(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Sexxy, take care hor. Recently, weather siao siao also.

Yest, went to checkup, gynae said 1 of the bbs is a boy, other one can't see well. But next checkup should able to noe liao. I also asked abt the blood test, i tot it's oscar, but doc said no. It's similiar. But twins got no down's ratio. So, he suggest i go NT scan yest cos i'm already in my 13 weeks. Must go now, or a few days later cannot do. But the Q there super super long. Got to wait 2 hrs. So i go jalan jalan. Went back at 430pm, I think i'm the last patient there. BBs dun wan to cooperate, all turn their face away. The lady very nice, wait paitently wif me. Wait till 515pm, bbs still wouldn't turn, so they squeeze me in today. I got to go down again later to do the NT scan. Angry wif my bbs...

nik.. no nid angry wif ur bbs lah.. coz 2 of them inside enjoy each other company dat's y both make a pact not to turn mah.. hahaha.. juz try toking to them today b4 gg for the scan today.. dat's wat i did on the day of my NT scan.. hee... ya d lady doing the scan is very nice.. at first my bb kept moving ard during d scan too.. making it quite difficult for her.. but ultimately, i did some toking to d bb in my mind lah n it wrks leh.. so mayb u try it out.. c if it wrks.. hee..

I did try liao, no use. Especially the boy, he's upside down, u noe? Thay r facing back to back now. Maybe they juz had a quarrel or wat. Hahahaha.

ya.. mayb.. kekeke.. can b quite cute leh.. when they r angry wif one another.. but torturing too, if they fight inside, u will b in pain.. hee..

Hi, Nik

May i know the measurement of your bbs? i am going to the NT scan tonight, it is done by the doc using his scanner. don't know whether bbs will cooperate or not. And since my gynae is so busy, don't think he will wait for the bbs to turn to the correct position.

Dun wan, later they came out wif 1 blue-black eye each. Hahahaha.

Chris, i got no measurement from the NT scan yet. But at the clinic's scan, one is 6.95cm(tat boy loh), n the other one is 6.41cm. Doc ask me to rest more, or else the bb's size will be too diff. No gd. They r positioned one above the other.

Rochelle,
u prefer to have both boys huh. Yah, maybe easier to satisfy the 'traditional' elders & less pressure for the mummy. If the 2nd one is a boy, he can inherit his elder brother's clothes, toys etc.

My mom is also the traditional type who wants the 1st child to be a boy. And she has already very openly says she prefers a boy. In fact the first question she asked when I came back from checkup is: when do you know whether it's a boy or girl? Haiz.. I was more concerned about bb's state of health leh.

Doctor says he saw something between the legs during the scan but not to be too happy or disappointed yet, because around 12wks, all babies regardless of gender will develop something between the legs. After a few weeks, it will then shape into either the female or male genitals.

nik, i got a feeling that u got a "LONG FENG TAI" since whe u said ur is two water bags n u can't get mirror bb so chances is quite high.....

Hi Venus
My gynae only goes to either TMC or Mount Alvernia. I will be going Mount Alvernia.

Hi Dili
I am in my 14.5 weeks now, EDD is 20 Nov and hospital chosen is Mount Alvernia.

How I wish I am having twins. Having "Long Feng Tai" will be the best. One shot can have a son and a daughter, then can close shop liao. Haha..

nik, y few days later cannot do? is it that u got to go down to 4th floor to do the NT scan, how much? how the scan like?
i going for ny blood test next visit, very scare lei....

Good to c that the thread is getting active again. I didnt realise we got 2 MTB having twins!! My goodness, chris & nik, you 2 are extra blessed!
One pregnancy and you will have 2 babies!!

Nik, if yours has 2 sac that means non-identical twins.

Going to gynae tomorrow, no hope for twins now. Hehe..already almost 16 weeks and one bb all the way. Luckily both our families not particular about sex of baby. MIL has 2 sons but she said as long as baby healthy, son/daughter is just as great.

Hey actually I think gals are more obedient and filial to mums. haha. Hopefully bb will open leg wide wide tomorrow. I think I will also be going for blood test tomorrow..

nik...
ha ha blue-black eye..wun lah..cos they protect by sac one..

"long feng tai" is good..close shop once deliver hor..

Aprilpinky..ur MIL so good..mine i give up liao.

Venus,

Yes, I'm v relieved. My mum got 3 daughters also. hehe so no pressure for both sides. As long as my bb is normal and healthy, gal/boy is just the work of nature for me. No difference at all.

thanks, nik. i will let u know my measurement next Monday, hopefully not much difference.

When my MIL knew i just went for the check-up (9th week), she already asked boy or girl? and also tell me my 16th week visit she wants to go with us....i am very sure that she wants a boy!

I also hope that i can have "Long Feng Tai" but chances seem like very low...so same as other MTBs here, as long as bbs are healthy, we are very happy already..

venus,
I am in week 17 now. Gynea say cannot see clearly the last visit and she dun want to give me wrong info in case i go buy bb stuff and buy the wrong colour! hahaha
anyway, i looking forward to the 20th week detail scan the next visit. Heard can see the bb very clearly, eg, fingers, toes etc..

joyful,

yalor. if this 2nd one is a gal than MIL will nag me to have another baby. but if this one is a boy then got excuse to not have any more babies. I dont mind having more babies but health wise I am not strong and I am looking after my boy by myself full-time so how to cope with more than two children.

Sexxy, Ya, rest more impt now. Do rest more for ur health. I also hope for long feng tai, but it seems to be quite slim, actually, he can't cfm, but he did mention the other one might be a boy too. Oh no....
Tis NT scan can only be done b4 14weeks, together wif a the blood test, it will be called the oscar. But he said twin got no oscar ratio, so i can't do the blood test. I can only do tis NT scan. It cost abt $140. My next checkup at week 16, i will do the blood test too, tis blood test is to check for other things.

Chris, Hope ur bbs more cooperative than mine. Really vomit blood, Got to scan 3 times, than able to get the results. one of them is 1:2902 n 1:4513. They also measure their CRL, 7.2cm n 7.1cm, glad that they r not too diff in size.

April pinky, my gynae said 2 water bag could be identical twins too, but mine is a cfm non-identical twins.

(",)
well, my hubby is the only son carrying the family name.....
so I abit STRESS.....
But, hubby says, never mind if it is boy OR gal.....
as long as healthy can liao le......
MIL neber say anything......

Hi Dili_mummy,
Does the doctor say its due to the flight's pressure that cos you bleeding?

I'm also planning for a short trip to hubby hometown around august..but worry if taking flight is not safe?

(",)
Hopefully my next scanning tells
the gender of my baby as well.......
If it's a boy..... it'll be hiroshi
If it is a gal..... it'll be hanako
How does that sound......
Do you gals think that singaporean
having japanese names are wierd?

ah Fat,
same same, my hubby is oso the only son. MIL has yet to say anything...

I've a hunch that mine is a girl.. 'cos gynae says I ovulated later than expected.

Rochelle,
Quite tough huh, esp when both kids are 1 yr apart & you're the only one taking care of them. Do you have to do the housework too, or you have someone to help you out?

Ah Fat, hanako in jap means 'hua(flower) zi(child). Not sure abt the boy's name. So, u give these name instead of a christen name is it??

Weoseek, flight pressure wouldn't affect bb much. It is safe to take a flt.

V happy!!
Today managed to see the sex of my bb cuz the bb leg open wide wide. It's a BOY! hehe now I can go ahead and buy lots of boyish colored clothes but also must spare a thot for my second one (if any) shd it be a gal gal for me then.

Gynae was not interested with sex of baby at all until we requested to know. He was more concerned whether baby is healthy. hehe. He said he would bet that it's a boy boy but not 100% cuz now it's only abt 16 weeks for me. It was quite thrilling to see something white white sticking out between the legs. hehehe..

Joyful,

I also thot that mine is a gal and have been thinking of those cute cute dresses to buy and I also ovulated vv late. My cycle was 35 days or more but ended up a BOY. You see whether your hunch is correct and do update us.

Oh I also read somewhere that unless you are quite slender or it's not your first pregnancy, it's quite normal not to feel any baby movement until 20 something weeks.

I think is a gal if:

Mum tend to have good appetite, forgetful and prefer vege to meat

Dunno if its true..

But I've really forgetful after pregnancy..so mine most likely is a gal.

I have good appetite leh. But it's true that now I prefer meat though I like veg also but cant take vegetarian meals.

As for forgetful just a bit lah.

Doc said might be umblical cord after all and not birdie and that's y not 100% but in a month or so when I go for my fetal anomaly scan, things shd be clearer.

Celtricia, me visiting dr yeo on 28 June (tue) for the scan. When's ur next appt?

joyful,

doing housework and cooking by myself but hubby helps by ironing his own clothes and washing the dishes unless he is very tired than I would wash the dishes the next day. I am a SAHM so have to watch the expenses.

Aprilpinky,

My nxt appt wif Dr Yeo is tis coming tues (31/05), after tis appt den i'll noe when we b my nxt one.. will let u noe after tis tues appt.. hee.. quite anxious to visit him again, as i wan to c my bb again.. will definitely brighten up my day when i c my baby moving... hahaha.

celtricia,

Didnt see my baby moving all this while though that time NT scan guess it has moved cuz at first cant see then after a few sec the medical officer said ok already. I also v blur always cant visualise the ultrascan image angle so everytime Dr Yeo's nurse got to jump up and point point the heartbeat, birdie etc on the screen in front of me to me while my hubby and Dr Yeo happily discussing beside me using the other monitor beside me.

Ok do let me know, maybe you will know the sex of the baby then. If your next appt 28 June then perhaps we will get to meet then. I have to take leave for this appt cuz the nurse said sat appt for fetal scanning all FULL. Sigh sigh

Went for 3rd visit last Friday. done the NT scan. bbs are very cooperative, it took doc about 10mins to finish the scanning. Both are at the ratio about 4000+, can't remember the actual figure. Doc also said no OSCAR ratio for twins, so maybe just do the optional triple test on 16 weeks. He didn't charge extra for this NT scan, only S$20 like usual. bbs are measured 5.95 and 6.1cm. doc said they are normal, and maybe a bit bigger than what my EDD should be..
Very happy to know they are doing well, and they look so cute.

Looking forward to my 16th week visit which is almost one month later.

Ah fat

well my hubby is also the only son in family.It's good that ur MIL din say anything..and stay it that way..

Mine did say something like "1st one must be boi..2nd one ger..the rest never mind"

my 1st thot: still got the rest meh??

After that, she say this to other pple "Boi or ger never mind lah"

Boi,i am so angry..such double standards one

nik, so good... 2 boys, hehehehe! my hubby wil love it....
where u do ur NT scan? i dont think i wil be doing that cos when my next visit wil b at week 16 liao..... doc only tel me about the blood test n dont know wat scan on week 20.

Aprilpinky,
Congrats that you've expecting a boy! Happy shopping

The little girl's clothes are soooo cute, quite irresistable. Sure, will update you all whether my hunch is right or not.

But, after preggie, my appetite wasn't that gd & I prefer the taste of meat. Could be a boy?

Thanks all! If got any changes will let you all know. hahaa...Joyful, the little gal's clothes are really cute esp those lacy lacy tiny dresses but can't use for my boy. hehe.

Sexxy, maybe you can call the clinic to enquire since currently you still can go for the scan. NT scan is not invasive and quite reassuring. I know TMC accepts other patients outside but not sure whether referral letter required.

Ladies, I would be going to the expo baby fair this sat. Would be seeing many of u there as well huh?? Hehehe. I think if got good bargain will grab already although some ppl kept on telling me too early to buy etc etc.

Rochelle,
seems like you're multitasking.. really gotta take gd care since you're with child now. You went for the scan already?

ah Fat,
So far I've not come across any Chinese friends who gave their child Japanese names. You could well be one of those setting the trends.
But I've seen a few couples giving middle names. Anyone thot of doing so?

Hubby & me always had a fun time discussing what to name our child. But I suggest to shortlist a few after gynae confirm bb's gender.

morraine,
Do you know your bb's gender? since you're one of the mtb with earliest edd here.

I went to see my gynae last week due to sudden bleeding. Luckily, everything was ok. Then I started to ask her when we will be able to know the gender of the bb. I was about 14 weeks+ then. She checked and said it could be a boy but then it might be the umbilical code. But I was glad bb is ok.

Aprilpinky
I am going to the fair, probably during weekdays to avoid the crowd. To me, I think it's time to start buying things for our bbs. Buying a little at a time is better than buying alot at one time. Will feel the pinch. Haha...

Has anyone bought a stroller or pram? We have started to look for one. So many designs, so many brands, getting very confused. Dunno which one to get.

Talking about NT scan, I didn't have it done. I wonder why. Like one of the ladies mentioned, I have some of my receipts stated "Obstetric Ultrasound - NT". I have my blood drawn for a general health screening as well as to check for Thalassemia. I remembered my gynae said I will need to draw blood for the second time to calculate the probability of bb having down syndrome. There will also be 2 detailed scan - one to be done at the hospital, and the other probably at the clinic.

I will check with my gynae. Anyway, I'm already in my 15th week, too late for any NT scan.

aprilpinky.. i can c mine moved d first time Dr Yeo scan it, den during d nxt day when i went for my NT scan, my bb was moving quite a lot too, the MO says bb very active... dat's y, i feel lots of satisfaction whenever i c my bb move.. heehee..

ya.. if my nxt appt also on 28 June i will let u noe k? d expo fair start liao ah.. hmmm.. i muz noe bb sex first b4 i can go for the purchase.. hee..

seems like most of the MTBs here are having bb boys.. good for all..

Aprilpinky ~ im going but den when haven confirm lor ~ but den most prob is weekend ~

joyfulhands ~ mine arh ~ arh buay confirm leh ~ sianz ~ but den gynae say 80% boy lor ~