(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Good morning, ladies...

Thanks, Rochelle, for all the useful bits of information.

good morning! just to share that I went OG last sat and saw that the prams are on sale. thought quite value for money. selling at $169/179, normal price was $200+.

has any one of u hear about how stress will affect the bb huh? i was wondering if my bb is moving less nowsadays because of the stress i have at work...

aprilpinky: tks for sharing all that u had learnt at the classes. my friend, who had already delivered, said she was in so much pain she don't remember to put to use what she had learnt during the lessons...hehee...i hope i will be more 'clear-minded' than her...

Good morning ladies,

Just woke up not too long ago. haha..

Thanks Rochelle for clarifying. Will check with Mrs Wong on that this sat cuz we wld be covering on bb care for the next 2 weeks.

Adel, I see...think positively lah, u will see ur boy v soon and end ur GD problem sooner. It's only temporary.

Nmum,

I'm relying on hubby to support and guide me (he has been attentive in class
) and the nurses wld be there also. If everything else fails and u cant remember anything, breathe deeping and slowly to calm urself down and also to relieve the pain. I'm a little less afraid of delivery after the classes cuz at least I know what can happen and to expect but still.....scared! haha...

Must be looking forward to the PH tomrw

Nmum, I also feel that whenever I am tired or stress, cubbie is much less active. DH claims that cos cubbie is also stressed/tired as well.

Thanks Rochelle for your tips...Its really hard to get a child to sleep by himself...esp. when we have visitors and well-meaning parents who will be with us the first 2 mths...hopefully I'll figure out a strategy by then..

Went to the NDP preview 2 Saturdays ago on the 30th with my girl girl. Wah lao... I was sooo tired at the end of it. Cos got to be seated by 5pm and the whole thing ended only at about 8pm. After which got to walk all the way to City Hall MRT station via City Link cos the roads are all closed. But I must say watching it live is sure different from watching from home. The parachute and F-16 performance is definitely great!! But this year's parade is quite boring cos there's a show of all the different military tanks, trucks and vehicles which lasts a good 15 minutes or so.

Would advise all to stay home and watch instead lah, cos it's going to be really crowded and with the big bulge, it's not easy to make your way around with the crowd.

Need some urgent advice for a Singaporean girlfriend of mine in Shanghai. She is now 6 weeks pregnant, and has started taking Obimin. The gynae there has forbidden her to take it - she said can only take in second trimester onwards, and Folic acid shld be limited to only 400mg. I did not consult a doc here in Singapore until Week 13 during which I was prescribed Obimin. I would like to find out from those of you who consulted a doc early in your pregnancy - in first trimester...when did u start taking Obimin, and how much of the folic acid?

My next appmt is in 2.5 weeks - so I think I better try to find out for my friend before that.

Hi, Chin! I went to see gynae when i was 6 weeks pregnant. He gave me folic acid only..i think should be 500mg tablet per day(better check with other mtbs here). When i reached 12weeks, he started give me obimin and the nurse told me just finish those leftover folic aicd, but take it once every two days as obimin also has folic acid. I think at the early stage, some vitamins if take too much are not good for bb, like VA....Hope this info helps....

hi ladies.. am back from work.. phew.. really tired from today's meeting. so shiok.. i bet some of u must have taken leave for today huh.. haha..

rochelle: thanks for the advice.

chin: i think the gynae over at china feels that its not necc to take the obimin at all. i mean if she is at six weeks... into pregnancy.. the baby's like a tadpole size still.. how much vits can the baby absorb? for my first trimester, i was told to take folic acid anyway.. so no big deal ah.. then second tri took multi vits plus calcium pills.. don't worry about the baby's development ... the baby can definitely absorb the vits and minerals from the food we mothers take. the reason why ppl.. take extra vits is probably.. either due to lacking it in their own body or probably all boils down to kiasuim after all..

u can check with ur gynae in 2 and a half weeks time as well.... i suppose they'll say the same unless... ur gynae wanna earn extra few bucks by promoting.. supplements or vitamins..(in my own opinion only). after all.. we mothers usually will buy or take whatever the gynae asks us to buy after all ma..
like the gps, a percentage of them turn to facial products as well to earn extra bucks.. but do they really works? no one really knows.. coz they are the doctors we supposedly trust, thats why we go to them. hehe..

Chin Lee,

As for me, I went for gynae's visit immediately at abt 6th wk also. Gynae gave multi vit and asked me whether I need folic. I said I do take it prior to pregnancy and he said just continue. The dosage is 5mg from Unity. Anyway, folic acid can be found in broccoli etc so shdnt be that bad? Multi vits will just be flushed out if not absorbed?

Sorry to interupt.

any mummies staying at punggol want to buy Pigeon baby wipe. Is the 84pcs in a pack. i bot the 3x84 pcs at $9.90
Willing to sell each pack (3x84) at $9.00
my girl is toilet train alry so not using much alry
interested pls email at [email protected]

Aprilpinky,

oil-based vitamins stay in the body so we have to avoid taking liver because that would be too much vit A for our baby.

water-based vitamins will be flushed out by our sweat and urine.

Err Rochelle, avoid taking liver?! I thot it provides a good source of iron. Anyway, I hate liver. And anyway, the vits which r provided by gynae are what based I'm not sure. All I know is, it's suitable for pregnant mums. hahahaha

Thanks to all of you for your response. I will just let my friend about the feedback. I can fully understand that it is normal to be a bit nervous about everything at the beginning...so just want to help her.

Hi nik, the pink tablets that i take are calcium only. Called calcium lactate 300mg. I do not take obimin or any other multi-vit. I'm only taking calcium, iron (sangobion), folic acid (400mcg) and fish oil.

Hi chin, in my first trimester, the gynae gave me multi-vit. but second trimester onwards, no more.

Thanks, Meixue, for the info.

Interesting how different gynaes prescribe different supplements at different timing...

Good morning ladies!

Just booked my Malay massage...still finding out more on whether she's good...but she told me that our delivering period is around hari raya (3 Nov) celebration period..Luckily my EDD is 14 Nov so shd be alright.

Any1 else got any recommendation huh? Went to the forum...only 1 or 2 names recommended...

I went for a Malay massage yesterday. It was good - cos her strength and technique were good. The place is at Cuppage Plaza (6th Floor). Name of Shop: Florima. Florima is run by 2 sisters - Effa and Emma. Tel: 62350582. Both very friendly ladies. Charge: S$50 for 1.5 hours. They were both featured / interviewed on TV recently. Both ladies are quite chatty, and will give u advice on many things regarding pregnancy.

Just one word of caution - Emma massaged my tummy. It did not feel uncomfortable, but she knew that I was worried abt her massaging my tummy. She said that she has done that for more than 25 years - no problems at all, so I shld just relax and not worry. And sometimes, docs even send their patients to her to massage and move the babies from breech to natural delivery position.

AprilPinky,

U brought up a good point. My due date is 3 Nov...that's the first day of Hari Raya, so may have a problems getting massage ladies around that time. ..does anyone know when do we normally do the post natal massages?

Chin,
Your massage lady sounds good. Think for C-section must wait for 1-2 mths after? not too sure how soon can start for natural...

Chin Lee,

The massage lady told me for her practice it's usually 5-7 days after delivery.

If ur due date is 3 Nov...may still be able to do it cuz after their celebration but if u give birth one wk earlier may have problems. She charges me $490 for 7 continuous sessions for a week.

Hubby also learn prenatal massage during the antenatal class, mainly on my back and hand to relieve blood non-circulation discomfort. I think it helps for me.

HI Chin,
Same as some of the MTBs here, my gynea also prescribe me with Obimin only in my second trimester. First Tri only took Folic... then once i start on Obimin, i was told no need to take folic acid cos Obimin has folic inside too
hope the info helps.

hi ladies, nowadays I've been feeling a terrible strain on the upper part of my tummy. Sometimes it's so uncomfortable until I cannot stand straight and need to lie/sit down/crouch over/bend. Do you ladies have this problem too?

Meixue,

No I dont have the strain on the upper part of tummy. I just had terrible backache at times but with massage on the back, it really helps.

Just back from Jurong watching the fireworks. A bit short but still v nice!

Meixue
The ache and strain that you might have been experiencing might be the womb stretching/getting bigger. I sometimes get a little strained ache at the sides too.

Aprilpinky
Backache- Definitely me! Think it's termed as sciatia ache for me as it's achy at my bum bone. Already walking like an old dame.

Nipple discharge- BTW, any mums experiencing dried discharge? Not too sure what it is as after bathing, when I rubbed my nipples, there were some dried stuff within the areola.

My tummy seemed to get suddenly bigger and heavier these few days, very uncomfortable to walk around.

April, I don't have any dried discharge. It should'nt be a problem to have dried discharge, right? means the colostrum is coming normally.

Morning ladies, how i wish we could have more holidays.

April, I have the same experience like you, happened quite sometime ago, the discharge has a rubbery texture but I just ignore it.

I have difficulty in tossing myself from side to side when lying in the bed, if I put my position at the wrong side, BB will kick me hardly, maybe not comfortable for her, then I must adjust myself many times to make her feel comfy. Sigh Sigh ..

Chin, I went to see my gynae only at week 6. He also gave me folic acid only. Then the next visit one month later, he started me on obimin. Been taking only that ever since.

Do you all only sleep on your sides now? I still find the most comfy position is lying straight on my back. So, middle of night always find myself move back to the straight position. Don't know whether ok or not..

Susan,

Boy will also "wriggle" about when I turn to the wrong side but sometimes I too lazy to adjust and he will adjust and stop his wriggling after a while. haha..me v bad hor. Will try to sleep on my left though cuz he's mostly on my right nowadays.

Bluelips, yes by Mrs Wong. Yup, she said she handles Wed & Thur also but dunno what timing. Sat whole day is by her.

venus, how hah? everytime read also say best to sleep on sides after the 4th month. But sleep straight still the most comfy. Guess if bb not comfy, will wake me up right?

Hi bluelips, Same same. i also end up sleeping on my back in the middle of the night!
Hehe... so i told my husband if he wakes up in the middle of the night and see my in this so-called incorrect position, pls push me lightly to make me sleep on the side. hahahahah

Bluelips, how i wish i could sleep like you by facing the ceiling but anyhow, tummy will feel stretch-out and not comfortable ler .. thot that stretching tummy is not good for us?

Aprilpinky, how do u know that your Ah Boy is on your right side - the movement is towards the right side, is it? I prefer to sleep sideway but after hearing the experience from Adel, I think I have to balance my sleeping position.

very busy at work.... only manage to read the last few postings...

Sleeping position:
It's still best to sleep on your sides. Baby is now at least 500g... imagine 1/2kg of weight resting on your major organs and reducing blood circulation! Try to get used to it girls...

Dry discharge:
April, I get it too... but very very little. I guess that's not a problem

Chin:
You baby's in the head down position already? that's great! if you hadn't had the scan, would you have noticed it? Mine's still floating around quite a lot.

hmm i also dunnoe how..try to sleep side.. but my boi will move and move too.. sing song no use.. scold also no use.. dun care so much..just sleep..

becoming like panda liao ha ha

Susan,

When I dont put my hand on my tummy, he always kick on my right then my right side looks a little bigger than my left so I suppose he's on my right? hahaha..

My boy is also in head down position during the last scan but we couldnt even tell until we asked the gynae then he told us casually and said it's v normal. No wonder I feel the harder kicks higher up..was wondering then how come his hands are stronger than his legs..hahaha..he's actually inverted. Looking fwd to my scan this sat..

I read somewhere that at the beginning of 3rd trimester, baby's head is supposed to be down, then in the mid of 3rd trim, bb's head goes up again, then down again at the final trim.

Week 26
Your babys developed oil and sweat glands are now functioning. His fingernails, toenails, eyebrows and eyelashes are now fully present and will continue to grow until birth. The fetus can respond to sound and can hear you and those around you. Although we assume that the uterus is a quiet place, the baby has been surrounded by noise for a long time. Things like your heartbeat, digestion, other body functions and external noises are heard by the baby. In fact, you may feel the baby jump at a sudden noise. Your baby is now about 14 inches and weighs a little under two pounds.

The uterus also allows some light to be seen so your baby is aware of light and dark. Your babys skin is wrinkled and translucent and may have a reddish color due to the presence of dermal blood vessels. Veins are visible through your baby's skin, although it is quickly changing from transparent to opaque. The following months will see increase in body fat. The lungs continue to mature with the development of air sacs and begin to secrete surfactant (a substance that will help your babys lungs expand at birth. At this stage of development the various organs have formed. About 4 out of 10 babies born now may survive (with intensive care services).

Week 27
This week marks the beginning of the third trimester. The retina, which is important in the reception of light images, develops its normal layers by the 27th week of gestation. These layers are important in receiving light and light information and transmitting it to the brain for interpretation. Your baby's skin is very wrinkled from floating in water. This will stay this way until a few weeks after birth as your newborn fills out into a baby. Your baby is about 14.5 inches long, and weighs over two pounds.

Week 28
The eyes are partially open and can perceive light. Your baby's eye lashes and eye brows continue to grow and subcutaneous fat is deposited. If you have a baby boy, his testes will probably begin descending. About 9 out of 10 babies born now will survive with intensive care services and the help of medical technology. Your baby is almost 15 inches and weighs over two pounds.

hi mummies!! i had a long day at work today.. so didn't log in till now.. mmm...

susan: just make sure u balance ur posture.. dun sleep too long on each side... must balance and maintain good posture to keep the aches/pain from coming.

mummies, do u all know why is it that my stomach is painful? mmm.. i have this feeling since 5plus.. cannot walk or stand. must sit... its juz pain.. not aching.. argrg..

oh yea.. i also went to kkh juz now. friend gave birth to twins.. so cute.. both weigh about the same.. 2 plus kg.. hehe.. her gynae said.. its a good thing she can manage to keep the babies till 37 weeks le.. usually on the 34th week.. babies will want to come out le. mmm... so mummies.. who are carrying twins... rest well oh!!

So tired.. after a long day out. Just wanna curl up in bed and rest now. I also get a strain on my lower tummy, just above the pelvic area ..if I walk too much. Back aches - I get them on some days..sometimes, even at the bum area! Anyway, massaging definitely helps! For all of you who can spend most of your pregancy months with hubbies, appreciate it!! I only get to see mine (and hence get the massages) once in a while, since he is overseas... So I tell myself - I should go for the Malay massages lah..

Dili Mummy,
Actually, I did not know that the baby was inverted until the doctor told me. I did wonder why the kicks / punches were getting stronger at the upper stomach.. now I know it is my baby's legs...

I can see my tummy jerking at around the belly area, don't know if BB is in inverted or breech position.

Just booked a Malay massage lady. She's charging $40/session/1 hour and paying additional $15 for the binding cloth. She travels all over Singapore.

Hey there,

same here, also can see my tums jerking a lot...esp after food. Think my cub is one food lover
Also not too sure what position the cub is in...though I've been feeling a lot of pressure on my right perinal (sp) area from 2 days ago. Hopefully the scan end of this month will show that cubbie's turned and not adpt to move about like Chin's good boy!!

Chin, must teach us how you got your son to be so guai...