(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

OMG!!! I found a list in another thread... don't faint ladies!!! I think alot are just "good-to-have" items. good as a reference anyway.

BEDROOM/HOME/TRAVEL (main/bulky items)
-baby cot
-firm mattress
-blanket
-pillow
-baby wedges
-musical mobile
-waterproof mat (for changing nappies)
-playpen
-baby chair
-car seat
-pram/stroller
-baby carrier (sling or otherwise)
-bouncing chair
-high chair
-extra bedsheets
-a few receiving blankets for swaddling newborn
-soft hat for newborn
-baby monitor

FEEDING RELATED
-breast pump (manual/electric)
-milk bags
-milk bag clips
-nipple cream
-nipple shield
-bottles (and teats)
-Steam steriliser
-sterilising tablets
-formula milk
-bottle cleaning detergent
-bottle brush

BABYCARE / GROOMING / CLEANING
-shampoo
-bath tub
-diapers (disposable or otherwise)
-diaper cream
-nappy pins
-nappy liners
-wet wipes
-baby oil
-baby lotion
-baby powder
-changing mat (portable / home use)
-wash cloth/sponge
-nail clippers/scissors
-thermometer
-baby laundry detergent
-baby bath
-bath towels
-face towels
-soft handkerchiefs
-baby hair brush
-cotton buds and cotton balls
-Abdominal Binder for baby
-Diaper cover
-Diaper bag
-Soother/Pacifier

Rochelle,
thanks for all the advice, it's v useful!

I think I'll like the one-hand fold pram, sounds really convenient. And I'll get it after bb is born. Do you think it's ok to carry new born bb in a sling? Not sure because new borns are so fragile...

Dili,
the way you describe your hubby is so funny
he must be a sports car fanatic lah. Just a thot, will he name your bb after cars? kidding... Read in the papers that Taiwanese singer Richie Ren Xian Qi named his daughter after a sports car.

Joyful,
What to do? Our financial situation now doesn't allow a splurge of $1k on stroller and car seat lor!!! and no lah... he's not into uncommon names... so we won't have a ferrari or an evo!

Wow..this morning's thread is v exciting. Had a good lunch just now. I also dont have much appetite during dinner. I suspect might be MIL's dishes too bland. But then for health reasons, I shdnt be complaining it's just that now pregnant sometimes really cant take in her dishes.

I bought avent bottles during metro baby fair some time back. Didnt think of the weird shape. See cheap then it says feeding bottle for b-milk so v happily buy. haha..now come to think of that maybe will just buy a big steel pot to sterilise the milk bottles. More flexible, cheaper and more importantly my mum v used to this kind of traditional method of sterilising.

Dili, the list looked horrifying!! I think I will buy the essentials and go buy somemore if really required.

celtricia, my appt is 2 pm after lunch. Your 11 am appt is for the scan then later go gynae there right? So maybe will drag until noon. Or else we wont be able to meet. Maybe at the entrance only. haha. You going back and I going to see doc.

My weight also fluctulates a bit nowadays. I thot I gained 1 kg then later went back to initial weight. Last wk weighed at doc's clinic. Gained 600g for 16 weeks. ha!

Joyful,

Forgot to tell u that I saw a thread here selling 2nd hand medela pump for $80. Not sure comes with what. You can go and see the details.

The full package with bag etc is >$200 I think.

Hi MTBs
Not been posting for some time, but still occasionally reading posts....

Chris/Nik
Congrats! Do have lots of rest... I'm sure it must be more tiring having twins

About breastpumps....
An avent pump is probably sufficient for a SAHM, since you'll be latching on more often.

There are a few types of Medela pumps. The hospital grade pump is the Pump in Style (PIS), retail price is $699, but I got it on sale previously at a Robinsons sale, so paid $530 for it. Find that it's really good, and actually by BF till my girl was 13 months, I saved more $$ that would have been spent on formula milk.

The other types are either a single electric or dual electric. General feedback I've heard is that they tend to be quite noisy. An alternative is the Ameda Lactaline, which is a dual pump costing abt $300 plus.

Aprilpinky
Same here, I will be sterilising the milk bottle the traditional way too. You got a great deal for the Avent ISIS!

Hey Jeddie & Nik
I have a furkid at home too. She is a silky terrier mixed which my mum found on the street. She has been with us for almost 1.5 yrs now. I think with bb at home, I will need to vacuum the floor everyday and mop more frequently to get rid of those flying fur.

Talking about carseat. Do we have to buy one specially for infant and another one for a toddler? Or is there a type which can be used for all ages? I bet it is going to be ex.

Hi laides,

Honestly, the list doesn't look very scary!! I actually do have a compiled list based on my experience. But the list doesn't include nappies and nappy liners cos I don't intend to use it.

Have fun!!!!

mime_msexcel.gif
Newborn Essentials
Newborn Essentials.xls (15.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Ju,

Actually they do have those that can be used from newborn right up to about 4 years old. But those are pretty bulky but limited space for the kid once he grows bigger. So whether it can last till your kid is that old really depends on his size as well.

Point to note though is that you should never place a baby in a car seat on the front passenger seat as it's very dangerous regardless of whether the car comes with an airbag.

Hi Ju

Its been geat having furkids....they bring us so much love and attention....

Think we'll just have to be more hardworking and clean the house more often and take care of the hygiene....i always believe that babies and furkids can co-exist...but my mum is worried though.....

venus.. hw to go see see n dun buy.. difficult lah.. especially since we ladies got shopping spree 'genes' in us.. hahaha.. hw to resist!!? kekeke..

Aprilpinky..

oh! ur appt at 2pm ah.. hmmm.. ya lor.. den mayb only get to passby each other at entrance.. hahaha.. hopefully the scan doesn't take too long... n can c Dr Yeo after dat b4 they go for lunch.. heh..

my weight still remains d same leh.. no gain no lose... haiz..

dili,

yes, the list is ridiculous. alot of things are kiasu to have and not need to have.

I am using a three-wheel jogger (brand is Graco and is almost $400) for my boy so if you and your hubby wants to come and take a look during weekdays let me know.

joyful,

its okay to carry a newborn in a sling but it is actually easy to carry a newborn using one arm.

diaper bag,

the hospital would usually give diaper bag as well as goodies like baby oil/shampoo/bath/powder/milk powder dispenser.

baby monitor,

dont need because when your baby cries, the whole house can hear (including your neighbour)

mattress,

I am using the babysafe latex mattress becos scared of SIDS so rather spend more money.

pillow,

my baby's pillow is the green bean skin filled pillow. me and my MIL handmade one.

I am back after a long time.. been feeling not too good, always throwing up , feeling nausea and headache... scary like my first preg. but i still followthis thread as its really interesting. i was reading abt u gals talking cot, pram n breast pump
. I would like to share my experience.

My gal used her cot for less then 3 mths. Becoz I was TBF'g her, i find letting her sleep with me easiest for me. She woke up every 2-3hr for night feed until she turn 1yr+! so i conveniently put her beside me. But i think if possible, letting bb sleep in a cot is best. personally i dun like playpen as a cot.

as for pram, we got a aprica nelcco bed. its very light weight like a stroller (abt 4kg), yet can act as a pram (170degree flat). It's very useful for me when i bring her out alone. coz its light weight. i think combi has very light weight ones too which i think is good. to me light weight is most impt, on top of that can act as pram n stroller. (coz some pram very bulky).

finally breastpump. I 1st bought the Avent ISIS. coz i wasnt too confident of bf'g. but after 1 mth of TBF, my gal put on very good weight, i was very motivated and thus my hb encourage me to get the medela PIS (he paid for it coz i provide the milk haha). I think its really worth it. no need to pump till hand ache..n dual pump help to stimulate more milk flow. with this pump, i TBF my gal till i was preg with 2nd and she abt 14-15mths. I will recommend medela PIS if you are working, plan to Bf for long. i calculated, the pump value will be fully redeemed if u TBF for 6 mths (meaning the $ spent on the pump instead of FM
). and if you plan to hv more then 1 kid.. this pump can serve u again!

btw, for me, i feel more comfortable getting new manual pump. but for medela PIS, definitely can get 2nd hand one, coz the only thing that has contact with the breast n milk are the suction cup n bottle only, they can easily be replace at a low cost. i think the costly part is the motor itself. help it helps

Jeddie, The one at my place is also a MS. My mum's place got LR, mongrel, Shih Tze n Pom. The LR very old already, 13years old. Can't walk n senile liao, i will have to put her down soon.

Dili, the list is really long. Hope i can get more pass-down items.

Girl, thanks. I'm still coping well. Not much MS, juz like to sleep alot.

TTC,

Thanks for sharing the breast pump experience. Dunno how difficult it would be to pump milk and mum was warning me that day that dont think every1 will have enuff milk to feed baby and will have problem when need to switch to FM for baby cuz baby wont be happy abt the taste and the way you feed him/her from.

So I told myself to pump milk into the Avent bottle and feed from there and supplement with FM with not enuff. Haha. I dont think I want to pump in office after 3 months. V troublesome and most of the time may have to do it in the Ladies...v unhygenic...

Oh heard from friends that better to have children sleep in their own room with their own cot/bed or else they will always want to sleep with the parents and so how to have more kids subsequently? *wink* *wink*

Nik

Do u really have to put down your LR (wat is LR)? Is he suffering? It would be good if they can pass away naturally, rather than to be put down... (my personal opinion, no offence though)...

Me going to the Motherhood fair later. Will share with you guys what's exciting there tomorrow!!! Hope I don't end up buying too much stuff though.

Aprilpinky,

I have not enough milk for my boy and he was on partial breastfeed since day one as me and hubby agree that the most important thing is baby cannot be hungry. he does not have nipple confusion but he only likes Nuk teats so my parents had to help me buy more NUK bottles as I only have Avent and Pigeon hand-me-downs.

it is said to be better to let your baby sleep with you until your baby is about a year old. but it is better to "train" your baby to sleep in his/her own cot. when my boy can roll over, he can roll anywhere in his cot so not safe to let him sleep on the bed.

Rochelle,

I see but actually let baby sleep with us v unsafe. I like to turn here turn there and our bed hardly enuff for the 2 of us not to mention 3! ha!

My nephew also only likes NUK teats (must be yellow one somemore) so v jialart. I will not let my baby use NUK unless necessary cuz NUK some places dont sell.

HI Aprilpinky,

I would really encourage mummies to BF for as much n as long as they can. the benefits for both bb and mummy is immense. My gal never really fall sick, so making caring for her easy. and its so convenient to bring her out, no need to bring milk, water etc. also middle of night, early morning no need to get off bed to make milk

i believe supply=demand. Not that i started with lots of BM, infact my supply was pathetic... but i keep latching and pumping in btw feeds as i was very determine to TBF my gal. i had very very hard time first few weeks..but on her 1st mth chk, her weight gain was more than average, i was sooo happy and motivated! My hard work really paid off. its definitely not easy establishing milk flow, but it can be done.

It wasnt difficult for me to intro FM to her when i had to. infact she likes her FM now!

Aprilpinky,
Thanks for the info on breast pump

Have to return to work after 3 months too, so it's not so economical to get the Medela pumps afterall, unless 2nd hand. I don't think I want to express milk in the office too. There isn't any convenient place in the office to do so, and expressing in the toilet is rather weird.

I think I'll let bb sleep in my room, not bed, for the first 1.5 - 2 months, then transfer him/her to another room. Gotta train the child to be independent...

Btw I've a colleague who let his daughter sleeps with him even tho she's 5 yrs old, but he &amp; his wife still manage to produce another younger kid
Not convenient to ask more about it...

Dili,
When I look at the long list, I can also foresee a big hole in my pocket! But I won't be getting everything on the list. Gd as a reference tho'

Rochelle,
Prams... Heard that Graco is a gd brand, robust &amp; hence suitable for bigger sized babies, but quite ex too.

Furkids...
Hubby &amp; me happen to be the wkend "foster parents" of a silky terrier, an adorable but spoilt princess. Used to be my sis in-law's "daughter", but ever since she has 2 kids, I became the "foster parent" whenever I visit my parents in-law hse during wkends.
Wkends is perhaps the happiest time for her, where she gets lots of attention &amp; food. But hubby says soon she'll go into "cold storage" as our bb arrives end of the yr.

Sorry been so quiet. Have been busy but still take time to read the thread and been learning so much from everyone.

Lately, been having these stabbing pain at the sides of the upper abdomen near ribs, like muscle pulling. Thought I strained myself accidentally or something. Was worried something wrong with baby but thankfully no abnormal discharge or any pain in the womb. Then I read in book that the pain could be due to body adjusting to the growing uterus. My mom said so too. Wondered if any ladies here have the same experience. Currently 18 weeks with a small small tummy to show.

Jeddie, LR is labordor loh. Ya, tot of letting her go by herself, but, i see her having difficulties in walking, n even having her meals. Very heart pain. She's very old already, 13 years old. Tat time when i brought her to a vet(when she's 10 years old) due to an ear infection, vet also mention tat there's nothing much they can do cos she too old already. She can't see n hear properly also. Haiz....Sorry ladies, i talk too much on my fur-sibling liao.

Shown my hb the list of items to get, he also shocked. Ya, sure got big hole in the pocket.

I do have some cramp on my tummy sometimes. At times, it on the left, sometimes on the right. I wonder is it bb's kicks? N the cramp will go away in less then 5 secs. Me also have a little tummy now.

<font color="aa00aa">Clee,</font>
I've been getting "gastric pain" for the past few days. I don't know if it's real gastric pain... cos I've never had it before. The pain's in between the top of the ribs (below and between the breasts) It gets so painful it's disturbing my sleep and work. Not sure if this is the type of pain you get. Mine lasts for hours leh! siao... don't know what's happening. Doctor says it's ok to take antacids, but I try to ren...

<font color="aa00aa">Aprilpinky and TTC,</font>
Wow, so much to learn from pump alone!

<font color="aa00aa">Rochelle,</font>
Are you planning to sell your stroller? Will you be bringing it over to the States?

Hello All,

Just back from Motherhood fair. A little disappointed. Quite a lot of ppl but think Sat would be v bad. quite a few stores selling maternality wear but not cheap. They said sale but same price as wat I can get from modern maternality and somemore I got 10% disc. Each blouse they selling at at least $30. Then also have insurance, slimming centres booths. Oh many many FM booth in case some of you are interested. Not much baby clothing. V ex. Stroller or walker also dont have.

Bought a small cot at $89 with mattress and bedding. I think can last till 2 years old plus.

Oh I also subscribed to Motherhood for 2 years. Free gift quite good. They upfront give you June issues (both chinese &amp; english) for free and if you subscibe, they will have some sample gifts and a book by them called "Healthy Pregnancy" for u. Hubby said news stand selling that for $7. I also got a beansprout husk pillow as gift.

Overall, not many booths but can go and cc lah. Oh the medela beast pump for sale also. didnt go to that booth but saw a $168 package.

Hi Dili Mummy,

Yep,my pain is also below the breasts across the whole section above and at the sides of the ribs. The pain comes on and off throughout the day. But it does not feel like a gastric pain, more like sharp jabs of pain around the areas of abdomen.

I had gastric pain before, it is more specific in the stomach area and believe me, you can't even stand upright from the pain, and oh you would get fever and chills too. But did your gynae diagnose it as gastrics? Hmmm...

Hi Aprilpinky,

Thanks for feedback on the fair! Would give it a miss then since it is so far from home. I am still "tahan-ing" from not shopping till the next scan (which is next Sat) when hopefully baby will be more cooperative and show us its sex!

Went to the Motherhood fair yesterday evening as well, but I do agree with Aprilpinky that it was quite dissapointing. But I did managed to get 2 tops and a pair of pants. One of the tops read "I am not fat, I am pregnant" and the other one "akan datang" both printed on the tummy area. Cute!!!

Expected the fair to have more baby stuff such as clothes, strollers or even accessories etc. But what they have very limited. And yes, alot of FM booths. I think those Taka baby fair alot better leh.

venus... go wif u ah.. hahaha.. ok.. when u gg? i got to arrange my timing n c hw leh.. since i'm wrking.. haiz.. but hearing Aprilpinky n kelly describe abt d fair.. dun feel its attracting to me.. heh..

Yah, from Aprilpinky &amp; Kelly's description, seems like the Motherhood fair is not really worth going huh.
Hmm.. I'll wait for the Taka baby fair in Aug, by then gynae should be able to confirm bb's gender &amp; I've more time to do research on what are the better brands to buy...

Ladies, saw alot of GSS ads these days, maybe can get better deals from GSS?

Aprilpinky, joyful,

what I meant was to let baby sleep in his/her cot in your bedroom instead of putting baby's cot in another room. baby wake up in the middle of the night can see parents will feel secure and go back to sleep. sorry was not very clear.

Dili,

I will be bringing the stroller with me. when I first bought the stroller my PILs say so big but my hubby is very supportive of my choice so my PILs also give up. Motherworks at great world city and Mothercare at centrepoint should have some models of joggers for you to take a look.

TTC2nd,

dont know if its because my weight loss was so fast (I lost 9kg within 2wks after birth without dieting) or because my boy needs alot of milk. he drinks very fast and cannot wait for milk while in the hospital and he weighs 3.7kg at birth. I was underweight before my first pregnancy and fenugreek did not help in increasing BM supply.

venus.

u took leave tml ah.. haiz.. den i can't join u liao.. i can't take leave.. leave is for my check up only.. so jialat.. *sniff* *sniff* so u got to go alone.. sorry..

Hi Rochelle,

yes i heard rapid weight loss affect milk supply. coz i did not hv enough BM too n went to see Mrs wong from TMC... she commented i look "thin" for a new mummy and asked if i loose weight very fast, as it'll affect milk supply. for my case i think i m on the thin side, so did not really loose alot of weight.juz that i started with miserable supply!

i think some parents will heart break to think their bb is starving. for me i very sturbone, die die wan to bf, so when i hear comments that my bb crying coz she dun hv enough milk...i feel very depressed yet refuse to supplment. i juz keep latching her on. thank God my supply came in n my gal was actually a "fat" bb b4 she turn 1 yr old.

hehe i was reading your plans about putting bb in a cot and in another room, or in same room in case wake up see the parents will feel secure. i think if your baby is a easy bb, these methods will work. but for my gal, she cry n cry, wake up only needs alot of pacifying to make her go back to sleep...putting her in another room is almost impossible.

actually i had prob with her sleeping habits till she turn 1 yr old! afterwhich i decided to train her the hard way. i think everything got to trial n error. i find i make lots of plan b4 arrival of my gal.. then i find i cant stick to them, n it reall upset me... by n by i accepted taht not all bbies are the same...infact most of my plans were "aborted" as i had to change them according to my gal's character.

Rochelle,

I thot u meant on the same bed. hehe. My mum would come over and stay with me to take care of bb so probably the 2 of them would be in the same room. Alternatively we may move the cot into our room for certain nights if mum too tired to take care. Luckily got a small cot, I think easier to shift around.

Taka aug then got fair huh? I will go GSS and see see loh. Actually I discover OG(albert complex) got quite large baby dept. You all can go cc when free.

celtricia

it's ok..i meeting a fren too.. dun take leave for my gynae visit cos hubby cannot take leave..

so gynae visit is always on sat..

this sat going to c bb again

Good lobang for you guys. There's a baby products wholeseller that is rather huge and things are cheaper than the retail malls. The place sells nothing but baby products and I feel that it's a very good one stop store to check out since it's open to public.

Baby's Hyperstore Pte Ltd
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Ind Pk Singapore (417947) Telephone : 6844 1123

Mondays to Saturdays 11am to 9pm. Sundays and PH 11am to 7pm. Have fun!!!!

Kelly,

I went there before to collect my car seat (I redeemed using mobil points). It sells mainly large items like strollers, walkers, cots (quite a few), bouncer. For clothing, milk bottles and stuff not much.

Venus.. gd! ur fren accompanying u there.. she also preggie? i take leave coz hubby off days r usually on tues, n on saturday both of us haf to wrk so can't visit gynae on saturdays.. heh.. enjoy ur shopping trip there.. heehee..

wow.. this thread is really active..

Joyfulhands.. the 3 in one playpen i saw has this layer in between that works like a cot, but thk we will need to pad it up more if we get the basic one, but the Graco ones esp the high end ones has v good padding.. then later when bb bigger, can take that out, and use as normal playpen..
the last thing on it is this diaper tray like thing to help bb change..

but price diff can range from $99 to $500 plus, i also dunno wat's the diff..

I read somewhere can buy all these stroller and playpen from Khakit Bukit place? but i dunno where.. and in one of Zoe Tay's program the last time got this mega store like place but dunno where is tat too...

i was in Taka today they now have this Megadesca fair.. no baby fair..

hmm.. from the feedback i wonder if I should make the effort to go to baby fair..

The list of things to buy looks a lot!! anyway, how does one choose which brand/ price point to buy huh? i also dunno what must buy good, what items can cut corners.. also dunno if brand matters.. like avent vs pigeon how do ppl choose.. sigh..

Rochelle, is pram necessary huh.. or can wait till later then buy those that can be used for bigger kids?

Dili Mum, is the pain heartburn? gastrics usually dun last that long leh. i get v bad gastrics 1st 3 mths, now better...