(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Naughty..all the best! Looks like you will be one of the first amongst us to be a mummy!

Also back fr my doc visit - now end of week 35, baby is 2.8kg...and doc said that baby will not be early..cos still not engaged (had to do an internal exam today..very uncomfortable) and still lots of room for him to move around...sigh..that's explain why my tummy is so huge. It is already so uncomfortable..how have to "tahan" one more month!!??

haha.. i dunno whether will pop even earlier than 19oct or not wor.. but i have lost weight.. for sure.. and gynae was quite happy apparently. *i thought he was insane* haha.. then he said.. it just means tt u have not been indulging in sweet stuffs! hehe.. but still my baby gained 1kg in 3 weeks..(then he asked me if i have been eating lots of small portions of sweet stuffs or not) hehe.. so paisei..

got swelling on my feet i think.. but hopefully not lor..
chin: ur baby is 300grams more than mine. haha... but am definitely shorter than u. am only 1.55m. so gynae says i can't let my baby go bigger!!

i got BH contractions jus now.. it was so bad till i got to give up eating and go home.. so here i am lor. sigh..

as for the maid: i super super trust my mil's maid.. she is just too good to be true le.. i mean we were really close together lor.. and anyway.. she is very hardworking. plus.. got my fierce 'mil', u think a lot of things will happen ah? haha.. anyway. its for two to three days only.. hopefully nothing happens lor.. she really knows nothing leh.. can't help it lor.

helloo,

ChinLee, ur bb is growing well huh..

I dunno whether boy is engaged already or not..but these few days can feel him tickling near my groin. (ya, it's that low). They said engaged doesnt mean early birth. Active ladies and first-time mums will engage faster. I got a friend whose bb engaged at 34 weeks then gave birth only at 41st wk.

haha.. toking about head engage.. my baby is definitely not engaged yet.. hehe.. gynae also say i am too active le.. refuse to stay at home to rest though.... haha.. and he knows tt.. i have been visiting the toilets thousands of times!! mmm... said the baby's head is pressing against everything.. tts why like tt..

aprilpinky: how heavy is ur baby?

I dont know how heavy is my boy cuz gynae dont want to estimate as it's highly inaccurate like 20% off kind of thing. So later stage then will tell me. So far he only said size is ok.

Website said active mums easier to engage leh. U sleep/lie on the bed/sit on the chair whole day long is it? hahaha...

I visited toilet twice y'day nite. Bad. I think it's cuz of raining. Used to be once/nite for so long liao..

Hi Ladies...

Talking about remaining "Active", I wonder what the benchmark for "Active" is. Wanted to go swim today but had a really bad cramp last night that froze my right calf muscles. Painful neh...

Chin, great to hear your son is doing well. Maybe he's waiting for your husband to come back to get "engaged"?

Naughty, hey, you've got a date to count down to! That's fast!! All prepared? I read that we have to stock up 150 pcs of diapers for the first 2 wks! SO MANY HOR!

mm.. furryfurry: wonder if ya still awake though. haha.. i think its still ok for u to go swimming at this stage....

as for diapers.. am intending to go on half day cloth diapers/night time using disposable diapers.. so probably dun need so much lor.

sigh.. just came back from hb's parents side.. hb's fav rottie is gonna be put down soon.. am feeling like shit now...

wei wei.. good morning!

raining the whole nite... lucky my boy let me slept til now after the rain started at 1am last nite!

gals, any1 taking rice wine for ur confinement? do u know where to get it? MIL wanted to try to do it for me but i find it too troublesome n moreover i wanted to BF....

naughty, on the 19th... very fast lei! how doc indure har, stil natural birth?

venus, ya.. my friends told me that bb can use up to 6-8pcs a day for the 1st wk or so.
i bought 3pkts of 64pcs to standby....

morning all...

sexxy: the storm last night was huge...!! i think rice wine is alright leh.. u eat after bf lor.. by the time 3 hours is up.. think all gone le.. haha... as for how to induce.. can't help u in this topic wor.. i wouldn't know.. but i heard its more painful than natural lor.. sigh.. and yep.. its still natural birth.

venus: no..lah.. depends if u want to use it whole day kind of whatever lor.. if whole day.. try drypers lor.. anyway.. its cheap! something like what.. er.. 13 bucks for a pack of 64. tts a lot man!! if u use other brands like mamy poko or pampers.. think will urn big big hole in ur pocket lor. tts why am opting for half day use only. hehe

Good morning all!

Naughty, u didnt get any sleep huh?

Woke up twice y'day with menstrual-like cramps and was v worried and told hubby is that contractions!? Then came to office no more liao. *phew*

NTUC does sell rice wine I think ..as well as all the other major supermkt.

Hey..I only bought 2 packs of Pampers NB ok...scary..but also bought a big pack of NTUC diapers to standby. Oh Giant got promotion for M or L size pampers premium - 3 packs for $54++. A bit kiasu to buy now..hehe..but it's a good buy!

Morning ladies...

True..abt what Naughty said..how big the baby shld grow really depends on your frame..hubby and I are both big frame..so baby also big lah..but most of impt for all of us - is that baby is healthy! Not weight..it is just a gauge.

Furry - 150 pcs of diapers??!! Hmm..let me see - my friends told me that the baby can use up to 10 a day..so 2 weeks...140pcs..I think Furry is not too far off!! That's a lot! That's it - I am glad I have decided to alternate between cloth and disposable diapers...during the day and night, respectively.

Haiyah...hubby said maybe he will come to S'pore later..since baby is not going to be early..Hmmm.

Naughty,its actually good for us to swim right till the very end
Of course if we are in a good state of health la, just wondering when people mean "active", do they mean like 30 mins of excercise a day or what?

Venus, I read it on Babycenter lor...150 pcs for 2 weeks at least. My DH checked with his colleageus and they said its about there la...average 2-3 hrs change one.

We also bought 1 packet of NB only...someone told us to try Huggies, but I want to try the Pampers Premium one. Anyone knows what's the difference between NB and S? both denoted for 3-8kg babies leh...so I was wondering.

The guy from the maintainence office is here and is telling my DH that to repair the hollow parquet, he will need to hack it off! ALamak...ma fan...

Good morning!!!!

Rice wine is ok to eat because all the alcoholic contents will be gone once cooked and what's left will only be the taste. But if you are drink DOM, then must be careful. Drink right after BF and have a break of about 3 hours before feeding from the breast again.

I have only bought one packet of Mummy Poko newborn diapers cos baby outgrows it really fast!! Will stick with Drypers after exhausting it cos planning to use diapers 100% as I am not getting any help during my confinement so dun want to waste time washing, drying and folding!

How to induce huh?? I think the doc will put you on a drip with medication to get the contractions going and also puncture your waterbag. But yes, also natural birth.

Anybody experience having colostrum drops coming out of your nipple when cleaning or squeezing it slightly?? Mine started liao!!!

Just wondering if anyone has a comparable sheet of all the different brands and per piece pricing for diapers ah?

I've read pros and cons for each brand...so really not sure what to try ... some say Drypers will leak, some say no problems, some say the quality varies according to where it is manufactured.

Chin, if u intend to stock up, better stock up before coming back. Both milk powder and diapers are expensive here. We bought 35 pcs of Huggies NB at RMB 50 @ Metro Hypermarket. THink nearly double the price of than SG...spoke to a few other SG moms and they all ship or handcarry whenever possible

Morning ladies! It's Wednesday! only...

Naughty,
From what I remember from my classes... got at least 2 ways to induce... 1) put a pill inside the v, and 2) via an iv drip.

Furry,
Sure or not!?! 150pcs!?! *Faint* I only bought ONE packet of Mammy Poko NB and about 3 pkts of nappies! *Embarassed* Nvm... what's hubby around for? For running errands...

Kelly,
YES! Mine started abt a week ago, only tiny droplets. I think Meixue started many weeks ago! It's greyish and sticky... is that colostrum!?!

Hi furry,

I was using Drypers for my girl since day one when she was a baby. No problems at all. Leaking will occur when it's not fitted properly I guess. Cheap and good for me and easy to get as well.

But we definitely need to be prepared to change tons of diapers lor. Especially if you're BFing, the baby will poo poo about 5-6 times a day and that's excluding wee wee. So imagine the amount of nappies you need to wash!! Faint!!

Kelly..heard that it is good to have colostrum during late pregnancy is good..means your milk supply will be good right? For me, not yet leh. My doc told me yesterday to start massaging the breasts daily, and then squeeze slightly..and clean with cotton and water.

Furry - anything imported is exp in Shanghai..so I know that milk powder will be really exp! But diapers as well?..I saw that many of the diapers brands are made in China?? So expensive? Wow.

Dili_Mummy,

When it dries, then it's greyish and slightly sticky. But when "fresh" it transparent lor. Will be very evident during the first few days after birth if you pump it out as you will be able to see that it's thin and transparent. So many mummies are worried that their babies will not be full from it. But it's the most nutritious time to feed the baby lor.

Hi Chin,

I think so cos during my first pregnancy, mine started early too. And I had no problems with supply though I stopped BF very soon. Will try to keep it up as long as possible this time though.

Dili, think if do the math like what Kelly and CHin did, its about there...

I've no coloestrum at this point either...praying praying...

Chin, ya lor...my DH's staff has a website she buys from but its pricing is comparable to Metro's...so still expensive. Also read/hear that some crooks actually collect the used diapers, wash the cotton wool and actually repack and re-sell! Aiyo!!

Rainy day here in Shagnhai...nice nice...Hairy crabs are in season now..anyone likes them? Me not a fan...but my mom is so looking forward

Chin,
Can start massaging now? I thought massaging breasts before 37wks is not encouraged... cos it stimulates the uterus. What say the other ladies?

Furry - Yucks...reuse used diapers??!! Then again, there have been cases of fake eggs, fake instant noodles, fake milk powder...why am i still surprised? :p

Dili_mummy,

I am now at the end of Week 35, can consider 36 weeks already. Anyway, that's what the doc prescribed yesterday..and she did not seem concerned at all that my baby will come early..(since I heard massaging the breasts causes contractions..). From what I heard from friends whose babies have been delivered by her, she is rather accurate in estimating delivery dates. She told a friend a mine to go home and pack her bag at the end of week 36, and my friend delivered at Week 37. Anyway - to cut the long story short...maybe, can check with your gynae??

Chin, ya lor, China as long as can make money, everything pple also dare to do...I dun mind paying a bit more for diapers I guess..but if TBF fails, then better start the troops to lugg milk powder over :p

furry!
getting mine done at Wk 35... hopefully still no stretchmarks then! How was the experience? What sort of clothes (if any *wink*) did you prepare?

alamak think i get hb to buy if not enuff during 1st week..

colostrum..i dun have..nipple too dry and dun dare to massage now..

dili_mummy: not me for sure.. i seriously wouldn't want to be reminded in future.. how preggie i am today. haha......

aprilpinky: i slept.. but woke up a lot of times... and in the end.. its quite a disturbed sleep.. and had to wake up really early to get the maid to get changed and send her to my mil's place.. she is simply terrible in doing housework.. and i ain't got tt strength or patience to teach her.. so in the end.. gotta beg my hb to let me take her to his place.. to learn from his other maid(coz mil might not like it) hehe.. but when he called his parents.. his mother was apparently in a better mood and said ok! wah.. thank god.. sigh.. she better learn the things fast man.. am not expecting her to take care of the baby but at least must learn how to keep the house clean and fur free!!!

ahh.. i am officially in week 36 today le..

chin: share with ya.. hehe
By this stage, your baby doesn't have much room to roam. Your little one is so snug in your uterus that you may notice he doesn't seem to be moving around as much anymore. Don't be surprised if you see an arm, elbow or knee poking against the skin of your tummy as he stretches and squirms, though. His head may drop down into your pelvis ready for birth -- this is known as 'engagement' -- although some babies, especially second or later ones, don't engage before labour begins.

furry2 and dili_mummy, i also thinking want to do some shots..is it Angel Photography? How many shots are you taking? What are the charges like hah? funny, i was just thinking of calling them up today..

ooooooo. my curtains are finally in le!! haha.. what a long wait.. mmm.. now a bit regret not doing.. living room .. but anyway,, its quite costly to do up just the two rooms leh.. cost about 1k plus.. if plus living room.. 2k plus.. so.. step by step ba.. hehe.. anyway.. i dun walk into the living room tt many times anyway. haha..

Yeah nice weather but didnt sleep well last nite, woke up by the rain... super tired now after lunch!!!

Did u gals experience when you're sleeping... while u turning to diff side... your bb also flow towards the direction... then sometimes i can feel that my baby's hands, legs, bum or heads like all over my tummy... many BAH LU KUs popping out =P

Dili & Furry,
I did some pregnancy's shots on my own... Blouse unbuttom and revealling the tummy and tube top / bra with pants. Oh, my tummy so shining / got reflection in the photos... hahaha

150pcs of diapers on standby... wow dun scared me leh!!! I only bot 1pkt of Pampers NB and S size... hmm! Anyway supermarket nearby can easily purchase if really running out =)

Thanks, naughty..for the info.

Yeah - do curtains very exp in Singapore one...that's why I got my parents to do for me..they are in the biz in Malaysia..hee hee.

haha.. so good man.. dun understand why curtains can be so ex either.. sigh... but i figured.. no point in doing the living room one first.. coz we spend most of the time in the rooms.. hehe.. dunno.. see how first.. now a bit gian gian to ask hb to living room one also. mmm... am so tired.. waiting for hb to come home for lunch. hehe..

Chin,
China do very cheap and good materials as well...but nothing beats your own parents' biz la LOL ;)

Bluelips, I just went back to the same photographer who did for my wedding shots to do them. More for personal memory ... good thing I did cos now tums is riddled with stretchmarks so unsightly
Intending to hang 1-2 at my dressing room area

naughty..only thing is to take care to protect the baby's eyes (in case the sunlight is too bright) when baby is in the living room..ok?

wah..so late - still have not taken your lunch? better something eat light first while waiting..baby must eat also!

Furry - yes..of cos, cannot compare with China. The selection of household items and materials there is amazing...and so cheap!

Oh yes..stretch marks. I saw the beginning of them 2 days ago. Very sad - but nothing I can do..since I have been religiously applying SM oil since a while back. Now I believe what Mrs Wong at the antenatal classes said...nothing u can do ab them..no matter how much oil / cream u apply..if they wanna appear, they are going to appear anyway.

Sigh Sigh, i'm on MC today, running down with flu .. my 1st MC for this year. But yesterday didn't know that it was raining, had a good sleep due to the flu medicine.

chin: wah.. u sounded quite sianz ah.. actually the same thing will happen to me lor.. so am just waiting for them to appear only. tts all.. haha

chin: baby will be in the room mainly.. ba.. i figured.. but my curtains will be in for living room before cny tts for sure. haha

Chin, at least urs appear so much later...mine 1 mth ago show face liao...only thing my gynae can an wei me is to say can go for laser nxt time LOL ...

Good afternoon ladies...

Diapers- so much!!! Tat's means i need 300 pcs??? I only have 132 pcs of nb right now. I'm cheapo enough to 'beg' my colleagues to lug it back from Japan for me cos it's much cheaper there. Pampers preminum somemore. Wow, i think i need to use some cloths nappies in the daytime.

Naughty, I put down my dog (the pic i posted before) a few weeks ago. I cried one whole week for it. I still missed her sometimes....Haiz.....My hb brought her to the vet on my behalf, hb also couldn't take it...It's very painful to let go.