saw ur post on the green tea toothpaste... I bought one a few weeks back. can't stand it too and dunno what to do with it! kekeke :p

harlow MTBs,
went for gynea appt today.. my bb already engaged and gynea say ready to go into labour... kinda scared and excited... kekeek..
was telling bb to give me 1 more week to settle all the stuff..

Manuka - great that your baby is engaged already!! I am still waiting, our due date is the same...
Do not worry, I read that it could be from 1 to 3 weeks before baby is ready to come out, after being engaged. Now you must quickly go and get your stuff done!!

Welcome Amber!

Congrats Manuka! Ya, my friend gave birth 5 weeks after bb engaged at 36 weeks..

Still never hear from Morraine today rt? Or did I miss her posts..

Today not feeling good also. Mood extremely bad. Nothing much happened but I guess it may be the general tiredness. Really v tired. Walking has been slow and a clumpsy process also.

TGIF tomorrow and Monday on leave. finally can laze at home and forget abt work temporarily.