(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Susan,

I read in a book that detailed scan is highly recommended cuz it's v comprehensive if done properly and it's the scan that every MTB shd do if she can only do one scan in her pregnancy

Celtricia, eat more prune lah. Yesterday I had a packet of apple juice, went to toilet within half hr. hehe...

Why pregnant ladies cannot eat papaya? I have been eating at least once a week leh..heheh...cannot be jaundice right?

Aprilpinky,

i bought 1 packet of prunes.. n eat half a packet also can't leh.. heh..

papaya can cause jaundice mah.. dat's wat i heard frm my mum..

Hi, Dili mummuy, Mother en vouge did hv a size chart the last tims I surf their web leh, I think under cust service/assist. Ya, like you I'm a "s" so only manage to buy 2 dresses fm them cos many other sales/non-sales but nice item no size. Their new shipment in a month's time. But non-sale item can be vy ex and I think not worth it.
For the last 2 days bb never moved, I was so worried that I cried when hubby called me this morning, (worry cos I've been throwing up vy badly last 2days til sore throat). Then bb started moving after I cry. So funny, at this early age it knows how to reassurr mummy liao.
Tmrw scanning again, but doubt gynae will bother to check gender for us. He doesn't believe in it...So no shopping yet.

Celtricia, I was told by doc that eating lots of fibre but not drinking enough water won't help bowel movement cos the fibre bulk just clog up the system too, so the trick is to eat your prunes and drink water. Even if you drink prune juice, try to drink more water to help movement, too.

Aprilpinky, feel that my gyane is actually doing almost the same thing like what the sonographer is doing, just that the sonographer has a better report printout.

Aprilpinky, today is the 1st day of my 20th week too..that means our due date very close hor..

Funny u ladies shld talk abt constipation..me just had a real bad case the last few days. One of the worse so far..finally got some relieve today after eating all sorts of fruits.

I got the same advice on the papaya too, not suppose to eat a lot, though i can't remember why..

Bluelips.

Yup, shd be. My EDD is 14th Nov.

Mum said nearer to date of delivery maybe dont eat papaya and curry stuff cuz of jaundice but she actually didnt care also. Other than that, papaya is not heaty or cooling, rich in vit C also. Hence, I dont c any harm in eating.

Yah celtricia, maybe switch to prune juice lah. Water plus fruit all at one go. That shd do the trick. Just had 1 apple and 1 mango plus one packet of apple juice in the morning. You all can imagine how much fruits I actually stuff myself with. hahaahaa..

Susan, let me lift from the book that I was telling u all abt. Basically it says FA scan can have lots of valuable info abt ur bb and it can be in 3 broad categories:
-Fetal biometry measurements and position of the bb and placenta
-detection of ultrasound markers of chromosome abnormalities and
-detection of structural defects in the dvmt of the major organs of the bb e.g. brain, face, neck, spine, 4 chambers of the heart and outflow tracts, lungs, abdominal wall, stomach, kidneys, long bones, umblical code insertion etc. etc.

So it's v comprehensive.

<font color="0000ff">as @ 27-Jun-05</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender/Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>Morraine</TD><TD>18/10/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clee</TD><TD>01/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chin</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tidy Fairy</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower_26</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SusanY</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veil</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>07/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emm</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June</TD><TD>10/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>HappyMum</TD><TD>12/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nmum</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluelips</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Woofy</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilpinky</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coral</TD><TD>15/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FurryFurry</TD><TD>17/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ju</TD><TD>20/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeddie</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTC2nd</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dili Mum</TD><TD>24/11/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jac</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie&amp;Jillie</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Fat</TD><TD>29/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nik</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meixue</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>04/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sexxy</TD><TD>12/12/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JeslynLuvRenee</TD><TD>07/12/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris</TD><TD>10/12/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonbell</TD><TD>11/12/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>14/12/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>18/12/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>27/12/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

legend
<font color="0000ff">ESH - Eastshore Hospital, MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, RH - Raffles Hospital, SGH - Singapore General Hospital, TMC - Thomson Medical Centre</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect, not up-to-date or left you gals out!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Coral,</font>
I find the shipping costs quite ridiculous... but I really like the basic tees. I'll have to really look at the pcs I like and tally them up to find out if it's really worth it. Thanks for the recommendation! You've put me in a shopping mood!

Also Coral, my bb didn't move an inch yesterday and I was getting worried. But bb's hyperactive today after a good rest! I read that it's not accurate at this stage to monitor movements... it's better done after 24-28weeks. So don't think too much and just get lots of rest.

<font color="aa00aa">Yahoo Auction</font>
Anyone bought anything from Yahoo Auctions before? (Singapore or International?) Are the sellers reliable?

Dili_mummy, i used to sell and buy things from yahoo singapore, things like handpone, PC parts, movie tickets and vouchers etc.. i think most of the user there is quite ok...you may check their rating and others' comment before bid the item.

Nik, now i have details about TMC's hospital tour, Monday to Firday at 11am, 2pm, 5pm. Saturdays at 11am and 2pm, You can call 62502222 for more info.

I still cannot feel any bbs' movement, maybe it's still early at week 17

Wow, there're so many upcoming newborns on 3 Nov!! Dili_Mummy, thanks for adding me into the list.

Aprilpinky - thanks for sharing the info .. but hoh, I think I've been 'cheated', no report/explanation from the sonographer for :

-Fetal biometry measurements and position of the bb and placenta
-detection of ultrasound markers of chromosome abnormalities and

Only report on :
- detection of structural defects in the dvmt of the major organs of the bb e.g. brain, face, neck, spine, 4 chambers of the heart and outflow tracts, lungs, abdominal wall, stomach, kidneys, long bones, umblical code insertion etc. etc.

which all these were shown by my gynae during regular check-up ...

coral,
I've been eyeing the maternity tops from maternitymall for some time
Couldn't find something similar in Sg maternity shops yet. Nearly bought it online, until I discovered that the shipping is US$40, quite ex if I just wanna buy a few pieces, eg <5.

Dili,
I think most of the buyers &amp; sellers at sg yahoo auctions are quite ok if their rating shows 'good'. I sell my books there.

ah fat,
I think it's after giving birth, papaya soup is one of the confinement dishes that helps in producing more milk esp for bf mothers.

sorry to interrupt..
anyone want to buy sarong net?
i have 2 sets of sarong net (green &amp; blue) for sales. use for 1/2 time only.
selling off at $5.00 per pc
interested pls send email to me at [email protected]

<font color="aa00aa">SusanY,</font>
No need to thank me lah, just "lift a finger" job! keke...
Regarding your experience with the FA scan... just forget it lah, remember what's impt is the outcome... bb is normal and doing well! So, don't feel cheated abt the scan anymore...

<font color="aa00aa">Yahoo Auctions,</font>
Thanks for the assurance! I've never bought anything 2nd-hand before, found a few lovely items but don't know how to go about bidding! There's always a first time!

<font color="aa00aa">Papaya,</font>
Just like what Chin always says... anything in moderation. Just make sure you don't gorge yourselves with papaya/pineapples. Have a good mix of different fruits... like this you're sure to get all the goodness.

hi dili_mummy

how are u? still remember me from ttc?
u right the sarong net is teh net use for yaolan sleeping can see thru and more airy type

Yes wendypooh, yah lah, I remember you.
I still haven't thought of whether to let bb sleep in sarong net... hee... so cannot take up your offer lah, although it sounds attractive. Thanks!

Good morning ladies,

Today is a wonderful day for me cuz I'm on leave! AND going to c bb later! hahaha..

Susan, dili is right. As long as bb normal ok already.
One of my friend's gynae didnt even go for any scan throughout her pregnancy. Only HIV blood test. She's giving birth soon. I think as long as we have gone thru the necessary scans we shd be assured.

<font color="aa00aa">Papaya again!</font>
Forgot to add one point... make sure that you only take ripe papayas (as opposed to unripe yellow/green ones) cos unripe papayas contain a substance that will stimulate the womb. RIPE ones are fine...

Dili mummy..
I buy more than I sell on yahoo auctions.. Think it's ok, but just have to be discerning.. I only do transections with people with good ratings and only opt for registered mail.. Also I only purchase items with pictures and are relatively new or totally new.. So far no problems at all..
Bidding is not too difficult.. The FAQ is quite comprehensive..

HI Dilimummy and joyful, too bad didn't ask you gals before hand cos I just paid US70 last week for my order and cold hv accomodated another US100+ order without increasing the delvery bcharges. Now I also regret not ordering more as, I'll hv to pay extra for delivery if I order again.But well, I guess I hv enuf clothes to last thru the maternity esp when I'm on bed rest most fo the time.

On papaya, the lactation pro say that after child birth we can drink half-ripe papaya cooked with fish and peanuts to increase milk supply.

Hi all!!

Wow.. long time not in.. and the posts soo long..LOL

RE:<font color="ff6000">papaya</font>

ermmm I don't really like papaya.. for the taste n smell I think...

Papaya soup...
What sort of FISH???

Dili..

a few days away!! soon you'll also know the gender of BB..

Dili_Mummy &amp; Aprilpinky - yeah, glad to know that BB structural scan is alright but still not satisfied with what I've paid versus the service rendered by the sonographer, so that's why I said that I've been 'cheated'.

I've got a problem here... see who can help me solve!

1) MIL loves to cook, she has bought confinement cookbooks!
2) HB wants to hire a confinement lady
3) MIL wants me to do confinement at her place
4) Not convenient for my family members to go to her place to visit me and bb during confinement. Very far
5) MIL super nice, so feel bad at rejecting her

They all look quite harmless right? Put all the points together... you'll see my problem! sigh... got reward for whoever can make it win-win.

Natalie, read the advice in young parent baby, they did not specify the type of fish.

Dilimummy, I had same problem. Then got hb to tel mil that we never knw if I'll need c-sect so hv to employ confinement lady early if not too late to employ close to delivery date. Thus, it's inconveneint for us to stay over if we hv confm lady. So arrangement is for mil to drop by whenever she wants and she's always welcome if she wants to do the cooking or to help care for bb. If mil is a vy nice person, she'll understand.

Dilimum,
looks like u are really caught in a fix there... if I were u, i will hire a confinement lady, then MIL can cook confinement dinner for me if she dun mind and at the same time, my family members can come visit me.

sigh... for me, i also sian. My parents-in-law moving in with us.... MIL doing confinement, but i dun think she can cook a lot of confinement food, so i get my mum to cook confinement dinner for me
but mum also hesitant about coming to our place cos in-laws move in with us... sigh....

Dili...

I agree with coral...

Like my labour for No.1 was 36 hours so i did not need those gingery things etc etc... as I was heavily water rentented...TCM said my proes not open.. all water logged...

Besides also very low blood..lack iron etc etc..

I agree with Coral.. let MiL know you are thankful for her concern.. but it'll be best if you'd stayed back at your own place as more convienient and also baby's things and cot all there..furthermore the planning for the baby celebration one month more convienient too.. Can't wait till 4th week then rush home and plan everything!!

ermmm otherwise also say you may have to check into work via internet from time to time..

Hubby is right also.. if can get him "pak kat" say can't run back n forth and also need to do remote access to work from home.. so can't keep running back and forth to MIL's place etc etc...

Dili mummy,

U can suggest ur MIL to move in to ur house or come to ur house everyday to supervise the confinement lady.. tell her u dun wan her waking up at night for the bb, interrupted sleep, too taxing. she can still cook for u if she wants.

My situation different:
- No one wants to move in with us..haha!! cos all say no confident can take care of bb.
- MIL, mom and HB say must hire confinement lady.
- Asked like 15 conf ladies already, all kena booked out in November. Finally found one yesterday. Phew!!! So, if u are looking for one, better start early..cos really hard to find one, especially those recommended ones.

BTW, does anyone know how much angpau to give the confinement nanny? I know suppose to give one at start-of-work and end-of-work..but dunno supposed to give how much..
kao_confused.gif

susan how much u pay for the scan??

me different from u ,dili and manuka..

i actually hoping i have confinement lady but hubby say his mum do for me..but hor..my FIL is a heart disease patient.. if anything happens, den me how?? must think of plan b liao..

den if MIL do confinement for me, i prefer my own place cos if go over to her place, like that i cannot get used to stuff and so ma fan to bring stuff to and fro..

Nat, specialist centre is it the one got john little one?? I sounded very mountain tortise hor!!!

Dili, r u comfortable in getting a confinement lady? I also suggest tat u should have confinement at ur own hse, so tat ur parents won't too paisey when they come over to visit u even if ur MIL is doing the confinement.

Right now, i still dun noe who is doing my confinement. My hb always said it's too early to talk to his mum. Though i have backup(my mum)but hb dun wan me to bring the bbs to her place(cos she've got 4 dogs). Hb still dun wan me to try to breast-feeding. He very kay poh hor.

V neck tees... I think Spring maternity has them.

After reading all the confinement problems, I felt like posting mine too... hee...
I've 2 options:
(a) My home. I stay with my mum &amp; hubby. Mum says no confinement lady! She won't want a stranger to stay with us nor use her kitchen. She'll take care of me, bb &amp; do the hsework, but she has no experience in taking care of bb. Most imptly she's in her late 60s liao, so maybe too tiring for her.

(b) Parent in-law hse. Maid is experienced &amp; will take care of bb. MIL will supevise as she already has 2 young grandchildren. But afterall, not as comfy as my own hse, &amp; gotta bring my barang-barang over.

Haiz... wat to do? All ye experienced/wise mtbs out there, any advice?

nik...
yah yah!! that's the one!!!

re: Cf..MILs n Mums..

sigh.. brings back my horror days of CF w my MIL..

I made the grevious mistake of staying at her place.. first of all her place very very hot 3 roomie.. the toilet soo small and communal..no hot water to wash up after esp with episotomy...

secondly..she knows nothing of looking after bb but yet gave un-warranted advice..

If not for the ladies of my other support group that we sms back n forth even wee hours of morning I breakdown liao!!

call me pampered.. but I had a tough time...firstly..not comfortable living in someone else's house and eating someone else's prepared food..

NO.2-

my options..

Plan A

Stay PUT in comfort of own home..
order confinement food if my labour etc normal..
get a pt maid to help out with household chores.. i.e come day time..carry bb a while and then let me take a break.. or come stay the nights for the month.

Plan B

STILL stay put at home...lao Yi's BB sitter cook confinement food for me.. hubby drive n deliver lunch and brings dinner when he brings Matthew home. In betweens I can do myself!! And the Pt maid drops by to do washing etc etc..

For me, my mother will do the confinement for me at my own home. As i stay just a few blocks away, she can come over everyday to take care of me and the baby. She will quit her job and thereafter take care of the baby when my maternity leave ends.

Hi dili-mummy, can u revise my EDD to 30 Nov? thanks!

any stay-at-home MTBs here? How do u all spend ur time? I plan to take unpaid leave until I deliver as my job is simply too stressful and tiring.

I think the stay put at home is good advice. U will be comfortable and have all the things handy.

Ur confinement time supposed to be for recovery..plus bb already veri stress. Don't need more external factors(adjust to new place, cookings, ppl) to add to the stress. Most impt, must stick with wat u are comfy with lor.

But i hear a lot of stories b4 from frens on MIL not really experience with bb but offering lots of advice..and if u dun listen, go complain to HB..sigh!

Natalie.. same conditions in MIL place..
1) no aircon
2) got hot water in both bathrooms
3) onli one bathroom has toilet bowl and the other is squat type.. am i going to fight with FIL and SIL over bathroom??

Meixue, I've been staying at home/hospital all these time cos doc impose bed rest. My case really boring. Read books, surf net during day. Watch TV at night. Planning to get unpaid leave soon cos using up my medical leave liao. But not sure if company allows, if not I'll be jobless soon. Meixue, your company is open to the idea of you going on unpaind leave from now?

Other than worries abt cfm time, i'm also worried abt who's taking care of bb if I start wk. MIL wants to do that but she's rather blur and clumpsy. Within this year shef fell once and poured boiling water on herself once. I hear already also can trust her. But really dunno how to reject her. I don't dislike her, but just worry about safety of my bb.I hv such a hard time during pregnancy, thus don wish bb to experience any bad things after its born...

Venus...

SQUAT TYPE?? better not wait tear stiches or something like that!!

Besides in case C-sect then really need space to manouvre about.. Ehh my butt not that small.. kekeke

Short sharing-
my MIL place so hot (got aircon but cos old wives tales no fan no air-con) till my son rashes!! blocked nose and refused to latch on.. finally Jaundice..

Blue_lips..

I totally agree with you!! I learn my lesson...
When BB is with us easier to adapt..imagine already born out the world so foreign and for 1st month getting used to it then suddenly in unfaniliar surroundings again!!

Meixue..

What do you do if don't mind me kaypo kaypo aksing... :p

Coral..

can imagine how you feel.. like just waitng around to give birth...how about doing some art work things?? Like scrap booking or cross stitching??

About MIL.. sigh..know they mean well but sometimes they put their finger in the pie too much.

I'm not afraid of long labour but afraid of CF..

The elder pple at home vy padang don allow me to do much on bed and I'm confine to bed. Remember tying this plastic bag on bed and kena scolding... So me now like veggie. Vy unhealthy, afraid I'm going to hv a diff labour since I'm so inactive.

Hello Ladies,

Went for my FA scan today. Wow...my appt was 2 pm...I just reached home not too long ago. It's all abt waiting and waiting and waiting.

Today v happy, finally c my bb moving cuz they finally turned to the screen to me and kept still the sensor. I saw him (confirmed it's a boy) waving his hand (with 5 distinct fingers) and hubby said he also said the bb putting the hand into his mouth. hehehehee..v active. BB was also stretching his hands upwards as if yawning. At first cant examine the heart cuz bb is lying face down then the examiner asked me to turn to the left side (cuz bb is more on my left) and bb really turned with me so can at least c the side view.

Asked abt 3D scan. TMC doesnt have yet but soon will have. The charges is scary! If it's taken successfully, it's $200! If not, will need to pay $50 also. Shd be taken after 30 weeks or else bb's face so wrinkled also not nice.

Celtricia, so sad didnt get to c u today. How's ur scan?

Gynae also let us hear the bb's heartbeat upon our request today. It sounded like pong pong pong pong pong pong...hehehe...gynae said abt 160 beat per min. V fast.

I cleared my triple blood test too

Congrats Aprilpinky.

Me going for scan tonite, not sure if bb and gynae will cooporate. Gynae is experienced so he vy fast see everything he wants to examine while hb n I still trying ti fiigure out what's what, he already say ok...

The 3D scan at TMC sounds reasonable compared to GlenE and Mt E. I asked them and it cost 300+ to do just one scan.

Coral..

hope for tonight's scan all A-OK.. then no need bed rest.. perhaps can "graduate" to sitting at table or something...

Pan tang.. yes... aren't they ALL??