(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Dili Mummy ~ ni hui lai leh!!
kao_kiss.gif

MOrning ladies..

naughty.. it was during the first scan to measure the possibility of my bb having down syndrome dat my EDD was changed.. den after dat during my detailed scan.. another sonographer was questioning my menses date.. saying someting like my EDD was wrong or something.. but dat time too happy to c my bb n the gender dat i forgot to ask my gynae.. so i tink i will check wif him again during my nxt check up... coz my EDD was push earlier instead of later.. hee.. ya.. i've been resting for a while each day whenever i reach hm n haf a hot bath b4 having dinner.. so should b ok ba.. heh.. n i try to slp by 10 everyday, though i usually can't get to slp..

Chin, i tink mayb coz i've been staying at my mum's place n wasn't able to haf my anmum milk powder each day dat's y bb nt growing... kekeke.. I've been slping on my left side, though its nt really comfortable n causing me to haf difficulty in slping.. but i tink when i've gone into deep slp, i might haf turn to my right side to slp instead.. hahaha.. so i tink i will force myself to slp on my left more..
i'm also eating lesser den my normal portion tis days, but will get hungry after 1 to 2 hrs later.. so i'll normally take some fruits to ease the hunger as well..

Dili_mummy, thanks for the update.. glad dat ur hubby is back to share this pregnancy moments wif u.. hee.. enjoy urself..

hiyee everyone...
juz woke up.. sigh.. told hubby about my cramps last night... he just say.. 'oh is it'.. so poor thing!! think he's making fun of me more than anything else.. was a bit angry though!

when i said cramps.. its not pins and needles those kind.. its a very very sharp pain.. that will simply paralysed u!! argrgr.. moral of the story is... never go swimming alone.. now i understand why is it that ppl can get drowned when they have got leg cramps! in the past.. i always thought.. aiyo.. still can float what if got leg cramps.. *i've finally understand that the pain is really kinda unbearable. got another attack but not as bad in the morning.. was so stiff that i didn't dare to move. haha.

hi dili mummy!! welcome back.. we miss ya too! dun mia again hor!

Good morning ladies!

TGIF! Yup, the cramps can be eased by bending the toes inwards and outwards slowly a few times. Learnt during the classes. Hubby did that for me when I had the leg cramp some days ago. It worked.

Naughty, u r right..cannot move. After that, my lower limbs were painful for the whole day when I walked. It felt as if I have run for 2.4 km. haha.

welcome back dili!

Celtricia, EDD is based on first day of period but subsequently adjusted based on size of bb so maybe ur bb is bigger so they adjusted ur EDD forward

Good morning ladies! TGIF.

Celtricia, I was taking Anmun before I came back to Singapore...both baby and I were putting on a lot of weight. However, my doc advised me to take HL instead..so I switched to HL. I do not know whether there is any correlation .. but baby is now still gaining weight, but I am not gaining much...hmmm..just some thoughts.

Venus - were u sitting on my left / right? Please say hello the next time..easy for u to spot me, definitely difficult for me to spot u.

Good Morning Mummies,

I just came back from gynae's appt, hee hee! Finally get to see my precious one on tv again...! Was complaining to the Dr. about my leg cramp, sleeping cramp, dizziness, itchness lately... hahaha! He said pregnant woman many complaints one... Oops!!
309645.gif

Oh, end of the month I'm going for my Glucose / Diabetes Test cos' my dad passed away due to diabetes. Did anyone go for this test before??? Hmmm... heard have to fast overnite and take blood test every hours for 3hrs... scary man!!!

Clee, thanks for the tips! Will try to relieve my leg cramp by doing that next time... actually just now my Dr. suggested me to wear this 'special' stocking if we got frequent leg cramp specially for those who work in aircon. But i didnt buy la cos im not used to wearing stocking, my leg will perspire and pretty exp, hee!

But I bot this stretchmark cream from the clinic cos he said the one i used (PALMER which is make of coco butter) not so good. Anyway Ive stopped using that since my tummy itch =(

Aprilpinky,

does dat mean dat the last EDD they gave me is correct? so should i still check frm Dr Yeo?

chin, i used to take both HL n Anmum, but coz nw hubby only hm during weekends, so we stop buying HL milk liao.. tink i should start drink all the milk again.. heh..

Meixue, u having nausea back again??? Oh... i hate that feeling leh... izit true that during 3rd tri all yr morning sickness, nausea and tiredness will come back???

OOps Naughty, you making me confused mah cos u said run & sing... hahaha! OR I'm BLUR QUEEN here...
309649.gif

I think my bb also growing pretty fast cos Dr. said my stomach expanding quite fast too... hahaha! That's why he asked me whether I use any stretchmark cream anot during the scanning cos he said my tummy very shining / glow... ?
309650.gif

I think to make our bb grow most impt is our diet and enuf rest... eat healthy and nutrient! Try to take our supplements daily and drink milk, soy drink, eat fruits, vege, wholemeal bread more! But then of cos sometime we cant resist JUNK FOOD... hehehe!
309654.gif

yvonne: the blood gluccose test is to test if ur body can break down sugar in time or not.. how come u only do this test so late? should have done by week 15-16 le mah. tats also how i found out that i have got gestational diabetes.

Aiyah... hubby fly off again liao!! it's another 1.5 months wait...
hopefully he can still recognise me with big tummy when he comes back!!

hi everyone..

meixue, I was having nausea feeling also the whole of last week. But not as bad as during the first trimester. Was wondering also why it came back. But this week ok again, so I didn't bother.
I think you must try to rest more, cos after I slept whole day last week, then I feel better.

Am going for my checkup tomm also. Feels like very long didn't go already. I think my gynae will be shocked at my jump in weight. Think I put on 5kg in this month alone. Too fast, too fast...

Hopefully, is bb grow and not i grow onli..

naughty and aprilpinky, i onli get leg cramps when I walked too much and too long.
Already find it damn painful when it happen at night when sleeping. I cannot imagine if get leg cramps in pool. Must be really horrible. I think we must slow down and not exert ourselves too much now. Body alredy signalling must rest..*sigh*

Dili_Mummy, hw come ur hubby go overseas so often.. but u r in ur 3rd trimester areadi leh.. will he b able to b wif u during the last few weeks b4 u deliver?

Celtricia,
Yah, he got business overseas. Will come back 1mth before EDD... stay till after CNY. So very looking forward to next time he's back, cos gonna stay for few months.

Clarisse is a very nice name. I'm still struggling with names! Right now, calling her Baobei until we find a name for her! Waiting for inspiration...

hi everyone...haven't been here for quite awhile...my boss is driving me nuts!! work just keep coming in...

aprilpinky: EDD will shift based on bb's size? i just went for my checkup and bb is already 1.4kg at 28 wks! gynae said it's normal but i kinda feel he is abit 'big'...

Dili_mummy.. no wonder.. muz b quite tough for u when he's nt ard.. coz it is quite tough for me when my hubby is nt ard for only a week or more n b bak only on weekends.. hee. can't imagine wat's like for u when ur hubby is gone for mths.. OMG!!

Nmum,

Yup. Detailed test that time, they will check whether the EDD accurate or not based on bb's size. After that dunno whether gynae will check or not. But usu not v far off, maybe 1 or 2 weeks difference?

bluelips..5 kg per month is a lot! I also seemed to gain quite a bit in these 2 weeks. Suspect I gained abt 1.5 kg based on my not v accurate weighing scale which shows that my weight fluctuates every day!

dili: inspiration?!?! lol... keke tks.. clarisse this name chosen by her daddy.. i prefer eleanor.. but he doesnt like it.. :p

Hi hi...wah..the thread is moving so fast today. I've been the my apppointment this am, and everything is going well. Praise God

My weight gain has slowed, actually lost 200-300 grams as I had gotten "yellow card" warning for gaining too much too fast during the last visit. Midiwfe asked what I've been eating and I went on 2 weeks of salad, grilled salmon/chicken, fruits, cereal and soup - then started carbs on and off again last week. She was happy and said ok, healthy diet.

I'm supposing its true that when we eat healthy, the weight goes to the cub instead of us. Even though my over weight gain went down, but midwife exclaimed that my cub grew quite a bit.

Chin, me flying back on red eye tonight for the weekend. Going to KPO SG gynae tmrw am, just for "safe feeling". DH got meeting in SG on M and T then we're heading back here on Wed. Weather is nice now, about 26-27 degrees, think you'll like it now ;)

oh yes, b-wax, me went for my 2nd try yesterday and seriously nearly fell asleep. I think maybe the regrowth is much sparser so can't feel as much. Also the lady used this wax that turned into "solid" after a while, my gf said that's a name for it, but it really hurts less. Think I'll continue to go as it feels so nice and "airy" w/o the excess fur. kekekeeke

Dili, realized I never gave you the gender of my cub...female cub please!

Furry - Have a good flight back! Remember to drink lots of water, and move around a lot on the plane. I am assuming you are taking SQ..so should be an ok flight. Yes, my hubby has been telling me abt the nice weather there now...still, I am glad to be back here in Singapore...only thing is that hubby is not here now.

I am also taking my glucose test in my 28th week (ie next week). How was the blood test going to be like? Just pricking of finger? (I hope).

Venus - ya lor.. no choice wat .. hubby not in singapore until oct..everyone in my family works until quite late..and i feel bad imposing this on my friends. Sigh.

I have found more cozy pals for those who are still interested. They have Noni, Maxi and Lolli. However, there's a price difference. It's now going at $38 per cozy pals. The price is high I know but if anyone interested, please pm me. I am not earning any profit as I will show receipt for all to see.

I will order only if there are more than 10 interested. If not, I shall leave it as it is...

To know about Cozy Pals, Please go to this link

http://www.bbshop.com.sg/Prod_Info/Info-Toys/Bid.htm

helo mummies, most of us are approaching 30th week now, in fact myself is at week 30 and going to be at week 31 next week ..

went for my 1st pre-natal class last weekend and was told by the dietician to reduce the intake of ginger during confinement.

also was told by a fren today that not to take herbal tonics like DOM and hard liquor if we're intending to go for breastfeeding.

I'm intending to go for TBF, thus quite concern about food intake during confinement ..

but seems like traditionally, we need to eat lots of ginger & herbal tonics ..

anyone heard that rice wine will decrease the flow of breastmilk too?

please share your view. Thanks.

SusanY, I've indicated that I will like to take more fresh and nutritious foods vs those 'lor' or stewed things. But ultimately will leave it up to my mother who's not very into babycare and confinement anyway.

Chin, yup, on SQ flight, so should be ok dokie
somemore travelling with DH, lagi can "act blur" *giggles*

Ju, I did a glucose test today. Had to down 50g of glucose 1 hr before the test and took one or two tubes of blood (also ran the HIV test simultaneously). Ok la, not painful
Been trying to up my pain threshold hahaha ... self pyscho!!

Susan,

Mrs Wong advises less ginger now during pregnancy (cant rem the reason, not jaundice though..something to do with discomfort of tummy) but didnt say cannot eat during confinement. Oh for those with nausea problems, try chewing a piece of ginger. It helps

Personally, I think must eat and eat a lot of ginger during confinement.

As for wine, she said if it's cook usually will be evaporated already. As for DOM, always dilute and dont drink excessive. At night, drink little bit and go sleep is ok.

Furry, I have taken my HIV test liao. Already contributed 2 tubes of blood on my previous visits. :S

Both blood tests, I have my hubby with me. But this coming visit, he won't be around. No one to give me mental support. Sigh~

Ju - which blood test are u referring to? If it is the same one I just did yesterday, which was to check the level of red blood cells, then do not worry too much. It is just a prick of the finger..like an ant bite.

Chin, don't know leh. My gynae just told me that the next visit, we will do the glucose test and blood test is needed. Probably a prick on the finger.

SusanY,
Ginger has a slightly stronger taste than other foods... and goes to the breastmilk. Some babies can take it, some babies can't. If you find that baby is more irritable on days you take a lot of ginger, chances are she doesn't like it. BUT anything in moderation is fine.

DOM and alcohol... my TBF friend recommends (and I read on the net too) a little alcohol at night helps to calm the mother and help her sleep better. If you're drinking in large quantities, just make sure you wait at least 2 hours before you BF. I'm planning on taking a bit of DOM or red wine before bed while in confinement.

Hope that helps... what do the rest think?

Susan
Good that you've made up your mind to TBF. Do get your hubby's full support - it's going to be very tough the first 2 wks. I had to withstand parental pressures to introduce FM for my first girl, and would have prob given in if not for my hubby.

I was advised by my pd to avoid ginger and other tonics cos my girl had breastfeeding jaundice - it's a mild, unharmful jaundice that lasts up to 4-6 wks. For normal cases I think ginger should be ok in moderation.

Dili
I would prefer to avoid alcohol totally since it passes into the BM, and bb's gut is still immature. But if you take 2-3 hrs before you latch on next, should be quite safe

Chinlee
You going to be delivering in SG?

Good morning ladies!

TBF indeed needs a lot of support. I heard first 1-3 days v little milk but bb can "tahan" for 3 days and by the 4th day the milk shd come in. So we must also tahan the low supply of milk for the first 3 days cuz if we supplement with FM the supply wld decrease!

Not a fan of DOM (I dont understand how come it's so SWEET) but will still take it prior to bedtime.

Coral, jia you!
309862.gif
hope to hear great news fr u soon

Going for gynae's visit soon. Will update all of u
309863.gif

Hi All Good Morning...
309866.gif
im working today!!!

I'm allergy to alcohol (be it DOM, red wine or beer) dunno why my body and mouth will itch or swollen/reddish when i take. Sigh... last time i got no such problem. Dunno izit due cos i've stopped drinking alcohol for a period of time then my body cannot take it or due to hormone change at age!

haha... yvonne: u exaggerating ah... u very old mah? actually i can't drink too.. dunno why.. maybe its jus that ur body doesn't want to take it in...

Aprilpinky: do update us on ur check up...!!~~ enjoy the rest of ur day.

Naughty, Me not very old nor young also la! Sigh...
309876.gif

Have you gals survey on wat diapers/pampers good for newborn? So far I've heard that pampers premium and mammy poko not bad!

Then will u gals engage this malay massage lady during confinement? If yes, must book early cos i heard some quite POPULAR!!!

hehe... me going to use napkins in the day time to prevent nappy rash... and mammypoko at night... coz its me who is taking care of the baby at night.. day time.. napkins.. can ask maid to wash...(no nappy rash) if not very heart ache.. when ya see the private parts of buttock red and swollen plus painful...

as for milk milk... will be on tbf... if cannot.. then either stand by similac or enfalac.
tats my choice only lah i mean.. dunno about the rest of mummies though

Oh as for milk... i heard enfalac not bad!!!

Yup i will also let my bb wrap napkin in daytime and pampers at nite to save cost & prevent rashes, hee hee!

Yes - me also same as Naughty and Yvonne..planning to use cloth diapers during the day..more airy for the baby..and then at night, the dispoable diapers.

Many friends of mine also recommended Enfalac. Though Similac is a bit cheaper, I heard.

Girl - yes, I am delivering in SG - at TMC.

Enjoy your weekend, ladies!!

ps. From what I heard during the antenatal class, the thing to avoid during confinement+ breastfeeding is garlic. Ginger is fine..so are DOM (3 hours b4 breastfeeding) and rice wine (in moderation and cooked.

I read that Enfaclac is good, but also read from elsewhere that it has a metallic taste that some babies dont like. So i guess can trial and error. I'm intending to use either S26 Gold or Enfalac to supplement.

I intend to use PetPet diapers (heard it's cheap and good, $7.50 for 46 pcs at Giant) in the morning and Pampers premium at night.

Some of you ladies are already in the third trimester. (i'm the lastest Nov MTB, as EDD is 30 nov, so not yet in third trimester). How's the experience with third trimester so far? very tiring or not? Any new discomfort?

Dear Ladies,

I'm back from gynae's visit!
309916.gif

Put on 1.2 kg from visit 2 weeks ago and a total of 8.7 kg from start till now (end of 28th wk). Gynae didnt comment anyth abt my weight or size of bb but guess it means it's fine. hahaha.

Urine and blood pressure r ok also so I think no glucose test for me

"Complained" to gynae dont always give me pic of bb's head only so he gave me a joint pic of the head and a bit of the body. Showed us his birdie also..haha..so cute. Gynae said he always focus on head and heart cuz he's looking out for water retention and heartbeat.

I also asked him can give MC for discomfort towards EDD or not..he said after 36 wks cannot give MC liao..according to labor's law. All would be treated as antenatal leave..up to co to interpret which type of leave this wld be but likely to be ML!! So I have decided to work till v near EDD..bobian. I dont want to waste my precious ML!
309917.gif

I already bought pampers for new born liao at carrefour for $15+. Read fr other thread it's cheap so bought a pack first.

Meixue,

I can say for sure that it is more tiring in the third trimester than in the second. Can walk walk around a while..then need to rest. Also I get a bit breathless when I talk too fast...and I do not sleep well. I now understand why people say that second trimester is the best period...haha.. I almost forgot I was pregnant at times then.

But the upside is that you know it is your last lap. You can see the end of the journey when you will see your baby... and the baby's kicking more..and is more responsive. So that is the fun part.

Oh yes, I forgot to say.. I got the occasional nauseaous feeling even now..once in a while. Nothing too serious.

Aprilpinky - glad the check up went well.